Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
832 592 54
Connect ID #
832 592 54
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio 70-RT

In-ceiling speaker

MFR # AW1170-A

Polk Audio 70-RT

Polk Audio 70-RT

In-ceiling speaker

MFR # AW1170-A

41 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Florissant, MO on 6/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful speakers. The best that I have had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are good, but the 90 RTs are better. The 90 RTs can stand by themselves. If you are going to use the 70RTs I would suggest including a subwoofer in your setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic sound clarity.

Crutchfield customer from Bel Air, MD on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was tired of having a soundbar in the bedroom and wanted to elevate the sound quality in the room. Room is 28' wide, 18' deep, and 9.5' high. I put 4 of these in the ceiling daisy chained 2 L and 2 R into a 100Wx2 Fosi Audio TPA3116. I have 2 bluetooth connections setup (Nvidia Shield and Google Mini). Shield is for TV/Movies and Mini is for "Hey G, play some music". The Fosi Audio will drive 2 per channel easily at half volume on the dial. The clarity is astounding and I could not be happier with the sound quality upgrade. The only nitpicking con I could think of would be the crossover board on the back being a weird shape and making installation just take an extra couple seconds of positioning to get it into the hole. I had a 6.5" hole saw and the installation took me running the saw around in the hole for a few seconds additional to make it just slightly over 6.5" to accommodate the install. Hands down I would recommend these speakers.

Pros: Amazing sound clarity. Speaker angle lends itself well to being out slightly wider sound stage and directed inward to listening position.

Cons: Be careful installing with crossover board on the back. Hole needs to be ever so slightly larger than 6.5"

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Forest Hill, MD on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed 4 of these 70-RT's in my new construction basement bar area They are powered by a Sonos Amp. They are crystal clear for ceiling speakers. Have great high's and mid. I do run a sub with them, so not worried about low-end. The magnetic grille looks super clean once installed. Very happy with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Ten Mile, TN on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. Bought two more for another room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Spicewood, TX on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speaker. Just what expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to install with great look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ATMOS to pair with 80F/X-RT as surrounds.

Samuel from Weddington, NC on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a review more of the process as I have not installed these in the new home. I wanted to outfit a new great room with a good AV system. This room is not ideal for a media room, it has a woodstove in center thus off setting the TV to a side on a 17' wall in a 20'x17' room. The room has a 14' vaulted ceiling with one side wall along an exterior. I wanted to use Polk speakers as I remember those from my high school and college days. I determined several choices of what I thought I wanted including ATMOS ability. Colby, my advisor, helped me narrow down to my final choices. We also talked through the use of in wall versus book shelf speakers for the front and in ceiling versus in wall for the certain speakers. Ultimately I elected to go with bookshelf speakers for the front left, right, and center to allow some flexibility in setting these up. I decided on 80F/X-RT for the rear surrounds. For ATMOS in ceiling and to match the grills of the 80F/X-RT Colby helped me select the 70-RT to pair well. Though a different diameter of about 5" the appearance of the grill is similar. Because of exterior windows and doors the in ceiling should work well. I am now going to create some speaker back boxes for my in ceiling speakers. I don't feel comfortable with leaving the electronics exposed to blown in insulation and the attic area environment. This is not suggested/required.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Eagle, ID on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great!

Pros: Look great.

Cons: The speaker requires depth .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm impressed

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed 4 of these in my garage. Right out of the box with a flat EQ. They sounds amazing. Yes I still had the sub plugged in (Def Tech Supercube 2000) but I was impressed. Full sound without being harsh or missing too much tone. Waiting for them to break in so I can turn them with my spectrum reader with some pink noise. Happy and tickled with the purchase. Saw them on sale and had to jump. Had Def Tech AW5500 (2 of them) in my garage before...now those will go to the patio. Tone wise...I would say they are close to being on par.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Davenport, FL on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased 2 70-RTs as rear surrounds and so far have been pleased with how balanced the vanishing series sound. I am putting with a Yamaha A-780. The installation is very straight forward. And the grilles look great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

HC from Land O Lakes, FL on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these in a Polk Audio RTi A7 HT setup. I needed in-ceiling surrounds for my 5.1 setup. These sound great powered by a Marantz SR5014 & MM7055. Would highly recommend ONLY if you have clearance above the ceiling. They are tall but fit my needs perfectly.

Pros: Great in-ceiling surround speakers.

Cons: They are tall so be sure you have the space above the drywall.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional value

Crutchfield customer from Moseley, VA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers. Low ends are a bit to be desired but overall well worth the price for a great surround sound speaker. My 2 year old says our living room goes "boom boom boom" now.

Pros: Looks great installed. Price is right. Plenty of power.

Cons: Low end is a bit lacking.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used as rears in 5.1

Pros: Easy install, solid sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound in a surround system setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stealth Installation with Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Brookeville, MD on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was pretty simple (installed in bedroom ceiling via attic) but it is a big speaker (on the backside) so plan at least 8-9" of clearance behind ceiling. Also installed a speaker cover (i.e. fabric bag around back to keep insulation, dust and bugs off). I have it connected to a new Sonos Amp and sound quality is excellent! Base is not too strong but I have a small powered yamaha sub that fills in the low notes perfectly. Stereo imaging is outstanding with crystal clear mids and highs. Would be 5-stars if base was a bit more punchy but hard to fault given an infinite baffle with no tuned box.

Pros: High Quality, crystal clear mids and highs, Great Imaging for 2-channel stereo

Cons: A little week on low base and requires significant back clearance

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

awesome speakers

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome sound. easy to install

Pros: very easy to install if you have a dremmel

Cons: need to find a creative way to keep ceiling insulation off of the woofer

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

Dennis from Muldoon, TX on 2/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers for a new home my wife and I are building. We are probably about 4 months from actually installing them in the new home. For this reason, I hooked everything together to 55" TV and blue ray player to make sure of the working condition of the components. Sound awesome sitting just 4' apart. There is no doubt that this equipment will give us exactly what we were looking for . Thank to Cole for all of the help in putting together this system. Items purchased together: 1 Ea - Denon AVR Model S64OH 1 Ea - Polk Audio In-Wall Dual Center Channel 255C-RT 2 Ea - Polk Audio In-Wall Daul 265-RT (Front R&L) 2 Ea - Polk Audio 6-1/2"; 70-RT (Rear R&L) 1 Ea - Klipsch R-100SW 10" Powered Sub-Woofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers

Todd from Denver, CO on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought two of these for our new home in 2012. I prewired prior to drywall, did my location layout after we moved in, cut the holes in the living room ceiling drywall, and installed the pair in an hour--super easy. Rear surround effects are great and these blend well with our Polk RTi A7s and CSi A6 center up front. These speakers are a great value, but their enclosures do require a lot of room above the drywall--about 8". Could these speakers use a backbox? Maybe, but the back of this pair is open to the attic and I've got zero complaints about their frequency response in the room. Since we really like the living room speaker array, we decided to use the same set up in our newly constructed basement theater space. We have the same RTi A7 and CSi A6 speakers along with a pair of Polk 65-RT speakers for in-wall side surrounds and four 70-RT speakers in the ceiling. That rounds out a 5.2.4 Atmos set up that we have really enjoyed. For this install, I did use the installation kits (plastic straps/ring), but the drywall crew broke both straps at one location and caused a bit of an issue trying to install the one speaker. For the price I would expect something more robust to withstand the abuse it might endure during construction. If I had to do it over again, before drywall I would have checked to make sure I would miss ceiling joists and mounted the speakers without the rings...and saved $100. These are great speakers and a great value!

Pros: Great frequency response and detailed sound Easy to install Paintable magnetic grille Match well with the RTi-series speakers

Cons: Require considerable depth for install

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 1/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They crush it!

Pros: Sleek and sexy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Polk RT 70s

Mark from El Dorado Hls , CA on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Polk RT 70s or easy to install saved hundreds by being able to install myself

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 6/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and nice sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Nice Ceiling Speakers

Brian from Miami, FL on 4/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I researched many in ceiling speakers and after much debate, I ordered four of the 70RT's for my living room. They are used just for music, and they sound great. The 5 X 7 woofer does a great job with mid bass and punches enough deep bass with some volume. I am powering them with an AudioSource AMP-310 and they perform better than I expected. Well worth the money!

Pros: Easy installation, great sound and clean appearance!

Cons: They are over 8" deep, just keep that mind for shallow installations!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Joe from Germantown, MD on 3/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little skeptical of using in-ceiling speakers. After numerous calls to the fabulous Crutchfield team, I landed on 3 of these for the L-C-R i used the 70-RT's for the rear. I haven't had too long to enjoy them for movies. But, for music, they do a really nice job. And they aren't taking up valuable floor space where my wife can put stuff...lol Haven't added the sub yet. Probably in the next few weeks. I'll copy this review into the 70-RT field as well. Thanks Team Crutchfield! great advice as always!!

Pros: great sounding as rear surrounds

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed throughout my house and the sound is very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Trenton from Powell, wy on 10/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great! Very very clean sounding with easy installation. I run these with an older onkyo model and I can't turn them up all the way with out getting blasted out of the room! Very good speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Movie theater quality

HG from Houston, TX on 8/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great outstanding sound ever, polk hut a home run with this speaker! Not that many affordable 3 way ceiling speakers out there but this one is a must have!

Pros: the sound Is clear as can be and the magnetic screen is very helpful

Cons: It's a little big, needs about 8 inches of clearance in ur ceiling

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

B. Black from Hayward, CA on 6/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, I must admit that I am a huge Polk Audio fan. In fact, this is my fifth 5.1 system built using Polk Audio speakers. Since my new home was prewired for in-ceiling speakers, I decided to give the Polk Audio 70-RT speakers a try. Initially, I chose 620-RT, but I decided to step up to the 70-RT because I wanted the clarity that 3-way speakers usually provide. I installed 5 70-RT speakers (LF, Center, RF, LS, and RS) Sunday pairing them with a 10-inch Velodyne subwoofer and a Marantz SR5010 receiver. The system sounds great and my wife loves the near invisibility of the system. Since the speakers have only been installed for a couple days, I only gave them 4/5 stars. I'll update the review after everything is calibrated and broken in.

Pros: crisp highs, in ceiling mount means happy wife, good low end response considering the size and enclosure

Cons: deep mounting depth might be a problem for some

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Overkill for rear surround

jpw from California on 11/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these in spite of advice to use smaller, cheaper speakers for rear surround. I should have heeded the advice. These seem like perfectly fine speakers. Can you resist buying what's appropriate when you could buy fancy? I couldn't. I'll take consolation when watching movie scenes featuring bullets whizzing by. The rest of the time I'll forget they're there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70RT

HenryN from California on 10/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were easy to install and sound amazing! I love them and they help make my surrounnd system sound terrific.

Pros: Easy install template, great rich sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 3/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and a great sound for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Crutchfield customer from Illinois on 1/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Kody from Houston, TX on 3/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a great speaker. I worked with Crutchfield to set up what I needed and it sound awesome. Great highs and mids. I am using with denon avr 887.

Pros: Great speaker at a great price. Easy install comes with templet you need for mounting

Cons: I don't have any cons could not be happier with purchase. Or support. Buyer for life

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

bobby from oregon on 2/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome clarity love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

New media room

Michael B from California on 2/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and sound great, would highly recommend to others.

Pros: Easy to install, great sounding, used for front and center channel and paired with 80F/X-RT for surround and PSW-111 for bass.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

good 3 way speakers

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert on 12/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I endorse the 70-RT. it worked properly for my 5+1 config.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Surrounds

Jeff from Kansas City on 10/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed four of these about a month ago in the basement ceiling. They are coupled to a Pioneer Elite SC-71 receiver with Polk RTiA7 fronts, a Blackstone TL3 center, and a DSWpro440wi and it sounds fantastic!! The supplied templates made it easy to install and my wife is happy too because the surrounds are out of the way.

Pros: Sounds great, magnetic covers fit perfect

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

JimH from Carmel, IN on 8/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound. Much better than the Bose AM10 System they replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointed

Polk Lover from Missouri on 2/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a long time loyal Polk follower and have always been pleased with them, so this is very hard to write. When doing a recent kitchen remodel, I decided to replace the old 'builder grade' 6 1/2" ceiling speakers we had with these Polks. My hope was that I would be so blown away with them that I would replace all of the remaining speakers in the rest of our rooms for our whole house audio system (10 additional speakers). First of all, these were slightly smaller than the previous 6 1/2" speakers so the tabs wouldn't catch. I was able to fabricate a spacer ring to make them work (this may not be any fault of Polk, but do measure your cutout first if replacing existing speakers.) Next, these Polks are DEEP. Yes, I read the specs before ordering and new the dimensions, but I did have to make some accommodations that 'normal' flat-lying ceiling speakers wouldn't have to have. After spending an entire afternoon installing them, I was severely disappointed in the sound. I drive the whole house audio with a high end Denon so I don't believe that the source is the problem. We don't crank the music; we just enjoy nice background music. The 10 year old builder-grade speakers sounded better. They are definitely not worth the $ to finish out the house.

Pros: They do look nice!

Cons: Sound is poor. Deep installation depth. Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 27 found this helpful

Polk Audio 70-RT

Brian T from Easthampton ma on 3/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great for the front LF CTR RF surround .

Pros: Clean look.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

TOP