Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
286 696 04
Connect ID #
286 696 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon DCD-800NE

Single-disc CD player with front-panel USB

MFR # DCD800NE

Denon DCD-800NE

Denon DCD-800NE

Single-disc CD player with front-panel USB

MFR # DCD800NE

20 reviews
View this product

Denon DCD-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Rockton, IL on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

giving it a 4 star is it doesn't play a couple of my rewritable CD and would play my memory stick it starts over when I've stopped it and won't play my ipod classic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great, but not perfect

Robert from Trumbull, CT on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy with this CD player, even though the Marantz unit is a hair better from a functionality perspective. The only reason I went with the Denon is because I also have their integrated amplifier, which is a work of art. I wanted one remote for both, so here we are.

Pros: Ability to play FLAC files from USB flash drive Smooth eject mechanism Very nice buttons on the unit

Cons: USB interface a bit clunky Did they really have to put 'Tr' after the track number? If anything, it should come before, because it just looks weird. But they should have just not put it there, because we all know it's the track number. Otherwise, it's the perfect player.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Elegant performance

Crutchfield customer from Grafton, OH on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sounding DAC. Sounds much better than most all-in-one integrated receivers' DACs. I really like the look of this unit. Everything you need, nothing you don't.

Pros: DAC Look Quick response in controlling disc

Cons: Almost could use balanced output connections.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DCD-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my very old Denon CD player with this one, knowing they may a high quality product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

great buy

Crutchfield customer from Murphysboro, IL on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful sound! Happy with the acceptance of cd's and is supper quiet. Works well with our other brand speakers and happy with purchase. we plan on having this cd player for years.

Pros: plays all cd's supper quiet

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Testing now with my Music Land Fingers

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very NICE so far. Let me Explore for a while and I will come back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Very pleasing sound

Crutchfield customer from Lynchburg, VA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This CD player is a very nice addition to my system. The sound is crisp and well defined. It replaces a Denon DCD 1520 (also single disk) unit that finally stopped working some time ago. To my ear, this is every bit as good. The tray operates smoothly, and the controls don't make sense. I am very pleased so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DCD-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Kouts, IN on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Equipment: two Carvan 1283 (300 watt 3-ways), one SVS PB-1000 (subwoofer), one Sansui QRX-7001 Sound Stage: 2400sqf shop with 20' ceiling I am most pleased with my purchase. The Denon DCD800NE CD player is a nice looking unit. The controls on the unit are straight forward and simple to use. The "Pure Mode" is useful if you do not stare at the display when enjoying your music. The remote is nice to have but a little more difficult to learn how to use. Other reviewers have mentioned there are too many buttons on the remote if your sole purpose is to use the CD player. The sound reproduction of this unit is AWESOME! Both the USB and CD sound reproduction are top notch. Before purchasing the unit, I had read other reviews that complained about the sound and referenced another brand as a better choice. I disagree with those reviewers. The Denon DCD800NE CD player perfectly reproduces the sounds contained in your USB files or on your CD. How the producers of the music wanted you to hear those songs is what you get played back. Your sound equipment is responsible for reproducing it to your ears enjoyment. The biggest CON of this unit's physical construction is the CD tray. It's none different than what you'd find in the cheapest of cheap CD players. The other CON is the lack of gapless playback. This may be okay if your music is not segmented, but if you plan to take a journey with Jean- Michel Jarre you will be disappointed that you don't get a dire

Pros: Great sound reproduction. Plug & Play USB port.

Cons: Low grade CD tray. Does not perform gapless playback.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Denon DCD-800NE

RONALD from Folsom, LA on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For many years I had been listening to cd's through a home theater system on a multi-disc Yamaha cd player. Having recently purchased a Denon AVRX4400H and a pair of Polk Audio RTi A9 speakers, when playing cd's in two channel stereo the output from the Yamaha, though sufficient, was lacking in clarity on all levels. Upon playing the first track of a cd on the Denon the difference in clarity was pronounced. The DCD-800NE provided much cleaner bass, smoother mid-range, and less brightness from the tweeters. The improvement in overall clarity of presentation and two-channel separation was significant while maintaining a well balanced sound stage. The sound quality improvement in digitally remastered music from the 70's was a pleasant surprise. As was recommended to me by a Crutchfield rep at the time of my purchase, I purchased high quality RCA cables for connection to the AVR.

