Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
387 140 75
Connect ID #
387 140 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JVC KD-R490

CD receiver

MFR # KD-R490

JVC KD-R490

JVC KD-R490

CD receiver

MFR # KD-R490

144 reviews
View this product

JVC KD-R490

James from Hoschton, GA on 5/29/2022

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install ,clear directions for use,and a definite upgrade over my stock unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Mike from Lakeside, MI on 5/25/2022

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The KD-R490 manual was not particularly user friendly for me. Apparently you must toggle between the time display and the station display as I could not find a setting to see both at the same time. Some may like the flashing displays when changes are made but for me, simple is better. By simple I mean, show the time and the station and the same time, have a knob for tuning and another for volume, Etc. The unit has more features than I will ever use. If I had not already installed the unit it would be returned. I will add there was practically no wait time when I contacted an Crutchfield employee for assistance and each one was always pleasant and knowledgeable.

Pros:

Cons: Not user friendly for me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Paul from Ashville, AL on 5/25/2022

2003 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good basic head unit with a CD player. Easy to learn without the manual and I love the large volume knob. If you don't care about, need, or want to pay for advanced features then this is a solid choice. Perfect replacement for an 20 year old Toyota truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Kevin from Apollo, PA on 5/12/2022

2003 Dodge Neon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice radio but difficult to work at first

Pros: Good sound and easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Gary from Durham, NC on 5/5/2022

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product for price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

William from Caldwell, ID on 5/4/2022

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent radio for jvc

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fragile

Joshua from FERNDALE, MI on 5/3/2022

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lost the USB function after 3 weeks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/4/2022
Joshua contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Michael from Roanoke, VA on 4/19/2022

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit my 2003 f150 perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Carrie from Wilmington, DE on 4/8/2022

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is great. Love the features. Very bad radio reception. Not sure why. Both JVC units I purchased have horrible fm reception.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works!!!

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 12/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit; controls very small making some adjustments difficult

Pros: Good sound quality; excellent radio reception; attractive appearance

Cons: Very small and complex controls; can not make changes to unit without stopping car

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Shelley, ID on 11/15/2021

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice unit for my jeep

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All I need.

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 6/20/2021

1997 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit fits my need just right. I don't use Bluetooth or stream all that bs. I use radio, and if I'm in a place where I don't get good reception I throw in a CD. NUFF SAID !!!!

Pros: Plenty of power, easy to adjust, just right.

Cons: Release button for faceplate could be bigger. Control knob could be a bit smaller in diameter, kind of gets in the way of your first pre-set button. Can't think of much else. Satisfied Customer !!!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Performance and value

Crutchfield customer from Garden Grove, CA on 5/19/2021

2006 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides solid sound and power. Multiple inputs including an AUX port as well as a CD player that can play MP3 discs. Installation was easy with the included mounting enclosure and matching wiring harness. A good value for the performance and features provided with JVC reputation for quality.

Pros: Multiple inputs, strong output, equalizer pre-sets and user settings

Cons: Small buttons take getting used to

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Jvc KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Warrenton, GA on 5/10/2021

2007 Saturn Sky

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver.... easy to use buttons .... love this radio......

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Glowing red brick.

Crutchfield customer from SOUTH DARTMOUTH, MA on 5/2/2021

1994 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Android capabilities dont even work. And the App makes it worse. My phone glitches out constantly crashing and reloading the JVC App and the radio always displays cannot read. It's not a cheapy android phone either. Dont even bother with the Aux. I dont know if mine is a defect but the aux produces a lot of static, and low volume output. The tuner and CD player however are pretty much the only 2 things this can do, but thats not why I bought this. My money down the drain. How this radio is a top seller is beyond me.

Pros: Tuner, CD Player, Good sound.

Cons: USB is useless and the Aux is garbage. Font on the buttons are very basic, giving it a very cheap look.

Crutchfield response on 5/12/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Golconda, IL on 4/29/2021

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and works great! Crutchfield's vehicle specific wiring harness and instructions were invaluable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GoodRadio

Crutchfield customer from Medina, OH on 4/28/2021

1997 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great radio! Now I can play digital music too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Vinemont, AL on 4/26/2021

2010 Nissan Frontier SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new stereo in my truck! Works great. Crutchfield gave me all the items for a perfect install.

Pros: Included dash kit was GREAT

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 4/25/2021

1993 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes me feel like I'm always ready to put down my windows and turn it up

Pros: it's a great investment

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 4/25/2021

2001 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good simple unit does

Pros:

Cons: No Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 4/24/2021

1999 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice. No complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Drexel Hill, PA on 4/23/2021

1996 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product would used again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 4/18/2021

2007 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good price, easy installation .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Less is more as the old saying goes...

Jeffrey from Maryland on 4/14/2021

1995 Acura Integra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this on my 1995 Acura Integra LS. Quite a simple plug and play product and it comes with a remote as well. I purchased this product on this website with the wiring harness adapter and it worked perfectly. The quality is quite good and you will hear that depending on the brands of speakers you use. You're stereo is only as good as the speakers you pair it up with and vice versa. I have mines mixed and matched with JBL rear speakers (sound superb) and Rockford front speakers (sound decent). So the rear definitely sounds better than my front speakers but didn't want to purchase another set of front speakers so I settled. The radio sounds better than my stock stereo quality. The switch between modes is seamless being am, fm & aux by the single push of the power button and a decided USB button if you plan to use USB drive. You can also set radio stations by selecting one of the numbers between 1-6. So if you're in the market simple simple of plug and play without downloading an app. This product works solid for those purposes and it has a CD player if you like popping in those retro classics. Also if you don't need Bluetooth then this is for you!

Pros: -CD Player -AUX -USB -No Apps Required to Play Audio -Nice Design -Great Sound Quality -Great Value

Cons: -None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Walnut Cove, NC on 4/10/2021

1986 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. The best I can say . Thank you Ch

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 4/4/2021

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tooo many small buttons and Too difficult to operate. Can't find how to adjust balance or fader. Need to speak to a tech. Wish the display shows time and station...... Too hard to change back and forth.

Pros: Good price

Cons: NOT OLD SCHOOL AT ALL

Crutchfield response on 4/20/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 4/3/2021

2006 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and great overall, but I wish it had Bluetooth. I must have read the description wrong but still a great purchase.

Pros:

Cons: No bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Garland, TX on 3/18/2021

2011 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new radio. A serious upgrade from the original. The instructions and recommended add ons from Crutchfield made it simple to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Armona, CA on 3/1/2021

1996 Ford Taurus GL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio at a good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Less than $100? Not bad!

Crutchfield customer from Staunton, VA on 2/17/2021

2000 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2000 Toyota Tundra with stock speakers. Sounds good even with 20 year old speakers, mud tires and loud exhaust! Very adjustable and relatively easy to use. Buttons are pretty small, so it's easy to select a setting accidentally. Didn't want to put a lot of money into sound for a 20 year old beat up truck, but I'm really impressed.

Pros: Decent sound quality. Easy to navigate and fine tune. Great price.

Cons: Small buttons. No color options.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Gulf Breeze, FL on 2/17/2021

2009 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty simple an easy to use head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Pueblo, CO on 2/4/2021

2010 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Love my stereo! I love how easy it was to order exactly what I needed and wanted for my car!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MS on 1/31/2021

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as it should

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Check the outlet before buying.

Crutchfield customer from Statesville, NC on 1/16/2021

2002 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got on the outlet. Used buffing compound to remove scratches on display. Looks line new now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

buy with confidence

Crutchfield customer from Elba, NE on 1/11/2021

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the price is great, the product is good.

Pros: great sound with good features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pleased with my outlet purchase.

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls, TX on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very pleased with my purchase. It had all the proper and original hardware included. I would definitely buy it again, and I would purchase from the outlet store again.

Pros: I got the Receiver I wanted, at a discounted price.

Cons: I cannot think of any cons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Falls Church, VA on 1/9/2021

2001 Saturn LW300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought my wife this to replace her factory radio. She loves it. I was done with the install in about 20 min. it was the easiest install I have ever done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Racine, OH on 1/8/2021

1999 Oldsmobile Eighty Eight

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent deck for the money. Hard to find a good CD deck these days. Quick shipping. Would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Clarence, NY on 1/5/2021

2001 Chevrolet Tracker

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is a great replacement for my old jvc cassette unit and if I still want to play my cassettes it has the auxiliary adapter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Crossett, AR on 12/26/2020

1999 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great easy to install. Crutchfield made it so easy. Great pr for the money. I bought wiring harness which was great made things easy

Pros: Easy and fast

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

New Sterio

Crutchfield customer from Raytown, MO on 12/25/2020

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound and functionality for the price.

Pros: N/A

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Juneau, AK on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always JVC Provides great sound and paired with my new Kenwood speakers fills the Baja with awesome sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Zelienople, PA on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and a perfect fit. Big shout to Teri. Thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, NY on 12/10/2020

2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, very happy with it,has more features than I'll probably ever use,easy installation with the kit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Affordable upgrade better than factory

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, VA on 12/6/2020

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service, fast delivery,and installation less than 30 min ! I recommend Crutchfield and their products, going to install new speakers next.

Pros: Also purchased quick connect wiring harness, made it simple to install !

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 12/1/2020

2012 Nissan Rogue S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo, lots of features, useless to me. I bought this as a gift, not knowing much about stereos and after installation found out that it's a ANDROID ONLY. I figured you could only control an Android off it, but no, it won't even let you play music from your iPhone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/8/2020
We're sorry this receiver didn't work out for you. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

DebbieD

Crutchfield customer from Ocean Isl Bch, NC on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, put it in a 2005 F150. Was done in less than 1/2 hour. Very good sound!

Pros: Great sound, even using the old speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 11/19/2020

2001 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I need

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Howell, MI on 10/5/2020

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy installation

Pros: Ease of operation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Salters, SC on 10/4/2020

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the way is easy to maneuver around. Great sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NY on 10/4/2020

1995 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for reasonable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Odessa, FL on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit performs fantastic and is a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Vandalia, OH on 9/29/2020

2004 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A really nice stereo. Really brought out the highs of the tweeters and the lows from the 6x9's in the rear.

Pros: Cd USB Dimmer Clock Eq

Cons: Cd gets extremely hot.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Conway, SC on 9/27/2020

2004 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I wish it would read my USB

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, GA on 9/26/2020

2003 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its good, but not able to read my USBs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Michael from WAHPETON, ND on 9/24/2020

2011 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace the factory Harmon/Kardon receiver in my 2011 HD CVO Street Glide. Best $ I've ever spent. Dramatically improved sound clarity at high volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, MI on 9/11/2020

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice radio, good sources options, nice appearance, fairly easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from New Straitsvl, OH on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio, fix was perfect sound is excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 8/30/2020

2002 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it's not what I expected. I cannot get it to display the time while the radio is on. Also, I had forgotten how much I dislike the jvc software for programming stations. This was a mistake I expect to correct in the near future

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/1/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Millsboro, DE on 5/26/2020

1984 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

REPLACED AN OLD CIRCA 1984 MONTEREY SQR23 RADIO WHOSE PUSH BUTTONS (LOTS OF THEM) DRY ROTTED ON CONTACT POINTS. GREAT SOUND EVEN WITH ORIGINAL SPEAKERS !!! EASY INSTALL. ONLY THING I WOULD CHANGE IS THE BUTTON SIZE TO LARGER SIZE.

Pros: NICE LOOKS, NOT GAUDY, FITS INTO GERMAN PORSCHE INTERIOR VERY WELL

Cons: BUTTONS A LITTLE SMALL

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, TN on 5/12/2020

1997 GMC Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to use

Pros: Easy to use, install was a breeze

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Youngwood, PA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is just what I was looking for, a perfect replacement for the factory one in my 93 town car. Didn't need anything crazy, just wanted tunes and the price was right. Also I had a few questions and the tech help was great. If your looking for a quality sound unit in any price range this is your stop.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from El Dorado, CA on 4/13/2020

1986 Nissan 300ZX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A huge improvement over the original

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, IN on 3/24/2020

1996 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Florence, AZ on 2/4/2020

2001 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Nice display. Very happy with my new stereo.

Pros: Easy to use Nice display

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 1/12/2020

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, great sound through my stock speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

100% improvement over the Toyota factory unit

Larry from Pocomoke City, MD on 1/2/2020

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and performance for the price. Installation was easy for the most part with a little more effort installing the factory amplifier bypass wiring harness. The installation instructions left it up to the installer to determine how to install, but its easy to figure out if you have installed previous systems. Wish I had gone for the speaker deal with this unit when I bought it for Christmas!!!! Also excellent support from the customer service representative when I was researching a replacement stereo for my 2005 Toyota Tundra.

Pros: Excellent sound and performance for the price. Installation was easy for the most part.

Cons: Amplifier bypass harness requires removal of bottom door jam plates and glove box to install correctly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Maxwell, IA on 12/25/2019

2001 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield is the only place I buy my radio stuff. Great people that know there stuff. Kids love the new radio so we can listen to their iPods!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Coin, IA on 12/12/2019

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the radio but am still trying to figure out some of the stuff that it has.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Wallingford, CT on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this radio, it is simple to install, specially since the owner's manual is perfectly explains it.

Pros: The hook up wiring is perfect to install the system to the oem wiring

Cons: The plastic bracket is clumsy, and was broken when was delivered.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice features but small writing & USB port problem

Philip from Camarillo, CA on 10/17/2019

2010 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the features and nice sound of this receiver and the Crutchfield Customer Support was great to work with but the one I got had a non-functioning USB port. The writing on the unit was also kind of small and the user interface was not as intuitive as I would have liked so I paid a little more and got a Double DIN JVC KW-R930BTS unit which I really like a lot. If you have a Double DIN spot in your dashboard, I highly recommend the JVC's KW-R930BTS CD receiver.

Pros: Sound Quality Features Appearance Crutchfield support

Cons: Small writing on unit Not intuitive to use Mine had a non-functioning USB port

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

good little radio !

Crutchfield customer from N Cambria, PA on 10/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it's supposed to do ! I needed a replacement radio for an older truck,nothing fancy just had to play CD's basically . I am still learning some things about it but all in all pretty simple . A pretty fair radio at a more than fair especially when you get the mounts anwire adapter and other items free ! Works great ! Really simple install to !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Grafton, OH on 10/2/2019

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall satisfaction is good. The AM/FM works well and it has a nice sound with the factory speakers (2003 Ford F-150 Regular cab). The same goes with the CD player and the thumb drive USB port. However, when I use my iPod Nano (aux port), I have to crank the volume to almost max. If you don't remember to turn the volume back down and then select one of the other listening options, the volume will blow you out of the cab or possibly your speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good Sound, mediocre functionality

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 9/22/2019

1994 Buick Century

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound cooking from this unit is surprisingly good. My major beef is with the text display scrolling. Even with text display scroll set to off, or 1 time, or any setting, changing to a station defaults to showing the text and it never goes away. I just want it to show the frequency. Instead I have to press a button 4 times everytime I change the station.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Couldn't be happier

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, ME on 8/27/2019

1997 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great simple little radio. The only issue was the clock but RJ got with someone at JVC to sort it. You can hit the button on the bottom right to flip through a couple of screen options (clock, radio id, radio frequency etc).

Pros: Price and simplicity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Bottineau, ND on 8/5/2019

1998 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 98 Dodge Ram. Super easy install using included adapters and I opted for the prewired harness.

Pros: Excellent stereo for OEM replacement

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Green Bay, WI on 7/14/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product,great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 6/18/2019

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price, good sound quality, intuitive controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy install, clear sound

Crutchfield customer from Carrboro, NC on 6/11/2019

1992 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy secure install w/ clean cover plates. Nice, un-distorted even at high volume, sound. Remote works well from back seat. Bought a scratch-and-ding because went into an old small car, but I can't see the flaw. Drives four 5-1/4" speakers to full volume at half its full output so no need for amp and I don't need a sub-woofer.

Pros: Very low distortion, probably from speakers not unit.

Cons: Weak bass, but I'm fine with that.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 5/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good sound

Pros: very easy to utilize all features

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Lenexa, KS on 5/27/2019

2000 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love and very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 4/22/2019

1998 Volkswagen Jetta III

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio. The wiring harness took alot of adapting to match with the original harness and the instructions weren't clear. Excellent customer service helped alot

Pros: Great sound,

Cons: Small buttons

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works great!

Crutchfield customer from Appomattox, VA on 4/15/2019

2002 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great but a little difficult to understand how to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Terry from Palm Springs on 3/26/2019

2001 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have been using for two years now, easy enough to install. The sound is great. My wife uses the radio in two cities and complains that it's too hard to change stations as there is no band switch as in other units. She likes to have a band for each city. Also the display is hard to read in the desert sun, but that is true with all radios.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Will purchase products from Crutchfield again!!!!

George from Riverview, FL on 3/7/2019

2007 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product!!! Easy to install with the wiring harness, and when I had a question, Crutchfield's tech support was able to answer my question immediately. Radio sounds great (and loud!). Very happy with my purchase. Thanks Crutchfield for the fast shipping (ordered at 3 pm, shipped at 6 pm) and for the excellent customer service. Will definitely purchase from Crutchfield again.

Pros: Sound, ease of install, customer service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Cadillac, MI on 2/10/2019

2004 Mitsubishi Galant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product easy to install very good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490 Review

Crutchfield customer from Marble, NC on 2/6/2019

2008 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install using installation kit. Make sure you remember to reinstall temperature sensor wires or you will not have remote temperature reading on front console.

Pros: Installation kit & directions

Cons: Instructions for temperature sensor hookup.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 1/15/2019

2004 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, great price! Not exactly pnp, but worth the effort.

Pros: Cost, sound quality, usb

Cons: some additional work necessary for my application.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Brockton, MA on 12/27/2018

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice radio fit car great does more than expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Vicksburg, MS on 12/26/2018

2003 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

"Simple" ---- It does as it is suppose to do. It makes my Dakota sound "great".

Pros: As reviewed ---- It does an excellent replacement for the original. ""Sounds"" much, much better, volume to the max.

Cons: "0"

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Circle Pines, MN on 12/18/2018

1973 Mercedes-Benz 450SL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed easy, sounds great! Looking forward to using it once the snow & ice melt here in the frozen north.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Advance, NC on 12/4/2018

2003 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed receiver in my 03' Honda Pilot. Greatly improved reception of both am and fm. Easy to install with the supplied mounts and wiring connector. The install video and write-ups made the install easy and quick. Got the receiver in two days! Thanks.

Pros: Easy install Great reception on am and fm.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Mankato, MN on 11/12/2018

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit and quick easy install pretty much plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great open box deal!!!

Neal from Manassas, VA on 11/11/2018

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Worked great first time!!

Pros: All great..

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Beebe, AR on 11/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this unit!! It has way more features than my older JVC unit and the sound is completely off the charts!! I love the fact it has such a diverse equalization process built in, and the ergonomics of the unit is very functional and easy on the eyes.. One of the reasons I bought this unit is so I can easily add my android phone as an extension and charge it as well!! My hats off to you JVC for building such an elaborate unit for the price!! Crutchfield is the best place to buy a head unit from!! Absolutely no fuss, and the guy that helped me with my order was such a great person!! This is how car audio buying should be!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from White Hall, AR on 10/22/2018

1997 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality is awesome . I really like the USB port , I can load up a flash drive & listen to music for days. The Crutchfield installation kit made for a quick, easy & good looking fit in my '97 Honda Civic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Canton, OH on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head unit great value.

Pros: Fit great and sounds good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No fit trim

devin from Honolulu, HI on 10/15/2018

1996 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just fine, but the bezel around the deck doesnt allow the trim for my 96 civic to go over

Pros: Works good

Cons: Trim doesn't fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

DB from Iowa on 10/14/2018

2004 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall good value for this stereo! Crutchfield makes the process easier with the extra service they provide. I am happy with this item as it replaced the old factory head unit that had a defective LCD screen and CD player. All of it installed for less than 90 dollars is pretty awesome.

Pros: Affordable Great Looking Display

Cons: Small buttons can be kind of hard to press sometimes

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good value for an older car

Mike from Salida, CO on 9/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy install and the sound is excellent. The screen is very visible and the controls easy to use.

Pros: fits the older DIN dash very well

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sounds great, cool remote, great features, easy installation

allen from Massapequa, NY on 9/9/2018

2005 Hyundai Accent

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised and reviewed.

Pros: Nice high tech device, big upgrade from factory equip., Installation kit - right on the money.

Cons: Can't cite one here.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

DAVID from Gainesville, VA on 8/28/2018

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

had it just over a week now works great got the install kit form crutchfeilds and i glimpsed over the instructions and did the install used the removal tool and disconnect 2 connectors and the antenna and then hooked up their wiring harness (well worth it!!) plugged in the antenna. slid it in place 15 minutes total time and then turned it on and i did not know my speakers in my truck sounded so nice both jvc and crutchfeild are great

Pros: easy great sound simple to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, MA on 8/20/2018

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great and simple to use stereo, and the Crutchfield wiring harnesses made installation a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy Peasy

Crutchfield customer from Broomfield, CO on 8/20/2018

1997 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Receiver was simple to install.. the directions that were sent were spot on for the make and model of my vehicle. Had entire system installed within an hour.

Pros: Sounds great and easy to operate

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

R490 Radio for Honda Civic

Crutchfield customer from Wishek, ND on 8/13/2018

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio for the price. Great sound, and lots of features. I really like the red lighting. I thought it had Bluetooth compatability, but it doesn't. That was my mistake!

Pros: Nice, compact design Lots of features

Cons: Installation documentation was not very helpful. Am I supposed to know the difference between DIN and ISO? I do this once every 10 years!!! Had to go to YouTube to find similar installations to review. Instructions pertaining to my car were not very helpful. Consider some images in your instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great basic unit

Crutchfield customer from Murray, KY on 8/12/2018

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this to replace the factory radio/tape player in a 97 F150. Yes I said tape player. Radio picks up stations I have never heard of before. Does everything and more that I wanted for just an old truck to drive to the lumber store, hunting, or the range. Bonus to have ports to run my phone or music on a memory stick. Crutchfield made it super simple to install. Comes with simple instructions. Literally popped off trip, pull old out and disconnect, plug new in, put new in and put trim back on. Cant beat it for 80

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, OH on 8/6/2018

1987 Buick Grand National

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked out well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great value

Doug from Toledo, OH on 7/29/2018

1984 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy installation. I was told by a local shop it would cost quite a bit to replace my radio due to having the Bose system. Total cost at Crutchfield was way less! And with the free wiring harness and install kit, I had it installed in 20 minutes. Thanks!

Pros: Awesome sound and service. Thanks!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound and the price was nice

Jan from Glencoe, MN on 7/28/2018

2008 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

your support staff got me thru the wiring problems--kudo's to them. sounds great and nice to have a CD that works, original ford CD died

Pros: nice that the mounting & wiring come with the unit for the car--thanks

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Hanover Park, IL on 7/28/2018

2000 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

FAST DELIVERY AND THEY INCLUDED EVERYTHING I NEEDED TO INSTALL THE HEAD UNIT AND THE BEST PART WAS THAT ALL THE TOOLS WIRING HARNESS AND HEAD UNIT ADAPTER WERE FREE.ALL I PAID FOR WAS FOR THE HEAD UNIT.AWESOME!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Still a great place to deal with

Roger from Walhalla, ND on 7/26/2018

2010 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fair prices along with great service keeps me coming back time and time again

Pros: Fair prices along with great service keeps me coming back time and time again

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds great!

Brian from Durham, NC on 7/1/2018

2003 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds fantastic with the default 7 speakers!

Pros: Sounds Great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 7/1/2018

2005 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best help line rep!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Looks nice

Kiernan from Hoquiam, WA on 6/28/2018

1991 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great in 91 z28 camaro. Sound is on par for the price and crutchfield ALWAYS hooks it up!!!

Pros: Cheap sound

Cons: Not the easiest to use usb, may just be my cords.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good gear and outstanding service when I screwed up.

Crutchfield customer from Blythewood, SC on 6/3/2018

1995 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 stars, merchandise as advertised, outstanding service when I screwed up by thinking that 1995 toyota corolla was exactly the same as 1995 geo prizm. I ordered the corolla part when it was actually a prizm. Result, got the wrong wiring harness, Crutchfield sent the correct one at no additional cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great JVC unit

Jeff from Graham, WA on 6/3/2018

2007 Pontiac G6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is great. Aux and USB inputs in front for using and charging your phone (iPhone not compatible with this head unit). There is an EQ button front and center. Press it to find many preset EQ's so your music and system sounds it's best. The CD function buttons are a bit small and of to the right side which make them hard to press when trying to FF or RWD. It was super simple to wire into the harness I purchased here also. This is the best site BY FAR for finding all the aftermarket components you'll need! If you don't want to or aren't capable of doing the wiring, Crutchfield will, at an extra cost at checkout, pre-wire the radio to the harness for you.

Pros: Ease of wiring Many preset EQ's Looks good Easy station preset operation  Enough power to send to stock speakers enabling them to sound better than OEM head unit does (in my case)

Cons: Not iPhone compatable Small CD function buttons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Spring Lake, MI on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio for the price & works great !!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Tylertown, MS on 5/14/2018

2004 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great budget radio with a lot of features, surprised me

Pros: A lot of equilizers functions, fairly easy to operate once sound setup is complete

Cons: Detachable faceplate can be tricky to put on and wears out overtime

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Chris from Minerva, OH on 5/14/2018

1979 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked it up on Saturday and it works well. Good sound and nice controls. Great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great radio

shannon from Auburn, GA on 5/14/2018

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great radio for the price you can't beat it

Pros: price and functions

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound

Jon from New Holstein, WI on 5/4/2018

2000 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are very satisfactory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

John from Liberty, NC on 5/1/2018

2000 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have it 4 out of 5 stars. See pros, cons.

Pros: Great unit for the price. Ample power. Sounds really good!

Cons: It will not play a USB flash drive. Buttons are small.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Mokena, IL on 4/28/2018

1986 Pontiac Trans Am

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great deal. sounds great.easy to install. thank you!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bang for your buck

richard from Conyers Ga on 4/27/2018

2006 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an upgrade! My factory Ford CD player died. Bought this unit with all the goodies to follow an install myself. The customer service was awesome and I now have a killer little stereo for my work truck. Highly recommend it for the monies.

Pros: Sound

Cons: None for the monies

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits the bill

JJ from Potter Valley, CA on 4/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a simple nice sounding receiver for my 71 VW bus, f/r/sub, this looked like it fit the bill. Little did I know it was a huge upgrade for my previous unit. the sound is quite impressive, easy to operate, lots of control, i.e. navigating the usb, eq. Your reviews are quite helpful and the price was shockingly low. If I had known this upgrade could make my crusin camper sound this good I would not have waited for the old unit to croak. Thanks People JJ

Pros: simple, full featured, powerful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Arcata, CA on 4/10/2018

1994 Dodge B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Control was somewhat counter intuitive to me. Sound and ease of installation were top notch.

Pros: Lighted, good eq options

Cons: Finding eq and radio search were difficult espc while driving

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from New Lenox, IL on 4/9/2018

1989 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio works great, I little difficult adjusting the settings.

Pros: No problems.

Cons: If you don't have amp, you only get rear speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Radio/Player

Phil from Wichita, KS on 4/5/2018

2003 Ford Windstar

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very impressed with the speedy installation and the quality of sound and optional musical inputs!

Pros: Quality reception, excellent music adjustments and sound.

Cons: Learning all the functions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple installation

Henry from Ridgely, TN on 4/4/2018

1993 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation great sound. Very easy to use even for a 70 year old. Paid the extra to have direct plug in harness made. Any simpler and my dog could have done it.

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stereo

Richard from Marietta, OH on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good looking sounds good

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Hayden from Little Rock, AR on 3/31/2018

2002 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio works great but iphones running iOS 11 do not work with the USB function. I do not know if that is a problem with iOS or the receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Piqua, OH on 3/31/2018

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver ,works great.The knob sometimes when you turn up the volume you can accidentally push the button wish will change equalizer.I still gave it 4 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Milford, CT on 3/30/2018

2003 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio plays great and is at a very good price. Very easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Kyle from Great Falls, MT on 3/26/2018

2002 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a straightforward stereo receiver this guy is hard to beat. It's one of the lower-end options I could find (I'm a cheapo) and it still does USB, Pandora, XM Radio, CDs, AUX cord, etc. If you're doing a full audio-system overhall you may want to look at something more powerful/versatile, but if you just need a good receiver to power your stock speakers you can't go wrong with this one. It's got more bells and whistles than I need, and without breaking the bank. Plus the instructions and form adapter that Crutchfield matched to my vehicle were a breeze to figure out. Happy customer, would definitely buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Florence, KY on 3/22/2018

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The system is great and service at Crutchfield is awesome!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Avondale, AZ on 3/16/2018

1998 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Saint Michael, MN on 3/15/2018

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Chris from Dittmer, MO on 3/15/2018

2003 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great good sound

Pros: Works great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 3/14/2018

1999 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected for a decently low price. Easier to operate than many modern CD/Receivers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 3/4/2018

2005 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio gust what i what'd thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 2/23/2018

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fit and finish. Wiring instructions probably a 4 out of 5

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R490

Crutchfield customer from Alvin, TX on 12/29/2017

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hard to beat for the price . Worked great .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect upgrade for older truck

S.A. from Whitewright, TX on 12/9/2017

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to fit my daughter's 2003 F150. Fit great, has all the functions she wanted, which included an Aux input. Sound is great. No complaints so far. Great value for the money

Pros: Fit well. Good sound. Multiple inputs. Easy install. Great value

Cons: None as yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Replacement Radii Choice

Steve from Virginia Beach, VA on 11/7/2017

2005 Ford Focus ZXW

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio. Looks good without that Ricer Burner Boy Racer flashing lights.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound