Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
427 711 44
Connect ID #
427 711 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JVC KW-R940BTS

CD receiver

MFR # KW-R940BTS

JVC KW-R940BTS

JVC KW-R940BTS

CD receiver

MFR # KW-R940BTS

68 reviews
View this product

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, TN on 6/17/2021

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value-- product works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Weare, NH on 6/16/2021

2009 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased for an older newly acquired vehicle and its a definite upgrade from the stock radio. Actually the 2nd one Ive purchased and love the features and included mic for phone use.

Pros: Sound quality and ease of expand ability.

Cons: Led screen could be brighter-easier to see in day light.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 6/16/2021

2013 Hyundai Sonata GLS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio - replaced my radio for my Hyundai 2013 Sonata - works perfectly; great sound. Bluetooth and XM compatible - very happy. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Kevin from Centerton, AR on 6/3/2021

1991 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second JVC unit I have bought in the last 10 years. Nice solid inexpensive unit and easy to install and setup.

Pros: inexpensive

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best bang for the buck, IMO

Jason from Grand Junction, CO on 4/24/2021

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, I doubt you will find a better receiver. It comes with bluetooth built in, has a front USB and 3.5mm jack (with a door that keeps dust out when not in use), is very customizable both in looks and sound and features controls for things like Spotify and Pandora. For people who want to expand their system, there are RCA jacks on the back for subs and amps. The button layout works exceptionally well with my wife's 2012 Subaru Impreza. The volume button's location is almost like this radio was designed for the car. Very pleased with my purchase.

Pros: Tons of features Customizable colors Built-in Bluetooth Spotify/Pandora controls Retains Steering Wheel Controls (with Crux adapter) JVC quality

Cons: The readout could be a bit more up-to-date. It sort of looks like a radio display from the early 2000's.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Hawesville, KY on 4/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well for what I needed. But the front is too shinny making it difficult to see in certain light conditions.

Pros: Works well for hands free use which is why I purchased it for.

Cons: Face is to shinny.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Eldon, MO on 4/3/2021

2009 Nissan Frontier SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit. Fits my needs perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Broomall, PA on 3/22/2021

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this unit, great value for the $$. Sounds great in my truck but now I think I might have to upgrade the speakers too! I had a couple of technical questions and tech support was right there for all of my calls. Had a crazy problem with the clock changing time and the support person was like "oh, it's this..." made the adjustment and it's been flawless. One thing that took some getting used to is the way presets 7 thru 18 are accessed, but once I got used to it, its all good. Hands free works great!! The cost for Crutchfield to make the harness connections was worth EVERY PENNY!! Can't praise tech support enough!! Looks great, instructions were fantastic. I think all told it took me an hour sitting in my driveway. Thanks!!

Pros: The hands free is great, bluetooth works great!!

Cons: Initially wasn't real crazy about accessing station presets 7-18 but once you get used to it, it's okay. You have to push a button on the display then rotate the center know then press knob again to choose. 1 thru 6 is accessed via buttons on the display.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Belgrade, MT on 3/14/2021

2010 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, MD on 3/13/2021

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good lower priced radio. Lots of good features including Bluetooth, iPhone integration.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Greenwich, CT on 3/13/2021

2012 Dodge Truck 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

x

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

St.Charles

Kevan from St.Charles on 3/10/2021

2009 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit back in November 2020. I just installed it today 3/10/21 due to breaking my foot late last year. All I can say is WOW this is the second radio I've purchased from Crutchfield and Im blown away with the ease of use and the Bluetooth pairs w/ my older Android phone perfectly! Sound quality is excellent as I have Kicker CS series 6x8s in all doors of my F150. Still want to add a subwoofer/5 channel Amplifier and some seperates in the front doors eventually but for now this will fit the bill!

Pros: EVERYTHING w/ 1 minor exception

Cons: wish the date format was MONTH/DAY/YEAR not DAY/MONTH/YEAR

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 2/6/2021

2010 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2010 Altima Sedan (no bose) that was very much in need of a head unit and speaker system overall. I have never installed a car stereo system before was I was naturally hesitant about doing this on my own. But after research, I decided to give it a try and purchased the JVC KW-R940BTS stereo along with 2 sets of JVC speakers during a sale. Installation was not difficult thanks to Crutchfield's step-by-step instructions. My only comment would be to just give yourself enough time. I have had this unit installed for 2 weeks now and have been pleasantly surprised at its performance and features. Most other head units at this price point have a lower RMS output, this one is 22 watts (50 peak). It sounds great! I have had no drops in bluetooth connectivity. My only negative is that the FM receiver strength is not as strong as the factory radio was which is not a big issue for me because I do not generally listen to the radio. I prefer to stream music. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who wants a simple upgrade to an outdated system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Aiken, SC on 2/4/2021

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, this is by far the best value of aftermarket radio I've seen. All the components attached well. Installation was a breeze. Of course I've been a fan of car audio for a long time and dealt with Crutchfield since 2005. Always been a pleasure. I highly recommend this product. And Crutchfield.

Pros: 4 volt presets, disco lights. Quick android control. Free installation gear. Fast delivery.

Cons: Didn't buy it sooner.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Coeur D Alene, ID on 2/3/2021

2007 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system, easy to use, very happy with it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 1/26/2021

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio. Easy to operate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from South Lyon, MI on 1/25/2021

2016 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good. install was super easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 1/25/2021

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the stereo but the support from Crutchfield made it even better. They helped me out even when I ordered a wrong part & took care of everything. Great place to do business!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

Crutchfield customer from Springtown, TX on 12/29/2020

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great simple to use radio, has lots of adjustable settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy user

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 12/28/2020

2003 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to use and controls are very easy for the not so sophisticated electronic geek. Great quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Somewhat to be desired

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Feels cheap..controls / buttons

Pros:

Cons: As stated above

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 12/26/2020

2011 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always the service is great. The radio and installation gear was all there with clear instructions. This has great sound and options like blue tooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Deckerville

Greg from Deckerville on 12/22/2020

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was very easy to install. Color is impressive . Plays very nice sound ,better than the factory radio. Put it in a 2013 ram 1500. The people at Crutchfield very helpful in selecting and with the right wiring harness and antenna adapter. I Will do business with them again.

Pros: Great sound and setup was easy.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bang for your buck!

Crutchfield customer from Baldwin, MI on 12/15/2020

2012 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is great! Tons of customizing options from illumination to speaker control.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth every penny.

Crutchfield customer from Tujunga, CA on 12/14/2020

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing little unit. HUGE sound improvement and I love the DTA feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver. It has a feature that lifts the music and makes it sound like the speakers are mounted higher than they are. It has a lot of other great features too. This is an awesome stereo

Pros: Great features, great sound, easy to install, great price, and fantastic tech support if needed

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

'97 Jeep Cherokee 2DIN install

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, MD on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just what my Jeep needed. The 20 year old Pioneer was tired. I have another JVC head unit in my Titan and love it. With no other changes (same KAC6485 amp and KFC-Xr60p/Xr50p speakers) the sound is now much improved. The Jeep Cherokee is not the greatest sound stage to judge a stereo system on but I am totally satisfied with the results. It was a little fiddly cutting the dash internals to take the 2DIN unit but with a little thought it looks like the factory did it. As usual Crutchfield came through with the proper 2DIN dash cover. Cons = I did not care for the plastic mounting brackets that attach to the receiver. Having bought quite a few stereos from Crutchfield through the years I expected the usual paper work to accompany the order but was surprised to find NONE. Not even an invoice. Having kept the packet from 20 years ago I was able to cross check the original Jeep wiring with the new connectors. All good. Pros = GREAT customer service. Finally used my Crutchfield Bucks. I shall be back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2020
We're sorry to hear that you didn't see our instructions for your vehicle. We send out the vehicle-specific installation instructions ahead of the order (as an attachment to your shipping confirmation email) so that you can familiarize yourself with the installation requirements before receiving your order. And if you ever run into any problems during the installation, don't hesitate to call our Tech Support team. They're standing by, seven days a week, and their help is free, as a benefit to our customers.

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 11/21/2020

2004 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this today. So far it has been a great purchase and radio. The face is very bright and easy to read, and all the functions are easy to access.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 11/15/2020

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the radio, it's great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Mesquite, NV on 11/14/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this radio. And Crutchfield is the best!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 11/10/2020

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing!!!! Works better then I ever thought it would! The built in amplifier made my door speakers so much louder and more clear. Definitely the best head unit for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Asbury, NJ on 11/1/2020

2006 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound!

Pros: Sound enhance options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Radio and Accessories. Easy Install.

Crutchfield customer from Millburn, NJ on 10/31/2020

2013 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio and Accessories. I ordered this for my daughter's 2013 Corolla. The stock radio was acting up so we decided to replace. She did not want an Android radio. This one is perfect. And come on, free Acccesories- harness, bracket/for kit , and antenna adapter? Who does this but Crutchfield. ? They could have easily charged for these items. Not like I could install without them. I bought the quick connectors and it does up the installation. And was able to re use some of the stock hardware Great price, fast shipping, great support. I am a fan.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Honda Element JVC replacement

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, CO on 10/26/2020

2005 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only down fall with this double din deck is that it doesn't keep CORRECT TIME,it seems to just decided to reset the current time at random..it's the one thing you would think would be the easiest function to get right on the newer bluetooth,hands free,ect...era of radios..not s deal breaker but VERY ANNOYING!

Pros: Color to match interior Easy to install Sounds great Easy to use Perfect fit (2005 Honda Element) Stylish appearance Safety Great that 5 bluetooth devices can be added Great functions

Cons: Clock randomly changes.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good bang for the buck.

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 8/31/2020

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the OE Navigation unit without U-Connect in my 08 JKU. This receiver had the high voltage pre-outs and Bluetooth features I was looking for at a reasonable price. Currently running the head unit through the OE infinity amplifier and speakers, and the sound quality is surprisingly good. Some of the menus are a bit confusing at first, but overall pretty well laid out. I have had 0 issue with Bluetooth on my iPhone X. Calls are clear and the person on the other end has no trouble hearing me. Spotify control is also spot on. The display color adjustability is pretty cool as well. Matches my factory cluster lights perfectly. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting an inexpensive double DIN head unit.

Pros: High voltage pre amp outputs, good Bluetooth.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Clinton Twp, MI on 8/29/2020

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. A little buggy at times.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased with product and service

Crutchfield customer from Holly Springs, NC on 8/28/2020

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this deck to upgrade the one in my new-to-me f150. The radio reception was WAYYYY better than the unit it replaced, the Bluetooth features worked perfectly, and it sounds amazing as well. I'm 43 and hadn't installed a deck in a car for close to 20 years, so I needed.to call the help line twice to make sure I was connecting the right wires, and the Crutchfield staff were very understanding and patient. For the quality of the unit, the price was great with the service being icing on the cake. Very satisfied.

Pros: Great radio reception and sound, looks good in the dash

Cons: Direct sunlight does make the display difficult to read. Have to play around to get the clock to display all the time. A bit annoying.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good

Crutchfield customer from Centennial, CO on 8/28/2020

2006 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works good, fits well. A decent upgrade from my stock receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 8/19/2020

2002 Buick Century

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks cool but returning it. Only gets 1/2 the radio stations the factory one did. Also the hands free phone is garbled. Getting the Kenwood instead.

Pros:

Cons: Weak tuner

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jvc awesomeness!!

Dennis from BAKERSFIELD, CA on 8/17/2020

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a ridiculously good deck for the $$. Easy to use, works perfectly, great power for the factory speakers in my 2002 Tundra SR5 with tweeters. I thought my stock speakers were bad, but after installing this deck and testing it out, it rocked the Fleetwood Mac cd I had in the truck! Removing the stock Amp, bypassing it and connecting the harnesses etc was a snap. As usual, everything is there that you need, and it works flawlessly. I bought 4 jvc speakers with the 50% off deal, but I will wait to install as Im actually afraid it wont sound as good. Installation instructions were perfect, after I figured out the amp bypass harness specifically handles the rear speakers. The deck eq presets are great, as usually I enter a User preference, but not needed yet. Bluetooth is super easy to connect and works quickly for calls and my music. The deck even knew to oull up my Spotify music as soon as I connected to phone. I couldnt be happier, and Ive done this about ten times now with all the used cars I go through. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Yauco, PR on 8/5/2020

2004 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit, looks great, music sounds great especially my MP3's, easy to use.

Pros: None

Cons: Perfect fit Easy to operate

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Covington, IN on 8/3/2020

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works really well, give me the hands free calling that it now state required. I like how you can adjust the colors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 7/28/2020

1993 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Petrolia, CA on 7/21/2020

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Deck! would reccemend, awesome features and sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Much Thanks !

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/1/2020

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my original radio, that came with my truck, with is very affordable one. An identical replacement radio with CD was going to cost me twice what I paid for this JVC. So not only was I going to save money, I got a lot of features that I could never have gotten on the original replacement radio. So much thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit with great sound

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 6/27/2020

2006 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this radio to be nicer than what I expected. Extremely clean sound, and loads of options to adjust to my preferences. FM reception was much better than my stock unit. Pairing with my Android 9.x phone was very easy, and phone calls using the included microphone didn't have any issues. I have not tried pairing with another phone yet. I have not used it with the included Alexa feature, as I don't use Amazon for anything. Bluetooth through the phone was perfectly fine and worked with Google Music without issue. I have not tried Spotify yet. I didn't hear any complaints with the quality of calls when using it. I adjusted the echo cancellation to "2" and the mic gain to "2", which seems to work in my sedan. The one complaint is that the LCD is very dim in bright sunlight. Overcast days it is more readable. Switching folders on USB using the up and down button on the radio shows Folder 01, Folder 02, etc, but paradoxically, pressing the search button and navigating shows the folder names. The included EQ presets work very well, and after adjusting the speaker sizes to what your vehicle has makes for a much richer and full sound. Overall I recommend this.

Pros: Sound adjustment

Cons: Display brightness during sunny days

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Lynden, WA on 6/21/2020

2006 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo works great. Installed in a 2006 Chevy Equinox. Has about double the power of factory unit, pushes stock speakers to peak!

Pros: USB, AUX, Bluetooth, CD, etc.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Albertville, AL on 6/20/2020

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nice unit with a lot of features I can still play all my CD's Got the Sirius XM add on and love it

Pros: Easy fit for my truck Screen is user friendly

Cons: Came with no manual Had to go on internet to get the features

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Ottawa, KS on 6/14/2020

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Horrible tuner. Only tunes about half of the stations i received with my factory head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/17/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Pinellas Park, FL on 6/8/2020

2007 Kia Spectra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed...Awsome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Basile, LA on 6/2/2020

1989 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it!! Awesome sound!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Makawao, HI on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this unit so much, this is my 3rd time purchading it. I have had it in 2 of my work vans and now in my own ride. I feel its user friendly, and works well for bluetooth, and streaming music

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good stereo

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo, good sound, good improvement! I had Cructchfield tech team put the wire harness together for my car before it arrived. Well worth it! Buddy at Cructchfield was wonderful to work with for this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Basic stereo at a good price. Tuner is weak.

Crutchfield customer from Vadito, NM on 5/3/2020

2002 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced the old stereo in my wife's car which had problems with the display blacking out or showing partial characters. This JVC is a basic stereo but nice looking with some added features like bluetooth and a USB port. Unfortunately the tuner is weak and could only tune in half the stations the old stereo did. After a week my wife had enough and asked for the old one back. So I removed this one and it will sit in its box until we have another vehicle that has a worse stereo than this one.

Pros: Price, Bluetooth and USB

Cons: Weak tuner

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

ERICKA Tess from Kingsport, TN on 5/2/2020

2010 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, love the color options, and having the ability to adjust nearly ever aspect of how it sounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A very great buy! Sounds awesome, lots of functionality, and fun.

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, VA on 4/28/2020

2007 Kia Sedona

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio as is a super great buy! It has a fun color scheme, but the sound is incredible. I am a lead guitarist with over 33 years experience playing the guitar and with that I have a good ear for sound I feel. The options for adjusting the sound are great and compared to the factory radio in our 2007 Kia Sedona van that I installed it in... wow! The stock speakers sound wonderful with this unit. Crutchfield is the best place to buy your radio as they can supply the ready cable and any hardware that you need to make the install easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Newton Falls, OH on 4/18/2020

2010 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent radio. Haven't had long enough to give it 5 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good price

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 4/15/2020

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed, fixed bad radio and pushes my speakers a lot better..

Pros: Easy to use functions.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great

aNdy from Glouster, OH on 4/9/2020

2007 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound easy to use and I'm 46 I installed this in my 07 sport trac with kicker day 6x8 and it sounds great the base makes my out side mirrors vibrate no amp yet but soon there will be Rockford amp for highs and a Rockford 500a2 on 2 p3sd4 -10 subs from crutchfield also having a box made for them now by soundoffaudio .com sub box can't wait !thanks crutchfield been dealing with them since 1992 always pleased thanks again!!

Pros: Great sound easy to use

Cons: Clock lost time once no biggy tho seems ok now

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2002 Buick Full range system on a budget

Crutchfield fan from Topeka, KS on 4/8/2020

2009 Nissan Cube

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still learning to control and adjust this unit. The initial impressions are out of this world . Installation was smooth, I wired the harness first actually had to solder the connection as I ran out of crimp connectors. Did not want to venture out into public for them. The dash modifications seemed daunting. With the help of a drill and hack saw blade it was easy enough. Looks like a professional install and it only cost 2 skinned knuckes . I could not be more pleased with my budget system. This was my 2nd unassisted install.

Pros: Looks like it came with the car All instructions were clear Enough power to wake up the speakers Clarity of sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC CD RECEIVER

Crutchfield customer from LEOMINSTER, MA on 4/5/2020

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY NICE AFFORDABLE REPLACEMENT UNIT!

Pros: EASY INSTALL WITH WIRING HARNESS AND ADAPTER KIT...ONE CALL AND RUDY HAD ME POINTED IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION (THANKS MUCH!)

Cons: NEED TO TWIST A COUPLE WIRES TOGETHER THAT YOU WOULDN'T INTUITIVELY THINK BUT RUDY WENT OVER EVERY CONNECTION WITH ME ON THE PHONE AND GOT IT DONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stop looking-this one is well done and affordable

Crutchfield customer from Wellsburg, NY on 3/31/2020

2012 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying this stereo. Installation was very easy. Used the crutchfield service to have the wiring harness already done. WELL worth the cost. Plug and play basically. Tuner receives stations we never got with oem stereo or other brand we tried before this. Sound is wonderful out of the box, plenty of bass. Audio controls to adjust anything if needed. Display is excellent with colors and readout can be seen well even in sunlight. Cd plays quickly after insert as does the usb device. Have not tried Alexa as of yet. Highly recommend this car stereo.

Pros: Display is easy to see even in sunlight... Overall sound is excellent with plenty of bass... Simple installation... Radio antenna pulls in even the hard to get stations... Nice assortment of colors for lighting... BT connects easily and works well...

Cons: None really...

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Rogersville, TN on 3/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding, upgraded vehicle with quality sound, hands free phone, easy to use, all steering wheels buttons work as they should, best value, streaming Spotify daily, love it!

Pros: Best bang for your buck, easy to use, quality sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

You get what you paid for.

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 3/10/2020

2014 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy installation in my 2014 Grand Caravan. Note: I didn't have to cut the bracket behind the radio, I was able to bend them out of the way. The unit works fine. Bluetooth connectivity is lost if you turn car off and takes a little while to reconnect to the device. I do wish the numbers on the display were bolder, the white clock in daylight is dim even at brightest setting. Also I wish the clock could be on all the time even with Bluetooth to my phone. Or at least via push button. All in all, an inexperienced replacement for the stock stereo that didn't have Bluetooth. The kids like all the choices of colors for the display trim.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Christopher from KNOXVILLE, TN on 3/3/2020

2005 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not too happy with it at the moment. I wasnt expecting the greatest radio at this price point and my JVC loyalty can be a burden at times, but wife wanted a physical knob doesnt like the touch screens. That being said the Menu functions are apain and all over the place, making this hard to fine tune as well. The first unit was not DOA but close to it when volume would go up around 20 or better everything would clip out. Reinstalled without any factory wiring and good new speakers and got the same results. Julia at Crutchfield was super awesome and sent one that arrived in a couple days and a return label to get it back to them without me paying. As frustrating as it was she made it a little easier. New one arrived and doesnt have this issue but did damage a new set of speakers at low volume still not sure why and wont know until I get credit and am able to order new speakers for the vehicle. The speakers were overated for the stereo no way it should have happened may have been unlucky and got three bad pieces in the first go but that seems unlikely. I dont know whats happened to the JVC brand but just feels cheap now. will give it a couple more weeks and update review if able but as of right now its probably going to be returned and replaced by another brand.

Pros: -Physical volume and menu knob -easy button placement -looks good in factory double din slot

Cons: -Feels cheap -colors can be annoying and tedious to set up -Menus are scattered and difficult to navigate -Knob can be touch and double click on its own making menus frustrating -sound quality tapers off a lot as volume goes up and have to tune with any new genres of music making it annoying when wife wants country and I want rock

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Atascadero, CA on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for the money. Sales staff and support staff were excellent. Installation needed a few questions answered and the support person was able to provide answers with minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-R940BTS

Crutchfield customer from Worton, MD on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I want. Has push buttons and a knob, and I can totally operate it when wearing gloves. Many canned equalizer settings or roll your own. Not so complicated as to be impossible to learn for an old guy like me. BT works fine with phone. Only surprise is that even if my iPhone music is paused, when I start the car and select BT, my music will start playing by itself - the JVC tells my phone to start playing. Bit annoying but not worth dropping a star.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP