Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
197 765 75
Connect ID #
197 765 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-S660H

5.2-channel home theatre receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRS660H

Denon AVR-S660H

Denon AVR-S660H

5.2-channel home theatre receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRS660H

31 reviews
View this product

Worth the Money

Mike from Limestone, TN on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think it's a good receiver for the money. It's not the quality that my 30 year old JVC 505 was though. That being said, I would probably have to spend 4 or 5 times as much to match the JVC. All in all, good value for the price.

Pros: Easy to hook up.

Cons: Pretty cheaply made. All plastic fixtures.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound, too complicated

Peter from Gallup, NM on 8/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is attractive and appears well made. The sound is very good for the price. The setup is far too complicated. Menus upon menus and some of the simplest things weren't even covered. But I understand they are all like that today.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Clifford from Luray, VA on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the unit is easy to set up with the help that is shown on the tv screen. Just follow the directions and in a very short period of time the unit is ready to go. Has excellent sound quality and I run the direct tv thru it to the tv. Has made the picture on the tv much better. For the price it is a great receiver. Would recommend it to anyone.

Pros: As stated above.

Cons: None. Have had it for about 7 days.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great replacement to gain eARC to complement new LG OLED C155

Horace from Santa Fe, NM on 5/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to compliment a new LG C1-55PUB and as a replacement for a 10 year old Pioneer 7.1 with ARC. The old ARC implementation failed inconsistently. We felt we didn't need 7.1 or Dolby Atmos and purchased the Denon AVR-S660H with eARC which works flawlessly and the 5.1 surround is great.

Pros: Easy setup Great 5.1 sound Economical

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

I'm sad

Steven R from Randolph Center, VT on 3/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointed in this receiver. Switched from an old Kenwood that was failing. Kenwood was 100 watts per channel, and this is 75. I was told that it would easily drive my 100 watt polk speakers. It can't. At the higher volume the sound gets so bad I can't stand listening to it. The Kenwood wouldn't sound bad on my polk speakers no matter how much I pushed it. Unfortunately my 60 days are up, and I can nolonger return it. I wish the rep I talked to would have known it was a bad choice for producing undisturbed, loud music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Great receiver

Justin from Wilmington, DE on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver and so nice having all the inputs to allow all my devices to connect in one spot. Also nice to connect through my mobile device.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sweet and sour

Alfonso from Peoria, AZ on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty nice sound; however, to get there you need patience.I ended up setting it up manually myself. The rating is mainly because even though this AVR has three HDMI outputs (one of them used for the tv or monitor) it does not have even ONE RCA, OPTICAL and/or COAXIAL OUTPUT! I checked the big guys (avr X6700, avr x8500 and the avr a110) thinking that perhaps the price was the reason why, but none of them have any of these outputs either. Pretty disappointing.l have a wonderful AVR-4802 R which has 4 in-line RCA OUTPUTS and 2 OPTICAL OUTPUTS as well, and all are being used! This 4802 has been with me since 2001, buy now it is kind of tired so I thought to replace it with one of this big atmospheric guys but without the outputs that I need..I don't think so.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Not enough OUTPUTS

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Nice price, Great AVR Receiver

David from Manlius, NY on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nicely priced full featured AVR. Setup was easy, including adjusting speaker settings with supplied mic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Port Townsend

Fred from Port Townsend on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We downsized our home and downsized our living room audio to a soundbar. It was the practical and convenient way to go. One small hitch: It sounded small. The DSP in the soundbar was optimized for TV audio and any connected audio components or streaming music service sounded lifeless. Crutchfield to the rescue. I wanted to keep it simple so my advisor directed me to the Denon AVR-S660H. Ample power to fill our space, ample connectivity to take advantage of Airplay and Alexa, and enough flexibility to get the needed processing for TV and movies and to bypass the processing when listening to good source material. If the last receiver you owned was all about on/off, in/out, up/down, bass/treble, this unit has many more toys. It takes a week or so to get comfy with all it does...but once you do, it's magic. I auditioned three sets of bookshelf speakers before deciding on the final pairing with Polk R200s and a Klipsch wireless sub. Kudos to Crutchfield for the generous return policy and price match guarantee.

Pros: Compact Flexible A thoroughly modern budget receiver

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Luis from Dorado, PR on 3/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This one replaced a Denon AVR X2300W that lasted 4 years until it broke down. After calibrating the speakers with Audyssey and trying different sound modes the sound was so bad that I set all parameters flat. It only improved substantially after manual equalization and using the pure sound option of the control. Unfortunately one of the analog channels went dead, finally returned the receiver and ordered a different (more expensive) brand from Crutchfield. On the bright side, Crutchfield customer support was excellent, smooth transaction with no problems.

Pros: Good sound if you do manual configuration to sound settings

Cons: Component reliability

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great customer service

Garry from Chino Hills, CA on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I contacted customer service for advice on a 5.2 home AV receiver. One of my needs was phono inputs for a dual turntable. Crutchfield recommended the Denon AVR-S660H. It was delivered earlier then I expected and setup was easy. Works perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

David from Lucas, TX on 2/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice 5.1 amp. Very easy to use included microphone to balance room. Also does a nice job of up-converting to 4k

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love my new receiver!

James from Des Moines, IA on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really love my new receiver, I'm old and it was easy for me to install and use! I did need to call the Crutchfield support line but they took care of me right away. The sound quality was so much better than my old one. I'd recommend this Denon to anybody.

Pros: Easy to use and install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon s660h Receiver

Rick from Lynchburg, VA on 2/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

being older the on screen set up assistant was very helpful, the quality was very good. still fine tuning the setting on speakers (using Klipsch products) but overall very happy with denon receiver. Crutchfield service, 2nd to none. i live in virginia and got the next day in a plastic weather proof sealed box. nice touch on electronic products . Great job Crutchfield and denon. Suggest whoever buys this to match with quality speakers.

Pros: lots of adjustability quality product

Cons: sorry i had not purchased before now

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Setup

Thomas from Port Deposit, MD on 2/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Great sound. Met all my needs to connect all the components of my surround sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Damon from Export, PA on 2/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed to upgrade my home theater amp since I upgraded to a 70" Samsung tv. I wanted to utilize the eARC connection for cable and online channels. I'm able to use the Samsung remote which pairs beautifully with the Denon. Amp drives my medium sized speakers very well. Works perfect and doesn't destroy your budget.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Bob from Ashburn, VA on 2/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup Easy to operate Sounds great

Pros: Many features for a reasonable price

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Top notch service as always

Randall from Anderson, SC on 2/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service as always and great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Coleman from Chapel Hill, NC on 2/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value receiver!

Pros: Budget but good value receiver!

Cons: Not 7.1 expandable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tv Media music only

Maria E Garc from Guaynabo, PR on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought as a receiver for music only - but installation requires a tv. Tried to check if other options are possible but couldn't find any help. Completed speakers wiring - but have not been able to test it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Chris from Burlington, WI on 1/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great buy, great sound, and easy set-up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value

Christopher from Jefferson, WI on 1/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Receiver for the money. Great value. Setup was easy. Not a lot of customization needed. Wifi is very nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Nice Receiver (with limitations for Old School listeners)

Jim from Fresno, CA on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm quite happy with the functions of this receiver and it seems quite fairly priced. The single HDMI output and 5 HDMI input jacks are adequate for my use. The required speaker testing and balancing feature took some time and patience to set up, but it was worth the effort and on-screen prompts made it relatively painless. The remote control, although complex as all of them seem to be nowadays, is fairly intuitive. I did use a label maker to put some notes on the back (see photos) to avoid confusing my sources. There is a bit of latency when selecting a video source, before the picture appears, but it simply requires a little patience and getting used to this brief delay. Most audio systems won't suffer for the one feature I find missing: RCA-outputs. There are RCA inputs dedicated to a turntable and a "Media Player", but I'd like two RCA-outs that allow me to connect my SONOS Port (to play Denon sources through the SONOS system) and to my Onkyo Digital Converter (to copy vinyl to MP3 files). Yes, I'm Old School - I want to OWN my music and program it, not rent it, accepting whatever order the subscription services feed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Larry from Wynnewood, PA on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my 10 year old Sony with this Denon and am thrilled. It took a while to set up but no real problems. We turned on a Harry Potter movie and the sound and pictures were fantastic. I also love being able to send Sirius and Pandora from my phone to the whole room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Frederick from Tonawanda, NY on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a medium priced receiver to deliver music and movies to my sound system. Very pleased with my purchase, gives me just what I was looking for. The installation service I received from customer support was excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Teresa Lynn from Marshalltown, IA on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are really enjoying our new receiver - much thanks to Garret for helping us!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Lawrence from Eugene, OR on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced my Yamaha RX-V383. With the Yamaha, I could get good bass or good treble but not both at the same time. There were many settings that I doubt anyone would intentionally use for good listening. The Denon solved all that. Good highs & good lows at the same time. I used Crutchfield because their price and shipping time beat another retailor. I will remember this the next time I shop for electronics.

Pros: Useful settings if the buyer spends some time experimenting to see what works and what doesn't.

Cons: A few settings that degraded sound quality no matter how they were used.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Gorgeous sound

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 1/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Vastly superior sound to our old amp. Very comprehensive setup has balanced it to our less than ideally set up living room. Our stereo is in one corner of the room with the speakers against a wall that is side on to our couch etc - not the ideal stereo position. This amp handles it admirably. Sound balance at low volume is superb - it sounds like music playing quietly rather than a muffled noise. The same goes for spoken words - news, plays etc. The only inconvenience I found in setting it up is that it requires a television (I guess I could have used a computer monitor) . Other than that, setup was easy and very comprehensive, going far beyond "plug the bits in and you're done".

Pros: Excellent sound, smooth controls

Cons: Needing a monitor or TV for setup

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good buy for the price

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 1/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than enough power to drive my Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers to produce a clear clean sound. Very good performance for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S660H

Crutchfield customer from Spring Branch, TX on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

did everything as advertised

Pros: great valuw!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love Denon!

allen from Phoenix, AZ on 12/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this AVR straight from Denon as no one at the time had it in stock. I bought this AVR to replace an older Denon AVR-788 that has been in use since 2008 I think. It looks great with a much more modern look and seems to be a bit smaller in size. Setup was a breeze and the Denon walk you right through the initial setup. Audyseey setup was great and the sound coming from my Elac bookshelf and center speakers was much better even though the S660H has less power. I did make some slight manual adjustments after the setup but that's to be expected. I cannot comment on any of the functions besides home theater and music listening but I am sure they will function perfectly. This is my fourth Denon AVR and I have not had a single issue with any of them. Very happy with this purchase and it's perfect for my small system.

Pros: looks features ease of setup

Cons: on line manual only, would love to have a printed version sent with the product.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound