Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
498 397 82

Our hours

Connect ID #
498 397 82
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JVC KD-R690S

CD receiver

MFR # KD-R690S

JVC KD-R690S

JVC KD-R690S

CD receiver

MFR # KD-R690S

104 reviews
View this product

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Elkton, VA on 5/13/2020

2001 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always have likes JVC receivers never had a problem.With them.when I get the extra money I'm gonna eat a amp/speaker combo for my vehicle

Pros: Easy Hook up and easy features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 5/8/2020

2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good this JVC plays like magic Easy installation fits perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Staunton, VA on 5/4/2020

2006 Lincoln Zephyr

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the jvc system! Pretty easy program and sounds great! The only thing I was disappointed in usb app didn't work so usb doesn't work so using aux cord.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replaced a broken stick unit.

Crutchfield customer from Berwick, PA on 4/19/2020

2005 Ford Focus ZX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a damaged stock CD player in my mom's car, it's not the most impressive unit I've ever seen but for the price it's a Pretty good bang for the buck. I wanted to keep replacing the head unit and stick speakers under $200. The controls are not the most intuitive maybe the touch screens in my last few cars has spoiled me but I found it annoying to fiddle with buttons and a small screen to work through the menu's but all the settings you need are there you just have to dig to find them. But like I said for all the options it does have and it seems to be built fairly well it's worth every penny that's why I'm giving it five stars.

Pros: Price

Cons: Controls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value for the money and outstanding customer service.

Crutchfield customer from Seligman, AZ on 1/19/2020

1997 Ford F-250 Heavy Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio. After looking at the vacant hole in my dash for the last year I decided to purchase a radio. I looked at other suppliers but decided to go with Crutchfield after talking with one of their reps. I am so glad I did. I decided on the the JVC 690 because I wanted something that was Sirius capable. I received the unit but had questions on the installation. Worked with Blanche and found out I didn't have the correct harness. She sent me the correct one and installation was a snap. Now my dash is once again complete and this radio pulls in stations that the factory one didn't. Great buy, great value, great customer service!!!!!

Pros: See above.............

Cons: NON

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Portage, PA on 1/6/2020

1983 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and quality at a great price. Not hard to install, just your basic wiring. The only thing that you need to know is that your speakers and their wiring need to be right or this headunit will cut out flashing a "miswiring check wiring message. I had to refer to the manual in troubleshooting to solve this. As it turned out, I tried to use my original door speakers which turned out to have very corroded terminals which showed up as a short. Just be sure that your speakers and connections are right and this unit will reward you with great sound and features.

Pros: Great quality for a low price

Cons: Installed this in a 1983 Chevy truck which required extensive cutting of the dash and dash bezel. I knew this and expected it, but some people with classic vehicles aren't aware of this.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, MI on 12/21/2019

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the stereo looks awesome. it is a christmas gift so it is not yet installed. I loved the fact that you sent instructions. Not many places do that

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Burnsville, MS on 12/15/2019

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for money, Love that you can selct color of lighting to match your vehicles dash lighting.

Pros: Lighting color opitions, great sound quailty.

Cons: manual tuning to station is hassel does not have tuning knob have to use scan buttons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well done

Crutchfield customer from Raymond, WA on 11/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a lesser priced receiver from Crutchfield for my 93 Dakota to replace a radio that only worked during the summer. The new receiver would not pick up the closest station. Crutchfield customer service hooked me up with the tech department who send me another radio. Same issue, I live too far out in the boonies. Customer service then recommended this receiver based on the reception number. Works great. I won't use most of the functions as it's just a radio for me. That being said the controls are intuitive and it's easy to set up time,color,eq,etc. I would put this in my other car when the time comes. I really impressed with the high level of customer service. Thank you to everyone at Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Port Saint Joe, FL on 11/11/2019

1992 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Total perfection!

Pros: simple functions, plenty power

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 11/4/2019

2001 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver replacement for my truck, definitely would recommend for a friend

Pros: Easy Directory and Function

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

1994 F-250

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, NV on 10/16/2019

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Multi color display, exactly what I was looking for to match my green gauges

Pros: Perfect fit with dash installation and wiring kit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC

Crutchfield customer from Port Aransas, TX on 10/9/2019

2006 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this brand. It always provides top quality sound.

Pros: Great sound, easy to install in my car.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sub standard fit.

Crutchfield customer from Ludowici, GA on 10/2/2019

1994 Chevrolet Caprice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I only gave 4 stars because of fitment issues. It's too bad that with today's technology, manufacturers can't or won't build a unit that will fit a mid 90s GM (1994 Chevy Caprice) dash. Because of the required adapter, the unit sticks out from the dash effectively rendering my only cup holder useless.

Pros: Price

Cons: Fit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good Replacement for Factory Toyota CD/AM/FM

Crutchfield customer from Williamsfield, OH on 8/25/2019

2002 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good replacement for the Toyota RAV4 with the premium sound package from the factory. Excellent sound and intuitive interface make it a smart pick. USB and AUX inputs upfront, sub and AUX out RCA jacks in the rear. Sound quality is awesome, full and rich natural sound for my Blues! Install kit works well with a bit of modification to ensure proper and secure fitment. All in all for the price, you can't go wrong.

Pros: great sound, color changeable display, easy to use and set-up

Cons: Supplied install kit with surround for in-dash requires a little finesse to fit and secure properly.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Big Spring, TX on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it. The sound is superb. I'm an old guy, so the electronics and lights look great to me. It will take me a while to grasp all the buttons and controls, but that's because I'm not up to par on that sort of thing

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Kooskia, ID on 8/11/2019

2003 Subaru Baja

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this unit for the price point. Sounds great and has a bunch of options and settings. One thing to be aware of is that this unit does not have blue tooth like a lot of other 'Pandora ready' units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Covington, GA on 7/15/2019

1999 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver with an excellent price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Emmaus, PA on 7/8/2019

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo for those just looking for great sound. Excellent sound, great EQ options, and it looks so much better than the (broken) factory unit. I was a bit pensive about the dash kit that came with it, as I looked up reviews for the kit on other sites, and they are less than stellar. However, if you use your head, and think about what you are doing, and why, and take your time, the kit is good. It fits correctly, is of good quality, and looks really great. I opted to go with the Crutchfield wiring harness service, and so glad I did. That service is what made me pull the trigger and do this project. It was literally a 10 minute install, not including pre-building the unit/kit in the house the night before. Thank you Crutchfield, you gained a customer for life!

Pros: Better sound than the stock unit Easy to use after some trial and error Match the color of lighting to your taste or dash lights

Cons: None, it is exactly as advertised

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best bang for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Saint George, UT on 6/16/2019

2009 Toyota Yaris

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent build quality with a lot of sound, and eq options plus it's at a great price

Pros: Good price, lots of options, excellent quality

Cons: No Bluetooth built-in

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 5/29/2019

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for an old truck. Much better then the original Ford radio that it replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 4/28/2019

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is awesome. Loaded up with features, sounds fantastic. Can't beat it for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio for the price

Crutchfield customer from Fern Bch, FL on 4/24/2019

1998 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tried and True Performance

Crutchfield customer from Castlewood, VA on 4/23/2019

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After almost nine years to the day my old JVC died in my equally old 1999 Jeep Cherokee. There were of course other options I could've chosen but given my budget and experience with JVC I decided to buy another. The new model has all the same perks as I was used to but costed $70 less than what I paid nine years ago for the same features. Simply put this is a very high powered unit with so many customizable options with sound and aesthetics that you just need some patience. That being said the unit is easy to use. I highly recommend it for no more than it costs.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Chino Valley, AZ on 4/3/2019

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't complain for the price. Great stereo and haven't had any problems with it and installation was easy and straight forward

Pros: Love the day and night colors makes it easy in eyes at night

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Why didn't I buy this SOONER?

David from Swanton, OH on 3/27/2019

2006 Dodge Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My car is a beater ('06 Dodge Caravan) and I was looking for something inexpensive that had an AUX jack for my Sirius radio. Spoke with a gentleman named Woody who suggested this one because he could see that I was looking at it. (I have no idea how he did that!) But, I bought it . I feared wiring it to my vehicle and he mentioned the ready-harness service that Crutchfield has. I figured "what the heck" and ordered it and the ready-harness. Honestly, I had a bit of a problem figuring how to fit the thing into my car but, my wife read the instructions and figured it out. (Isn't it funny how reading the instructions actually WORKS?). Anyway, this radio is absolutely beautiful and actually looks TOO good for the rusty POS that I drive! The sound is unbelievable and the CD player works like a charm! I love it! And, I'd recommend it to ANY in a similar situation as mine! Thank you Crutchfield....Oh, I forgot to mention! Before coming to Crutchfield, I was looking on Craigslist trying to find someone who would install a cheapie for me. I did find one guy and, I only wanted $100 to do the install. The radio, ready harness, shipping and everything from Crutchfieldwas less than $105!

Pros: EVERYTHING, INCLUDING THE READY WIRING HARNESS WAS EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED! WOODY WAS A GREAT HELP!

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Spring City, PA on 3/17/2019

2008 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just as advertised! Perfect replacement for my 10+ year old stock stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Mark from Chandler, AZ on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JVC unit sounds great. Has loads of features i probably won't ever use or need. I was extremely impressed with the under dash radio mount box. It looks fantastic and is well made. Does not look cheap and is very sturdy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Brian from Fredericksburg, VA on 3/9/2019

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice stereo that gives you full control of audio and display functions. Good sound with factory speakers. Display dims with headlights on. Good FM sensitivity. A little awkward to tune, but once you have your presets the buttons are big enough. A great value overall, along with Crutchfield's top-shelf service and support. If you use an in-dash installation kit, you'll need four m5 x 8mm screws, not included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Johnny from Ashford, AL on 3/5/2019

1992 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a charm. Looks good and great sound. So far have only used the radio side of the item. Beautiful illumination. Would like to see a lit up on and off button for night time. Remote control is too flimsy. Needs to be better built.

Pros: Fit was exceptional. Sounds great.

Cons: Trim was a little weak. Flimsy remote.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome sound & amazing features, easy intuitive controls

Chris from Jacksonville, FL on 2/23/2019

2005 Isuzu Ascender

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to replace an older JVC unit in both a friends car and then my wifes (liked the first one so much) and don't understand why this one sounds so much better other than the EZ EQ settings and controls possibly. Usually any aftermarket unit sounds much better than the factory radios even if it's a so called premium sound system but I replaced two of the same brand (JVC) aftermarket units and it improved the sound in both vehicles, first with factory premium speakers and second with Pioneer speakers. Can't wait to get a sub for the wife's car to take advantage of the easy to control sub output. Other units I've had you have to trudge through the menu to make adjustments like that but this one is so easy. Another easy thing I like is the pause or mute is just a press of the volume knob. Most other units you have to find the right button or change modes to use it, this one makes it easy if you get a phone call on the fly or you need to yell at the kids. No more resetting the clock for Daylight savings time or if the battery in the car dies, it picks up a signal from any FM stations you tune in, mine both set the clock on it's own within ten minutes of tuning in the first FM station. The unit looks great too. I'm ecstatic, I can't believe the features for the price, I've paid three times for less in the past. Don't let the price fool you, this is no entry level head unit. Lots of cool features aren't even listed in the description of the unit.

Pros: Front USB port that charges devices, simply push vol. knob to pause or mute (not mentioned in features), sounds better than old JVC unit it replaced (they must have upgraded the electronics. Super EZ EQ adjustments and Sub output control without scrolling through the menu to set. So many amazing features for an unbelievably low price.

Cons: You'll have to pay twice as much to get HD radio.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit

Alan from Lowden, IA on 1/8/2019

2000 Dodge Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit. Looks, sounds and operates great. Would buy this again

Pros: Install was a snap and looks perfect in the dash

Cons: Hard to read the small buttons but I'll remember what they are soon

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent

Jeff from New Iberia, LA on 1/4/2019

2008 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio for the price. No facncy features but it gets the job done

Pros: Simple radio with great quality

Cons: None that i can think of.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

AMY from Shumway, IL on 1/2/2019

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My husband is very happy with his gift. It was easy to install and worked great!

Pros: Easy installation...sounds great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Bayside, CA on 12/30/2018

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the high quality sound this device provides.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/25/2018

2005 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install fast delivery loved it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Streetsboro, OH on 11/11/2018

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this JVC KD- R690S has the features I was looking for, it is XM-sirus ready , has a front mounted USB to charge my phone , and it sounds great !! the only thing I'm missing is a face plate case when I remove it from my Jeep Wrangler.

Pros: sounds great

Cons: needs a face plate case included

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from White Hall, AR on 11/3/2018

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 2nd JVC I've purchased . I was so impressed with the quality of the 1st unit in my car , I had to have another for my truck. The sound quality is so much better than the stock unit & I really like the USB port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Queen City, TX on 10/22/2018

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is loud and clear. signal strong as eve

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great

Don from Byrnes Mill, MO on 10/16/2018

1993 Chrysler Fifth Avenue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So much for the $! A lot of features and some really in depth settings to tune your sound. Looks great. 50+ color choices. CD's play seamlessly. The USB port up front is handy and I love the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

the sound quality is excellant.

DESIREE from Mena, AR on 10/10/2018

2004 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it turned out to be better than I anticipated ! the radio stations it pulls in, well I didn't even know they existed. wow, what a superb purchase !

Pros: east to install, fits perfectly, looks fantastic, great quality.

Cons: instructions for settings -such as the clock etc.. are a tad difficult to follow.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sound!

Carlos from Morganton, NC on 10/8/2018

1999 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not big into music, as in I need the perfect system, but I was looking for something cheap and easy to replace the factory system in my 2010 Wrangler JK. The difference in sound is simply amazing. I didn't realize that it would be that much of a difference! It was easy to replace, instructions were clear. Also, it is user friendly, even for us 50+ guys. I don't know much about fancy radios, but this radio is well worth what I paid for it.

Pros: Great sound Easy installing instructions Changing the color... pretty darn cool for us old people.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Evan from Chesapeake, VA on 9/26/2018

2000 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent little stereo, nice functionality

Pros: Functionality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love my new stereo in my 1999 F-150..

JB from Chester, VA on 9/19/2018

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation and great sound! Very pleased.

Pros: easy install, not expensive, and the sound is great

Cons: not applicable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo unit

Trevor from Fair Oaks Ranch, TX on 9/17/2018

1993 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo unit. Love how you can choose the colors and produces great quality sound. Operating system is easy to use and very user friendly unlike some others. Would definitely recommend

Pros: Easy install, great sound, user friendly interface

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Jason from Gordonsville, VA on 9/5/2018

2009 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is loud and clear. signal strong as ever... a great improvement over my stock radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Troy from Reisterstown, MD on 9/3/2018

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I always go with JVC , they may not be top of the line price wise but the set up and features are great. It is highly adaptable to whatever interior look you want with the customizable display colors , and the sound and EQ settings are perfect for me as that is what I'm looking for. For more Bluetooth and tech type people the next step up JVC has all the features you are looking for.

Pros: Great sound, highly adaptable color displays. Top quality. Best price to quality ratio in my opinion.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio, Great Service

Greg from Spokane, WA on 8/29/2018

2001 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I studied the feedback from the installation kit, so I felt I was prepared for any issues regarding my 2001 Mazda B-series. Everything went smoothly until the time came to test it - no power! So I called service and Jayce asked me, "what position is your key in?" Doh! The key has to be on to run the radio. I felt really stupid and grateful at the same time. The radio itself is much better than the stock radio even with the factory speakers. Thinking about doing them next.

Pros: Good instructions and when needed, good tech support.

Cons: Sometimes I stupid.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Gary from Owosso, MI on 8/13/2018

2011 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Eazy install. Demo on how everything works at first power up. Got at address on time. Excellent Customer Service, and TEK support. Thank You!

Pros: Just got it and installed.

Cons: Just got it and installed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New JVC Radio

Crutchfield customer from Statesville, NC on 8/13/2018

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is Great so far. Yes I recommend it. I am pleased with it.

Pros: Works Well. Charges My Phone. I use the Aux cord a lot and it works well. It updates the time all by itself.

Cons: Little longer than stock, had to cut out a little plastic to get it to fit especially with all the wires and the antenna adapter on the rear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome product.

Robert from Canton, MS on 8/8/2018

2007 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one great unit! Easy to use, great sound quality, looks great too. You want to buy this. I'll be buying another for my truck.

Pros: Great sound quality, 4 channel RCA's, easy to set up and operate.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 8/7/2018

1995 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EASY INSTALL MORE POWER THAN EXPECTED.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Radio

Dan from Waukesha, WI on 8/7/2018

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio to replace an aging factory radio. Has front USB and Aux inputs, RCA outs for front, rear, and sub. Worked great, and easy to use.

Pros: Inexpensive, many options, front USB and Aux Inputs, RCA pre outs.

Cons: No bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Craig from Townshend, VT on 8/1/2018

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit works well as a replacement for the factory installed radio/cd player in my 2010 Tacoma, with good sound, but the controls are too small.

Pros: Excellent sounding and strong unit for the price and relatively easy installation - but, as with everything these days - too much computer with controls that are too small.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Mandan, ND on 7/30/2018

1992 Dodge Shadow

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit however installation was kind of a bear. Package does not come with a mounting strap. Figuring out wiring wasn't easy either. JVC coding for wires not correct. Crutchfield's wasn't either and those two didn't match. Two other sources were also different. Yes, it was a factory wiring harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, RI on 7/29/2018

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a radio in my work truck. Great sound easy install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Hanover Park, IL on 7/28/2018

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not pass on a deal that gives you all that you need to install head unit. The instructions on how to connect the steering wheel control adapter were kind of tricky but after going over them a couple of times I got it installed and it works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Tex from Mooresville, NC on 7/22/2018

1999 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am well pleased with the form and fit of this radio. I am glad I bought the prewired harness, the connections were correct and saved a lot of installation time. The sound in good and all functions work as advertised. I did the software upgrade with no problems (just follow the directions). I highly recommend Cruthcfield for the source of replacement radios and equipment.

Pros: Seee above

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Cullman, AL on 7/22/2018

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit with dash kit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product, Great service

Scott from Allons, TN on 7/19/2018

2004 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and good power. Install was a breeze and my Cruthfeild rep Trevor was outstanding. I did this install for my parents but I will definitely be upgrading some of my older systems with Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy to follow instructions

Cons: None to think of.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Look is sleek

Madison from Blue Springs, MO on 7/13/2018

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product so far!

Pros: Color change, date and time on front screen while in any source

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Lawton, OK on 7/12/2018

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All the features I needed, without being overpriced. Outstanding value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Belen, NM on 7/12/2018

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 7/11/2018

2000 Ford Escort ZX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this unit. I was very surprised at the improvement in sound quality, even without replacing speakers. It packs a lot of features into the price point. It has plenty of features. Being able to control the color and brightness of the display for both day and night driving is a handy feature. (I've had units in the past where the bright display was distracting.) Another plus was it's ability to connect to a Sirius Radio receiver. I found only two negatives. The volume control knob is very short and a little inconvenient for my mid-size fingers to grasp. The other is that adjusting the various setting and functions is not intuitive. Don't lose the manual. Installation was simple with the Crutchfield instructions and wiring harness. (Removing the old unit without damaging anything in my 2000 Ford Escort ZX2 was a bit tedious, but that wasn't Crutchfield's fault. It's doable, but you have to be careful. Once the old unit is out and you can see all the wiring, installation of the new unit is simple.) If I had to choose again, I'd definitely select this unit. It has more than enough features for me at an excellent price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Concord, GA on 7/11/2018

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo sounds alot better then the factory. Easy install. Using stock speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 7/8/2018

2004 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

super easy install and has all the features I wanted for a good price.

Pros: Looks nice and easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wish I would of got a different one

Gary from Middletown, OH on 7/8/2018

2011 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No bluetooth, very hard to tune, too many buttons.

Pros: Looks good

Cons: No bluetooth, very difficult to tune,

Crutchfield response on 7/9/2018
Gary, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Pago Pago, AS on 7/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Head Unit, Easy Installation. I have ordered a dozen of this Unit over the past few months, never ran into any problems. Really Fast Shipping and Also its FREE. Thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 7/6/2018

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A better upgrade, the sound is great, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loud and clear

Cory from Anna, TX on 7/3/2018

2008 Land Rover LR3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well. No problems, trouble working or installing

Pros: Works easy to use

Cons: It's not touch screen

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, great fit, easy installation

Shane from Carrollton, GA on 7/1/2018

2007 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the upgrade. Sound quality and clarity much improved. Easy install

Pros: Super easy install in Jeep Liberty with sheet provided, sounds exceptional compared to stock system

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC install

Robert from Sterling Heights, MI on 6/24/2018

2010 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2010 Crown Vic interceptor Detroit, MI. The install was very easy it took me about 20 mins. It looks and sounds great so far. Now I need to program it.

Pros: Easy install sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Bill from Fond Du Lac, WI on 6/17/2018

1999 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much better sound. Very pleased! The free extras made installation a brease!

Pros: Sounds great!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted, easy to install and wire up. I read the directions carefully and making all the settings was easy too. I'm pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 5/22/2018

1993 Buick Regal

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reaaallly wish this thing had bt. Other than that, 11/10 ign.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from West Bloomfield, MI on 5/20/2018

1984 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit behaves well and drives the speakers with no problem. Good menu interface and set up for clock and display is easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Parachute, CO on 5/13/2018

2001 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs beautifully and is a great improvement over the Bose unit that came in my 2001 Miata.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Royal Oak, MI on 5/13/2018

2004 Buick Regal

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The actual performance of this unit is fine. However, the clock will not re-set per the instructions. We can re-set it, but as soon as we leave the reset program it defaults to CT, and the minutes are wrong - which is a drag, given we're in ET. I'll probably put a piece of black tape over it, and call it quits. Also, the "Trim Ring," for this unit did not fit my car. To get it to snap on, I had to trim both ends and file the corners. That said, the unit is in the vehicle and providing music to the cabin of the vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/14/2018
We're sorry you're having issues with your clock. If the problem continues and you need our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/6/2018

2005 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this CD/receiver for my wife's 2005 Subaru Forester. Her original radio stopped working and the JVC KD-R690S was the replacement I chose. It turned out to be a good choice. She loves it and says the sound is better than the OEM radio, even with the original speakers. The package came quickly from Crutchfield, allowing and extra day or two (which I expected) for them to wire up the JVC to Subaru connector. The installation took about an hour, and the pre-wired connector from Crutchfield made it much easier to install than it would have been otherwise. I give them 5 stars for product and service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from Lititz, PA on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't know how you could get a better car stereo for this kind of money. The tuner picks up twice the amount of stations compared to my old radio and the sound is strong. Very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 4/25/2018

1998 GMC Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice unit simple to operate like it a lot so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great JVC KD-R690S Unit

George from Canon City, CO on 4/16/2018

1994 Dodge B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield delivered an excellent product with this receiver. My only concern, therefore only 4 stars, is that the receiver rear end is not supported. The adapter plate (plastic) is all that supports the unit by 2 front mounting bolts. The unit replaced was a '90s vintage, heavy, 2 DIN unit with a 3 point mount (2 front, 1 rear brace) which still had its front plastic mounting ears busted. Okay, this one is lighter, we will see.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 4/15/2018

2004 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I HADTOREAD AND READ THE INSTRUCTIONS BOOK OVER AND OVER. I COULDNT UNDERSTAND HOW TO BALANCE THE RADIO

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

excellent sound !

MICHAEL R from Victorville, CA on 4/8/2018

2010 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent power to each channel . My only complaint is somewhat time consuming to find like the "audio" file to change settings . Sometimes it scans by and I have to start over .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Ted from Ruskin, FL on 4/8/2018

2004 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio for the value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC junk!

Daniel from Centennial, CO on 4/5/2018

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Complete trash, receiver will not recognize Galaxy S7 or S8 phone. Please read the reviews for the JVC play music app before purchasing any JVC receiver. Will never buy JVC again.

Pros: It's pretty cheap I guess. But if it doesn't work then it wouldn't matter even if it's free.

Cons: It simply doesn't work as designed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 4/5/2018

2009 Dodge Avenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and easy install. Loaded with many features fairly easy to use and set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Brooke from Lake Stevens, WA on 4/3/2018

1997 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was pretty easy to install. My wife loved it. The option to change colors is neat. She loves that she can listen to her iPhone while it charges

Pros: Easy to install. Nice functions

Cons: Lighting can be dim to read in daylight

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/29/2018

2006 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, awesome service and delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Liberty, SC on 3/18/2018

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what I needed!

Roger from Charleston, SC on 3/16/2018

1997 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product has all the features wanted. Easy to install, easy to program. EQ options provide just the right sound patterns for my vehicle. Radio sensitivity brings in stations that I didn't know were available. CD's load and play easily, and the USB input allows me to play from my phone and I-pod as well. I personally like the optional lighting variation between day use and night use. Great value for an awesome product.

Pros: Easy to install. Easy to set up.

Cons: No bluetooth option for this unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great find for a reasonable price

Lauren from Alpha, OH on 3/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this receiver in an afternoon and and I have no expertise in this area - just a general knowledge of how to take things apart and put them together again. I'm still customizing the settings and figuring out the programming a little at a time. I'm thrilled to have a CD player in my car!

Pros: Lots of options and features; easy to install

Cons: Buttons are a little on the small side

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great.

Mike from Cincinnati, OH on 3/12/2018

2006 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, looks great and is very easy to use.

Pros: Easy to install, sounds really good even with the stock speakers in my truck.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

James from Glasgow, KY on 3/12/2018

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used JVC products for years. And crutchfield's knowledge and pricing is the best!

Pros: Great product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

peter d from Blaine, WA on 2/25/2018

1991 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

everything needed came in one box and it arrived on time. the kdr690s was very easy to wire up.the sound is good. the only difficulty is programming the unit itself. i am still getting use to it. i wish it was a little easier, but with a little more time , i will get it. very happy overall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what I want

Bob from Denver, CO on 2/13/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio and CD player work very well. I did have a little trouble with programming, the instructions aren't very clear. After consulting with Crutchfield's tech support, I was able to program.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Fredonia, NY on 2/5/2018

2009 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S, excellent value!

MountainMan from So Cal Mountains on 2/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted an inexpensive sound system for my garage/workshop. I installed it under a work bench with an under dash mounting kit. It runs off of a spare 12v car battery. This unit is amazing, has every feature I wanted! I am running the front channel for now, but plan on adding an amp and sub for the rear channel as my next project.

Pros: Great sound, Great price, Easy to use menus.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Nantucket, MA on 1/28/2018

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this stereo. Really easy to use and it looks really nice in the car. The installation was a bit tricky, due to the fact that my 1999 Jeep Wrangler had a harness in the back which really complicated things. But, with the right tools and determination, I was able to install it and it is better than I had hoped it would be. The color changing feature is really neat, and the USB port is more than useful.

Pros: Easy to use Sleek design Many great features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Murphys, CA on 1/26/2018

2003 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME ! Easy to use, many great features and SOUNDS GREAT ! I

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Value!

Neil from Danville, WA on 12/26/2017

1986 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really easy to use and sounds Great. Lots of power, Love the option for changing the color of the face. Works in my 1986 Olds Cutlass Awesome. Thanks Crutchfield, Really fast shipping and support.

Pros: Sounds Great, Easy to use. Nice options.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple, Solid Unit

Gene from Madison, WI on 12/1/2017

2011 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the deck with the install kit for my car and it was one of the simplest installs I have ever done. Unit is pretty simple to program and use, the color changing feature is nice and allowed me to almost match the dash light colors in the car. I am having issues with the clock keeping an accurate time, but have not had a chance to dig into that yet. The only thing I have noticed is that the volume when playing a CD does not match the radio volume, you have to turn it up when you play a CD to equal the volume you had with the radio. Overall a nice upgrade for my car.

Pros: Great Price, Easy Install, Adjustable Color, USB

Cons: Shifting to stations after the 6th Preset, Clock Issues, Volume with CD's.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JVC KD-R690S

Crutchfield customer from Gaylordsville, CT on 11/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice simple radio. Does what it needs to do. Only con... to my ears a little bass heavy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good sound great price

Iowabeerman from Council Bluffs, IA on 11/27/2017

1985 Toyota Celica

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked well as a replacement for my Alpine that died. has the connections that I needed to hook sub and all speakers up in my 85 celica convertible. being able to change the light color helped it blend in with the original lighting. only knock would be an input in the back for my drive I keep my music on.

Pros: great price, color change, sub and other amp connections.

Cons: no usb connection in back.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP