Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
445 575 23
Connect ID #
445 575 23
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

DVD receiver

MFR # DDX9905S

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

DVD receiver

MFR # DDX9905S

43 reviews
View replacement product

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Bryan from Boise, ID on 5/17/2019

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my 2018 Silverado 1500. I wanted to retain all of the factory features will getting some preamp outputs and increasing sound quality. Sound quality is great, much better than my stock head unit. Boot time is a second or two slower than stock but I hadn't noticed until I timed it. Audio controls are really good, very feature rich for a head unit. Bluetooth connects flawlessly and supposedly android auto wireless will work soon on phones other than just the Google Pixels. Wired android auto works perfectly on my Samsung galaxy phones. I haven't used weblink and don't plan to. Overall it was really very easy to install and paired with the maestro idatalink I was able to maintain all factory controls while gaining a ton of new features and increasing audio quality

Pros: Great sound, easy to install, lots of functionality

Cons: A slight bit of glare in the right light but not really an issue since the screen tilt is adjustable. Wireless android auto issue is google's fault.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Anthony from Allison Park, PA on 4/16/2019

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the unit in a 2008 Mustang GT/CS. I purchased the Crutchfield wiring service, which extended the harness and made the connections super easy. The Kenwood Head unit was a very straight forward install. I found some great videos online which really helped (i.e. figure out what your doing prior to the install). The head unit was significantly lighter and smaller than the Ford Shaker 500 (6) CD system that it replaced, so there was plenty of room for the additional wiring. The mic and GPS wiring were simple. The head unit fit perfectly into the dash with the supplied adapter. There were no issues integrating the Kenwood unit with the Ford AMPs. The remainder of the system remained stock. The units sound is very, very customizable with the equalizer. The touch screen is bright and easy to navigate. The face plate does not fully open, it does a 45 degree tilt to accept a single CD, this is normal. The unit had no issues pulling in the local FM and HD stations. The setup was fairly intuitive. Apple carplay worked great, it's a wired connection that I hid in the center console. I added a license plate back-up camera, the car had nothing, thus it's a nice bonus. Soooo i'm still new to the system, so far, so good and it makes the old 2008 Mustang, with nothing in a way of fancy controls or gadgets seem a little fresher...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Crutchfield customer from Iselin, NJ on 4/4/2019

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best screen ever, sound quality is great. Replaced the head unit in my VW, sounds like I replaced the speakers as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceded my expections 10 fold...

James from Olympia, WA on 3/17/2019

2008 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I knew that the DDX9905S would be much better than my Ridgeline's factory radio, however, the Kenwood has blown my expectations away. When most people buy a Stereo, I think we're looking for the basics, Radio, BT, CD?, Apple/Android, better sound. I had no idea just how amazing the DDX features are. The interface is very intuitive and the sound is fully customizable. The DDX9905S sounds absolutely amazing over my speakers, and I haven't even installed my new speakers yet. The HD Radio is great. The BT works great and I love having access to Apple CarPlay. I am very happy with my purchase...

Pros: Just an all around amazing head unit.

Cons: Make sure you really take your time connecting all the wires. This isn't your grandfathers stereo...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fabulous performance and ease of use!

Steve from Fern Bch, FL on 2/18/2019

2009 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding performance, sound quality and ease of use. Apple CarPlay is seamless and so easy to use. As usual, the sales and support team at Crutchfield was first class. Even tho I had a problem with the PAC interface module, they were all over it and stepped me through troubleshooting and made swap out as simple and painless as possible. Love the look and sound, and will do business again with the great team at Crutchfield whenever I need audio products.

Pros: Performance Ease of use Screen quality Apple CarPlay

Cons: A bit pricey

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 2/15/2019

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is awesome!! Nothing I don't like about it!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Michael from Charleston, SC on 1/31/2019

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is very reliant on phone connectivity. At the end of the day, you've purchased a mini tablet that happens to have speaker outputs. The screen is gorgeous. The equalizer is solid. I replaced my 5th Generation 4Runner factory radio with this. A few things about this unit: WebLink and Android Auto are constantly competing. It will freeze. If you're looking at this for the wireless Android Auto, there are about 3 phones that are actually compatible. I'd be careful buying it for that purpose. The Android Auto is already finicky when hard wired. Small things like Waze losing Spotify controls or needing to pull up your phone while parked are a giant pain. Don't make your decision based solely on that. I did. I regret it now. Being so focused on wireless Android Auto, I failed to notice that the new Kenwoods have no AV input other than a 3.5 mm mini jack. If your plan is to mirror or transmit your device through a component AV output, this radio isn't for you. In order to do so, you'll need to spend around $100 on a casting device, HDMI to RCA converter, and RCA to 3.5mm AV adapter. Be prepared for screen resolution to go out the door. Why they got rid of the HDMI altogether boggles my mind. It still is a good unit, but don't expect perfection. I was frustrated with Crutchfield on a side note. They recommend all of their harnesses and a USB cord to retain factory USB port. This will not work on a Toyota 4Runne

Pros: Screen, equalizer, YouTube on WebLink, cameras are awesome

Cons: AV input. Waze screen not customizable and a little hard to see (it's in landscape mode essentially, not what you're used to in a phone which is generally portrait). Not very straightforward about Android Auto wireless compatibility.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Awesome Unit!

Levi from Broken Arrow, OK on 1/15/2019

2006 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best unit currently available on the market. I do wish CarPlay was wireless, but maybe a firmware update can fix that down the road since Android Auto is wireless. This thing has an amazing screen and a ton of features!

Pros: Features, Screen, Warranty is better than others, Menus are easy to use, great sound and connectivity

Cons: A physical volume knob would be preferable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfectly suited

joe from Acworth, GA on 1/14/2019

2011 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I feel this unit is second to none. Very easy to navigate capabilities are clearly not a problem. If in the market for a top notch center piece. then this is the first choice for the serious about sound performance people.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Stereo w great HD picture and many features!

Erick from Silver Spring, MD on 12/26/2018

2015 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this head unit! I previously owned the Kenwood 9703S and purchased the 9905S because of the HD display and capacitive touch screen. It was totally worth it. The display is nice and sharp, colors are bright and the illumination is adjustable which is great! Sound quality is excellent! Crisp and clean mids. Even the bass sounds better than my old 9703S. It has all the great options as previous units: equalizer with presets; sound effects such as bass boost, space enhancer, stage , "realizer", and many more; customizable button illumination color to match your dash, custom display wall paper, and so much more! There is nothing I don't love about this unit and I highly recommend it!

Pros: Everything.

Cons: A bit on the pricey side.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth the money

Shari from Eldorado, IL on 12/26/2018

2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S is well worth the money. I kept my factory speakers and they even sound better. I made the right choice with this purchase.

Pros: All great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Jason from Mountain Iron, MN on 12/17/2018

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo, has tons of features. It improved the sound of my factory Bose speakers a lot.

Pros: Has so many features and options

Cons: Has too many choices for music so you have to think about what you want to use to listen. not a bad problem to have

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent receiver

Tommy from Niceville, FL on 11/26/2018

2015 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the "cam" button on the front. Quick look at the front and rear cameras. the interface is easy to navigate as well.

Pros: All the features

Cons: like to keep fingerprints :)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 11/25/2018

1999 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful screen, love the ability to adjust the screen angle and all the features this unit is loaded with!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Value and Great Performance

Douglas from Laveen , AZ on 11/23/2018

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sounding car stereo. With the Crutchfield wiring harness, connecting this "Beast" to my cars adapter was a breeze. Accessing my phone apps and music are as simple as selecting Car Play and selecting an app to play my music, Pandora, Sirius etc... The CD player is a nice option to have in the case I want to play a CD. The screen is really quite clear when trying to play a DVD. It's really quite a great bargain for what all you get.

Pros: Touch Screen, Lots of options to tailor your music to your taste, Plenty of power, The option of being able to listen to CD's. Navigation is quite simple to use thanks to the large screen.

Cons: Kenwood app you download to your phone is pesty. I don't have really any cons for this unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Crutchfield customer from Van Nuys, CA on 11/20/2018

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great radio like most of the features. Only problem I have with it is that it doesn't operate my older iPod where as my old Kenwood excelon single DIN radios did. And then the interface for the file management system on the USB stick lags and doesn't recognize all the info maybe the problem is I'm using a 512 GB memory stick which is pretty much full at 440 gig of music. the audio controls and settings are very nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome choice for Android or iPhone

Scott from O Fallon, MO on 11/16/2018

2008 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was going back and forth between the 9905S and 9904S. Ultimately the screen and improved components in the 05S swayed me, and I have no regrets. The UI works very well, and the makes getting to all of the audio settings and moving in and out of CarPlay very manageable. I installed this in a 2008 4Runner replacing the factory nav and bluetooth. The integration with the iDatalink Maestro is also very impressive, definitely an upgrade from the factory setup in both sound and function. Plan on giving yourself plenty of time on the install, I have done dozens of standard head unit installs prior - but this is much more involved. As long as you understand going in what functionality is and isn't retained for your specific vehicle you won't be disappointed. Instructions from iDatalink don't give a ton of detail on the integration with the factory wiring and backup camera (cutting wires from the 24 pin connector), but a call to Crutchfield tech for clarification got everything sorted right away. Great product and support, would definitely recommend.

Pros: Screen, sound, CarPlay integration

Cons: Not cheap

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Quailty Stereo

Anthony from Odessa, TX on 11/10/2018

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy with DDX9705S so far. Installed about 2 weeks ago and seems to function as described. I bought it to replace a 5 year old KENWOOD that had before and the improvements are definitely a plus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Ken from Council Bluffs, IA on 10/14/2018

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ease of use and thanks to the crutchfield team putting the wiring harness together, made installation easy. I really like the lack of buttons, makes the dash look cleaner. It goes really well with the Infinity speakers that was also purchased from Crutchfield. No complaints

Pros: Great sound, good looking, , instructions were easy to follow for my car

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, MD on 9/27/2018

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is great. It provides the latest version and capabilities of Sirius. The integration into the computer to give you new customizable gauges as a view is awesome. There is also plenty to play around with regarding all the effects with the sound and just the receiver all around. Sounds fantastic and even makes the stock Alpine speakers in the truck cleaner. 2011 Dodge Ram 1500

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

David from Redondo Beach, CA on 9/18/2018

2008 Saab 9-3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic radio. The screen is crystal clear. My BOSE stereo sounds better with the Kenwood built in EQ than the cars built in BOSE EQ. Easy to use, it all just makes sense. It's fast, the radio is never confused of what you're asking it to do. The Apple Car Play is great on this Kenwood. When you take a call, the time it goes back to playing your song is instantaneous. No complaints.

Pros: Great screen quality. You can't confuse this unit, whatever button you press it activates instantly. It just makes sense. Great built in EQ.

Cons: Nothing as of yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

JAMES from Woodbridge, VA on 9/18/2018

2010 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio that's high-end. Wiring by Crutchfield is definitely worth it as it makes installation much easier, but they added a harness for the antenna that was not needed. It was an extra $10 so it wasn't too bad...but definitely not required. Overall, it's a great radio, great service...just wished it were $10 less!

Pros: Radio has all the options tou need and the HD screen is awesome.

Cons: Gave us an extra harness that wasn't needed. I didn't want to cut it off and return it.

Crutchfield response on 9/19/2018
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support speciailist, Angie, reached out to issue James a refund.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Abhi from Land O Lakes, FL on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best audio/video purchase for my car in a long time. The installation on the Ford Excursion was a more involved than originally anticipated, but it went smoothly. Android Auto is awesome. Weblink has some bugs and I'm sure it will be better as time goes by, but right now it is not very robust or stable. YouTube is usable and my kids love it. The quality is amazing. Kenwood quality is all over this unit. All the features are useful and nothing excessive. Sound quality is amazing. The video quality is stunning for a in-dash media player.

Pros: Full Featured Android Auto HD Screen Audiophile Sound

Cons: Expensive (but expected)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great screen + audio control nirvana

Jorge from Tampa, FL on 8/7/2018

2018 Nissan Leaf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I just wanted something that allowed me to use CarPlay in my 2007 Mazda CX-9. I then started comparing and not all the units had HD radio, or they were missing the iDataLink Maestro, and at this time, no other receiver has a higher definition screen. Also, maybe this is trivial but the preamp outputs of this receiver are also 5V which allow an amp to run at minimum sensitivity (= less distortion). I paired this with a 4 way 50W compact amplifier also from Kenwood, mostly due to space limitations, however, this being an "Excelon Reference" model, it might be better to pair it with an "XR" amplifier instead. This apparently is due to the fact that the XR line apparently uses better quality components for greater fidelity. Honestly I probably couldn't tell, plus the XR amp is significantly larger. Anyway, paired with the amp this system gets pretty loud with very little distortion (although I rarely put the volume any higher than "15", I think the highest is 40). The audio controls are very impressive as well, from crossover control, to signal levels, this thing does it all. I also added a powered subwoofer from JL, with the controls from the Kenwood I can set the subwoofer level, making a subwoofer remote unnecessary. I'm not sure what Kenwood's plans are for this platform, I hope they add features and functionality in the future via FW upgrades, like wireless CarPlay, and update their Weblink app since it doesn't take advantage of the higher screen resolution

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Best Stereo You Can Buy

Bart from Springdale, AR on 8/4/2018

2010 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Post 1 Month review: The stereo is awesome. The features, the sound, the interface. I can tell a major difference in audio quality from the factory stereo even with factory speakers still installed. I assume this probably has to do with the additional output power and audio settings, which there are many more than you would ever think. Kenwood seriously engineered this stereo so you could set up everything you need... multi-channel EQ, crossover features, bass boost, and even customize to listening position in terms of dB or feet from your ears! Wicked! FLAC audio compatibility is nice, HD radio is awesome (just wish we had more channels in my area), love the ability to customize screen settings and viewing angle, Apple Car Play is useful, and the Kenwood interface beats the one my wife had in her Pioneer. The screen does show fingerprints as some reviews state; I just keep a microfiber cloth to wipe it off. I installed the unit myself, and this is where my only complaints come in. The iDatalink Maestro provides nice added features and keeps handsfree connectivity, but not as you would think. I will review it separately, but just know with a 2010 Toyota Tundra it does not retain the factory microphone (you have to mount the stereo's) nor does it maintain the factory GPS receiver (you would have to buy the separate one). Also, need an RCA to 3.5mm Y cable for Aux audio - you are not told this on front end. Overall - very happy, but support could be better on fro

Pros: Great audio; great interface; HD stereo; HD display; DVD/CD; CarPlay; audio customization; FLAC support Significant more PROS with this system than CONS. Only cons come in with install and other needed parts which IMO is a Crutchfield issue not an issue with the system.

Cons: Crutchfield service with respect to some of the auxiliary equipment. You will need a few extra cables that are not with the system nor are you told about before hand. You can find them at most electronic stores or order online. Also, be warned that Maestro doesn't keep all it says it will, and you will need admin rights for PC to install the software to flash it. TO1 connector recommended to buy is a pain to get installed - have to remove passenger side glovebox. Took me 18+ hrs to install

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

12 of 12 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Jerry from Cottontown, TN on 7/22/2018

2010 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with the HU. Instructions were very easy to understand.

Pros: Looks like a factory radio

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wireless Android Auto!

Ryan from Clarksville, MD on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2016 Subaru Forester with Harmon Kardon. My phone is a Pixel 2 XL. I also installed the Maestro RR accessory to retain steering wheel controls and factory amp. The maestro also added some cool features for front camera integration and dynamic parking lines for my OEM backup camera. I replaced my factory stereo to add wireless android auto. It works pretty well but I've run into several inconveniences. Hopefully, there are workarounds available or fixes in future firmware updates. I tried calling Kenwood support but they weren't very helpful. Issues: 1) The navigation occasionally shrinks in size for no apparent reason. This can happen when attached wirelessly or by USB. If I click the menu button and then Android Auto, it goes back to full screen. It may or may not happen again. 2) If I issue a voice command before starting android auto, I get the pop-up window that I attached that doesn't go away unless you press on the 'x'. I don't see any reason for this pop-up box and it should go away by itself. 3) The backup camera comes on before the warning message is displayed. If I switch from back to front camera before the warning pops up, the unit gets stuck on the camera. This is rare. I don't normally switch camera views manually. The Maestro RR normally switched the view for me automatically. Is anyone having these same issues? UPDATED 7/16/18: I found a fix for the shrinking maps issue. I changed the output on my phone (in Android Auto App) to 720p and the map no longer shrinks on the Kenwood headunit.

Pros: Wireless Android Auto Sound Quality Screen resolution front camera support (with maestro rr)

Cons: Shrinking navigation screen (occasionally) - see photo Speech Recognition menu box - see photo Camera gets stuck Warning message - stays up too long.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Wireless Android auto runs perfectly

Adam from Chicago, IL on 7/9/2018

2013 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit looks and sounds great. I bought it for the wireless Android auto feature and am impressed with it so far after a couple weeks use. I'm sure it will only get better as both Android and Kenwood update apps and features

Pros: Great sound and customisation options. The screen is brought and clear, and wireless Android auto which is why I purchased this works flawlessly so far

Cons: Fingerprints from having to touch the screen all the time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Android Auto wireless requires Pixel or Nexus phone

Dave from Bridgman, MI on 7/2/2018

2013 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a '13 Chevy Avalanche replacing factory navigation receiver. Purchased this specifically to do android auto wireless, didn't find out until after I installed it that the feature only works today with Google Nexus and Pixel phones. I was led to believe that any phone running android 8 would work. I had to trade-in my week old Samsung S9+ for a Pixel 2XL; great phone but no wireless charging. Would have been nice if salesman had informed me of that since I specifically told him that's why I was buying this receiver. With the Pixel 2XL, it all worked as expected. Wireless android auto is great, I can leave the phone in my pocket and maps and Waze work fine. Pandora via bluetooth only works sometimes but always works within android auto. Bought the iDatalink Maestro along with it and all my factory radio features work as expected. Was not expecting rear camera guidelines to move with steering input but it works as on the factory radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Crutchfield customer from Derry, NH on 6/26/2018

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If Kenwood is a brand you've trusted turn the other way. If you want a great sounding 2 din din in dash with a beautiful touch screen and features of 2019 don't hesitate. This ones for you..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 10 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Robin from Krum, TX on 6/22/2018

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500 Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellence replacement for my GM Bose radio. Android auto work great. Crutchfield is great to order from.

Pros: Audio quality awesome. Screen resolution.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

HD screen = Bliss

Alex from Houston, TX on 5/31/2018

2014 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit is awesome. Plain and simple. Maestro integrates well and everything has worked as advertised. Sounds fantastic with all the adjustability, though the speaker upgrade in my SUV definitely helped there. The screen is wonderful. It's bright, clear, capacitive touch, and High Def... what more could you ask for? Android Auto is fantastic. It did take me a few attempts and frustrating commutes to get it to work consistently (The android auto issue stems from the device changing the default setting to "charging" instead of File transfer (it's in the developer settings)). Once Android P rolls out (or if you have a pixel or nexus device), it'll be a wireless connection to the Head unit, so no usb issues from then on. iDatatlink Maestro settings will take some getting used too or altering, but all in all it's worth the price. It's the best Head unit I've ever had, hands down. Love that I can monitor my tire pressures and drive train temperatures from the Head Unit!!!

Pros: Great Screen!!! Great Sound Output and Equalization Many Video inputs for Front, rear, and dash camera Andriod Auto Apple Car Play Connects multiple phones at once

Cons: Kenwood Weblink

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

So many features!

Josh from Wyoming, MI on 5/29/2018

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kenwood does it right again. More features than you think of. I installed this in a 2012 outback with the maestro rr replacing the factory system. The interface is fast and reliable. Though it does have some desired GUI features . For example the home screen you can swipe through but you can customize it. Also on the home screen the equalizer should be more readily available. When I'm CarPlay and other UI's, the eq should be more readily available. Another desired UI feature would be a quicker way to switch to vehicle info and back to the music interface. With that being said the sound quality and picture quality can not be beat. So not quiet a perfect product, hopefully firmware updates with take care of my wants.

Pros: Audio quality Screen resolution Almost unlimited ways to play music Equalizer is amazing

Cons: No remote UI needs some tweaks

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great!

jay from Mc Kees Rocks, PA on 5/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing radio. Sounds great and the HD display is incredible. I had to install a 4 channel amplifier(2 -8 Ohm capable) to bypass D2B fiber optic system. I couldn't use the factory bose subwoofer because of its 1 ohm impedance. So I installed a powered subwoofer inside the cabin. Great deep bass sound. I used the factory 2 ohm bose speakers. I had to tap into 2 wires of the cigarette lighter for accessory power and illumination for the radio. I couldn't get the dash trim piece to fit above the radio, but that's ok. Looks fine to me. Nice to have a modern headunit in my 2003 mercedes S430.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Crutchfield customer from Sammamish, WA on 5/27/2018

2004 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far very happy with the product. There are some software issues mostly WebLink related that hopefully will be fixed and updated soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

So far so good

Crutchfield customer from Ivins, UT on 5/23/2018

2011 Ford F-150 Platinum

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is what I expected. A nice, functional unit. Minor issues: -The instruction booklet regarding the installation is not very precise. The sleeve that allows the radio to be removed, using the included "keys", cannot be installed in the 2011 Ford F-150. (Wasted a bunch of time trying to fit it in) -The touchscreen is a fingerprint magnet, but that's nothing new. Overall, I am happy with it, but only used it for a few days.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood ddx9905s

Cleophus from Texarkana, AR on 5/21/2018

2006 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This ddin unit does everything that is advertised. Screen is superior to other units I looked at.

Pros: Two USB, multiple cameras, screen adjust, speakers adjust, picture frames, two user backgrounds.

Cons: Warning screen when the unit is turned on.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

nathan from Murfreesboro, TN on 5/21/2018

2017 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio. It does everything that I wanted and more.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful replacement for a JKU HU

Allyn from Springfield, OH on 5/19/2018

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Clean sound. The CarPlay interface is nice, but the Kenwood app side is still a little rough. Intermittent resets, wackiness when running the app, etc. But I definitely recommend it! It was a relatively straightforward install. I used the Maestro RR plus all the other goodies recommended by Crutchfield and was able to get things installed right the first time. I also added a rear camera with a front on the way. I used an MB Quart amp to drive Polk 650's for the mains, and a Kicker PXA to drive the stock sub (might replace it later). Now I've got a system that has punch across the entire spectrum.

Pros: Gorgeous Screen Great Sound

Cons: Kenwood App Interface is still rough Wish I could have it without the DVD player (but the same quality screen)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Best receiver I've bought yet.

John from Havelock, NC on 4/21/2018

2000 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Receiver is awesome. Wireless Android auto works. The install kit for my car that was included by Crutchfield was not to my liking so I put the Civic face plate on routing table and Dremel work on it was able to use the trim piece Kenwood included with the unit. Odd issue with Android auto I think due to HD display is the the screen would sometimes appear on the top left 1/4 of the display, but touch input were still full screen oriented. Enabled developer settings in Android auto on the phone and enabled 720p and 1080p output and have not had that issue again, and the screens in Android auto look much sharper too. I still need to tune all the sound settings, but so far sound is great, but think I can get it a little more neutral, but need to get car interior back in before fine tuning. Tested some stereo flac HD audio files, plan to test DSD multi channel tomorrow. Images from the dash and back up cameras look great.

Pros: Android auto without wires. HD Audio and screen Dash cam integration Super responsive tick screen

Cons: None, yet (hope I can edit review as I get more time with the unit if I find any more)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Best Screen EVER

Paul from Miami, FL on 4/20/2018

2018 Toyota C-HR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on my 2018 Toyota C-HR with a PAC Audio SWI-CP2 Steering wheel controller. First Impression is WOW. Screen clarity is amazing and all icons looks so sharp and clear. The response time for navigating menus and switching screens is super fast. The touch response is spot on. Installation was a breeze and is a extreme upgrade to my OEM radio that was installed on my car. Bluetooth is clear as it can be. HD Radio is fantastic. Reception is so good I didn't know I had that many radio stations around where I live. Android Auto is great (Wired my phone does not support wireless AA (Galaxy Note 8 Running v7.1.1)) It automatically launches once I plug my phone to the USB port. You can switch between Google Maps or Waze and I don't have to launch Waze on my phone. Radio does have a built in Waze app, but forces you to open Waze in your phone and once the phone screen turns off the Waze app sometimes freezes. If you access Waze from withing AA all is good and the phone screen can be turned off. The only thing you lose this way is the inability to use the "Waze" Widget. No much is lost in my book. Bluetooth MIC is very sensitive. I have no problems using the google assistant no matter how bad the road noise is. It recognizes what I say without a problem (And I have an Accent!). I placed the MIC near the rear view mirror.

Pros: Fast and Beautiful!

Cons: Fingerprint Magnet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

12 of 12 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DDX9905S

Dustin from Broken Arrow, OK on 4/16/2018

2009 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stereo. The features in this unit are very good. The Wireless Android Auto and HD screen were enough to sell me on this unit, but there are plenty of other features to help sweeten the deal. First of all though, using Android Auto wirelessly is such a huge convenience. Getting navigation/waze along with Spotify and the Google Assistant all by just sitting in your car makes life very easy. Add in Kenwood's weblink apps, and you have a very powerful set of features. I added the iDataLink as well, which added gauges and vehicle information, along with keeping my steering wheel controls. Everything is working very well. If I had any complaints, it would be that the startup time (from the vehicle off to when Android Auto was ready) can take up to a minute. There are probably a few factors for this, but it's honestly not a huge deal, since most of that time is spent getting situated in your car anyway. And the one minute time is probably worst case. I have also had the occasional delay in skipping a song on Spotify. I'm not sure if this is a bandwidth thing, or an interruption between Android Auto on my phone and the head unit. Again, doesn't happen too often, but it is something to consider - though this may get ironed out with software and/or firmware updates.

Pros: Great features, excellent display, responsive touchscreen, wireless (!) Android Auto, Weblink, iDatalink compatibility

Cons: Startup time to Android Auto, occasional bugs

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing Receiver!

Jon from Boston, MA on 4/15/2018

2015 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the DDX9905S in my 2015 GMC Acadia Denali using idatalink products and I'm blown away by this receiver! The menu and interface is very smooth. Screen is beautiful and boot up time is fast. Works great with the rear seat entertainment system with dual zones! The only thing I would say is a negative is that my Samsung Note 8 won't do wireless Android Auto yet. Not Kenwood's fault but there are only a hand full of phones (released by Google) that can do the wireless Android Auto at the moment. Not a huge deal because I usually plug the USB into the phone. I choose this one over the DNX995S because I use WAZE and didn't see a reason to spend the extra for built in Navigation. I was a bit surprised that the receiver didn't come with a remote. I just used one from my old Kenwood. I have no regrets about getting this receiver.

Pros: Build quality, functions, screen resolution, audio quality

Cons: No remote control.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP