Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
286 696 04
Connect ID #
286 696 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Wireless powered speaker with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay® 2 (Black)

MFR # WX-021BL

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Wireless powered speaker with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay® 2 (Black)

MFR # WX-021BL

82 reviews
View this product

Great speaker - caveman user

Crutchfield customer from Flagstaff, AZ on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This one joined one that I already had but I can't figure out how to play both at same time even when I connect them with a wire. The Musicast app from Yamaha was no help or maybe I am just a Dummy. Sound is awesome though.

Pros: Sound quality So easy to use a caveman can use it

Cons: This caveman can't figure out how to link with other speakers that are the same model for a stereo experience. Yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Menlo Park, CA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed product and connects much easier than the older WX model. A bit bassy for programs such as Podcasts, but fantastic for music. I love the flexibility to connect with my MusicCast receiver as well as stand alone

Pros: * Music Quality * Flexibility of Use * Setup and Connectivity

Cons: * Too bass-y for non-music type Podcasts

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Racine, WI on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound for a wireless surround option with compatible Yamaha receivers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great solution to expand listening into another room wirelessly

Jason from NYACK on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this speaker so that I could listen to music in my kitchen (I have an old house without an open floor plan) that is playing through my Yamaha R-N303 receiver with MusicCast in the living room, and it has worked flawlessly. I don't notice any delay on what is coming through my speakers wired into my receiver and what is coming out of the MusicCast 20, and I listened very hard to see if there is any. For a small wireless speaker, the sound is surprisingly impressive and easily fills my small kitchen. I also like that you can adjust the treble, mid and bass on the MusicCast 20 using the equalizer in the MusicCast app on my phone. Lastly, I found the MusicCast app pretty straight forward. While it was a little challenging at first to get the same music playing on my receiver to play on the MusicCast 20, I figured it out pretty quickly on my own just by tinkering with the various buttons/options in MusicCast and/or Spotify. I looked at the instructions that came with the speaker and took it from there. I have been so happy with the MusicCast 20 that I will probably buy another one soon so that I can also listen in my den at the other end of my house. As always, Crutchfield customer service was awesome. I spent an hour on the phone with Hogan discussing what I wanted to accomplish and how to go about it, and even what were my best options are down the road to eventually upgrade my system once I am ready.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

loving the whole house with music now

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took a little while to setup, but once I got it connected to the WIFI it was then available to the MusicCast app. The next step was while playing Pandora using the app I wsa able to link these (I bought 2) to the Yamaha 681 receiver and play music thru all 3 devices.

Pros: great sound very flexible with how you can connect

Cons: took patience to setup

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very good for Surround Sound

Crutchfield customer from Millsboro, DE on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using as surround speakers for Home Theater and they work very well. Only negative is the setup. Direction are not well written nor understandable. Took a hour trying to setup and end up calling Crutchfield Tech support and the person guided me through and got them going.

Pros: Easily wall mountable

Cons: Setup Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Cheshire, CT on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent sound from a small speaker. Connected relatively easy with Yamaha receiver.

Pros: Good quality and sound

Cons: Price and some initial connectivity issues resolved with a better quality wireless router. MusicCast takes some figuring out but seems to work well.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Something you should know...

Lawrence from TOPSFIELD, MA on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While these speakers do a good job, beware if you are buying them to use as surround speakers with a Yamaha A/V receiver. If you only want a 5.1 setup, these speakers will work fine as the two surrounds. If you want to use these as surrounds, but also use hard wired rear surrounds for a 7.1 setup, you can't do it. After discussion with two different Yamaha support staff, on two different occasions, I got the same answer that by using the wireless functionality of MusicCast to act as surrounds, you lose access to the rear surrounds on the A/V receiver. Frustrating to say the least as I could not find this limitation documented anywhere. Proceed with caution.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Close but no cigar

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, MI on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I believe this speaker alone would be nice although far overpriced compared to a regular smart speaker. I purchased this to go with a Yamaha music cast sounds bar. The app is terrible and even though speakers are linked, it is common to have issues between speakers and connection issues with Amazon echo. When paired to the tv, latency is quite noticeable, even with the speed boost feature that is supposed to help. In hind sight I may have gone with Sony soundbar with surround speakers and spent the additional money.

Pros: Individual speaker sounds quality

Cons: Musiccast app terrible Price Connectivity issues

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very satisfied with this product. Excellent sound from my smartphone or phono bluetooth connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Ted from Ventura on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker sounds good but app does not work. Speaker also does not sinc with Yamaha reciever. Would not recommend this speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/16/2020
Ted, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker. If you purchased this speaker from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MusicCast 20 is a nice addition to our household music system. It allows us to wirelessly connect multiple rooms in our house so that the same music can be throughout. The setup was not simple but, with the excellent help from Crutchfield customer support, we got the job done.

Pros: Decent sound, nice looking, easy to operate once set up.

Cons: Complicated initial setup, pricey.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second set of these small MusicCast speakers, and they seem better in the connectivity than my first set that I purchased some 3+ years ago. The redesign is an improvement.

Pros: Good solid speakers to work with your MusicCast receiver.

Cons: Not inexpensive

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

too complicated for a fossil

Crutchfield customer from Dumont, NJ on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

returned do to operation requires a smart phone or tablet, of which neither is owned by me. i also feel no need to get involved with same just to listen to my vinyl collection and cd's. My Yamaha gives me a great surround sound without complication, just hard wire your speakers.

Pros: none

Cons: too complicated ...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Nice Wireless Speakers

Henry from CEDAR PARK, TX on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound from such a small package. I am using them as surround sound speakers, with a Yamaha MusicCast endowed receiver. This appears to be critical in avoiding setup issues and possible disappointment. Using the MusicCast app on my phone, connecting the speakers to my wi-fi was pretty straightforward, and adding them to the system was a breeze - I had one issue (of my own doing) in that I used 2 iOS devices for setting up, one for the MusicCast, the other to tinker with the wi-fi. No-go. The MusicCast app needs to know what's happening with the wi-fi on the same device.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Sandy Hook, CT on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up... I had called in to Crutchfield after getting 99% set up and they were great from pre-sale thru Tech support. Marc referred me to a Yamaha video that got me connected after 15 seconds of viewing. The sound from these speakers is crisp and clear, the 1st night my daughter and I were watching a movie and heard a knock at the door, we both looked at each other - wondering who could be knocking, after getting up and checking I realized it was the from the movie coming thru the MC 20 rear surround speakers!

Pros: crisp - clear sound easy set-up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality sound. Very easy set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too high tech

Crutchfield customer from Freeville, NY on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just wanted a pair of wireless speakers to go with my Yamaha RX-A780 reciever. Without a device their useless! You have to download the app and connect the through that. I just want a pair of wireless rear surround speakers with no muss no fuss.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/25/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 6 found this helpful

Don't ever buy these speakers

Crutchfield customer from Round Hill, VA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worst experience ever. Speakers failed Everytime an attempt was made to connect to the musiccast network. Invested 7 hours and three calls to technical support. Whatever protocols are in place for Yamaha satellite speakers are meaningless and unnecessarily complicated. Even after a forced reboot there was lost connectivity. Horrible experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/18/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

3 of 4 found this helpful

Nice speaker

Crutchfield customer from Discovery Bay, CA on 8/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speakers . The sound is crystal clear . The system does now allow you to distort the speaker from turning to loud .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound is to link to Music Cast system. Wish it was also rechargeable.

Pros: great sound

Cons: not rechargable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound for small footprint

Crutchfield customer from Madisonville, TN on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have two of these and they sound great for such a small unit. It was very easy to add to new units to the existing MusicCast stereo we have. We have Rj45 jacks where we have placed the units, so we hooked them up to our network with Cat6 cables. One feature I don't like is, unless you link units, play lists are specific to each individual unit. We are using them to stream music from our server. We placed this one on our porch, so we were careful to put in the back corner where it will not have rain blow in and hit it. It would be nice if they made an outdoor version.

Pros: Good sound Small footprint Works well with our MusicCast units MusicCast works well with our NAS

Cons: Play list limited to the unit you set it up for (unless you link the units) I would like to see a weatherproof version for use outside On the expensive side - we bought scratch and dent

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too frustrating

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stay away from frustration if you have the bar and the subwoofer and are trying to add this speaker to that using MusicCast your in for a very frustrating time. Even Crutchfield Technical advisor was mind boggled on how he can help set it up. I just returned them I tried endlessly more than 20 times to add them on the network but to no avail. The three stars is for the speaker itself if you are using it alone it is a great speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Toa Baja, PR on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to configure and be added as a rear sorround speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garbage!! Time suck!!

Guest from Meridian, ID on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolute garbage regarding the WiFi technology. I've spent hours trying to get Yamahas piece of junk technology. You'd think for the price of these speakers and Yamahas normality quality they'd have fixed the issues with rear surround connection. But yet after 2 years or more they have NOT. I wish they would pay me for the HOURS I've spent trying to get these to connect to my Yamah AVR that is MusicCast enabled WITHOUT success!!! The amount of frustration this has caused is not measurable. I am so close to returning this garbage. And internet search proves I am NOT alone. Go with Onkyo or Denon and the Sonos interface! Gotta be better than this. Do NOT waste your time!! They don't care about it

Pros: None

Cons: Horrible technology. Horrible WiFi connectivity. MusicCast is a JOKE!

Crutchfield response on 6/2/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speaker. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Surround Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice smart speaker. I purchased them to be wireless surrounds with my Yamaha 2080. They do great job. Only knock would be just needs a little more bass extension of you don't use a sub when set in stereo mode, otherwise the kids and highs are very clean. Compared to Sonos they sound much cleaner but bass is not there.

Pros: Wireless Nice Design Easy Setup

Cons: Midbass extension

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a small package!

Pros: Easy setup, cost, size factor

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sounding speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Watertown, SD on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy setup once the app was installed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, poor app

Crutchfield customer from Oakhurst, CA on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To start off on a positive note, these speakers sound great! If you're looking for rear speakers for your Yamaha receiver and you can't run physical wires, these networked speakers do a very good job. Additionally, they have a 1/4"x20 (standard camera tripod thread) hole on the back that will make them easy to mount on your wall or ceiling. The only problem with these speakers is their dependency on the Yamaha MusicCast app. In fact, they cannot function without the app, as there are no terminals on the back. The app is a major pain where nobody wants pain. I spent four hours attempting to set things up before calling tech support. Tech support and I spent another two hours setting things up, and that included unplugging everything, reinitializing the speakers, and uninstalling and reinstalling the app on my phone. The very next morning, my Yamaha receiver shut itself off and the speakers quit working. After another two hours (which included all the steps I'd gone through on the previous day) I was able to get the speakers functioning again. During the ensuing 3 weeks, nothing has gone wrong, and I am gradually learning not to worry about them. To get the best sound out of these speakers, I strongly recommend mounting them high. They started off on a table behind my couch, and I could barely hear them. I set them on boxes, and they sounded MUCH better. Now I'm mounting them high up on the wall, and I can't wait to hear how that improves their delivery.

Pros: - Great sound - Easy to mount - Good looking

Cons: - Horrible app - Horrible app - Horrible app

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from N Plainfield, NJ on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Installing was a breeze

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Other Options...

Randy from Reno, NV on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I suppose it does the job, barely. Sound quality is okay - running SVS Ultra's in main room so of course it's not a fair comparison. However, 'bass' is muddy and highs aren't exceptional. Setup is more confusing than it should be but once done it seems to lock in. Adding multiple units shouldn't be a struggle now that the process is known. Until someone else steps up and makes a unit with better sound quality, these, unfortunately are it.

Pros: Fills voids throughout the home Quality feel Future expansion options

Cons: Just adequate overall sound quality Setup can be frustrating No frequency settings available

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I was looking for.

Crutchfield customer from Monticello, IN on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been looking for wireless speakers for some time. I finally got on a chat with Garrett from Crutchfield. He listened to what I wanted to do and suggested the WX-021 and a MusicCast tuner. It is exactly what I was looking for and does even more than I hoped. Each speaker can be its own source or destination. Each speaker can operate independently or can be paired with another speaker for stereo. It was more than I planned on spending but in hindsight it was a great value.

Pros: Each speaker can play content independently or can be connected to a different source. Speakers can be paired for stereo. Speakers can be a Bluetooth source or destination MusicCast app controls content/volume for each speaker

Cons: The MusicCast app isn't particularly intuitive but it makes sense after some playing with it. EQ is limited to treble/mid/bass only

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

No more rear surround wires for me!

Crutchfield customer from Beacon, NY on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased a Yamaha RX-A1080 Receiver upgrading from an earlier model. One of the things I really wanted was to get rid of all the wires going to the rear surround speakers. I was happy to find the MusicCast 20 would fit that bill. Spoke to Crutchfield and they explained all i needed to know. Fast shipping got it here in a few days. Setup was a a breeze with the MusicCast iOS application. They sound great and I won't miss all those wires again.

Pros: Wireless , Good Sound, Good quality

Cons: A little pricey but well worth the money.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, NY on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleasant sound coming from a small package. Does have a steep learning curve to figure out how to get it set up with the MusicCast controller. The instructions for use and set up is deficient in my opinion. Currently still learning how to use all the resources the speakers provide and this is already three weeks since they arrived.

Pros: Very compact with excellent sound. Can be operated remotely from smart phone with multiple music sources. Affordable.

Cons: Very limited instructions provided.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Large Sound, Small Speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Woodland Hills, CA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried these speakers as both stereo speakers for another room and rear surround sound speakers and they sound excellent!! The included instructions for pairing them as surround sound speakers via MusicCast to my Yamaha RX-A2080 wasn't adequate as stated by several other reviewers. Jay, from Crutchfild, provided me additional info and instructions which included resetting my receiver. After resetting the receiver, he speakers paired as advertised. Highly recommend if you have a newer comparable Yamaha receiver.

Pros: Great sound, small size, good solid build quality, wireless - do I need to say more!

Cons: Better pairing instructions with troubleshooting should be included by Yamaha.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Goshen, NY on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality and easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wireless Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Ruidoso Downs, NM on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found these very difficult to get set up! After several calls to customer support plus three calls to Yamaha they are working. Sound quality just OK.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for the garage.

Crutchfield customer from Leesport, PA on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. We have been using Musiccast for several years now. I bought this to use in the garage while working on things out there. At max volume it has slight distortion. Easy fix, turn it down a bit. I am not sure why people have trouble with setup. Most confusing part is the set up wifi is the speaker not your home wifi. Once you understand that you are good to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm very pleased with this speaker

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Great sound. Easy setup and integration with Yamaha AV receiver. Easy control from smartphone via Yamaha AV Controller and Music Cast apps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Apex, NC on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little challenging to set up and calibrate but sound good once completed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Luv Yamaha Musicast

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound and luv the Musicast System

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Ocean Isl Bch, NC on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointed that need to use the MusicCast app to operate (on / off, volume). Still need to use receiver controls or remote to adjust tone, etc. Sound is ok, just ok!

Pros: Wireless

Cons: must use MusicCast app to turn on and adjust volume

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Shelby Twp, MI on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only one of the two surround speakers works & there is a very noticeable delay in vocals from the center channel speaker to the one functionign surround speaker. MusicCast app will not recognize the surround speakers or the subwoofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/31/2019
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using these as Surround Speakers with a Yamaha Music Cast receiver. Setup was easy and they sound great.

Pros: Easy Setup Great Surround Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For such a small speaker the sound is full and rich with sound of a symphony, you can hear all the back ground instruments. The speaker paired very easily with my music cast receiver, I can now hear music anywhere in the house

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wireless option for rear surround.

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, GA on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using as rear surrooud spealkers with Music cast. They work well in this service.

Pros: Easy to set up with Musiccast App, once you understand the app.

Cons: Musiccast app takes some study to understand.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Little Speaker!

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality, great sound.Plays well with other wired speakers and no latency issues. Would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Wireless Surround. Use Fixed IP Address.

JCM from Miami, FL on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been very happy with this purchase. Speakers sound great as rear surrounds in my 5.1 system, wirelessly paired to a RX-V485 receiver. Tips: 1. Connectivity: Initially the speakers were losing their connection about once a week and resetting the connection was fidgety and tedious. Once I gave the speakers a fixed IP address using my router, the connection has been flawless. 2. Mounting: Cheap universal speaker mounts from Amazon work great. Stick on Cable concealers work great to hide the cables along the wall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great wireless option!

Crutchfield customer from Ft Walton Beach, FL on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair to use as wireless surround speakers with my Yamaha receiver, very easy to setup with the MusicCast app. They sound great. Highly recommend if your options are limited to run wires for back speakers.

Pros: Easy setup with MusicCast app, great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I almost gave up on network speakers but then I found these!

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After tolerating the Denon HEOS for a couple years, I admitted defeat and bought a couple of these guys. The Crutchfield team was super helpful with my Luddite questions and I'm delighted with the product. Cooperates great with iPhone and my Mac. I control them via iOS rather than with Yamaha's app and they seem a bit happier that way. Easy to control multiple rooms, no cut outs, I'm not left scratching my head every time I press play. I'll probably pick up the Yamaha MusicCast receiver (after my next paycheck), :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Terrific Little Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little speakers are a dream -- they easily connected to my main speakers via the MusicCast app, though the initial set-up to get them onto my home WiFi was tricky (not sure why -- my phone just seemed to have trouble finding the MusicCast setup network; once I got on there was no problem). I'm using these to extend sound throughout the apartment. The main Yamaha internet receiver is in the living room, and I now have speakers in the kitchen, den, and bedroom. They synced immediately, so going from one room to the next the playback is seamless. Better yet, with the MusicCast controller and the receiver, I can play CDs or stream from almost any source and still have the sound broadcast throughout the apartment. Yamaha tech support is also great.

Pros: Decent sound, especially for their size; terrific syncing across several rooms for seamless listening experience; small size and portability makes them easy to place almost anywhere.

Cons: Somewhat tricky to get set up on WiFi initially.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 8/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive small wireless speaker. I am using a pair for rear speakers with the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1080 that is setup in a 5.1 system configuration and they are a perfect fit for this application. For placement flexibility I adapted the wall mounting option and placed them on speaker stands.

Pros: High quality sound in a small speaker. Easy to set-up.

Cons: The labels on top control panel are hard to read in low light.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connects to all our devices in our home. Have in our kitchen which is central to our house. Perfect spot for adding music to get togethers or when I'm cooking I'm definitely enjoying it. Have had no issues with connecting my phones or iPads to it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Sewell, NJ on 7/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

affordable sound was better than I expected. Setup for surround took a bit, but with a little help from crutchfield, works great. Thanks for the support

Pros: surround sound with these thru my Yamaha amp, produced wonderful sound & separation.

Cons: Tricky to set up supplied instructions were insufficient. Had to get help from crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, FL on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been waiting forever to purchase these speakers therefore as soon as I received the lower in price alert from Crutchfield I purchased two. I gave the speakers a 4 star rating only because I feel a little betrayed by Yamaha. My RX-A660 does not recognize the surround /stereo function therfore I don't really get the full surround sound effect. Yes, I can use the MusicCast app to link all my Yamaha devices however it is not the same. For example sometimes when using airplay I have to pause and restart music so that all the devices are in sink with the song. On a good note, the speakers function well on their own. I would just recommend that if you are looking to purchase these speakers as a true addition to your surround stereo effect just confirm that your Yamaha receiver is on the list of "qualified receivers".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Wireless Speakers for Yahama MusicCast system!

Gene from Danville, CA on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, I love Yamaha's MusicCast platform! It took me some time to get used to it and learn most of its functionalities, but I love being able to control my Yamaha N803 receiver as well as various speakers using the MusicCast app on my iPhone or iPad through my home wireless network. We recently bought a house that had hard-wired indoor and outdoor speakers. While the indoor speakers work great, I found that the sound quality and volume level for the outdoor speakers left something to be desired. I did some research on Crutchfield and bought a pair or Bose wireless outdoor speakers and a Bluetooth extender. Once I stared configuring them, I realized that I could not use the Bluetooth speakers in the way I wanted them since MusicCast works over your home wireless network. I called Crutchfield's Tech Support and described what I needed to do and they asked if I heard of the Yamaha MusicCast speakers. I checked them out and ordered two of the WX-021 and boy am I glad I did! They are easy to connect to the MusicCast platform, put out phenomenal sound, and allow me to integrate them with the indoor wired speakers. I can also use them anywhere in the house where I don't have hard-wired speakers (garage). Thanks to Yahama for coming up with MusicCast. Also thanks to Crutchfield for great customer service (they have a no-hassle return policy which allowed be to return the Bose speakers and I got my new speakers in a couple of days). I'm a Crutchfield customer for life.

Pros: Well-built speakers, very high quality sound, very easy to connect speakers to MusicCast system, easy to link to other "rooms" in MusicCast or use them as stand-alone speakers.

Cons: I wish they were rated for outdoor use but that would be hard to do since they must be plugged in to AC power. Not an issue though as I just bring them inside when I'm done use them.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Apps Cut Out

Crutchfield customer from West Chicago, IL on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pandora and other music apps keep cutting out. Don't know if it's the speaker or the network connection. I've ordered a powerline connection, but not happy I have to spend another $100.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Timothy from Valrico, FL on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have a Yamaha receiver in the family room and a Yamaha WX-030 in the bedroom, with the addition of this WX-021in the kitchen, we now have music flowing through the entire house. I deducted one star because the Yamaha Musiccast app has some glitches, over all I love the way Yamaha helps fill the house with music..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers for surround sound system. I am hearing things in old movies that I never knew were there. Wireless with a long electrical cord I can place them wherever I want. The sound is incredible for the size of the speaker.

Pros: Pro and con. I messed something up on the app trying to set it up and the Crutchfield tech gave me a direct line to Yamaha and they were very helpful and got me straighten out.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Jim from Oak Park, CA on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for a secondary speaker in the kitchen, so we can hear the TV / Yamaha Tuner better (via MusicCast app), without raising the overall volume louder in the family room.

Pros: Love the MusicCast app for playing audio solo in the kitchen, or simultaneously with our family room TV/Audio system, RX-A2080.

Cons: I have a Bluetooth transmitter in the room above our kitchen, so I need to toggle the transmitter on and off as needed. Otherwise, while using the bluetooth headphones upstairs for TV, it would also automatically sync to the WX-021 in the kitchen below. Certainly not a deal breaker, just took me a bit to figure this out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Purchased 2 . . . will be getting a 3rd

Sue from Gilbert, AZ on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased two WX-021 speakers (for bedroom & office) to go along with a YAS-408 soundbar and subwoofer (in family room) to complete a whole-house MusicCast speaker system. I was able to get through the setup (with the MusicCast app) without any help from customer service, but I'm pretty sure it was only because I'm an IT professional who makes a living troubleshooting. Home networks and wireless devices all have their eccentricities so setup was not as simple as the instructions would lead you to believe. However, I'm still giving 5 stars because I know the Crutchfield techs would have resolved all issues and the sound I'm getting throughout my house is BEAUTIFUL. I'm especially amazed by the blend from room-to-room; I was worried I might get some phasing, but there is none. Although the wireless speakers can be easily moved from room to room, I will probably get a 3rd speaker down the road for an additional room. All pieces of my new system were either open box or scratch & dent (to save money) and I can confirm that they are still clean and very high quality . . . no regrets in not purchasing brand new.

Pros: Beautiful full sound all by themselves Open box items are still high quality

Cons: Configuration was a little confusing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not Too Shabby!

Crutchfield customer from Osteen, FL on 2/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not Bad! Sound Quality could be a bit better for a expensive speaker. I use them as surround they sound good linked to Yamaha receiver.

Pros: Sound is decent! Works as Wireless surround!

Cons: Not all that easy to setup took multiple times to connect with app.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great space saver with good sound

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good speaker with decent sound that doesn't take up a lot of space. This is my first wireless speaker and it works well with my wired speakers. No delay either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Floyd from Chester, PA on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha did a great job on this one. Easy to set up and the sound is great for a small speaker. Can not wait to add more to my system. As always Crutchfield is the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 1/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good,but not great sound for the price. Wireless feature is terrific, as the speaker can be picked up and moved to wherever there is a power outlet in the home. Paired with the Yamaha N-303 wireless receiver I purchased, and the mobile software app MusicCast on my smart phone, I have convenient music or other audio literally at my fingertips wherever I am in my home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Blanco, TX on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding value/sound. I have 3 in different rooms and appreciate the quality of sound generated. I am now replacing a number of towers and smaller monitors with these!

Pros: Ease of installation, quality of sound.

Cons: Would prefer more bass options.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, MI on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Super loud at a low volume

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Sound, but Music Cast has Glitches

Carlos from Fort Worth, TX on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound for wireless speaker of it's size. But no replacement for a quality wired speaker. MusicCast when it works is great. But connection issues are a pain at times. Maybe a range issue sometimes. But problems persist at close range. Hopefully software updates improve situation.

Pros: Sound quality, simple setup, clean ascetic design.

Cons: Music Cast software glitches and reception range.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Harald from Saint Louis, MO on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. easy set up with a phone.

Pros: Super sound

Cons: When using multiple speakers they sometime go out of sync, requiring a reset on the phone controls.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Williston Park, NY on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Easy setup and great app to control on smart devices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Thomas from League City, TX on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound quality and very versatile

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, DE on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great piece...easy to use... Sirius access finicky

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

sounds all around

Spence from Elyria, OH on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love that these expanded dimensions of sound around me, with MusicCast's current incarnation allowing me to add two as rear speakers wirelessly.

Pros: small, good looking, wall-mountable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Brookings, OR on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SMALL,BUT HIGH QUALITY SOUND

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, pounding bass.

Gerald W. from Gainesville, VA on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deep bass and has a great sound. It can really crank the tunes. It is easy to set up downloading the music cast app. I set my up with SirusXM radio and can't be happier. You can control everything from your phone or you can get an Alexa device to control it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound and nice rich bass for the size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Delivers as advertised

Bike from Houston, TX on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described, clear wireless sounds on the patio.

Pros: Works

Cons: Not weatherproof

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Lahaina, HI on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These small speakers have very good sound quality. I am using them in an outside room (covered deck) approx. 20' x 20' Plenty of sound with the two I purchased. I use them with a Yamaha sound bar and the music cast app., not crazy about the app as it is not really intuitive and takes time to figure it out!!! The other components from Yamaha are awesome however and Crutchfield has provided Sterling service and along the way!

Pros:

Cons: Music Cast

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

eddie from Coral Springs, FL on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality and a great compliment to my surround sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

William from Raleigh, nc on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love new tech. These things also allow a nice look.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

TOP