Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
013 322 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
013 322 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon DP-400

Automatic belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge and built-in phono preamp (Black)

MFR # DP400

Denon DP-400

Denon DP-400

Automatic belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge and built-in phono preamp (Black)

MFR # DP400

16 reviews
View this product

Denon DP-400

Crutchfield customer from Greenlawn, NY on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Turntable sounds excellent I wouldn't buy from any other manufacture Except Denon. The staff at crutchfield are excellent and very helpful I wouldn't by anywhere else except crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Feedback

Kirby from Ellicott City, MD on 1/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall the turntable looks good. However, I am experiencing really bad feedback. The unit is located on a very stable console table and the distance to the speaker is about 6 ft. I have a Technics receiver and a pair of Klipsch Heresy's. I am getting feedback even at very low volumes. I did change the cartridge to an Ortofon Blue (with headshell), which is set to the proper force. Even when I revert back to the factory headshell it still produces the feedback. Not sure if this is an inherent problem or if I am missing a setup step for the suspension.

Pros: Looks good

Cons: Nasty feedback

Crutchfield response on 1/29/2020
Kirby, we're sorry you're having issues with your turntable. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent turntable- but some assembly required!

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable with excellent sound. Be prepared to assemble the stylus and arm. Probably customary, but still makes one a little wary about whether you got it exactly right. Instructions were only so-so in this regard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DP-400 a Winner

Crutchfield customer from Gig Harbor, WA on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best turntable I have owned to date. Easy to setup, easy to use, great sound, and very elegant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DP-400

Crutchfield customer from Boerne, TX on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Lagrange, GA on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little turntable! I needed the ability to play 33 and 78 albums. This fit the bill. I plan on replacing the head and cartridge later with an upgrade for the 33s. I chose to invest more in my headend equipment and speakers than something to play my old albums.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Record Player, But Needs Hinged Dust Cover

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good record player. I preferred a fully automatic player, but I was concerned about quality. So I choose this semi-automatic player. The only reason I did not give it a five star rating is the dust cover is not a hinged dust cover. I had to separately purchase a 3rd party cover custom made for this player.

Pros: Quality product, easy to upgrade cartridge in the future, RCA output (instead of a short prewired RCA cable), easy setup.

Cons: The dust cover is not a hinged dust cover.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent semi-automatic turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable. Really like the semi automatic function, where the tonearm lifts up and the motor shuts down at the end of a record. That is very helpful.. Very easy to set up. I added an Ortofon 2m blue cartridge with Sh-4 headshell, sounds great.not a big fan of the removable dust cover and record jacket stand. Would prefer a traditional dust cover.

Pros: Semi-automatic lift off and shut down

Cons: Dust cover

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DP-400

Crutchfield customer from La Palma, CA on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this turn table for my father who is 88 and has a nice collection of Latin music from the many years ago and in many different styles. This turn table has completely revived the records and they sound like new. He listens to music everyday ; I am very pleased with this product. ( I also have a collection of jazz and classical music and listen often!)

Pros: Great sound, compact size; very simple connections; I appreciate that it can be connected to a "phono" input as well as "Aux" inputs. I use the phono because I have an older McIntosh amplifier and the phono inputs seems to sound better.

Cons: It is "semi-automatic" which means you lower the tone arm manually and at the end of the record the arm lifts and stops the turntable which might seem difficult for an older person. The initial set up might be difficult for many people but the instructions are very clear.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Denon DP-400

Crutchfield customer from Hackensack, NJ on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A really nice turntable. Looks great and was really easy to set up. Solid build, loving the white finish! 2 points are keeping it from getting 5 stars. First point is my fault as I did not fully research the features of this turntable. It was listed as an "Automatic" turntable, which, to me, meant that the tone arm would place itself on the record and then return after shut off. This turntable just has automatic shut off whereby the tone arm lifts up (eventually) and the platter stops. The other point would be the cartridge that comes with the turntable. It is definitely adequate, but an upgrade is definitely needed. Other than that, I am really enjoying this turntable!

Pros: Solid build. Great looks. Ease of set-up

Cons: Not fully automatic Cartridge adequate.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon DP-400

Crutchfield customer from Worcester, MA on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The turntable arrived about two weeks ago so I've not had it long enough for a comprehensive review. However, it does fill the bill for me! I wanted a table with "auto-stop" and all three speeds. Not many higher end tables offer those two features, not to mention convenient speed change by switch instead of having to change belt pulley's. Is it the same quality as say a Rega turntable? I don't think so, but Rega does not offer the features I demanded. I probably will up-grade the cartridge at some point but frankly, the included cartridge sounds better than I expected! All N all, in the short time I've had it, I'm quite happy with it. Slightly overpriced maybe but again has the features I wanted! I would certainly recommend this turntable to anyone looking for the same features.

Pros: Does everything it claims to do & does it well! Lots of convenient features (speed change & auto stop).

Cons: Somewhat over priced by Denon. Should include a better cartridge & perhaps higher quality cables.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon DP-400

Jim from Sarasota, FL on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable. I got my records out after storing them for 20 years. They really sound great. It looks good to. The semi automatic is a touch I needed too.

Pros: Solid built Great sound Semi auto feature

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice!

Mike from Ann Arbor, MI on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Honestly, for the money, this is one nice little TT. I bought this for three reason, #1 Semi-Auto, must have. #2 and #3, I can use my own cables and it has a ground stud. Set this up properly, use a protractor and a stylus scale, plenty of videos on YouTube, the protractors can be printed off the internet or I am sure Crutchfield can hook you up. The stylus scale can be had for around $5. I did not use the included stylus or cartridge, as that is where you are going to hear the difference in sound, spend some money on a good cartridge. I would look to YouTube for one of those, they have some listening sessions where you can get an idea of the sound with individual cartridges. Setup properly, I would recommend an external phono preamp, use some good quality cables and this TT really impresses. I had friends over the other day, and they thought I was playing a CD, and that is not a lie. You can get some incredible sound out of this guy. The only reason this TT did not get 5 stars is that it does not have a dust cover, so, I made my own. If you have a cat, or cats, you will need to figure something out. On a side note, this TT is dead silent in my system. I also own the Denon DP-300, which I could never quite get a feedback loop or hum out of. No such issues with the DP-400, DEAD SILENT.

Pros: Semi-Auto RCA outputs, I can use the cables of my choice. A ground stud, very important, at least to me.

Cons: No dust cover! I built my own. Feet do not level, you need to shim.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 10 found this helpful

Denon DP-400

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced my old Yamaha YP-211. I wanted a semi-automatic table and this foots the bill. My old albums and 45's sound re-vitalized and clear again. Thanks to Ed whom I called when I was having difficulty with my receiver. He was very patient as we methodically eliminated possibilities and finally ended up switching out various RCA connections until the tt operated as it should. Some of the soldered connections on the rear of the receiver had loosened up during a recent move.

Pros: semi-automatic; different looking but still sleek; sound was very pure with pre-installed cartridge.

Cons: Haven't really found anything yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DP-400

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first one so it's been meeting my expectations. It was easy to set up, and comes with a (what feels like) rubber mat and an assortment of plugs for different geographical regions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon DP-400

Crutchfield customer from Piscataway, NJ on 10/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Denon has done it again. I'm enjoying getting back into Vinyl Records and listening to authentic music once again. My only concern is with the stock cartridge that comes with the turntable. I'll be replacing it an upgraded cartridge, but other that I would recommend the DP-400...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

TOP