Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
360 744 73
Connect ID #
360 744 73
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

JVC KW-V830BT

DVD receiver

MFR # KW-V830BT

JVC KW-V830BT

JVC KW-V830BT

DVD receiver

MFR # KW-V830BT

46 reviews
View this product

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Woodward, OK on 7/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo installed easily with the supplied kit and it is nice to have CarPlay so distractions are limited while driving. The display is easy to see and user friendly with the touch screen. This purchase was worth every penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome with Android Auto

Carlos from Port Hueneme, CA on 7/28/2018

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Installed on my 2006 Toyota Tacoma. Specifically wanted Sirius and Android Auto. Had issues getting that to work, had to call in to Crutchfield's awesome support and got it going. Once everything was where it needed to be, my Note 8 and JVC work seamlessly. Everything I needed and huge savings for installing it myself. I have not tried any DVD's yet but so far this baby has exceeded my expectations.

Pros: Android auto, bluetooth, DVD/CD, SiriusXM,

Cons: It was a hassle getting everything connected and installed properly.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love it!

Michael B from Meadowview, VA on 7/27/2018

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the head unit. It looks great and sounds great with the Pioneer speakers I added. I am still learning all the features on it, and there is a lot. Had to call Crutchfield several times and they walked me through the setup issues with no problems. I added a backup camera and the Idata Meastro to link up with the Sync system in the Ford truck. The camera is great with it and the Meastro is doing its thing, but the Sync in my truck has been a headache from the get go. Front speakers don't work most of the time, but now with the new unit I can use my phone to call using the Bluetooth on the JVC instead of the Sync. I was hoping this would fix the speaker issue, but it must be in the connector between the cab and the door. Seems to be an issue with F150's. Thanks Crutchfield, y'all are great!

Pros: Sounds great, looks great, lots of features, big screen

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Camden Wyoming, DE on 7/22/2018

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio arrived in excellent condition. Installation was easy as pie. I would definitely buy another radio.

Pros: Install was very easy. Even on a 2003 Jeep Wrangler. It was necessary to cut out part of the dash. But everything went well.

Cons: None that I can think of. Very happy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/22/2018

2015 Toyota Yaris

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better sound quality from stock stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from AR on 7/14/2018

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this head unit in a 2012 Jeep Wrangler. This head unit is exactly what I was looking for. I was a little concerned about the screen brightness after I read some of the reviews. I'm happy to say there is not an issue with the brightness. It's a great head unit for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Avon, IN on 7/11/2018

2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this radio before switching out the speakers, holy crap that made a huge difference. I almost considered not upgrading the speakers, but since I already spent the cash I put them in. The radio is fairly easy to use, although using it with Maestro, if you need to go back and change a setting after initial setup, you can't without re-initializing (resetting) the system. That's my only issue with it, but it sounds great and is easy to use.

Pros: Great stereo for the money.

Cons: No way (that I've found so far) to correct set up errors through the radio after initial setup is complete.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Steve from Williamsburg, VA on 7/2/2018

1999 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy installation with the instructions provided.

Pros: Great sound. Easy installation

Cons: Screen is a little hard to see in direct sunlight, but don't know how that could be fixed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly Recommended

Frank from Colts Neck, NJ on 6/30/2018

2008 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Excellent receiver!

Pros: Easy install on 2008 Corvette Good interface for steering wheel controls

Cons: Chime a bit annoying

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver

Shay from Edwardsville, IL on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. This receiver is perfect all around. Did care for the first item i purchased and crutchfield was great and the exchange went faster than expected.

Pros: The system was very well thought out. The functions and layout is perfect. It produces the sound perfect. Autoplay for both systems is awesome!!

Cons: Figuring out a way to connect the steering wheel buttons without having to tap into wire in the car

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound!

Jon from Okolona, MS on 6/3/2018

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a easy installation. It sounds great A lot better than my stock radio. I still have to learn about how to use it.

Pros: Sounds great easy installation

Cons: Remote is hard to figure out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 6/2/2018

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really loving this stereo so far. Purchased and installed myself just before a cross country road trip. Was great to have streaming music, hands free and gps. Would purchase again for my other vehicles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT FIT..

