Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
803 197 14
Connect ID #
803 197 14
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

CD receiver

MFR # DPX794BH

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

CD receiver

MFR # DPX794BH

51 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Alton, IA on 3/15/2021

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this deck! gives my truck an updated feature all while looking stockish

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Stephens City, VA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of inputs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Farmer City, IL on 3/8/2021

2000 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, VA on 3/1/2021

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stereo receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 2/27/2021

1997 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked this unit because 1) listed as one of the units compatible with '97 Mazda Miata (w/o pocket below factory radio), 2) it had somewhat of a retro look that was similar radios from that era, and 3) had CD player as well a number or other "modern" sources. Unfortunately, after I get it installed and discover it's 3/4" shorter than factory radio it's replacing. Now I'm left with a gap above the radio and forced to purchase ABS material and fabricate a custom trim ring.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/15/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support specialist, Bradley, for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Packed with cutting settings!

Guest from Austin, TX on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a hard stereo to buy. Many places seem to always be out of stock. I love it. So many custom settings and features! Huge upgrade over the old Bose system, which still sounded good. The HD tuner is wonderful and I only wish there were HD stations. I'm still using the stock 2003 Suburban Bose speakers, amp, and tiny sub, but really sounds great. If you don't want a touch screen, then this is probably the best option.

Pros: HD tuner Hands free Wireless streaming Appearance Seemless integration with vehicle

Cons: Manual doesn't answer every question. Seems to have trouble reading 128g thumb drive. Too big??

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Laramie from Texas on 1/12/2021

2000 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sterio. Installed in a 2000 impala. Huge difference in sound from the factory sterio. Has a nice selection of colors settings. I changed rear 6x9 speakers only still have stock 6.5s up front. Sounds like a subwoofer is in the back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from East Haven, CT on 12/22/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation in my 2011 Tacoma went mostly smoothly. The bracket was tricky to figure out and I was confused by the metal sleeve that the stereo came with. The sound is very good. Better than the factory unit even with the factory speakers. I connect my iPhone through the front USB connector to listen to Pandora. Pandora is then controlled through the radio. The one problem is that the display stops working at seemingly random times. The name of the station is displayed on the screen. And this can be switched to show the artist and title. But every so often, the display shows the work "reading" and gets stuck here. The only fix it to hit the factory reset. This is annoying and I'm hoping to find a fix.

Pros: Great Sound Looks great

Cons: Pandora display keeps glitching

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Pineville, LA on 12/13/2020

2005 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit,it replaced my old kenwood unit and works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 11/27/2020

2010 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit, looks like it belongs in the dash. Has a great sound, and very nice features. It's a great upgrade the the factory stock unit, and the HD radio features are a very nice touch.

Pros: Very nice price, ease of installation, and strong sound.

Cons: I don't have any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 11/21/2020

2006 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't installed it yet but got a great deal with crutchfield! Looking forward to enjoying this Christmas gift!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, MS on 11/13/2020

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Serious upgrade from factory 2008 Ford F-150 head unit. Brought the factory speakers (to be changed next) to life. Fastest shipping! If I had it to do over again I would pay for Crutchfield to make up the harness. Did that on Jeep head unit and totally worth it!

Pros: Crutchfield makes sure you have everything you need for an easy install

Cons: My fault for not paying for pre-made plug and play harness.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good replacement for factory radio

Crutchfield customer from Apollo Beach, FL on 11/11/2020

2016 Nissan Frontier S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I enjoy the unit much more than my factory radio. Reception is great and so is the sound quality compared to factory radio. Source command has too many options. You can shut off Pandora and Spotify but several of the other sources cannot be shut off so you have to scroll through all of them when changing sources. The other issue is that sometimes when using Bluetooth audio the unit randomly switches over to FM. There was no explanation in the manual, however I did locate a solution in an online forum. For those who would consider purchasing, this is disabled by switching off the emergency alert settings in the menu.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Box Elder, SD on 9/22/2020

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit. 15 minutes to modify my 2004 Avalanche dash and bolt in this new Kenwood. Now I have a working CD player, two USB inputs and Bluetooth. Metra wiring interface and dash mounting kit is a must to simplify the job. Did all the wire harness splicing on the kitchen table then took it out and completed a true plug and play install. Thank you Crutchfield for making this swap/upgrade so easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Caneyville, KY on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy use. Good bright display. Ain't found nothing I don't like yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Laramie, WY on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Fletcher, NC on 8/27/2020

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Sounds great and has a nice look to it. Wife is very happy with it.

Pros: Easy to install. Easy to use controls.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Billerica, MA on 8/18/2020

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice sound - however I wish it was simpler to use. So if your going to am , fm , cd , blue tooth it is all very confusing and a simple selector switch would be a better choice.

Pros: nice sound easy installation

Cons: needs to be made just a little more simple

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 8/9/2020

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice stereo and it would have been perfect if I hadn't had to cut out my dash to be able to use the cd player

Pros: Sounds very crisp and has lots of available tuning features

Cons: Did not fit the dash of a 99 Chevy tahoe 4 door LT

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Niskayuna, NY on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a previous version of this head unit and liked it well enough to get the more recent version. If I could do a 4.5 star overall rating, I would, because it has the same issue as the previous Excelons that should really only be a .5 deduction. But the view-ability of the display is still an issue even with the improvements made. There's a lot to like about it, in particular a greatly improved DAC that handles hi-res FLAC on USB media. It only supports FAT32 format on the USB media, but there's a utility available for free from Ridgecrop Consultants that works for volumes larger than 32GB. I have a SanDisk 1TB Extreme SSD plugged into the rear USB port (rear USB port!) and it works great. BT pairing, phone calls, EQ settings, radio reception are all still excellent. The large volume/function selector knob is good for keeping eyes on the road. Even though there are many options for setting the display, it becomes almost impossible to read in daylight. The small secondary icons (not illuminated) are way too small to be useful. Fortunately, those secondary navigation functions can be memorized and the most commonly used, track/station forward/backward are dedicated primary buttons. Just have to remember "6" is play/pause. As always, Crutchfield sales and support was awesome!

Pros: DAC supports hi-res FLACs 2 USB inputs (front and rear) BT pairing and functionality EQ / speaker options

Cons: Display viewing in daylight

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Mount Airy, NC on 8/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor fm reception. Good display.

Pros: Good display

Cons: Poor FM reception

Crutchfield response on 8/10/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

5 of 7 found this helpful

Way Better Than Your Factory Unit

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 8/4/2020

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo upgrade from my 2008 Toyota Tundra factory unit. I am really surprised by the power of the built in amp. The settings aren't as easy to navigate as a touch screen, but once you get used to it, you will easily be able to adjust them while driving. I think Kenwood did a really nice job designing their Excelon product line.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Taylors, SC on 8/2/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performance is per expectations. Excellent!

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Nicholas from MACON, MO on 7/31/2020

2005 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The adjustments could be a little easier to get to, it takes a good long while to dial this deal in but other than that it's a good unit for sure!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 7/26/2020

2008 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install.. awesome sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Alan D from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/21/2020

2006 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the stereo and all of its features. It sounds great, and has all of the options I was looking for in a head unit. Looks good in my dash, as well. The setup menus could be a bit more intuitive, but using the Kenwood app on my iPhone made some of the setup very easy. All in all, I am very pleased with this head unit, and it is exactly what I expect from the eXcelon line.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice stereo. Excellent reception. Paired with the Crutchfield install kit the factory amp and hand controls are retained and sounds fantastic. The on line instructions are clear and very easy to follow. One of the many reasons I have been a loyal customer for over 20 years.

Pros: Typical Kenwood quality. Excellant install instructions

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood stereo

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Garden, NC on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only reason there is not 5 stars is because display can be hard to read when the top is down on my Mustang GT convertible. Otherwise, fantastic!

Pros: Sounds great, functions well. Has CD which was a requirement.

Cons: Display dim in direct sunlight.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Guest from Mankato, MN on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bluetooth is terrible. Music cuts in and out when streaming and phone call quality is terrible. I have used the same phone in rental cars with no issues. when I plug in the aux cable streaming music is fine as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/7/2020
we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

New DIY install

Crutchfield customer from Lacey, WA on 6/23/2020

2003 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Double din bright lcd face. Looks great and sounds even better. Went from single din stock in my 03 elantra to this upgrade. What a difference! Mr. Roboto in HD FM was the first thing I tuned in. Whole new experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect in our 2005 Toyota Camry XLE. Very easy install including the steering wheel controls adapter. Wanted a receiver with buttons and volume knob and these are the perfect size. Mostly use the steering wheel controls but these knobs and buttons are easy to reach during rush hour traffic when you need to be constantly alert.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Byron, GA on 6/15/2020

1997 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 6/9/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as described. Couldn't be happier with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 6/6/2020

2009 Mitsubishi Outlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this radio to replace the factory radio, as I was looking for a radio that would allow me to add SiriusXM to my car. The radio came loaded with features, some I am sure I will never use, but I have already used many of them and so far I am happy with what I have seen and heard. I did find the setup to take a bit of time, but once setup the everyday use of this radio is fairly easy. Overall very satisfied with the upgrade to my car stereo.

Pros: Audio quality is very good even with the car's manufacturer speakers. HD radio. Ability to connect SiriusXM.

Cons: I have tried all settings for the display and still can't see the display when wearing my prescription Ray-Ban sunglasses. I also noticed even on a overcast day, with my regular glasses on the screen is still hard to see.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from St Johns, FL on 5/26/2020

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly easy install and integration with optional steering wheel control for my 09' Tacoma. Not a big fan of the complex menu system which is a bit maddening and not intuitive at all. I purchased this for my father specifically for the seemingly simple center rotary hoping navigation of menus would be a more simple process, but not so much.

Pros: Middle rotary for old school "turn the volume" simplicity

Cons: Over complicated, layered menu system

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Milford, DE on 5/24/2020

2011 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo. Used to replace factory unit in 2011 F150.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Glad I purchased

Crutchfield customer from Bethel, CT on 5/13/2020

2005 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, affordable, packed with features. Would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bad, but the rca out for the sub quit working.

billy from AUXVASSE, MO on 5/10/2020

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dont get me wrong, i love this thing. But a month in and the subwoofer rca jacks quit working and now i have to use the rear set. Still works. But annoying.

Pros: You can configure this to fit any sound you are, looking for. It is awesome and as simple or as complex as you want to make it as far as tweaking sound.

Cons: Rca sub outs quit working. Pretty big disappointment.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Covington, VA on 5/5/2020

2007 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this stereo overall. The volume knob is nice vs volume buttons. The sound quality is great as well. I'm using an older Android phone and the Pandora BT keeps saying "reading" when it is playing but works fine on the "BT Media" input. The phone controls for calls slhas some issues too but in researching that seems to be an issue with the version of Android my S7 is running. The USB ports seem to work fine so far but I have only begun to test them at this point. Also the tuner will only seek or scan. There is no way to switch between them without changing menu settings. Overall I'm pleased with my purchase.

Pros: Volume knob, sound quality, receiver sensitivity, BT options

Cons: Older android compatibility, no ability to seek and scan, display disappears with polarized sun glasses on

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Redford, MI on 4/9/2020

2000 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding unit, easy installation. Lots of features, but the menu system can be a bit confusing to use. Still having a bit of trouble with BT. Overall a great unit for the money!

Pros: Lots of features, good sound quality.

Cons: Menus can be a bit confusing and difficult to navigate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy customer!

Crutchfield customer from Garrettsville, OH on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product! Better than I expected! Installation instructions where exact and the part that was most important in the instructions was the short phrase take your time. That kept running in my mind all the way through and made it possible. The unit came with different scenarios of trim and the one for my vehicle made it look like it has always been there from the factory.

Pros: Got the pre-wired harness with the unit and I believe that was a smart move.

Cons: There were no cons!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Saint Augustine, FL on 4/5/2020

2010 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every easy to install and had been working great. Just had to play with the settings to get the sound right but has been great every since.

Pros: Hd radio, bluetooth

Cons: Could use a rubber coating on the volume knob but that's just nit picking.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Millersville, MD on 3/22/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2010 Tacoma dual cab. Very nice system overall. Would definitely recommend.

Pros: Wasn't sure the Bluetooth would work with my iPhone because it wasn't listed as "compatible" but Marisa from Crutchfield assures me it would.

Cons: None at this time. After 2 weeks of install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 3/9/2020

2007 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of features, really like being able to connect two phones at the same time. Sound quality seems very good and two USB ports is very handy. However... switching between sources is so painfully slow and clunky that I would not recommend this headunit. I have found no way to directly select a source, you basically must scroll through them to find the one you want. Even if you know the source you want is 3 ahead you can't quickly press the button 3 times, you must let each source become active before it will let you move to the next. Hopefully there is some trick I just haven't found yet but if not, I will most likely replace this unit with another one before too long. I also find the volume knob to shallow (only 3/8" out from faceplate) and can be difficult to make small adjustments but i also drive a 1 ton truck so the stiff suspension makes it more difficult

Pros: Lots of options, good sound quality, great looking

Cons: Moving between sources is slow and clunky, volume knob doesn't stick out far enough, hard to make small volume adjustments

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Johnstown, PA on 3/9/2020

2007 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, works for my pickup upgrade. Now my truck is worth more!

Pros: I like the simple operation, btooth phone and HD radio. Great quality and sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 3/4/2020

2005 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A big upgrade from the stock one, easy install with instructions, great disply too, good job Kenwood.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2006 GMC Canyon

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, WA on 3/1/2020

2006 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was easy once I removed the old unit. I did a direct mount and didn't use the sleeve provided with the kit. Wiring was simple enough once the instructions made sense. The sound is amazing and the unit works very well. Easy to mount the microphone wiire and pair my phone. Sounds great using the aftermarket speakers in the door. I will be upgrading the 2-way speakers with component speakers with a sub. Was able to change the screen colors to my preference. Happy with the unit .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Lawton, OK on 3/1/2020

2009 Hyundai Veracruz

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is a very nice stereo. I like the color options on the display. It can be set to multiple colors on the display. The display can be programmed to display different types of information. Many 'EQ' options from manual to preset eq's. Nice multiple sound ehancer's like the DTA. I set that parameter and it greatly ehanced the whole sound in the car. It sounded like I could hear every speaker from where i sat in the driver seat. The phone features are good to me. Hearing someone on the unit is clear. I had only a short bit of echo but the unit was clear and load. The are a couple of things I wish were a little better. That is 1, I would like to see the unit could take calls while the unit was off. 2, direct punch thru when switching between modes, like, press the no. 1 key and you goto to cd mode. Or press the 2 button and goto hd radio. Or press 3 key and goto siriusxm mode and so on. I learned although how to rapidly dial thru modes using a press of src and dial volume knob with 2 sec's of the src key press. That makes it better, not so much wearing out the src key. Over all, the sound is punchy, full and spacious. Great sound on the HD radio, cd , siriusxm. I haven't completely learned unit inside and out, but I would have to say a very good unit.

Pros: Good sound quality. Alot of sound shaping features. BT phone x2. Multiple audio modes.(usb, bt audio.cd, hd radio,etc...).

Cons: No direct punch thru. Not a deal breaker. Does not connect bt phone for calls when unit is off. Would have to put unit in standby or mute the sound if i don't wan't to listen to stereo and still take/make calls. Again this isn't a deal breaker either.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 2/23/2020

2001 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this unit in my 2001 Ford Ranger. Really improved the sound. I had earlier replaced the factory speakers with Kenwood speakers. The factory radio system always had a distorted sound quality. The new unit is a dramatic improvement. I'm disappointed in the manufacturers documentation supplied with the unit. The instructions are minimal and for most of the settings, color, station tuning, bluetooth settings, etc. it's basically trial and error.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon DPX794BH

Crutchfield customer from Cerritos, CA on 2/23/2020

1999 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to modify enclosure in the middle top. After that it was an easy fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Finally satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Laughlin, NV on 2/5/2020

2003 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaces my latest purchase of an Excelon KDC-X399 which had the worst display and preset buttons ever. Very dim and unable recognize even in the garage, and forget about trying to find the small buttons while driving. Not this unit, the best display and presets I have seen since my KDC-X569. Everything works great, and after setting this up the sound is phenomenal. So you do not have to cycle through a million functions with the SRC button, just go to source select, and turn off the functions you do not use, this makes it easy to use the SRC button to select the source from Radio to CD player and so on. Also the Bluetooth works great, after adjusting the settings while only on the phone my wife says she can finally hear my hands free calls. The only gripe I have is the lack of a complete instruction manual, all you get is a start up guide. This is very inconvenient because I like to keep the small manual in the glove box for easy reference. This is the first time I have purchased a Kenwood that has not issued a complete manual with their product since I have been using their car stereos.

Pros: Sound is phenomenal. Bluetooth works great

Cons: All you get is a start up guide, must download complete manaual.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

TOP