Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
976 752 44
Connect ID #
976 752 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Infinity Kappa 800W

Kappa Series 8" subwoofer with selectable 2- or 4-ohm impedance

MFR # INFKAPPA800WBLKAM

Infinity Kappa 800W

Infinity Kappa 800W

Kappa Series 8" subwoofer with selectable 2- or 4-ohm impedance

MFR # INFKAPPA800WBLKAM

17 reviews
View this product

Infinity Kappa 800W

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 6/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the sub in my house in a 12" cubed box with two 8" radiators running a 500 watt amp at about 280 rms and this sucker kicks harder than i thought it would, no bass boost on it snd crossover set at 110hz and i am very pleased

Pros: can take the power and deliver

Cons: a little pricey but worth it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 5/27/2021

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brilliant upgrade to my ref sub... Deep...rich ...clear base....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A1

Cade from WYOMING, MI on 3/3/2021

2003 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid sub. Loud enough for me to enjoy in the car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No for free air

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would call this a great mid subwoofer , not for your lows , I was told this would be a great replacement for my stock 8" in my 2013 Lexus es300h , it was a waste of time customer fabricating and the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/2/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your sub. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great 8 inch sub - Perfect for small enclosures

John from WARRIOR, AL on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a home subwoofer that blew. Knowing that I was in possession of a nice slot ported enclosure I began looking for an eight inch subwoofer that would go well with the Kicker sub amp I purchased from Crutchfield. I pulled the blown subwoofer speaker from the enclosure and the Infinity dropped right in. I ran it with the port inside using a dedicated subwoofer amplifier. I liked the sound but knew that in the car I wanted more punch and less "boomy" bass. This sub runs great in a sealed enclosure! I removed the old plate amplifier and installed a back made from 3/4" MDF with two terminal posts for the connection to the car's amplifier. It sounds great and I have room in the trunk. As others have mentioned it is not the same bass you get from two 12 inch or from the quad eight inch box that I replaced with this Infinity. What you get is tight and controlled bass with plenty of kick for me. I am very pleased and I recycled the box as well (subwoofer box that is).

Pros: 2 or 4 OHM configuration

Cons: No grill included

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 9/12/2019

2005 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speaker wrked and fit well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 11/7/2018

2018 Honda Accord Touring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb sub. Love it in my 2018 Accord Touring

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Chris from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As with the rest of the kappa series, these are clear and crisp.

Pros: 2/4 oh selectable is a plus.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Joe P from Pottstown, PA on 8/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to cut my box opening a bit but overall happy with this sub. Good clean bass over all types of music, very musical with good punch.

Pros: Clean musical bass, solid built, and astetically pleasing!

Cons: Might not be enough boom for some. Had to modify box some to fit basket.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 4/26/2018

2009 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded my OEM sub in my 2009 Lexus ES350 and the difference is unreal! I feel like ill soon have to upgrade my amp but for now I am very satisfied with this sub. It did require modifications to make it fit in the rear shelf where the old one was but not enough to defer me from giving it 5 stars. Overall as I said, extremely satisfied.

Pros: Great solid crisp bass

Cons: Requires some specialty tools to make it fit in an OEM shelf.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Crutchfield customer from Colbert, WA on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best ever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Martin from Kansas City, MO on 3/20/2018

2013 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with this product! It delivers what one should reasonably expect from an 8" sub mounted free air. I have a 2013 Dodge Charger. My goal was stealth and high quality sound while not giving up trunk floor space. Mission accomplished! The 8" hole in the rear deck was already cut from the factory. The sub is powered by the fifth channel of a Pioneer GMD 9605. The sub channel is rated at 350w @ 4 ohms. I have the input gain dialed back a bit as it is recommended to run this sub at about half it's rated 400 w rms when used in a free air install. The overall sound is very full and satisfying. Powerful sounding even at lower volume levels...although it does get loud! However, it's not my goal to shake the ground two blocks away. I'm happy!

Pros: Sounds great. Looks great. Very sturdy. 2 ohm/4 ohm switchable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

23 of 23 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Anthony from Deer Park, NY on 2/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Please keep in mind this is a 8" woofer. The reason I say that is most people that buy one of these give it 3-4 stars because they expect it to push as much air as a 12". It just is not physically possible from a engineering perspective. I've Had my fair share of 8" woofers. These are rated at 30 hz and I will guarantee with the correct tuned box, no questions you will get it and that's why I give it 5 stars. You get what you pay for. Completely and %100 reliability with the infinity name. I'm pushing 1200 watts x 2 in 4 and they have no issues with it. If for any reason you smell a new shoe smell from the rubber, please check to make sure you're not clipping the amp and heating up that coil just a bit. You're paying for a reliable sub that does what it's advertised to do. If you're looking for a car that rattles a block away, don't even look into 8" subs. You're never going to be satisfied because the 8" speaker of any brand will never push enough air to do so. Look right into 12" For that. So why did I choose an 8"? Well I messed up the size of my enclosure to fit the 10" by half inch so I had to do with 8". 8" speakers give you that tiggghhht kick in the chest and that punch that is always in perfect sink with your song. And then when you add a well designed Sub like infinity that makes that 8" flex all the way Down to 28-30 hz. It's perfect for my application of blending internal sub with loud speakers

Pros: Super compact. Takes a load of power and hits hard. Very stable. That ring makes it look super clean in any installation. Variable ohm switch so you can hook it up any way you choose. And in the future when you get even more power, only the flip of a switch to change. Ohm carbon looks outstanding and they give you an infinity sticker

Cons: Be careful what you use to clean it with. Use cloth, not liquid Putting wire in these spring posts is really hard, but you only have to do it once thank goodness

Crutchfield response on

12 of 17 found this helpful

Compact and composed

John from Montgomery, TX on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the kappa 800w, the Sound Ordinance single sealed box and the JBL gtx500. I wanted bass I could hear at low volumes but didn't loose it's composure at higher volumes. I am extremely happy with this combo, and I was able to take advantage of a few sales, win win. The only problem I ran into was the cutout was not large enough, I had to shave some material to get the woofer to fit, also it is fractionally smaller volume then recommend, I just tore up an old pillow and stuffed the enclosure halfway. The sound is excellent at all volumes without rattling the car or distorting at moderate to high volume. Simply can not be beat at this price.

Pros: Tiny enclosure, handles adiqute power, and does not rattle the trunk. Great volume at all levels.

Cons: May not be enough for some.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 8/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean base, not a monster, but great for the size and price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Quality bass with plenty of volume

Jim from St Louis, MO on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to these after one of my 8" type rs had the cone separate from the surround. Had two Rockford phosgate p2s before the alpines and some JL w3s before that. Overall these things perform really well. Have two of them in a sealed box being fed from mono phosgate amp at 1 ohm, tuned the amp for 400w apiece with a test tune from MTX audio and a fluke meter, and they fill my truck with lots of bass. They are louder than the type rs and every other 8" sub I've had but are much more precise and smooth, the sound quality is really nice and clearly evident. Granted you shouldn't expect crazy lows like you get from bigger subs in a ported box, but these things don't disappoint for quality bass production. If you put them in the right box, tune your amp correctly, and set the filters how u want, you will like what you hear.

Pros: Quality of sound, quantity of sound, selectable impedance, solid construction

Cons: Low freq bass

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 800W

daril from Jacksonville, FL on 12/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave 3 starts but i have not tested or seeing the product yet. Read on! The reason i am writing this "review" is for everyone out there interested on these new Infinity Kappa series to contact Harman and asks them for the Subwoofer Displacement, yes the displacement. They do not give us this information on the manual. I called their customer service but they never were able to find this number. Three different customer agents told me that unless there are more customer asking for this, they will not change the manual to provide this Information. The manual tells you what space you need on sealed and vented, but with the driver and the vent displacement included, meaning that if you do the vented box, it has to be the way they tell you on the manual, rounded port tuned to 40HZ. According to Winisd this set up will give you 197Feet/Second air velocity on the port at 400RMS = (a lot of port noise). Even if you don't care about port noise, a. Many people, like myself, will rather build slotted ports over rounded. b. Without driver displacement we cannot build different box designs for the subwoofer. So here i am on this dilemma, i really want to by this sub but without driver displacement i just will not, I/we need this in order to build a vented box. Sealed box is easy since all we have to do is build a box with 0.4 cubic feet and put the subwoofer in, done! Hopefully someone will come with the sub displacement, for now, i just look at the pictures and wait.

Pros:

Cons: Driver Displacement is not on the manual.

Crutchfield response on

32 of 127 found this helpful

TOP