Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
427 711 44
Connect ID #
427 711 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Excelon Series 6-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # KFC-X174

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Excelon Series 6-1/2" 2-way car speakers

MFR # KFC-X174

48 reviews
View this product

Sound great

gary from ONTARIO, CA on 5/7/2021

2018 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great without an amp. I will install an amp soon and can't wait for the difference it will make. Great highs and ok bass. They sound way better than what I had.

Pros: sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, NH on 4/22/2021

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally quality sound from a kenwood speaker I have used many before and well gave this a shot and it was well worth it made me a believer of kenwood again the sound is full and clarity is on point soft and warming the mid bass hits how it should in a coaxial speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 3/16/2021

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for the price

Pros: Great speaker for the price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sufficient. Overpriced.

Thad from Mattoon, IL on 1/17/2021

2011 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are okay. I have them crossed over at 150hz and i have subwoofers to cover the low end. at 60 dollars they would be 5 stars. The 50 dollar skar speakers are just as good, but the skar door speakers can be a little boomy i guess. and these have no bass at all.

Pros: Sound okay.

Cons: Over priced. Zero low end.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sound quality

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, NJ on 1/16/2021

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great nice bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Sounding Speakers for Dodge Challenger

Kevin from OFallon, MO on 1/14/2021

2018 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in the rear deck of a 2018 Dodge Challenger. They fit perfectly with the supplied speaker adapter even though the website says they don't fit. These replaced some 6.5 Infinity Reference Coaxial that were way too bright for my taste. The Kenwood's have much smoother sound and put out more bass.

Pros: Great Sound Quality Fits Perfectly in Rear Deck

Cons: Crutchfield didn't include any speaker wiring adapters with my purchase.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Catlettsburg, KY on 12/26/2020

2005 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got them installed and they sound great! Thanks for all the help from crutchfield support!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 12/23/2020

2015 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Olive Branch, MS on 12/10/2020

2007 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great pair of speakers to purchase to get into the aftermarket sound system with the price not being too high and good quality sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Palm Desert, CA on 12/2/2020

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They installed easily into my 2003 4runner and they sounds great. The provided new brackets and wire harnesses fit perfect with clear detailed instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great sound

Joseph from LOS ANGELES, CA on 7/29/2020

2008 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i bouth my first kenwood excelon amp for my 08 accord, but i had stock speakers crapy i might say lol, i looked up kenwood speakers came across the excelon bouth them , made the best choice ever, the sound now is great, i am happy with my purchase, thanks crutchfield for the free speaker harness & spacers,

Pros: i would by speakers from crutchfield again.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Fredonia, WI on 7/22/2020

2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits front doors 2020 Silverado LT Comes with a bracket in packaging that will work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesomeness!

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, OH on 7/12/2020

2011 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best pair of Kenwood speakers that I've bought. Better than just the standard Kenwood ones. As good as my Infinity speakers. Amazing sound quality!

Pros: Exceptional sound

Cons: Nothing until they break

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, PA on 7/4/2020

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound quality is great! Definitely worth the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Castaic, CA on 7/1/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and the instructions made them a breeze installing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Diberville, MS on 6/28/2020

2002 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and fit perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Casper, WY on 6/16/2020

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never bought kenwood before so was a bit hesitant. After getting them installed and some sound pumping thru them I was amazed. They are very clear sounding and could handle a good amount of bass. I will buy kenwood speakers from from here on out. I've been buying from crutchfield since 2002 and never have had an issue. The install was easy with the detailed instructions and free equipment.

Pros: Great sound all around

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, WA on 6/15/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound awesome, nice smooth notes. I only have them connected to a 75w amp but they have all the power I need. Way better then my stock speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 6/15/2020

1988 Honda CRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look, and sound good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 6/14/2020

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, IL on 6/7/2020

2007 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, solid quality, highly exceeded my expectations!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great sound qualities

Crutchfield customer from Culpeper, VA on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 4/14/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a great replacement to the factory Toyota speakers. The sound is very crisp and clean. They also have decent bass for a 6.5" speaker. Installation was a breeze thanks to the included accessories from the Crutchfield team.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome

Samuel from Saint-Hubert,QC on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow these are amazing! Sounds clear, loud and smooth. Technically wasn't gonna fit in my 2015 jetta but using the adapter ring provided by kenwood plus adding a foam basket to improve the sound and push the speaker further out made it fit perfectly. Can't go wrong with those

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound and value.

Crutchfield customer from Leawood, KS on 3/12/2020

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a very nice complement to the Kenwoood Excelon KFC-X6902C Compenent speakers for the front of my 2016 Toyota 4Runner with Entune Plus. I used two pairs of the KFC-X174. One pair in the rear doors and another in the rear hatch. The metra mounting brackets 82-8148 and harness 72-8104 provided by Crutchfield made the installation very easy and precise with no modifications to the factory panel or wiring. All that is required is a gasket between the brackets and the vehicle. Also some foam between the speaker and panel. I used a Stinger Road Kill Fasting Ring RKFR6 for the gasket and foam at the panel. All of these Kenwood Excelon drivers combined deliver a great sound stage and listening experience with the factory head unit.

Pros: Installation with Crutchfield provided bracket and harness was easy. Great sound in combination with the Excelon KFC-X6902C front components speakers which include a 2.75" mid/high range dash speaker not a small tweeter. This seems to keep the sound stage higher in the vehicle. I tried the tweeter route which sent the sound stage closer to the lower front door speakers which was too low for me. Also, the Kenwood 2 year warranty.

Cons: These add more weight to the doors and hatch which you may notice while opening and closing. It is a matter of getting used to it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/30/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound and great fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Ontario, CA on 12/14/2019

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 11/20/2019

2011 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strong improvement over OEM speakers. Very happy with quality and everything Crutchfield provided to install speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Christopher from DEVINE, TX on 10/10/2019

2018 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these from another retailer and they were fake. I purchased these from here and they are loud and look great and sound clear

Pros: Look nice, easy to install, sound great

Cons: can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good, solid speakers

Crutchfield customer from Crystal River, FL on 9/19/2019

2009 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers appear to be well built, are quite hefty and produce a nice, clear sound. Not quite as dynamic (thus 4 stars) as I had expected but they are still top notch and I'm happy with them. They come with their own mounting brackets that worked better for me in my Nissan 370Z than the free ones supplied by Crutchfield. I would recommend these speakers and buy them again.

Pros: Well made, perfect fit with brackets supplied, nice clean sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for the RV.

Crutchfield customer from Villa Rica, GA on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these to replace the paper cone speakers in our 5th wheel RV. Perfect fit and great improvement in sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Replaced speakers in Bose 301 boxes

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a pair of old Bose 301 Speakers which the woofers and tweeters were bad. I didn't want to spend a lot of money replacing them. I purchased these along with the ABS boards to fill in the hole size. The finished product sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers replaced the stock speakers in my 2007 Toyota Tacoma. There was no comparison in the sound, it was sharper, cleaner and much more enjoyable to listen to. Installation was easy with the adapter brackets. Great value for the price.

Pros: Easy installation, great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 8/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install with correct mounts and wiring

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Corsicana, TX on 6/4/2019

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 5/1/2019

2016 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, so much better than the stock speakers. You hear the entire audio frequency range over the stock muddy one's. Turn up the volume and these speakers get even better.

Pros: everything fit like a glove

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Terry from Cuba, MO on 3/13/2019

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What you would expect from Kenwood !!!! Awesome all around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great clarity

Don from Clinton Twp, MI on 10/7/2018

2008 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers and a great price. The brackets, wiring connector and Master Sheet for installation that Crutchfield included for free made the install quick and easy.

Pros: Great price, easy to install

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Marc from Taylorsville, UT on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound. Very happy. Just the ticket for my 57 Chevy Pickup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Bixby, OK on 7/24/2018

2017 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Theese went great into my 2017 F 150 Sony system Raptro. Great Quality and sensitivity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

BOOM!

Ryan from Portland, OR on 7/8/2018

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, you can't beat the sound. I have a Kenwood Excel HU to a MTX 4CH giving shy of 75w per channel. These things are good! Pushing bass @ 80hz+ @ -12db and they hold very well. Previously had them with no amp and 55wx4 HU and did get some distortion at high volume 75% with a preset "ROCK" EQ. Once powered correctly, they just took off and never looked back!

Pros: Solid build.

Cons: Meh.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Great Sound

Rob from Tucson, AZ on 7/8/2018

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They fit perfectly in my 2006 Silverado regular cab, with some drilling required. Installation was very easy with the install kit. So far they sound great! I also purchased the Kenwood Excelon KFC-X463C

Pros: Easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

David B from Evansville, IN on 6/11/2018

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality and with the provided wire harnesses and mounting brackets by Crutchfield, made for a simple install.

Pros: Great sound, lots of bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Jason from Saint Louis, MO on 5/30/2018

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great factory replacement for my 2006 Silverado sound awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Sound is crisp bass is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood KFC-X174. Great speakers!

Bob from Missouri on 4/13/2018

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers replaced the factory Bose speakers in my Silverado 2500HD, and there is no comparison! These speakers are so much more clear and crisp than the ones I replaced. You may find these speakers for a better price, but the extra parts and mounting hardware that Crutchfield supplies makes this the best deal by far. (Not to mention their phone support. Best tech support that I have ever had the opportunity to work with!)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Dusty from Missouri on 3/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just replaced the factory speakers in the front door of my 2017 Hyundai Accent. Can NOT wait to get a second pair to replace the ones in the back door. I am amazed at the difference these speakers make to the sound quality of the factory stereo. The new Pioneer goes in tomorrow along with the subs so I'm really looking forward to how everything sounds together. I would highly recommend these speakers for sure!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174

Albert from Greensboro, NC on 3/1/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Replaced ONE speakers, wow, what a difference. Well worth the investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

TOP