Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
427 711 44
Connect ID #
427 711 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers

MFR # 31763

Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers

Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers

MFR # 31763

59 reviews
View this product

They're Bose, what else can I say?

Crutchfield customer from La Verne, CA on 5/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been wanting these for years. They have great sound and should last a lifetime.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounding good

Crutchfield customer from Mooresville, NC on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sound. Looks great in the mulch. My friends and I are really enjoying them as we BBQ & have cocktails.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding Speakers. They have a really nice bass too. I would not hesitate buying these speakers if you have an outdoor application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Seabrook, TX on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Fair Lawn, NJ on 4/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are outstanding the sound is incredible. Perfect for our yard and patio area.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

THE BEST!

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CT on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible design and efficiency. We love BOSE and crutch field was the bets company to order from. Super fast to arrive and in excellent condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Jupiter, FL on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deep sound, like being able to have them on the ground rather than mounted to the house.

Pros: Ground location Sound

Cons: $

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MO on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose 51s

Crutchfield customer from Pinehurst, NC on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My third pair of these speakers. Wonderful sound. Longevity outside is an issue. Lost one set to a nearby lighting strike. Other set just quit working in a salt air setting after three years. There really isn't anything else comparable that delivers omnidirectional sound of this quality.

Pros: Great sound in wide open area

Cons: Short life

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Arecibo, PR on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente sonido y versátil para zonas exteriores!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great outdoor deck speaker

Crutchfield customer from Potomac, MD on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a deck area. I positioned these on the deck ground. I didn't have a wall to mount these onto, but even on the floor they fill the area nicely with music.

Pros: weather resistance leave on ground

Cons: bass isn't crazy deep

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Mcallen, TX on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They look super great and sound very good, I was just hoping for a bit more Bass delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best in class

Crutchfield customer from Avon Lake, OH on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible speakers. Best in class. I've always admired these speakers and wanted a pair for our backyard. Mission accomplished!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Poolside Beats!

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had them for a week but I am very impressed with the sound quality and how well I can hear them across my yard. We have them on each side of our pool.

Pros: Sound great. Easy to set up. Blend in well.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Outdoor Setup -- Sonos Amp, 4x Bose Free Space 51 speakers

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As expected, very happy with the look and apparent quality of the product. I noticed these and similar landscape speakers for the last 20 years or so and considered them for my house. Finally had the opportunity to layout an outdoor system with a Sonos Amp, four of the Bose Free Space 51 speakers and and Altelix enclosure for the Amp. My advice is to consider the layout, overlap, and total planning effort. We found for a 40' x 50' space, four speakers provided ample sound even at 25% volume. I went with 14 gauge direct burial wire but ran about half of the wire through pvc conduit. I considered the Sonance outdoor system with subwoofer but the price and availability were such, that getting the Bose and Sonos setup was ideal -- known entities with wide distribution and solid warranty service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Inver Grove, MN on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to the backyard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Had the 251's, the Free Space 51s are really great. Using Sonos AMP

Crutchfield customer from Windham, NH on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using these with a Sonos Connect:Amp and the sound is awesome. I had the 4 of the Bose 251 Outdoor Speakers, where were also good sound (these are better, richer, deeper) and they lasted about 5 years (literally outside in NH, never brought them in), which was pretty good but after that the speakers started to crackle and have problems. Not a complaint, they served me well. BUT, the sound of the Free Space 51s is event better and they are much more durable. I have 2 more coming on the way, for a total of 4 off of the Sonos amp, but the sound quality of the 2 is really great. They are pricey, but you are getting a high quality durable outdoor product with great sound. Highly Recommend.

Pros: Great sound Durable

Cons: None that I can see at this point. They are not small or subtle. So, you should have a big space to fill and hide them behind a bush or something.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best of the Best.

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top of the line....best of the best. These speakers, while large, provide some of the best sound you'll ever get from an outdoor speaker. Well constructed and great sound. Highly recommend.

Pros: Quality, craftsmanship, and sound quality

Cons: Large

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing 360 degree outdoor sound. Don't hesitate if considering these for your outdoor needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Space 51

Gustavo from San Juan, PR on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, easy to install, great service and product advice from the staff of Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great design and sound - who wouldnt enjoy these on a summer day! Easy in stall - Hardest part routing and digging the wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Outdoor Speakers

John from Manhattan Beach on 9/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great outdoor speakers. They sound great and they stand up to the harshest weather. You will be very happy with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

P Brevi

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product, with great sound and bass.

Pros: Sound great, and look great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Jerry from Midlothian, VA on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speaker failed just after warranty had run out. Had a 5 year warranty. 5years and 4 months, one of the speakers failed. Bose Would not stand behind or cover!!!

Pros: Great base

Cons: Speaker failed just after warranty had run out. Had a 5 year warranty. 5years and 4 months, one of the speakers failed. Bose would not cover!!!!!!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Gary, IN on 8/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent love the quality and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Frank from Fairfield, CT on 7/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connected to my Sonos connect and Russ amp great sound and ease of use. Customer service was great help

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy Setup, Great Sound

Michael from Hamburg, NY on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were connected to my Sonos Connect Amp, and they are the perfect match. Excellent Sound!

Pros: easy setup, and great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice design, great sound that fills the backyard

Patrick from West Seneca, NY on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for 360 degree sound , I like that they blend in with the landscape and you can't tell where the sound is coming from, I received these as a gift from my wife and couldn't be happier.

Pros: Sound, design, color

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Brandon from Bloomington, IN on 5/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome purchase, highly recommend Bose and Crutchfield!

Pros: Sound, speed of delivery

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound

Mau from Medford, NJ on 12/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers, well worth the investment; in fact I'm ordering a second pair to be powered by a sonos connect amp. Bose always impresses me with their technology, be it my first headphones from bose, or the original wave radio, these are no exception. For those looking at these speakers, they need to be close together (10'-15'). I originally had them closer to 30' apart but have since moved them to about 15'. If the speakers are too far apart, while at low volume you won't be able to hear the other speaker, and they lose the stereo affect that you can hear when your in the sweet spot. They still sound tremendous if you are outside the sweet spot, but these speakers take some planning to get the sound to the right location, or locations in your yard.

Pros: Bose

Cons: Location Couldn't cover the pool and fire pit, so need to get two more.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very nice product

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 7/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sounding speakers. Blends in with the landscaping. Easy to install. The finishing touch for the pool area.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not worth the money

Adam from Holland, MI on 6/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is fine, sounds fine, looks a little goofy, but will be more hidden once the landscape fills in some more. The reason for a low star rating is that I have some clearance rock speakers on the patio that are OK, but I wanted a nice upgrade so spent the big money on these. I have Bose speakers in my house and they are awesome so I figured it's worth it. These sound no better than the cheap speakers I already have and they are MASSIVE in comparison. That being said, if I upgrade my amplifier maybe I can get better quality from these compared to the cheap ones. My suggestion would be to buy something much cheaper if you aren't planning to have dance party volume outside.

Pros: The Bose name is about it from what I can tell.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 9 found this helpful

Nice full sound

Kim from Westlake village ca. on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent wide distribution of sound that won't offend the neighbors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Steve from Murphysboro, IL on 6/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, great sound with deep bass. Blends into landscaping very well making it appear that music is just coming from plants .

Pros: Great deep sound, easy to install and blend into landscaping.

Cons: So far, no cons. At first I thought they were pricey, but after installing them I realized they are well worth it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Rey from Florida on 7/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In some very good in the pool area.

Pros: No taxs . Excellent customer service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Expensive, but treat yourself.

Kevin C from Massachusetts on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expensive speakers, but worth the money.

Pros: Sounds great around pool. Close your eyes and feel like you're at a resort. Durable, I've had my first pair for 7 years and leave them out in NE weather.

Cons: Wired speakers. I ended up placing them 70-100ft away from reciever, so running wires in the grass was a challenge

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great speakers

Jack from Houston, Texas on 8/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers next to my pool. They are on the ground which is right at ear level when you are in the pool. I've seen these at some hotels. Sound great and look pretty good too. Sound is 360 degrees, which had me a little worried (b/c I didn't want to upset my neighbors). I keep volume considerate of my neighbors, but b/c they are low at ear level when in pool, I don't have to turn them up to loud.

Pros: 1) Look nice. 2) Good sound. 3) Since they are right on the ground, the are right at ear level when I'm in the pool.

Cons: 1) Pricey but worth it IMO.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Hear everywhere

Pete from New Jersey on 7/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best outside sound everywhere in the yard. Terrific clarity even at high volume!

Pros: Can't see them really. spreads sound all around them.

Cons: A bit pricey

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Great Sound and Exceptional Value

vkv from Virginia on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound!! Have two pairs installed around the side and back of the house. Was planning on buying the 251 Bose speakers, but so glad I went with the 51 speakers. These are buried in the ground and just blend in the landscape. Love the Bose brand

Pros: Amazing sound.

Cons: Price is high and I wish they had speakers in shape of rocks.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Amazing sound!

JoeyB from Florida on 4/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a fan of Bose for many years ever since I heard a pair of 301's from the 80's when in high school. As expected I am equally impressed with the Bose Free Space 51 speakers. These speakers are buried beside an in-ground pool towards the back of the yard. When you are in the pool or out you can't really tell where the music is coming from. I wasn't able to perfectly "overlap" them as suggested in the instructions but it doesn't seem to matter, they sound amazing. You are not going to hear any mind blowing lows on the bass side but the sound is crystal clear and really fills the back yard. I mounted a couple of other speakers on the deck that I ran through an outdoor volume control to have the ability to compliment the Bose or turn off completely while we are in the pool. Very happy with this purchase!

Pros: Amazing sound

Cons: A bit tedious to install

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

As good as all the reviews suggest

Ken from CT on 9/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Toiled over a variety of outdoor speaker options for around pool area (As context, we already had 2 speakers in an adjacent ourdoor porch ceiling that required being turned up really loud to hear around the pool... i.e., if you turned it up so you could hear around the pool, it would be unpleasantly loud if you sat on the porch). Poured through reviews of various rock-shaped speakers and others that could be mounted on the fence and though many had good reviews, nothing stood out as a clear winner. I had passed by seeing these Bose 51's many times not realizing that a large part of the speaker sits in the ground. Once I finally read the spec's and then the glowing reviews, I knew these would be it (and also knowing general Bose quality). You can tell a good review from a "wow these are life changing" reviews and there seemed to be a lot of the "wow" type on this speaker--too many for it to be a bias. Spot on, these are amazing speakers. The omni-directional aspect - wow! I run them off a Marantz SR7005 off zone 3 which gives 125 watts per channel--but I have further split zone 3 using a Aton DLA4 speaker selector (distributes to 4 sets of speakers - 2 pairs outdoor and 2 pairs in 2 garages... these things are great at redistributing the power and giving volume panels/adjustments where needed). So even where this power is split a bit, it is plenty to drive these and sound great! Nice full sound. Some degree of bass (Not the same as if you had a sub but pretty good.

Pros: Omnidirectional sound, sound quality, look good when put behind some ornamental grass, guests are also impressed with sound

Cons: None that I have found yet

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Bose free space 51 Review

michael d. from Austin, TX on 7/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and they sound great! I'm really enjoying them. I love my Crutchfield Team!!

Pros: Quick set up. Great crisp sound.

Cons: Wish they came in different colors.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Bose 51 Speakers

JL from Corona, CA on 7/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wired four Bose 51 speakers to Russound X75 amplifier. Speakers are spaced 40 ft apart around our backyard pool area. . Set up left right left right. No matter where you are, the sound is great. No over bearing disturbing the neighbors. You can still have conversations with nice backroung music

Pros: Easy to setup, can bury part way in your planters.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Good outdoor speaker

RickG from CT on 8/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers have good quality sound, seem to be constructed well.

Pros: Sound. Sold as a pair.

Cons: The drain hole on the bottom does not appear to be large enough as the speaker does get water inside after rain. There is nothing obstructing the drain hole as the speakers were placed over stone as recommended. Hoping this doesn't cause any problems.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

BrandonK from Ohio on 8/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put one on either side of my patio (buried) and they bathe the entire area in sound. Great quality.

Pros: Rich sound, easy install

Cons: A little weak with the base but I don't push them that hard.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 Speakers

Mercury from NY, NY on 7/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed outdoor speakers that could cover a large area. I tried wall-mount outdoor speakers and they just didn't get the wide dispersion. These speakers are all about 360-degree, wide dispersion which was just what I needed. Sound great and true 360-degree sound.

Pros: Wide, disperse, high quality sound.

Cons: A little inefficient. My 50-watt Sonos is just barely powerful enough. I would go with a bigger amp than 50 watts.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Bose 51

Bose lover from Georgia on 5/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a Bose's lover. I think Bose make the best speakers on the market for indoors. Well, the Bose 51 are the best speakers for the outdoors. Their 360 degree directional sound design is incredible. You will not believe your ears when you crank up the speakers. Very clear sound. I am thinking about buying another pair of the Bose 51 instead of installing my old Bose 151 that are just straight directional. Again, the 360 degree directional sound design is INCREDIBLE!

Pros: Great Sound.

Cons: None. Very easy to install in the ground.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51

rickrolled6336 from Collierville, TN on 1/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I heard these speakers in an outdoor mall in Collierville, TN and they sounded wonderful! Great overall sound. Crisp, clear, clean sound.

Pros: Rich overall sound.

Cons: These don't give off body shaking bass.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers

BobC from St. Louis Greater Area on 7/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are tremendous. Sound quality, including base, is extremely good. Volume without distortion is also extremely good. No problems listening to music on my patio area, in the backyard, even down at the dock when the volume is up. For the sake of decent conversation, usually I have these at low volume and they still sound great. My kids have cranked them a few times without any dire consequences too. I compared several brands and models and these came out on top. Mainly because of their range when played at a reasonable volume, but also because of their unobtrusive installation. I put these speakers in the landscaping area surrounding my rear patio more than 3 years ago. They were installed to the manufacturers suggested depth and are hooked up to my older (and I might say "very fine") Kenwood receiver which in turn is hooked up to a computer (both indoors). I control iTunes through a dedicated laptop, that I don't use anymore, right from my comfy chair on my patio. For those having problems, I'd suggest you look hard at your installation and what you are using to drive the speakers.

Pros: Nicely blend into the landscape, no hanging speakers on the house or posts with exposed wires. Also no fake looking rocks (that don't sound that great anyway). Good quality sound that is omnidirectional.

Cons: None to speak of

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

does not handle bass or volume

Duane from cincinnati, OHIO on 2/13/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Bose Free Space 51 , do not live up to the Bose name . They do not handle bass levels very well .And I've also had to return them a couple of times . I don't reccommend them for large areas .Invest your money on something else. I purchase them for my back yard pool area . Not happy at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 28 found this helpful

Deck Party in a box

Busychild from Chesapeake, VA on 6/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I set these up in my back yard oasis. I followed the MFG recommendations and I have them buried in the rose garden by the house with about 5/8" of the base showing. I have them powered with a HCA-1000A that is zoned from an URC-1 processor. I think that they sound very good for out door speakers. With the 360 degree disperse pattern you can walk any where in the back yard and hear them. Clearly. They have good full range and for single driver, they also have notable high end. The over all sound is smooth and colorful. They will be easy to listen to all day long in your oasis with out getting listener fatigue. If you are considering these, please note that they are a lot larger than they look in the pictures. Once installed in the ground they do blend in quite nicely. My wife and kids think they sound great too. I had considered several other speakers and I ended up going with these based on several other reviewers notes. My wife and I did a lot of research prior to putting the out side zone together. Over all I am very happy with the sound of these speakers and Crutchfield is a name you can trust. I am very glad I spent the money on this particular set of out door speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Spend the money!

Arthur from Columbia, S.C. on 3/16/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers give a very well distributed, balanced full range sound that just seems to float in the air. The first time I heard them play was several years ago at Newport Beach, Ca. in a tank of water. They drained out the water, immediately cranked the power to them from an Onkyo amplifier, and everyone in the store came over to see what we were listening to. I have wanted them ever since but refused to spend the money. I finally broke down and made the purchase. Even my wife who normally says "it must be a guy thing, they all sound about the same to me" was impressed with the quality of the sound. We spend a lot of time outside and recommend these speakers to anyone who enjoys listening to music. They sound great at low and high volumes. I currently have them connected to a multi zone system with 50 watts of power going to them and normally have them playing betwen half and two-thirds volume. They will play considerably louder but you do not need it. My neighbor on the other side of the pond has no problem hearing the music! If you want good clean sound without having to blast out the speakers these are for you. If you want to blast out the sound these are still the speakers to get (they will take up to 100 watts of power).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

High quality, good sound

milesm from Salt Lake City, UT on 9/7/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second set of Free Space ® 51 speakers that I have purchased. I don't believe there is a comparable speaker on the market. The first pair has been in place for more than 4 years and perform just as well today as they did when I buried them. The sound produced is somewhat subdued which is both good and bad -- great for parties and relaxation. With their relatively compact size, they do not produce DEEP base well. To qualify that, however, they are far superior to any wall- or ceiling-mounted speaker. Reproduction of sound is accurate without being harsh. When buried, they blend well in any landscape. I have chosen to have them somewhat surrounded by plantings to keep them from being a focal point. With such a placement, people cannot determine where the sound is coming from, which is what I had wanted. Overall, I would highly recommend the Bose® Free Space® 51 Outdoor speakers to anyone looking for an outdoor. They produce very pleasing sound that is not brash. With the in-ground mounting near walls and plantings, the sound does not carry as much to neighborhood homes and I have never had any complaints about noise -- even though I will play them at high levels in the daytime and early evenings. Relatively high price (they are Bose®, after all, and are rarely discounted) is, in my opinion, justified by the sound and flexibility of placement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51 environmental speakers

Steve from West Sayville, NY on 8/14/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just built a new deck (650 Sq. Ft.) and permanently mounted these speakers to the deck floor on the far outsdie corners. Amazing sound for such a small speaker. I upset one neighbor with the now loud music and frequent deck parties. I never had anything outside before, but now that I do, the tunes are blasting all the time I'm outside. I also purchased an Onkyo receiver (TX-8522, XM ready) and Onkyo i-pod dock which pushes these speakers to the recommended 100 watts each producing the best sound. The only other thing I need to complete this ultimate outdoor sound system is the XM Mini tuner package. I highly recommend these speakers over the other Bose 151 and 251 Series outdoor loud speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent Sound for around pool

TONY from Arkansas on 8/12/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these speakers beside my pool and was completely blown away. We have an outdoor mall locally that uses these speakers in the flower bed so I had an idea of what I was getting before I purchased these. The sound is rich and carries VERY well. I've got one on each side of the deep end of the pool and when your on the Diving board it just surrounds you with rich sound. They are also easy to hide or just leave out in the open and they still look fine. If a multimillion dollar mall thinks they are the best, the'll do for my back yard. :P

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Bose Free Space 51: Great Sound

Larry from Austin, Tx on 4/12/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker purchase I have made in some time. Very smooth refined audio. First Bose ever purchased. I will definitely buy Bose again! These Bose Free Space 51's are excellent outdoor speakers. I installed them by the pool and the sound is fantastic. My neighbors will be complaining soon! Regarding Crutchfield, their Customer Service Dept. really did a super job with shipping me "replacement speakers" in three days turn around. One of the Bose was damaged in shipment. No questions, no hassel, they just shipped out the replacement and I shipped back the original. Simple, Done! Great service...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great 360 sound and practically hidden from view

Matthew from CT on 1/1/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these in the ground last summer and used them nearly every night for the remaining summer/fall evenings. The sound is great and the speakers are practically hidden from view. They create great atmosphere when hosting firepit parties on the patio. I've noticed our guests stay longer when there is music playing (that could be a negative though!). We'll see how the construction/materials hold up over the winter(s) but so far so great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not for Volume or Bass

Aggiegator from Pensacola, FL on 6/5/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been running my 51s for a couple of years now. At low volume levels they sound nice, but their bass is very limited and I have found that they begin to distort at very low volume levels. I am running 100 watts RMS to them through a Sony ES receiver, so the source should not be the problem. I recently bought a pair of the Mirage Omni 6s from Crutchfield to support the overworked 51s and mounted them under my cover lanai with the Bose out in the landscaping. The Mirages are far superior in music reproduction and their capability to handle the higher volume needed for a large space. This does create a problem though as my 51s begin to distort terribly... long before the Mirages even seem to be working hard. I almost am lead to think that something may be wrong with my 51s after reading the other review.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

23 of 32 found this helpful

An unbelievable set of outdoor speakers

Mark from Washington, NJ on 5/22/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I placed these speakers about 30 feet away from each other and burried them as recommended in the manual. The directions did suggest placing them closer to one another but 30 feet was as close as I could get due to the size of my patio. The sound is simply amazing!! I have an Onkyo TX-SR803 powering the speakers and the sound has far exceeded my expectations. Considering the speakers only have 4 1/2 inch drivers, the bass is incredible. There are absolutely no down sides to these speakers after a month of HEAVY use. The price seemed a little high when I made the purchase but after listening to the speakers for a few weeks they seem like a great bargain. Buy these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

125 of 135 found this helpful

TOP