Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
956 775 04
Connect ID #
956 775 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Denon DRA-800H

Stereo receiver with built-in Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, HDMI, and HEOS

MFR # DRA800HBKE3

Denon DRA-800H

Denon DRA-800H

Stereo receiver with built-in Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2, HDMI, and HEOS

MFR # DRA800HBKE3

80 reviews
View this product

Really a nice system

James from Covington, IN on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

am thrilled with this receiver. I replaced a vintage Pioneer SX-780 that I had for almost 50 years. This receiver allows me to run everything through it, no matter what the source. I input 3 HDMI devices, dish tv modem, Blu-Ray player and an amazon Firestick. The video from all 3, as selected run to my Samsung TV. The audio is all directed to my Klipsch bookshelf speakers. I may not be an Audiophile, but they sound terrific. In addition I listen to a lot of Sirius radio through it, and I listen to Amazon HD music that sounds great. It is really nice to ask for a song and have it playing in HD Stereo immediately. I cant imagine getting more from any system in this same price range.

Pros: unbelievable flexibility

Cons: Keeps me up too late listening to good music :)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far has met or exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best feature so far... starting Airplay from a device automatically turns on the receiver and starts playing. No extra need to fiddle with its remote, choose source, etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit!

Crutchfield customer from Oroville, CA on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We love this unit. It does everything we want and then some. Downloaded the manual and I recommend you do to. It's easy to look up things and is very helpful. We are looking forward to enjoying this unit for a long while.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working great, enjoying the product.

Pros: Easy to setup.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back to Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, MS on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decision to set up 2.0 for one of my systems lead me to this unit. The goal was budget conscious with trusted gear that I had experience with. After research, features and performance this was the one. I have Time Windows (1982) and Time Frame 700's (1986) hooked up. Both pairs are in excellent condition with original socks. This unit does a great job with Blu-ray and CD's. Surfing global internet radio is a blast.

Pros: Easy set up Runs cool HEOS

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love It !!

Crutchfield customer from Wilton, CT on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic receiver. Lots of power and amazingly clear sound with no distortion. A huge improvement on my old receiver. This Denon was very easy to set up and connect to my digital music sources. The HEOS app is easy to use. With digital music access, I am about to throw away all of my old CDs and tapes.

Pros: Easy to set up. Clear instructions. Remote access using the HEOS app on my phone. Support for both wireless and wired speakers.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Granby, CT on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so very pleased with this receiver/amplifier. Exceeded my expectation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Weston , WI on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up. It had all the features that I wanted. But I did not realize that it could only handle four speakers. Not a deal breaker but I could not use one of my existing speakers.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: Can have only four speakers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Say yes to the Denon 800H

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Denon 800H is everything you could want in an easy to use, easy to set-up WIFI receiver. Powerful and user friendly, I highly recommend this product. Couple that with Crutchfield's unmatched tech support and you can't possibly go wrong!

Pros: Ease of use Features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Depew, NY on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am no "geek" to this stuff. But I love music with a quality sound. I called Crutchfieds and got MJ. I described what I wanted. Not knowing if there was such a thing ? I got it ! My Denon does everything I wanted and more ! What a great sound. I'm extremely happy !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelent

Crutchfield customer from Toa Baja, PR on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for an audio equipment that was not very expensive, but had everything essential, to enjoy the music. This Denon Is Excellent. Great Buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Guest from Ocala, FL on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Should be 10 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Meets my 2 channel needs

Crutchfield customer from Farmingdale, NY on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is working to meet my needs as a 2 channel system . I am powering up indoor and outdoor speakers using the A and B speaker switch and zone 2 for a set of basement ceiling speakers. This system had the features I needed and more. The HEOS app is just so so and is very limited. I wish it had more than just basic control via Alexa. Not so simple to get Alexa working but it does work. Overall I am happy with my purchase. The folks at crutchfield are always great if you have issues. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid

Crutchfield customer from King George, VA on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've put about 80 hours on this receiver and it has met my expectations, which were high. Sounds great with two Klipsch 820f speakers. Honestly, it has more features than I will ever use, but it's still a deal at this price just running 2 channel stereo from my phone.

Pros: Easy to use. Plenty of power. Well built.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Norfork, AR on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up with so many different features and performs flawlessly. It's main function is driving my new Klipsch Heresy IV's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good buy.

Crutchfield customer from College Station, TX on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for the Mooney. Love it and Crutchfield service. Thank you folks.

Pros: Value. Service. Delivery time.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Sedona, AZ on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price. Sound quality is great and the wi-fi is seamless. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After all the research and going back and forth with my decision I am truly sure I pick the correct network receiver. Very happy. Crutchfield staff deserve a round of applause for all their help. Wonderful and pleasant staff!!!. Thank You!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Better then I expected

Michael from Toledo, OH on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently decided to upgrade from my Integra DTM5.3 for something newer with HDMI switching and Airplay2. Specs suggest my integra and the denon are almost identical power wise. I have a brand new pair of Klipsch rp5000f's, decided to buy the denon when it came back in stock, it just came a couple days ago and got it hooked up and let it play for a bit before making any critical assessments. From the ease of setup, to the look of the unit and quality of the sound, I'm blown away it only cost this much. I am still a fan of 2 channel audio and proper placement and quality gear can yield awesome results for music bliss. It's a very warm sounding amp in comparison to the integra, better detail, hdmi arc works flawlessly, and airplay2 sounds excellent and works every time as well. I have no complaints of this amp what so ever. I would have paid more for it with how nice it is. Can't recommend enough.

Pros: Price Sound quality Features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Powerful, many features, and affordable!

Crutchfield customer from New Braunfels, TX on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I began the purchase process, my home was wired for indoor and outdoor speakers with bare wire coming out of the wall where the A/V equipment would sit. I knew I wanted to play music and that I wanted to be able to control volume independently in the two areas. I am completely uneducated in A/V equipment and had no clue where to start. Tony at Crutchfield walked me through the process and gave me multiple options. I chose the Denon DRA-800H because of its options and really affordable price. The Denon app allows me to turn on the receiver from anywhere using my phone or iPad and to control the volume in the two zones. I can play music using all kinds of apps, HEOS, Spotify, iTunes, radio stations, etc. I just open the app, then choose the Denon receiver as an option. I have been able to bluetooth facebook concerts from my iphone to the receiver. I have the option, if I want, of connecting a CD player or turntable to the receiver. Zone 2 is connected to a Russound Amp to give the outdoor speakers the volume boost they need. We have listened to more music in the last couple of months than we have in the last several years. It is absolutely wonderful and my husband and I are very, very happy.

Pros: 2 zones, HEOS, bluetooth, easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from South St Paul, MN on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for my garage

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy the operate and works great by pairing with a new TV of the same generation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great for bedroom system

Mark from Yamhill, OR on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this as the heart of a simple master bedroom system. It is paired with Klipsch RP-160m bookshelf speakers, a turntable and a Blu ray player (currently on CD duty), with a 4k TV as a planned upgrade. As a stereo amplifier, it works well, and was very easy to set up even without the onscreen option of a connected TV. I have used the radio tuner, phono, CD (coax digital) and Apple Airplay (via HEOS) inputs so far, and all have worked very well after initial setup. Connecting to wifi is a bit of a pain, since without onscreen display you're limited to a pretty complex set of keystrokes on the remote control (using a custom grid provided in the manual) to type in your wifi passcode. If you have a long passcode, be prepared to take a few minutes to type it in via this complicated method. Other than that, the receiver seems to do a very good job at all the inputs I've tested. The sound is slightly bright through my Klipsch bookshelves, but I attribute that to modest low-end that will be addressed through a subwoofer on order. The amplifier produces more than enough power to easily drive the Klipsch to very high levels in a 20 x20 x10 foot room, so I don't see any need for external amplification in the future. Overall, this is a very good receiver for those who want two-channel (plus subwoofer) sound and the ability to upgrade to 4k TV as well.

Pros: Ample power to drive efficient speakers Easy to set up (except for wifi) Easy to navigate among inputs Good clean sound through all inputs

Cons: Difficult process to enter wifi password without TV interface

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Kevin from EDGEWATER, MD on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this for 3 day's and now the front display doesn't work and the no sound from speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/30/2020
Kevin contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 8 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crutchfield specialist recommending I spend a few more dollars to get what I really needed, and he was 100% correct. This is a great unit and I am very happy with the performance and ease of use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Lakeville, MN on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. Easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Love It

Crutchfield customer from Town Creek, AL on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound. Easy hook up.

Pros: Love the sound quality.

Cons: Must crank volume pretty high.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Solid Performer

Tony from Guam, USA on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this AVR to replace an Onkyo multi-channel AVR. It loss the right-channel sound after only 14 months. I could have sent it in for warranty. Did not because I wanted something more basic. This Denon AVR is very powerful, and has excellent imaging. I dont' miss having a center channel. Its awesome. I am running Warfedale diamond 220s which really like the power this AVR gives. Also my two sub-woofers really add excellent balance for music and movies. I am very glad I chose this unit! Well worth the price, it is an excellent value!

Pros: Excellent power!

Cons: Must pay close attention to manual to learn certain functions... (OPTION button ((on remote)) for VIDEO select mode)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Glendora, CA on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs as advertised. VERY SATISFIED

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Good amp

Crutchfield customer from Pico Rivera, CA on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only major issue is that the bluetooth is limited. Don't expect to connect your phone and try to use your system to watch netflix or youtube. The app that allows you to play your music, Heos , crashes at times as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from Glencoe, IL on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for my Dyne Audio 52 SE. Wonderful separation and sound stage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Missouri City, TX on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound quality and functionality.

Pros: Good functionality, On screen menu

Cons: It could use more RCA inputs and a switched power outlet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from N Ferrisburgh, VT on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy the sound of this receiver and have it connected to my TV and now am experimenting with HEOS and TUNEIN radio. I suggest looking at some YouTube videos on this receiver to understand more of the features and how they work. I didnt care about surround sound for the 11x20ish room I am using. This is an upgrde for me from 20th century equipment, Next up new bookshelf speakers.

Pros: Clean sound, lots of HDMI connections,HEOS and Bluetooth

Cons: Denon provides a sparse manual with enough info to set up but it could be more informative. Be careful of the antennas when setting up or adding components

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Paw Paw, IL on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It rocks my garage with 4 Bose 301 speakers

Pros: Good price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up easily to my network and works well with Alexa. It does what it was intended. Crutchfield staff helped me pick this component over email and phone and I am happy with the choice.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: HEOS app would get 3 stars and not 5. Its manageable but does not have nearly the functionality of the Sonos app.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Old school meets new tech

Crutchfield customer from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this receiver a week. I'm finally comfortable with it's operation. I needed a stereo receiver for music only, so the AV ones were not for me. I have a setup for surround sound already. I needed a receiver with a decent DAC , Bluetooth , WiFi , RJ45 and sufficient power at a reasonable price. Not many choices, but since this receiver has a second zone output, so I can use an external power amplifier I own to provide the extra power I desire. I have a Smart TV in the same room with my stereo setup so I have a great visual interface for this receiver. Through Bluetooth and WiFi I can stream and control music from Tidal, Spotify or another service using my phone (with installed app). The online manual is a life saver if you get stuck.

Pros: As stated above

Cons: Addition output power ( say 140w per ch) to drive vintage as well as newer high efficiency speakers. Sorry I'm old school.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great stereo sound!

Crutchfield customer from South Pittsburg, TN on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with my B and O turntable. Bluetooth works seamlessly. Has many more features that have not tried yet. Am well pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I hoped for

Spencer from Chicago, IL on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amp because other amps were out of stock, but after using this amp I am thoroughly impressed and completely satisfied with performance and sound clarity. this amp delivers. my main takeaway is that I can hear clarity in music and movies that I have simply never heard before.

Pros: - Sound clarity is much more pronounced than my previous amp, I can hear the separation of vocals and notes that I have never heard before. - Simple, easy to use interface

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great two way receiver with many modern features!

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was this close returning this product , however giving it a chance, checking online product, contacting Crutchfield tech support etc . I finally was able to figure it out what I want it to do.That is to switch from video to music. that way I can enjoys listening to music while my deaf wife can watch closed caption/subtitles on tv simultaneous. Pay attention to the option button and click on " video select" on the remote control. That is one thing that I got stuck on. Denon DRA 800H usb port does not support is the IPod classic, so minus one star for that! For the IPod classic I had to use the headphone jack to plug into the back of RCA CD jack. The features that I like about is that I am able to plug in most of HDMI cables. (Blue Ray, Media Player, TV, CD player, etc). Paired that with Elac Debut B6, what a great combination!

Pros: HDMI cables , able to switch from video to music using options on the remote.

Cons: USB port does not support Ipod Classic.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great wireless streaming

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade for our main floor audio. We stream music from six different iPxx devices pretty well. Using receiver to drive higher end Klipsch book shelf speakers. Likely to add Heos unit later. Denon AVR remote app is ok, but the hardware itself is pretty impressive for the price. System has much more stable connectivity on the 2.4 Ghz band of network (@ ~ 50 Mbps), as expected. Worth some experimentation to get everything running well.

Pros: Performance, price, simplicity, aesthetics

Cons: A bit finicky on our network, even with above average data plan

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Neil from ATLANTA, GA on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really happy with this unit. Wanted to upgrade from a 5.1 "home theater in a box" to a higher-quality 2.1 system with a smaller footprint. This unit is perfect. It's a great balance of features for music listening and movies/TV. The menus and user interface are a little dated looking, but easy to follow and navigate. The only drawback of this unit for me is that there are only HDMI inputs - there are no analog or component video inputs. It has all the features you need for a simple, high quality 2.1 setup without unnecessary menus and buttons getting in the way.

Pros: Easy to use and set up

Cons: Only has HDMI inputs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied for what was needed

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to replace my 25 year old Technics receiver, so I decided to go with this model. My needs are simple: to be able to use bluetooth with my phone. I was extremely impressed that I was also able to stream a video with my phone, while using Pandora with my bluetooth. My old KLH speaker sounds great coming from this receiver. I am able to connect my old Technics dual tape player, and loved that I can attach a record player should I get one. Extremely satisfied with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, NJ on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and easy set up with the assistance of a Crutchfield associate.

Pros: Great sound, easy to use app.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Park Forest, IL on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1st time becoming familiar with a Denon receiver. Connecting components not a problem. Love the sound this receiver have. Overall I feel satisfied money well worth spent with the features Denon DRA-800H offer. Contact Crutchfield several times asking questions prior to making my selection. The Crutchfield Team was very helpful making this purchase.

Pros: Old school stereo sound.

Cons: No back light on the remote.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been looking to replace my old Stereo Reciever for months now. Combing through reviews and specs. Finally I happened across the Denon DRA-800H and decided this was the one. I mainly use my receiver for music and man does it make my 2 Boston bookshelf speakers sound amazing. I plan to upgrade them to floor speakers soon but there is a noticeable increase in audio quality from my previous receiver. Streaming from your phone is a breeze and sets up in only a few steps. The selling point for me was the addition of the HDMI ports on the back. I play TV and Playstation audio through it and it's much better quality than the built-in TV speakers. One thing to note is the receiver is very picky on HDMI chords. I had to upgrade to HDMI 2.1 cables to utilize the ports. Otherwise, you will need to run ARC out from your TV to get the HDMI to work. This took me a full night of researching so I hopefully this saves you some time during your setup. Overall I am extremely happy with this product and will likely pick up a Denon bridge for my upstairs rooms as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Berkley, MI on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This new Denon receiver puts out max power! I have yet to turn it up all the way!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice recommendation and fast delivery. Not an electronics genius but set up easily and sounds great. Really enjoying the quick bluetooth connect to play iPhone music etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a small living room and the DRA-800H is exactly what I need to power my Vandersteen 2ce speakers. I was also impressed by their biodegradable packing peanuts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Ennis, MT on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had great hopes for this one, but fell way short. WiFi will not stay connected and it's in the same room. Will not play tidal from a app. Will not run Bluetooth. Apple products?? Forget about it. Heos is not well thought out. Now the sound quality is good and it's not lacking power to drive my Vandersteen speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 19 found this helpful

Great receiver/Great Customer Service

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. This does everything I had hoped. Crutchfield Customer Service is outstanding as well. Their rep answered my questions quickly and showed good knowledge of the product. I am very happy and will be back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Modern Update for 2.1 Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, WA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using an older AV receiver in a 2.1 format in my garage/shop for a number of years. Like many, I've burned my CD collection to FLAC files and stored them on a NAS; however, accessing them out in my garage required a SPDIF connection to an external PC. For a number of years, I thought it would be great if I could find a decent stereo receiver that also featured solid network streaming capabilities. Enter the DRA-800h. I have found this to be a great sounding receiver with the added benefit of being able to stream my audio files directly from my NAS. It handles FLAC up to 24bit/192KHz and DSD to 5.6MHz. Though it has wireless capability I'm using a wired network connection. It has all the HDMI inputs/outputs and coaxial and optical SPDIF that the previous receiver had but also allows streaming from a number of online services via HEOS using an app on your phone. Though I'm not a big user, it also supports the ability to play music from my Apple phone via AirPlay. This receiver combines HiRes music playback with all the flexibility of a full-blown home theater receiver, just in a two-dot-one 100w p/channel stereo format (with subwoofer output). Dream come true.

Pros: AVR flexibility in a 2.1 format; excellent audio performance; lots of power; high quality on-board DACs; familiar Denon on-screen setup. Great feature set at this price.

Cons: I have non --

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great amp!

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to help me through the coronavirus quarantine...would have been climbing the walls of my home office without some tunes. Great Denon sound quality and easy setup. Sounds great with KEF Q150 speakers. I have not tried all of the features yet - just Airplay2, Bluetooth from a SiriusXM receiver, and some streaming from internet radio stations. Very satisfied so far!

Pros: Easy setup, great sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to hook up and works great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great features and performance for a very affordable price

Crutchfield customer from Stanwood, WA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am coming from a 20 year run with surround sound systems. My buddy that has way too much money has an excellent stereo hi-fi system. Every time I go to his place to watch a movie, play video games etc, it sounds like he has a surround sound system, but its a 2 channel with 2 subs.Plus when we listen to music it sounds so much better on a true 2 channel hi-fi system. Now I don't have his kind of budget but I decided to ditch the complexity of multichannel surround & get back to basics with an affordable but great sounding hi-fi. I looked long and hard for an all in one integrated Stereo amplifier/streamer/media/video system. Boy am I glad I chose this one. HEOS is awesome with Tidal, SiriusXM & my music on my hard drive. The clean sound from this system is really crisp and has an excellent mid spread with a great low end punch, even when I turn the subs off. I paired it with Emotive Airmotive T-Zero tower speakers & two Polk Audio PSW-108 subs and some good quality cabling. Even my aforementioned buddy thinks it sounds top notch. For my video I have my trusty Nvidia Shield and a Blu Ray player running through this amps HDMI ports. 2 years ago I cut the cord & went with the Shield, never looked back, My next purchase will be a new TV, as you can see by the pic, my current 50" 4K is way to small!! And Yes, with some patience & time with speaker placement, I now have what sounds like a 5 channel surround system with movies and video games, It can be done! Crank the music!

Pros: Features and performance for the price. Easy set up. Excellent looks and design, Dual Sub outs. HEOS

Cons: No backlight in remote

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 14 found this helpful

193

Ken from Massapequa Park, NY on 4/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stereo receiver. I use it with a Spender 8s tower speakers and a marantz cd player. Even though the Spendors have a sensitivity rating of 87, The Denon has plenty of power to drive them to decent levels.

Pros: Excellent sound quality. Easy to set up.

Cons: Might not be enough power to drive low sensitivity speakers to extreme loudness.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, very versatile, easy to setup when attached to a TV. The HDMI ARC interface works great. The only real disappointment is that the HEOS app for iPhone is not very user friendly and kind of buggy. It's serviceable but frustrating until you learn to avoid the bugs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Loa, UT on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently purchased this product from Crutchfield. I bought it to replace a Yamaha N-803. The Yammy sounded good and was a quality product, but it would not stay connected via wireless or LAN. This Denon, so far has been awesome. I also have a Denon 6500 AVR downstairs. So, I am able to control both receivers with the Denon AP and HEOS. Very slick. HEOS is head and shoulders above the Yamaha Musiccast software - which never worked! HEOS has been far more stable and reliable. This Denon sounds just as good as the Yamaha. It sounds very good. The only down side (very subjective), the Denon does not have [resident] support for the main music streaming services like my Onkyo or my Yamaha. You have to use HEOS. But so far that has not been a problem at all. Overall, my experience is - I should have gone with my "gut" the first time around and got the Denon. Very nice product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Heathsville, VA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wonderful unit, very happy with the Denon quality at a mid point price. This Denon has all the needed features for a living room, small home or dorm. Power is more than adequate and easy to change inputs let you enjoy multiple devices. Wireless setup was 3 steps start to listening. We replaced a well used Denon AVR 2808 with this unit and I think it is easier to use than the 2808 was.

Pros: Easy Setup, Good Power, Denon quality and reliability, latest features, Sounds great and plays very well with TV, streaming and headphones

Cons: none that I have discovered

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Dra 800h

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not use any other features yet just the radio but so far it is good

Pros: N/A

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing 2 channel receiver

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte Hall, MD on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An amazing 2 channel receiver for those that enjoy stereo sound. Bi-amp capabilities to get all of that pure Denon power to your speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, OH on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product....easy to set up, great sounds come from it...resonable priced

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from S Lake Tahoe, CA on 2/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect tuner for a simple four speaker and sub-woofer set-up! Plenty of options for all my music. Ipod, bluetooth, streaming and turn table!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne, FL on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding receiver with lots of choices for inputs. My FM reception is limited so the internet radio options really help out. Plenty of power for 2 sets of speakers. I am still learning all of its features.

Pros: Plenty of power for two sets of speakers.

Cons: It takes some experimentation to figure out all the options.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Preforms perfectly with my other equipment. Just what my set up needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Would buy again

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Denon DRA 800H first for to provide great sound quality to my music experience. It has delivered better then I expected. I had a par of old Polk speakers and they sound like a brand new per of speakers. Secondly I use it to wash movies and for a 2 channel setup it does the job well. When I view movies I turn on the sub-woofer.

Pros: Great sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loaded with features but lacks USB support for Apple iPods. Instructions, including online manual, are very basic, spent way too much time with Tech Support trying to do simple tasks, Crutchfield support was excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 13 found this helpful

This Reciever will do the job, And do it well

Jack from SHERIDAN, WY on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not being able to lacate a reasonably priced 2 channel power amp to push my Polk Audio RTi - a7 speakers I recently settled on and purchased the DENON DRA-800H reciever to power them. I soon came to realize that this unit has more than enough power for my needs. I especialy like that it has a zone two pre out which will come in handy some day when I decide to expand my current system.. The only problem I ran into was getting the bluetooth to pair up to with my Laptop. But I called Tech support, The technician ran me thru a few simple procedures on my laptop and I am now good to go... Thank You Crutcfield.. I look forward to doing more bussiness with them in the near future

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Nice, powerful receiver for the money!

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Sta, NY on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good! Only have had this receiver hooked up for about a week so I really haven't put it through it's paces yet. It works seamlessly with iTunes on my PC which is something I can't say for my fairly new $500 plus Onkyo RX receiver which didn't support air play 2! Set up of the Denon was easy, sound is very nice and I believe it is a little easier to use than my Onkyo was.

Pros: Easy hookup, power, 2 channel stereo, yet still has HDMI hookup for TV

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

works well with my prior equipment

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm enjoying great sound and simple operation. replaced my old Marantz when it became too cumbersome to operate .

Pros: great change of function on the hand held device. drives my Lansing Altec speakers well

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sound great

Crutchfield customer from Laguna Niguel CA on 12/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great 2 channel stereo amps lots of power, sound great thanks to Adam Crutchfield advisor for the advise!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from White River Junction, VT on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lovely receiver. I have two excellent wired speakers in my living room and this receiver is bringing out the best in them. I have a decent ear from years of listening and also playing acoustic and electric music. I feel no need for anything better then this. My family has slowly become all in with apple devices. We use this system with the new apple airplay 2 which is a big improvement over the original air play. We tend to play pandora through our iphones, and the IPod app too. Also our local Vermont public radio station app. It all sounds superb. I may replace the cheap wired speakers I have in the kitchen with a good airplay 2 ready wireless speaker, and one in the dining room. With that we will be able to choose one or some or all the speakers right from the app on our iphones. And our guests can do the same. Not so sure about HEOS. I see no need for it with apple airplay 2 working so well. But, its there if needed in the future. Crutchfield has been excellent. Very helpful folks.

Pros: Very smooth quiet sound.

Cons: None that I can tell.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Gary J from Las Vegas, NV on 11/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm really happy with this receiver. I mainly wanted a stereo for music, but in addition to music, I needed good sound for my 65" Roku TV. It has good clean power for my Elacs. Especially the bass is tight and musical. I thought I would use the S/PDIF inputs, but since I have a TV with an HDMI eARC connector and the only other digital inputs are HDMI from the DVD player and the Dish satellite box, I did not need them. I like that the receiver turns on and off with the TV (but can be powered independently also). I built a Plex media server on an old PC and digitized all my CDs with Apple Lossless Codec so it was important to me that the receiver could play ALAC (.m4a) from a networked media server. The Phono stage is clear and clean and I'm rediscovering how great vinyl records sound through headphones. I'm hearing things I never noticed before. I like that there is a HEOS App and Denon AVR Remote App so I can play music and tweak settings from my phone if desired. I would have liked a microphone to set the speaker balance and distances, but I have ears and a tape measure that sufficed. The receiver lets you preset the volume on power on - this prevents surprises after last night's party! I have everything I wanted - Plex and Youtube on Roku along with the movie channels on Roku and Dish. You can save and restore settings to a USB stick. There may be many more things left unexplored, but since I have what I was after, I don't have to bother.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Hum Baby!

Crutchfield customer from Olmsted Falls, OH on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good power capabilities for my Elac speakers. Many great streaming features. Excellent sound quality. Good bang for the buck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for two speakers. The HEOS connection is great. Would be nice if the Bluetooth had an output for wireless headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Perfect for 2 channel home theater!

Joel from Phoenix, AZ on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got frustrated with my Marantz Atmos receiver's recurring problems and it's failings in the realm of 2 channel music. Decided to "downgrade" to a 2.1 channel HT system with a new set of excellent bookshelf speakers and my existing sub. This is the receiver you want! Integrated amps do not offer video switching, and this Denon does everything you want it to, short of multichannel surround sound. The GUI is extremely similar to my previous Marantz unit, and it even offers Zone 2 output. I am not missing anything with this system. (I also happened to choose wisely with the bookshelf speakers, which definitely helps.) Sound fills the room and functionality was not lost one bit with the change. Hard to go wrong!

Pros: Feature set, build quality, HDMI switching with 4K video, completely fair cost

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the reciever, but have to admit trying to set up all the digital inputs is a royal pain. I would think it better to connect a laptop so you can type in what you need.

Pros: Lots of features and good sound quality.

Cons: Setting up digital inputs.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 18 found this helpful

Plenty of power and a few old school stereo features.

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this receiver for a couple of weeks now and I am still learning how to use it. It sounds great. So far my only negative comment would be my dissappointment at discovering the Balance control doe not work for internet radio. I wish it had an adjustable Loudness control and pre-amp out/power amp in connections for an external equalizer, but I new these features were missing when I purchased the unit.

Pros: Power and Sound. User Interface. Useful Features.

Cons: No Loudness Control. No Equalizer interface. Specification Details are Lacking.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 21 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Linden, VA on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being non-stereo equipment minded, the instructions for use are a bit confusing for me. I can now do the things I wanted to do, but instructions sometimes excluded the need to press a certain button after or during the radio settings. I also would have preferred to be able to change stations with buttons on the receiver itself. (I can only the remote for that). Otherwise, it appears to be well made. (My old receiver lasted 35 years, which I doubt any modern/ low priced unit can do today).

Pros: Factory three-year warranty

Cons: Some challenging hook-up directions

Crutchfield response on

8 of 15 found this helpful

Denon DRA-800H

Crutchfield customer from Aiea, HI on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver/amp. Just what I needed to connect bluetooth, USB and network devices. Yet to try phono.

Pros: Power is clean throughout my listening range.

Cons: User manual not detailed enough, and hardcopy should be included instead of downloading or reading on-line.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

TOP