Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
209 887 82

Our hours

Connect ID #
209 887 82
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Our current email response time is
48-72 hours

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

DVD receiver

MFR # DDX6906S

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

DVD receiver

MFR # DDX6906S

78 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Axton, VA on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it so far. Gonna take a little while to get used to all the features. Rear camera works great for hooking up the camper

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, IN on 5/21/2020

2006 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Problems w rear camera,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/27/2020
This customer contacted our Tech Support team and they sent out replacement camera right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 5/16/2020

2008 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The manual is very vague. The radio works good and does what it should. Sounds great also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 4/29/2020

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second kenwood stereo i have had and it is a great unit and does all that i want it to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 F150 with sync

Crutchfield customer from Kailua , HI on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I stepped up to this unit from a 5 year old KENWOOD. The sound tuning is spot on. I could totally set all my crossover frequencies to the RF 1572's (4) and my P3 10" sub. The ability to step the sound curve like that made it sound like I was at a metal fest live in my cab. Although I have 100 watts each to the 5x7's and 1200 watts to the P3 sub, it's the KENWOOD's ability to tune and set the sound curve that makes the difference. Blue tooth is fast and reliable, the apple CarPlay rocks. I strongly suggest the idatalink with maestro to make it all come together. People 100 yards away from my truck get to kick out the jams wether they want to or not! All the controls are quick, clear and easy to navigate.

Pros: Fast processing Great sound tuning System integration is a snap

Cons: I didn't qualify for a stimulus check so it still cost me ??

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Lumber Bridge, NC on 4/22/2020

2004 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome head unit, shouldve upgraded years ago.

Pros: Great features that allow access to both new tech and old music collection

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Black Diamond, WA on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck, really easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wouldn't think of buying anything else

Jesse from Ottumwa, IA on 4/20/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it's amazing. I started using kenwood excelon's and I haven't bought anything else since. This is my third one. I've bought one for every vehicle I got

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Key West, FL on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like my new KENWOODRemote . The hands free phone and the license frame rear camera sold me. Also, I was fortunate to find an experienced installer who did a first class install???? My only 2 issues. Don't like the advertising screens on the radio, and believe the rear camera should be color adjustable.

Pros: New KENWOODRemote is an outstanding replacement for my 20 yr. old Ford OEM radio

Cons: Radio Screen Advertising

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Parkersburg, WV on 4/19/2020

2012 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great products, thorough instructions for installation and customer service available for questions!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything I needed

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 4/16/2020

2008 Volkswagen Touareg 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features. Works well with Android Auto and seamless with Apple CarPlay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent unit with so many options.

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mary, FL on 4/14/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cant believe everything this car stereo can do! Removed my orginal unit in my 2006 Tacoma and installed this unit. Have I been missing out all these years. Radio picks up even remote stations, CD/DVD sounds fantastic even through stock speakers and the bluetooth/phone interface is so easy to use. Love the way it auto syncs with phone as soon as I turn on the truck. Interface on every screen is easy and intuitive to use. Very impessed with the flexibility to add in other external devices, like cameras , amps and others. This worked out so good that I bought another one for my 2011 Corrolla.

Pros: Radio reception Excellent sound even with stock speakers User interface is very intuitive Phone and blue tooth pairing Addon for optional accessories Customizeable colors and icon placement on home screen.

Cons: Instructions that come with the radio could be better. Online docs and forums helped with deeper questions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 4/5/2020

2006 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent stereo sometimes shuts off for no reason.

Pros: Kenwood quality

Cons: Randomly shuts off

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Matthews, NC on 3/29/2020

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was very easy to install and I am not an experienced installer but I do have some mechanical ability. The instructions that were provided were clear and concise and the wiring harnesses that Crutchfield provided worked perfectly and had simple instructions that meshed with unit instructions. Crutchfield also provided instruction for getting the trim that is particular to my vehicle off that were simple to follow. The unit performs as advertised and does everything that it claimed to do. It is very intuitive in its operation although you might not think so reading the instructions. Sound quality is excellent.

Pros: Easy to install, good sound quality, very intuitive operation. Good picture quality but I don't use it for videos. Easy to use ports for front and rear cameras.

Cons: The only con I can think of is that the screen sits flat in the dash with no way to adjust it towards the driver to ease in screen touch but that would not dissuade me from purchasing it. I've had recent shoulder surgery so reaching the screen is a little challenging for me right now but so is reaching the ignition.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Lima, OH on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't believe technology has come this far!

Pros: Hands free sync

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

great unit

Crutchfield customer from Keyser, WV on 3/15/2020

2008 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kenwood DDX6906S reciever is a nice addittion to my 08 gmc. I love the android auto and the back and front cameras, they really come in handy when parking and pulling my toyhauler. not the easiest to install but not bad either.

Pros: responsive, great colors, front and rear cameras, android auto, sat radio

Cons: alot of wiring, additional equipment needed to keep steering wheel controls, chimes, rear entertainment etc....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon 6906s

Anthony from Mannsville, KY on 3/15/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this product from Crutchfield and received it earlier than expected. Love the head unit and all the features! I just installed a 5 channel amp, Alpine Type R components and a 12" JL TW3 sub. System sounds great. I'm still tweaking the system with all the settings the head unit offers such as the 13 band eq, time correction, crossover settings and all the other options that helps improve the compressed files are great. I have just started ripping my CDs as high res FLAC files that are awesome quality and compatible with this unit. I haven't even mentioned the DVD playback which is great quality as well. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a great head unit at a great price. And you can never go wrong purchasing from Crutchfield with all the assistance and customer service they offer. The only thing I am currently trying to figure out is how to turn off the speed comp setting that I cannot find the location to change. The volume goes up as I accelerate and down when I brake. I'm calling a tech next week but no complaints at all.

Pros: Great Value, Ton of features, Android Auto, multiple phones connected at once, EQ settings, HPF and LPF, DVD and USB music or movies

Cons: No aux cord connection (but bluetooth and Android Auto) Currently cannot find location for speed comp setting

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Tinton Falls, NJ on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio. If you're buying it to replace a factory unit integrated dvd, you will definitely need right angle/ low profile 3.5mm jacks for the back of the radio so that it will fit in the space. You may still need to cut/ remove some factory plastic to help fit. The Crutchfield staff and tech support is unbeatable!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Just buy it, and the predone wiring kit, and git er done!

Crutchfield customer from Brinnon, WA on 3/7/2020

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Kenwood is great! Apple Car Play, bluetooth only if you want it, doesn't start playing music automatically like my Toyota radio. Backup camera I installed is great too. I love the camera button. It's the reason I didn't buy Pioneer (no camera button.) I also think the tough screen is great. Some other review complained it wasn't good, but I have no complaints. This was the same price as other online stores but didn't come with customer service, $50 off install kits, tech support (which part of dash to cut, which wire to tap the camera into), and all the rest of the stuff I needed to install. I saved $350 to not have the local big box store install it. They also tried to sell me components I didn't need. The prewire kit was worth it. Don't try and save a few bucks, just get the prewire kit...it's basically plug and play!

Pros: Easy install, great radio.

Cons: I needed to file the dash kit tabs because the radio was a bit big for it. When it squeezed on it made the dash kit bow. Other than that, install went well. Directions said to cut metal piece, I don't think it was necessary, just cut the plastic shelf on the lower part. 2004 Silverado

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Lawton, OK on 3/1/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great makes My factory speakers sound a whole lot better every think works as it should I put it in my 2008 Chevy Silverado crew cab.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spgs, FL on 2/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I love this new radio after years debating I took the plunge however I would second think about buying it from Crutchfield. You would be better off going to a car radio shop and get it done locally. I had a very bad experience with Crutchfield and found they do not know as much as I was led to believe about installing the unit. I found more information on youtube.

Pros: Great radio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing radio!!!

Jason from Jasper , GA on 2/29/2020

2014 Ford Flex

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing upgrade from stock! The Idatalank Maestro really makes this unit come alive! Well worth it!

Pros:

Cons: Resistive touch screen, lesser models have capacitive touch. It works fine though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pleased with KENWOOD Excelon

Crutchfield customer from Brookville, OH on 2/26/2020

2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

KENWOOD Excelon is excellent! Very pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 2/24/2020

2005 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made a big improvement form 15 year old factory unit. Great to have bluetooth now for handsfree calls and lots of control with adjusting the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good performance and robust - more capabilities than I will ever use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Dexter, MI on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this Kenwood model 6906S. I used the existing speakers in my truck but the sound quality is a lot better now. It must be the Kenwood amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Fall Branch, TN on 2/4/2020

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good unit for the money. my only complaints are when using a flashdrive it will not shuffle through my song if they are separated by the artist, the computer does that automatically. In order to get it to work properly, you have to open each file individually and move the song over to the flashdrive. the other complaint I have is it is difficult to use the touchscreen while driving down the road, but I am used to having buttons.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

AWESOME!

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 1/27/2020

2009 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent unit. Installed in my 2009 Challenger RT. When set up with a kenwood amp and speakers, Maestro communication unit, this setup is a blast (literally.) Crutchfield made the parts, connections, finding the right adapters very easy.

Pros: relatively easy installation. TONS of features and audio adjustability

Cons: Did have to cut the dash interior some to get it to fit--not a tough modification

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great system

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 1/21/2020

2010 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system. Sounds great nice features. The hard buttons on the left side are small and hard to use when installed in a Camaro but steering wheel controls take care of that.

Pros: Very nice sounds. The touchscreen works great. Android auto is great for navigation.

Cons: Small physical buttons on left side.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Greg from Tipp City, OH on 1/19/2020

2002 Buick Park Avenue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the performance and features of this Kenwood head unit. I put this in my 2002 Buick Park Ave with the 9 speaker system. I hooked up the microphone for the hands free feature for my android phone and added a back-up camera. I also added an ASWC-1 steering wheel control module. All the features work well. My other vehicle is a 2019 RAM PU with the U-connect system. The brand new Ram has a few subtle features that are nicer than the Kenwood but, overall the Kenwood does the same thing for a lot less money. Makes my old car seem like a new toy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I love this stereo

Crutchfield customer from Sedalia, MO on 1/5/2020

2014 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First I replaced my factory speakers in my 2014 challenger with infinity reference. Sounded only marginally better. Added 500w 10 sub. Still not impressed. Added the kenwood ddx6906s......absolutely amazing sound. I picket it for the 22 watt rms, 5volt sub preout, android auto and the tunability of the sound stage and equalizer. The more time I spend tuning the stereo speakers, loudness, bass boost, etc. The better it gets. This unit helped triple the sound output of the vs using low level converter in stock system. Android auto works perfect on my note 9. However my wife's Samsung A7 is not???? A little frustrating as this is her car. Produced error code 4446 and 4448. Guess last upgrade is a new phone for her.

Pros: Amazing sound. Setting equalizer and sound stage makes the sound insanely good. Android auto is awesome. 5 volt preout for sub netted huge sound level and quality gains from sub.

Cons: Was not compatible with Samsung A7. Eventhough it appears to have acceptable android version.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Pine Bluff, AR on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio, it does everything the radio in my new 2019 GMC Acadia does and more, completely satisfied with it. I recommend this radio to everyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Value

Crutchfield customer from Brodhead, KY on 1/1/2020

2010 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has a lot of nice features and has a quick compliant touch screen. I have not been able to use it much yet but the sound is clear and produces the best quality my speakers are capable of generating. I'm not happy with the Blue-Tooth interaction as it requires you to glance at the screen when selecting a number to call.

Pros: High Quality Sound, Responsive and Well Organized Screen

Cons: Blue-Tooth calling requires you to look at the screen.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 12/31/2019

2010 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I love the unit. Couple of minor issues - lowest eq band is 63 hz vs 30 like most eq so at best (with bass ext on) you can have under 63 hz have the same setting, which isn't great since many boxes have their ports tuned to 60 hz (+3db @ 60 hz) - lack of hard transport buttons - auto playing Bluetooth when it binds even when it was paused when the car was shut off

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Prineville, OR on 12/30/2019

2012 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Laceys Spring, AL on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and setup, great sound for our motor home!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean look and great sound.

Pros: Really good sound and easy set up.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio at a great price.

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 12/18/2019

2006 Lexus RX400H

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with great sound. An under rated thing about this radio is the display. One of the reasons we chose this radio is for our grand kids and the screen is clear vibrant and can be seen very well from the back seat!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To me good sounds and options

Pros: Screen choices are intuitive

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Richard from Marseilles, IL on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice Unit. Sound is good and unit operates well. Only problem is the Apple Car Play. The phone sounds great when utilizing Bluetooth and the mic gain is adjustable. However, when I utilize the phone through Apple Car Play, people complain I sound far away. There is no mic gain adjustment when utilizing the phone through Apple Car Play. Since hands free phone is essential, I am unable to utilize Apple Car Play because of that flaw. Otherwise the unit is great!

Pros: Good Sound, great features

Cons: Apple Car Play is Unusable if you utilize hands free phone.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, NM on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Graphics could be better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Sewanee, TN on 11/29/2019

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit is set up in a non user friendly way.I replaced a cheep double din that was getting very slow and could not be updated.The Kenwood has a much better sound system but does not have near the usable items.This may have to do with new driver safety rules.I am keeping the unit but am let down on it,the sound is the only reason.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Poorly laid out controls and not user friendly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 11/24/2019

2019 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not installed system yet can't rate. It

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 10 found this helpful

Kenwood sounds in a Camaro 2rss.

Crutchfield customer from Grifton, NC on 11/20/2019

2012 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I only had problems with one wire hook up from the radio plug wire harness to the data wiring harness and the support team help me out. Went back to the shop and install the unit in 30 minute. Turn the system on and wow, wow, it was a great sound. I like every thing this system has to offer from Crutchfield.

Pros: good buy for your money.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Greeley, CO on 11/17/2019

2008 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased as a gift for teenage daughter. Needed hands free phone, but received so much more. She loves the radio especially the blue tooth connection to play "her music". Would most definitely purchase again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Android Auto Update didn't cooperate...

Crutchfield customer from Sherman, TX on 11/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was updating an older dual din Kenwood so installation wasn't hard. Overall the radio itself has been great once I worked through some quirks. One was the Android Auto, however after investigating and tech support help I believe the issue is phone related to the Type-C phone jack on my phone is worn. One problem I had was trying to do the Kenwood Android Auto software update the technician...I could never get it to run correctly. Did have a hiccup with my cruise control quit working after installation, but tech support helped me with that. After several attempts, we shotgunned it and reseating the sensor connection at the brake pedal appears to have resolved it. I would give the radio 5 stars if not for the update issue. Since I got it on sale. definitely not getting less than 4 stars. Crutchfield Tech support...well you get 5 stars alone.

Pros: Simple installation, Crutchfield Tech support is superb.

Cons: Could not get Android Auto update to run correctly.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product very easy to manage

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio with two cameras, some minor things that are liveable.

Crutchfield customer from Baytown, TX on 11/10/2019

2008 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio and functions. Exactly what I expected from a Kenwood. I am not for sure if my backup camera issues (have had a couple of instances where the backup camera did not come on when I put the truck in reverse) are from the radio or from the iDatalink module. I am leaning on the iDatalink since it ties truck harness wiring to radio. Overall it is good. I could not give it a 5 star due to the Android auto issues. Android auto is a cool function, but it needs to be a Bluetooth function and not a USB wired function. Also could not give it 5 stars because I was not able to view more truck sensors like I could with the Torque app. It would be nice to have the Torque App on the radio.

Pros: Two cameras; EQ functions are nice to fine tune sound to your liking; it nice to be able to view some diesel truck PIDS (sensors); great sound and functions.

Cons: Android auto is kind of a pain to use; playing the radio and using Android auto can be done, but it takes some work; wish their was more app options or the ability to put apps on the radio; wish I could use some apps off of phone.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, SC on 11/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with all the features. Found out the hard way about the difference between a Sirius receiver (my OEM radio) and a SiriusXM receiver (this model) The SiriusXM models DO NOT get the same channel lineup that the Sirius receivers get. You get less channels! I lost some of my favorite channels when I swapped from the OEM receiver to this one. Of course Sirius will let you add those channels back for $20 more per month! Bunch of BS.

Pros: Has a lot of features

Cons: Screen does not dim enough at night

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

As good as it gets. Especially for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Chipley, FL on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have Kenwood in both my vehicles and another one that I sold a few mounths ago. That should tell you something right there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

New purchase...so far so good.

Guest from Los Angeles, CA on 11/1/2019

2001 BMW 5 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased today and still getting used to all the features and controls. Love the large touch screen interface and the unit sounds amazing. So far so good, but need to dive a little deeper on sussing out the controls.o

Pros: Looks incredible.Icons all easy to read and maneuver.

Cons: Only con so far is figuring out how to configure the steering wheel control for the FM radio so I only get my preset stations. Wish they had a simple eject button for the CD player.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Receiver For The Price!

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 10/29/2019

2001 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only thing preventing a 5 star review is the very poor user manual. It is meant to be a menu-driven set up process, but it is not very clear for the average person who is not an audio guru. Once you figure it out, the sound quality is fantastic and the capabilities are very impressive.

Pros: Sound quality, video quality and awesome capabilities.

Cons: Bad user manual.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sounds great, many audio options for your car/tastes

William from ANCHORAGE, AK on 10/25/2019

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install with harness. Sounds great, with many options for tweaking sound to match/blend with your vehicle. Touch screen is responsive (no remote) and all forms of media sound good, from thumbdrive to CD. Easy to operate and user friendly screens. I have no amp and this unit drives the speakers (aftermarket) well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, WY on 10/24/2019

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

The Az. Men

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 10/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit works as advertised. Everything works as I should so I have no complaints at all, touchscreen is very responsive menus are easy to read and navigate so what else price was good as well. Never had issues with Kenwood Excelon!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 10/12/2019

2010 Nissan Frontier SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kenwood whats there to say, its the leader in car audio! The screen delivers HD quality, and so many way to tailor your music. If its not Kenwood, you not hearing it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Wow...no CD text?

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, OR on 10/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would have been a five star rating but for some reason the major manufacturers of car audio receivers today have sold out to MP3 audio. I listen to a lot of store bought CDs mainly for sound quality. For a video screen based unit you would think they would at the very least include some sort of Meta Data or CD text information to be displayed on the 7" video screen. No way. They display nothing unless you are playing music from your phone. That being said.....this is a good deck and I am happy with the sound quality and feature set. The GUI is coherent and easy to use. The guys at Crutchfield have been extremely helpful and a pleasure to work with. Thanks again for the support.

Pros: Great GUI. Nice EQ and crossover features. Good sound quality.

Cons: No CD text or Meta Data displayed

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Love it!!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Newfield, NJ on 9/30/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sound, love the touch screen. Great investment!

Pros: Everything!!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Los Alamitos, CA on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new Stereo works great, Crutchfield was quick to fill the order, I added the harness to go with my car and it worked perfectly. very satisfied with my purchase and will be back if i need anything else. thank you Mike Sousa

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointing unit that fails to deliver in many ways.

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 9/29/2019

1995 Honda Prelude

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I choose the Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S to replace the original factory radio/cassette and CD player combo in my 95 Prelude. I choose the Kenwood because it was a name I trusted, others had recommended the brand, it had a CD/DVD drive, it supported Android Auto and it supported an optional backup camera. The sound quality is perfectly fine. Paired with Infinity Reference speakers and a Rockford Fosgate 10" subwoofer in the trunk, the unit sounds very good. But the Android Auto feature repeatedly crashes. That same Samsung S8 phone and USB cable got me all over New England so its definitely the Kenwood (Google Kenwood, Android Auto and crash to see how common this problem is). Plus the interface is a disaster. When playing CDs the eject button is buried 3 menus down. There is no volume knob, just an up/down rocker switch which does not auto-repeat, so you have to repeatedly mash the down button to drop the volume when road noise drops (coming to a stop) or the next track is recorded at a different level to the previous one. The backup camera mode overlays a warning that manages to sit exactly in the field of vision obscuring the image. Also there is no OFF button. The unit powers up when the car starts and even "Standby" mode does not shut it off. This is a problem for cars with powered aerials that rise and lower with the radio. There is no way to lower the aerial at the car wash other than shut off the engine.

Pros: Sound quality.

Cons: Android Auto is very buggy. No powered aerial retraction option. Poorly laid out interface. No auto-repeat on volume rocker switch. Ill advised position of warning overlays for backup camera mode.

Crutchfield response on 9/30/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

16 of 16 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Jurupa Valley, CA on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall happy with the layout of the buttons/controls, the screen clarity is a big improvement from my older Kenwoode DDX393. The processor in the unit is definitely faster too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethton, TN on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to operate and top notch sound works with steering wheel controls

Pros: Sound equalizer easy installation all around very pleased

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Some buggers, but can't beat good sound.

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like Kenwood equipment. Great sound and reliability. I wish the settings and programming were a bit easier to do. Never the less, you can't go wrong with this brand.

Pros: Great sound and reliability. Android connection with programming.

Cons: I wish the Android connection were easier to work.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Moore, OK on 8/4/2019

2010 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome display, super easy to install. Haven't even gotten through all the features yet.

Pros: Easy to install, tons of features, Robust EQ section

Cons: Touchscreen isn't quite as responsive as I thought it would be

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Bluffton, OH on 7/30/2019

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and use. Very Happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good radio the only thing that sucks that i wasn't aware of is the Apple car play and Andriod auto only work if it hooked up through the usb to the phone. Other than that the radio sounds great and works good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 7/21/2019

2004 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Always loved kenwood decks. Easy to use installation was easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit that has many options for the car stereo enthusiast. I am amazed at how easy it is to make changes based on the genre of music on the fly. All the Audio category listings make it very easy to do so. Android Auto is a plus!! I would definitely recommend this head unit to others.

Pros: Quick easy sound adjustment with lots of EQ presets for different types of music, Android Auto, lots of options for front imaging enhancements to create a better sound stage in the vehicle

Cons: Buttons are hard to press, no physical eject button for DVD/CD.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Rocky Hill, CT on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is a great head unit, as others say. The UI is generally easy, the touch screen works well, and it has incredible options for manual adjustment of your sound. The addition of vehicle integration (with the appropriate adapters) for things like Check Engine codes, and other specs as available plus OEM backup cam , steering wheel controls, etc is great. Too many good things to list. A few things that are not the best are the buttons on the left side of the screen. In general the buttons are bit too stiff to press easily while driving and can be hard to discern which is which when not looking. There is a maximum of 2 connected simultaneous devices for phone calls (and only 1 for audio streaming). I have not tried to pair more than 2 devices so I am unsure of its maximum capacity. Switching between the two phones for audio streaming, while not difficult, is not intuitive. It isn't as simple as pressing a single option to swap, or being the only device connected if the primary isn't in range, you have to go through a menu tree to change. Additionally if the phone is not in range when the vehicle is started (remote start for example) and the headunit is unable to auto connect at startup I have not found a manual way to initiate the connection without powering the head unit off and then turning it back on. Again this is not difficult, but it is not intuitive either as other brands have had a "connect" option. The option to eject a disc is also only via the menu.

Pros: Great sound, amazing sound parameter adjustments, clear screen, good touch response, stutter free DVD playback, good Bluetooth range, Built in Apps work well with cellphone, iDATA Link works great with Maestro unit

Cons: Bluetooth Audio Streaming Device Selection is cumbersome, Device Connection (if not connected at startup) requires reboot of head unit as no visible connect button, Buttons are a bit stiff and hard to differentiate when driving and not looking, Eject "button" is an option hidden within the menu vs a physical button

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Cantonment, FL on 6/28/2019

2013 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros: Nice design

Cons: Can't screen share

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Colonia, NJ on 6/27/2019

2014 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this in my 14 Mustang GT. Finally have some technology in the car. Android auto works great. Speakers sound much better with some extra power going to them

Pros: Great sound, obd2 gauges, user interface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Gregory from Lebanon, TN on 6/19/2019

1989 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say, this Kenwood audio system works great! It's more than I expected. The sound is awesome, the features and adjustments you can make to really make your music audio sound amazing. The Apple car play app really integrates my phone and music to one source when I,m traveling. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Kirbyville, TX on 6/3/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best radio ever had does everything it said it could and so much more. The sound is fantastic couldn't have picked a better one. Installing was easy along with the set up. Highly recommended. Along with fast shipping only two days to get it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 5/23/2019

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, works great! Connected to my phone quickly and easily. Would definitely recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, IN on 5/7/2019

2008 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

radio works well and car play works pretty well Plus it will play a dvd if your stuck somewhere for a while

Pros: Plays dvd Car play

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX6906S

Danny from Missouri on 4/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got mine and it's very smooth. The sound quality is great and it has a ton of settings for adjusting the audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Zero complaints

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 4/3/2019

2010 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install, sound quality very high. Clean design simplistic user interface loads of adjustability. Insanely happy with this purchase beautiful paired with my fosgate 12"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP