Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
642 310 44
Connect ID #
642 310 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Signature S20

Bookshelf speakers (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9534-A

Polk Audio Signature S20

Polk Audio Signature S20

Bookshelf speakers (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9534-A

74 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 6/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You want be disappointed

Pros: I was surprise by the quality of the sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Christopher from Lewisburg, PA on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers. Since my living space is small and there are other people who live nearby, I wanted a set of speakers that would produce a wide range of clear sound at a low volume. I decided to try these Polks because the frequency response range is 39-40,000Hz. The highs are clear, the bass response is crisp, and I can "feel" it at low volumes. I am happy with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Mcloud, OK on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always loved polk audio love the look and the sounds is amazing for this price point

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My Vote For Best Buy

Crutchfield customer from Denham Springs, LA on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bookshelf speakers even above their price point! Full, rich sound compliments either music or movies. Solidly built to last for years of enjoyment.

Pros: Full clear highs and midrange. Rich bass.

Cons: None at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value. Great Volume.

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great sounding speakers. It would be hard to find a better speaker in this price range and in this size. They provide plenty of low end on their own in my living room, and the highs are crisp and clean. I'm very happy with these. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact. Great fidelity in all ranges, high, low, midrange. Very little distortion even when "cranking".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Colonial Hgts, VA on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these to replace a pair of TSi200s that I had (accidentally) damaged. Seemed like I was downgrading due to the lower power handling, but the wider frequency response has provided better sound in my opinion. Would definitively recommend these. Also, the magnetic cover is a nice touch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Middlebrg Hts, OH on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't realize that these 6.5 inch speakers were backed by heavy magnets. This allow me to project the sound to cover my entire 2.500 square feet home. Because of the extremely large magnets, they will out perform 15 inch speakers from the Disco era . The range of sound is incredible. I would expect this from speakers costing over $2,000.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Unbelievable value

Julius from WEST PALM BEACH, FL on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just received these speakers and I am compelled to write a review to let others know how incredible they sound. To provide a little background; I added these to my current setup: a Yamaha AS-301 Integrated AMP, 10" Polk sub. pair of Polk Monitor 60 Series II floor standing speakers. Sources are a U-Turn orbit Plus turntable with a Red Ortofon cartridge, a Bellari Tube phono pre-amp, and a Yamaha Natural Sound S300 CD player. I picked up the Polk S20's on a recent Crutchfield sale. At that price, these speakers are an absolute steal!! They are still an incredible value at full price. Honestly, I have been eyeing these speakers for a couple of months now and I was hesitant to pull the trigger on these because I couldn't imagine that a pair of speakers at this price could really be all that great. I mean how much speaker can you really get for this price? But phew! These things cook!! Massive bass out of a pair of bookshelf speakers. I have switched the speaker inputs to compare the S20's vs. my old (circa 2005) Polk Monitor 60's and I swear the S20's sound better: more range and much better bass. I really really really love the new Polk sound. Big ups to the sound engineers over at Polk. They knocked it 'out of the park' on this one!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phenomenal!

KEVIN from KAUKAUNA, WI on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After trying out several speakers from the likes of the Triangle Borea BR03, Klipsch, KEF Q100 and 150, Q Acoustics 3030i, I found these to be the best sound for the money! In the past I have always enjoyed the Polk Monitor series (5, 7 and 10's). So I came across these since they looked very similar to the Q Acoustics which I had right before these, WOW! Polk has done their homework with a very impressive speaker! Very tonally balanced and pleasing sound! Definitely keepers!

Pros: Tonally balanced. Great looks and build.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet sounding bookshelf. Not reference, obviously, but you can't beat the sound for the price.

Pros: Sounds great. Looks sharp.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Kitty Hawk, NC on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The "S" Must Stand for Stupendous

Lamont from Brooklyn, NY on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received these new Signature S20's Thursday, February 25 to replace a pair of Polk Audio RTi A3's which served their purpose. Connected them and played them with my type of music and gad to say that there should be a warning label attached because these speakers are pure DYNAMITE! I was blown away by the pureness of the bass and treble where neither was too overwhelming of the other and the way the music flowed through them. Very pleasing to the ears and they carry enough thump for those who love bass. Well worth at least a listen to if not purchasing but don't count out buying these because they will get your attention in a BIG way. Try a pair and enjoy the ride.

Pros: Excellent quality on the highs More than adequate bass Tonal qualities that blend well with each other More than reasonably priced for a speaker like this.

Cons: Should have had two sets of speaker terminals.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lynchburg, VA on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are larger than standard size and are deep, so you need to have at least a 15 inch shelf to put them on. Response is linear, with controlled bass, good midrange and treble. Very clear sound. I have not hooked up a subwoofer yet but will be doing so. They definitely need a subwoofer for deep bass and accurate sound of recordings. Very pleased with the sound, with a sub they will be perfect

Pros: Clear sound Good treble and midrange Controlled bass

Cons: May be too large for sum spaces

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Edwardsville, IL on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound and very crisp

Pros: Very clear and picks up the highs and lows. Like the look of speakers.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Hanna City, IL on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sound is very crisp; nice base reproduction; size depth could pose a problem for placement on smaller shelves; does not provide as strong of amplified sound projection out into the room with my Yamaha A/V receiver as I was hoping for; visually attractive; rear wire-connection posts easy to access

Pros: quality sound; attractive; easy access to wire posts

Cons: size depth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

loud and clear

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn Park, MN on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very happy with these speakers. glad i splurged. loud and clear. i have the S30 center channel, and it sounds great. from what i have read, people are much more happy with the S30 than the S35 center. S10 surround speakers sounding great as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Thomas from CHARLESTON, WV on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a polk fan for 40 years. These speakers sound better than I thought they would. Its hard to believe they are just bookshelve speakers.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Saipan, MP on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deep size makes deep bass on this bookshelf! Very well balanced. Got them playing on sanus stands and it sounds awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, TX on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I hoped they would be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Woodridge, IL on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great! Replacing my 20 year Polk Audio speakers that are still working. Great Product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Everything I would expect from Polk

Crutchfield customer from Palm Harbor, FL on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great look, solid speakers and, most important, crisp clear sound. Everything I would expect from Polk

Pros: East to setup Nice finish that looks great and is easy to clean. Rich sound

Cons: A little too big to fit on my shelf. I knew this before I purchased them so just put them on their side.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, MA on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Front speakers on a 5.1. Great sound. Big heavy speakers.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Crawfordville, FL on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own a pair of Polk outdoor speaker and have enjoyed them for years. I bought the S20's and love the sound. I would recommend Polk speakers to anyone. Nice clear sound. Great range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better bass than S15

Jeff from LUTHVLE TIMON, MD on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally purchased the Polk S15s for my small office. However, the bass was too thin for my taste so I moved up to the Polk S20s and their larger 6.5 inch driver. My office is small and I am in an apartment so bookshelf speakers are the only option and I am not interested in using a subwoofer. I typically listen to music, mainly classical and rock, at moderate to low volumes. The S20s are working out well so far for speakers in this price range.

Pros: Nice sound for the price.

Cons: Imitation wood covering is not going to wow anyone but expected at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nirvana in Palm Beach Gardens

Gerald from Palm Beach Gardens on 8/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are an eye opener. I am with out question an audiophile and these bookshelves??? have turned out to be first rate. I purchased them to be the FL & FR of a 3.1 system in my master bedroom that needs to do double duty for theater and music. Great job Polk, I didn't think you had it in you to produce a speaker that sounds this good, looks fantastic and is relatively cheap..BRAVO!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Natural sound with every note discernable

Guest from Fairfax Station, VA on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Fine Large Speaker

Crutchfield customer from North Augusta, SC on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sounding speaker. It is pretty deep for placement and rounded edges make it difficult to find wall mounts. And it weighed in a pound heavier then the specs listed.

Pros: Excellent acoustics

Cons: Tough for wall mounting due to weight and size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased (from Crutchfield) a Polk Audio HTS12 powered subwoofer (god-like) to add to my Home Theater system along with the S35 (also in a deity class) center channel. I was running a pair of Monitor II 70 towers as my front R/L. I wanted to repurpose those to my vinyl listening room, so I looked into the S series for replacements. Not wanting to go with tower/floor speakers since I had added the 12" sub and it was more than capable, I looked into the smaller sets. I ultimately decided on these and WOW I am impressed. They are larger than they look and make the size under these (S15) look tiny. The S20's would totally take the S15's lunch money. System: Onkyo TX-RZ810 HTS 12 - sub S20's - R/L front S35 - center Rear channels are some legacy Polk's that fit well with my home and would be hard to replace. Unsure of model. Picture notes: ps4 controller is for sizing reference. TV in photo is Samsung 75" QLED Q80 (for reference). Yes, I know I need to do some cable management.

