Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
819 018 04
Connect ID #
819 018 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon DCD-50

Compact single-disc CD player

MFR # DCD-50

Denon DCD-50

Denon DCD-50

Compact single-disc CD player

MFR # DCD-50

10 reviews
View this product

Tops in Fidelity

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fidelity is amazing; coupled with my 1980 McIntosh 1900 I am in a a concert hall.

Pros: Small, simple design. The CD player can be positioned sideways or on its bottom with cool interchangeable feet.

Cons: Command buttons are not illuminated. No big deal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DCD-50

Crutchfield customer from Bowling Green, KY on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We thought out design. Looks great . Operation is minimalistic which is what I was looking for . I own and collect vintage audio gear 60s,70s , 80s . Listen to vinyl as well as CDS and digital.as you know very few "vintage cd plays are worth restoring . And I wanted a small frame quality cd with dac and no frills this product is perfect this .

Pros: The option to set horizontally or vertically as well as the small foot print. Clean design.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Flawed product

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, CA on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I selected this CD player because of its relatively compact size and lightweight. It's used as a transport on desktop -- so coaxial digital output only. It looks solid. Buttons are fine. Remote is easy to figure out except a weird battery compartment. Made in Vietnam. When playing a CD I violently shaked it for about 10 seconds and the music didn't stop. That's good enough. However, here's a problem I discovered after about 10 days of intermittent use. I played a CD and powered down the player in the middle (say track 10). When next time I powered up the player, fast forward to track 10 then click "play," it couldn't start playing. After a few retries of stop and play again, it finally gave me an error of "unsupported disc." The workaround is to remove the CD, power down, power up, and reinsert the CD. I read other users complained about CDs/CD-Rs jamming in the player. I doubt that problem will happen on my since all I have are original music CDs. However, I was surprised how easily the first defect showed up.

Pros: Looks solid. Relatively compact and lightweight.

Cons: Play problem. See the details in my review.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon DCD-50

Crutchfield customer from Treasure Is, FL on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent cd played High quality sound

Pros: small unit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, MI on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My CD s never sounded better very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional Sound and Build Quality

John from GLEN ALLEN, VA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid, beautiful, and great sound! I had forgotten how good CDs could sound. After the install (ten minutes?) I spent the rest of the day trying different genres of music just to hear all the sonic details that I had been missing. My only regret is that I did not do it sooner. Even with a large digital music collection, there are times I just want to listen to music without the computer on for the distraction. I can queue up a great disc, sit back, and listen. I paired this with the Denon PMA-50 Amp with two wall-mounted Martin Logan speakers. Hidden in a corner is an Audio Engine powered sub-woofer.

Pros: Small footprint, solid construction, great match for the Denon Amp (same dimensions). Incredible sound quality.

Cons: Have not found any.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Flawed product design; Crutchfield saves the day

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CA on 11/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a very good player. Essentially, it's like the CD player in a car, in terms of a transport mechanism. No tray, just insert the cd. Mine ingested a CDr, which the unit purportedly can play, and refused to eject. Crutchfield, who has been great, sent a new one to me. Same exact thing. Long story short, I upgraded to a small Marantz unit that Crutchfield sells for $100 more. No problems whatsoever. Superior in sound, but slightly bigger in physical size-the price you pay, literally, for a better mechanism. Crutchfield has awesome support, but avoid this flawed product design. Denon should know better. I used to have one of their turntables back in the day. This CD player is a piece of junk.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Denon DCD-50

Peter from Phoenix, AZ on 11/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to use with headphones in mind. Digital out from the Denon to a quality DAC -then into a tube headphone amplifier. Audeze headphones. Very impressive. Yes I can do FLAC 24bit into the same DAC/Amp -but I have a lot of CDs that frankly I don't care to convert to FLAC. Best of both worlds A quality CD player/transport -and lossless FLAC via a computer. I can't tell the difference in sound quality between 24bit 192 FLAC downloads and a CD -the Denon is that good. Excellent build quality and flawless operation. Small footprint for a desk and listening area. This unit overdelivers in sound quality. I wasn't expecting to be so impressed.

Pros: Quality build and sound quality. Digital out -and the ability to use as a CD player and not just a transport. Horizontal or vertical placement.

Cons: Backlit control functions are absent. In low light it's easy to hit the wrong button.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

High quality sound / small footprint

Lane from Bend, OR on 6/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big fan of Demon product! They have evolved much since I started 30 years ago. This CD player is sweet! It has a small footprint, about half the size of a normal 17" length. The front panel is simple and easy...plus the auto load disc is nice, like in a car CD player. High quality audio. Don't let the price dissuade you...it's worth it! Denon products last a long time.

Pros: Simple display. High quality audio

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DCD-50

Rex from Ft Wayne, IN on 7/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The player is nice looking and compact but it will not play some of my CD that works in my old player, it will say my CD is not supported?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 27 found this helpful

TOP