Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
427 711 44
Connect ID #
427 711 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theatre receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRS960HBKE3

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theatre receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # AVRS960HBKE3

35 reviews
View this product

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Guest from Denver, co on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Runs hot (see pic) 135 deg... and when you turn on your ROKU, it takes a blink and then turns the Denon on... retarded linked ON function... other than that... it drives my Elac speakers and SVS SB 1000 PRO subwoofer nicely

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Richard from Woodsville, NH on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works ok,but I like my onkyo better. The technology each day adds things, but take away items that I like to have. Hopefully I will get more familiar with the operation of what it can do over time. Thank you for your support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, IL on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have patience setting this unit up. It's worth it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Lares, PR on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Esperaba mejor resimiento

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first time that I purchased a Denon Product. I am upgrading from on Onkyo. Except for the lower power output, this unit is working well. My Onkyo had issues with the eARC HDMI Channel and was sporadic in its performance. That proved to be quite annoying. This Denon Product is working well and the is preforming as advertised. I am satified with this purchasea from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeville, DE on 4/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great piece of equipment for a home theater for the price. Setting up zone 2 was a little tricky but works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Inn, SC on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. Feels like I could turn down my neighbors stereo if needed. So many options.

Pros: Many options

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Three Lakes, WI on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver has met all of our needs. It was very easy to set up and has worked well with our satellite provider and our current TV. Waiting on a new 4K TV to take full advantage of what it can do. Also love streaming music from my IPAD and Pandora through our stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Question

Guest from Holbrook, NY on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The specs list 1 hdmi input capable of 4K 120 and two outputs... unless I'm connecting to two different TVs which most people are not.. what good does this do me? I'd rather be able to connect 2 devices to the receiver then output to one tv. Am I understanding their specs correctly?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Nice Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to understand remote, Easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon avrs960h

Crutchfield customer from Monson, MA on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has only been hooked up for a couple weeks. Replaced an old JVC, what an upgrade!!

Pros: Easy set up and get quality

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lemon?

Crutchfield customer from Metamora, IL on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I fear I may have a lemon. Almost immediately after set up the sub stopped working- replaced the cable which was loose - no cigar so then the sub still no output out of sub Recently pulled cable out of receiver then back in and for one night I had bass! Next night the sub is again dead. Considering trying to go back thru the speaker set up but if it works sometimes I can't imagine this will work. ARRG Going to contact Crutchfield tomorrow as I've spent too much time on this

Pros: When it works it's awesome

Cons: When it doesn't work it stinks. Most of the time my sub is dead (but it's not the sub or the cable)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

So Close Yet So Not There

Stephen from Griffin on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should have listened to the reviews that said this receiver (and some other Denons) run hot. I figured these reviews were by people who were enclosing their receivers in too-tight spaces and mine was going to sit on top of an entertainment center with plenty of airspace around it. I should have heeded the reviews from people who complained about having to repeatedly switch inputs back and forth to get their chosen input to "stick." I figured there was something wrong with their installation or cables or whatever, or these were simply rare bad receivers. This receiver ran so hot on us several times that we searched the house looking for an electrical fire. It didn't happen just when it was initially used. It first happened several days after we began using it, then again about a week later. The smell was so intense we feared it would start a fire. And we had to switch inputs back and forth, sometimes multiple times, to get it to "stick" on our Fire Stick input. The last straw was the day I had to switch back and forth 10-15 times within about 10 minutes before it finally "stuck." Great interface, great features at a great price. But we had to return it, and we replaced it with a Yamaha RX-A2A that is $150 more and works as advertised, though we don't like the interface nearly as much.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Northville, MI on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is everything that the reviews say it is. Very versatile but a little challenging without a true owner's manual. There is an over 300 page manual on line. I was able to use an older DVD player without HDMI cables with this unit. The Crutchfield call in helper gave me a couple of ways of making it happen.

Pros: Lots of options, inputs and choices.

Cons: Sometimes a little hard to figure out the best way to proceed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working good so far

Pros: Interfaces and hookup fairly easy

Cons: No paper manual, not obvious how to hook up a non typical set of speakers or to make changes to the individual speaker volume or equalization

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Milford, MI on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have not powered it up yet but I am eagerly pouring through the 300+ page user manual

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 11 found this helpful

AVR-S960H 8K Ready Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Franklinville, NY on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is not much I DON'T like about the AVR-S960H. Personally, I like the price! At $650 you get a top notch receiver with all the immersive and upconverting codecs you need for a 5.1.2 setup along with 8k upscaling on the video side. Even if you forget about the audio, this receiver is a must have for gamers. Buy it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Chelmsford, MA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver! Easy setup, simple connections. Hooked up to my Bose Surround system and other peripherals. Unbelievable!

Pros: powerful, easy setup, simple connections

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Macon, GA on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good for the cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Harbor Spgs , MI on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp was easy to setup and is exactly what I was looking for fro my home entertainment system

Pros: It has lots of connections for everything that I needed to connect.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Belleair, FL on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Receiver Excellent Value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great receiver

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, LA on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Sounds wonderful. Easy to use. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the app to control the receiver from my phone is not user friendly like some other brands receivers I have used before.

Pros: Quality sound, dual zone capabilities, 8k video for a receiver under $1000

Cons: App

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, I'm happy with the Denon. Thought it would have on screen display of settings changes, but only on the unit display. Lipsink leaves some to be desired as well... if my older Onkyo had ARC HDMI, I'd switch back in a heartbeat!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great entry-level receiver with all the functionality needed to set up a basic home theater system. Much improved speaker connections (single line across the bottom) from prior models (multiple side by side columns) making it much easier to make the connections.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Receiver!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned this receiver for a couple of weeks now and I love it! The Wi-Fi with streaming music is a great feature!

Pros: Easy on-screen setup using your tv!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver - great sound, Only minor downsides so far are lack of wireless connectivity for rear surround speakers and inability to play video off a USB device

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Ken's Home Theather

Crutchfield customer from Gilroy, CA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver, easy to set up! I'm replacing a Denon AVR1709 after many years of great service, also bought at Crutchfield!

Pros: Always great service from Crutchfield

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Denton, TX on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Denon AVR-S960H. Is and amazing receiver. It surpassed my expectations. The power and the sound fields are great. A great receiver for home theater enthusiast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy setup

Crutchfield customer from Leominster, MA on 8/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver to replace an older Sony receiver which I was happy with but it did not support eARC. The Denon AVR-S960H had all the features I was looking for and it sounds great. Plus, it was really easy to setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Not bad

Crutchfield customer from Wesley Chapel, FL on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. I'm still calibrating and setting up the features. Lots to learn and understand with this unit. One issue that isn't well documented; and that is analog to digital video conversion. This unit will NOT convert analog video to hdmi. Analog video signals pass through a separate channel. If you have any analog sources, then you must connect your TV via analog out. This is vaguely noted in the manual, and it caused issues when I installed the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid receiver with some new features.

Pros: 4K passthrough, HEOS online music

Cons: Price; no manual included, online manual not available yet

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Merrillville, IN on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ONKYO was my first choice, but there was no telling how long the wait would be. Denon was second. I should have made them first! This unit is just what I wanted! The middle ground in price suited me, and the all of the attributes are perfect for what I want to accomplish in music and movies. Combined with brand new Klipsch speakers and sub-woofer, I have a home theater system I can be proud of! I have found a new source for my electronics in Crutchfield. They delivered when no one else could. Real Talk!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!

Pros: It's bad!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 12 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S960H (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Bonita Springs, FL on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up this Denon to my system this past week. Very pleased with it. Like that it connects both via WiFi and Bluetooth. Being able to stream Spotify from my iPhone and iPad is a great feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Very Happy with my Denon HDMI 2.1 AVR

Ben from N PALM BEACH, FL on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm completely satisfied with this AVR. I originally got the S-750h Denon to pair with a new Sony 900h TV, but the S-750h Denon would mysteriously turn on when off after a couple hours. After researching, it appears this is a problem with some Denon receivers paired with Sony TVs. So, I decided to give Denon another shot using this 2020 model and so far so good! The sound is excellent, the UI in the 2020 model has also been updated. It was super easy to hook up and the calibration process worked well. Having HDMI 2.1 is an added plus to future proof this AVR when matching with my Sony TV which also supports HDMI 2.1. Crutchfield was great. I'm super happy. Thank you!!!

Pros: Easy to use Easy to setup Sounds great HDMI 2.1

Cons: Nothing I've found so far!-

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

TOP