Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
211 492 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
211 492 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Digital media receiver — does not play CDs

MFR # KMM-X503

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Digital media receiver — does not play CDs

MFR # KMM-X503

116 reviews
View this product

Buy Now!

Crutchfield customer from Missouri City, TX on 4/2/2020

2004 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In one word....fantastic?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Enterprise, AL on 3/17/2020

2013 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm 62 years old This was the first time I had ever tried to install a radio/stereo system I not one to lie as I was not so confident once I opened the box But after a little over a hour I had it finished I must say I was kinda proud of myself Thanks Crutchfield Not going to say speaking of one self it was easy but for making it an smooth installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Taylor, MI on 3/15/2020

2001 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Easy display setup. Works flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cool Kenwood

Crutchfield customer from Forestville, CA on 3/15/2020

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits great, looks fantastic, the many features provide very nice sound, and I love the hands free phone use capability.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So very affordable and a great unit. Very surprised at the power output compared to factory units. It Rocks

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio and price

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 2/18/2020

1969 Oldsmobile Toronado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the 502 and it was a great radio but the 503 has a few more options. I got to order the xm radio antenna next

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Dundalk, MD on 2/2/2020

1992 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio.

Pros: Hd Radio.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what I was looking for

Crutchfield customer from Easley, SC on 1/20/2020

1986 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with great appearance and very easy to navigate features. Powering 4 JL audio speakers and JL 10TW3 through a JL RD900/5 amp. Always love Kenwood products for their outputs and higher power built in amplifier.

Pros: Price, appearance, easy of controls

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Grants Pass, OR on 1/12/2020

2000 Subaru Impreza RS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Rradio works great, bluetooth and phone setup was very easy and straight forward. Sounds good, wiring hooked right up. What else could I ask for?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Overall, good, inexpensive upgrade to my old Jeep Cherokee radio.

Darrell L. from ALBUQUERQUE, NM on 1/8/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall about a 3.5 for me. Inexpensive at less than $100 to upgrade my 2000 Jeep Cherokee. Fairly easy installation, but make sure you read everything a couple times. Wiring harness adapter will have a few wires you don't use, to include not connecting to the existing 'orange' dimmer wire from your Jeep. The Kenwood has it's own Dim selections and will not Dim based on Jeep headlight knob. The 'black' ground from the Jeep will require stripping and manual connection to the 'green' ground of the new harness. Jeep Single Din bracket is a little flimsy because of only two screw points...radio is light but bracket has to hold the entire weight of the radio. Bracket bends when you press buttons because there is nothing else supporting the body of the radio. I rapped some wires under the radio to help support. Actual function of the Kenwood is pretty good. Radio comes with a very short startup instruction booklet. So, make sure you download the full operations PDF booklet. Then READ IT through. Bluetooth is very good, easy pairing, but took a couple tries. It will automatically pair the next time...usually. FM reception is good, AM reception is not good, which is disappointing as I'm a fan of talk radio. Sound to the speakers can easily reach vibration levels with just a little plus 3 on bass (no sub-woofer in my setup). Buttons are very small and kinda hard to accurately push while driving. Set what you want before you drive, update at stops. It's a keeper.

Pros: Bluetooth pairing very good. Fairly easy install if you READ everything and make a plan. Massive display options for colors and dimming, but must download the full operations PDF to know these. Ample audio choices in the equalizer, more than the old Jeep radio. Microphone is pretty good/clear for talking on the phone (mine is positioned on steering wheel column). Multiple USB and Aux connections.

Cons: Installation bracket provides marginal support for Single Din radio in a 1.5 Din space. Bracket bends when pressing buttons. Sound easily hits vibration levels in speakers when adding bass. AM reception is marginal and turns to awful on channel 1050. Used to be my best channel on the Jeep radio. NO select tuning, must be 'seek' tuning only. Very small command buttons. No hands-free voice commands. You'll need to set your phone to respond to voice commands.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excelon Reigns Supreme Once Again

Crutchfield customer from White Pine, TN on 1/8/2020

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit! Always a fan of Excelon series Kenwood products!

Pros: Excellent value

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, MS on 1/8/2020

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has so many features in one neat little package. The expandability and capabilities of the KMM-X503 are unparalleled by anyone. I like it some much, in fact, that I bought another one to replace a Double DIN Pioneer. Way to go Kenwood, you got this one WAY RIGHT!!!

Pros: Small footprint, massive capabilities, sprawling expandability, crystal clear sound, ergonomically comfortable and user friendly menus.

Cons: Absolutely ZERO

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit

Tony from SONOITA, AZ on 1/6/2020

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4.5 star's great little receiver nice fit in old LC hope it will take all my off road use

Pros: good HD radio, easy install

Cons: lack of tuner selection (scan only) iPhone mobile app is a joke included instruction unless, down loaded manual a must

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for folks with less than 20/20 eyesight.

Crutchfield customer from Joanna, SC on 1/5/2020

2004 Buick LeSabre

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent sound as you would expect from Kenwood. My complaint is this was made to fit vehicles with a lot of space to place a new radio. With this in mind, I cannot understand why the display (Which is loaded with info) has to be so small that anyone with less than a 25 year old's eyesight has to pull over and put on readers to be able to know what you are seeing. There is at least 3 inches of space taken up with the installation case in plastic surrounding and a TRAY! Everyone needs a tray and not be able to read the display.A much larger display would not add much to the cost of the unit, and I believe MOST folks would enjoy it. OK, I along with a large majority of the world is getting older. Make the displays with us in mind. The younger folks will not mind a larger display.

Pros: Gets you around the hands free cell phone laws.

Cons: Display font is really small, and the clock is nearly non existent.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 12/17/2019

1997 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It did everything I needed it to. Just after replacing the stereo, my car speakers sounded better. I then upgraded the speakers later, no amp or sub, but it still sounds good. It has a lot of customizability. Bluetooth works well, call quality is decent, and it is pretty easy to navigate. I'm no car audio expert, but I am happy with my purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelon Choice!

Crutchfield customer from Santa Maria, CA on 12/15/2019

1997 Toyota T100

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelon design! The deck was easy to install amd connect, special thanks to Crutchfield throwing in a wire harness. The UI on this unit is realy smooth. I has a Ton of range and seemingly endless EQ options! Dwsign is great, very sharp vivid colors and wide range of shades to choose from. Sound and power produced is perfect for any audiophile or bass head! This is the gear to get. Thanks Crutchfield for assistance and extra install gear!!

Pros: Wide range of EQ options, variant sound preprogrammed, grear display, color scheme. Easy install. Solid overall

Cons: I would opt for a slightly smaller turn dial as this one is a bit wider than I prefer. Other than that all is well.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lots of features for the money

Crutchfield customer from Newberg, OR on 12/15/2019

1995 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of features for the money! Very few stereos have HD Radio at this price point, much less dual USB inputs. There are plenty of color options for matching the buttons and screen to your car's interior light color. The screen color can be set differently from the button/knob color, or both together. It sounds great, but most digital media receivers do, so not really a standout there.

Pros: Great features, low cost, easy to install

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Lisbon, WI on 12/13/2019

2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my 07 Hatley Electric Glide.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

HD Tuner only way to go. Overall Excellent receiver

Crutchfield customer from Hillsboro, TN on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. I am pulling in stations 100 miles away and my speakers sound terrific. It plays Pandora, even You Tube, all of them. The Bluetooth is excellent. I installed it myself, soldered the wires and wrapped the soldered wires with shrink spaghetti. Everything I needed - harness etc - came with it and fit perfectly. DOWNSIDE - the tiny buttons to change channels are too small and you need to press them HARD. It is frustrating, distracting, and takes some pleasure out of it. Otherwise I would give it 5 stars.

Pros: powerful HD tuner, excellent blue tooth, super sound

Cons: tiny buttons and need to press them HARD suck.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Salina, KS on 11/24/2019

1987 Pontiac Fiero

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing quality, easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Inverness, FL on 11/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

first radio was bad but Crutchfield's's customer service and technical support people helped and sent a replacement. only time will tell how good the radio is.

Pros: has some good features, but some are confusing...

Cons: 2 things i don't like about the radio is the small buttons and no manual tuning for stations

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Mark from Wellsville, UT on 11/2/2019

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy Great sound and connectivity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointing

Charles from Asheville NC on 11/1/2019

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Horrible sound. Distortion on high volume no matter what speaker or setting. I had to turn all eq to lowest setting still sounds awful. Tried two new sets of speakers from two separate manufacturers. Same outcome. No explanation of features in owner's manual. Support is almost non existent. Contacted Crutchfield as well as kenwood and no one knows anything about this unit.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: Everything else

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2019
Charles, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Randy from Maysville, KY on 10/31/2019

1998 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not happy with this receiver. It has many options for connections via bluetooth but the ones I am trying to use, Spotify or plain bluetooth, do not work properly. When I get in my car 75% of the time the stereo shows "Connecting", even after my Iphone X has already connected and started playing. It doesn't matter if I am connecting via Spotify or using "BT" bluetooth connection. 3 out of 4 times it doesn't connect and shows song information. It will play the music the entire car ride but receiver shows "Connecting". The few times it does work, it shows song titles just like it should. Now for bluetooth connection time. It takes this receiver twice as long to connect and play songs than my cheap Walmart version receiver in my old work car. The cheap receiver connects and starts playing within 20-30 seconds from car start. This receiver takes closer to 1:30 - 2 minutes before my musics plays. Now for audio quality. For some reason the quality of the sound isn't as sharp as it should be. This could have something to do with the connecting issues but lots of times the music is almost muffled, for lack of a better word. I installed this receiver with a set of Rockford Fosgate Prime R165X3 6-1/2" 3-way Speakers in my 1998 Firebird.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2019
Randy, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

X-503

David from Georgia on 10/30/2019

1992 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is awesome, I like everything about it. i plugged a tiny 64gb usb drive into the rear cord which rest in my glove box with all of my albums loaded on it. one of the reasons why I purchased this receiver. now I have the front usb free for other things. I bought this radio with the kenwood speakers and with no amp it kicks. plenty of bass and high ends. you do need to go into the audio setting and make some adjustments for it to have a kick butt sound. i read one of the other reviews talking about it will not dim with vehicle controls this is not a problem because it does have a time fetcher that you can adjust time to when you would like it to be dim for you.