Pros: Sound Bang for buck Solid feeling build Classy looks Magnetic grill, easy on/off Finish isn't real wood but the simulation is well done

Cons: I have yet to see a speaker manufacturer make the binding posts easy to tighten without a socket. Other than that... can't find any problems.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent surround speakers

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Am using them as surround speakers with the S60 as front speakers. Excellent speakers for the job! Watching Fast and Furious movies and they totally envelope you I the race scenes. Good bass for small speakers. Buy them. You will be glad you did.

Pros: Great surround speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio S Series Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Tampa , FL on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have S55's, S35 center and am quite happy to finally get these S20's. I am sure the sound harmonics will complement my home. Crutchfield continues its legendary position in the market by providing high quality and a staff of experts. Great stuff!

Pros: American made and great hi-fi products.

Cons: Hard to find mechanisms for speaker placement solutions both via retail or online. Not a lot of options and configurations available for speaker stands that are functional and appealing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Las Vegas

David from Las Vegas on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers, got them as replacement surround speakers. However they are a bit too big to mount where I want them, I connected them and they sounded pretty good. Couldn't get them installed so I decided to use them in my bedroom and use my 10 year old Infinity speakers for the surround. The Polks sounded good but the Infinity's had crisper highs, which is what I was really looking for since I have two subs. Polks are probably a better fit for my bedroom since I need more bass there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Brockport, NY on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the S 60 S 35 S 20 signature series these speakers are great. Movies tv Music. Anyone looking to move up to quality speakers should buy.

Pros: Top of the line

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Best Bookshelf Speakers for the Price?

Robin from San Francisco on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently decided to replace and upgrade my 35 year old AR bookshelf speakers. After considerable research, I narrowed the candidates down to the ELAC Debut 2.0, the Polk Signature S20 HiRes and the Polk TRi3. I listen blues, jazz, country, bluegrass, old time and roots folk and watch TV; no home theater. My system is a 3.0; the center speaker is a Polk CS10; the receiver is a Yamaha RX-V681; the TT is a 35 year old Technics SL-D30 with a fairly new AT95e cartridge. I used records, CDs and DirecTV to test. My living room is 15x13. Although it is all the reviewer's new darling, I ruled the ELACs out first. They were a slight improvement on my ARs but unremarkable. Virtually all the reviewers, both professional and customer, tagged the Polk TRi3s as bright and they were. They did a really good job in the higher ranges, really clear and no overloading or breaking at the top but were less impressive in the lower ranges. The Polk S20s were the clear winners for music, much more rounded and balanced with just a bigger sound. Those musical passages that needed to pop really did, unlike with the TRi3s. For TV, the TRi3s might have a slight edge, but not enough to matter. I'm a function over form guy but with their cherry wood veneer finish, their curved taper going towards the back and their great looking grill, the TRi3s are far and away the best looking and most stylish of the group. The ELACs and the S20s are not shielded, the TRi3s are. I'm keeping the 20 HiRes speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Would recommend other things

Jimbob from New Haven, CT on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use my stereo only for listening to music, so I cannot speak on the S20 performance for movies. The sound is decent. The high end can be harsh and sharp, especially at higher volumes. The bass is ok, but it still leaves more to be desired (ie subwoofer). They also feel a little unbalanced. Sometimes the bass can be boomy and the high end too harsh, while the mids go unnoticed. These speakers are very well constructed and gorgeous, but wow are they big. Compared to other 6.5 inch bookshelf speakers, these things are gigantic. All this is to say that if you are thinking about getting the S20, I would recommend that you buy the S15 instead. The S15s have a more balanced sound, are a much more manageable size, and are a bit cheaper. On paper the S15s might have slightly worse bass response, but I didn't notice any difference between them in that realm.

