Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
992 125 75
Connect ID #
992 125 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha R-S202

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # R-S202BL

Yamaha R-S202

Yamaha R-S202

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # R-S202BL

790 reviews
View this product

Yamaha R-S202

Tim from Harrison, TN on 8/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product so far no complaints

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Keith from SILVER SPGS, FL on 8/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had this amp since summer of 2017. It's been working like a champ. No problems at all. Hooked up to Blu-ray, onkyo CD player , sony TV, and polk audio book shelves. Sounds pretty darn good as well.

Pros: See above

Cons: Non that I have seen.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crap

Jeremy from Benton, AR on 7/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely sucks, I want to return it. It might play for 15 minutes then it cuts out and is hot as a firecracker. I need a return authorization!!!!

Pros: None

Cons: Lots

Crutchfield response on 7/27/2022
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Abby, reached out to Jeremy to set up a return. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Clifford Ler from Moorhead, MN on 7/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like my speakers. The Yamaha R-S202 does not do them justice. I have lost almost all the bass range of the speakers. It makes them sound like tin speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/20/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Justin, reached out to Clifford Ler to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Kerwin from Baltimore, MD on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my Yamaha amp, and it cranks too! My Bose speakers rock even better now. The Yamaha R-202 is also light on the wallet and a great buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Greg from Pierre, SD on 7/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and enough features. It seems like you have to turn the volume way up when using Alexa plugged into line 1. Speaker connections and all hook-ups are easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good for the price

Graham from Woodland wa on 7/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mine lasted exactly 1 month over the factory warranty, then it blew a channel. Loud and has decent sound quality.

Pros: Loud

Cons: Longevity sucked

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Go yamaha

Clint from Rockwood, IL on 7/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clean sound. Bluetooth works flawlessly. I would recommend this receiver.

Pros: Easy set up. Great sound. Great value

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Lavonda from Topeka, KS on 6/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound.Looks good. installs with ease. Great price fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Guest from Russell, Iowa on 6/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was great for the price, but it could be better, for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Guest from Hamden, CT on 6/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can work on z220v

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Matthew from Commiskey, IN on 6/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like it and the sound is great

Pros: Easy to hook up

Cons: Wish it was a little smaller

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Thomas from Kingston, MA on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered as a Bluetooth receiver for my cabana. Seems to be working well so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good FM tuner

Scott from Theodosia, MO on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good basic radio for the shop. I like the fact that it has A+B speaker connections and controls. Has a good tuner, receives more channels clearly than my 40 year old Harmon Kardon that this is replacing.

Pros: Good FM reception, easy to use, full function remote

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yama HA!

Daniel from Van Buren, AR on 6/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha, Yamaha, Yamaha! This is only my second purchase of a Yamaha product. Both amps, both of the same line and both purchased within the last 12 months. The first which was the r-n303 network receiver is dead due to resistor r-138 burning with no obvious cause. Out of warranty of course. Now, the r-s202 . Did the install first of june 2022. it is being used as a replacement until i can find a proper amp. I can list pros and cons all day but the fact remains that amplifiers priced in this range are little more than a landfill item. Yamaha touts its 100 watts of power and high end build materials. However, that power is only available at the limits of the amp and the few copper screws and coils do nothing more than catch the eye. One would be well suited with a $40 class d that will fit in your hand along with the $$ you save from not purchasing one of these Yamaha products.

Pros: it was cheap

Cons: it is cheap

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

What happened to Yamaha?

Jay from Bethesda, MD on 6/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha appears not to be putting out the same high quality equipment that they used to. I have enjoyed several midrange Yamaha amps from decades past. Indeed, the RX-596 is still in use, and I love it. The sound is great; the buttons and controls feel high quality; it just stays on (24/7) and does its job. This unit--and even the higher priced units in the consumer AS line--feels cheap and sounds uninspiring, at best. The knobs, as several other reviewers have mentioned, are plastic and feel like low-quality parts, even on the A-S801! That's really just insulting. I'm also no fan of the vertical controls, either. Knobs are superior if you don't like to look at the unit and see horizontal control knobs looking all out of alignment. As for the sound, it came across as muffled compared to my old Yamaha, and the controls seemed to do little to improve things--even the loudness control, which on the older amps could really work wonders to bring out the best in a speaker set. So I have resigned myself to acquiring older, used Yamaha units from ~20 years ago. They're well built and sound fantastic. It's so sad, though, that storied manufacturers like Yamaha are meeting price points by making junk. But I have had to conclude that this unit--and indeed others in the AS line--are junk. Crutchfield, however, is a class act. This is a great retailer.

Pros: Price

Cons: Controls. Sound.

Crutchfield response on 6/8/2022
Jay contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Russell from Youngstown, NY on 5/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit, plenty of power for my patio speakers. Easy set up. Bluetooth range better than expected. First time ordering from Crutchfield, very pleased with the support, availability, and shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly What I Was Looking For

Sean from Orlando, FL on 5/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced my dad's 1970's Pioneer running my two 1995 Bose 301's. Sounds better than I expected, and more power than I expected. I honestly like the sound of this Yamaha better than my A3020.

Pros: Price, sound, built-in Bluetooth

Cons: Wish there was a silver retro color exterior

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hope you don't want loud music

Donald from Cypress, CA on 5/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good not great......so far. I paired this with Polk Audio TSi 200 speakers for my garage. The sound is decent but not fantastic. What bothers me is I have to crank the volume nearly all the way up to hear anything. It has enough volume to listen to music at a decent level. When I turn it up to the maximum level, it automatically turns the system off. It would be nice to occasionally be able to listen to my music loudly while I'm out of the garage, but it won't happen with this unit. I'm not sure if I'll stick with this system or send it back and try to find one that has higher volume. I've been reading reviews on other systems and it seems they have the same volume control problems. This problem NEVER happened in the 70's and 80's. Every system could be cranked up and practicaally blow your ear drums. It's hard for me to understand how 40 years of advanced technology seems to be moving backwards.

Pros: Easy to set up. Great for a small room or area

Cons: Volume is not loud enough for large area.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Bob from Granite Bay, CA on 5/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, straightforward and affordable system. Easy to set-up and pair with devices. Perfect for my needs in the garage. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Billy from Alliance, NE on 5/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield always directs me to the exact item for my needs. I've had great luck with Yamaha so I'm not going to change. Good unit, great price. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A great choice to combat inflation

John from Bradenton, FL on 5/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha R-S202 proves you can put together a high fidelity stereo system at a reasonable price. The experience Yamaha has earned producing the finest musical instruments has informed its design of solid-state electronics. With inexpensive Yamaha speakers, the Yamaha R-S202 fills a medium size listening room with clear and realistic music, whether classical, rock or electronica.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Jay from Coral Springs, FL on 5/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a quality amplifier for only $200.00 .I've had more expensive pieces of equipment that did not produce as crisp a sound as this Yamaha

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Douglas from Nantucket , MA on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had no illusions buying an amplifier at this price but, Yamaha might have some delusions saying it is 100w per channel.

Pros: Worth every penny.

Cons: Weaker than expected.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Jonathan from Tampa, FL on 4/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Bluetooth receiver! I replaced my old receiver with this and so happy I did. Thank you Crutchfield!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Scott from Chandler, AZ on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Yamaha is clearly a entry level or simple use receiver, however, it is perfect for our needs. We have it for playing Bluetooth all day in our PT clinic. Has enough power to push the music beautifully. Has remote control for Bass, Tremble, R/L speaker, A/B speaker. Very happy with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

All thumbs up here

John from APPLETON, WI on 4/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, good power to drive 4 B&W speakers, simple interface, good working bluetooth, great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Samuel from Coraopolis, PA on 4/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic quality, simple design, clean and simple face-plate, great sound, adequate features. Just what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons: Unusually long Bluetooth pairing time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Carl from Columbia, MO on 4/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver for a modest system in my bedroom (now I have music everywhere in my house!), and it fills the bill well. Using the Bluetooth function exclusively (no commercials...). Had trouble pairing my phone with the Yamaha, but that appears to have been an issue with the phone, not the receiver.

Pros: Good functionality with ESSENTIAL functions and not a lot of bells and whistles which most of us would seldom use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Ron from Selma, AL on 4/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver Bluetooth works great love it

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what I expected

Charles from Slidell, LA on 4/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup. Great sound. V

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Bobby from Albertville, AL on 4/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this little receiver. Crystal clear sound

Pros: Low price

Cons: No sub out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Roger from Summit, NJ on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, convenient and well made just what I was looking for to book up my turntable and play my vinyl collection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Reciever

Jeffrey from Murphy, NC on 3/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needing to replace my 1978 era Sansui 7700Z Receiver . I found what I needed to pump out my Bose 901,s. This Yamaha R-S202 Receiver is doing the job! Excellent Receiver for the price, excellent sound quality. Highly recommend this receiver . Thanks Crutchfield !

Pros: Bluetooth, Look great , sounds great

Cons: No phono connection but I knew that

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Scott from Queen Creek, AZ on 3/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great receiver for the money just what i needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

R-S202

Steve from Thornville , OH on 3/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent device for everyday audio fan. Great equipment for the cost. I'm sure a super audiophile woildspend more,but I can't see why!

Pros: Clear instruction manual, well packed to curtail any possibility of damage in shipping and does what it claims to be able to do. Bluetooth will be great addition to our experience.

Cons: Really seems dependent on remote. Not a big issue, but older Kenwood let me change balance etc on the front panel of the receiver. i

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

John from Bountiful, UT on 2/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple for those who just need the basics. I love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Richard from Rochester, NY on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for uncomplicated set-up. Has BLUETOOTH, but no streaming ability. Does not accept baobab plugs either. Simple cable wires et-up nonetheless. Powers great sound from my bookshelf and floor speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Edward from Minneapolis, MN on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Product. Works great at a very affordable price. Recommend

Pros: All worked well and set up was easy. Very well done

Cons: None, Hard to get used to not having the old receiver look with all the stations.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from La Marque, TX on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I was looking for at the right price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A real bargain at the price!

Crutchfield customer from Tigard, OR on 1/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is an amazing performer at or anywhere near its price. With a good quality set of speakers, it produces a very smooth and quite powerful sound and yet doesn't skimp on detail. Bluetooth is built in and works seamlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, VA on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great inexpensive receiver. Good volume and extras. Used in shop environment and does quite well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, ME on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my 30 yr old JVC receiver. Plenty of oomph to drive my 50+ yr old Fisher XP-60S speakers. Inputs allow me to run TV, CD player, DVD & VHS players, and still have room to hook up an old Technics cassette deck when it gets tuned up. My daughter latched right onto the bluetooth input and more of her Spotify is spilling out into the living room instead of directly into her ears which is a good thing since now we can be part of her experience and converse about the merits of a drum riff or contributions of backup vocalists. I'm counting on Yamaha brand for some longevity, but at this price point wouldn't have to last 30 yrs to be worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, NJ on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its gets more stations than my old receiver and has bluetooth to beat! Its great for my garage!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good first stereo

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, IL on 12/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Given to my young cousin who loves it completely. Good brand crutchfield went above and beyond with me.

Pros: Quality,price

Cons: Can not build out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Hainesport, NJ on 12/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's basic and simple, does what I need it to do.

Pros: Design and layout. Size. Bluetooth.

Cons: Inputs are generic (Line 1, Line 2) so if people in your house forget which is which they get frustrated.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

perfect

Crutchfield customer from Newton Falls, OH on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outlet price, Awesome receiver. Put in garage, sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 11/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was what I needed and the price was right. Delivery was fast. I'm very satisfied and will shop here again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. And a terrific price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, KS on 10/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, perfect for my garage. I have (2) sets of speakers connected to this and it sounds great. The remotes works great too and there are alot of Presets for your stations. The Blue tooth is a nice feature as well.

Pros: Easy to set up Great for my use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice system

Crutchfield customer from Bothell, WA on 9/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a very old Teac bookshelf system that died. While it doesn't seem to have the powerful sound of the old unit, it puts out just fine. Happy that it works well with my existing speakers. I am also thrilled that it picks up & plays AM just fine too as I listen to some baseball games during the season. I love the blue tooth too. It's a really nice overall system and I'm very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Geneseo, IL on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver to replace the one in my garage because of the Bluetooth feature. The Bluetooth works great, no problems. The sound is overall very good. Very satisfied!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Sterling, VA on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is designed to simplify and concentrate in the limited function. It means it is less function and less cost. But it has high power output and great sound delivering. If you listen the music from CD and FM/AM radio, this is the perfect one and satisfies you with the great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 9/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glad we purchased the Yamaha R-S202. It works fine. Now the 80 & 90 years old can now return to hearing our favorite CD's & DVD's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Sw Ranches, FL on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set, user friendly, fast shipping and great price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this receiver. Easy to use and understand.

Pros: Very good value for the price.

Cons: Could not get sound from speakers on start up. Customer support had me reset the receiver and all was good.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Gig Harbor, WA on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Four Stars for value and power. The sound quality is merely fair. No worries, though, I'm using this receiver to power a pair of Magnapan in the man cave and for that purpose - they're perfect !

Pros: Value, power, and looks

Cons: Lack of sound quality and features.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Rocky Hill, CT on 8/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im very satisfied with the product, easy to setup and operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from San Bernardino, CA on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a very good receiver. I would recommend this receiver to anyone who needs one.

Pros: The remote works really great. All the controls are on it.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Los Lunas, NM on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent - Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Rhinelander , WI on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase. The smooth (I'd call it warm) sound the Yamaha brings is perfect for our listening setting in the basement. Styling is clean, fresh with minimal fanfare and the system includes a very complete remote. Particularly like the ability to control the treble, base and balance from the remote which, for us, proves very helpful given some of our sound sources. Bought this receiver to replace a Sony STR-DE305 (which is still a very good receiver purchased 24 years ago and moving to a different room in our home). The Yamaha is connected to our Realistic Mach One 4024As (which are now 40 years old, sound pretty amazing and going very strong); the receiver drives these speakers just fine. The Yamaha is an excellent fit for what we wanted to accomplish in this room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great ny daughter loves it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Yamaha R-S202 for our outdoor speakers. I'm really impressed with the range of bluetooth. We can sit outsite and control the music with our iPhone/iPad without static or going out of bluetooth range. All at a great price.

Pros: Bluetooth range, price

Cons: I do wish the volume was more powerful with bluetooth, even when the connected divice was at full volume.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say, it is a nice receiver in this price range. Clean front, easy to use remote... What's more interesting is the longevity of Yamaha. I bought my first one in 1977 for about $500 (over $2000 in today's dollars). It lasted 17 years. I bought number 2 in 1993 for about $350 (over $600 today). It still works! Only maintenance is to air spray it for dust every 5 years or so. This one I just bought may outlive me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Akron, NY on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meets all expectations for the price. Very basic unit but gets the job done. Runs 2 Yamaha speakers in my pole barn with no problems.

Pros: Price

Cons: Unit is a bit large for what it has to offer but that doesn't effect the quality.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Quality and Simplicity

Crutchfield customer from Cape May Ch, NJ on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, I am part of a dying, soon to be extinct breed, of music lovers. I purchase audio equipment to listen to music only...nothing else...no movies, no gaming, no "feel like you are there" sporting events...music only. That being said, the market for stereo recievers designed purely for recorded music is limited However, the Yamaha R-S202 is a solid, basic reciever developed primarily for music stereo systems Easy to install/ set up, it has enough power to overpower a large room should you decide that is imperative My music choices include: Grateful Dead, Rolling Stones, Uriah Heep, Pink Floyd, Woodstock era Folk & Rock artists, Blues, Jazz, Native American [ lots of drums & flute] New Age and Spa [ meditative] , Cajun, Bluegrass, Gospel, Progressive Rock /Jazz etc...all sound great and play clean with the Yamaha 9 R-S202. It also has Blue Tooth if that is your thing. Its basic simplicity is the most attrctive feature...it's designed to play music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Great replacement for workshop

Crutchfield customer from Crestview, FL on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a new stereo to run my 300 disk changer and this was an inexpensive way to get back up and running. The only thing I missed was the switchable outlet on the back of the unit as there is none. No big deal, works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Hermitage, TN on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using it to power my speakers on the deck. Works great, sounds great too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Can't be beat for the price

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 4/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I rated this 5/5 taking all things into consideration. Is it the best amp out there? No. Is it the best amp out there for this price? YES. I have two of these, one for myself running Polk speakers, and the other I bought for my son and it's running some old Mission speakers. It just doesn't let you down at all. Good power, super easy to use, just a simple no frills great sounding kick butt amp. I'll even buy a third at some point to put in the garage lol

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Natural sound

Benton from Jacksonville, FL on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it, now I can listen to my music on my iPhone

Pros: Easy setup for Bluetooth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from East Rochester, NY on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does everything i wanted it to do and then some.

Pros:

Cons: There isnt any cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as promised. Very good receiver for the price point! Stylish front panel. Bluetooth worked flawlessly and was very simple to engage. FM station pre-sets are easy to set-up. I have no complaints. For the price point I would rate a 5 star, I lowered by 1 star so someone wouldn't think they are getting "much more" than price point reflects.

Pros: Price, simplicity, Bluetooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a lower end receiver. Bluetooth worked easily with my Samsung phone and tablet.

Pros: Basic receiver with great sound. Easy install. Bluetooth.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Durand, IL on 4/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio reception in both AM and FM are very good,great unit for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Mountain View, AR on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My second Yamaha receiver and it sounds great as well. Bluetooth works flawlessly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Christopher from SILVER SPRING, MD on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The functionality of each of the buttons are bleeding into each other for some reason, if you scroll the preset, it increases the treble... Pretty frustrating

Pros:

Cons: Near useless at this point

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

I Like it

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, VA on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 35 year old unit. Looks and sounds good. Don't loose the remote as you need that to do all of the programming

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Pottsville, PA on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hooked 2 proficient 650 to this receiver, and the unit provides more than enough power to blast my Neighbors 200ft away, right outta bed. Bluetooth works at about 30ft away with direct line of sight. I plan to add 2 more speakers to the other channel, as I'm using it to support my outdoor system. Overall, I'm very pleased with this product. And at the price point, no brained!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, MD on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit. Can't believe how many stations it receives in my metal garage. Definitely a home run!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Kutztown, pa on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great neutral warm sound can't beat the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Ottertail, MN on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was wanting to replace my 30 year old Yamaha receiver without spending a lot, I'm truly "old school" so when I saw the simplicity and read some reviews of this unit, I thought it would be a good fit for my style, and I was not disappointed. I was surprised at the clear sound and power the unit delivers at such a modest price. I have a pair of Klipsch 4.2's hooked up to it and and I can just sit back and listen to good old 2 channel stereo. The Bluetooth capability was so simple to set up with my phone and is a very sweet feature at such a modest price. The unit delivers more of an upper end experience at an entry level price.

Pros: Price, Quality, Power, Bluetooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Oceana, WV on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I prefer old school receivers but this system surprised me. I am paired up with a set of old mach 3 speakers which I had to refoam. Yamaha sounds great, even at higher volumes and the Bluetooth is very nice. Great receivers for the price, I would recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Saint Johns, FL on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just needed a 2nd amp to power two pair of additional speakers for my covered patio and garage in addition to my Denon home theater receiver. I chose a 2nd receiver instead of just an amp because of Bluetooth and the ability to stream music just to my outdoor speakers with option to play all zone stereo through the Denon. Yamaha sounds fine for my purpose. Negatives include no apple airplay and that this Yamaha is only rated to play one pair of 8 ohm speakers at a time (i.e. only speaker A or B, but not both). Playing both speakers A and B requires 16 ohms which isn't practical. Would have to spend 2.5 times more for a 4 ohm stable receiver, so I'm settling to keep this one and sacrifice playing only one pair of speakers at a time.

Pros:

Cons: No Apple Airplay Can only play one pair of 8 ohm speakers at a time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Pemberville, OH on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was not worth the money

Pros: Nice for a kids room

Cons: NOT RECOMMENDED

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as discribed. I use it just for the power and it has plenty.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good rec. Easy. Use. Easy hook up. Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Eli from Spring, TX on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a receiver that had issues after 25 years. The system consists of a turntable, CD player and four speakers. I have only had the Yamaha R-S202 for a couple of weeks, but the setup was easy and I liked that it has Bluetooth which didn't exist when I bought the previous receiver. I like the simple look and simple controls. Hoping it will last 25 years!

Pros: Price Size, it is smaller than my old receiver

Cons: No HD Radio tuner, I don't understand why every new receiver does have HD Radio tuners built in.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from South Bend, IN on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money I think it's a good deal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Adjuntas, PR on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Necesito receiver at affordable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love my Yamaha

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and affordable. Just what I required for my hi-fi needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

rockfarmer

Crutchfield customer from Newburg, MO on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful tuner and works great so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean sounding little amp

Crutchfield customer from Robinson, IL on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my basement office...I have been instructed that I should not 'shake the house' and 'wake up the neighbors'...not that it can be proven either of those things have actually happened. So, a nice little stereo I could stream my Amazon Music to. This Yamaha R-S202 has a nice clean sound. It won't rattle the floorboards but, it turns up nicely when needed. I am using some old garage sale Kenwood floor speakers and I plug my old iPod into it when needed (using a dock that that has RCA outputs).

Pros: clean sound, A + B speaker inputs, Bluetooth, inexpensive

Cons: Not a huge amount of power

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Setup was easy and, for me, intuitive. The power is more than adequate for my medium-sized living room, even with bookshelf speakers (Klipsch Reference R-41M). The sound quality is excellent and the FM range is exceptional, with clear reception from 50 to 100 miles away. The lack of a phono input was an advantage for me, as I already had an Orbit turntable with a built-in amp. This is a replacement for a first-generation Bose 3-2-1 system and is a better piece of equipment at a much better price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Folcroft, PA on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Entry Level. It works well - but you need some work arounds. There is no sub out and no phono in.

Pros: Price

Cons: no phono in no sub out

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Guest from Bealeton, VA on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Yamaha R-S202 two weeks ago the receiver is every thing I'd want in a receiver. In todays world where the winds of change both affect and afflict peoples buying habits, and also the fact you cant buy a stereo receiver in a big box or even an appliance electronic store. I'm grateful that Crutchfield exists. I also bought and pared the Bose 301 Speakers with the Yamaha R-S202 Receiver, This is my second set of 301's. I love the Direct/Reflect means of filling the room with music. No hot or dead spots just a balanced natural way of listening to music. Patrick O'Keefe

Pros: Love the open sounds

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Foley, MN on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I prefer the look of the tuners in 1970s and 1980s but new sound is better. I hope some one will duplicate the look of a Toshiba SA 725.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Los Banos, CA on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice receiver

Crutchfield customer from Youngstown, OH on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this stereo receiver to be well made and it makes my vintage Infinity Qb speakers sound terrific and it has no problems driving these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Oak Lawn, IL on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver was bought for garage use. It fits my needs. Sounds good. Easy to use, and most of all, affordable. Do wish it had more volume tho. Every now and then I like to crank it. Not even close to my previous unit, but it is loud enough without P.O. the neighbors. Hopefully it will last as long as my previous receiver.

Pros: Easy to set up and use

Cons: Lacks volume amperage

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Shop sounds!

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my shop where I work on cars. I wanted Bluetooth for playing music inside a metal building from my phone, but the supplied FM antenna also gets local stations with the door down. I'm powering two klipsch speakers mounted on pallet racking, the pair work awesome together.

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Conestoga, PA on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver and unbelievable price. Love Bluetooth connectivity and ability to play my Pandora radio

Pros: Quality and price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Stereo Receiver

Nigel from Bellmore, NY on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't want to spend a lot of money, so after a bit of research I decided to buy this receiver. I must say that the sound is clean and clear. I have it hooked up to two Polk Audio TSi100 bookshelf speakers, and I am really impressed with the quality and functionality of the receiver. I am using it to listen to CDs mostly, but later on I am going to hook up a phonograph to it (which will require a separate preamp). I especially like the Bluetooth feature. I stream music from my iPhone 6S Plus (Pandora, Amazon Music, YouTube, and music stored on the phone), and the receiver handles everything. The receiver is attractive and has a simple, refined look to it. It's perfect for a simple stereo setup.

Pros: Great sound Price Looks Functionality Bluetooth

Cons: No cons at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Zimmerman, MN on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Yamaha styling and of course Yamaha quality at a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Conway, AR on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for listening to the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Canterbury, CT on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stereo amp by a quality trusted name. This was my first purchase from Crutchfield and it was an easy shopping and purchasing experience.

Pros: Excellent for use with my hi-fi system

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha stereo receiver

Crutchfield customer from Pikeville, KY on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding stereo. I hooked it up to my toshiba shelf stereo. I ran cables just like Ethan at crutch field said. Now I can play music through speakers and headphones at same time. It is super loud through my toshiba stereo too. Make drumming even better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Malaga, WA on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a charm!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, MI on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought one for the garage and it worked so well I bought another one for the cabin. Great value and great sound.

Pros: A,B speaker select, plenty of power.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha Receivers always deliver the quality of sound that I expect. Since I am a Concert Violinist I listen to my Students recordings through this receiver, and love the quality of clear sound it produces.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Stuart

Richard from Stuart on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Long term, 14 month review. Way less than expected from Yamaha. Weak sound quality, not horrible but, very weak. Suitable for garages, patios or otherwise noisey areas. Not suitable for a main system unless your just looking for some basic sound. Running one pair of quality 8 ohm speakers, at very modest platback levels, it recently crapped out. Efforts to use the Yamaha 2 year waranty were futile. In the trash it went. Not sure what I'll replace it with but, doubtful I'll go with this model again.

Pros: Good bluetooth

Cons: Weak sound quality Short life Hard to read front panel

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Boyertown, PA on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Very happy with all its functions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Wilton, NH on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a little trouble with station presets, but finally figured it out. I'm kind of a techtard so I can't blame the equipment. Amp/tuner drives my Bose 901s with no problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Newburgh, NY on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought each of my 2 sons one of these to start them off in the stereo world,I'm old school so I thought these units are perfect for their new condos.Great value for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from East Jordan, MI on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound and volume but could have in included banana style hookups for speakers.

Pros: Good sound.

Cons: No banana hookups for speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Delton, MI on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha R-S202 is a nice piece of equipment. Clear sound with enough power to rev up my Sansui XPS-9900's. My old Yamaha had a lot more power but this one will do nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from Grimes, IA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for stereo speakers! I'm using this for my Bose 301 setup in the garage. Simple and sounds great to me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New sound for my car garage

Crutchfield customer from La Grange, TX on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver did exactly what I wanted and sounds great!

Pros: Great product at a good price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Franks whole house sound

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to intal, easy to use and the sound quality to my two polk RC85i speakers is great. Rich and full

Pros:

Cons: The AM cable could be a longer for placement.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Junk

Timothy from Lowry City, Mo on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am on my third unit (Yamaha R-S202) my personal opinion is they are junk. The first two units I had my Bose 301's hooked up, volume at 82 next thing I know spark's come out the top unit shuts off, unit burnt up, Yamaha warranty gives me another unit, it did the exact same thing, I contacted Yamaha told them that I was totally dissatisfied with the unit ,I was told that they would ship me out an upgraded model and asked me if that would be okay, of course I said yes. About two weeks later I received a package from Yamaha, and as I observed the outside of the box it was the same unit as the first two. So I listen to it with my Bose 301's with the volume set at 56 ,it's like sitting in a Doctors office. Not my cribe.

Pros: Warranty

Cons: Performance all around

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Nice unit!

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Use it to drive my monitor speakers in my Voice Over space (About 200 SF) PLENTY of power. Very clean and silent when not driving audio. Would rather that they hadn't moved so many controls to the remote, but that's a small dig.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver and a good value.

Pros: High quality at a modest price.

Cons: No optical input.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bargain Stereo Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a receiver for my porch and outdoor speakers, chose Yamaha for sound and reliability. This is a bargain at this price point and Cruchfield's customer service and competitive prices make this the place to buy.

Pros: Simplicity, power and price.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best receiver for audiophiles under $1000

Richard Evans from Beaverton, OR on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned a lot of receivers. Onkyo (3) Harman Kardon (2) Denon (3) Sony (1) Pioneer (1) Sherwood (1). This is by far the best sounding receiver I've owned. Only my old NAD 3020B could match it for sonic performance. I bought one of these receivers from Crutchfield because of the thunderous review by Steve Guttenberg. I wasn't disappointed. I use it with an Onkyo C-7030 and a pair of AKG K701 headphones and the sound is amazing. I also have a sub/sat system consisting of a pair of Mirage Nanosat's (speaker set a) and an ELAC Sub1010 (speaker set b). This receiver does an awesome job of creating a wonderful soundstage with this setup. This setup is strictly for music listening in a small space. The Bluetooth works well as does the FM tuner. Truly a bargain for this level of quality.

Pros: Fantastic soundstage. Very open 'natural' sound. Four inputs. Two speaker sets can be driven simultaneously. Excellent remote with tone controls. Bluetooth connectivity. Nice metal case.

Cons: Would be nice to have a subwoofer output but it works well using high level outputs. Spring loaded speaker connections. Would be much better with binding posts.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

David from New Haven, CT on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha R-S202 is a great value for the money, the build quality and sound quality is very good. I have this receiver hooked up with Jamo 805 Floor standing speakers and together they sound great but I did bump the bass down -2 for a overall better cleaner sound to my ears. Pros. Good sound quality overall but what really stood out to me is the vocals are excellent and the highs are nice hearing all the instruments clearly with out being harsh. So far I have fed this amp with metal, classic rock, R&B, Country all streamed from Tidal with hi quality recordings and this little receiver amp pumped out some really nice sound with one recording that I can't recall the artist female vocalist sounded like she was sitting in my living room singing, that is pretty impressive for a budge receiver. Cons. no phono input but not really a big deal. The Spring clip speakers connection are terrible any kind of cheap binding post would have been better. FM reception could be a lot better but considering the supplied antenna I was not expecting it to be great. Ok now for the really weird part and unexplainable mystery, I Have the receiver on a multi shelf TV stand and for some reason selecting any input from the Yamaha supplied remote turns my wireless top box on of my service provider which then turns my tv on but only the input selector and not from the power button or Bluetooth from the Yamaha supplied remote I find this really odd that it only happens from a input sourc

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Acceptabl purchase for the cost.

Crutchfield customer from Sturgis, MI on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a good purchase for the price. I bought it to replace a 47 year old receiver amp that developed distortion and noise in one channel. The old receiver had 150 watts RMS per channel and the new one has 100 watts RMS per channel. Its 100 watts is a far cry less than the old one's 150 watts. Also the quality of the output isn't as good. The base treble response isn't as good as the old one but it's acceptable. The old receiver cost $600 47 years ago as opposed to this new one costing 1/4 of that. There are some nice features on this unit like 40 memories, digital tuning as opposed to analog, remote control, and several inputs for outboard sources. Like I said for the price it is an acceptable purchase.

Pros: Economical. Worth the cost. Remote control. Digital tuner.

Cons: Output isn't quite what was expected for 100 watts RMS.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy set up

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy set up and works very well I use it in my garage

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Less Is More

Guest from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 12/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Here are all the things this receiver DOESN'T have: a phono preamp; a tape loop and monitor; courtesy outlets, either switched or unswitched; I could go on but it's really unnecessary to do so. Because what this receiver DOES have is loads of clean, fast, honest power for my musical enjoyment. As for the other stuff, that which is needed to utilize a larger component system, complete with recording and signal processing capabilities, been there done that. At this stage .in my life I have near 1000 albums; classical, jazz, rock, folk and world all contained in a Hiby r3 Pro DAP with a Line Out function. Coming through this Yamaha it just sounds so good. I have it paired with Polk 100 watt bookshelf speakers that sound as if they were made for each other. The Bluetooth is a nice convenience, one of my few concessions to modernity. To conclude, this is not an entry level receiver. This is a paring down your life to the bare essentials receiver. But as such, it's the best sounding receiver I've ever had (and I've had some good ones), an absolutely fantastic piece of machinery which I couldn't recommend more highly. PS: Sure, it's power curve doesn't kick in till after the 50 volume mark. It's a quirk. So what? Just deal with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not Your Old Yamaha

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit seems to work very well, with the correct quality speakers. It does play old CD's and DVD's. Only RCA/Component IN/OUT(not marked clearly) that means it will not work with most accessories, DVDs, TV's, Headsets, etc., without buying separate converters--a major limitation. Yamaha should have included Optical or HDMI in their board technology circuitry (difficult) OR just added "physical" converters to the box(easy--little more cost, but better quality) rather than having to buying 3rd party junk to do it. The FM Antenna is worthless--had to buy another one. Have had OLD Yamaha's about 30+ years ago--was current technology then, but not now. Yamaha has become cheap and greedy (like Sony, Panasonic, etc). and arrogant--not the same ole Yamaha, BUT probably the "pick of the litter" in the price range and not a bad receiver, given the competition.

Pros: Good power for speakers and pretty good range. FM good, with different Antenna

Cons: RCA component connection out of date for new TV's, BluRay, etc.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Good bang for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, easy to set up and operate and sounds great. I may upgrade to something with more bells and whistles someday but for my needs right now this does a great job at an awesome price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from New Kensington, PA on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits my needs well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Blasdell, NY on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent entry level stereo receiver. Paired this with a set of old Boston HD8's and it sounds great. Bluetooth is perfect. Only negative is the included FM antenna. It's pretty useless and only picked up the strongest stations. Added a simple wire dipole and the FM came to life. Also be aware this has no phono input so you're gonna need a preamp if you have a turntable. Thx to Crutchfield for free 3 day shipping.

Pros: Low price. Simple operation. Sounds great.

Cons: Except for the FM antenna, none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from North Andover, MA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good performance, easy to operate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than expected

Madia from CLARKSBURG, WV on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not sure what I expected when I purchased this product. Sure, I assumed it would run two sets of speakers at a reasonable high volume while maintaining clarity. But, it really surprised me because it's performance exceeded my expectations. The Yamaha rs202 is a dedicated receiver. It's not listed as a AV receiver which I believe means it's designed to provide good sound for an audio system. This it does. I am using a very basic entry level turntable and one pair of very old (approximately 25 to 30 yrs old) floor standing speakers. I also use smaller bookshelf speakers. This was to be a secondary system. But, to my great surprise the system sounds great. The receiver provides very clear power. The separation and soundstage truly sound wonderful. I'm all areas I am pleased. I can raise the volume to ear splitting heights or drop it to a low soothing level. It sounds great. High end, mid range, bass frequencies all seem to be well presented. The amp never seems to run out of power. The tuner does a fine job of capturing stations especially in the FM. THE BLUETOOTH function easily paired with my phone. The music produced was fine. Remembering this receiver does not have a built in phono amp I am using the turntable's preamp. It provides a very pleasant sound. In every way this is a fine receiver. I would have preferred a built in phono preamp, but that not a deal breaker

Pros: Sound, ease of operation, powerful and easily drives speakers.

Cons: Could have used a phono preamp

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound pretty

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It meets what I need for sound and Bluetooth. What type of amp will you recommend for this receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Longview, WA on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the money! I used for my shop. Nice basic unit that is easy to hooh up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Miami , FL on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. I bought it to have speakers for my laptop. I had a sound system already set up, but the receiver died. The Bluetooth feature is what sold me.

Pros: Price.

Cons: None for the price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Glenwood Spgs, CO on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced my 15 year old receiver. Less wattage equals more smiles with this Yamaha, I coupled it with a pair of Polk audio bookshelf speakers and the bass from the other side of the room is impressive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Athens, AL on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this receiver. All the features you want but not too complex. Works great! Always love purchasing from Crutchfield as well.

Pros: Inexpensive love the remote Solid build

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

Crutchfield customer from Hamburg, NY on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple set up for simple sound. Easy to use, Great price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Falling Waters, WV on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional quality for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Mcminnville, OR on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying. Solid performer for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Lamoine, ME on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to use, basic 2-channel receiver. Sounds great, looks good and priced right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Chad from PADUCAH, KY on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems like there is a lot of wasted space in the volume but overall seems to be a nice solid unit.

Pros: Simple to use, straight forward and to the point.

Cons: Kinda bland looking, wasted volume space

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easily enough power for 2 pair of speakers.... - caution : make sure your speakers have an impedance of at least 8 ohms... - if not, this unit may overheat - I'm running 2 pair rated @ 6 ohms and if it's not cranked, it's fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, IL on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver for the money, Bluetooth sound level lacks but a plugged in source is definitely 100 clean watts per channel!

Pros: Price

Cons: Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Give it time to burn in

Timothy from Bethel, Alaska on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first the R-S202 sounded like a high school choir--thin soprano and muddled bass. After I gave it a week to burn in the sound improved. I like the Yamaha's simplicity for it's not a computer that wants to be reset. When my beautiful Cambridge reacted to fluctuating power I needed something cheap to get me through the winter so I turned to Crutchfield because they know how to ship to Western Alaska.

Pros: Good for the price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great very happy

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garage Band Supplement

Crutchfield customer from Leeds, MA on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a good quality budget amp and receiver to power a pair of old Klipsh monitor speakers that I installed in my garage/workshop. If I'm not listening to FM programming (NPR is the best!), I source from an old iPod. The bluetooth connectivity is a bonus as I can also now stream some of my favorite Podcasts through my phone. The audio quality is crisp and clear, it is a welcome addition to my work space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from N Branford, CT on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound And features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent price and good performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Monessen, PA on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im very pleased with this Yamaha receiver!!! I've had several different receivers but this is the best so far!! Delivery was fast just a few days!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Poplar Bluff, MO on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has great sound and I love the remote with the four speaker system.

Pros: Perfect size, not expensive

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Porterville, CA on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had 5 star until the 8th day of having this unit it stop working. I will be contacting customer service. Ive purchased other Crutchfield products before and your customer service always big help when needed. So I trust they will help me with current situation. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/19/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Skiatook, OK on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this model to run my tv through. For the money you can't beat it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Man!!!! this receiver is awesome. Had listen to my albums and cds and the sound was BOSS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Hillman, MN on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Michael from Cohasset, MA on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A vast sonic improvement over my ancient Carver "audiophile" unit. Our modest Mirage speakers have new life and energy. Pretty good for the bargain price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic receiver for the price

Crutchfield customer from Rye, NH on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking receiver, sounds clean too. Glad it doesn't have video inputs and surround sound. Very happy and the tuner is the best I've ever had. It picks up stations which none of the others ever picked up.

Pros: Everything

Cons: No audio line out to use 2nd amplifier

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Simple and effective

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, WA on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered to replace (and simplify from) old Denon amp/receiver. Very easy installation and great performance right out of the box. Easy Bluetooth connectivity; although switching between sources takes a bit of effort. Only minor drawback is FM antenna. System is on an interior wall, so reception is limited.

Pros: Easy installation Clean look Functional remote

Cons: FM antenna not optimal Bluetooth source switching is tricky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha receiver

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went to a local shop first, I would have had to order this product online. I looked at Crutchfield, the same exact product for $10 cheaper, and free shipping. It arrived quickly and without damage. It's exactly what I needed and I bought it mostly for the Bluetooth function. Took me a little bit to figure out how to pair the Bluetooth but then I'm old. It works great I've got a paired up with some really great speakers in my shop I am extraordinarily happy.

Pros: It's exactly what I ordered, it works perfectly, and arrived very quickly.

Cons: I don't have any cons yet. But I just got their system set up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tuner

Crutchfield customer from East Quogue, NY on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup,great sound,fast delivery

Pros: Easy to do business with

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiophile sound, elegant operation, simple flexibility, fair price

Crutchfield customer from Cohasset, MA on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We're mostly into the music around here. We also tend to ignore the latest bells and whistles in favor of musicality of the audio. Our 30 year old Carver receiver has recently been failing in subtle ways; the final straw has been the lousy connection of the old analog A-B speaker switch. (Static anyone?) It was time to replace it with something to power our still-excellent Mirage speakers. We're remain music oriented -- but we are now almost entirely streaming it from the likes of Spotify. We also want a simple input for our basic but very nice Visio 40 inch TV. Bluetooth and an extra RCA patch for the TV...that's all we want and need. That's what we expected from this Yamaha receiver. We got it. What we also got was a sonic revelation from our Mirage speakers. We did not appreciate what we were missing in detail, accuracy, depth and yes...fidelity to the instruments and voices of the sources. The R-S202 does what a great basic receiver is supposed to do. You can spend more if you want the full home theatre experience. If you are a true audiophile, you can also go for separates or a more high-end receiver. But if what you want is exceptionally clear audio that's true to its source, you should really consider this humble but mighty unit from Yamaha. The price is a deal, of course. But the real value is sonic.

Pros: - Outstanding audio. Immediate improvement of older speakers. - Bluetooth works flawlessly. - Inputs are clear and simple. - Hand controller does it all. - Extraordinary value in this day and age.

Cons: - Clip-style speaker connections. Old-school but work perfectly. - Not much for "Home Theatre" bells and whistles. We didn't want or need them, but if that's your aim...you should look at the more expensive units. - If you want the highest of high-end audiophile sound, you can probably get it at much higher price levels. Probably. I'd like to hear a comparison.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Cliffside Park, NJ on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver on sale so as long it works and does a decent job I'm giving it 5 stars. Sure, I could probably list a bunch of stuff I don't like or wish it had, but for the price I paid that would be ridiculous. This receiver is as basic as it gets but it does the job at an impossibly low price. If you want a 2 channel receiver at a very low price It's a no brainer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit my needs perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Sound for a Bargain Price.

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had wired good outdoor speakers years ago that were no longer being used, as we switched are living room TV into a surround sound sound bar and I had moved my stereo outside to a wood shop. I bought this Yamaha strictly as a Bluetooth amp to use for the patio. The approximate 30' range of the Bluetooth is just enough for me to control music from streaming sources. The sound and separation are much better than a portable Bluetooth sound box. There are minor glitches that happen with Spotify that don't happen on any of my others devices, but nothing major. Overall, for the price, I am more than satisfied, and my service and delivery from Crutchfield was, as always, fantastic.

Pros: Price, sound.Serves my needs.

Cons: None worth getting into.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rochester

Mark from Rochester on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have purchased 5 Yamaha stereos. over the last 35 yeas. Never had any trouble with any of them. bought the R-S202. Worked for 2 months. Had trouble right away. It kept tripping the security. Called Crutchfield they said call Yamaha. After waiting 45min was cut off. Caledl back next day 2.25 hours on hold. Then they cut me off. great way to stand behind a product. Have so many problems and so few techs that you don't have to deal it. During the 2.25 hr. I went from 1 of 55 on hold to 1 of 38. then they hung up.

Pros: sounded it great

Cons: only worked for 2 months

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Browns Mills, NJ on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for playing my cds and blue tooth music on Bose 901's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, MA on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good receiver for not a lot of money. The addition of the bluetooth setting for such an inexpensive model is a very nice feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

50 percent use

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tape deck sound mono. The turntable mute.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/14/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

0 of 3 found this helpful

Bluetooth Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my older Pioneer receiver because I wanted easy access to Bluetooth. It was a good choice! Very easy to set up and easily paired with my iPhone. The tech at Crutchfield helped my place the order and told me about this product. He was great! Thanks!!

Pros: Easy set up and works great with my Bose speakers! The sound is awesome!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New Receiver

Crutchfield customer from White Plains, NY on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving it so far haven't learnt all its functions but studying the Manuel an my cousin who is a Dj is helping me. Ordered a antenna for the radio and going to test the Bluetooth tomorrow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Tustin, CA on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the stereo channels did not work. I am returning it.

Pros: Crutchfield was efficient in delivery of stereo receiver, will see how thelr customer service responds.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/9/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

Good Product at Right Price

Crutchfield customer from Fair Oaks Ranch, TX on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be a pretty good unit for the money. I am using it in our garage for FM radio at the moment but may decide to hook up CD player in the future.

Pros: Number of Presets Speaker A and B Capability Component Inputs

Cons: Not Banana Plug Capable Short FM Antenna

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Mohegan Lake, NY on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, simple to use, good power, good sound, great price! Just what I needed for my application, stereo sound for CD player. My old Pioneer (also from Crutchfield) crapped out after 35 years of valiant service but it had a great run. This is the replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice stereo sound

Crutchfield customer from Duson, LA on 9/3/2020

Verified customer