Pros:

Cons: that I didnt purchase sooner

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/24/2019

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for the price. Easy to understand installation. No surprises.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product and easy to install

Dustin from Lewis Center, OH on 10/22/2019

1995 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo at a great price. Clear sound and nice options. Super easy to install in my 1995 Ford Mustang with the wire harness and trim pieces.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Joseph from Northbridge, MA on 10/6/2019

2003 Cadillac DeVille

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this Kenwood radio in my wife's older Cadillac she loves to Bluetooth nice lookin radio and sounds good for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 10/6/2019

1996 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing deck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 10/6/2019

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, very nice unit for the money.

Pros: Good sound quality, good phone call audio quality and a lot of ways to tweak the audio. Also has a lot integrations to music and radio apps (Pandora, iHeartRadio, etc).

Cons: A couple of inconvenient quirks: audio playback starts automatically when a device is connected or you switch to a given source (no way to prevent that from happening); no way to eliminate unused audio sources from sequence when cycling through sources with the source-select button (e.g., rear USB, iPod, front USB, etc.)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Budget head unit.

Les from South Bend, IN on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For this price... definitely 5 stars. Main function knob could have a better operational feel for volume, but it's OK. Fantastic sounding budget head unit. I'm running a Soundstream 5 channel amp with 4 focal component 6.5" in the doors, tweeters up high, and a Bazooka passive sub in the rear. Head unit setup even had me entering speaker and sub size - seems pretty advanced.

Pros: Price, sound

Cons: documentation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, CA on 9/24/2019

2002 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, but display and searching capabilities are poor. Buttons are far too small.

Pros: Sound is great.

Cons: To hard to search... an accident waiting to happen. Buttons are far too small and have multiple functions assigned to each one. Display hard to see in light.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Tuner - Poor Clock Display

Crutchfield customer from Benbrook, TX on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit has plenty of power, excellent tuner and outstanding equalizer features. Sadly, the clock display is miniature and useless. I really don't understand the display options offered by Kenwood at all. It clearly shows the date and even the day of the week in large letters. Who needs that on their radio? I'd be delighted if the date were small and the clock was large. If this radio didn't sound so good, I would send it back.

Pros: Great power and control over the sound. Best tuner I have found.

Cons: Useless clock display

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A gem....LOVE the audio from this....

Crutchfield customer from Saint George, UT on 9/5/2019

2003 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace the factory receiver in daughters car. When she first heard it, she got the biggest grin and said " It sounds like I m in a movie theater." Tons of sound customization options beyond just eq. Love the power from 22 watts rms. Have not been a kenwood patron in the past. But this little gem has made me a believer

Pros: Power, sound quality, sound customization options, speaker size selection options, crossover feature, subwoofer control, siri voice feature

Cons: None on the receiver. Finding an affordable, single DIN mounting option to replace the factory radio took a lot of work. I used metra 99-7864 and used parts from the kit crutchfield included and install went smoothly.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Listen to your customers

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 9/4/2019

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new Kenwood radio was exactly what I wanted. I replaced an older Kenwood radio that had been installed in my 2000 Porsche 911 by a previous owner. Installation was a problem. Although I told Crutchfield multiple times that I was replacing a Kenwood radio, they kept sending me instructions and conversion wiring parts to replace the OEM Porsche radio. On my own, I went through the tedious job of disconnecting the old radio wire-by-wire and connecting the new radio wire-by-wire. Took some guesswork about a couple wires, but I got lucky.

Pros: The Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503 is an excellent radio.

Cons: If I had known the difficulty I faced before pulling out the old Kenwood radio, I probably would have purchased it from a local shop and had them install it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Rifton, NY on 9/3/2019

1994 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great over all everything! Thank you. Robert

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Older audiophile guy.

Toby from Marietta, GA on 8/31/2019

2000 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been a car audiophile for 30 years. Competition for some sound quality. 4 Infiniti kappa Perfect 12 single 4 ohm on a us amp 100hc bridged down to 1/2 ohm. Us amp 3 way crossover. Mb quartz 6 1/2 in the doors. Mb quartz 4 inch in the dash. 1 inch alpha audio tweeters in the dash running off a 4 channel alpine. All from 1999. Yes I still have the same setup for going on 20 years. Installed in a 2000 Chevy s10 xtreme, extended cab. I've had kenwood receivers come and go. Had to replace one today. I ordered the kmm-x503, installed it today. So far I'm happy with it. All my CDs are ripped to digital now. Didn't need the CD player. Quinn helped me in decision. Need more play time with it. Went for a quick spin around the block for a little tuning session after the install. I'll see about uploading some photos soon.

Pros: Easy to install. Easy function. Half as deep as a CD receiver.

Cons: No remote or attenuation button. Very basic with today's technology, but does the job.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, IL on 8/27/2019

1999 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Boiling Springs, SC on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits in the dash of a c5 corvette without modification to bracket.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Hanford, CA on 8/25/2019

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mercedes W123

Raymond E from Benicia, CA on 8/24/2019

1985 Mercedes-Benz 300TD-T

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is specifically for the Mercedes W123 owners out there that find this. This install was in a 1985 300TD. I could not be more pleased with the ease of install and the value and performance of this unit. I also purchased the factory wiring kit as well. The instructions and wiring kit are excellent. I was able to install the radio without cutting into the factory wiring in any way. The instructions provided details each step perfectly. The antenna and console speaker fader work like factory. I am extremely pleased with Cruchfields product selection and service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stay away

Thomas P from Westfield, IN on 8/21/2019

2014 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Volume control quit after 8 months.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/27/2019
After receiving Thomas's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his receiver is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact Kenwood at 800-536-9663 for further information about the 2-year warranty on this receiver.

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great receiver

Crutchfield customer from Moore, SC on 8/11/2019

2000 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the receiver, I like 2 USB ports allowing easy swamping between 2 drives, as I mostly listen to my music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield always comes through

Crutchfield customer from S San Fran, CA on 8/8/2019

2000 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son had another Kenwood installed in the car he was using for college. He's taking another car down to college and he wanted a similar radio. Installation was easy as the instructions from Crutchfield was spot on as usual. The wiring harness and dash kit fit perfectly and everything installed perfectly. I purchase from Crutchfield not only for their competitive pricing, but also for the wiring kit and dash kit that comes along with the purchase.

Pros: Easy shopping and purchase. Everything is on the ordering page or has a link and I don't have to search for everything (wiring kit, dash kit...etc)

Cons: I haven't experienced any. I've had two different purchases with Crutchfield and they've always been as expected and arrived within a day or two from placing the order.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Bowling Green, KY on 8/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used kenwood almost all my life. Another great deck, was not disappointed. Love the compact size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Excelsior, MN on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install in Jeep TJ utilizing Crutchfield ReadyConnect. Great Bluetooth connectivity and Spotify integration. Plenty of power to drive speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awsome

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 8/4/2019

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit upped my sounds system in a 2000 Jeep Wrangler. Looks great has alto of features and was a 15 minute install thanks to the instructions and pre-wired harness. Everything came fast and was as advertised.

Pros: Sounds great looks great .

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awsome!

Crutchfield customer from Ecorse, MI on 7/30/2019

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for the price point. And is packed with the modern features. Bluetooth works great! . Only four stars because the interface takes a little getting used to .

Pros: Connectivity of a modern car in an older bucket.

Cons: Interface is a little lack luster to navigate but once figured out ROCK ON! .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best value for money plus incredible sound!

Noveck from Miami, FL on 7/24/2019

2007 Mitsubishi Raider

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible value for money. Advanced audio control capabilities, high voltage output, fantastic sound! The one minor drawback with this unit is the lack of a dot matrix display, but it's unbeatable for the price.

Pros: High voltage preouts Advanced audio settings, crossovers/slopes/controls Front plus rear USB Small chassis High quality and responsive buttons VIbrant and colourful display Incredible sound, right out of the box

Cons: Interface is not very intuitive, compared with my previous alpine - but I'll get accustomed to it. A dot matrix display will certainly make this unit impossible to beat. Not enough screen real estate for track information

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 7/22/2019

1995 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo and great price for what you get

Pros:

Cons: Volume button protrudes a bit more than I'd like

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Whitewater, WI on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect HU for my motorcycle! I previous had an older Kenwood installed, but was getting tired of having to have my phone plugged in for sound, and didn't have any need for a CD player opening, as the fairing bounces too much to allow for CDs to play. I picked this up and paired it with some upgraded speakers and I can't be happier! I've had no issues with my Android phone connecting by Bluetooth when the bike starts up, and I love being able to change the song on the fly without having to mess with a phone!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Hiram, GA on 7/15/2019

1997 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, I like be all the additional channels that you get with HD radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Tucker, GA on 7/9/2019

2007 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo and the easiest install I've ever done with Crutchfield's harness service and included parts at no charge.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 7/1/2019

2004 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of features, but not as loud as my factory unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

kenwood kmm-x503

Craig from Hummelstown, PA on 6/22/2019

2008 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

put this tuner in my 2001Corvette Convertible, it works and sounds Great. phone is very clear with the top down at 65. I suggest getting the prewired harness will save you lots of time. will definitely buy from them again.

Pros: better sound than ever. great installation instructions

Cons: non yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great EQ Control

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for the 13 band EQ, upgrading from a 9 band. I also like the rear usb input and the ability to change the display color. Siri integration is also killer when using Apple Music. I'm only giving 4 stars because the display color options are limited and the buttons feel a little cheap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Broken Arrow, OK on 6/16/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and great feature. Four stars because the iOS remote app does not work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

2009 Jeep Wrangler - Easy Install w/ "ReadyHarness!"

Kelsey from Tustin, CA on 6/10/2019

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressed! Great value for the price. Well done Kenwood & Crutchfield. A few highlights for me are: 1. Front + rear USB 2. Bluetooth built-in 3. HD Radio built-in 4. High voltage pre-amp outputs for front, rear & subs 5. Bluetooth audio streaming + Spotify control 6. Sleek looking unit 7. Easy install since it's short & lightweight (no CD player) Crutchfield's "ReadyHarness" system makes installs FAR TOO EASY these days... This unit's install was quite literally plug & play. I wish they had these years ago when I was doing installs often! :-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Ladera Ranch, CA on 6/10/2019

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value - bluetooth works flawlessly, with good quality through the mic on phone calls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 6/6/2019

1986 Pontiac Trans Am

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck for the price. I would give it 5 stars but this deck is not compatible with the Kenwood app.

Pros: Great price, sounds great

Cons: Not compatible with Kenwood app

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

kenWOOD

Crutchfield customer from Prescott Valley, AZ on 5/23/2019

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, only basic user manual came with the box, but was able to find a full users manual online easily. I love Crutchfield's website great for research, and they always have the best price without taking in account they also give you installation guides and accessories for free.

Pros: Plenty of extra room behind the media player, I may buy another one for my wrangler since there is little to no extra room.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

VW MK3 GOLF

Johnny from Daytona Beach on 5/22/2019

1997 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I traded for an old 97 vw mk3 Golf for about nothing, it is mechanically sound so it allowed me to send a bit on other things. Of course i ordered everything from Cruthfield and as always it turned out amazing, there's nothing like doing it yourself with a little help from the staff at Crurchfield. Thank you for all your support?

Pros: Clearest sond ever!!, everything fits like a glove!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great features at this price

Anthony from North Granby, CT on 5/22/2019

1990 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was simple thanks to the always clear detailed Crutchfield instructions.

Pros: Lots of features to adjust/equalize sound quality. Love the Bluetooth!

Cons: Only 4 stars (not 5) because the dimmer feature cannot be synchronized to car instrument panel dimmer rheostat. As do pilots, I like to dim all interior instrument panel/stereo lighting when driving at night to minimize glare. This unit only has two discrete settings; dim or not.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, RI on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was easy. Sound is loud and clear. Bluetooth connectivity works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for Phone calls and good audio, Date display strange

Crutchfield customer from Dillsburg, PA on 5/12/2019

2005 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My primary desire was to have bluetooth phone calling in my 2005 Jeep liberty. On that front this is a 100% winner. The call quality is almost perfect. The remote mic does a great job canceling out road noise and gives a very high quality phone experience. The audio quality of the music features is very good and the spotify connection works well with the bluetooth on my phone. Why 4 stars instead of 5. There is one important design issue that really hurts the unit. If you look at the picture of the display you will see that there is a very large display area for the station and other info and a very small display area for the TIME. When you set the unit to display date it displays the current date in the large display. That is kind of useless, when driving I rarely wonder what day it is but I often check the time. The large display should show time when asked in addition to the date info. If they fixed that this would be a perfect unit

Pros: Great Audio quality for phone calls Great audio quality for music

Cons: Time display needs to be in both the small dedicated display and the larger date area when switched to that mode

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 5/12/2019

2003 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome replacement for my daughter's 2003 Bimmer factory radio. 2 USB ports, Spotify and more!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Elmont, NY on 5/11/2019

2007 Honda Accord SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little unit, installed easily with no problems. Does what is supposed to do and sounds good. Pairs perfectly with a Pixel 2XL. Menu and interface is a little clunky to use.

Pros: Great for the price.

Cons: Confusing menu & no XM channel name displayed, channel number only.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Centerville, UT on 5/8/2019

1989 Honda Accord DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this head unit. Sync's seamlessly with Spotify. I'm a tweaker so this unit has great tonal control. Who needs a CD player these days anyway. Even though the manual says it doesn't support Full Size iPod, the unit still works with my iPod Classic. That was a big plus for me. I've have Kenwoods in a few other cars of mine and happy with the quality and craftsmanship of all their products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Helena, AL on 5/6/2019

1988 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm doing a restoration/modification to a 1988 4Runner. The head unit options are limited because of the size of the opening and it's in front of the gear shift for a manual...having a small, easy to use head unit was a must. This is easy to set up and easily connected to my phone. The Kenwood app is adequate with it's best feature being able to tune the receiver from the phone app (really helpful with the custom EQ settings).

Pros: Small, affordable, easy to install, works great with an iPhone

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Northbridge , MA on 5/5/2019

2006 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and is nice a light. Fits a smaller area and still has many customizations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield 5 Stars, Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503 5 Stars, Kenwood 4 Stars

Crutchfield customer from Conyers, GA on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After installing this radio I looked through the installation guide to find out how to program it, there is virtually nothing that tells you how to program this radio. I had to look online to find what I was looking for and there was nothing. Finally, I called tech support at Crutchfield, without them I don't know what I would have done, maybe I could have gotten a 4-year-old in the Jeep to program it for me! Once the radio was programmed I have to say I love it. I would have given it 5 stars if there were programming instructions included by Kenwood or at the least a website or youtube channel you could have gone to. So overall I give Crutchfield 5 Stars, the radio 5 stars, Kenwood 4 stars.

Pros: Great options in every area of the radio

Cons: No programming instructions included in the box Weak radio signal reception

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install in my Jeep Wrangler was a breeze (thanks mostly to the helpful install info Crutchfield provided). The unit is great. Lots of nice set-up options. The only real downside is the navigating all of the options (anything but intuitive).

Pros: Compact unit

Cons: Menu navigation

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Riesel, TX on 4/30/2019

1998 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Sound s good, although a little tinny with the Corvette Bose system (probably an adjustment for the interface). Will not pick up any AM stations. User interface is a little aggravating. Going between sources requires repeatedly pressing the same button-would be better with dedicated input buttons. Blue tooth works great for streaming and phone. All in all, satisfied for the price.

Pros: Good sound, bluetooth interface,

Cons: Small buttons, tiresome menu navigation

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/30/2019

2008 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent products. Installed everything in 15 minutes and all works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great car stereo for the price

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/28/2019

2008 Lexus GX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over all this is a great system and sounds good. It was easy to install and works with the steering wheel controls (with an adapter). Having rear and front access USB is great since it can be hooked to a media drive or as I did routed it to a USB port so I have 2 accessible. Meets all my needs and at a really good price for the Excelon series. My only real complaint so far is that I cannot control/disable the Auto Play 'feature' when plug into the USB port. So my kids like to plug so their music plays and annoys me. I they enjoy plugging into the audio port because the autoplay annoys me. So I didn't a star for the lack of that that control. Also, there is a remote app you can get - don't waste your time with it - it has to be one of the worst Apps I have seen. I tried to used for a while and just got too frustrated with it and deleted it. Last Note: Installed in a 2008 Lexus GX 470 WITH Navigation. It can be done, you just need to get wiring harness.

Pros: It's a great price. Sounds great. Easy to Install. Many settings to control.

Cons: Autoplay when a phone is plugged into the USB port is really annoying. Not having a setting to disable it bothers me more. The remote app - you do need to get it for yourself just to see how awful it really is.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Lee will hook you up - Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Richard from Wall Township on 4/24/2019

1994 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just received this Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503, Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503, PAC ROEM-GM21 Wiring Interface, and Metra 40-GM10 Antenna Adapter a week ago and I had wire splicing done by a Crutchfield tech for an additional charge. Having the wire harness spliced into the wiring interface made this all plug and play from my end. Lee, the Crutchfield Adviser, helped me out a great deal with everything - even suggesting the exact right receiver/head unit - the Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503 to the suggestion of spending the $$ on the splicing. I didn't know what was good or not too good and Lee steered me in the exact right direction - the guy just knows what he's doing. I ordered on Monday and everything was delivered on Thursday. Installed it in a couple hours on Saturday. I was replacing a 2 din Bose head unit in my '94 Z28 with this 1 din unit. The adapter kit worked perfectly. Directions were easy to read and understand. I needed to get bluetooth - the bluetooth phone option works awesome - this specific unit blocks all back-round noise from my end so when on the phone the person can hear me clearly with no back-round noise. My Z28 is built and it's pretty loud - I can't even believe it works so well. Don't listen to these folks running the aftermarket retail shops who sell the aftermarket stereo receivers and make it sound like it's impossible to do on your own. They want to charge you top dollar for all the products and install labor - total load of BS. DIY -Ri

Pros: works great makes my 25 year old speakers sound much better than the original Bose head unit Bluetooth phone works great and blocks out all background car noise from my end - actually all bluetooth options work great along with the stereo itself Easy to install - the directions were perfect

Cons: None -

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerful pre outs

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 4/22/2019

2004 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great single din unit. Nothing fancy but it does exactly what it's supposed to with some great pre outs.

Pros: Powerful pre outs 13 band equalizer Front usb and aux

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood is great, as always !

Crutchfield customer from Indian Lk Est, FL on 4/21/2019

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be good quality, I like the looks of it only compaint I have and it's becuaee my fingers are larger is that I'd like the next and previous buttons to be a litter bigger so it's easier to change to the next song easier without taking my eyes off the road to find the button.

Pros: Great sound quality, connects to Bluetooth quickly, phone calls are clear, looks good in my Jeep !

Cons: Buttons to change next and previous small for me

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 4/21/2019

2007 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty cool unit. Install was super easy thanks to its lack of depth. And who needs CD's anymore! Integration with Siri works pretty decent although one time my iPhone Xr had a split personality moment and was talking in two different streams (on the phone and the receiver) but I have heard weird things like that from other units, so I'll chalk that up to an Apple iOS issue.

Pros: Siri!!

Cons: Should come with a remote in the box. Had to go buy it separately.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very happy

Crutchfield customer from Des Plaines, IL on 4/18/2019

1986 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great header for the price. Easy to set up once installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 4/16/2019

1996 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from the stock stereo in my 1996 Toyota Landcruiser. Install was simple with the harness they sent, and I was able to have a new modern radio in my truck in a few hours.

Pros: Easy to install, small form factor, great sound and connectivity options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Vista, CA on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 1994 Mazda B4000. Intuitive controls and impressive AM/FM/HD tuner. Very satisfied!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 4/14/2019

2009 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, fantastic sound through my factory speakers. Buttons are very small and hard to press, especially while driving. Display is dim in sunlight.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Jonesboro, GA on 4/9/2019

2006 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio but needs operation instructions to come with radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 4/8/2019

2006 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 4/7/2019

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, just used it on my first road trip and it worked like a charm!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worth ever cent.

Mark from Pawling, NY on 4/6/2019

2006 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instant bluetooth is nice. Lots of adjustments possible. Love the color change options! Made my crappy stock speakers sound better. The dash kit instructions were HORRIBLE! The radio is amazing though.

Pros: Great Mic and bluetooth. HD radio is a nice touch as well. Good power and tons of features!

Cons: Bit of a learning curve since I lost the instructions lol.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 4/6/2019

2000 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very feature packed, and great sound quality. I like the dual USB connections I just wish it had a USB socket on the rear, instead of a cord. The HD radio sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, CO on 4/5/2019

2002 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little unit, the phone feature works well with clear calls and pairing two phones works well. It is hard to see the lights are hard to see but you get used to it. Sound is pretty good and I'd recommend this if you're in the market for something like this.

Pros: Good value for the money

Cons: Dim lights on pre program radio buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Waseca, MN on 4/3/2019

2004 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great showed up a day early.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great audio and intutitive to use.

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 3/31/2019

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initial quality is great. This Kenwood makes clean audio and the controls are intuitive. I didn't have issues with the small buttons like others have. The phone call quality is also excellent.

Pros: Audio Color choices Ease of installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

My 2nd HD Kenwood.

Glen from Frankenmuth on 3/28/2019

1989 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having already owned one, I bought a second HD for a second vehicle. 1st one still working and installed in another vehicle. Same button layout as my first. Much better ergonomics than some of the other receivers. Installation a snap. Nice compact size.

Pros: Control layout. Channel wattage. 3 ports. HD radio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Hampshire, IL on 3/28/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the price. HD radio with good output, two USB ports, all the BT compatibility you'd want. Plus a very sensitive receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent upgrade

James from Eugene, OR on 3/28/2019

1994 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1994 F150 Standard Cab Pickup (single DIN only). Kenwood KMM-X503, Kenwood Excelon X801-5 amp, Polk DB 6501 components (no rear speakers), Rockford Fosgate P3S-1X10. Upgraded to this from a Kenwood KMM-BT515HD head unit that was a couple of years old. Main concerns were getting a brighter display and making use of the time alignment features of the head unit. Both did not disappoint. Screen is much brighter than the previous unit, and the 5V preouts allowed me to adjust my amp gains down while increasing the sound quality. The time alignment, to put it simply, is a game changer. Being able to adjust the delay and volume of each individual speaker is something that we used to spend thousands of dollars on to get right. Now its built in to a $130 head unit. Well worth the upgrade just for that feature. Another feature this unit has which really helps those of us running passive components - tweeter shelf setting with gain adjustment. See all of those reviews from people complaining that the tweeters in their component set is too bright? This head unit allows you to set a shelf frequency and then adjust the gain down for everything above that frequency. Makes a huge difference and essentially corrects for most of the problems found with inadequate passive crossovers. All in all a great deal - Still can't believe it only costs $130.

Pros: Time alignment, sound quality, bright display

Cons: doesn't make me coffee

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must!!!

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 3/23/2019

1993 Volvo 240 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an "AMAZING" deck, I can't believe the sound quality you get these days for the price! My advisor was totally awesome and knowledgable about everything. The bluetooth is easy to use and you can hear calls with no problem.......BUY IT!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Broken Arrow, OK on 3/18/2019

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo! Sound and looks great, could improve on switching inputs. You

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Murieta, CA on 3/18/2019

1982 Mercedes-Benz 300D-T

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features! I am now able to listen to my favorite radio stations once again with the added bonus of getting Pandora & Iheart radio. As a newbie, I was at first hesitant to a DIY replacement of a broken radio from my 1983 MBZ 300D but the help from Wade (Sales) & Ed (Technical Support) made the job less daunting and more satisfying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 3/17/2019

1989 Pontiac Trans Am

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver at a fantastic price! Incredibly tough to find a receiver that would fit my older classic car, but this one does nicely.

Pros: Everything I needed at a great price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Providence, KY on 3/16/2019

2000 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As with all excelon head units A+++++.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Arthurdale, WV on 3/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit Awesome sound Excellent service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great choice for 2004 BMW 330xi

Jay from Lenoir City, TN on 3/4/2019

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Recently replace the head unit in my new-to-me 2004 BMW 330xi. The original Harman Kardon worked fine but lacked BT or other Aux inputs, so I decided to make the switch. This unit is compact so it fits nicely in the very tight space BMW allotted and sounds great. My car has the HK 10 speaker with amp setup and I wanted to leave the stock system as it sounds fine to my ears. My system has 10 speakers, amp, and Business CD head unit. So this Kenwood install was fairly easy with the recommended harnesses, but with limited space I did not want to cram the Line Output Converter Crutchfield recommended. I did some research and found the following solution that works great. I left the head unit's (Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503) negative speaker wires floating (not connected and tied back) while passing the positive to the OEM amp without using the converter. I tied all of negative speaker wires (heading to the OEM amp) to the common ground wire and the system sounds amazing. Can't take credit for this solution, found it on a BMW forum. Great choice of head unit with a bunch of options..

Pros: Great head unit for tight space in BMW 330

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Cory from Bradenton, FL on 3/2/2019

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All in all, the radio sounds great and fits the space in ny eclipse perfectly. The menu leaves a little to be desired though. If I want to change source from radio to aux I have to continuously press source until I get through all the options.

Pros: -style -size -color options

Cons: -menu functions -app support is not ideal (at least for android)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get your playlists ready!!!

Crutchfield customer from Lyons, IL on 2/17/2019

2006 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have previously purchased a Kenwood KMM BT522HD for my motorcycle. I was going to buy the new model 525 for my car but decided to go up one step and try this. Glad I did, brought my sounds to life. Loaded with features for tuning, ease of use, color options. I play music from my I Phone and it works great. 5 volt pre out for amp versus only a 4 on the 522 and 525 models. Crutchfield never disappoints. Huge improvement over the factory Rockford system, now I can keep my old go to work car around a little longer, just crank up the tunes and enjoy!

Pros: Sound tuning, color options, bluetooth, 5 volt pre out.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Johnson City, TN on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing short of amazing high quality easy to install for anyone even if you have never installed one before seriously a kid can do it and not to mention the best support you can get from any company you can call them for anything at all support is super patient and very passionate towards everyone they will call you when they say they will and stay with you through it all. The fine detail settings to the hardware is fantastic easy to learn and understand so you can customize your HD stereo and speakers to any space in and vehicle you get the best HD, satellite, touch screen and CD quality there is in the world with GPS and all...!

Pros: Fact not opinion, literally the best you can get in the world both hardware and service from the company

Cons: Only limited by how many speakers you could put in your vehicle

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Greg from Semmes, AL on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it so far , easy to install with big sound !! Looks great and sounds even better.

Pros: Great receiver, looks great and sounds even better

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super clean design

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 1/30/2019

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a media (non-cd) receiver that looked great and had high voltage pre-outs. This fits the bill perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Fishersville, VA on 1/15/2019

2004 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome aftermarket head unit. Super user friendly and even produces better sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood for Ranger

Beth from Colorado Spgs, CO on 1/13/2019

2001 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and has quite a few nice features for the price. Customer service was spot on, a rarity these days. I will purchase again from Crutchfield!

Pros: Easy to install Great sound Nice features especially WiFi to my phone

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

4+ stars

Crutchfield customer from Keller, TX on 1/9/2019

2012 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this receiver in most respects. Sound is good, looks good, and has many features. Installation was easy with Crutchfield's help. However, the buttons are small and the operation and access to the various features is not easy.

Pros: HD Radio

Cons: Small buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, TN on 1/9/2019

2017 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have only used it for a short amount of time but I am more than happy with the customer service Crutchfield has given. This is definitely worth your money

Pros: Lots of options for great tuning

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 1/6/2019

1991 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was a cakewalk and was completed within two hours. Especially like the wiring harness/connectors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Jay from Morristown, NJ on 1/6/2019

2009 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is pretty much anything you need less video features. Easy to set up, easy to use. Plenty of expandability for future system building. All the features, and 2 years parts and labor warranty, hard to beat that confidence in a product.

Pros: Great sound, very customizable to suit your vehicles interior lighting.

Cons: Nothing so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Kelly from Marietta, GA on 1/5/2019

1999 Audi A4 Avant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this head unit for about a week now, and I really like it. The Bluetooth connectivity is great and I'm told that it sounds great by everyone I've talked to on it. The customizable colors for the display is nice, as I was able to match the red color of the factory instruments in my 1999 Audi. The only complaint I have at this point is the way that you select an audio source. My old Excelon head unit brought up a series of icons for the different sources and you used the volume knob to scroll thru to the one you wanted. This unit forces you to choose them one at a time until you get to the one you want. Other than that, I'm extremely happy with it and would recommend it to anybody wanting to upgrade an older car to include Bluetooth for hands free calling.

Pros: A lot of features for the price Sounds great! Great Bluetooth connectivity and sound quality

Cons: Somewhat clunky method to select an audio source

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 1/2/2019

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Hard to get used to controls at first but becomes intuitive quickly. Like the sub controls built into unit.

Pros: Six pre-amp outputs, color changes to match dash

Cons: Wish it came with better instructions for use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Socorro, TX on 12/23/2018

2004 Isuzu Ascender

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is all I was expecting for. It probably exceed my expectations; I can't find how to set and see the clock on the screen. It is simple great.

Pros: It has a lot

Cons: I cannot find the way to set on screen permanently the clock.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503

Crutchfield customer from Broomfield, CO on 12/20/2018

2006 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good, easy to use. Microphone sounds good too. Made my stock speakers sound waaay better! Good instruction and install kit was a breeze. HD radio sounds very good as well

Pros:

Cons: None yet!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP