Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
197 765 75
Connect ID #
197 765 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

7.2-channel home theatre receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A2ABL

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

7.2-channel home theatre receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A2ABL

77 reviews
View this product

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Brent from Stockbridge, MI on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice 7.2 8k receiver.

Jerry from Wapakoneta, OH on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound, easy setup, great 7.2 sound controls.

Pros: Great control over sound stage.

Cons: Runs hot but easily controlled with Aircon T9.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Keith from New Lenox, IL on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First my complaints, the Musiccast app is meant only for mobile devices, I do not use my mobiles to play music or videos, so it's a pointless app for me, plus it took me accidentally pushing a button to find the apps associated with Musiccast. The USB feature has a 500 item limit, and it could not find my 64GB thumb drive, and when I put my 128GB thumb drive in it only recognized my folders, it did not recognize the videos I had even though some of them were WMV, as far as the music folders (which hold about 1500 items) it recognized and played the few FLAC files I played. Those aren't really big complaints since there are workarounds for them. The sound is great, I can now hear my rear surrounds. The YPAO system is great for me as its default is for 1 central listening position, instead of forcing me to use other positions, and I am more that satisfied with the results. It took less than 60 seconds for the entire test, though I suggest you use the test tones first to make sure you have your speakers connected correctly. The remote is heavy, I think the Zenith remote we had in the 70s was as heavy, but it has a centrally placed side to side, up or down ring with the center enter button, also the volume / channel buttons are raised for up and concave for down, a nice feature. I took me a while to find out what pure direct and straight meant. I can't speak of the video, my peripherals are hooked to the TV and I just connect the eARC to the AVR. I would recommend this.

Pros: The YPAO system, the sound, the unobtrusive display

Cons: The Musiccast app, the USB limit

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Seriously good sound for the price point.

Tracey from Shalimar, FL on 7/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Smart upgrade over an aging Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver. There is nothing wrong with the Onkyo's performance, but as I get older and my music tastes evolve and expand, I needed something with more audiophile performance without breaking my bank account. This Yamaha does the trick. Set-up is a bit finicky, you must have an HDMI connection to make use of the remote control and menu options. Sound processing and output is everything I hoped it would be. It also has enough power to run a pair of vintage Bose 4001 mid-towers, a pair of Klipsch RB-61's, and a pair of Martin Logan Motion 4i's. I also have the subwoofer pre-outs connected to a vintage Yamaha SW160 and a SVS PB-2000 Pro for a soundstage that can and will rattle the apartment complex. My audio source is a media PC through an optical connection. All source music files are high resolution ripped from original CD's.

Pros: Full rich sound output. More than enough power to fill a large room with beautiful music.

Cons: Slightly finicky set-up using remote control and HDMI connection to a TV/monitor.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not Impressed

Doug from Melbourne Beach on 6/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not impressed. I was expecting much more. My primary use is for movies and the receiver's performance is inferior to my 7-yr old Onkyo receiver that it replaced. The biggest issues are weaker bass and far fewer listening modes. But what is really eating at me is Yamaha's decision to not make volume adjustments visible on the TV screen. Nothing. No up or down arrows or numerical values. It's a crap shoot when adjusting volume. Yes, you can see the volume on the receiver, but unless you're directly in front of the receiver you can't see it. I called customer service on this and they reached out to Yamaha and Yamaha said they wanted a more streamlined experience so they chose not to have volume visible on the TV screen. Lastly, the receiver automatically turns on when I turn on the TV, but doesn't turn off when turning off the TV. Customer Service confirmed this feature isn't available on this receiver - something about standby mode. Again, something my Onkyo did that the newer technology Yamaha receiver doesn't.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/20/2022
Doug, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Bob from Sicklerville, NJ on 6/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its easy to use and the app makes it easier. Had a little trouble setting it up but a quick call to Crutchfield and the excellent tech support walked thru it.

Pros: Easy to operate

Cons: I still like getting manuals with the item

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic Reciever

Keith from East Setauket, NY on 6/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit. Intuitive and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Kyle from Fairbanks, AK on 5/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. So much to learn how do do with this receiver.

Pros:

Cons: No physical manual. Hove to view online. Guess I'm just old school

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Nice Reciever

Donovan from Nampa, ID on 5/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding receiver, it is a good choice. I would like it if some application where installed via android interface with on screen setup for the android app.

Pros: Nice Sound

Cons: Better online music play setup. does not allow for the application to installed on the receiver. Have to send the sound via Bluetooth or cable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

David from Estes Park, CO on 5/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am exceptionally pleased with the Aventage receiver. The receiver setup was remarkably easy and communication between my LG OLED television and the receiver was instant. Crutchfield provided superb buying guidance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice receiver

Roland from St Augustine, FL on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver, a little hard to figure out how to switch to Zone 2 without using the main zone. I believe they could make this a little easier to figure out. The crutchfield representative was very informative during my purchased process, he answered all my questions and even recommended a different model than the one I originally wanted to purchase, explaining the differences between the two models. Very helpful and highly recommend purchasing from crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice

Paul from VERNON, FL on 4/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this because I was happy with the sound of my old Aventage RX-A840. That unit has no eARC or Atmos so I decided to upgrade. No issues with the setup or firmware upgrade. I have a 14' x16' area with Klipsch RP-260F mains, RP-250C center and RP-160M surrounds with Polk RTi-A1 as my Atmos speakers. The amp can drive these speakers much louder than I will ever need. I was curious if I could tell a difference by running a power amp on the mains since I don't ever try to reach reference level. I have a Yamaha R-S700 receiver that can be configured as a power amp (100W x 2) so I tried it. It made a very noticeable difference in the dynamic range even at the moderate volume levels I listen at.

Pros: Easy set-up Good sound Can add a power amp to the mains for better dynamics

Cons: Needs more pre-outs for more power amp options

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Paul Anthony from Bozeman, MT on 4/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade from an 11 year receiver. Sound is crisp and clear with my bose surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great upgrade

William from Salisbury, MD on 4/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works so far. Unit is a newer model replacing the older one that no longer worked properly.

Pros:

Cons: No owners manual or quick setup guide. Found manual on Yamaha site but would not download.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A fine AVR

Ed from Bridgeport, TX on 3/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've purchased numerous Yamaha AVRs (3010, 3030, 3070, 685 all RX). I've enjoyed them all. My only problem with the RX-A2A is the GEQ with no way to input YPAO information. You can not see what effects YPAO had on EQ. Which is concerning - in the past you could see the EQ results and trim down a plus 6db frequency (clipping concern). Now I'm flying blind - I have no way to see what YPAO did on EQ. This is 1 of 2 AVRs I use in my living room and it's the every day little guy. Hopefully it'll be alright.

Pros: Yamaha quality and sound

Cons: Lack of reviewing YPAO EQ

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Mostly Happy

Harry from Verona, NJ on 3/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a Yamaha receiver fan - I have had two previous models - over 15 years old and they are still going strong. I gave one to a friend upon buying the RX-A2A. It sounds every bit as good as I expected. It is clean and has plenty of power. I'm driving Epos M22's in front and rear with the Epos M8 center channel. My sub is the SVS PB1000 Pro. It is a 7.2 receiver - I currently have a 5.1 setup which will change as I continue to upgrade. The remote is big and clunky. They need to redesign it. My biggest complaint is how long it takes to change inputs from the cable box to the eARC from apps that I run off the TV such as Netflix or Amazon Prime. Not only is it quite long but sometimes the "electronic handshake" between the TV and the receiver goes awry and when I switch from an app back to the cable box input, the video is all green. I have found that switching to another input on the Yamaha and then back again forces it to resync properly. I am using, per Crutchfield's recommendation, the Audioquest Cinnamon 18gb cable. Also, there is an occasional glitch or audio dropout that is random and lasts about a second or so only when watching apps off the TV - never with live TV or the cable set top box. Is this an eARC problem? I called Crutchfield tech support and there isn't much of an answer except that the electronic handshake between the TV and the receiver just isn't perfect technology-wise. I could try switching out the cable - but it's an 85" screen - not an easy task.

Pros: Power Overall build quality Features

Cons: Yamaha still has very large clunky remotes Very basic on-screen setup software Very slow input switching - sometimes with glitches

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Prescott Valley, AZ on 3/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. I was very impressed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

David from Maryville, IL on 3/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver is working as advertised as I now can use my speakers while watching TV and streaming devices instead of my TV speakers. The setup wasn't too bad and Crutchfield helped me out where I needed it. The receiver gives me more than I need at this time but I plan on expanding the number of speakers. Very happy with the receiver and Crutchfield.

Pros: works with my 4 ohm speakers from the 90s.

Cons: not made in USA

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Do not hesitate to get this AVR

Michael J from Vermillion, MN on 2/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So glad Cheyenne suggested this AVR.It works so well with the surround system and regular 2 channel stereo. Plenty of power and easy to set up!

Pros: All the power needed for a medium sized system

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Kevin from Elkhart, IN on 2/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it's supposed to do. Switching seems a bit slow, but that could be the older projector that is in use.

Pros: It's available.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

James from Allentown, PA on 2/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an Integra receiver that was 10 years old. Setup was straight forward. The surround setup was easy to do. Did make some minor tweaks afterward to enhance dialog sound on the center speaker. Much improved from my old system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-A2A

Mark from Troy, OH on 2/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice looking unit and it was time consuming for me to get set up as the manual is only available online, which made the searching for settings time consuming. Once all set, the unit performs very well. Setting up my Harmony master remote to control the unit was very easy and it controls the unit nicely.

Pros: Great sound, excellent looks

Cons: Time consuming setup

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Very Nice Receiver

Gerald from Baltimore, MD on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A AV is a very nice receiver and it is easy to setup. I decided to purchase this receiver because I wanted to take advantage of listening to Dolby Atmos and was I amazed. I purchased an additional two surround speakers so I can listen to 5.1.2. If you purchase this receiver and you own a Samsung TV you may have to turn of your EARC in order to get your sound to work. But if you are interested I promise you will are going to enjoy the sound this receiver produces.

Pros: Great sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Marvin from Trussville, AL on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. Works as advertised. I am enjoying it.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: Display is quite small.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Dennis from Hatillo, PR on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect sound, better than previous Pioneer. The Zone 2 works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Justin from Overland Park, KS on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this receiver has been great! As others have stated, it's a little complex setting up and getting everything working correctly but once done, it works amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Barry from Chalfont, PA on 2/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Amazing quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Brian from Salem, MA on 2/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All is fine so far, but boring and very limited selection of compatible MusicCast speakers that are very expressive for the specs!!

Pros: Looking good

Cons: Set up can be tricky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Richard from Kannapolis, NC on 2/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old 10 year old Yamaha RXV-673 quite decoding the input signals from the TV and my Firestick. I tired all kinds of fixes, nothing worked. I thought about going with another brand but I have always loved Yamaha for their sound quality and that's the most important thing for me. This unit immediately recognized everything and started working perfectly. Streaming music is great and wasn't to difficult to get it up and running. I have a 5.1 system as follows. Front speakers Polk RTi A3. Center Polk CSi A6. Rear speakers Polk FXi Ar and the sub is a Klipsch Reference R-120SW. This unit took the sound to a new level in voice clarity and over all sound quality it can shake the house without a problem. Action movies are awesome. Very happy with my purchase and as always Crutchfield service and selection even with Covid is awesome. I would never consider buying from anyone else but them.

Pros: Easy to set up the basics. Sound quality for movies and music is outstanding. Remote is simplified and has a nice quality feel and weight to it. Power is more than adequate for my speakers.

Cons: 300 plus page manual a little difficult to read through all this unit can do.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

James from Henrico, VA on 2/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have enjoyed having this receiver in my sound system. It does exactly what you expect it to do. Overall, I am happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

John from Ledyard, CT on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver so far! Super easy to set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Larry from Danielsville, GA on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars on this receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Donald from Bethel, OH on 1/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound, lots of features, easy setup. Works well with Samsung TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Casey Dale from Krum, TX on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds muted. Muddy low frequencies.

Harry from Gansevoort, NY on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am still working with tech support. Hopefully I have something set wrong. I will update.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Just starting to set up

Steven from Groton, MA on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received the unit this past week. Unit looks awesome. Slowly taking apart my existing system and looking forward to having this receiver set up. I was very surprised the receiver came in so quickly due to the chip shortage. I only waited a couple of weeks. Very excited!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Andre from Chicago, IL on 1/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had it for about a month now it's a big upgrade from my old Onkyo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Durham

Emmanuel from Durham on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the yamaha aventage as an upgrade to my Onkyo and I must say it checks all the boxes of my expectations. Dolby atmos is on point with great sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 12/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha receivers are well made and sound really good. They will last almost forever and that's good because this one is ready for the future, and forever is about how long it will take you to figure out the remote. Almost 60 buttons, many smaller than a grain of uncooked rice and the same color as the remote case. No way you can use this in the dark. The good news is after you get it set up hopefully your tv remote can be used. If you are a videophile maybe you can use all the features but if you're a set it once person expect to spend some time with Crutchfield's super tech service. I love the sound so I'd buy again, just be ready for the learning curve.

Pros: great sound, lots of features, maybe too many

Cons: terribly thought out remote, 412 page owners manual too complicated, too many features you'll probably never use.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 12/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I read about it, it sounds good, although I haven't received it yet... Currently in backorder

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 71 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Belgrade, MT on 12/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Major upgrade in quality and options for me! Awesome sound, lots of options and ease of set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Quebradillas, PR on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Receiver on the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 11/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and set up. Sounds great. Easy to use MusicCast app to link two surround MusicCast 20 speakers too.

Pros: Great look, sound, and remote.

Cons: Not much of detailed manual/instructions in box, so had to search around in onscreen settings and review full manual from Yamaha. But with manual, all much easier.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Lockport, NY on 11/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, does everything I need it to do. I'm very pleased with this unit. Looks great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound. Good power. Good price. Primitive display, both on the unit and on screen. But generally a good value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Margaretville, NY on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy set-up.As always Crutchfield has helped with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RX-A2A, Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Woodlyn, PA on 10/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-A2A is as advertised, an extremely competent AV receiver for today's world of network sources. It has many capabilities, from multiple surround sound setups to dual zone listening areas. And it's set up to receive future upgrades. Lack of a full owners manual and minor difficulty in setting up prevent me from giving five stars, but that's probably me ( it's been a long time since my last audio purchase). Sound quality is superb and what I've come to expect from Yamaha. Chuck, my advisor from Crutchfield, was very helpful.

Pros: Lots of features, plenty of power, future up grades, Yamaha sound

Cons: Lack of owner's manual, sparse set up instructions

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Outstanding AV Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 10/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I run siriusxm, spotify and Apple music through this AV with 4 Klipsch R-51M bookshelf speakers and a Klipsch RX125sw subwolfer. The sound is absolutely amazing. I play a lot of Jazz and the sound is like sitting on the front row of a jazz club. I love everything about this AV receiver. It was a little challenging getting it set up, but with the help of Carl at Crutchfield, we got it working beautifully.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great AV tech at reasonable price point

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, NJ on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great piece, stability of Musiccast is second to none!

Pros: Musiccast

Cons: Multi room is a bit confusing to hook up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Get Yours

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wait was worth it! I've been a long time Yamaha including Aventage series fan and this one does not disappoint. The sound characteristics are exceptional out of the box. I'm yet to set the room with the YPAO conditioning as I'm letting my unit 'burn in". Considering that, I only expect the room to sound much better. My set up is simple compared to many in other reviews as I only have Directv receiver, a desk computer and Firestick (no longer necessary) attached all of which play and feedback flawlessly. The features of the new series are several steps above the previous Aventage series and while they are numerous, none of them are above and beyond. I have found them all to function as intended. The only down arrow, if at all, would be I would like to have much more functionality via the app to control more sub features of the setup menu. Time is on our side with this one.

Pros: Funtional features that work

Cons: Need more App interface

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

WINTERVILLE

Mike from WINTERVILLE on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Little tricky setting up but has great sound.

Pros: Settings

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Broadway, VA on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an outstanding addition to my home theater setup. Terrific sound, 5.2.2 capability, and hdmi 2.1. The only reason I've docked a star is that many of the hdmi 2.1 features aren't available yet- they will be implemented in future firmware updates.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

The best HT receiver option at this pricepoint!

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 4/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, love the YPAO feature, clean looks and the onscreen menu's are easy enough to use once you figure them out. The remote could be better but at this price point - it does the job. Be sure to use 60-Hz cables (luckily my 15-year old Samsung 65" could handle the signal). Crutchfield support is second to none. Been shaking our walls for almost four months now...

Pros: Sound (clean all the way through)... YPAO calibration - easy... Looks (happy wife)... Bluetooth easy to use... HDMI pass through actually improves my picture quality versus the straight connection to my Sony Bluray player (?)

Cons: More of a heads up - if you have to put this in tight quarters where you can't stand the antennae up - you'll most likely need a hard wire connection for the updates. Just haven't terminated my inwall CAT 5/6 cable yet so I periodically plug in...

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Quinton, VA on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a little buggy

Pros: Great power

Cons: HDMI is a little buggy

Crutchfield response on

4 of 32 found this helpful

A2A Rocks

Michael from West Salem, WI on 4/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a 10 year old Sony die on my other TV and decided to swap my A780 to the other TV and get a new A2A for my main home theater. I got the A2A because I really like the A780, and thankfully they are very similar. It may just be in my head, but the extra 5 watts of power seems significant. Don't use wireless Yamaha speakers and not a gamer, but wanted to be ready for when I get an 8k TV. I've always thought very highly of the A2A and the A780's video processing. It's top quality and often goes unnoticed as you focus on the sound (sound is also top notch as well), but video processing is as good as it gets. I am usually good with setup, but this was a beast. I had problems with the receiver turning on an off at wrong times no matter what combination of HDMI control. Eventually I stumbled on a combination that worked, but there were 4 days where I was fuming while I was fiddling with it. I've seen a lot of hate for the app, and it's not great but if you use it in combination with AirPlay it's pretty good. I use it to control on/off, changing inputs, some setting features, and net radio. I have both the A780 and the A2A connected and can control both easily from the app. Go in with low expectations for the app. I like the finish on the front which is reflective, but isn't an issue for me. I have had 2 firmware updates so far, not sure what they did. Overall and in spite of any setup challenges, I absolutely love this receiver. It's top quality without the price tag!

Pros: Video processing, AirPlay, Combination of power and smooth sound, 2.1 HDMI, 4K/120 or 8K/60

Cons: Setup was a four day headache (for me), for this amount of money they should have put at least one component video input

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Superb Theater Surround

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, PA on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-A2A is great at movie surround separation, packing plenty of punch & bringing my Polks to new levels. While perhaps not as detailed or warm at music as Marantz AVRs in the 100 wpc range, it's pretty close & 100's less from your wallet. Use the savings to finally get a quality subwoofer. .

Pros: Arrived in 48 hours. Gage from tech was helpful & patient.

Cons: MusicCast. You might skip this step initially & connect via WPS to your router - you'll have more hair & lower blood pressure in the end.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Good receiver, plenty of power, tons of HDMI inputs, looks good.

Crutchfield customer from Woodbury, MN on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been waiting for a company to make a receiver like this that gets rid of all the old legacy connectors that nobody uses anymore. Do we really need Component and Composite Video connections in 2021? Every device I own uses HDMI and my old receiver only had 4 inputs, so the 7 inputs on this one were just what I needed. It is nice to have the phono and a couple audio RCA's if I ever needed to connect something like that, though. If I have one criticism it's that on the remote there isn't a dedicated button for each HDMI input, you have to cycle through them with arrow buttons. There's a lot of useless buttons on the remote (which is HUGE) that I'd prefer weren't there (put those options in the on-screen menu) and put dedicated input buttons in their place instead. I just made sure to put my two most used devices (Tivo and Apple TV) were inputs 1 and 2. There is a mobile app that does show a button for each connection, so there is that.

Pros: Good on-screen menu, tons of options to configure

Cons: No dedicated buttons on the remote for each HDMI Input

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was great dealing with CRUTCHFIELD, and knew that I had bought a GREAT receiver. After I bought the correct HDMI 2.1 cables put it all together, and I tried to get the tech at CRUTCFIELD to walk me trough the setup and programing of all the components, the tech was very capable and extremely patient, but I knew that I was in way over my head, so my good wife Carol was kind enough to bail me out, and hire AVN ELECTRONICS LLC owned by MIKE LOEFFEL. Mike and his right hand man AUSTIN, were great , they supplied and installed two additional ceiling speakers, which sure livened things up in our great room, (much to my relief) they also managed to incorporate our outside lanai speakers, which used to be connected to my old BOSE LIVESTYLE HOME ENTERTAINMENT SYSTEM. The AVN guys sure know their stuff, they did their magic effortlessly, installed an APP on my IPHONE so I can control the receiver remotely. All for a price which is FAR less then I expected

Pros: It is a great unit, and I'm sure that in time Carol and I will figure out how to work all the functions

Cons: Not anything serious, and I may have missed it in the instructions. But it would have been helpful if they had supplied the HDMI 2.1 cables with the unit, I would have been very happy to pay for the cables.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cannon Falls, MN on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not be happier the best I've ever owned! Powerful and incredible sounding.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Natural Sounding Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaces an old Sony unit. This receiver is easy to setup. It recognizes the audio source such as Blu Ray player and the cable box. The scenes act as an equalizer for movie, music and radio listening. The unit connects easily via Blue Tooth from phone or my tablet. My Polk speakers enjoy the higher wattage. The sound is natural. The speaker calibration with the supplied microphone gives me a very balanced sound to the key listening area. The Blu Ray and cable box are using HDMI inputs. I am using the optical input for my CD player. Sadly, I have failed to successfully link my two music cast speakers for surround sound.

Pros: HDMI connection is easy. Natural sound in music, movie and tuner inputs

Cons: The Music Cast application is not user friendly.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Glen Ellyn, IL on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Ease of use could be better however and the manual is lacking as others have stated. Once you get a grip on the learning curve it's great and I buy it again.

Pros: Sound quality Features and versatility YPAO works well

Cons: Ease of use Lack of detail in manual although the online version accessed. through the app is more user friendly.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

David from Perkasie, PA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I recently upgraded a projector that supported 4K video. This is replacing a Yamaha RX-v675 that did not fully support 4K. Setup was easy. Sound and video are great too. Very easy to update firmware to the latest. I also connected to Spotify through cell and was as easy as expected. The only issue so far is switching between different HDMI ports, the video is lagging and takes some time to the picture to show up. I did not have that issue with my last receiver. This is a minor issue.

Pros: Setup Sound and video Easy to update firmware Connect to Spotify through cell

Cons: Lag in video when switching between HDMI inputs

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first Yamaha Receiver. My past experiences with Receivers have been with the Denon, Sony, and Onkyo brands. Being honest at first it was a bit frustrating until I was able to familiarize myself with the Receiver, especially adjusting the bass sounds for the subwoofer. Once the sound is calibrated, read I can say that the Receiver is excellent in terms of quality. The sounds are loud and clear, this Receiver has many adjustments to regulate and optimize the sound. Highly recommended!

Pros: Very clear and strong audio!

Cons: Some clicking noise just only when using TV apps through eARC.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Keaau, HI on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit just can't figure out how to power it on manually.. it goes on automatic when turning the tv on.. still a mystery ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/17/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

12 of 21 found this helpful

Yamaha. Says it all.

Crutchfield customer from Mount Clemens, MI on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid build. Great sound. Some people cry, but on screen setup is easy to navigate. May not look super amazing, but I'm fine with better build quality and sound than cute fancy look for on screen settings. Hope feet don't drag on getting update out for 4k/120, 8k/60 as others already have issue resolved.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Power plant

Orange from Delray Beach, FL on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought this an upgrade to the Yamaha RX-481. I'd like to give you a comparison between the two, but there is none. This A2A is in a different class. It's very powerful , sound is crystal clear and it delivers silky smooth bass. The set up was pretty easy too. This is one sweet receiver at the price point and highly recommended. Thank you both Crutchfield and Yamaha for outstanding work!

Pros: Great sound, easy to set up, Blue Ray DVD performance is next level.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Aventage RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm just now diving in to all that this AVR has to offer. So far I love it!! I purchased this to replace an Onkyo TX-SR505 that I purchased from Crutchfield in 2008. Wow, things have changed a lot since then... Sound quality is fantastic. Features, adjustability, and flexibility are fantastic. I'm really enjoying the ability to play music from my network and via Air Play 2, as well as all of the features and control offered via the Musiccast App. This receiver is truly everything I was hoping for and more! I've owned AVR's from Denon, Onkyo, and Marantz throughout the years. Until now, the Onkyo was my favorite, with my first Denon from the early 2000's being a close second. This is my first Yamaha, and I am really impressed. I'm so glad I purchased this unit; would highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha Agent age RX-A2A is a bang for your buck AV receiver at this price point. The picture, and sound quality are top notch, but setup was a change.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product and the sound quality is perfect and clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cloverly, MD on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is the best!!! Full features. Easy to configure. I am in love!!!!!

Pros: Easy to configure. Great sound!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Not what I needed

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived on time and set up was easy. Called Crutchfield with one connection issue that they solved quickly. After a week I decided the unit really wasn't what I needed and called Crutchfield to help me narrow down the right piece of gear. Ended up sending this back which was very easy to do. Ordered a 2 channel receiver instead of Home Theater receiver. Originally I was thinking of running the A2A as 2 channel and adding a TV later to move into Home Theater. But you really need a TV hooked up to this to dial in the specifics for good 2 channel stereo sound. The front display doesn't show enough to do that, and I don't have a TV, so this wasn't a good fit. The features I did use worked flawlessly, tuner, streaming, CD etc, but I think good old 2 channel is the way to go for me. Crutchfield did a great job identifying my real needs and matching me up with a piece of gear to match. Customer service is top notch and I'm happy I used Crutchfield. Now I just have to wait till it is in stock.

Pros: Easy to set up. Everything I tried worked. Customer support is great if you have issues getting it set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 16 found this helpful

What an incredible clear sound

Crutchfield customer from Cheshire, CT on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible clear sound. So happy for your suggestion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Mount Laurel, NJ on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this receiver seems great now. Setup was maddening; I could not get this synced with my cable box. Pass through would not work correctly, sometimes I would get sound but no video, sometimes no signal. Literally took a week of turning the tv on each day and trying to figure out how to get sound and video. I would always get it working but once powered off had to start over the next day. Finally unplugging power to the STB and letting it reboot while plugged in to the receiver seemed to do the trick and it's been good for 3 days now. Also not really happy with the manual. Seems to just list everything I'm already seeing on the onscreen menu without actually explaining any of the options or features. But now that it's all working and I'm learning the receiver I will say it's great. There are tons of great features and this does everything I need for music and home theater. I'm sure as I am able to use more of the features I will appreciate it more.

Pros: Great sound, tons of useful features

Cons: Difficult setup. Manual not very helpful

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I only gave it 4 stars bc I am waiting for the updates but I love it so far!! This was my first order from Crutchfield n they are definitely in my future for my next purchase ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing Receiver! (Waiting for Updates)

Landpet from Los Angeles, CA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Build quality is amazing. Sound quality is amazing. Has plenty of features. The only negatives are that it needs firmware updates for a few features like the 4K120, the Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization. I'm currently running a 5.1 setup, so I haven't tested Atmos with it. Looking forward to get two more speakers to make that possible or waiting for the Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization which allows a 5.1 system to simulate Atmos. I will do another review once I get more familiar with it on YouTube.

Pros: Build Quality Sound Quality Features

Cons: Need those updates soon for 4K120/8K60 and Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Subwoofer signal very weak

Ted from Duxbury, MA on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield is out of stock on this item so I bought one that was available from a big box retailer. I wired up all the speakers and the sound was good. However, the signal to the subwoofer was very weak. I used a known-good sub and known-good cables but still the volume was low. I went into the setup and kicked the sub up to the max +10dB and it became almost adequate but still too attenuated for my liking. I tried to do a firmware upgrade just for giggles but that can only be done with a USB drive. I went to Yamaha for support but it is email-only and they still have not responded! No 800 number. If you get this receiver, please be aware of this issue. The store's customer support? "You can return it". I did. I ordered a Marantz SR5015 from Crutchfield and hoping it will not be delayed. My take away is: buy this stuff from Crutchfield. Even if you get a bad unit (or need any sort of help) you will at least have Crutchfield support and they will answer the phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 24 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A

Cliff from Indianapolis, IN on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since I upgraded my TV to a 50" 4K set, and have had a Sony UBP-X800, it was time to upgrade my previous RX-A700. Initially I ordered the 780 as a replacement, which is now discontinued. After a phone call from Wes, I was able to get this 780. The looks can be bit polarizing for some, but when I saw this in person, it quickly grew on me. The screen, while small, isn't too distracting or bright. A feature I like is when switching the HDMI inputs, the names of the device in use appear on screen automatically. Just make sure it is able to fit your cabinet or shelf as it is fairly bigger than the models it replaced. The remote has a nice heft, not overly heavy and a textured back. The buttons are easy to read and use, my only suggestion would be to have some backlit, but it's to be expected at this price. Set up is easy and intuitive with a nice on screen menu and a number of settings, to tweak it to your liking(I wrote down my previous settings from the 700 and used them). Sound quality and output is nice, and the settings allow for multiple amp configurations, including a 5.1.2 Atmos set up. To address the HDMI 2.1 issue some have, I use a PS4 for gaming, and noticed using one of the first three inputs, the screen would sometimes go black with the audio playing, then appear seconds later. A fix I found was using HDMI input four and had no issues. Could be a temporary solution for some. Overall, I really like the this new unit from Yamaha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound