Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
709 412 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
709 412 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Powered sound bar with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2 and wireless subwoofer

MFR # YAS-408BL

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Powered sound bar with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2 and wireless subwoofer

MFR # YAS-408BL

36 reviews
View this product

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Salesperson very knowledgeable products very good was excellent I definitely recommend them or buy from them again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Lolo, MT on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Early in product use my issue is with lack of level sound some things are very low volume level and some are very loud honestly not sure if I have not got something set right or what but very annoying at this time

Pros: Very easy to use. Fair sound quality

Cons: No level sound. Fair sound quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good for the money

Crutchfield customer from Mount Angel, OR on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While I really appreciated how easy the Yamaha sound bar was to install and use, I just didn't find it to be what I want to use to listen to TV, music movies, etc. I wouldn't discourage any from using this system but would encourage trying to find a place to listen to it compared to stereo or surround sound system. I did a lot of research and was convinced it was the best value. I ended up returning it and going in another direction.

Pros: Easy to setup and use Nice looking Good sound

Cons: Status lights are on top of the unit and can be difficult to see. A soft, power on light on the front would be very helpful.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to clean up home theater system. This soundbar has excellent sound quality but not as good as the 3.0 system it replaced. I replaced the previous system to simplify everything and separated the stereo into a separate system dedicated to LP, CD. Happy with my purchase

Pros: Great sound, simple to use for everyone

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Universal City, TX on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow...this is the most amazing sound bar. Phenomenal sound quality. Easy to use ... Customer service at Crutchfield, as always, was great. Very quick shipment and delivery. I am a Crutchfield fan...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality sound bar for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very, very good sound

Melanie from SPRING VALLEY, NY on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connected my YAS-408 to my MusicCast 20 (2 speakers) to create a boost of audio in the Family Room- 18' x 15'. Very good quality, clear , crisp sound - music & TV/DVD's. My disappointment came when I had to adjust & equalize the sound levels. Needed to put the MusicCast 20 up to maximum levels to hear the system sound they way I wanted it to hear. I been a Bose customer for 25 years -but Bose has now steered away from receiver friendly speakers , which isn't the direction I'm going in . Maybe the MusicCast 50 would have been better, but I consider this a smallish room.

Pros: Very adaptive system.

Cons: Needs more punch!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Phenix City, AL on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good sound and I like with the hdmi hookup so that you can use only one remote

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Andover, MN on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the bedroom surround sounds good and the sub kicks hard

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha YAS-408 Sound Bar Review ...

Crutchfield customer from New Prt Rchy, FL on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this Yamaha sound bar (model YAS-408) a month ago ... it was replacing a more expensive Samsung sound bar that unexpectedly went bad ... I listened to my Customer Sales & Support specialist (Dino) highly recommend this unit ... and assured me that if for any reason we were not totally satisfied with this Yamaha sound bar ... that I could return it for a full refund or credit towards a more expensive sound bar ... We hooked the new sound bar up about a week ago ... I am happy to report that the main sound comes out of the bar itself ... and bass comes through a separate sub-woofer that connects wirelessly ... and without a doubt ... we were quite surprised and happy with the sounds we were hearing ... bottom line ... incredibly full, rich sound regardless of the source ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Good quality system

Crutchfield customer from Ottoville, OH on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good sound for the cost. Even with the clear dialogue feature, I still need to occasionally adjust the volume to hear. The subwoofer quality was surprisingly impressive for the cost. I actually keep it turned down a bit. Overall impressed and glad I purchased this.

Pros: Good sound, super easy to install and setup.

Cons: Still need to occasionally adjust volume for dialogue.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, GA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sub woofer connected easily, as well as connectivity to my MusicCast network. Great sound and flexibility.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: Does not appear to have any ability to manage an equalizer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solid well rounded soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 10/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just bought this to upgrade my older Polk Surroundbar 6000 because I wanted some more modern features like Bluetooth and WiFi. So far, the YAS 408 is pretty good. The sub is great - not boomy or sloppy at all, very tight and musical which is so important for a soundbar package. The bar itself is pretty good. I'm still trying to figure out which preset sound modes are best for music, tv, and movies. For movies, I was kind of disappointed until I enabled the 3D surround setting. That changed everything. Very wide sound staging, and is really pretty good at mimicking surround sound. I am planning on adding some musiccast 20 speakers as surrounds later which I think will really help round out surround sound. I have found the 3D surround setting to not be great for music. At higher volumes it made the upper register pretty icy and piercing so I suggest turning that off when listening to music at a higher volume. Many people are frustrated with the lack of lights on front display. I don't mind at all - you can use the app to tell you everything you need to know about the bar's settings. Overall, the bar is pretty good. Certainly not disappointed but still can't compete with a traditional home theater set up. Decent value for money, would probably buy again, but might check out other options in the same price range before buying this one. As always, Crutchfield was fantastic during the buying and shipping process. Wouldn't buy anywhere

Pros: Musiccast system is great, 3D surround setting is impressive, very attractive form factor, fantastic subwoofer

Cons: Doesn't "wow" me for music

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Canton, MI on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would recommend YAS-408

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from a Samsung soundbar & subwoofer to Yamaha YAS-408. Mainly due to voice clarity. The YAS-408 does a great job especially with voice clarity. Subwoofer reacts better too. Cons: Remote only works with Yamaha products. It will not even control Samsung tv on/off. Also indicator lites on sound bar are on top of unit making it hard to see statuses, but in reality I would not want to see the lites in front because of the distraction when viewing tv. I would suggest having them on front with a button on remote to activate them at will.

Pros: see review

Cons: see review

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Lyndhurst, OH on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup, superb sound and nice balance with separate bass control. I wish the led lights were on the front panel, although with experience, it is easy to know which sound pattern is on. I also like the automatic shut-off. Well worth the money!

Pros: Great sound Easy hookup Great sound balance

Cons: LED's would be better on the front of the speaker bar

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Tye, TX on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not overly impressed. The sound isn't bad, it just isn't....WOW!!! I have the Klipsch R-20B and the difference between the 2, in my opinion, is HUGE!!! The dialogue enhancement is a neat feature, but could be better. Sound for movies is ok, but TV programming sound is just "dry!!!"

Pros: Ok sound

Cons: Only ok sound

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent value for a TV sound bar.

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding quality for the price. If you just want a solid addition to your TV audio, you can't beat this unit. The sound is great, especially the base, and the operation with my TV is seamless. The BT audio works great and the networked use is also good. The only complaints I have are the app is cumbersome and unreliable and the control buttons on the unit itself are hard to get to if you mount the soundbar to the wall. Minor issues that don't detract from the basic functionality of the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Antioch, IL on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK here it is. Is it a pain in the butt that the operating lights are not on the front panel? Yes kind of. I didn't think it would be a big deal but I do have to stand up off the couch to check system. At times it seems as though the remote is non-responsive. But all in all, this system will blow away your current flatscreen TV speakers.

Pros: Clear voice, music cast option

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Downingtown, PA on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I am happy with this soundbar. The sound is very good, not as good as you can get with a true 5.1 surround system but very good for a sound bar. The set up was fairly easy although had some difficulty getting the ARC functionality to work with the TV. I agree with other reviews that having the info on top of the unit makes it difficult to know exactly what mode things are in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Merritt Island, FL on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking and good quality. However the only feedback of sound bar mode ( I.e. clear voice, 3D surround , etc.) are the lights on the top of the bar. You can not tell the mode from your seat. Also AirPlay is intermittent when playing music from iOS device.

Pros: Looks nice Good quality

Cons: No feedback of mode from seated position Airplay breaks up when playing music.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Raymond, WA on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a Samsung system with this Yamaha YAS-408 in my 5th wheel RV. very easy install, and the sound is fantastic. Would recommend this to any one wanting to upgrade what they have. VERY HAPPY. Shipping was great, had it in 3 days. Thank you.

Pros: Priced rite for a high quality system.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very Good Sound From My TV

Bruce from Marlborough, MA on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product for those who want excellent sound from their TV, but don't want speakers everywhere and a bunch of wires going to and fro on the floor around your television set. As you know, the bean counters at the TV manufacturers want to keep the cost of your television set as low as possible, so they put really cheap speakers in their TVs. The Yamaha BAR 400 obviates or mitigates that and makes movies fun to watch again. There is a power wire that must be connected to the sub woofer but it connects wirelessly to the system so speaker wires are eliminated. The system sounds very nice, The only draw backs are that the sub woofer could use a little more oompf and the remote control could be designed a little differently so you would easily know just by looking at it which end should be pointed toward the TV. These are not major issues and I am very happy that I bought the Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408).

Pros: Fewer wires to connect to speakers Fewer remote speakers Excellent sound

Cons: 1. Sub woofer could use a little more oompf 2. Control lights on the sound bar could be put on the front so that they could be seen by the user while seated 3. Remote control could be chaped differently so that the end to be pointed toward the TV is apparent at first sight

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Juda, WI on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. This unit was from the outlet store and it seems to work well but when it was removed from the box I noticed something rattling around inside the sound bar. It works but it's a bit worrisome. The Bluetooth isn't the best. It cuts in and out with my iPhone and iPad. Otherwise it's as advertised and I would recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Jon from Littleton, CO on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced my towers and Polk subwoofer along with my Dennon receiver. Not as big a sound but this will do for sure. Love the clear voice selection. The hard to hear dialogue is finally brought to the front so even I can distinguish it from the background noise. If you are looking to simplify without giving up that much then take a chance on this. I am glad I did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound and bass

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and quality. There's also an app in the apple store for this soundbar. Great buy!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Dave from Knoxville, TN on 3/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My prior setup was traditional receiver, left right and center speaker plus cheap subwoofer. My son purchased a good quality sound bar and it became immediately apparent to me that it's sound was significantly better than mine. Coupling that with my wife's resistance to having wires running across room to give me surround sound led me to this sound bar. I am very happy with the sound baring in mind that I have not added the rear speakers yet. Dialogue easy to understand a sub is strong and tight. The setup is quite easy and fast. The bar is not perfect. One, pairing the bar with the xfinity remote proved problematic. Solution, call to Crutchfield. Bottom line I am very happy with your technical support. My call was answered immediately and your employee was very helpful, friendly and professional. Coupling the bar to Alexa also was not an easy process. The bar has only two hdmis as does my tv causing me to delete my DVD hook up. I have a dedicated home theater and rarely played a DVD in living room so losing that connection is not a big deal.

Pros: Sound Music Cast allowing for surround sound and multi room connection Alexa Easy connection

Cons: Limited connection Setup Lights on rear of bar

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Another GREAT Yamaha bar

Sue from Gilbert, AZ on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already had a low end Yamaha soundbar (ATS-1070) that I had purchased at Costco and ABSOLUTELY LOVED. The quality of sound from that bar led me to look at Yamaha when I decided to go with a "whole-house wireless" system. I needed to get a MusicCast compatible bar (YAS-408) to go with the 2 wireless speakers (WX-021) that would go in other rooms in my house. My family room has high ceilings, hard floors and no drapes/curtains so it is a very "live" room that is easily filled with sound, but I am still able to get a warm controlled sound from the YAS-408 bar and subwoofer whether I'm playing rock music, TV or streaming a podcast. The MusicCast app allows for good adjustment . . . . I am very pleased with my new system!

Pros: MusicCast features Crutchfield customer service (Trish)

Cons: Size of subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sound bar was a great buy, specially since I purchased it on sale. It is very easy to install and the sound quality is exceptional. It also has the ability to interface with blue tooth which allows for other types of access. I am very happy with my decision to purchase this sound bar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Rapids, IA on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What I expected for the cost and performs well in our space

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Quality

Lou from Pitman, NJ on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product. I have the Yas 207 and this is definitely an upgrade from that unit. The 400 has much more power and sound quality, it really fills the living room.

Pros: Loud Clear Fills room

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Pittsford, NY on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am very satisfied. It was easy to set up and I am learning how to use Alexa with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Javier from Aguadilla, PR on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Melville, NY on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to setup and use. Thank you for the recommendation!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

MAURICIO A from Brisbane, CA on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for me..is what I needed..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great TV dialogue and music sound

Alan from Plano, TX on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took some researching but I wanted a unit that could expand into a true 5.1 system, but in the meantime be a quality 3.1 system to replace a well rated, but cheap and lacking 2.1 Vizio. Though the Vizio made music sound pretty good, it simply could not deliver on the TV front. Dialogue was so muddled it seemed I needed a true 3.1 system. The YAS-408 Musiccast Bar delivers! My only test so far is hooking up the digital optical cable but I can tell right away dialogue comes through clearly as I watch scenes from Jurassic Park and Transformers. Even without using the Clear Voice function I was getting good dialogue. Clear Voice ON made it even better! Yet all the effects and music are still very much alive, even at a lower volume. And I love how the sub-woofer volume can be controlled separately! It took a couple attempts but I managed to connect the phone app and get all that working too. Music can stream nicely from my phone to the bar and sounds very good. I have an Energy brand 5.1 surround system fed by my Denon receiver, which I consider quite good for a small speaker system and this Musiccast Bar sounds almost as good. I'll be using it in another room. Since this was a new model, I wasn't sure what to expect with few reviews to guide me. But other Yamaha sound bars have been well reviewed and gave me some confidence this one would be great and it seems to be based on this initial experience. How well is hold up over time will be another review to come.

Pros: Moderately priced for so many features; 5.1 expandable; MusicCast capable; quality sound; clear dialogue; good sounding music.

Cons: Only one HDMI input; app is a little tricky.

Crutchfield response on

26 of 27 found this helpful

TOP