Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
026 716 04
Connect ID #
026 716 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theatre receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-V6ABL

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theatre receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-V6ABL

29 reviews
View this product

Great performer but confused with inputs

Crutchfield customer from Mason, OH on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-V6A is a great Av. Great value for the money. Instalation was simple. The only negative is that it gets confused and take a few second to figure out what input to put out. Some times fails to figure out the output and requires manual selection of the input to use. Maybe I need help tweek the configuration with the help of Crutchfield tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Instrument

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great instrument with easy set-up. Has internal Bluetooth generator making connection to headphones a snap.

Pros: Bluetooth generator

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Salem, SC on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been very happy with this Yamaha receiver. I've had several Onkyo's over the years and I like this one much better. It was easy to setup in my home theater/atmos and sounds awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Kahului,%20HI on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would recommend this unit to most people. It was easy to install and set up. Sound is good. I wish the front display was brighter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Reidsville, NC on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me say here that I am not supremely knowledgeable on av receivers. Expected more from this product. Knew the LCD window on the front was going to be small but figured i could see the current status of the receiver by using an info button on the remote; NO. My previous Yamaha RX-V685 had that. Also, the on screen notes say for mute or volume change are really small; really small. I just expected more and didn't get it. As soon as the Denon AVRS960H comes in, i'm going to return it and get that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Issues with 4K UHD.

Crutchfield customer from WESTMINSTER, MD on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Undecided on a rating between 3 and 4. The receiver has good audio once you figure out the proper settings. Yamaha has multiple settings that you have to play with to figure out what they do. My issue is with video processing. I have a Roku Premiere+ connected to it, via ethernet last tested at 75Mbps, with confirmed 4K UHD at 60Hz output. However it seems the receiver's ability to process that consistently is, inconsistent. Streaming UHD content from both Netflix and Disney+, especially, is very unreliable. Regularly selecting a UHD title will result in an error on Netflix and Disney+ appears to be buffering with the receiver cycling through Decoder off and Pcm/dsur. If I connect the Roku directly to the TV, no issues. It seems very likely that receiver is the issue, which is unfortunate.

Pros: Looks good. Easy initial setup. Good audio.

Cons: Fine tuning is not intuitive. Seems to have an issue managing UHD streams.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Swarthmore, PA on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Was fairly simple to set up once I got used to the on-screen menus. Sound is great. I am using the Zone 2 pre-amp outputs with an amp to power a multi-room system, which took awhile to configure. Have Zone 1 configured as a 3.0 system, so not using the full home theater features. Directions are vague and leave a lot to be desired. Would be nice if the Musiccast app had the full functionality of the remote. Also wish I could customize the Scene settings on the remote & phone app. Wish there were some legacy video inputs on the back (S-video, component, etc.), but still a good value at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Tarpon Springs, FL on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great but I am having difficulty getting this set up to operate my tv as easily as the Yamaha receiver it replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Finally

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

we haven't had decoded sound for years. It is fantastic. This set has every feature we can think of and is very easy to install and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

sounds great, but use a cell phone to control it.

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great, however the screen on the front is all but useless. You have to be standing right in front of it to see anything being displayed. I have found the hand held remote be be not very helpful because, once again, you can't tell what the screen is indicating. Controlling the RX-6a via a cell phone app works well though. Setup is simple. You can tell Yamaha saved a bit of money by reducing the number and quality of jacks in the rear. It's really set up for HDMI inputs primarily. It does have a phono connection though, which is a great for my use.

Pros: great sound

Cons: useless front display

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Edwardsville, IL on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality and easy setup. Like how easy it is to hookup to sound system and external devices.

Pros: ease of setup, nice look

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, but not yet fully cooked.

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Onkyo TX-RZ800 had a premature death due to DTS chip failure and since Denon is not treating the defect as a recall and is abandoning Onkyo customers, I had to buy a new AV receiver or pay on my own to get the 4 year old RZ800 repaired. It has been plagued with DTS chip problems for the last 2 years and Onkyo's support of the product has pretty much disappeared. After much research into Denon, Onkyo, Marantz and Yamaha, I finally settled on the new RX-V6A. While I strongly considered its reference line twin, the Aventage RX-A2A, ultimately I settled on the V6A with the opinion that absent the additional warranty on the A2A of one year they are essentially the same. I've had the V6A for a week and spent the weekend setting it up. I have a 5.1.2 Atmos system with zone 2 speakers in my kitchen and am pushing the video to a P-series Vizio Quantum dot. We also do gaming and in part chose the V6A due to its future support of 120hz 4K for that reason. And it will support a future release of 8K 60hz. My first impression of the V6A out of the box was that it about ½ the weight of the RZ800. Not inherently a bad thing, unless you count weight as a factor in amplifier design. One of the things other reviewers have noted is the simplicity of the V6's front panel. Essentially a large volume knob in the center, a smaller do-it-all control nob. There are also 4 presets that can be used to store commonly used video/audio combinations that Yamaha

Pros: 4K 120Hz and 8K 60hz, Dolby Atmos, great cost/benefit future-proof feature set

Cons: Simplistic design is a weakness, much of control has to be be preset in software, lack of ability to control sound or video easily from the remote. Firmware still a work in progress.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Rockledge, FL on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clarity of sound produced is incredible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sound is exceptional

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!!! Easy to connect to music cast and was up and running in less than 5 minutes on my phone.

Pros: Great price and flexibility. Awesome sound and easy to connect to especially multiple zones. Sleek look. I definitely recommend.

Cons: The response time is a few seconds delayed. Occasionally loses connection....which isn't fun during a party.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and set up of the unit was not too difficult. Still struggling to get the Music Cast app to work, som ethat is the reason for 4, not 5 stars. As far as sound quality for the price, you cannot beast this home theater receiver.

Pros: Ease of set up with existing components

Cons: Music Cast App

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Jason from DOTHAN, AL on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the Yamaha brand and needed to update, so I went and purchased the v6a and am not too disappointed. everything works great, except the music cast app. the sound is great from all movies I have watched so far( all 4k, some standard bluray and a few regular dvd), I am still getting used to the manual and the instructions contained therein(not a good techy), but I was able to set it up to work for the content being viewed. I do wish I could have a physical paper manual to refer to though. what I have been frustrated with is the the music cast app, not that it does no work great when my phone has it, but every time I leave the house for work or other tasks or errands, the app seems to reboot\restart\reset itself and I have to do the setup and connecting of the v6a every time I come back home and want to use it again, that part sucks. Also the 12+ year old rx-v630 that I had, seems to have been able to push my speakers better that this new v6a, it might be just my imagination, but I have listened to some of the same music from the youtube app on the v6a and I have to turn the volume up at a higher level than I did with the v630. on the v630 I only took it a third of the way and my speakers hit really hard, while on the v6a I have to put the level at one half to a little higher to get the same affect. I am not a good techy so someone may have to explain this to me to help me understand.

Pros: great picture quality pass thru, great sound, fairly easy to use

Cons: musicast app not working properly.

Crutchfield response on 1/4/2021
Jason, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good app and sound, Instructions aweful

Crutchfield customer from Lake Oswego, OR on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Love the App. Multiroom(zone 2) setup required 3 hrs and eventually a trip to YouTube, factory instructions are aweful. Alexa usage is not existant, but can turn on but not much else. Once I get over the lack of Alexa and set up time, I will begin to enjoy this unit....

Pros: App Sound Look

Cons: Alexa Instructions Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Milan, IL on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power, great buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Atmos doesn't work

Charles from Upper Marlboro, MD on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't get the my height channels to play when Dolby Atmos is enabled. Properly configured source settings on my Sony UBP-X800 to enable Atmos and selected Dolby Surround on AVR; still nothing. Did a sound test and confirmed height channels are working (when Atmos disabled). However, no audio from channels when Atmos enabled. Unit display shows active channels when Atmos enabled. Notice in the photo the front presence channels (between the surround and subwoofer) are inactive. This should not be. Extremely disappointed as I waited weeks for this unit from backorder. Called Crutchfield customer service 2x but no one could identify problem. Will be returning within a week if Yamaha customer service is unable to resolve. On the upside, the sound from this unit is absolutely mesmerizing. Pity the height channels won't work. 2.75/5 stars.

Pros: Sound Power Value

Cons: Cannot operate Dolby Atmos Counterintuitive interface Yamaha customer service unavailable

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 17 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Ephrata, PA on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup & great sound even when cranking up the sound levels. Using Polk speakers all around except for 2 back speaker for 7.1 system. They are Realistic OP 10 I purchased in 1976.

Pros: Set up & sound

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Brambleton, VA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality AV receiver with many features

Pros: Sound easy to setup AirPlay 2

Cons: App's are confusing No integration with Apple HomeKit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

A Born Winner...

Crutchfield customer from Dumont, NJ on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

outstanding receiver/amp. i am an anolog listener (cd, records. laptop audio library). There is this tremendous surround sound (simulated) and it surrounds the listener. I find new life in my older recording. for me, this unit was worth every cent. thanks Bo. Regards, Happy customer Ralph

Pros: revitalized listening to stereo recordings.

Cons: required wireless devises for full function - urgo games, movies.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Mike from Upstate New York on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not able to BI-AMP and also use my Front Height Atmos Speakers.

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: Not Able to BI-AMP and Play my Front Height Atmos Speakers at the same time.

Crutchfield response on 11/11/2020
Mike, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Please reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 13 found this helpful

Shiny bells and whistles vs. dark and simplicity

Patrick I from Louisville, KY on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed an HDMI upgrade as my Yamaha RX-V1600 would not pass full HD from my PC to my new Samsung TV. But I've spent hours/days/weeks trying to get my Logitech remote to work consistently. When I switch to PC, as the remote is programmed to, the receiver randomly switches to the DVD input instead. I tried multiple ways of programming the remote but it comes out the same. Apparently it remembers the last input used instead of switching to the specific input. Once I unplug the power to my DVD player, this is no longer a problem... except then I don't have a DVD player. Assuming it has to do with HDMI Control or CEC or E-ARC, I disabled them. But then there's no TV input on the receiver to switch to. Either way, I have to use the individual remotes, with multiple selections each, to change inputs reliably. I have none of these issues with the RX-V1600 using the same DVD player and TV. And who in their infinite wisdom at Yamaha thought a glossy piano finish would be good for a home theater receiver? I can see every light and movement in the room reflected off the receiver. Very distracting. That's why AV receivers are traditionally matt black. This was an impulse purchase and a mistake. I'm returning the RX-V6A.

Pros:

Cons: Reflective finish. Bells and whistles at the expense of simplicity. No paper manual. Must have a computer handy to make receiver settings changes.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 22 found this helpful

Well... It's definitely Yamaha.

Aaron from Albany, NY on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm going to be honest with all of you, this is probably my most impulsive purchase I have ever made, as I am in a rush to get "2.1" for 4k at 120 on the Series X I pre-ordered. I consider myself a pretty big Yamaha fan as I have now had three different models over the last six years. The RX-V377, RX-V685, and now this one, which I have already submitted a return for and will go over in my cons. I would say overall it feels like Yamaha just rushed things and did a very poorly executed job on the firmware and the remote control. What I would have done is cloned the firmware from the v685 model instead. The HDMI CEC keeps turning on my shield when I try and shut everything off. I find HDMI CEC to be very helpful as I use my old 685 remote for this new receiver and that's a substitute for my Shield remote to eliminate having to carry another remote. So I can't just shut off CEC, so when I shut everything down I have to switch inputs to something different before shutting everything off for it to be able to keep my shield off... Which never happened on the 685. I really hope Yamaha works things out, I did see a report that the HDMI boards in these new receivers are faulty and a firmware update will not fix it. In the meantime I'm going to have to do a direct hook to whatever TV I buy by Black Friday, for my new Series X to come, which Is a bummer. In the meantime I'm going back to v685, which is actually an upgrade in several ways.

Pros: Let me start with the pros first. Upon unboxing this receiver, this is got to be the fanciest looking one by far. It's shiny piano black finish with the LCD screen on the right hand side and the big dial in the middle, as well as the touch buttons that "beep" are quite a nice addition. It actually reminds me of the original PS3 Phat. I do have to hand it to Yamaha, they did do a good job with the music cast capabilities on your phone. I also noticed that the HDMI switching is sligh

Cons: I don't know if I'll be able to get all the cons in here but I'll do my best. - The menu is 8-bit based and EXTREMELY laggy, nothing fancy about it at all, and it no longer has descriptions of every menu setting like the 685 does. - Pandora music cast on screen interface is very buggy, and they no longer have a Spotify interface compared to my RX-V685. - The remote control is total garbage compared to my RAV570 remote that came with my v685. - HDMI CEC keeps turning on

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

34 of 37 found this helpful

A must for Home Entertainment

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I reviewed over ten different systems, this was not easy since there are so many out there to accomplish almost same goal. I am so glad I chose this one, the simplicity of connecting it to my home speakers with BananaPlugs and 7 different sources (DirectV, Alexa, FireStick and blue-tooth). The Music Cast App to control the system inputs is light years ahead of any other app. I connect via Wi-Fi. and so I can be outside in my yard and have access to my outdoor speakers at any time. Great sound and simplicity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Crestview, FL on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with the new receiver so far. It was easy to set up, looks good, and sounds good. Using with an old Sony subwoofer, a pair of Pyle PDMN-48 speakers up front, a Yamaha NS-C210 center and four AET HT-200SF speakers at the sides and back, sound is clear, easy to hear and can get plenty loud. The smooth front panel looks nice, the touch sensitive areas are labeled, but I missed the MENU(CONNECT) on my first attempt to sync with the MusicCast app. All the speaker connections are the screw down/banana plug style, if you're working in a dark room, at a bad angle or have big fingers, it'll be easier to connect a lot of speakers with banana plugs.

Pros: Good price, sounds great, sleek design, it's nice putting on music from my phone/Spotify/Prime Music with the MusicCast app.

Cons: There seemed to be a delay between button presses on the remote and the on-screen cursor moves when I manually renamed HDMI inputs, at all other times I didn't notice any delay. The touch sensitive front panel will collect finger prints, but there's a remote control and phone app control, so you hardly need to touch the receiver itself.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

New receiver

Crutchfield customer from Wausau, WI on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally received my new Yamaha! I was able to hook up my RTi5 fronts with a CSi6 center channel speaker. No surrounds yet, they are on the way. While I have not had ample opportunity to play with all the settings I am so far impressed. The set up is easy using either the setup app or the quick setup guide and the microphone set up is slick. I did not set up the Musiccast app since I can control my music through other apps and I do not have a separate zone set up. The sound is great and the preset options all sound unique. Once I have had more time to play with the options I will update.

Pros: Easy set up Pre set sound options give a nice variety Clean, minimal look

Cons: No owners manual. Must download. Hard to see the display.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Oviedo, FL on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, no issue. The placement of the volume knob and the screen could be better though. Sound/video is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

TOP