Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
976 752 44
Connect ID #
976 752 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood CMOS-230

Universal backup camera — surface-mount

MFR # CMOS-230

Kenwood CMOS-230

Kenwood CMOS-230

Universal backup camera — surface-mount

MFR # CMOS-230

117 reviews
View this product

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Pinnacle, NC on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with this backup camera. It very clear. I had already plan on where to install it and spent around 1 hour to install. It work great on the Sony XAVAX5500 screen. I used a single small bolt to mount the camera.

Pros: Picture quality Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cottage Grove

Jim from Cottage Grove on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this backup camera to go with my Jensen head unit. Well the unit doesn't come with back up lines for the camera and my Jensen head unit doesn't supply any either. So now I'm just left with a backup camera that shows behind me but no reference to how far. Not great. I actually spent more money because I thought the $59 camera wouldn't be as good. I was savvy enough to put in the head unit but I had to pay a local shop to install the back up camera...so if I want my money back I'll need to go in and rip out all the work the installer did and then get a camera that works and possibly have somebody to install again. Make sure your head unit has back up camera lines or you won't be getting any.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Flaky Camera

Crutchfield customer from Sw Ranches, FL on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 2 cameras I tried both are flaky. Work every so often. Piece of garbage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/2/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera but some considerations

Crutchfield customer from Zachary, LA on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera. Mounted in an 06 Silverado connected to a Kenwood DNR476s. A license plate mount is probably better for a truck. I wanted to put this under tailgate and above bumper but it's too big to accommodate the tailgate bottom rotating down. A CMOS-300 series would connect to the Kenwood factory camera negative and positive out the back of radio. I tried connecting to those with this and it wouldn't power on. I had to wire this to the power a ground for the radio harness itself and works fine. Mounted where I have it, the guidelines aren't useful but it's good for back up and trailer connection. Great camera for the price. On an extended cab 6.5' box, I had about 3 feet of extra cable. Been working for 2 weeks no issue. Would recommend but it has couple limitations.

Pros: Cable length, image, connections

Cons: Bracket is a little cheap

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, TN on 5/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only problem was I thought the camera was capable of turning the picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Baker, LA on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Prettty easy install and the picture is clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Arnold, MO on 4/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality and easy to install. Has a great picture. Can recommend if your in the market for a rear view camera.

Pros: Clear picture easy install.

Cons: Make sure you have a place to mount it before you buy, I had to mount it under the bumper if my pickup because there was no room above when the tailgate was down.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Gibsonville, NC on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera but labeling needs work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Ridgway, CO on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, installed in a couple hours. Picture quality is what you should expect from a small fisheye lens. Wire run and camera attachment took an hour while dash, console, Kenwood DDX9703S removal, wire connection, and re-installation took much longer. Worth the price and time required to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very good back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So easy to install good back up camera Totally recommend

Pros: The whole thing Good job kenwood

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2013 Jeep Wrangler Installation

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera brought my 2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport into the 21st century. Was super easy to run all of the connections from the rear of the Jeep to connect to my new aftermarket Kenwood head unit.

Pros: Easy connection and integration with my new Kenwood head unit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Potomac, MD on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still getting used to picture quality but install went well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased two of these cameras with a Kenwood 876 head unit, as I find keeping in the same brand minimizes problems. The relatively small size of the head made for discrete mounting under the front license plate and the trunk lid (2014 Miata) (the front mount needed fabrication of a small L-bracket to permit mounting where I wanted the camera to sit). Very good clarity, and the rear camera cooperates well with the Kenwood head unit's backing lines overlay.

Pros: Small, solid build quality, ease of integration with a Kenwood head unit.

Cons: The mounting brackets are good, but could use a revision to increase the range of angles the camera can move relative to the mount.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Michael from Van Nuys, CA on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent image quality, but a little too much "fish-eye" for me. Cable is plenty long enough for just about any vehicle.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Excessive "fish-eye" from very wide angle lens

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

03 F250

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Backup camera works great and has a great picture even at night with no washout.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera

Crutchfield customer from Owensboro, KY on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, easy to use with my kenwood display

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Helpful to have a wiring diagram before installation

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IN on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The picture is good, but I think the design would be better if it allowed for tying in to the reverse lights instead of into the wiring harness at the front of the vehicle. Crutchfield provided excellent directions, but I'm not sure if the wire I tapped in to was the right one or not since the camera does not come on automatically when I shift into reverse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Barrigada, GU on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the quality on the camera!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Charles from ADA, MI on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera works great with my Kenwood deck. Very clear video.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely good camera during daytime. Mine is mounted just above and center on the license plate. The lights that shine on the license plate cause some serious glare at night making it hard to see.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Doswell, VA on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Looks good seems tone well made.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Casey from Huntsville, TX on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Good quality picture. Great night vision. Can be easily mounted anywhere. Plenty of cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera and I love the guide lines for backing in. I also installed the DRV-N520 dash camera but gave it an indifferent review but noted I was working with Crutchfield. I now give it a 5 star rating after Crutchfield's tech department helped me understand the proper setup to be used. Good job Tech. 2004 Chevy SSR-DMX907S + CMOS-230 + DRV-N520 + PAC RP5-GM11 Wiring Interface...All work perfectly together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Mastic, NY on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clear view. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would review this but can't I have no radio to plug it into its on back order 12 million years

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Great camera but..........

Jesse from DAVENPORT, FL on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this camera to install with the new Kenwood DVD player on my 2001 GMC Sierra. Overall the camera is great. The downside is that it is square shaped. This makes it difficult to mount it flush to a panel. The cheaper cameras available usually come with a few different brackets to mount in different scenarios. Most are round and are able to mount flush to a panel by just drilling the right size hole. This one however does not have these brackets and are only able to mount with the included bracket. The issue with this is that if you wanted to make it look like it came with the car, it sticks out like a sore thumb. You would think that such a high quality camera from Kenwood, would be designed to be able to mount flush. This would give you a much cleaner install. I thought about buying the cheaper ones but then you end up with bad picture quality. So your options are either get a nice looking, flush mounting camera with sorry video quality, or get a great camera (Kenwood) with limited mounting options that just stick out and look awkward.

Pros: Good quality from Kenwood. Excellent picture quality.

Cons: Limited on mounting options with square design.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Rockport, TX on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great wires were a good length for a 4 door long bed ford.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good clear picture

Mike from BLOCK ISLAND, RI on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clear picture. Handles sunlight well, does not bleach out the whole image.

Pros: Seamless connection to Kenwood DNX696S

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Star, ID on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera for the money. Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, VA on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera, perfect picture

Pros: I had to mount mine just off center due to the rear hatch handle. It works fine and I was able to adjust the backup lines to accommodate the location.

Cons: None that I noticed

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Walden, NY on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and great picture - so easy to see everything behind me. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley Hts, NJ on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from S Glens Falls, NY on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Have two or these installed absolutely impressed.

Crutchfield customer from Spartanburg, SC on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality camera and picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Smyrna, DE on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Mount Carmel, TN on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, FL on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, decent picture

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from West Columbia, SC on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Ellington, CT on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and small with a clean look works great so far and easy adjustments

Pros: Very nice add to cars without camera

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy install and a great addition

Richard from NORFOLK, VA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera hooks right into the back of the radio. Plenty of wire to run through car. Easily mounts and adjusts with the guidance lines as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Hagerstown, MD on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sometimes the grid lines show up, sometimes they dont.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Why did I wait?

Crutchfield customer from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Kenwod head unit capable of adding the rear camera and finally had the CMOS-230 installed in my 2007 FJ Cruiser. Not sure why I waited so long. The FJ Cruiser has major blind spots and the camera is a game changer. The picture is clear and the angle is wide enough to sufficiently show the peripheral area.

Pros: High quality camera.

Cons: Instalation cost with a qualified car audio guy was about $250

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Kris from Shelton, CT on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install in 2011 Honda Civic EX, no drilling needed.

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Ridgefield, WA on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

nice camera

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

LOVE this little camera! Works great. Paired it with a new Kenwood head unit. I did hotwire it into the reverse lights and that worked beautifully

Pros: easy install

Cons: image is a little yellow to orange tinted, but no concern

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and parking assistance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just OK

Crutchfield customer from Brodhead, KY on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well but is difficult to install. The size / shape of this camera makes it difficult to install as it comes with a small thin bracket but needs to come with a custom fit license plate mount. Also, the instructions say "Do not get it wet" so I'm not supposed to drive in the rain? I shielded it from the rain as much as possible (another reason for a needed custom mount) and so far it has stayed dry but time will tell. If I had it to do over I would have purchased a camera with a real mount built into the license plate frame.

Pros: Nice Image, Long Cable Length

Cons: Thin Cheap Mount, No Bracket to Properly Install on Vehicle

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall works as designed. Low light is better than expected. Good light is slightly worse than expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from White Stone, VA on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

factory provided schematic was incorrect , Crutchfield great staff made it work ! Thank You Crutchfield .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not good for forward facing camera

Crutchfield customer from Stillwater, OK on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used as a forward facing camera and can not get the image to look right. It's mirrored to what it should be

Pros: Image is great and installation is easy

Cons: Image is mirrored

Crutchfield response on 12/31/2019
We're sorry you're having issues with your camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounted quite nicely under the lift gate on my 2003 Tahoe- Nice wide angle view behind the vehicle. Hopefully the sticky tape with hold it there

Pros: Great image

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Queen Creek, AZ on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and the video quality is on par with others I have used.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and integrate with my Kenwood Excelon DMX905S. The image quality is very clear. I was impressed with the nighttime performance as well. It just works. Definitely recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera is nice, I wish the included bracket was better and that the camera would receive power from the deck rather than having to run a wire to the battery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Scammon, KS on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Works with my stock tuner

Cons: Gets dirt on lens on dirt roads - but not the camera s fault

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this more for my daughter. I continue to use the mirrors, but she is more secure in backing up with the camera. I like it to. I am less stressed that she'll back into a car. Still could happen, and I tell her to use mirrors to. This helps a great deal.

Pros: Very simple to hook up, and plugs right into back of stereo.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good cam, clear images, worth the investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy install

Kenny from Chandler,AZ on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't beat the price and fast shipping from VA to AZ. First time I've installed this back up camera. Plenty of wire to run from back of the suv to the front.

Pros: Great quality, easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Stanfield, OR on 9/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality is pretty good. Have no complaints about it. Install was pretty easy. Only thing is the wires could be a bit longer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great camera to go with a great radio

Crutchfield customer from Baldwin, NY on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this camera to go with the Kenwood DNX696S head unit. Camera was very high quality with a great wiring harness which was long enough to make it to the dashboard with 2 ft. To spare in a 2007 Lexus Rx350. Simple to install looks and works great. Resolution is much better than the camera that is factory installed in my other 2013 Lexus RX450H. You can't go wrong with this reverse camera.

Pros: Nice hardware and wiring harness.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great picture quality

Joe from Honolulu, HI on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality video hooked up to my Kenwood DDX9906XR head unit. Pretty straight forward install with just enough wiring to leave me 1ft to spare on my 2006 Toyota 4runner. I have an OCD so the way I chose to run my camera surely caused me to have less leftover wiring, but in the end it made for a really clean install.

Pros: Great picture quality, perfect amount of wiring to run it front to back.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 8 found this helpful

See what's behind

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 7/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice to have on a truck with canopy.

Pros: Line marker mode is helpful

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK

Crutchfield customer from Washington, IL on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't tell that the picture is all that much better than a cheaper unit, and it is not a RCA connector so that makes it not directly interchangable with units that use the RCA jacks if you need to replace it later.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Gansevoort, NY on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera very clear and easy to hook up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Norman Park, GA on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product. Very clear resolution.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kenwood CMOS-230 is a very good back up camera, combined with the Kenwood DNX575S, the adjustable parking clearance lines are a tremendous aide for safely backing up . The camera adjusts for different levels of light from bright sun to night. Installation takes some basic skills with mechanical and automotive knowledge as you will be required to tap into the vehicles electrical system after routing the cameras power and video cable to your video component.

Pros: Great back up camera, clear, wide angle view, auto brightness compensation, works at night, combined with a compatible head end the guide lines are user adjustable

Cons: It's wired, so installation requires some skills, there are no guide lines without a compatible system using video overlays like the Kenwood DNX575S

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great kenwood add on

Gary G from Belcamp, MD on 3/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera matches the head unit. Install was a bit more involved than I was expecting. But it was worth it!

Pros: Head unit recognizes the camera

Cons: Install was a little more involved. But it was worth it

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Halethorpe, MD on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great. Looks better then my backup camera on my 2018 4Runner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 2/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works well and was easy to set up. Strangely, it wouldn't work with the designated camera wires from the head unit (also Kenwood). Easy fix though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Palmer Lake, CO on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this camera as a rear view enhancement for my emplacement Kenwood unit. So far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome backup Camera

Brian from O Fallon, IL on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This backup camera was an easy install. Picture is fantastic!

Pros: Easy to install. Great picture.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Steven from Munford, TN on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed a few days ago good view day or night .Had some problems with the wiring but just a few calls and watching a u tube it was up and running love the parking lines. Installed on my 02 F-250 super duty 4x4 with a Kenwood DDX6904s head unit .No more problems with hooking up my trailer backup and stopped dead center on the ball thanks to the camera will be installing a front camera next all purchased from Crutchfield with outstanding customer service and tech support

Pros: Low light view surprisingly clear vision

Cons: Wiring could be explanation could be better but that on the other hand could be just me

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

James from Wilmington, DE on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera worked great with my head unit . Picture looks great. Good buy

Pros: Easy install

Cons: A little pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice camera

Roland from Houma, LA on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great backup camera. I hooked this up on my 2000 Chevy Silverado. Great picture even at night.

Pros: Nice view, easy install

Cons: No instructions specific to my truck, although the connections were simple. Had to use google for mounting ideas. I ended up mounting on top the license plate just tucked the mounting bracket behind the plate.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Safety & convienance ! ! !

MATT from Loxahatchee, FL on 10/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kenwood CMOS-230 rear-view camera is an excellent addition to My 2005 FORD F-350 Dually. It is not only a valuable added safety feature, but also enables me to hookup my tag trailer more easily.

Pros: ALL GOOD, READ THE REVIEW.

Cons: NONE.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Camera

Nicholas from Rolling Meadows, IL on 7/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera for my son's new car.

Pros: Nice video

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great picture

Edwin from Wyoming, MI on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good camera and works perfectly with kenwood radio

Pros: Very small don't even notice it there, mounts very easy.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Midway, GA on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product very easy to install. Works great with DMX905S ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, CO on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera. Easy to install. Just a couple of plugins and it was good to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Robert from Panama City, FL on 5/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this as a rear camera but took the installer's advice and a a camera with night vision for the rear and used this one as a front camera

Pros: Cheaper than some camera options

Cons: Mounting is adhesive and no night vision.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Expensive

Crutchfield customer from Ivins, UT on 5/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not the fault of the unit, but it is overpriced for what it provides. I should have purchased a les expensive camera that does just about the same thing. Pay attention, as this is a CMOS 2xxx and the red must be connected to the red ACC wire and the black is grounded. The Kenwood DDX9905S has a "camera +" and a "camera -" coming out of the back. It is for the CMOS 3xxx. It is stated in the manual, but easy to overlook.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Good camera

Tdan from Pasadena, TX on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Nice camera

robert from Cincinnati, IA on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera, fairly easy install

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Limited on where it can be mounted.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Danville, CA on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works, it mounts well, wire length is sufficient. Just not as clear as I would like it to be, but that is why more expensive versions exist.

Pros: More than enough wire , small and sleek.

Cons: Quality is good, but not excellent.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Pierre, SD on 3/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

gary from Waco, TX on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was easy to installed and works great. very clear pictures

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Steve from Bowling Green, KY on 1/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I mounted this on top the brake light above the spare tire on a 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. I was concerned about mounting it offset to center based on notes I read. This location is great for the overall view, however this is not ideal for trailer hitch views. I also found that when backing up, the brake light overpowers the iris on the camera and makes it more difficult to see. The spare tire also blocks a portion of the view. I found the camera picture to be a bit muted, not like a typical camera but sufficient for a backup camera. Overall running the wire and harness required about 3/8" holes but there was plenty of wire and the cable quality was sufficient.

Pros: Nice quality mount and long cable to run to the front.

Cons: Camera iris is impacted by bright light of brake lights so use caution with placement.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Tad from Aurora, CO on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Easy setup process. Night or day excellent viewing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Piotr from Riverside, CA on 12/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good picture. Really easy to install, just plug it into the back of you radios and run a power and ground cable and your done

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent choice

Mark from Charlottetown PE on 12/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera. Tried 4 different solutions of CCD and CMOS cameras, and this one was the best. Very small size and very good picture. Would have liked to see a better connector on the wire near the camera for waterproofing purposes. But nothing a piece of heat shrink doesn't fix.

Pros: Small size, great picture, good name.

Cons: Exposed connector near camera

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Bob from Peru, NE on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it easy install, I looked thru all the comments before I bought it and found that the complaints were not substantiated works great at night with just the backup lights on, mounted right above the license plate, not need to take apart the tail light power wire for camera is within the wire from camera to dash and connected to the reverse wire.

Pros: Easy install great field of view.

Cons: None my wife even likes it.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Worth every penny!

Dave from Deer Park, NY on 11/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice camera with a sharp picture! A rubber grommet is included in the package. I have another brand of camera installed in my SUV and the clarity isn't close. Highly recommended.

Pros: Picture quality, rubber grommet, instructions.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Randy from Lake Havasu City, AZ on 8/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and install was simple on my 2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD.

Pros: Works just as advertised. Provided cable was plenty long enough. Wiring was a snap.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 7/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the camera, however I wish is was a bit smaller. I'm concerned about it getting knocked off in the car wash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Small package, bright picture.

john from TX on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small package and well put together. Wire is plenty long for installation on my jeep wrangler unlimited.

Pros: Small, sturdy unit. Plenty of wire for installation.

Cons: Does not have back up lines.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

clifford from Kailua Kona, HI on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and give much better backup image than the postage stamp size factory camera. This camera does not give guiding lines. I was not aware of this from the description. I probably would have got the multi angle version. The reason for only 3 stars is I am concerned how it needs to be mounted. It seems vulnerable to damage or misalignment since it projects from the mounting surface..... time will tell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

James Ochard from Silver Springs, NV on 6/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. I installed it in my RV and it would have bee nice to be able to buy an extension cable. As it turned out I had to fabricate my own.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great little camera!

Brian from Marietta, GA on 5/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was actually much easier than I had anticipated. I don't really like the aesthetics of a camera that covers up the license plate, so this little camera was perfect. I have it connected to a Kenwood Excelon DDX594 head unit. Picture quality is good, and surprisingly good in low light. I had thought it would not be sensitive enough without infrared emitters surrounding the lens, but the ambient light from a streetlight and from my reverse lights was sufficient to get good image quality when backing up at night and in the early morning.

Pros: Easy installation, good image quality for a device this small, good low light sensitivity, plenty of cable length with plenty to spare.

Cons: Bracket adjustment screws on the sides are a little tricky, you'll likely need a small right-angle Philips head screwdriver.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood backup camera

Robert from Pembroke, MA on 5/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Camera

Pros: very clear

Cons: ?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth the money

Russel Lee from Newark, OH on 5/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice camera. Installed in my 2006 Chevy truck. Makes hooking up to trailers a piece of cake!!

Pros: Easy install Good night vision

Cons: None as of now

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Jeff from Nags Head, NC on 3/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this camera. It was easy to install and provides excellent picture quality. I just wish it came with a license plate frame mounting option. It was difficult to conceal the camera on my 20016 Nissan Frontier.

Pros: Great picture, easy to install

Cons: Would like more factory mounting options.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Quality Camera

David A from Elk Grove, CA on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely a quality camera with several mounting options. The rear of the unit is threaded I was able to through mount from the back of the camera for a very secure very clean install. My kenwood head unit adds adjustable guidelines so it was good that this camera didn't have hard set guides.

Pros: Clear image, great field of view, very self contained in a sturdy well built housing.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 2/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera with good clarity. The guidelines I can live without. Good field of view as well. Pricey but worth the extra dollar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great picture

Michael from Albertville, AL on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to instal

Pros: Easy to instal

Cons: Non I found

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good product

John from Hampton, VA on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to replace a cmos-200 and I got this one. I liked the 200 better but it is what it is. The only problem I have with them is where the camera connects to the rest of the harness there is nothing to protect the connection and my wires rotted after a couple years. This time I put heat shrink and then wrapped the connection with electrical tape. The camera does help hooking up to a trailer or even just backing up. Hooked up exactly like my older camera did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Guest from Plainfield, IL on 8/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You should check out the Pioneer ND-BC8. It's cheaper, has a better picture, and is a best seller on Crutchfield, where as this one is not so clear. It's a no brainer for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

Kenwood CMOS-230

Crutchfield customer from litchfield ct on 6/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

kenwood cmos 230 nice camera came to me on time ,tech support was excellent no problems I would recommend !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rear View

Derrick from Clarksville, TN on 6/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works great and is so much better than I thought that it would be. The color is amazing and the night vision works awesome.

Pros: In color, so very clear and so much more than we expected

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice camera

Jwcyall from Clarksville, TN on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No complaints, great safety addition, easy install and interface.

Pros: Easy install, clear picture, easy interface

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood cmos 230

Rick g from Westhampton NY on 2/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Super clear picture

Pros: Size clarity

Cons: Price...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

So far, so good

Rod from Sumter, SC on 2/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product a little bigger than I would like but seems to work perfectly. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent

Dk from New York on 10/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kenwood just makes the best products. And the support from Crutchfield is bar none!

Pros: Wide Angle Good Picture Quality Excellent Night Vision

Cons: Should be installed by a pro

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

awesome camera

Fonner Four from Jersey Shore, NJ on 8/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera. Nice picture. Mounting hardware could use a little help and you should no that you can not go thru a car wash with it mounted

Pros: Great picture

Cons: Quirky mounting not very robust. No more car washes.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent after market back up cam

Chris from Upstate NY from New York on 8/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2014 BMW 328d xDrive lacked only the back up camera from being the perfect car and after I found the elec module it was a matter of the camera. The module vendor from Brooklyn suggested the Kenwood and he had it right. The camera gives me an excellent rear view and the detail is equal to the oem camera on my pick up. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros: excellent image

Cons: it's an install procedure that is best left to the professionals.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Camera

Tony from Tennessee on 7/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good camera for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP