Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
642 310 44
Connect ID #
642 310 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

In-ceiling surround speakers

MFR # AW8001-A

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

In-ceiling surround speakers

MFR # AW8001-A

45 reviews
View this product

Great Speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. Happy with purchase. Using them for 4 ceiling surround speakers in living room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome looking installed!!

Crutchfield customer from Stanley, ND on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful installation, they are barely even noticeable in the ceiling. Install was easy. And they sound awesome on top of it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy with polk

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound easy to direct tweeters by rotating speaker. Ask for Scott at crutchfield he can explain the speaker better. He helped me and I'm glad he did.

Pros: Best sound for the dollar

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Mount Laurel, NJ on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted surround speakers in my living room but it is completely open in the back. I have access to the ceiling through my attic so ran the wire without too much trouble. They are barely noticeable in the ceiling and they sound great. An inexpensive solution to my problem, they made a huge difference our movie viewing experience. As long as you can easily run the speaker wire I highly recommend these. I do wish there was more information on the ideal orientation of these speakers. The woofer and 2 tweeters all point in different directions. There must be ideal positioning but I could not find anything on it. I did spin them a bit and found a direction I think they sound best to me.

Pros: Meet a very specific need for many people with open floor plans.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers and for the price, can't beat them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

James from Chicago, IL on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Polk makes wonderful in-ceiling speakers. Just the right balance between value and performance. Keep up the good work!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Tomball, TX on 11/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With the assistance of Rusty from Crutchfield these speakers seem to fit the space appropriately. I have yet to install and will provide an updated review with pictures once system is operational

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great value on beautiful speakers

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a "scratch and dent" set, but was sent basically brand new items. They are beautiful, but massive. Only thing missing was the template, which I'm sure I can figure out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Villa Rica, GA on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a theater room in my house that was all set up with 7.1 Polk Audio in wall surround speakers. Circumstances changed the theater location to our basement and I wasn't wired for in wall speakers. I bought these thinking I would be disappointed in a 5.1 system with the sound coming from the ceiling for the surrounds. Boy was I wrong. These speakers are outstanding. The clarity, presence, and bass is much better than my previous 7.1 set up. Now I need to decide if I should add 2 more, or leave it alone. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend this product.

Pros: They fill the room with the surround channel.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Process up to but not yet installed

Samuel from Weddington, NC on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a review more of the process as I have not installed these in the new home. I wanted to outfit a new great room with a good AV system. This room is not ideal for a media room, it has a woodstove in center thus off setting the TV to a side on a 17' wall in a 20'x17' room. The room has a 14' vaulted ceiling with one side wall along an exterior. I wanted to use Polk speakers as I remember those from my high school and college days. I determined several ideas of what I thought I wanted including ATMOS ability. Colby, my advisor, helped me narrow down to my final choices. We also talked through the use of in wall versus book shelf speakers for the front and in ceiling versus in wall for the certain speakers. Ultimately I elected to go with bookshelf speakers for the front left, right, and center to allow some flexibility in setting these up. I decided on 80F/X-RT for the rear surrounds versus in wall due to Colby's input and my desire to not place in wall speakers in the surround area that included exterior wall, insulation and sliding doors. Hoping the tweeters will aid the surround sound I am now going to create some speaker back boxes for my in ceiling speakers. I don't feel comfortable with leaving the electronics exposed to blown in insulation and the attic area environment. This is not suggested/required.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Initial Review on quality and shipping

Crutchfield customer from Mount Joy , PA on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received these speakers, along with 6 others from Crutchfield in 2 days time. Very fast, in my opinion, but in today's world of online shopping, pretty normal. Packaging was good, no issues or damage. These speakers are massive and are much bigger than I had imagined... make sure you have enough space for them! I am excited to hear these. I especially like the magnetic grille feature. I'll give a performance review after I finish the audio install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expectacular, se reproducen con mucho realismo los efectos de las peliculas, tiene una profundidad de sonido muy buena lo recomiendo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Bonaire, GA on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these as rear ceiling speakers to round out atmos setup. The sound qualities is more than I anticipated. Very pleased with this purchase and the user friendly site. 10/10 would recommend. We'll be returning for future purchases.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Rear Speakers.

Crutchfield customer from New Braunfels, TX on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and an easy install.

Pros: Installed easily and I liked the way the dogs lock the speakers in place in the ceiling as you hand tighten them.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was torn between these and the 70-RT for surround speakers matched to 90-RTs in the front. I was worried that they would not be able to handle music because they were too skewed towards home theatre use, but I made the right call. They work just fine for music. I am super pleased!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Look and Sound Great

Mario from HASTINGS HDSN, NY on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally have both rear surrounds installed a year later. They look and sound great. Due to the configuration of the room, I needed ceiling speakers. I was looking at different models, maybe even try to surface mount speakers instead of in-ceiling. The folks at Crutchfield suggested these ceiling mounted speakers, instead of the ones I was looking at. I already had the front speakers (RTi series floor standing and CSi series center channel). The rear surrounds work great! Crutchfield is excellent for helping with some tough decisions. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

William from Houston, TX on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent look, excellent sound around solid speakers, I have several spoke speakers ceiling and floor standing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With help from your gang, my surprise anniversary gift was a hit. I couldn't of done it, without you. Will always come back. Excellent service and so friendly.thank you again. Linda Kanagin

Pros: All sound excellent service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from Iona, ID on 6/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still waiting for the basement to be finished, so I haven't been able to test them out yes. after reading many reviews on these and people saying they're great speakers, i was convinced to buy. I got a great open box deal on 2 pairs of these and can't wait to get them installed and put to good use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Atmos ready!

Mark from Evansville, IN on 5/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. Using them for atmos middle hight placement. They sound fantastic. They bend in well to the ceiling after painting the grills. Have them set at 80hz crossover. Nice crisp highs and good mid bass. I have an all Klipsch setup and can't get over how well they sound paired with them. For whatever reason(I guess that there are two angles done tweets they say that they are not ideal for atmos). I think they are wrong. I have the middle section of the speakers setting so that the woofer is faced towards the listening area and the tweets face makes them almost fill the room more above your head IN my opinion. Can't go wrong with these for atmos.

Pros: Seamless install Great response Good sensitivity Good mid bass Decent low bass Nice warm sounding tweeters

Cons: No positionable tweeter or woofer wish they had removable and replaceable Polk logo instead of sticker. The sticker did peel off to paint them. Just wish they had a removable logo that could be re-replaced after paint.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Nice, smooth sound

Byron from Muskego, WI on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these to replace a set of Polk MC80's as my rear surround speakers. I did some back-to-back tests with both sets of speakers and I liked the sound of these better. It did take a few trials to get the tweeter pointed in the right direction relative to my listening position but I like the final outcome. BTW, I did keep one set of MC80's installed as my Atmos height speakers. The magnetic grill mount is a nice feature. I wish these had the dipole / bipole switch. It's be nice to see what bipoles sound like in my space.

Pros: Fit into my existing cutout Smooth sound

Cons: Dipole only, wish could also be used as bipoles

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk 80F/X-RT

Guest from Ashland, VA on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put these in the ceiling in a new construction house to use for stereo. Joists are 2x10 and I made an enclosure about 22" long. Put R13 fiberglass on the back of the enclosure and then lined the back and sides with polyester, creating a volume of about 1 cubic foot per Polk's recommendation. The base volume is excellent, beyond what I had hoped for. The dual tweeters help with dispersion, which was a concern in my long room (9'x18'). Liked these so much I'm considering their higher quality clone 80F/X-LS for a more critical listening application in the family room enclosures. I noted that the 80F/X-RT's appear to have been taken off of the Polk website.

Pros: Sound exceeded expectations. Base volume is very good with an enclosure. Tweeter dispersion is good. Tweeters and base driver are angled which can help in some difficult arrangements. Price was very good for what I got.

Cons: Anchor screws are stiff to turn by hand initially, but loosen up as you screw them, so there is adequate feel when you snug them up (I WOULD NOT use a drill to tighten them).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good looking speakers

James from Round Rock, TX on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Packaging was delivered discreetly which was a plus. I haven't had a chance to install them in my new construction home, but I will review again after install is complete. Crutchfield help picking these out was fantastic for my application.

Pros: Pricing, look.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Great for DD Atmos and DTS-X

John from La Grange, KY on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using these speakers for DD Atmos in the top front position. They sound wonderful even though they are not recommended for this application. I have directed the sound of the woofers at the side walls and one of the tweeters at the listening position. This set up provides a very expansive sound field with smooth transition and a high degree of definition. The Audyssey MultEQ on my Denon AVR-X6300H recognized these speakers as full range (large). I am new to DD Atmos and DTS-X movie sound tracks but I have to say that it is surprising how much content the sound engineers put into these channels. Highly recommended.

Pros: Many

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great for my needs

Joe from Fort Wayne, IN on 12/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install other than cutting the hole in the drywall which is a messy process. They sound great for my low-fi 7.1 surround system. I give them 4 stars only because I can't speak for how they would perform in a high-end system. They are clearly up to the task for my needs and are better built and have better specs than the alternative speakers I was considering. The grill mounting method is really cool. Once the speaker is installed, the grill magnetically snaps in place.

Pros: Cool grill-mount feature. Angled woofer and twin tweeters allow you to direct the sound toward the sweet spot for listening. Solid connectors for the speaker wire. Ultra-flat speaker grill for low profile look.

Cons: Cutting drywall hole in ceiling totally sucks!! I can't think of any cons for the speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Eugene from Odessa, FL on 9/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers to compliment my Polk seven speaker set-up. I replaced existing in-ceiling speakers so install was a breeze.

Pros: Everything I wanted!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Crutchfield customer from El Dorado Hills, CA on 7/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good choice for top fronts

Michael from Nashville, TN on 6/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using these Polk Audio 80F/x-RT as top front speakers in my home theater set up powered by a Marantz SR7011 receiver. I've read that these speakers were predominantly for surround sound so I thought "what if I use them as my Front Dolby Atmos channel". At first I was not so impressed but after a good break in period and properly setting up Dolby surround on the receiver these babies started to shine. Not a great deal of bass but that's not what they were intended for. Sound is very clean and open especially when I play music in Dolby surround. The back up voices sound clear and spacious and when watching movies sound effects like rain, gun shots and above aircraft make you feel like you are more involved in the movie your watching. l think any speaker would sound good in the current configuration but Polk' angled woofer and dual radiating tweeters give it a slight advantage over direct speakers. Happy the purchase and their clean look after installation which was very easy.

Pros: Dual open radiation tweeters for open sound, easy and clean installation

Cons: Not a great deal of bass but that's not what they we're ment

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Alex from Utah on 11/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great. Seem to be built really well, easy to install. Really produce a great sound in our room along with our other Polk front speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very happy!

David from Austin, TX on 11/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had these speakers for only one week, but so far I am very satisfied. They are installed as ceiling surround speakers in a 5.1 setup. I love the ability to "aim" the speakers toward the predominate listening/watching position in my TV room. The sound is crisp and clear. Easy to install with a very nice, clean finished look. These speakers are designed to be surround speakers, versus some other "stereo" ceiling speakers that I was considering. I selected these based on the recommendation of Crutchfield's representative.

Pros: Great sound. Easy to install. Neat and clean finished look - part of Polk's "Vanishing" series.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Edgar H from Las Vegas, NV on 8/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paired 80F/X-RT rears and the 90-RT for my mains. The (80F/X-RT) they sounds fantastic. Once I was done setting everything up, I tried The Book Of Eli as demo to try them out. It blew my mind away I was glad I made a perfect decision. Buy them you won't regret it! My wife's loves how it sounds and shows off the surround more than I do when we have visitors over

Pros: Great build speakers Cleared and very detailed in every sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Superb build and sound to match

Keith from Seattle, WA on 5/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 7.1 system consisting of all Polk Audio speakers: TSi200 mains, CS20 center, and FX Bipole read surrounds, and now these as my surrounds (sides). These blend seamlessly sonically and aesthetically. Although they are almost directly over my couch, I cannot pinpoint their placement. As spaceships fly overhead, the sound truly rolls from the front of the room to the rear of the room without a noticeable transition between speakers. I chose in ceiling speakers to avoid having wall speakers where I might bump into them. I was concerned that they would be a compromise, but they are not. I enjoy them for 7.1 channel music as well. I think they might work well as music only speakers in another room. I feel the Bipole arrangement might solve some placement problems encountered in typical living areas where the listener is not ideally located between the speakers.

Pros: Easy install. Great sound. Aesthetically pleasing.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT Review

James H from Hartford, Ky on 2/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these as a replacement set for my rear surrounds and they sound great.

Pros: easy to install, great sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT Reviews

Max from Wisconsin on 6/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great, look great

Pros: Great sounding speaker at reasonable price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT Ceiling Wide Surround

Mikey from Santa Barbara, California on 1/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being used in an 11.2.4 Dolby Atmos configuration as wide surround speakers. Driven by 100w/ch Outlaw PA. They are mounted ~2' from side walls and initially were slightly bass heavy (w/ switch set to "close to wall mounting") & slightly treble weak in my room as confirmed by Audyssey. With a little EQ they sound wonderful.

Pros: Efficient, good overall frequency response, well made & easy to install. Good value for the $. While one reviewer suggested a lack of bass response, I found the opposite.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

MAG from ST George Utah on 12/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Higher quality In ceiling speakers. Easy to install Good build quality. Clear highs

Pros: Ease of install. Quality Dispersion of high frequencies.

Cons: Thought I might get a bit more bass out of a 8" but with Sub (as intended) they are more than adequate.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Ceiling speakers

Trickyt from Cypress, TX on 3/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful sound and easy to use

Pros: great sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

bobby from portland, or on 2/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are using these for surround in 5.1 setup alongwith 70 rt for front firing with 550 wi sub. They blow you off as surround.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Sunrise, fl on 1/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker exceptional quality of sound and the magnet grill system is amaizing

Pros: Crisp, quality speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80 f/x-rt

JP from Chula Vista, CA on 12/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these speakers as my fronts (right and left) and my rears (right and left)! They sound awesome! Very clear sounding and I have not heard any distortion when I crank it up. I am using a Pioneer VSX-30 to run them. I would recommend these speakers! Easy to install with the template, once you pick your positioning and get the holes cut out.

Pros: Price, easy to install, look good and sound awesome! Delivered on time and well packaged.

Cons: No cons...They sound great!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

DougB from St. George, UT on 12/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely awesome speakers! Using them as rear surround sound in a 5.2 system. Now I need to upgrade the front SS speakers because these blow them away. We have an odd layout and could only fill the rear void with in ceiling speakers. I was worried how the sound would carry down and still sound like rear speakers. These are great, the sound travels well and it's hard to tell they are in the ceiling about 6 feet up from our heads.

Pros: Install easy, sound great, paintable grills hide them pretty good.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Reviews for the Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Ronald P from Houston Texas on 11/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound

Pros: Price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio 80F/X-RT

Erick from Fort Worth, TX on 11/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speaker are awesome. I am using them for my rear surrounds on my 7.1. 5 star product.

Pros: Good sound... quality construction... easy install. Arrvived in secure package and in timely manor.

Cons: Crutchfield had me install backwards with woofer angled towards wall.... polk had me angle to listening area.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

TOP