Pros: Excellent sound quality and two-channel stereo separation

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it. I debated whether or not to get the 600NE or the 800NE. I'm glad I chose the latter. The DAC sounds great and the USB port allows me to play hi-res music from a flashdrive. I'm old school, so this was a major discovery for me!

Pros: DAC is great. USB port is a wonderful feature. Looks good. Feels solid.

Cons: Not really a con, but I haven't been able to discern any sound differences when the Pure Direct mode is engaged.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Denon DCD-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Cranston, RI on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job flawlessly. Excellent repoduction and sound stage. I am delighted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DCD-800NE

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, OH on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After my 5 disc 25 year old Kenwood bit the dust, I did some research and based on reviews and price point purchased this one. It was very easy to set up and I'm running it thru the 25 year old Kenwood receiver & Boston HD-8 tower speakers. I'm no audiophile so I can't go into the finer points of what some people expect to hear but the sound is crystal clear and I'm more than happy with it. The disc operation has been very smooth, no skips, freezing up, etc. I have a collection of 400 CDs, some 20 years old, and even the old ones sound good. Two things I don't like is that there is no printed manual to refer to unless you print it out yourself from the internet and you cannot open or close the tray with the remote like my old Kenwood. You must do it manually on the CD player. I've only had the unit for 6 weeks so this review may be premature but so far so good and I'm satisfied with my decision to buy it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Denon DCD800ne vs Marantz CD6006

Crutchfield customer from Northeast on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a review of both the Marantz CD6006 and the Denon DCD 800ne CD Players. I've owned both, and they each deliver wonderful sound. SOUND: Both have wonderful fidelity and have overcome the mid-range, digital harshness found in many CD players. The Marantz may be a little warmer and the Denon a little cleaner. The Denon has the edge in sonic specifications. Unless you have exceptional hearing, listen intensely for differences or are obsessed with purity, they are pretty comparable. If you are going to have a lot of gear (headphone amp / pre amp, tube buffer, equalizer etc.) between your player and main amp, the Denon should provide the cleaner source signal. Both machines are somewhat finicky about the condition of the CD they are playing. FEATURES: Counterbalancing this, the Marantz has a headphone jack (and a good sounding amp to go with it) while the Denon does not. Both will accept HD USB inputs. Both are very easy to use. BUILD QUALITY: While the construction of the Denon seems perfectly adequate, the Marantz is much more robust. It's considerably heavier and they have taken significant steps to keep the effects of vibrations to a minimum. Also, the Marantz comes with a heavy, detachable, power cord; the Denon is equipped with the type of cord found on much less expensive machines. CONCLUSIONS: If audio-obsessed, get the Denon; otherwise, get the robust unit with the headphone jack (Marantz).

Pros: Sound quality Ease of use

Cons: No headphone jack/amp Lack of a well insulated power cord

Crutchfield response on

38 of 38 found this helpful

I love Denon

Crutchfield customer from W Springfield, MA on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first Denon purchase and I am completely satisfied !! It makes all my music on cd and usb sound awesome

Pros: Great price, super sound

Cons: no headphone jack

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound with some effort to use all functionality

Crutchfield customer from Great Neck, NY on 8/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Actually 3 and a half stars. I was hoping to see an improvement in the sound quality of my CDs. Much of my collection is older so I wasn't expecting a dramatic difference from my existing, much older player. However I was pleasantly surprised. The Denon brought out details and space to the music I obviously was accustomed to not hearing. I think this unit plays above it price point. The USB play feature is a nice option to have but it took a bit of work to get it going. Switching modes is simple though. The other bigger issue was playing CDs I recorded. All commercial CDs played flawlessly. I only way I could get the my recorded CDs to play was to re-record them at a lower burn speed. In my case 16x. If you are just playing CDs this unit is closer to 5 stars.

Pros: Really good sound. Easy operation for most fuctions

Cons: Would not play user recorded CDs

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent Sounding CD Player

Joseph from Northern Nevada on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this unit for a day but I've got 6 hours of playtime on it and it sounds REALLY good. It is very detailed, smooth, and it does an excellent job of bringing out the low-end on the various CDs that I've thrown at it (Sia, Weezer, Chili Peppers, Lifehouse, Pink, Sugarland, Milton Merlos, Lindsey Sterling). I bought this to replace my NAD CD player, which only lasted 4 months before dying, and I'm happy thus far. Keeping fingers crossed that it proves to be reliable over the long-term.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Hi Res Player

Charles from Miami, FL on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been ripping CD's to listen to on iTunes. Many are not available on streaming services and iTunes unless you have the CD. However I questioned the losslessness I just Saw Martin Barre play live and picked up a few discs he only has at shows. They are not on streaming. I started looking at players and this one had higher res than almost everything. It really stood out. Priced right I tried it. O My God! It blows the door off Incredible low and mid bass. Crazy clear soundstage. I'm running MartinLogan ESLX and JL 10" Dominion ( thanks Crutchfield) sounds close to LP and maybe better than Tidal on my Bluesound. It seems a little more modern than the others in its price range. USB for flash drives the others were iPod ready. No frills but the direct sound is everything you would want. Recommend. Feel it qualifies as hi resolution audiophile sound.

Pros: Priced right. Crazy good sound quality. Simple features.

Cons: No ejection on the remote.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 12 found this helpful

Exceptional CD Player

Dan from Chapel Hill, NC on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a tryout period with the matching Denon integrated amplifier, which I had purchased previously, I decided to add the compact disc player. In short, I've been impressed. It has allowed new life to be breathed into my cd collection, and I am hearing elements of music that are lost in the context of mp3 and assorted other formats that do not provide the same resolution. Now, if Denon would add a matching tape deck so we can really go old school. . . .

Pros: Gorgeous sound resolution; whisper quiet operation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Outstanding Sound Quality

Nitram987 from Lions Head, ON on 2/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DCD-800NE CD player delivers exceptional sound quality and sound stage. It is indeed audiophile level -- something that I've never gotten from my CDs with any other player. I was initially encouraged by the excellent European reviews. I have it paired to an Onkyo A-9110 integrated amp and Polk Audio LSiM707 tower speakers. I'm now very happily going back through many years of my CD music collection and looking forward to exploring some USB sourced files. Congratulations Denon on a fine product.

Pros: Exceptional, even surprising, sound stage and clarity

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Clear, High Res. Sound Reproduction

John from Gibsonia, PA on 2/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Denon DCD-800Ne about a month ago. Although I appreciate many times people like to give a review shortly after purchase, I decided I wanted to put this cd player through a more thorough break-in time, and see if I liked it as much as the first couple of days after purchase. In comparison, I also own older cd players, but their older circuitry along with D/A conversion, etc., just were not up to the task of offering clear, concise reproduction from all of my cd collection. This includes many older, and now recent cd purchases. My system consists of a Denon AVR-X3500H receiver, played through Paradigm Reference Studio 60 v.5 towers, CC-590 center, and Studio20 v.5 surrounds. I needed to find a cd player capable of delivering exceptional sound quality to match my sound system. Now, I have this. Just prior, I had been using my Samsung 8500 4K DVD player for my cds. But, a dvd player, other than perhaps an ultra expensive OPPO, is not going to give a playback quality equal to newer great quality cd players. There are some good ones on the market, albeit few in comparison to twenty years ago, that offer good quality. I decided on the Denon after comparing many others. Mainly, build quality. From the moment I took this one out of the box, I was impressed by build quality that Denon is known for. Today, after a month of using the player daily, I find myself totally satisfied with this product. I give this one 5 stars, and would highly recommend the Denon DCE-800NE.

Pros: High Res. Sound, very durable build quality, attractive component

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

42 of 44 found this helpful

TOP