JAE from Pflugerville, TX on 5/21/2018

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SO FAR SO GOOD, REPLACED THE P.O.S. 4x2 in I had in my 2014 f150xlt, WITH this STEREO, AND I absolutely love it, a lot of people SAY the interface is DIFFULT TO use, BUT I found it QUIET EASY to use, hooks UP to my phone via Bluetooth REALLY well, I have a Samsung s7 EDGE, sounds great, looks great... The wireless controls are user friendly, YOU can hear AND make calls EASILY , AND THE Mic is pretty cool to. PRETTY CLEAR TO..

Pros: EVERYTHING WORKS REALLY WELL

Cons: NONE SO FAR

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/20/2018

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Two weeks since I installed it, Very good product, everything works. Easy to install also you can ask a technical support and they are very helpful.

Pros: Works well.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Cameron from Windsor, CO on 5/17/2018

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good internal amp, kicks the stock speakers up a notch. Easy to install. Too much reflective glare, windows will get tinted darker soon, so I can live with it. The scratch and dent price was the same as a new unit else where... But saved money getting the adapters through CF, plus the piece of mind of great support.

Pros: Sounds good, easy functionability, clean look in dash

Cons: Reflective glare from sun. Kind of a hassle to get the extra adapter to mirror phone to unit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Shawn from Texas on 5/15/2018

2009 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this product after researching for a month. Crutchfield had a great deal I couldn't pass up. Installation was easy and easy set up. Love the look it brings to my truck and the maestro integrated everything great. I would definitely recommend this head unit if you can get it for a great price. JVC is owned by Kenwood so the decks have a lot of the same internals and are quality. Love this unit.

Pros: Easy install, easy set up, big bright display, lots of eq options, Bluetooth connectivity is fantastic

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Factory look. Reasonable price.

Ben from Florence, AL on 4/9/2018

2010 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit for my wife's 2010 Malibu. She had been wanting me to install a back-up camera for some time and this unit had all the features that she wanted. I added a BandMotion back-up camera and a SXV300 SiriusXM tuner. The installation was a breeze thanks to the advanced ReadyHarness and dash kit from Crutchfield. The unit looks as though it came stock in the vehicle. I made one call to Tech Support for clarification on a wiring issue. I got through immediately to a technician that answered my question. The JVC has a great display; large easy to read graphics and BIG clock display. The controls are easy to figure out and use without a lot of reading of the manual. I used the factory speakers and everything sounds great! Getting everything from Crutchfield was the way to go. Everything was shipped in one box so when I got ready for the install, it was all there. Everything met or exceeded my expectations. Great product!

Pros: Nice clean look. All the features you want and then some. Easy to navigate the controls on the screen. Apple Car Play is a great feature.

Cons: A little awkward to switch over to the SiriusXM tuner, but not a big issue. Other than that, no complaints.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the price

Eric from Casper, WY on 4/8/2018

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit for price. Bluetooth phone connection echos for person On other end.

Pros: Good pic easy to use. Good Bluetooth connection for music

Cons: Talking on phone with Bluetooth is very annoying for person on other end.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo

Jeff from Oak Ridge, TN on 4/6/2018

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought stereo for 09 Chevy Z71 LTZ. Wanted backup camera for truck and wanted to update stereo. Great choice it was better than expected.

Pros: Love that it's apple play! Makes speakers sound great. Gives truck brand new look.

Cons: Wish stereo face was flush with mounting faceplate.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Unit

John E from Fairfax, VA on 4/3/2018

2006 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted to use Apple Car Play in my 2006 Mazda Miata and this unit is almost perfect. Connects via blue tooth and the Apple Car Play quickly. Interface is fairy easy to learn but a bit busy because the unit allows so many options and inputs. Sound quality is better than the OEM unit (no surprise here) using the factory speakers. I managed to buy the unit on a one day sale.

Pros: What was said in the main review.

Cons: Not sure this is competitively priced compared to other units at that price point. But for what I paid it is fine.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Gift

Amy from Telford, PA on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a gift for our daughter. The factory bluetooth and factory USB port did not work with her iphone. So we had this unit installed to make her hands free driving a better experience. She loves the apple car play and the bluetooth is a must. She also loves the CD player. Overall this unit has everything that we were looking for.

Pros: Apple car play

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Could not be more satisfied

RCMAZ from Phoenix, AZ on 3/31/2018

2002 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased. After spending quite a bit of time researching different units, I had settled on this one. In general, I discounted most of the criticisms as being nit-picky (e.g., yes, when the angle is just right the glare makes the display difficult to see -- isn't that true for everything?) or probable installation error. With all the capabilities, some may find the learning curve is rather steep but well worth the effort. All other things being equal, I probably would have made the purchase elsewhere, mainly out of habit. I kept returning to Crutchfield and found this on sale for less and had no hesitation in buying. In addition to the lower cost, the guidance and support from Crutchfield is something none of the other vendors provide and very reassuring. While I am fairly handy, I had some trepidation at the thought of dismantling part of the dash and running the wiring for the XM tuner, the GPS antenna, and a couple other items. The installation instructions (vehicle specific) provided by Crutchfield were detailed and the install went smoothly without the need to call tech support. In summary, I could not be more pleased with the JVC 830, the price, and the interactions with the Crutchfield operation. While price will always be a prime factor, Crutchfield will now be the first source I look to for future electronic purchases.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Looks good. Not what I was expecting

Tom from Staunton, VA on 3/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not at all thrilled with this product. The Android Care is a bit of a bother to use. I don't find the interface to be very user friendly and I found it difficult to learn. The actually radio gets good reception and the sound is nice. Using my phone and that data all the time is a problem if I am driving, yet it restricts some functions even when I am not driving. My recommendation is to get the navigation system that is built INTO the new install, instead of needing to use my phone for the navigation, Spotify, or for the phone. I continue to struggle with BT disconnecting and other minor issues.

Pros: Good sound. Looks good in the dash. Was a special offer from Crutchfield.

Cons: Not user friendly. A challenge to learn. Not a stand alone navigation unit, though it is close to the price of one.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Eau Claire, WI on 3/28/2018

2013 Volkswagen Tiguan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I received the stereo it wouldn't power on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Easton, PA on 3/28/2018

2008 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this HU last Saturday and my son is very happy as the OEM stereo had no BT option. Now he can access his music thru Spotify vs. listening to that dreaded dinosaur known as FM radio. My wife and I are happy as he can now plug his iPhone in and connect to Apple CarPlay to access everything while his phone stays in the holder. Like one of the other reviewers I did not realize Apple CarPlay or Android Auto was not accessible via BT. However, this is easily remedied by connecting the phone to one of the provided USB extension cords but does require some thought on how you want to run the cords for access to the phone(s). It is easy to navigate through the menus and the sound is very good playing through the OEM Bose amp and speakers.

Pros: Easy to navigate menus, safety factor of using Apple CarPlay or Android Auto while driving, sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 3/28/2018

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product was perfect! The sound is perfect for my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 3/28/2018

2010 Mitsubishi Galant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one of my best purchases so far. I love what this radio offers it easy to navigate and sounds great even with the factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the price

Marcus from Lake Stevens, WA on 3/28/2018

2012 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value on sale. Sounds great and easy to install. Touch screen is a bit finicky. Volume buttons are a bit small.

Pros: Easy install, numerous adjustments, great sound

Cons: Screen can be a bit finicky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Center, ND on 3/28/2018

2001 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does more than I expected for the price. Android auto is awesome! Added a backup camera and couldn't be happier.

Pros: Price, android auto, sound

Cons: Only con I have found is that you can not use the touch screen to control volume while on android auto. You have to use volume buttons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jeep Wrangler Unlimited w/ Alpine System Upgrade

Christopher S. from Lehighton, PA on 3/19/2018

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is exactly what I was hoping for in an upgrade for my 2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. Due to an impending cross-country move, I decided it best to have it professionally installed by a third party chain to ensure I have support if things go awry. As for the features, they're great! (I was slightly disappointed that AndroidAuto is not completely Bluetooth, but it is probably for the best.) Additionally, hands-free is still available outside AndroidAuto for music and placing calls. Since my wife uses Apple, we wanted to see how the unit responded to my phone being plugged into the main USB and her's to the auxiliary. I'm happy to say, it doesn't mess anything up and allows her phone to be connected as an iPod, which is perfect for the majority of our needs. I'm still adjusting to the unit, but have an issue with Google Maps/Waze switching to Night Time Mode. I discovered that when it fails to sync properly, you can turn on the display dimmer to force change it. Minor issue, but figured it is worth noting. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase and that I have life warranty through both Crutchfield and the third party brand.

Pros: Google Assistant (hands-free), Bluetooth Connectivity (calls & music when not connected to Android Auto), Apple Phone connects as iPod when Android Auto is connected

Cons: Need to connect phone for AndroidAuto, Google Maps/Waze Night Time Mode doesn't auto-sync (can force by engaging unit's dimmer)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good solid head unit

Goodkat from Wilmer, AL on 3/15/2018

2006 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an easy install and so far no disappointments, many bells and whistles to play with.

Pros: Layout of the screen menus navigates easily and room to attach other hardware.

Cons: Nope

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing quality

Paul from Weston, OH on 3/13/2018

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not be happier with radio and customer service from crutchfield!

Pros: Picture quality, sound,options.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 3/2/2018

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely fabulous! Easy install, great functionality, perfect for daughter's car!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Lawton, OK on 2/4/2018

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Works very well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

KEVIN from Peoria, AZ on 1/31/2018

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install in a 2010 Chevy Silverado. Picture quality is amazing. Easy to update firmware to latest version. Big improvement in sound over OEM headunit using OEM speakers. Can only imagine sound will improve more once speakers are replaced. Love the Android Auto and Apple CarPlay support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Sound Quality Upgrade

Dave from Rockville, MD on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this JVC unit in my 2011 Chevy Traverse because the stock DVD, CD, and navigation functions were failing. I was not looking for, or expecting better sound. However, even with the stock speakers, the sound quality is stunning; jaw dropping. You would think Bruce is singing from the passenger seat and Max Weinberg has his kit set up on the dash. Even my surly 17 year-old said, "Wow, how does a head unit make that much of a difference?" I am still learning all the features, but I wish this unit would display the channel names on the presets (like the OEM). It also seems for now I can't have one list of presets that can include XM and FM channels on the same set. So, I have to switch the source to FM to get 16 presets there. Then if I want XM I have to switch over to XM to get a mere six presets. So I can't have the local NPR FM station on the same set of presets as XM Ozzie's Boneyard and ESPN. Bluetooth (no cable) broadcast of all the Spotify playlists on my phone is a great feature. I understand now why some head units don't need to play CDs. This unit can (a feature I need for work). Thought I would miss a volume knob but swirling your finger on the screen either clockwise or counter-clockwise works great.

Pros: Big sound upgrade even with stock speakers. Dual zone functions to play DVDs in backseat for the kids. Retain most steering wheel controls with idatalink Maestro. Flexible ability to move screen icons as desired.

Cons: Not all steering wheel controls retained with idatalink Maestro.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The touchscreen worked well, but the interface with the camera was ter

Crutchfield customer from Elkton, MD on 11/22/2017

2017 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Back-up Camera is completely useless when it comes to trying to aim your vehicle into a parking spot the only thing it is good for is to see if there is anyone or anything behind you. That was a disappointment.

Pros: Good sounds, Android Auto works well, intuitive interface.

Cons: Crappy backup camera

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 11/14/2017

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my Fj cruiser. The 07 doesn't have the Bluetooth connection to use phone. This unit allows me to not only use phone but stream music, answer texts and use wayz or Google maps for navigation (using Android auto). For the novice like me I recommend using Crutchfield to build the wiring harness.. Rest of install was a breeze. Couldn't be happier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 10/8/2017

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with so many options it can become a bit overwhelming when setting up. Has every option I wanted and needed and then some.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Dimondale, MI on 9/18/2017

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it.. fits nicely in my 2008 jeep jku.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Grants Pass, OR on 9/8/2017

2011 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to use.. lots of options. love the text by voice.. my women loves it.. like the use of crossovers I side unit.. good balance for her system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Crystal Clear Picture

Randail from North Lauderdale, FL on 8/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is AWESOME, has a great screen and reaction time. Android Auto is my new best-friend when it comes to traveling!!! Playing with the unit U can now press the button to the far right and you're now one-click away from the Home screen. I plugged in my 4TB drive and the movie played right away with GREAT picture quality for a car radio, almost looks like I'm watching a mini version of my 4K TV LOL

Pros: The ability to have a full screen and no more volume knobs. It's ALL SCREEN and I LOVE IT. To be able to touch & drag the icons as if it was a smartphone is also pretty cool when it comes to personalizing the Home screen shortcuts

Cons: Endless amounts of features, still learning as I type!! NO CONS as of now

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Rory from Bloomington, IL on 8/27/2017

2010 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this thing

Pros: I love all the options. I had it professionally installed. I love it. I could not justify paying for the Alpine wireless apple CarPlay. I love this stereo

Cons: I need to learn more about all the options

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

JVC KW-V830BT

Crutchfield customer from Abilene, TX on 7/10/2017

2014 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from my oem unit. I didn't realize Apple CarPlay only worked through a USB connection but I know that's an Apple thing and I still like the unit. I like the volume control on the screen and the functionality of the menus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great CarPlay Value

William from Meridian, MS on 5/19/2017

2005 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a CarPlay head unit to replace my old nav receiver. I originally got the 820 but had to return it as it would constantly re-boot. The newer 830 replaces the 820 and includes updated software and a better UI. I listen to a lot of podcasts, SiriusXM (Howard Stern and other talk channels) and jazz, so, having an external amplifier and high-powered speakers wasn't a criteria for my compact '05 Toyota Matrix XRS. Even so, I wanted a receiver with more power than the traditional 12W per channel output. The Kenwood/JVC receivers typically are more powerful, and at 22W/50W per channel, the 830 is among the most powerful CarPlay receivers, currently available in this price range, so it was the obvious choice. I had previously installed Polk speakers and a single 8" Kicker sub and the 830's integrated power amplifier is plenty to fill my car with good, full-range audio. After configuring the crossover and sub levels, I haven't been able to run the unit past 50%. If you listen to R&B, rock or other types of music that require more level, an external amplifier and more powerful speakers are a must, but for me, the 830 has plenty of power. CarPlay is great and I love not having to fumble for my phone while driving. I am a firm believer in distraction-free driving and CarPlay has been a great addition to iOS. Having to use a cable is a minor hassle, but until there is widespread wireless integration with CarPlay, there is no other option.

Pros: CarPlay integration is great. Updated software w/faster performance. Good UI and easy to use. Good audio configuration options and a flexible crossover. More powerful amplifier than most receivers. Supports phone use via Bluetooth for those times I'm lazy and don't plug in my phone for CarPlay phone use. Physical master audio level (volume) control. Physical function/Siri button control.

Cons: Physical audio master (volume) is great, but it's an up/down button configuration. Would prefer a rotary control, but I'm nitpicking. Touchscreen could be more responsive. Too many steps to get to the Home screen. The Siri button is on the right (far) side of the unit.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Justin from Jupiter, FL on 5/2/2017

2015 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Receiver, I installed it in a 2015 F250 XLT. As always, Crutchfield Tech Support is helpful! I used a iDatalink to maintain steering wheel controls. I also added a backup camera. Great unit, easy to use. The only issue I have is seeing the backup camera with my sunglasses on. Might be due to polarization on sunglasses and/or the fact that the unit is flush on the dash (i.e. not inset 1/2 like most factory installed systems). I really like the CD player because I still use CD in addition to my phone, Pandora, etc. Apple Play works great. iDatalink gives tons of vehicle info that connects direct to the OBS.

Pros: CD player, Apple Play, Vehicle Info with iDatalink

Cons: Screen glare with sunglasses

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

TOP