Pros: Beautiful Decent sound

Cons: unbalanced gigantic

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, PA on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love these bookshelf speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Southborough, MA on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

they have a wonderful sound. I am really enjoying them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio S20 review

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a set of Bose 301 R/L speakers with Bose vcs 10 center. I replaced the old speakers with Polk Audio S20 and center S35. I was missing so much. The new Polk Audio sound is remarkably better when matched with the HTS 12 sub and Polk Audio RC80i surround speakers. Music listening and movie watching is 100% more enjoyable now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third set of Polk speakers I have purchased over the last 20 years and each time they get better. I am still using all my Polk speakers on other systems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

JULIO Silva from Kenmore, WA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AMAZING SOUND QUALITY especially when you consider the price for this pair of Good looking and Great Sound Quality. Although I'm using them for surround sound I've tested them on a 2.0 stereo amp and they sound Very good. Good Low and high frequencies.

Pros: Sound quality, cost, sound quality.

Cons: None to the moment

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk signature

Carlos from San Diego, CA on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen sonido, buen diseño, fácil de instalar, me gusto el color

Pros: Fácil de instalar, buen tamaño

Cons: Ningúno

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Marcus from Tyrone, GA on 11/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are excellent and fit my home theater perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quality at a good price

Crutchfield customer from Bryan, TX on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers, ordered from scratch and dent and they were just like new at a lower price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

great little speaker

jim from Louisville, KY on 9/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good little speaker. I haven't bought any speakers in 20 years,I have always heard good things about Polk, but have never heard them. These are a perfect size for me.I a/b them with my vintage Advent 2 ways. the Polks require a bit more power, but have really crisp highs. I tried playing both at once and loved it so much I kept it that way

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Value meets quality!

Trevor from Wyckoff, NJ on 8/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi guys. I am powering these with an 80W RMS Onkyo. Nothing special, and I am achieving some audiophile level quality tone from these budget "surrounds or bookshelf's" used as front speakers. Google the S20 and you will see a lot of people prefer these S20's in the signature series over some of the tower units. They just hit that magic sweet spot with the resonance of the cabinet, drivers, and crossover all working in unison.. The power-port does look a little cheesy, but I do believe it keeps the sound tight in conjunction with the stiffer mica-poly driver. Very clean sounding speakers. Have I heard speakers with better definition? Of course, but these are darn good for their size and especially for the money!! Not too many bookshelf's are going to have such a complete, linear, and full detailed sound as these. I recommend them for an office, or small family room without hesitation.

Pros: Good definition, great build quality, handsome (my opinion), good crossovers, no breakup or distortion. Lots of mature sound here from a "cheap" pair of speakers. Pretty amazing bass from a 6.5 speaker in a "small" cabinet.

Cons: Highs are slightly under-defined. Have to dial in a tad more treble, but nothing crazy. Honestly, I was worried that these high-resolution Terylene tweeters, would be in your face, but they are pretty laid back. Not really a con, but needed to mention. LOL

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Newtown, CT on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After much research, I bought these Polk S20s from Crutchfield three months ago to replace a pair of wonderful Advent speakers that were 33 years old and were disintegrating. Never thought I would find an acceptable replacement for them. But these speakers come pretty close. They deliver superb sound and have surpassed all my expectations. I was so impressed that I bought the S10s for my rear surround, Polk PSW10 Subwoofer, and the Polk Blackstone TL3 for the center channel, replacing a 10 year old Bose. I couldn' be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Overkill Fidelity at a Bargain Price

Rob from Lee, MA on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these as surround speakers in an all American HiFi Series 5.1 surround system and could not be happier. Not difficult to imagine another set of these to use as "Zone 2" mains.

Pros: Hi Fi, Low Price

Cons: Almost too big and curvy for clamp mounting.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Guest from California on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, I gave them only 4 stars because of the price. ELAC B6 Debut speakers (also sold here) are superior in every way. If you can audition these to other speakers in the $300 range then you should do it. These are a fine speaker, but, not good for the price. ~ peace

Pros: New Design tech.

Cons: Too Expensive!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 26 found this helpful

Signature S20

Tom from Bayonne, NJ on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, am using them for rear surrounds, and they will be sitting on top of a pair of modified audio/video racks that flank my sofa, putting them at ear level. I have the Signature S35 for my center, and the Signature S60's for my fronts. A bit too big to mounted high up on a wall for surrounds, the S15 or S10 would be a better choice.

Pros: Sound and build quality are excellent.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Love'em

Brian from CA on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was replacing Sony surround sound speakers that came in a combo set with a receiver. I wanted to change from 5.1 surround to 3.1 and have a better 2 ch for music. I used the S20 as a front L&R. Also wanted a bookshelf speaker with a 6.5" woofer to give a full sound. These did not disappoint! As far as music I can't even compare these to the small Sony speakers they replaced. They have a clean rich sound and very full range. I'm also surprised how much bass these provide. For pop, rap and r&b I turn on my sub for some help. When I crank up the volume my sub can't keep up with the S20's so now it's time to upgrade that!

Pros: Can be placed close to wall

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greatly improved the surround sound in my den. Television, movies and music all sound better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Palatine, IL on 8/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're good for this price point. I didn't need to spend more as I just needed audio for my workouts & these fit the bill perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound, but way too big

Jason from Elizabeth, CO on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound out of these speakers. I'm using them as the rear surrounds in a 7.1 home theater. I wish I'd paid more attention to the dimensions before I bought them for this purpose; they're huge! I have them on wall-mounted brackets and they are simply enormous sticking out from the wall. Also, the cabinets are rounded at the corners, so the mounts can't really clamp onto them. I wrapped a black sleeping bag strap around them to keep them in place on the mounts. I'm very satisfied with the sound, but I should have gone with something smaller. Considering their size, these really shouldn't be considered an option for surrounds, which is the only reason not to give them 5 stars.

Pros: Good fidelity and bass response

Cons: Way too big to be surrounds

Crutchfield response on

11 of 24 found this helpful

Sweet Sounding!

Brian from Okemos, MI on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked these speakers online to accommodate a new higher end CD player I had just purchased which sounded too harsh with my current speakers that had metal tweeters. I picked the Polk S20 speakers because: 1) they did not have metal tweeters; 2) a strong bass frequency response of 39 hz; 3) the price was unbelievable at $299 for the pair. These speakers are thoroughly enjoyable; detailed and clear; can pound the bass; no harshness or listening fatigue with the new higher end CD player. I have paid three times this amount for highly rated speakers that were fine in their own right but I love the sound of these S20 Polks! RECOMMENDED!

Pros: More musical and enjoyable that some speakers costing much more. Clear, concise, can bang out rock and still finesse detailed music at lower volumes. VALUE - PRICE!

Cons: Funky plastic covers on back covering bass porting. I can live with it!

Crutchfield response on

21 of 22 found this helpful

great value

Bill from Beverly, MA on 5/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced a 35 yr old pair of pretty good ADS bookshelf size speakers as front units in a 5.1 home theater which I also use for music, specially vinyl. 125 watt Denon 1713 amp, boston acoustics front, Mirage sub. I've recently upgraded the turntable, better cartridge (Ortofon blue) a phono preamp (music hall 2.1), and the system sounds great. These speakers fit my space and really kicked it up a notch. With a 6.5 inch woofer these are a great value in a large bookshelf size. They were suggested by my Crutchfield advisor who was right on with his advice, and steered me away from some more expensive speakers after going over my system and requirements.

Pros: great sound for the money

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Great speakers for their size and price

gary from Reno, NV on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm enjoying these speakers. They replaced some very old Boston THX book shelf speaker as the cones had gone bad after 20 + years. The sound is great for the size of room we have and works well with our ceiling surround speakers. Good base but not over the top. Could not ask for more for the money.

Pros: Compance, great sound good base but not to much. Just right for our area.

Cons: non that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Big improvement. Love Polk.

Crutchfield customer from Great Cacapon, WV on 12/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have limited space so I put these in a cabinet rather than out on a shelf. Wasn't quite sure how they would sound. These fit nicely (about 2 inches of space all around) and the sound is great. Nice highs and lows for both streaming videos and streaming music through Roku. We were missing a lot of bass previously. These provide much more bass than we had before (the system was 5 small speakers with a powered sub-woofer). Receiver is an Onkyo (also from Crutchfield).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

TOP