Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
643 027 04
Connect ID #
643 027 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Signature S50

Floor-standing speaker (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9530-A

Polk Audio Signature S50

Polk Audio Signature S50

Floor-standing speaker (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9530-A

61 reviews
View this product

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Richardson, TX on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound amazing in my surround system! I had been previously using the Polk S10's as a front speakers along with the S35 center channel. Replacing the S10's with the S50's has been a huge jump in sound quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great floor speaker at an excellent price! Very satisfied!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for music

Crutchfield customer from Gurabo, PR on 11/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice balance sound. Perfect for listening musing in a small place.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

MICHAEL from KENT LAKES, NY on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the way these speakers sing with Sound Tracks like RUSH Moving Pictures. Neil Peart with his amazing drum rolls sounded just amazing. For my 5.1.2 dolby atmos setup i am thoroughly happy with the Signature Series.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Nolensville, TN on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first foray into a home theater. These were recommended to me and so far, I'm not disappointed. Great sound and they look great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Nipomo, CA on 9/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These tower speakers have a range and depth I did not know existed in home stereo. Thanks for recommending them to me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High Quality

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, OH on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Very high quality enclosures.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hoffman Estates

DANA from Hoffman Estates on 8/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, full rich sound on a 2.1 system.Great for classical and jazz.

Pros: Excellent value,great looks and excellent musicality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Babylon, NY on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome sound great price & look great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very happy with my purchase

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, CA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my new S50s. It has been a while since I had nice floor speakers. I bought into the 5.1 craze years back and have used some form of mini bookshelf speakers for way too long. The new house we are in has a very large living room space and the little 5.1 system wouldn't cut it anymore. I did a lot of research before purchasing the Polk speakers and they just seemed the best bang for my buck. I have a 7.1 amp so I wanted bi-amp capability for my 5 speakers, (I bought the center S35 and S10 bookshelves for the LandR) and there are very few speakers in this price range with dual inputs. They look great, appear well made and sturdy, and sound great. A major improvement over the old ones. Bonus, the wife agrees they are a great improvement since we no longer have to turn the volume up to deafening levels just to hear the dialogue in our movies. Purchase on Crutchfield was easy, fast, and the speakers were delivered double boxed and in excellent shape. Will certainly buy again from this site.

Pros: Great finish, well built, sturdy. Sound great. Dual inputs for Bi-Amp. Low cost.

Cons: No cons that I could find yet. I have had them for a few weeks with no problems.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio S-50

Crutchfield customer from Goldendale, WA on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really happy after upgrading from Polk Audio T-50's to the S-50's. Great price and exceptional sound quality. Shipping was extremely fast as well. I thought about the S-60's, but I couldn't justify them in my small living room. Litchfield has always had lower prices and excellent customer service.

Pros: Price, sound quality and size are perfect for my little living room. Magnetic grills are literally a snap to take on or off. Super accurate lows, midbass and highs without the need to add an amplifier to my Onkyo AVR, though they would benefit from one. Matches up with my S-35 center channel a lot better than the T-50's. Extremely accurate in Dolby Digital, Dolby Atmos and DRS as well as just 2 channel stereo for music.

Cons: I have neighbors, unfortunately.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Americus, GA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the Polk S50 speakers are great. reproduces all the sounds in both movies and music. You can not go wrong with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I was looking for

Crutchfield customer from King Of Prussia, PA on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So happy I made this purchase. I used to be a big Polk fan when I was younger but felt their quality had started to decline. Began looking at their products again a few years ago and since getting this pair, have been super happy with my choice. The bass sound is full and deep, which is exactly what I was looking for. The cabinetry is beautiful and the S50 are the perfect size for my apartment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Tidewater, OR on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge thank you to "Adam" whose suggestion of Polk Audio S50's was right on the mark. The S50's pair perfectly with my Marantz NR1607 filling a void I had with the Polk T50's they replaced. Dialog sounds fuller and realistic and seems to project outward now. Mid ranges are perfectly meshed and the sub woofer can be turned down as it isn't compensating for the bass the T50's were lacking. Our room configuration doesn't allow for rear speakers and the S50's constantly have my wife and I looking over our shoulders at background noises we never heard before.

Pros: Everything. Look great, sound amazing! I'm no Audiophile but these seem like a great bargain for the sound and the quality of the cabinets.

Cons: None, zero...zilch

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Palo Alto, CA on 7/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers for the price. Very good sound for a small room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great entry level speakers.

Marc from Macon,GA on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these for a stellar deal on scratch and dent. These are my first true component home theatre speaker purchase. I've had Soundbars and bookshelf systems before but they pale in comparison to these. Even with them being budget oriented they still get extremely loud and stay clear and crisp. They have surprising bass from their smaller drivers. If you want to feel the bass though you'll definitely need a sub. I pared these with Denon's base model 7.2 channel receiver and the Polk HTS10 sub. It's a very nice combo for not a terribly large amount of money. I definitely recommend these to anyone needing to fill a small-medium sized room with music/movies/games. The only flaw was one small dent that looked like it was hit while being shipped. You can barely notice it even when looking for it, so no complaints at all. Absolutely fantastic customer service from David as well. Crutchfield is the only place to get audio components.

Pros: Big sound from a smaller footprint floor standing speaker. Super clear even at ridiculous volume levels.

Cons: None that pertain to the speakers themselves.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 2/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just getting to know these, but loving the sound so far. Powerful and crystal clear. Look great too. Great recommendation from Eric. I wanted something for both home theater and audio only. Added the S30 Center Speaker too. Thinking about a sub in the future, but the S50s are providing plenty of low end for my liking.

Pros: Great sound and looks.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

S50 upgrade!!!

Troy from Gretna, LA on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size, sound and price. Now my movie room is complete.

Pros: Not too bulky with great response

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Worth it

Jeremy from Reno, NV on 9/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are awesome! Amazing sound quality, range, and clarity. Plus they look great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Dennis from Madison, AL on 9/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a hard core 2 channel Stereo Audiophile since 1974 when I bought my first Pioneer Receiver and Infinity Tower Speakers. Today I still enjoy my music each day holding todays electronics and speakers to that Standard....But as I aged I found that while the Components ( Receivers, CD Players, Etc..) have improved the speakers that can deliver that "High RMS per2/channel Sound" have been eclipsed by expensive "peripherals" i.e" Wireless, Bluetooth, 5.1, Cloud Stored Movie music on and on..) Or you have to spend at the top of the food chain for McIntosh to get "Purity and Performance" NOT So with the Polk s-50s. This week, after 6 years of Polk Monitor 60s supported by two Definitive Technology Monitor 50 for added "MidRange", I replaced the Towers with S-50s..... I wanted to ADD 5HZ to the LOWs and 15,000MHz to the high range. My goal was to do this without increasing the size of my towers and spend less than $1000 to do it. I spent $400 and The difference was Dramatic. I am again impressed at the constant improvement that POLK brings to the Speaker Industry by delivering MORE Performance for LOWER Cost than any/all competitors. Even the feet of these speakers are improved now having wider stance and sonically insulated rubber pads . The Floor directed Port Bass Reflex design delivers smooth DEEP Bass and the HIGHS that are breathtaking.

Pros: IMPROVED BASS combined with SHARP TREBLE Performanc IMPROVED Cabinet FIT/FINISH and FEET LOWEST Cost

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Hollidaysburg, PA on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good to me!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

George from Hamburg, NY on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound nice look and great company to deal with

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Great speakers love them

Kody from Howell, MI on 3/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair for my rears to replace my old book shelf Bose rears that sounded great but wanted something that can handle a little bit more power and more bass. Everyone told me my surround sound sounded great and I didn't need to get them but I bought them anyway and man did it make a world of difference now everyone agrees with me n everyone said that the Polk s50s completed my system which I truly believe it did I wouldn't be able to go back to what I had even though the Bose sounds good, I just love my s50s. I have JBL speakers for my fronts with dual 10 inch woofers in each one and the Polk s50 keep up no problem. They are way louder then my Bose, way more Bass, and Crystal Clear sound. I am running a 12 inch sub also so i have two 10 inch woofers plus the 12 inch sub Polk center channel and Polk rear center running off a Denon receiver 185watts a channel. For the price I paid for the pair I am more than happy if I had the space I would buy two more for 7.1. but I love them and everyone that has heard my home theater loves them too. I definitely recommend them for the price.

Pros: Crystal clear, no distortion, good Bass, not giant speakers about 37 pounds

Cons: Wish I had more room too buy another pair for 7.1

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 3/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had polk speakers 20 years ago, glad I came back to the fold. Amazing Sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Works of Art!

Michael from Cambridge, MA on 2/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers arrived quickly and look and sound great. Set them up with bi-amping from a Sony DH770 receiver and they sound great at low, medium and high volumes and really create a nice soundstage. While they look great with the nice magnetic speaker covers attached, they're especially striking with the covers off and the tweeter/woofers showing.

Pros: Looks, sound across volume levels, ability to bi-amp.

Cons: None encountered so far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

No Bells and Whistles...Just Pure Sound!

Allan from New Port Richey, Florida on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received a week ago. Had doubts because I already sent back a set of RTIa3's, Monitor Bronze 2's and the S50 had smallest drivers of the lot. Changed my mind real quick. The highs are there but not overbearing...they're natural, as are the mids. Low end is also there. I listen to a lot of classical music, gospel music, and bluegrass. In two channel mode on my system the speakers excelled and were the most balanced I've ever purchased. Haven't even bi-wired them yet. I run also in five channel HT mode with a Yamaha CXA5000 pre connected to a brand new Emotiva BASX500 amplifier, 2 old Polk Monitor 30's? for the rears, a Klipsch center channel, and an Acoustech 12 inch subwoofer. I don't know why the center fits into the system but it does and so does the sub. The S50 can stand alone without a sub unless you want to rattle your walls but they are capable of getting way down there. Construction is extremely solid and I honestly love that you don't have to put the feet on yourself. The feet are unlike any I have used and super sturdy. The magnetic grill is a dream to put on and take off. I REALLY LIKE THEM. In the old days, they used to aim to duplicate sound so it sounded like the music that was playing...no explosive bass sounds, over exaggerated highs, etc. Reputations were built by how closely the speaker matched the reality of whatever sound it was duplicating. These speakers do just that!

Pros: Style, well controlled, smooth highs, crystal clear mids, decent bass, magnetic grill, feet and of course, the great customer service I received from Crutchfield in my search.

Cons: Top heavy

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

A+ speaker!

Michael F from Warrington, PA on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow - I didn't think a speaker like this would make THAT much of a difference. Present bass, clear dialogue... the detail in the audio is amazing. These speakers really make all the difference in experiencing movies, TV shows and music. Highly recommended.

Pros: Clarity and presence in sound.

Cons: A little top heavy - although they haven't, they seem like they can tip over fairly easy.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

Great speaker for both music and movies

Steve from Jefferson City, MT on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Prior to buying I researched extensively online. Living in a rural area I was unable to listen prior to buying, which was a source of worry for me. This turned out to be a great purchase. Good looking speakers but most importantly have great sound. I'm actually very impressed with the sound for both music and movies. I still want a subwoofer to round out the lowest frequencies but really not sure how much it will add.

Pros: - Great sound - Great value

Cons: - None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing! Very well rounded sound and quality!

Drew from Honolulu, HI on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to these speakers after having a soundbar for many years. The quality, richness, crispness of the tweeter, and overall fullness of the sound is immediately apparent compared to the tiny speakers built into a soundbar. All of my sources (PS4 Pro, 4K blu-ray player, TV apps, music, Chromecast) have whole new life (especially the music!) and I'm hearing sound as I have never heard with excellent highs and great mids and lows. The bass isn't as good as a dedicated sub but it is very clean and punchy. The bottom powerports probably help out with this and it's a great addition to these speakers! One of the better looking floor-standing speakers aesthetically speaking. I am currently only running a two channel setup (bi-amped) with just these two speakers and a receiver. I can imagine having a center channel will help a bit with dialogue and a dedicated sub will fulfill overall sound, but these are excellent front speakers and would highly recommend them to anyone! Sure there are other more expensive 'lower end' series speakers available with maybe an extra speaker or something, but buying these speakers over others (i.e.- Polk TSi400) are analogous to buying a souped-up Toyota or entry level Lexus. Sure you'll be happy with both, but you know you want that Lexus... Crutchfield came in the clutch as always, shipped priority for free to Hawaii and it came within two days. Amazing!

Pros: -Full, rich sound -Crisp highs from the tweeter -Excellent build quality -Clean, tight bass (still doesn't replace a sub but great depth nonetheless) -Aesthetically pleasing to the eye -Allows for bi-amp/bi-wiring

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Perfect for medium sized rooms

Robert from Eagar, AZ on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are my first Polk speakers and I am throughly impressed. Great quality and craftsmanship. The sound is superb and I was impressed with their range.

Pros: Sound, stylish, price.

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio strikes back again with a punchy winner!!!

Eric from Delray Beach, FL on 8/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the TSI300 last month great speaker. I would have bought the S50 last month but was not in my budget and they weren't budging on a discount, lol so I bought the TSI300 which sounded great on movies but was lacking something on the low end of the spectrum. I had gotten a email from crutchfield that the S50 dropped down in price which was in my budget so I returned the TSI300 for the S50 I have not pushed them to the limit or watch any movies as of yet but what I can say is this is a nice speaker with a different sound great low end and mid and high end base is great. I don't feel like I have to crank up my reciever volume to enjoy these speakers I find I'm turning my reciever volume half way with a louder sounding speaker overall I'm pretty happy with the way the speaker looks its detail is much more higher end the dust cover is magnetic. The base feet are sturdy and well balanced. I would recommend highly.

Pros: Low end Mid end High end Unique sound Craftsmenship Weight Balanced feet Sexy cabinet

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

DAN from New York on 6/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of speakers , I have the S60 units too and they are stellar. The S 50's have great low end, punchy bass, very price.

Pros: Great bass, slender design , nice mid range ,

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S50

Steven Smith from Bronx, NY on 1/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these Polk Audio S50 has great sound and bass very nice speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Good Value

Steve from Green River, WY on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using these speakers for three days, and they are already starting to loosen up. I think they need a few more days of usage before they sound the best. I think they are a good value based speaker for small to medium sized rooms. They are 13 feet from my listening area, and the sound loudness can easily become greater than a theater off 90 watts per channel. These are sensitive speakers. You should still have a sub woofer since below 50 hz they are weak.

Pros: Nice looking, good sounding, inexpensive

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP