Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
642 310 44
Connect ID #
642 310 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

CD receiver

MFR # KDC-X304

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

CD receiver

MFR # KDC-X304

118 reviews
View this product

Nice upgrade for my CVPI

Andrew from Brookfield, IL on 5/22/2021

2010 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid unit with more features than I'll ever use. Nice that it connects to my phone automatically. Audio quality is great, haven't had any issues with the bluetooth connection. Display is nice, though I wish the clock was bigger (it's barely visible, definitely not usable while driving).

Pros: Louder and nicer sounding than my stock radio. Nice to find a unit with a cd player and aux in that DOESN'T have a massive touchscreen on the front.

Cons: Clock display is too small, basically useless.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Morrisville, PA on 5/10/2021

2002 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as described. All the bells and whistles. Loved the customer support. loved the pre-wiring. Literally plug in play.

Pros: I have no idea why I waited so long to upgrade.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Newport, MN on 5/9/2021

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the sound quality display and functions. Great unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Knocked it out of the park

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 4/30/2021

2004 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dropped this in place of a fairly recent kenwood cd deck that lost the usb connection (and I really wanted integrated bluetooth, finally). Wiring has changed slightly, so reusing the previous harness was out, but not a big deal. Reused the previous dash sleeve. Phone and ipod paired up easily, and repair without a problem. Sound is noticeably better, at the same price point as the previous deck. Price ended up cheaper from Crutchfield (due to included install bits) for the excelon vs a lower model at the big box store. 110% satisfied!

Pros: Better sound through the same setup.

Cons: None I can see.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 4/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is excellent. The help when I called was Superb

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 4/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the first one so well I bought two more for my trucks.. Great Customer Service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kenwood was suggested by my rep and it was great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Lagrange, GA on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love it easy to install not had time to complete set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelon KDC-X304 best bang for the buck!

Crutchfield customer from Supply, NC on 3/16/2021

2003 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best bang for the buck go-to head unit if you still use CDs along with flash drives, Bluetooth and signal processing is a bonus as well. Can power your speakers decently on its own plus 6 Pre-amp outputs for future expansion.

Pros: There is an optional remote control available

Cons: Most newer units have smaller buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 3/2/2021

1999 Honda Passport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plain and simple, just an awesome head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OR on 3/2/2021

2001 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it except the small buttons and bluetooth is a little weak.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Stilwell, OK on 2/3/2021

1999 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the way it looks and sounds

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio for the wife's Jeep

David from Raleigh, NC on 1/9/2021

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over all a nice radio. I bought this radio to replace the factory radio that was in my wife's 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The kit I ordered with it worked fine and installation went well. Her iPhone will pair with it. Though it often will start playing random songs when my iPhone pairs with it. It can pair two phones though I'm not sure how well that works out. If you've bought in to Amazon, it has Alexa. I never use it and I've been a Prime member for years. I gave it 4 stars because 3 would b unfair. I don't use any of the extra networks, Spotify, Pandora, or SiriusXM. So it would be cool if the radio was able to make the sources optional. Same for Alexa, that button is wasted space. The Clock is entirely too small. My wife hates that, but the day and date is large. WTH? If I had to buy her another radio, it would not be this one, solely over the clock display. It's a deal killer.

Pros: Bluetooth phone connection CD player plays MP3s etc. Cool colors? I guess that's a pro.

Cons: Very small clock display No option to remove none used sources from the menu

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Aulander, NC on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding and super features every thing you could need

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Stanton, KY on 12/11/2020

1982 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the CD player!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great! Control knob not so much

Stephen E from Talent, OR on 12/9/2020

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my third Kenwood Excelon deck in as many cars. I've always been impressed by the function and feel of the units and excellent sound quality. I'm sad to say I'm disappointed by this unit so far. The controls feel very plasticky and cheap compared to previous versions. I find the function knob is either under or overly sensitive and jumps around in the menus too easily. Very frustrating trying to navigate around settings and having it skipping all over. I also miss the ATT(enuate)/mute button dearly. Still sounds very good though and a marked improvement over the factory unit it replaced. I may try and pick up a remote for this one to avoid having to use the worthless knob.

Pros: Audio quality, high level line outputs, Bluetooth feature

Cons: Control knob- feels cheap & finicky to use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Killeen, TX on 12/8/2020

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it, super easy install also

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Michael C. from TRABUCO CANYON, CA on 11/10/2020

1999 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in a 1999 BMW 323i convertible to get Bluetooth and USB connectivity without the hassle of a complex installation in an older car. I also wanted to match the BMW orange lighting scheme. This unit fit the bill but had some drawbacks not related to it's performance. First, the install was relatively simple and the Crutchfield instructions were complete and accurate. I had the unit installed in under 1 hour. The hardest part was getting the wire harness connector far enough back in the opening so it didn't interfere with the unit. Once installed, it fit perfectly. Sound is very good for the price and the radio gets decent reception. There are also plenty of options for sound, display and USB/BT compatibility. The unit immediately paired with my iPhone. As it is a single DIN unit, the setup menus are a pain to manage but that's not the fault of the unit but the limited display space available. I was able to match the BMW color scheme for the display fairly closely but, unfortunately, the display was not bright enough as it is not backlit. I couldn't read the display in the daytime so I had to forgo the color match and use bright white instead. The display can be set to automatically dim at night which is nice feature. My one star deduction is for the small-sized buttons and the button layout. This would have been only a one-half star deduction but that option wasn't available. Other than that, this unit is a very good value for th

Pros: Simple installation, BT/USB connectivity, good radio reception, very good sound quality for the price

Cons: Button layout and small size make operation difficult while driving

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

JOSEPH from Edwardsburg on 11/10/2020

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kenwood for 119.00 is a nice up grade from the oem cd player in my ford ranger can't believe how much the difference there is should of did this long time ago,Highs,Mids,and lows are good,Its gonna take a bit to lean the functions,Crutchfield pulled it off again you guys are great I'll always buy from you again ,And the shipping was fast,Thanks again??

Pros: Excellent unit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from North Liberty, IN on 11/1/2020

1993 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fixed my sound issues and now I have Bluetooth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Enid, OK on 11/1/2020

1997 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple. Easy to install and use. Easy format.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Bluetooth hands free cd and usb deck!

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 10/28/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Only drawback is the large non-reassignable Amazon Alexa button

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Adjuntas, PR on 10/27/2020

2004 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente sound, easy to install and configure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

So amazing

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MD on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Where do I start amazing amazing amazing. I have had a lot of stereos single din and double din ones with touch screen ones without touch this radio is wonderful and especially with the xm radio sound quality is absolutely amazing and best of all is the 6channel output great for the 2 amplifiers I'm running this is 10 stars not 5 great great I'm going to buy one for my girlfriend

Pros: Every thing is a pro

Cons: Absolutely no cons

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Inchelium, WA on 10/22/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

'96 Jeep Stereo Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Nevada City, CA on 10/22/2020

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm extremely satisfied with the unit. It has worked flawlessly. For the price it has just about everything one needs for todays tech connections. Its bluetooth ability with my LG phone is great!!! The downloadable Kenwood phone app works great!!! The USB input works great!!! The multi colored lighting options are great!!! I ran the microphone wire through the dash for the purpose of hands free phone use. The install for the DIY'ers is pretty easy. Just take your time and you'll be fine. Download the complete unit manual from the Kenwood site. The manual will help. I'm enjoying learning all the things the unit can do.

Pros:

Cons: I wish there was a dedicated attenuation (ATT) button to quickly mute the stereo. Th unit automatically mutes when a call comes in. I haven't found a button combination to engage the ATT manually.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Marshalltown, IA on 10/21/2020

2007 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice strong budget stereo

Pros: Easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Denham Springs, LA on 10/17/2020

2003 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent budget head unit. Plenty of features and great Kenwood sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome areceiver

Crutchfield customer from Crozet, VA on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my3rd KENWOOD receiver my 3rd Excelon and they are great receivers the sound is great and I really like this one has Alexa on it also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Super Product

Crutchfield customer from Haysi, VA on 10/4/2020

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product...easy install...Highly recommend both the system and Crutchfield....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Newburgh, NY on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with great features in a single din! Such a great upgrade!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None it's great

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Yadkinville, NC on 10/1/2020

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was great easy to install and has great sounds very pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great fit in E36 BMW M3- easy install, too

Paul from Cincinnati, OH on 9/26/2020

1998 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was actually a bit glad when the oem radio in my E36 M3 finally crapped out- I was tired of using a cassette adapter to connect my old ipod. (Cassette? What century is this?) Anyway, I looked for a nice head unit that didn't look like Atari designed it, and found this pretty conservatively styled Kenwood at a great price. There were two thin chrome bands on the unit that I carefully sanded down to the black plastic underneath, and I painted the glossy trim ring with a low gloss black paint to better match the rest of my dash. But the unit installed easily, snapped right in place, and works great. It has about 200 functions that I will never use, but these days all head units do. One function I did use: you can select the display color, and the orange is a perfect match. P.S. I actually found a near-identical Kenwood in silver color here on Crutchfield (the KMR-D375BT in the "marine" category), and bought one of those for another car where I need silver to match the dash.

Pros: Looks great, works great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

silveradols98

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 9/14/2020

1998 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Unit Tech Support Was Great Thanks Again J.W. For ALL Your Help .

Pros: I Like This Unit .

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 8/26/2020

2002 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Remarkable price for an easy upgrade over OEM stereo. Great Value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Prague, OK on 8/24/2020

1991 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio was a fairly easy install, the wiring harness worked well so I didn't need to splice into the factory wires, the plastic kit for mounting the radio was worthless, It made the radio sit too far back into the dash. After making some adjustments I was able to use the factory mounts and now all looks right. Still working on radio adjustment but so far I'm happy with purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Installed in 2006 Chrysler 300 w/ 6 speaker Boston acoustic

Crutchfield customer from Enola, PA on 8/23/2020

2006 Chrysler 300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product with to tons of functionality, but I bought this stereo mainly for correcting the soundstage in my 2006 Chrysler 300 with 6 Boston acoustic speakers and I am only able to time align 4 speakers plus a subwoofer so was a little disappointed.

Pros: Lots of customization options

Cons: Lacks time align with more than 4 speakers

Crutchfield response on 8/25/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear great sound. Dts sounds awesome

Crutchfield customer from Hoopa, CA on 8/23/2020

2001 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system great price.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Bellmawr, NJ on 8/23/2020

1999 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this stereo. Has a lot of bells and whistles on it! Great price too. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very good sound

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a jvc on my vehicle but the bluetooth was very disappointing and the sound wasn't that good but with this new unit you can really heard the difference

Pros: seamless connection with pandora 5v pre out makes a big difference when using a amplifier

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 8/19/2020

1985 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade from another Kenwood unit. After ~15 years it was time. Ya, it went into an old truck. Ya, I will never be able to totally appreciate the stereo in this old POS. But, it's a significant upgrade. Even though my truck isn't quiet as a vault, I'm still able to appreciate this unit. Of course, the new speakers helped too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Prineville, OR on 8/19/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Stereo. Sounds good

Pros: Sounds great, easy to use

Cons: Clock is a little small

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Heber Springs, AR on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good head unit. Many options. Crisp and clear sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Vandalia, OH on 8/5/2020

1992 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit good in dash looks good sounds great and with Bluetooth hands free calls in the 1992 ford f150

Pros: Plug and play

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 7/27/2020

2010 Mercury Mariner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and simple setup. Highly recommend!

Pros: Great sound. Great price. Bought from outlet. Looks brand new!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So happy!

Crutchfield customer from Wytheville, VA on 7/13/2020

2002 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful, super features, and easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio fr the price, great service by Crutchfield.

Crutchfield customer from Herndon, VA on 7/13/2020

2006 Chrysler Sebring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with provisions for SiriusXM and remote steering wheel controls (adapters needed. Many great features for the price -m Bluetooth, hands-free phone etc. Cost at Crutchfield is about the same as anywhere else but the service and assistance provided by Crutchfield is outstanding. They know their products and can help with any problems on installation.

Pros: price, features, ease of installation, Crutchfield support

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The go to head units for sound quality and value

Crutchfield customer from Vacaville, CA on 7/12/2020

2004 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have single din Kenwood excelon head units in 4 of my cars now! They sound awesome! The outputs are super clean and the the crossover and digital time alignment settings make it easier to tune your system. Even with a stock speakers just upgrading with a Kenwood excelon head unit will be a vast sound improvement.

Pros: simple operation Awesome sound quality Eq and digital time alignment settings are great

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice unit

Crutchfield customer from Fogelsville, PA on 7/2/2020

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit, great price. So many features, I'm still learning what all it can do. Easy install and it looks amazing. Love the color changing option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 6/28/2020

1984 Volkswagen Vanagon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a Kenwood car stereo that I had installed in my Volkswagen Vanagon 12 years ago. This model is significantly better than the KDC-452U it replaced. Display is brighter, controls are more intuitive, sound seems to be better and this one has Bluetooth. Shipping time was really fast, price was reasonable, and customer support excellent (I called to confirm a question I had about shipping).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Elysburg, PA on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buttons small and difficult. Programing confusing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice stereo for good price

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/21/2020

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound and features for a good price. Not as important to sound, but I liked the fact that there are so many options for display color. I was able to almost perfectly match the color of my gauges.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Nederland, TX on 6/18/2020

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Easy install. Please don't advertise an Android app (Bluetooth) for controlling Kenwood car stereos when all that app does is crash when you try to use it. That was an influence on my decision to make the purchase. No included remote because there is a smart phone app that does not work (on Android). I have heard that it works on iOS, but cannot confirm this. Extremely disappointed with Kenwood regarding this. Fix your app!. I contacted support regarding the app, no response. I tried every kenwood remote app in play store. None worked.

Pros: Good sound Easy install

Cons: NON-FUNCTIONAL Bluetooth Android remote app for this car stereo. Just crashes. No response from Kenwood support.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

OMG! Theres alot on this unit.

Crutchfield customer from Andover, MN on 6/12/2020

1998 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I guess I have been out of the aftermarket radio seen for a while but its going to take me for ever to learn this thing. but super cool!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Valley, WA on 6/11/2020

1989 Ford Bronco II

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always relied on Kenwood when replacing factory units and this one has not let me down. I enjoy the ability to tune my system exactly how I want. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone looking to replace their factory one and do it cost effectively.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sale, Great Service,Great support

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 6/2/2020

2004 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent! The stereo radio was exactly as I wanted, but the service and after sale tech support is what really made this a great purchase. Tech support helped choose the best unit, helped with all the additional hardware and when I hit a rough spot, they got me going. I would buy from them again before going anywhere else

Pros: price and support,easy to work with

Cons: I dont have anything!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 6/1/2020

2006 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! I'm so happy with all settings of this car stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice for the price

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 5/28/2020

2007 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit for the price. I basically came out of the Stone Age with a CD player/radio. Now I've got all the bells and whistles from Spotify connect to Bluetooth calling (the microphone is a bonus). I had one issue while wiring it but customer service was great and everything went great. Gave 4 stars just because it is a really good unit but not mind blowing.

Pros: Easy install, good sound, easy Bluetooth connection

Cons: Small buttons

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tons of Bang for Your Buck.

Crutchfield customer from Heartland, TX on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features, easy to adjust to your personal preferences, love that it allows more than one BT connection at a time. Extremely clear hands-free calling. Easy to install.

Pros: Slick design, responsive and intuitive controls, and a plethora of settings to customize to your specific audio needs.

Cons: Charging via the integrated USB with Android and using Bluetooth Audio put engine whine into my audio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Inexpensive radio upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 5/25/2020

2008 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo for a little over $100. Easy install, and easy setup. Nice upgrade for a stock radio. It allows you to Bluetooth a smart phone, to answer phone calls hands free.

Pros: Inexpensive upgrade, 5v preamp outputs with sub preamp

Cons: Can't adjust the frequency in the bass mid treble settings to fine tune

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Tallassee, AL on 5/23/2020

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another awesome stereo and as always great support from Crutchfield! I installed the unit in my brother's vehicle and because of the install kit including the wiring harness adapter it only took me about 20 to 30 minutes to complete the installation. My brother was very pleased and said that I was absolutely right when I told him that I always turn to Crutchfield and no other place for all of my audio needs! So thank you Crutchfield and now you have another customer which is my brother! Thanks Again Scotty

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Finally, i will be able to enjoy BT and hands free options

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 5/19/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent way to modernize my 2002 F150

Pros: Android fast charge usb

Cons: It would be cool if i was able to turn off pandora and alexa sources from menu/settings. These are not needed for me.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Harrisville, WV on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pleased overall works well and sounds decent, the CD player does skip occasionally but the old F-350 rides rough. Crutchfield provided excellent instruction and diagrams to allow for ease of installation. Mac the sales representative was knowledgeable and friendly. I would order from Crutchfield again.

Pros: Fit the F-350 with the provided installation kit perfect.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another Sokid Ecperience

Steve from Philly, Pa on 5/17/2020

2014 Toyota Yaris

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this Kenwood. I seem to replace every stock radio when ever I get a new vehicle. My "new" 2014 Toyota Yaris was no exception. Great fit. Everything was easy to put together and this single din has alot of great features. I got the single not only because of the great price, but because as an old head who loves cds, I liked the pock8under the init to hold them. This Kenwoid makes my stock speakers sound better and is capable of being a great head unit if I decrease too expand my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 5/4/2020

1999 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always Kenwood don't let ya down

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Stereo for the money

Crutchfield customer from Milltown, NJ on 5/4/2020

2001 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a Bluetooth that would recognize Spotify and this works great and Crutchfield always makes it super easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Sparkill, NY on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All the radio/ reciever I will ever need! I love the looks and all the functions.

Pros: Looks great in my dash , sounds great and enjoy all the things it can do !

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Palmer, MA on 4/29/2020

1989 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit made the rest of my components work and sound way better. Very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Loomis, CA on 4/28/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great on cd. The Blue tooth is not as good as my other Kenwood

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 4/27/2020

2012 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, although the instructions required some common sense. May have been difficult for someone who hadn't installed before. Regarding the unit, I still haven't figured out how to get the levels to what my stock radio sounded like with the speakers I purchased at the same time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits my needs and then some.

Crutchfield customer from Waukegan, IL on 4/27/2020

2002 Mazda Protege

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Receiver has many features I will never use such as I pod capability and bluetooth. I wanted a decent radio receiver that would give me a good sound. This is what I got. Volume is ample and sound quality is clear and crisp. Fairly easy to program and looks like it belongs where it is installed. Worth the money.

Pros: Good value.

Cons: None noted

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Jim from Lyman, NH on 4/26/2020

1991 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always another great head unit from Kenwood. Got nice features including dta and hpf and lpf. The menu can seem daunting to some, but it's not all that hard to figure out. Crutchfield did me a solid and got my product to me before the scheduled date.

Pros: 5 volt pre outs Kenwood signature sound Excellent price for features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Walker, LA on 4/23/2020

2002 Lexus GS300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Unit ! Has a great EQ and system setup. Easy install and works great with my Kenwood amp.

Pros: Easy Setup Easy install Very Tunable

Cons: Have not found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Dillsburg, PA on 4/22/2020

2004 Hyundai Accent

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield is awesome. From the search for my new system to riding down the street listening to great sounds Crutchfield has been there each step. This is my second buy and I am satisfied. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Keenwood exelon kdc x304

Crutchfield customer from Dawsonville, GA on 4/21/2020

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is excellent. Have not had any problems with it. Links to my Moto G7 with no problems.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, WI on 4/21/2020

2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, great sound quality, fast delivery and great tech support. With crutchfield, you can't miss!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Linden, NC on 4/15/2020

2006 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome head unit. Great way to update a factory radio. Easy to install and use.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Custom colors are harder to set

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Bergen County, NJ on 4/13/2020

2010 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed OK, the Crutchfield ready-harness is an absolute timesaver. I've always had Sony units but bought this instead of the Sony MEX-N5300BT just to give it a try. Basically same features and I think $1 difference in price. Anyway... The jury is still out on this one. I do like the features, but as others have said the multitudes of settings aren't all that intuitive (to me) and I obviously have to spend time getting familiar but some of the buttons are way small - even for a single din unit. I don't like the tiny clock size, (Its my car's only clock) the power-on delay, the static picking up some local FM stations that my old stock unit had no problems with, and I can not get the sound just right for the FM Radio even though I have it just about right for the CD. (I guess each source needs its own customization?). The distortion when turned up is also noticeable between FM (gets distorted) and CD (does not get distorted) compared to my old stock unit. I set the time sync which is supposed to sync the time to the radio signal somehow (?) and every time I got into the car the time was wrong. Changed clock to manual and its OK so far, but if it starts to drift its definitely going back lol! I do like the amount of features, the bluetooth works very well as does the hands-free calling. I am going to give it some time to grow on me but initially, I am not blown away.

Pros: Lots of features. Dual color zones are neat. Plays just about anything. BT and hands free calling.

Cons: Tiny buttons, tiny clock, need to spend a decent amount of time getting used to where things are in multitudes of setting menus. FM reception not as good as what I had.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Another outstanding Kenwood radio

Crutchfield customer from Wellfleet, MA on 4/12/2020

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Kenwood products, I have installed Kenwood head units purchased from Crutchfield in all my vehicles. Great features, CD, Bluetooth, Hands free phone now a Law in Massachusetts. Bonus the Remote from my other Kenwood works on this unit also!

Pros: All the features anyone could want. Intuitive operation and programing.

Cons: Takes a little while to figure out all the features but it has all the Bells and Whistles

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 4/7/2020

2004 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working great so far, great Bluetooth, clear microphone. Very good receiver I would recommend it ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Radio

Crutchfield customer from Salinas, CA on 4/7/2020

2001 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced the stock radio in my 2001 Dodge Dakota with this Kenwood. The old radio gave up the ghost. The old system was the Infinity system. I only replaced the head. Speakers and amp stayed original. The Kenwood sounded great in this system, as good or better than it did 20 years ago. This head has a lot of nice features and was very reasonably priced. I hate the one nob to control everything but they all are that way now so what can I do. I would definitely recommend this unit for just about anyone. It would get 5 stars for sound and function but the one nob for all controls brought it down.

Pros: sound quality, plenty of features

Cons: One nob for all controls.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood kdc-x304

Crutchfield customer from Naalehu, HI on 4/6/2020

2001 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving my new receiver shipping was free and fast and the price is affordable for a receiver of such excellent quality plus the freebies that was included thank you Crutchfield

Pros: It's a win for me

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 3/26/2020

2003 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, fit perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon are the best

Crutchfield customer from Fortuna, CA on 3/25/2020

2013 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed today in about an hour in the wife's 13 Subaru Outback as usual the Kenwood Excelon series decks are awesome for the price and quite user friendly once you are familiar with how they operate the wife loves it . I got the expanded install kit so she could use her steering controls, all I have to say is garbage the deck itself is all you need . I used the instructions and it still didn't function oh well the deck is awesome and makes her vehicle that more attractive in the interior thank you Crutchfield for a great product and killer service as always . Thank you.

Pros: The operating platform of the Excelon series decks are easy to work with and the sound quality is second to none . This deck has so much stuff it can do I really haven't figured them all out yet. Enhances the look of the dash without the garbage factory double din stereo.

Cons: The steering controls kit is a joke I even had my installer buddy help me out and he said it was crap

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Casa Grande, AZ on 3/24/2020

2006 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everybody is prefect for my car. Great settings 6 outputs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, IN on 3/18/2020

1988 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made it so easy

Crutchfield customer from Athens, TN on 3/10/2020

2000 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome piece and also used friendly! Crutchfield really hooks it up with everything you need for a professional looking installation! Wife loves her new sound system! Thanks Crutchfield !!

Pros: Easy install Free stuff ! Quality Awesome price ! Helpful techs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Evarts, KY on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system. Can't go wrong.

Pros: Sounds good and has almost anything you want.

Cons: Hard to figure out all the controls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Southgate, MI on 2/27/2020

1998 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Blue tooth connection to cell phone is crystal clear, zero background noise! Installed in 1998 Suburban with six speaker setup! Had difficulty locating factory amplifier. Which is mounted to support bracket just left of accelerator pedal. Once blue wiring from radio wiring harness was connected all six speakers functioned like factory radio!

Pros:

Cons: Working to figure out auto volume increase with speedometer can be connected.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

I like it!

Crutchfield customer from Llano, TX on 2/24/2020

1993 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second Kenwood to install, so I knew what to expect. Although it was not supposed to fit a 1976 El Camino, I made some alterations to my dash and it fits perfectly. Very good radio for the price. Sound and display surprised me. Displays colors look good and the sound is better than I've ever had in this car I've had for over 40 years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 2/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio at a great price

Pros: I like all the colors

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Mount Airy, NC on 2/22/2020

1988 Cadillac DeVille

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of features for the price. My daughter is very pleased with the I-Phone controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent factory replacement stereo!

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, TN on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality on factory speakers and more features than I expected from a car stereo in this price range. The Kenwood's Bluetooth reception is fantastic and paired up with my IPhone 11 with no problem. The hands free mic is great and I'm using this in a convertible! The head unit has several adjustments regarding the mic as well as other options that allow you to personalize the sound to your specific taste. The front USB port and external plug are easy to reach and come with an easy to use cover that keeps out dust when not in use. The built in amp provides ample power and a clear crisp sound quality. Great value for the money!

Pros: Excellent sound, versatile look with numerous color choices, and tons of features.

Cons: Wish the bottom row of buttons were a little larger, but not an issue.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Montrose, CO on 2/10/2020

2004 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! I wish it displayed track name instead of Playlist name on pandora, but other than that, it's great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Eagle Point, OR on 2/1/2020

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is great! Simple to use, has great sound, and great look. Perfect if your looking to upgrade your stereo! Would buy it again!

Pros: Good look easy to use and great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Potsdam, NY on 1/22/2020

1990 Dodge D Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great replacement for the factory radio in my classic 1990 Dodge Ram D250 pickup. I thought this would be way too complicated to set up and "maintain" but controls are fairly intuitive once I mastered the menu system. Loving the Alexa capability as well as the hands-free phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Sidney, NE on 1/22/2020

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a really excellent stereo for the price easy to install easy to run I really like the hands free calling

Pros: Hands free calling

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value and sound

Crutchfield customer from Peachtree City, GA on 1/13/2020

2004 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo is very nice, sound, lighting, ease of installation are top notch. I assisted my teen aged son with the install and we found the instructions very well detailed. He enjoys the sound in his CRV and looks fed to adding two additional upgraded speaker in the rear. From Ordering to install we could not be happier. It made for a great Christmas project along with the speakers we also ordered. Thank you Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good head unit

Crutchfield customer from Weatherford, TX on 1/9/2020

2007 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good feature set, intuitive UI, clean sound. What more can you ask for?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

DJ

Crutchfield customer from Tillamook, OR on 1/7/2020

1999 Cadillac DeVille

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just upgraded a 20 year old radio/cassette combination to this Satelight Radio Ready/CD player in a low mileage cadillac I inherited from my mother when she passed. I been planning a cross country trek with my brother in the vehicle and I have a large collection of CD's that I made in the studio when I worked in radio years ago. The controls are small and I'm still trying to figure out ow to set the bass and treble. Just totaled my other vehilce so when I'm done sorting out that mess, if I can't figure it out, I'll call someone at Crutchfield to ask them. I will say I compared this unit with other units and for the price, it seemed like the better deal; but, only time will tell.

Pros: Price, Quality Brand

Cons: Small buttons, controls not intuitive (to me)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Great, inexpensive system. Easy to install. I've done three.

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased three of these radios for Christmas for my kids who all have older cars. I wanted them to be able go hands free in the car. My two daughters are iPhone users. One has a 2001 Honda CRV and the other a 2001 Mazda Tribute. My son like Android OS so uses a Samsung and drives a 1998 Volvo S70. The stereos are performing well in all the cars and the wiring harnesses that Crutchfield provides makes installation a breeze. This stereo supports all the speakers in all the cars despite the fact that one car has 5 speakers, another 6, and another 8 and Crutchfield makes it simple to figure out with color coded, preset harnesses. The Kenwood is easy to setup after installation. Bluetooth connects immediately on all cars with all types of phones. Each stereo supports two phone connections but also allows for up to five phone in the car being able to share music. Call quality is good and the stereo overrides music when a call is in progress. I realize these are not the top of the line systems. Anyone spending under $150 should understand that but they are all a step up from the Honda, Mazda and Volvo factory systems from 20 years ago. :) The kids all seem pleased and I feel safer knowing that have systems that allow them to operate their vehicles with focus.

Pros: Simple to install Easy to set up Crutchfield harnesses Crutchfield Support

Cons: The buttons are a little small but that is not unusual for systems trying to cram so much stuff into a single DIM.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Saint Thomas, PA on 1/2/2020

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the new Kenwood, have been using there radios for over 20 years, have never had a problem with any of them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/1/2020

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good so far. Daughter is very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Weatherford, TX on 12/30/2019

1998 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for my daughter to put in her refinished '98 GMC pick up. Looks great in dash. Husband said easy hook up with all the items Crutchfield sent to make it all match up. He did have to make one harness but said that was nothing major. My daughter loves the look and the sound. Took a little bit to get the settings how she wanted them but after that no problems. We received in a very timely manner as well. Crutchfield will definitely be our first place to shop from now on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Casselberry, FL on 12/25/2019

1997 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall the install and the product were great. All I have to do now is become proficient in it's use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Eexcelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Bolingbrook, IL on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The people at Crutchfield were great . They helped me with my install over the phone. Thank You.

Pros: Easy to use bluetooth great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Sound for the money.

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 12/19/2019

2006 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Good sound for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good radio

Crutchfield customer from Valley Center, KS on 12/19/2019

2004 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio. Installation was very easy. Connected to my phone the first time I tried. Spotify works very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value but takes a while to power up

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/15/2019

2004 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The KDC X304 is a really excellent value compared to other excelon and non excelon Kenwood receivers.

Pros: The things I love most about it and main reasons I purchased this model are: 1. 4.2 Bluetooth 2. Built in 22 watt amp 3. 5 volt pre outs 4. Built in filters 5. 13 band EQ 6. Time alignment and 7. Price

Cons: The only really thing I don't like is how long it takes to power on/turn on. Compared to my old stock radio that would play as soon as I inserted the keys to on or turn on the car this KDCX304 receiver takes a while before I can start playing anything especi not Bluetif this is common. This is my first Kenwood. Another thing I didn't appreciate is that I ordered an open box item but it looks more like a scratch and dent since the faceplate has noticable damage.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Radio!

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 12/9/2019

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a non XM capable Kenwood radio with this one....this one sounds GREAT! I love it!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Buttons are small and scrolling on XM is strange

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Saint Augustine, FL on 11/23/2019

1994 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. It works great and is a good value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Medina, OH on 11/17/2019

2006 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great radio and works really well with my IPhone through Bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, NY on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a gift for our 17 year old daughter. She loves it, especially the different light options. The sound quality is outstanding, and very simple to operate. Thank you Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy this now

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 11/9/2019

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it. Best stereo I've ever owned. Loaded with features. Easy to use. Easy to install. The bluetooth and connectivity have been flawless. Best price I could find. No complaints at all.

Pros: Everything.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another great Kenwood product

Crutchfield customer from Southlake, TX on 11/6/2019

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an older model Kenwood that had the faceplate go bad with the updated model. I did have to re-solder the new harness but was still an effortless install in my 09' Jeep wrangler. Sounds great and paired right up to older model I phone.

Pros: Ease of use, pairing, setup, sound, etc..

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X304

Crutchfield customer from Toano, VA on 11/4/2019

2006 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the stareo, but the USB shuffle needs to have a device shuffle added. I have and older Kenwood in another vehicle and the USB has a device shuffle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CLEAN

Jared from Livermore, CA on 10/25/2019

2015 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound quality and options. Works flawlessly, everything I was looking for and at a nice price point. Clean looking, and clean sounding with updated features.

Pros: Feature packed, updated, sounds clean, looks clean, reasonably priced. Simple interface.

Cons: Nada

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

TOP