Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
643 027 04
Connect ID #
643 027 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX997XR

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Navigation receiver

MFR # DNX997XR

20 reviews
View this product

Kenwood's Best

Crutchfield customer from Fair Oaks, CA on 2/24/2021

2019 Freightliner M2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bad ass head unit! all the bells and whistles.... HD to the max, clarity like no other... the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Sound! Terrible interface. Thanks jobs for carplay!

Rob from Montgomery, AL on 2/1/2021

2008 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless CarPlay and android auto are game changers! The sound out of this reference product is simply stellar. It offers all of the possible inputs and even HD radio if you have local HD broadcasters The ability to get the CMOS-740 and get an HD backup picture is awesome, but why did it take until 2020?? The kenwood user interface is disappointing and a waste of the beautiful high definition screen. It is straight out of the early 2000s in terms of UI design and is crazy slow to load. There's even a promotional video on YouTube where a kenwood employee touts how changing the font size is a new feature for 2020! The saving grace is that android auto and Apple CarPlay take over the entire screen with a clean way to use interface from your phone. FCAs UCONNECT and Ford SYNC provide much better interfaces than what kenwood provides.

Pros: Amazing sound All the inputs you could possibly need HD backup camera ready Wireless android auto and CarPlay

Cons: Takes forever to boot Terrible user interface (Kenwood needs to hire a UI expert or human factors engineer)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The best out there! Garmin built-in maps!

Stephen from CLEBURNE, TX on 12/4/2020

2011 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stereo that's very fast, lots of connectivity to modern car audio devices, and plays nice with the Maestro 2. The internal Garmin maps were a must for me so that I don't have to rely on a cell signal on road trips. The screen is beautiful and Carplay is super quick and easy to setup. Way easier than the Pioneer equivalent!

Pros: Almost everything

Cons: 1) WARNING: Firmware updates require no larger than an 8GB SD card. The stereo freezes if you use an SD card with a larger capacity. To unfreeze the stereo just take out the SD card from the stereo, turn the card off, and turn it back on. 2) I wish the Garmin maps came with lifetime updates. I also wish you could update the system's firmware and Garmin maps wirelessly via your cellphone data connection.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

What a great system

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 12/3/2020

2010 Honda Civic Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally broke down and bought a CarPlay unit and I have to say the install went off without a hitch. They unit sounds great with my stock speakers and I love all the gadgets that you can add.

Pros: Looks great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Crutchfield customer from New Egypt, NJ on 11/22/2020

2010 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its a great unit. Makes my system sound so crisp and clear compared to the old one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Radio/Receiver Ever

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 10/31/2020

2008 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally awesome radio. This receiver has every feature you could possibly have in an automobile. Not even factory radios comes like this or it would cost you much more for the vehicle. This is everything i ever wanted and much much more. And best of all Crutchfield made it so easy to purchase and install.

Pros: Totally has every feature

Cons: Still trying to have two phones connected and have calls come to the first phone on the list.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

have to manually click volume button after level 15.. really kenwood?

Crutchfield customer from Manawa, WI on 9/29/2020

1997 Toyota Supra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received this, and very disappointed in just the way the screen layout is, and how to switch from station to station. For example, if you have presets for sirius xm, in order to go down the list you have to manual click on each station down the list... their isn't a arrow to go in a row. For a manual driving vehicle this is a big pain. The reason i'm returning this and going with a different brand is because you can ONLY hold the volume button down to get up to level 15...anything after that you have to press the button every time (and i think it goes to 30-34 roughly.) Big pain and hassle. It's a feature so you don't blow your speakers that you can't bypass even with buying their remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 19 found this helpful

2015 ford transit-350

Carlos from Soledad.california on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent I really liked it many functions and applications it works usb, sd, cards, cd an dvd

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 7 found this helpful

great radio

Crutchfield customer from Woodside, NY on 8/27/2020

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first time I buy keenwood as now is good, i was a pioneer guy and everyone has diferent taste and styles has a great screen and picture

Pros: no pros

Cons: A lot of features

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Love this unit.

Crutchfield customer from Kent, OH on 8/25/2020

1993 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Most excellent unit.

Pros: It looks, operates, and sounds great.

Cons: Mounting it in my 1993 Miata was not a piece of cake. If you're not handy, don't even think about doing this yourself. If you have a old car, get a shop manual so you know the real color codes of the wires. Crutchfield tried really hard; think they gave me the wires for a '94 Miata not a 1993. I will send them a scan of the manual for anyone who wants to install this in a pre 1994 MAZDA. Also, you have to drill different holes in the standard Mazda side mounting plate. Needed a drill press.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Crutchfield customer from HAYWARD, CA on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Garman GPS excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this Radio in general, cool new features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Joe from CHICAGO, IL on 7/28/2020

2010 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Imo these are the best navigation radio you can get... i installed this one on my 2010 ford f350 xlt paired with the drv-n520 dashcam. Very well satisfied

Pros: 4 cameras, nav, hd screen , 2 USB inputs

Cons: Non known as this time

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Crutchfield customer from Niceville, FL on 7/12/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace an older aftermarket radio in my 2007 Toyota Tacoma, and now I never want to leave my truck! I was a little unsure of this as a DIY project, but after reading through to instructions (several times) and getting advice from Crutchfield's technical experts, everything worked as advertised the first time I cranked up my engine (Including the Kenwood CMOS-740HD backup camera I bought to go with it). The Apple CarPlay works seamlessly with my iPhone XS Max, and now I can get rid of all the unsightly cables I used to need to play my phone over the vehicle speakers. The user interface is fairly intuitive and very customizable. I haven't used the built in navigation system much, but when I have, I've been pleased with it's function and accuracy. If you are looking to freshen up the tech in your older vehicle, I would definitely consider this as a top choice, and as always, you can't go wrong with Crutchfield's awesome support and customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Henry from Jackson, NJ on 7/11/2020

2005 Ford Thunderbird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, and more features than I really need. The fit was a bit tight in my 2005 Tbird, but that's the fault of the car, not the radio. A little stuffing of cables and connectors and it all went in nicely. Even with the stock speakers, sound is excellent, The Crutchfield installation kit made it easy to install, and the faceplate match was excellent for the interior.

Pros: Has just about everything. And then some.

Cons: One feature I wish it had was auto volume control. I like to play things loud, but when you get back into the car and forgot to turn the volume down...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DNX997XR

Crutchfield customer from Dorchester, MA on 7/7/2020

2020 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this stereo installed for about a week but what a difference coming from the lowest factory option. I'm stilt learning everything it does but feel I have a handle on most of it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good

Jacob from Tok on 6/21/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well I didn't give it 5 stars because its slow to turn on, but the Toyota OEM stereo was also slow, i don't like warning about driving with this stereo that has to come on every time. But again the Toyota OEM stereo did the same. Otherwise its a great stereo. Better than the OEM stereo. But almost all aftermarket stereo are better than all OEM stereos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Great Unit

Mike from Plant City, FL on 6/4/2020

2005 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally replaced my old dnx-5160. Wow. What a difference. The screen is bigger. The navigation is improved. I'm still learning all the features. So far so good.

Pros: Clear screen Faster boot up than the older unit

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great system

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio, thank god for Crutchfield tech support or I'd still be trying to figure this thing out!

Pros: Blue tooth Apple Car play

Cons: Still can't get live traffic updates to work. Directions are not that clear. Again without Crutchfield tech. I would have put the stock radio back in!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

If you love audiophile sound quality and bells and whistles!!

Jason from Salina, KS on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got this head unit installed over the weekend. Let me just say it is breathtaking!! This completely transformed my system to a new level. I know more than turned it on, set the crossover points and cranked it up with my existing system of Rockford Fosgate amps and component speakers and subs in my Z06 corvette and it sounded phenomenal. I repeat, no fine tuning, EQ at flat and it was the best sounding head unit I have heard, and I have heard a lot of them, mostly Alpine over the years. Combine that with the myriad of features and this thing is an absolute beast. Way to go Kenwood!

Pros: Sound quality, sound quality, sound quality. Oh, and did I mention sound quality? It is relatively user friendly and has fathomable feature you could want.

Cons: The only con is why I did not try out Kenwoods Excelon Reference line sooner.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 10 found this helpful

TOP