Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
427 711 44
Connect ID #
427 711 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha A-S501

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC (Black)

MFR # A-S501BL

Yamaha A-S501

Yamaha A-S501

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC (Black)

MFR # A-S501BL

134 reviews
View this product

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Orocovis, PR on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Muy feliz con este yamaha muy buen sonido y elegante de verdad es buena compra.

Pros: 85watt es mas que suficiente sonido bien natural

Cons: Ninguno

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Ifije from OVERLAND PARK, KS on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

when it works, it's great. unfortunately mine has decided to go into overload protection mode as soon as it turns on. this is after using it maybe 30 times over the course of 3 months. sad. the whole point of buying a yamaha was so that it would be indestructible. which is laughable. turns out this problem is actually fairly common. pretty lame.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/17/2021
Ifije, we're sorry you're having issues with your amp. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Allenton, MI on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean sound. A lot of features for the money. 85 W per channel and has a phono, optical and sub woofer connections.

Pros: Lots of power Phone connection Sub woofer connection

Cons: Volume knob has no display light.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great new Yamaha 501 amp

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, NJ on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the Yamaha A-S501. Aaron was very easy to deal with, no pressure. Replaced 31 year old Sony A/V receiver and bought new Polk Lsim 705s. I am hearing things in the music I haven't heard before. Playing CDs and vinyl new and old. This amp has the power and price I was looking for. Open box unit in pristine condition. Crutchfield has a satisfied customer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Mcfarland, WI on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first purchase of what I would consider an "audiophile quality" piece of gear. I did a lot of research and found the Yamaha offered the best combination of features and price for my budget. So far, I'm very happy with it. It's a noticeable step up from my Sony AV receiver in terms of clarity, dynamics, soundstage, clean power, etc. I'm running my turntable through the onboard phono section and CD and streaming through the onboard DAC. I'm driving Polk Signature S15 speakers and a powered sub. Everything sounds really good to my ears! Highly recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Yamaha just thrills me. It may not be for everyone, but it is everything I want in a power source for my listening room. Simple, not a lot of bells and whistles but it just pushes clear, clean sound. Lots of room for heat dissipation and vented on the bottom. Yamaha, keep your focus on what matters, the sound. I don't need a bunch of snazzy lights, I listen with my ears.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha and Crutchfield are A+

Crutchfield customer from Carson City, NV on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha is a great product at a reasonable price. Crutchfield, which I have been purchasing from for many years is still a great way to browse a multitude of product as well as purchase from. A+

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality amp. This is my first piece of higher end audio equipment, and am not disappointed. I bought it primarily for music, but use it for movies as well. It's versatile, sounds clean and pure, and is very attractive to boot. I definitely recommend it. Shopping and shipping through Crutchfield was simple and prompt. Thanks folks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Downers Grove, IL on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent amp for a very reasonable price point

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Corona, CA on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like my Yamaha A-S501. Great sound, especially with loudness switch activated. Easy to set up and use. Makes my 24 year old NHT 4- way towers sound like new. Very pleased with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Nisswa, MN on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable clarity! So great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Affordable High Quality Sound!

Crutchfield customer from Rock Springs, WY on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased this unit and was immediately impressed with the beautiful sound. I never knew that one of the best shows on television, in my mind, Top Gear had such wonderful accompanying sound. But thanks to this extremely sweet unit I have realized a completely new world of home theatre. With 2 speakers alone. Thank you Scott for the brilliant suggestion. Oh yeah... it thumps very well too!

Pros: Unbelievably beautiful sound through all levels of volume.

Cons: It never sounds like a YZF dirt bike.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Somerset, KY on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had it a couple of weeks but I have tried it with two sets of speakers. KEF Q 350 bookshelf and floorstanders Meadowlark Shearwater Hotrods. So far so good. The meadowlarks sound very nice with this amp. I am using it in a second system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from North Port, FL on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and super simple to use.

Pros: Super straight forward to connect and use. Real natural sound coming out my speakers (Definitive Technology)

Cons: Build in Bluetooth would have been nice but still a great buy.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Guest from Wilmington, NC on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Nice appearance. Easy to use controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Narrowsburg, NY on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a surround system on my TV, it just couldn't fill my living space with clear crisp and discernable sound one side to the other. The Yamaha A S501, no problem and it doesn't have to be all that loud to do so. Happy I have it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sweet sound

Crutchfield customer from Gibsonia, PA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp that replaced my old Heathkit.

Pros: Does what it says.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

S501 - It's All You Need!

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Full and complex soundstage. And, it looks cool too. Very happy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loving it

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, VA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid buy. Replaced my old but loyal HK, so I was a little apprehensive. However, this baby delivers the goods. Have 2 young kids learning sax/violin so I wanted decent sound for the vinyl and CD's in order to build their appreciation for music. At 85wpc, this easily powers the tall Boston Acoustics, as well the bookcase NHT SuperOnes. Like everyone else, think the plastic knobs are bull, but not a major distraction, and the unit is simple and elegant. There are likely a couple of other options that can compete at this price point, but I think you need to spend $200-400 more to really get something beyond this unit. Highly recommend. Lastly, Crutchfield sales advisor was fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, WV on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. We have only had it a few days, but the unit seems to give a nice, clear sound with my very old speakers. We are glad about that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Queen Creek, AZ on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to do away with my Denon theater receiver and get something more user friendly, really didn't need all those bells and whistles that were on the Denon. I don't really listen to radio at home only in the truck, so I thought a integrated amp would be the way to go. I looked around and found not may integrated amps had a sub outlet and for me that was a must. The Yamaha had the sub outlet and the power I needed to run my system without all the bells and whistles. I am really happy with the sound and the unit looks pretty good. I may be getting a seperate phono amp to run through the unit for a better sound out of my turn table. Not saying the phono coming out of the Yamaha is bad in any way but a separate phono amp is really the way to go if you want to upgrade your turn table.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Better than more expensive alternatives

Crutchfield customer from Cockeysville, MD on 8/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really nice pre-amp. It puts out a great sound. Is simple. And, it has all of the ports you need to hook up your system. The built-in DAC is very nice as well. I use the amp in my office and it is more than powerful enough for the space.

Pros: Easy to set up. Rich sound. Great DAC

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very happy with this one

Dennis from Ann Arbor on 7/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm truly 100% satisfied with the A-S501. It sounds so natural, the construction of it is very solid, and it's aesthetics are beautiful. I was considering getting the 100w version but the 85w ended up being more than enough and I like my music quite loud. Definitely recommend.

Pros: Great sound Beautiful aesthetics Well built

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

??

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, NY on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful and sleek. Pleased with purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha rocks

GARY from Shelby, NC on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just recently got this nice amplifier with CD player and tuner all pieces look very nice and sound fantastic! Had Old Cambridge audio a540 60wpc nice amp sweet sounding but left channel started cutting out but being 12 years old you know . For the bang for the buck this integrated amp .. I've also purchased Wharfedale diamond 225 s added to NHT sub . I'm blown away thanks again Crutchfield! I remember when you sold Cricket car speakers now that was back in the day .

Pros: Sound is focused not to bright or fatiguing but powerful for 85WPC Love the dB loudness controller .

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice love the sound on this system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best in this price range

Daniel from Big Bear City, CA on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned this thing for over 6 months now and it's just the best in the price range. The 85 watts a channel is really powerful and clean. It definitely reminds me of older Japanese amplifiers that are really clean and have less character than others, but are more accurate sounding. The Toslink input is really useful. The phono input sounds great considering the price range. The noise floor is really low even when this thing is turned up loud. I have used it with several different speakers and it powers all of them well. I have 3 complaints. First, the subwoofer output is set at 90Hz and can't be changed (mine was also out of phase, but I fixed that by switching the phase on the sub). There is no way to insert an EQ. And some of the controls are not accessible on the remote (Bass, Treble, Loudness). The loudness knob doesn't seem very useful to me as it over compresses the signal for my taste. But these are small things considering how great this thing sounds at this price. I bought it instead of an older receiver because I wanted something with a remote and I was shocked that it sounds as good as any of my old receivers (Marantz, Harman Kardon, Kenwood).

Pros: Sounds really good, clean, transparent. Price is right. Phono input is great. Has Toslink input. Pure Direct sounds cleaner.

Cons: Subwoofer output is set at 90Hz and out of polarity. No way of inserting additional EQ in the chain. Remote doesn't control all knobs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Simply amazing

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, AZ on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose this amplifier just by the reviews I read. The reviews were consistently in the 4.5-5 star range regardless of the site I was looking at. I was not disappointed. It truly has been amazing since I unboxed it and set it up. It's main use is for listening to my vinyl collection. I have paired the A-S501 with a Pro-ject Debut Carbon turntable and Definitive Technology BP-7006 speakers. This receiver has no problem powering the speakers and is crystal clear and defined at all listening levels. I have about 40 hours of use so far and it appears to have softened a bit and is not as bright. Which I prefer. I can listen for hours with no fatigue. A great sounding integrated amplifier at a very reasonable price point.

Pros: Simple, straight forward design. Great sound with no distortion.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from N Ft Myers, FL on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, good clear music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501 Delivers

Steve from GARDNER, KS on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Why? Why did I wait so long to purchase this amazing amp? I was trying to stick with some nice vintage Marantz and Pioneer receivers but was just spending too much cash to keep them going. The sound was very good but always seemed to be missing something. My music source is an Integra CD player and this amp has more than enough power to push my Klipsch RP speakers. Low volume listening sounds wonderful with the loudness option but pushing the volume really makes everything come together. The sound detail simply opens up. No more clipping or distortion at high volumes, just pure musical bliss. I like to tweak the bass and treble ever so slightly. I find the music direct option slightly less open but others love it. I look forward to getting off work so I can get home and listen to something else! The front panel controls and the remote are just fine. No complaints or nit picking here. Completely satisfied with this purchase and always happy with the quick shipping Crutchfield provides.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Wish I had pulled the trigger and bought this sooner.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

So far so good

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid, substantial, simple and superior sound.

Pros: Sounds awesome, fill room Plug and play, super simple, was playing music 5 minutes after opening box

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Chapel Hill, NC on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade a bit from my vintage Yamaha AX-900. The AX-900 is a beast but I wanted the option of coaxial digital and optical inputs, and a remote control. The S501 fit the bill, and I'll being using my AX-900 in a different room.

Pros: Clean vintage look with modern amenities.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

100% recommendation, BETTER SOUND WITHOUT SURROUND

Nicole from Boston , MA on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha A-s501 build quality is refreshing. The amp has confidently powered every pair of speakers with no signs of distortion. Pure direct feature and 4 hour shutoff ar excellent. The best I've herd complementing sound from TV. From 15" cabinet speakers to hifi bi amp floor standing speakers. You don't have to be hesitant choosing this yamaha. I found having a DAP PLAYER with a great Dac, hifi files and digital out combined with this amp is the answer to having a hifi system everyone who ever hears it is impressed meanwhile spending penny's compared to every other option. YAMAHA S-501 SPEAKERS POWERED MISSION 761i bookshelf Platinum audio PT-808 Hifi bi amp Floor loudspeakers 4 way KLH cabinet speakers with 15" woofers

Pros: Build quality Sound quality Power Never heats up or any problem

Cons: If you want active sound adjustments directly from amp At night, volume knob difficult to see what level it's at

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Outstanding value and quality.

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I was hoping for and expected from Yamaha. Sound quality is excellent as well as build quality. My order experience with Crutchfield was outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Cadiz, KY on 3/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I called Crutchfield to get a recommendation for replacing an old stereo receiver. Dee was very helpful and recommended the Yamaha A-S501. It was easy to hookup and gives me great sound. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Bill from Tucson, AZ on 3/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received my Yamaha S501 integrated amplifier from Crutchfield ; what a great sound. Works really well with my Elac Unfi UB 5's and my Rega P3 turntable. This is a sound I'm accustomed to with Yamaha, They build great very low THD without breaking the bank. Great service from the Crutchfield people I chatted with; they helped me make a decision.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

ferdinand from Glendale, CA on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great BUY !!! NO regrets, ALL Praises on my A-S501 ??

Pros: ALL

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Ed from The Villages, FL on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this amp, it replaces an old Harmon which was THE standard in its day. All the sounds are so natural, from low background music to neighbor hood parties. With the JBL towers, look out sound is a coming.

Pros:

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Antonio from Barrigada, GU on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good value for the price. This is a high current device that does its job very well!

Pros: great performance clean simple design.

Cons: Needs a break in for best performance.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

dave from Rumford, ME on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice amp spent a lot of years with a few different recievers and wanted to go old school... this amp hits the mark perfectly the matching tuner might be my next purchase

Pros: back to old school

Cons: havnt found any

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sound. Plenty of power. Great amp for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 27 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, NY on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Good natural detailed sound!

Christopher from Bronx, NY on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this amp. It has nice depth and clean detailed sound. It brings out punch and life out of speakers even at lower volumes . I for one, like using the loudness control. So far I don't miss having a tuner as a blue tooth receiver device allows me to stream music well through the amp. I currently use this amp for a bedroom set up with elac debut 4's and an onkyo cd carousel player. Perfect for my needs. I recommend this amp. I can only imagine how the A-S 801 sounds like but that may be for another day and place. I got a deal on the scratch and dent model (thank you Conrad-) which looked fine (nothing that was very visible at all).

Pros: As mentioned - good clean sound - certainly enough power.

Cons: Break in period not really a con per se- just need to let it warm up and break in. Otherwise so far and so, so good!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Ray from Alexandria, VA on 10/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still breaking in but sounding great! My first impression was not so good with some shrill highs...but after a week of listening to music and watching TV, things are really starting to smooth out. Pairs and works well with my Harmony remote. The box is a bit bigger than expected, so be prepared for that. So far very satisfied and looking forward to trying the biwire mode once I can build some more speaker cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Not good enough

T from Binghamton, NY on 9/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Muddy mid and high range, not enough power, very quirky loudness control. I do not recommend

Pros: None

Cons: See review

Crutchfield response on 10/1/2018
: This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

9 of 24 found this helpful

Perfect Bedroom Amplifier

Robert from Bryn Mawr, PA on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amplifier for my bedroom when the ancient Denon AVR I was using finally died. I chose it for the minimalist interface, and to match my CD-S300. I can operate the amp and CD player with the same remote, which is very handy. I chose the black model instead of silver to match the CD player. More on that later. What makes this amp perfect for a bedroom is that the power button actually turns the unit completely off. There are no standby LEDs when it is off, which is preferable when sleeping. The CD-S300 is also completely devoid of LEDs when off. The Denon it replaced was 85 Watts per channel, but could not bi-wire my Polk RTiA1 speakers. The sound quality was actually very good, so I wanted an amp that could provide similar power. The fact that I could bi-wire them with the A-S501 turned out to be a major bonus. The amp has more than enough headroom for the Polks, and bi-wiring really tightened up the sound. This is a really well built amplifier. The fit and finish are superb. Yes, the knobs are plastic, but they do not look or feel chintzy. I like the speaker terminals a lot better than the ones on my higher end Denon and Onkyo AVRs. My only complaints are with the availability of accessories. There is no coordinating silver tuner or entry level CD player, so I was forced to choose black, since I want the components to match. Also, the Yamaha Bluetooth adapter appears to be out of production, which is disappointing.

Pros: Plenty of power Bi-wiring capability Very nice speaker terminals Line level, phono, optical, and coaxial connections No LEDs when off Remote controls Yamaha CD player and tuner

Cons: Lack of coordinating accessories makes the black model more attractive than the silver, which is a shame. Yamaha bluetooth adapter no longer available

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great amp! sounds amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great Amplifier

Dave from Mchenry, IL on 6/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Amp for the price. Plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons: Wish it had an integrated power plugs for components.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pleasant suprise

Bill from Carlisle, PA on 6/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was looking for a good quality Integrated Amp and found the Yamaha A-S501 as a S&D for a good price point and thought I would give it a try. Sound quality is outstanding. I have an older Sony ES Receiver rated at 120 WPC and the Yamaha sounds more natural. I also hooked up my old Technics SL-1200 MK2 and love the sound of vinyl once again. This AMP really makes my B&W CM5 speakers come to life. The 501 is only 15 watts/ch less than the 701 and less expensive. I can't imagine there is much of a difference between the two AMP's.

Pros: Sound quality and features

Cons: Could use a light on volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 5/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Someone complained (other supplier) that it lacked good bass and I could not disagree more. I have an old Carver HR772 that is rated with about 30 more watts per channel. The amp still works but the control for the inputs is not working properly...not bad for a 33 year plus receiver. It has great bass and the A-S501 is the same as far as I can tell. I arranged a quick swap to compare and the Yamaha is right there with the Carver. The only thing that I would like it to have is a means to tell the setting of the volume control. The Carver has a thin lighted slot which makes it easy to tell from across the room. The power is way more than needed to fill your living room unless you live in an auditorium.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

V. Feliciano from San Juan PR on 4/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this amp, specially with the price. Simple, very nice to look at and sounds great! My first Yamaha and love it so far! Great service by Tom!

Pros: Sounds great!

Cons: None so far...

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 3/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Man this amp is a beast and is worth every penny. I'm using this with old Pioneer speakers and with an Technic Turntable SL D -202 I'm hearing details off of my Vinyl records like I've never heard before I also bought the Onkyo C-7030 CD player also and the details from my cd's on this Amp is amazing. I have to also say the sales person Tyler was very very helpful and I have to give kudos for the date it was promise to be delivered GREAT JOB GUYS

Pros: Worth the Money

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sounds great,

Amadeus from San Francisco on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge improvement over my $200 entry level Denon Reciever. 85 Watts powering Klipsch R-9F is VERY LOUD. I could have saved money and got 60 Watt version. I like the simple analog controls. My 50 year old ears love loudness control. My kids love Bass adjustment. I would have liked 2 or more optical inputs. I have only 2 inputs both toslink. (1) Chromecast Audio (2) TV. Bought $20 toslink to digital coax converter for TV.

Pros: Sounds great, lots of power. No distortion even when windows are shaking. Best rated amp I could find online for the price. Simple digital controls. Ability to select speaker impedance. Runs cool..

Cons: Only 1 toslink input

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very Nice Unit

Gary from Howard Beach, NY on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchases this unit to replace a 40 year old Onkyo A-7 integrated amp . The Onkyo had more features, but the Yamaha A-S501 has all that I needed, plus some new ones. I especially like the pure direct feature, which I use most of the time. It is impossible to read the position of the volume knob. To solve this problem I used a small piece of white graphic arts tape approximately 1/16" wide by 5/16" long and placed it over the small notch on top of the volume knob. I am now able to see the volume level position rotate from my couch using the remote. BTW the remote works very nicely. Although the phone section says it is for MM cartridges only, it works with my high output MC Blue Point cartridge without the need to turn up the volume control more than about 40 percent of it's total rotation. I am using the sub-out with my newly purchased Klipsch 10 R-SWi that I also bought from Crutchfield. Overall a very nice unit.

Pros: Pure direct feature, Sub-out

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very Pleased with the Advice, Service & Amplifier!

Chuck from Brevard, NC on 1/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good, succinct & well-directed advice from Sam regarding the best-suited Yamaha amplifier for my needs; prompt shipping; and Wow, what an amplifier! I wish that I had moved up from my Denon receiver to this Yamaha amplifier years ago - what an absolutely amazing difference - it makes full use of my B&W speakers! The only gripe, and it's a small one, is that the receiver does not have an integral power outlet in which I could have plugged my CD player - oh well! I certainly recommend Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501 BL

Jerry R from Sterling, AK on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Purchased to replace system damaged in an earthquake 2 years ago. Enjoying CD collection again, but haven't connected to TV, laptop or streaming music yet.

Pros: Really drives the Klipsch Reference speakers.

Cons: None discovered yet.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Hollis, NY on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sound, power, and ease of operation. Powers my 4 Bose floor standing speakers with ease. No regrets on this replacement for my Onkyo I.A.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Clean sound.

Tom from Roanoke, VA on 9/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound. More than sufficient power for medium-sized room. As usual, Crutchfield service first-rate.

Pros: Straight-forward integrated amp. Clean sound.

Cons: Power/source LED's too small. Mute only reduces sound. No AC outlets for system components.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

Very Good Amp

John from Warren, OH on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good amp and at 85 watts per channel has plenty of power. The first thing I noticed when replacing my Sansui B-300 amp was the detail I herd of the cymbals. then after listening further the clearness of all the instruments. The bass is good but I'm running 4 floor standing speakers. I then hooked up my subwoofer and I'm still in the process of adjusting the sub to my liking but I'm not getting the mix I'm after, no fault of the amp of course,. I decided not to use my sub woofer and the amp handles the bass perfectly. I would suggest only using a sub if your only using bookshelf speakers. My next upgrade are new speakers. One drawback is how bad cd's sound. I started to play several different cd's and they just sounded tinny. Streaming music is much cleaner and pleasant to listen to. Better amp = more detail. And of course vinyl is the best .

Pros: Reproduces music perfectly , plenty of power at 85 watts

Cons: hard to see tiny indicator lights

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Zeeland, MI on 4/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new Yamaha integrated amp works very good with my klipsch heresy speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Rich from Horseheads, NY on 3/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this integrated amplifier. I wanted something specifically made just for old school music listening, I've found it with this product.....It sounds amazing paired with my Monitor Audio Bronze floor standing speakers......

Pros: Amazing sound...

Cons: Knobs should be metal, plastic a little fragile.....

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome amp

Paul from San Francisco, CA on 2/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old Harman Kardon hk880 Vxi receiver died after 25 years. I loved the natural sound of that receiver and was tempted to have it repaired. But as with most electronics, technology does improve with time and I thought that it would probably not cost much more to get a new receiver (possibly even less). I was drawn to the specifications/reviews of this integrated amplifier and decided to take a chance--and I am so glad I did. The sound is also very natural and can get quite loud without distortion. Grant it I am not a professional audiophile but I am hearing things I have never heard before. I have a pair of Definitive Technology BP7006s which work well with this amp. I am most impressed with the built in DAC--by using this input with an Airport Express digital optical output, the music streamed from my iTunes on the iMac sounds so similar to CD's that I am going to get rid of my CD player. I really like the clean appearance of the front panel. This is an awesome integrated amp for the price point. I love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Impressive Amp!

JC from Plymouth, WI on 1/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amplifier with the intention of fulfilling a hobby of vinyl records. With my Definitive Technology BP10's sitting idle in the basement under plastic, I needed an amplifier that would provide enough power to my towers. This amp is nothing short of impressive in look, feel as well as power and layout of the controls. I have never heard these speakers come alive with such rich, full sound. I highly recommend this amplifier.

Pros: Power Controls Layout

Cons: Have not come across any yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good stereo product

Everett from Ashburn, VA on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There really isn't much to say. It's an stereo integrated amp and it's designed to do one thing. This one does it as well as I expected at it's price point. Does an adequate job of driving my Polk Audio RTi A7 speakers.

Pros: Does it's job

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 9/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently replaced a high end Tandberg amplifier with a new Yamaha A-S501. The Tandberg was 30 years old and had developed a clipping issue in one channel after many years of use. The Yamaha compares very favorably to the old amp, driving my Klipsch towers in a very clean and powerful manner. The controls have a nice precise feel. I use the stereo to play blues backing tracks while playing along with my electric guitar and the Yamaha has plenty of power to keep up with the tube guitar amps. It's a quality component that delivers as advertised. Thanks to Crutchfield and Yamaha.

Pros: power, clarity, nice controls and features

Cons: hard to see the control settings on the black face without direct lighting

Crutchfield response on

14 of 25 found this helpful

Excellent integrated amp!

Paul from Landers, California on 9/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to replace my venerable Yamaha A-1020 that (until it died) has been making thunder for me since I was stationed on Okinawa in 1985. While this unit doesn't have the features that my A-1020 had, it has the same great sound, and hopefully the same durability and longevity.

Pros: Simple, powerful and made by Yamaha.

Cons: No provision for a turntable with a moving coil cartridge, moving magnet only.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Better than what I had!

Ty from Nashville, TN on 9/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice!

Pros: Great sound! Later this week I'm going with a cartridge upgrade (for my TT) and expect it to sound even better!

Cons: I don't notice much with the 'Pure Direct' button engaged.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Product Review

Steve H from Westfield, IN on 8/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 20 year old Yamaha took a slow and painful death.... Then... with the help of the staff of Crutchfield I ordered my AS 501 ..... Kinda surprised that you can't hear it in the background....It is everything that an old music guy could ask for. My only complaint... or request is that they could have put a lighted volume indicator so that us old, blind guys could see the volume go up and down in the dark...... I know, this is trivial.... but..... The Amp is everything I wanted and needed....... Next... an upgrade to my HPM 100 Speakers.... which are still in tact . Thanks Guys.... You Are The BEST !!!!!!!

Pros: True Sound

Cons: Lighted Volume Indicator .... I know that is Silly .....................

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The amplifier is great i used it also for surround sound love it

More quality music an sounds great love it from Mount Vernon, NY on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My next up grade be the 100w everything about the amplifier is great no complain

Pros: This changer is worth the money the only thing is the stand by i don't like the power company sounds lovely

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Great integrated amplifier

Jesse from Utah on 5/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a good IA for a few months, and finally chose the Yamaha based on good looks, great price, and a lot of good reviews.

Pros: Sound is detailed without being peaky. It just sounds natural.

Cons: The buttons are a bit plasticy, and the power cord is no longer detachable for some reason. But all in all its a great integrated amp

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501 Integrated amp

Crutchfield customer from Saginaw, Michigan on 4/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have just had a few hours with the amp and have, today, mated it to a Yamaha CD C600 disc player. The amp has plenty of power. The look is clean and simple and the setup was a breeze. The connection with the "Direct" option between the amp and the CD player is not yielding the spatial separation for which I was looking. I suspect the CD Player to be the culprit. I am running it thru 4 old JBL Jubal 65s and they are unusually bright anyway.

Pros: Nice design, Plenty of power, very friendly to install.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 13 found this helpful

Blown away

Paul from Frederick, MD on 4/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a home theater receiver that I was using mostly for vinyl playback. The difference is night and day. I use a diy vacuum tube phono preamp it sounds amazing with the "pure direct" feature. Plus if a certain record sounds flat I can use the nice bass/treble adjustments. I am very pleased.

Pros: Great for music. Well built and powerful

Cons: None so far...

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great Step Up or Entry Amp

Jeff C from Arlington, TX on 2/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently purchased this integrated amp as a "step up" for dedicated vinyl hi fi system. I had been using my 5.1 receiver and an outboard phono amp stage for records and decided enough was enough! This Yamaha amp is exactly as advertised. Its clear and clean, drives my speakers well and its simple. I tried it using the included phono stage and with my own phono stage and the one included in the AS 501 sounds better. I like the remote too. The loudness feature is a nice bonus. Since I am using this exclusively for my turntable I haven't tried any of the other inputs. I do like the pure direct feature as well. I have used that from time to time just to compare sounds. I would conclude that if you are like me and want to step up and get a dedicated stereo amp that doesn't break the bank or you want to use this as an entry back into 2 simple channel realm take a good look at this.

Pros: value, sound, simplicity, phono stage

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

for what you pay

Crutchfield customer from Colorado on 1/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good product, easy set up. a bit muddy on the mid range and fuzz highs, but a lot better than most at this price range. Would estimate that one would have to spend 3 times as much to get to the next level of sonic bliss. very happy with product, as I knew what to expect. not much better out there for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Don from Pennsylvania on 12/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this amp smooth power, nice style.

Pros: Power features price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

J Flakkee from Lehigh Valley , Pennsylvania on 12/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was as described nice unit sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S501

Robert M from Arizona on 12/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for the price

Pros: great sound, easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Integrated Amp

Bunionhead from Michigan on 7/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my 500 Watt Hafler amp and preamp with this. Outside of the improvement, I can't tell the difference (my apologies to Groucho).

Pros: Looks good, sounds good. Great sound. I like the variable loudness compensation. Doesn't seem to produce too much heat. I like the digital input as I pair this with a music subscription and a Windows computer.

Cons: I wish that the input indicator lights were larger. I have to bend down to see what the input the selector is set to. Also, there is almost no indication of the volume level. Indicator lights for that would be great. Minor gripes for sure. One more thing, it requires that nothing be set on top of it, as it vents out the top. I have a monitor on it with a very open base. So far, no problems.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Pure Sound

Tomy S from Puerto Rico on 7/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid Product, Pure Direct really works.

Pros: Good features and very simple.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 6/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't complain about a single thing, I paired it with my MartinLogan ESL speakers and Onkyo CP-1050 turntable, huge sound upgrade from my Marantz HT I was using them with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mr.

Weedlessepps from North Carolina on 6/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful, Efficient, with wonderful sound reproduction. Was replacement for a original Yamaha A500 amp, which was over 30 years old and played hard. Can't wait to utilize the digital options included with amp this is from a real analog lover. Albums and cassettes have new life. Could even power my moving coil stylus through circuit. All in all great product

Pros: Simplicity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Simplicity Delivered

MRod from North Carolina on 4/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted the best value to drive my GoldenEar Triton 7s, and I found it with the Yamaha AS-501. I by-pass the tone controls with the "Pure Direct" option engaged, and I get the clean sound I wanted. What sold me on the Yamaha Integrated amplifier was that I can attach my Blue-ray device to deliver great 2.1 sound--yes, sub-woofer and phono outs are part of this great deal. My unit came from the Outlet shop and was sold as a "scratch and dent." The Yamaha arrived in the original box with no scratches, dents, smudges--although a small chunk of Styrofoam had broken off from the packaging holding the unit. I can live with that! Finally, I have to say that the remote with this unit is fantastic due to the uncluttered layout of the buttons. I love the way when I press MUTE, the volume ramps down to a quite yet audible level.

Pros: Value. No frills, but the unit delivers clean, uncolored power that can drive 4 ohm or 8 ohm speakers. Remote is uncluttered which means you can quickly locate the volume and mute button when you need them.

Cons: The dials have the look of brushed aluminum, but they are plastic; not a problem for me but maybe a knock for some.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Outstanding quality, amazing sound

Thomas from Atlanta, GA on 10/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the A-S501 to replace an older integrated I had. I was slightly concerned about how the sound would differ from my 70's amp that I was previously using but the Yamaha has really blown me away with it's sound quality. I love having the flexibility with digital and analog inputs and this is a definite upgrade to my previous setup. The only negative I would state is that on Yamaha USA's website they list this unit as having all aluminum face and aluminum knobs but I can report that all of the knobs are plastic, although very nice looking plastic.

Pros: Sound quality, appearance, build quality, input selection, DAC

Cons: Plastic knobs

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

TOP