Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
332 991 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
332 991 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Signature S55

Floor-standing speaker (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9531-A

Polk Audio Signature S55

Polk Audio Signature S55

Floor-standing speaker (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9531-A

40 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Granger, IN on 3/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear imaging, decent bass for music. Crystal clear for movie soundtracks. Stable bass, nice looking.

Pros: Imaging, mid to high production, looks, price match.

Cons: Lacks punch on certain songs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Phenomenal speakers!

Anders from ARLINGTON, VA on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal speakers! Bought two of these for a new set of 5.1.4 setup as front channels. They are combined with S35 center, S15 rear surround and Polk RT 70 for height channels. These vastly outshine all the other speakers, full deep bass and crystal clear highs, to a point where they are almost too good compared to the other channels. For music they can fill a room up to 6-700 sqft. without any problem, any larger you may start to run into power levels where yo have to bi-amp them to get enough depth but honestly they are amazing, I can only imagine what the S60 can do in a bi-amp setup. I would highly recommend these for any enthusiast home theater builder / music lover and if you can afford it and have the power in your receiver add these as rear channels as well and you will blow everyone away when on Atmos/DTS:X tracks.

Pros: Full range of frequency Not too pricey for the quality Looks nice Magnetic grille easy to remove and reattach.

Cons: Might need bi-amp to really shine in some rooms.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price = great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love them!

Crutchfield customer from Haddon Heights, NJ on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is fantastic! I would recommend them to anyone.

Pros: You hear every little nuance in the music.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarity

Crutchfield customer from San Carlos, CA on 12/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying these speakers. Nice clear sound and a great deal given the holiday discount. I paired with a Klipsch subwoofer that was 50% off and they make for a whole new experience in music and home theater. Wow, love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lincoln's

Tee from Lincoln's on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME

Pros: Damn Good sound! Pretty Loud for Medium Speakers

Cons: Not reallyba con. But maybe could got the next size up? U ALWAYS want something Bigger.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, PA on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound and great quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big room needed!

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are very tall so make sure the room is big! The sound quality is excellent and they bring the sound alive in a big space!

Pros: Sound Quality, Loudness, and value!

Cons: Not much!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from East Palestine, OH on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers provide amazing sound quality with little to no distortion. For the price of these, I didn't expect the clarity or the build quality that you get. These can go as loud as you want and still reproduce crystal clear sound. I'm using them as front towers in a 7.1 setup and they blend well with the rest of the system. They provide a nice, tight punch on the low end without distorting any of the other sounds. You can't beat these speakers for the price.

Pros: Look amazing and sound even better

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great looking speakers

Kaput5 from Irving, TX on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good looking speakers, match my floor color. Sound is very good. They have replacing JBL speakers that are almost 20 years sold, and it's a great improvement.

Pros: Look very good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Sachse, TX on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound absolutely amazing and super clear!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 11 found this helpful

Great buy for the price

Brian from Auburn Hills, MI on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, they can't be beat. High highs and great midrange. Perfect for the front L&R speakers for a surround system.

Pros: Sound, style, price

Cons: I would recommend with a sub, not much bass out of these.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Lacking

niel from Santa Rosa, CA on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One thing I want to say first-hand is that these speakers take several weeks of constant play to break in. Otherwise there is virtually no mid-range, so don't be surprised and be patient. I'm only rating these at at 3 because they sound okay, but for my taste, the highs are really grating to an almost annoying degree. The Imaging quality is not there. The mid-range is still lacking after breaking them in. I recommend going with the Polk RTI A7. I returned the s55 for these and am confidently pleased. The tweeters are much sweeter and the speakers image very well. The mid-range is warm and sweet. The s55 is just okay. They do play loudly, I will give them that.

Pros: Nice footprint size. Plays loudly.

Cons: Harsh highs, lacking mid-range. Relatively poor imaging quality.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 19 found this helpful

Good all around speaker

Mark from Germantown, TN on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Front speakers for a small room surround sound system and small audio system set up. Works very well. Well built and sounding for the price tag.

Pros: Price

Cons: A little tall and big for a small room.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Full Quality sound for the price

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CA on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for front speakers for theater surround. I noticed a great improvement in the sound quality using the By-Wire installation method. The bottom sound port creates a omni directional sound, unlike most forward projecting speakers. Combined with a quality Subwoofer you have amazing sound W/O trying to drive the Polk woofers their max lower dB level. Best design front covers using neodymium magnets instead of snap in retaining clips that are sometimes difficult to remove, for cleaning the covers.

Pros: Small floor space area required. Great sound when paired without the need for a top of the line Reciever / Amplifier.

Cons: A little to tall free standing next to average electronic stand or cabinet with so many wall mounted tv's

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Recklen from Canfield, OH on 2/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving the Signature series! I have the S55's for front L/R, S30 center, the S10 as surrounds, and a pair of S15's for rear surrounds. Low frequencies are handled by a Klipsch Reference R-10SW (sounds fine for an entry level sub, but might need upgrading as the room is large- 17x32'). Using the Yamaha RX-A860 (also from Crutchfield!) for music and movies. The system fills the room and after some tweaking sounds crystal clear, and they look fantastic. Crutchfield helped me get exactly what I wanted and within my budget! If you're considering these speakers don't hesitate! And no need to shop elsewhere, this place is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Keith from Henrico, VA on 2/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome. Crisp clear highs. Best tower speakers I have had the privilege of owning.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 6 found this helpful

You really don't need a sub with these. Great low end.

Don from Maryville, TN on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look and sound great I paired them with the Polk S35 and four S10's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Connie from Roseland, NJ on 11/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk Audio Signature S55 speakers sound great in my apartment! They provide a beautiful listening experience. The assistance I received from Crutchfield representative, Ziggy, made the purchase easy. This man definitely knows his audio business! Would definitely recommend these speakers and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Sedona, AZ on 10/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are awesome. They are used in our bespoke home theater. Would definitely purchase again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 7/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't listen to the speakers well enough yet, I haven't connect the biamp, my receiver TX-RZ 810 can only be connected for biamp option resetting the configuration to 5.1 and I have 10 speakers connected to the receiver. so far I am disappointed. My bookshelf Polk Audio sound better, and they are much smaller.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 31 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 5/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After much research I decided to go with Polk. This new model is modern and the sound is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 19 found this helpful

nice speakers for the money

brian from sterling, il on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are my first tower speakers. After hours of research and listening to speakers I chose these and am glade I did. I have a large room and they fill it well, after some break in time they sound great. Alot of speaker for the money.

Pros: nice clean sound, sound good with a cheaper reciver

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 14 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from New Baltimore, MI on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these to replace my Infinity P252 speakers after the driver broke. These are a perfect upgrade for the rest of my Infinity surround system! I really get a lot of noticeable extra power with the larger drivers - it's like having stereo bass! Also, the double amping you can send to the speakers is awesome! It's my first set you can do that with, and it literally allows the speakers to receive twice the power! Overall, very happy with a substantial upgrade to my system - thanks to Ryan at Crutchfield for helping me pick these out! Awesome customer service and knowledgeable staff as always!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Grat Sound

Jason from Portland, OR on 3/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listened to these speakers locally before purchasing online. This far i am very happy with them in my house. I use them for a 50/50 mix of home theatre and music. Very happy with my Polk purchase from Cruthcfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Edison, NJ on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product far outperformed my expectations

Pros: Great looking and great sounding

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

TOP