Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
261 619 23
Connect ID #
261 619 23
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S is no longer available

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX696S

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX696S

47 reviews
View this product

Well worth the price

Thomas from HILLSBORO, OR on 8/10/2020

2008 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver for my 2008 Mercury Mountaineer that did not have touchscreen navigation. This unit is AWSOME! Works well with the Kenwood reverse camera and all Mountaineer steering controls and other factory options (with the proper accessories that Crutchfield can supply). I recommend this unit 100% Its well worth the money.

Pros: Easy to use. Great price.

Cons: Does not come with a remote, but a remote is unnecessary with steering wheel controls.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Slow start up

Crutchfield customer from Grand Forks, ND on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty awesome replacement only complaint is that it take a good 30-45 seconds to start up every time you get in your car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from North Tonawanda, NY on 8/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit fits all my needs! Was a breeze to install with the help of the instructions that were sent with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Auburn Hills, MI on 7/30/2020

2012 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit so far. Phone likes to disconnect then reconnect tho and says no phone paired? But then starts playing music again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

kenwood

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/29/2020

2009 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the unit has a lot of features not sure how to get then to work>tire pressure ,gauges some how the weather is supposed to show up and have no idea how to do it . the directions didnt help. but i do like the unit

Pros: looks nice crutchfield tech helped me out greatly with most of the set up

Cons: not everything works as per demo on radio.not able to use factory sinc on my ford as was the reason for the wire harness i also purchased. a few thing are now not available

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent radio.

Crutchfield customer from Jenks, OK on 7/27/2020

2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The navigation on the radio works amazing, the screen responds to touch flawlessly, it's customizable, easy to use and the display looks really good. I would've given the radio 5 stars but for some reason when using spotify connect it will play music but not display any info or give me any options to control the music. It's not a huge deal as I typically use Android Auto but for those not using Android Auto this could be frustrating.

Pros: Looks a lot better than the factory radio, bluetooth, Android Auto/Apple Carplay (wired), great navigation, I can stop listening to the handful of horrible stations in my area that barely play actual music.

Cons: Some of the connectivity features either don't work or are inconcistent. Android Auto works amazingly though.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Marlborough, MA on 7/17/2020

2016 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver for my needs. I am going to be traveling to locations where I can't count on my phone to have consistent access for navigation, so the built in navigation is just what I needed. Ordering with Crutchfield was easy and convenient.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Grimesland, NC on 7/17/2020

2011 Nissan Frontier SL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in my 2011 Frontier that was not originally equipped with a rearview camera. It is working great, I love the front camera option also. I replaced my tailgate panel with a 2013-2016 panel that has the factory rearview camer. The GPS is also a great improvement over the small one I sit on the dash. I would highly recommend this upgrade.

Pros: Very user friendly and the fit up is great

Cons: The front camera output voltage is about 5 to 6 volts, all the aftermarket cameras I could find are 12 volts. I wired the camera to an accessory circuit that is on when the key is on.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Scottsville, KY on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice has everything you can think of with lots of extras well worth the money spent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My unit was installed 3 days ago. Everything is great, except for one thing so far. When playing random music from USB, sometimes the displayed song does not match the song playing. (It loads and plays the wrong file.) If you manually select PREV and NEXT, then it will sync up and load the correct song. Would have gotten 5 stars otherwise. Hopefully, there are no other software defects, however discovering this defect in less than 24 hours after installation does not give me great confidence.

Pros: intuitive to use / easy human interface. fits great in jeep wrangler console.

Cons: discovered software defect in less than 24 hours after install

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Hutchinson, MN on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, the DNX696S is not that complicated to use, sound is good, touch screen is good. I installed it on a 2005 GMC Sierra 2500HD, fitment was really good. I didn't have to cut out the rear steel support bracket to get it to fit, so I was really glad about that, a few hours and I had it installed. I also would like to thank Crutchfield for their great customer support for helping me find the right Kenwood, the first one I got didn't have some of the things in it that I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Rocklin, CA on 7/6/2020

2014 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this Kenwood DNX696S to replace the factory stereo in a 2014 Toyota Avalon. It fit perfect with the installation kit and looks good. Still learning how to use it but enjoy having navigation and Sirrius as well as Car Play for my I Phone. Got it at a great price because it was last years model

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IL on 7/5/2020

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love it, great sound. Easy to install and works perfect with steering wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Arcade , NY on 7/2/2020

2004 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new KENWOOD Excelon receiver. The touch screen is very responsive, Easy to navigate through all the features and I like the Garmin navigation. I would recommend this receiver to my friends!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 6/11/2020

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was installed in a 2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty. The dash I knew going forward would need trimmed. After install using the recommended equipment offered by Crutchfield the install was went smooth. The stereo is amazing and allows you to adjust your speakers to what your input is (i.e.) Bluetooth,Cd/DVD,radio,or phone. The navigation is so far great. Also my truck is a diesel and by nature loud in the cab however the mic for hands free picks up my voice and people on the other end hear me fine. Overall very pleased.

Pros: Easy install Looks sleek Easy to set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood rocks again!

Vince from Hanford, CA on 5/29/2020

2006 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a long term fan and consumer of Kenwood products (since 1982) and I have become very familiar with them. With this in mind I can say the 696 is an awesome head unit for the person who is upgrading a pre-media screen vehicle and wants bring it into the modern era. I wanted to bring my 2006 GMC Sierra tow rig (now grocery getter) up to date with my newer Toyota and Subaru vehicles I had become used to. The 696 brings it all to the table! Garmin map (still can't import my Garmin waypoints), Android Auto, Pandora, Weather, XM (upgraded), total integration with my On-Star and steering wheel buttons(via PAC-RP5GM11). Installation was a breeze and Crutchfield's support is second to none. The features of the head unit are great and easy to navigate while driving as well. I am really impressed so far with the navigation and the incredibly stable connections to my Samsung phn when using the streaming media. I am using only one of the 6 camera inputs for the rear and the screen is amazingly clear and the guide lines are a big help when backing up a big pick-up or solo trailer connecting. The only issue I have is I can not get my 20+ years of personal Garmin waypoints to transfer to this GPS. Highly recommend this unit AND Kenwood.

Pros: Kenwood reliability, quality build, OEM look, and feature rich package can not be rivaled. Multiple camera inputs could be valuable if you are looking for this feature.

Cons: After researching Garmin and Kenwood I can not transfer personal waypoints from other Garmin units to this one. (still working on it).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great piece of equipment but the install and operating instructions leave a lot to be desired. I will still need some help from Crutchfield but they are the best folks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Grove City, OH on 5/21/2020

2012 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system. I also paired it with a Sirius receiver and camera and all of it works great. Took a little longer to install than anticipated, but that was mainly due to inaccurate tech information from the vehicle manufacturer.

Pros: Great Sound, easy to operate, controls are well laid out.

Cons: With the system, none. Installation can be a little tricky only from the wiring standpoint and only if the information from the vehicle manufacturer doesn't match what's actually present. For example, wires that were supposed to be under the passenger side kick-plate, were actually under the driver side kick plate or not present at all. The adapter kits that were also purchased made the actual radio connections a breeze.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio Upgrade 2007 Corvette

Crutchfield customer from Avon, IN on 4/29/2020

2007 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just finished installing this unit in my 2007 Corvette. The Crutchfield advisors were great in answering my questions pre-purchase and several times during the installation process to help me get it right the first time. I went all in on this with the Kenwood dash and backup cameras, and Sirius radio. The PAC interface made this an easy hookup and I have full use of the steering wheel controls and integrated the cars' Bose system with the Kenwood unit. I now have hands free calling which I did not have with the factory radio. Both cameras have clear pictures and give you a wide view. You can play back the dash cam through the head unit. The Kenwood had all the features I wanted and then some. It has been a long time since I installed a radio in a car. Did the entire install myself, and at 66 years of age, I was pretty pleased with myself. Thank you to the Crutchfield team for their help, and I am enjoying this great audio upgrade to my Corvette.

Pros: Crutchfield support team Radio has great options and features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Moncks Corner, SC on 4/26/2020

2002 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really capable head unit. Two major complaints are that the unit is slow to start up. Can be up to 30 seconds before unit has started. Also don't like that some features get grayed out and are not usable. Over all it is very good unit. I had a DNX692 prior that died and went with this unit due to being similar in functions. Dual cameras are nice. and set up so while in a parking lot view is available with out hitting any buttons. The manual is not very in-depth but Crutchfield support was able to help me with the issues.

Pros: lots of capabilities.

Cons: SLow start up. Features are grayed out for no apparent reason.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Kent, WA on 4/21/2020

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent unit. Needs a mute button. Buttons are a bit small for my large fingers. Upon trying to activate SiriusXM "free" trial.....when I finally got un touch with them after two weeks of trying, I was told it would cost $121 for the first year. So the $70 Sirius XM antenna I bought sits unused.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 4/18/2020

2015 Ram Promaster City

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product 100 percent better than the factory equipment that came in the vehicle. Your technical support was very easy to work with great job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Tempe, AZ on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely a reasonable medium priced unit with great features and ease of operation (except the eject CD/DVD selection) Worth the money and install looks like factory from Mercedes Benz.

Pros: Ease of sliding into original footprint Quick switch to other major audio features, ease of most features Amplifier powers Bose speakers easily

Cons: How do you find the eject function? Oh boy, its complicated!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good Radio Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Kempton, IN on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a 2002, 2500HD Silverado. I had watched many YouTube videos and knew of the many modifications inside the dash so it was no problem. The unit takes about 20 seconds to boot up which is a new thing for me. The good part is during boot up is if you go into reverse the back up camera will come on anyway. The hands free phone works extremely well. Push one button to activate the voice command and tell it to call a person by name and it starts dialing. Answering works the same way. Call comes in push one button on the screen and talk away. The GPS is very helpful if you are in an unfamiliar area. Same with the Bluetooth music,very handy. The HD radio receives more stations than my original radio which surprised me. There is a lot of technology in this unit but I am getting used to it. All in all a great upgrade to a 18 year old truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

4.5 stars- fits in 2006 Silverado

Mike from BLOCK ISLAND, RI on 4/9/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2006 Silverado with Onstar no Bose, I did not cut the dash bracket out of the way, the radio fit fine, but the wires where very tight. If I do this again I would cut the bracket for the extra room. Radio has good sound, FM reception is medium, not as good as the stock unit, AM is better than OEM. With the full adapter kit from Crutchfield, the steering controls work OK, the display dims when the headlamps are turned on, the RAP or Retained Accessory Power- or door delay- works. NO speed control though, the wire is on the adapter unit but not on this Kenwood model. Touch display is responsive and has good resolution. VERY good in sunlight- see the picture. Controls are OK, not great, cumbersome. With the remote control app, it is easier to use the controls when watching a DVD. With the SiriusXM adapter, I used the factory antenna just removed the orange plastic connector. The door chime no longer comes through the speakers but a cheap crappy sounding plastic toy used as a dinger. The music sound is outstanding compared to the OEM head unit- on stock speakers. iPhone (8 Plus) connection is easy, download the two Kenwood apps for remote control and navigation traffic updates with weather. I had to reset (Initialize) the radio because the nav and weather were in KM and Celsius, the Nav settings were buried in menus. Overall, good radio and fits in this truck.

Pros: Good screen- bright in the sun. Great sound. Works with steering wheel controls.

Cons: Menus are buried, home screen not very customizable.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, OH on 3/19/2020

2008 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic unit. Crutchfield is over the top. Had to call tech support 2 times to get functionality working with the Crux unit and the steering wheel controls and they had the answer both times. Everything works so well together. Had trouble getting traffic feature to work with the nav, but once the app was installed and phone fired up with android auto while connected through USB, it works great. After getting it to function that way, traffic will also work with just Bluetooth connection. Have used Garmin for years, and it should be your fist choice for nav.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Winchester, KY on 3/17/2020

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in mu daughter's Subaru Forester. It has everything we were looking for and she is loving it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very Slow

john from AMARILLO, TX on 3/12/2020

2017 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DNX696S purchase is one I truly regret. It takes way to long to boot up and the backup camera doesn't work till it's booted so now I don't use it. It takes too long to switch channels and the touchscreen is not very intuitive. You would think something costing this much would be better than the stock receiver. I ended up putting the factory receiver (Harman Kardon) back in.

Pros: It has subwoofer outputs.

Cons: Very Slow to boot. Backup camera doesn't work till it's booted. Slow to change channels. Controls not intuitive.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, WI on 3/11/2020

2012 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Real nice unit dose more then expected it to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very good head unit

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 3/7/2020

2011 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit and we are very satisfied with it. It has many features that we are still beginning to learn bu the Kenwood manual does explain them all in sufficient detail. I spoke to Hogan when I ordered the unit who was very knowledgeable and advised what unit would fit my needs and what installation items were needed. Overall, it has been a great experience so far.

Pros: Many features.

Cons: Garmin navigation does not have as many features of our Garmin Nuvi 2797LMT portable but seems to work well. I am getting ready to try to set up an aftermarket front view camera myself, which I wasn't able to do on a previous try. I have re-read the Kenwood installation instructions and will try again soon. The lesson learned - read the instructions and ask for technical assistance if needed

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Nice NAV unit with lots of connectivity options

Crutchfield customer from Berlin Heights, OH on 3/3/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great NAV system but I find the Android auto completely useless for myself (YMMV). It could be my phone or a cable issue but it constantly disconnects then fails to reconnect. Even when it works it's not very useful IMHO but that's not necessarily Kenwood's fault. The reason for 4 stars is that there does not appear to be a way to disable Android auto. If anyone can tell me how I'll change the review to 4 stars.

Pros: Multiple USB, Multiple cameras, great digital media options

Cons: Can't disable Android auto

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I LOVE it! It has a display brightness and color that absolutely light up the inside of my truck. I have been buying Kenwood products since 1975, and none of them have ever disappointed me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

awesome radio/GPS

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne, FL on 1/17/2020

2004 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio and GPS navigation for my 2004 Honda Pilot EX-L. I plan to buy another Kenwood Excelon DNX696S for my 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited.

Pros: Love everything about this radio, including the GPS features. Excellent sound quality.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Green River, WY on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The car radio systems I have picked up from Crutchfield by Kenwood are very impressive GPS CAMERAS BLUE TOOTH. and speakers. All installations fit sounds wonderful. The Crutchfield family are very knowledgeable ...they have a GREAT research team

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth the money!

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, VA on 12/10/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Unit that installed with the Crutchfield adapter kit for Chevy Silverado and the Crutchfield connection crew connected all the wiring for me! I definitely recommend the unit! I am still exploring all the features that are available.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

More than I imagined

Crutchfield customer from Caldwell, TX on 12/7/2019

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far. Super update for old truck. Easy easy to install. Was ready for 3 hr marathon but took about 45 minutes. And i was moving slow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Sara from Browns Summit, NC on 11/25/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots more options that I thought! My whole purpose of updating my system was to get rid of Scout GPS that came on my Toyota RAV4. I am ready to travel. Also the phone system is a help - being hearing impaired... being able to raise the sound more is a true benefit!

Pros: Everything

Cons: small buttons on the side??

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointing

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, OR on 11/24/2019

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this head unit to replace factory entune unit in 2019 Toyota Tacoma. While this head unit has several features that were missing from the factory entune it also has several very annoying issues starting with the fact that it randomly shuts off and restarts. Additionally the call volume is incredibly low even with offsets adjusted and amplifier gain increased. Lastly, the reverse camera no longer comes on automatically when shifted into reverse. Camera must be manually activated and deactivated, which is quite disappointing, almost defeats the purpose. Other than those things, the car play works and the gauge set up is nice, but unnecessary.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 14 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Blairsville, GA on 10/29/2019

2014 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. GPS works well and has steering wheel controls. Also back up camera and ability to add dash cam.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the functionality of this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Perrysburg, OH on 10/6/2019

2011 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this unit to upgrade my factory in dash AM/FM CD player to in dash navigation. This Kenwood unit also allows me to use Apple Car Play which a great way to stay safe while still answering text messages. Unless you are very familiar with modern radio wiring I would strongly recommend the Crutchfield ready harness. I had the unit installed in less that 2 hours thanks to the ready harness. Everything works just as advertised!

Pros: Lots of features. Looks like a factory head unit.

Cons: Could use better install instructions for the IDatalink Maestro. Needed a dash mounted USB dual port to complete the install without having USB wires hanging somewhere. Easy solution for 10 bucks from an online supplier.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Audiophiles Dream

Crutchfield customer from Baldwin, NY on 9/19/2019

2007 Lexus RX350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is and excellent receiver with every conceivable bell and whistle. There are so many options for sound shaping that the owners manual is like the size of a dictionary. It's very complex to learn but once you go thru the countless menu options it's a breeze. The sound quality is equivalent to a quality home receiver. The input and output options are numerous with the option for 3 camera inputs video and audio inputs and outputs. The navigation is second to none. I installed this in my 2007 Lexus RX 350 and it interfaced with the existing amps digital inputs keeping all my features of sound stage height driver position etc. I used the maestro and axecess digital modules sold separately for Crutchfield for a factory install right down to the steering wheel controls that I programmed for 2 functions each. A long press and a short press gives me much more functionality than the factory head unit. You will not be disappointed in this high end unit. I plan on purchasing the dash cam which plugs in to its own interface in the rear of the unit. This has some very modern features such as lane departure and delay start. I also love the fact that if your car is bumped in parking lot it automatically records the incident capturing the vehicle involved and the culprit. Like I said there are way too many features to list in a review. Download the manual from Kenwoods's site and be amazed.

Pros: Best auto receiver on the market.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 9/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, easy to use and sounds very good.

Pros: Easy to use Garmin Navigation and

Cons: Only thing wrong is I can't fade front to back, only balance side to side.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

radio

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 9/3/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Groton, CT on 8/22/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent performance, easy to install and set up, easy to operate.

Pros: Clear easy instructions, easy to install, easy to set up, sounds great.

Cons: None from me!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, KY on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 10 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX696S

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 4/30/2019

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 17 found this helpful

TOP