Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
427 711 44
Connect ID #
427 711 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

X Series 5-channel car amplifier — 50 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # X802-5

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

X Series 5-channel car amplifier — 50 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # X802-5

40 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 6/5/2021

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great.. easy install!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great amp

Chris from Allentown, PA on 5/26/2021

2019 Ford EcoSport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has all the power you need for your system. I'm running all four doors at 50w and a sub at 500w at 2 ohms. Gets the job done and does it well.

Pros: Small size, good power, plenty of settings for all your needs.

Cons: Bass knob sold separately

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Gasport, NY on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Running 2 6.5" door speakers, 2 6x9" rear speakers, and 2 10" 4ohm subs wired in parallel for 2ohms. Sounds great. Could use a little more power for subs but I'm not a bass head.

Pros: It's a Kenwood, not something I've never heard of. High level inputs are great for oem radio, and no remote wire necessary.

Cons: Wish it had an input channel selector so I could've just wired in 2 channels to run all 5 ... Because I'm lazy haha

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Turns off for overload.

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 5/9/2021

2011 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have front and rear Infiniti kappa mids and a bazooka 8" sub. The amp will cut out every now and then. I would have to power off and back on again to get music playing again. Gains are turned to 50% of amp capacity and it still does this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/17/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Rohan Uy from RIDGEFIELD, WA on 5/3/2021

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great little amp for the money

Pros: clean power, very compact, stays cool when pushed hard

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Stop looking; this is the amp you want.

Greg from OXFORD, MS on 5/3/2021

2007 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There's a lot to like about this amp. 5 channels means this is a single-amp solution for most everyone out there. The sound quality is good, and the amp is flexible relative to the HP/LP filters. It's pretty darn compact, allowing me to install this beneath my center console, in the JBL factory amp location. I've yet to fine tune it, but it plays very clean, clear, and drives the Focal's without strain to any reasonable volume that I'd want. I can also confirm that it's 2-ohm stable for the sub output--which is nice as well. (So I can easily drive my dual-voice-coil subwoofer in the back.) FWIW--this was also highly regarded by the Dean and Fernando from Five Star Car Stereo (the youtube channel), and it's easy to see why.

Pros: Clean & Clear Powerful 2 ohm stable Compact

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

would buy again

Crutchfield customer from Denton, TX on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean, powerful sound. Small area so easy to mount under a seat. Looks nice. All connections on one side so easy to hook up and clean looking installation.

Pros: Small All connections on one side Powerful

Cons: First one I ordered was defective from factory

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 4/17/2021

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! I love it !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent amplifier. Clear sound and overperforms on Dyno.

Steve from Wildwood on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amplifier for the money. If you look on youtube several people have tested this amp on the dyno and it performs above listed. It sounds excellent. I have this pushing the Infinity Kappa components, InfinityKappa coaxials, and an 8" Pioneer sup (It is actually quite a bit overpowered for that and would suit a larger sub bridged to 2 ohms nicely) and everything sounds amazing. The infinity speakers are extremely efficient so they really scream with this thing. This amp is an excellent bank for your buck. If you are going your door & pillar speakers and a subwoofer this amp is more than sufficient for a nice setup for most people that do not want to go overboard. Most people would likely consider this with a decent 12" sub somewhat overboard.

Pros: Easy to set up 5 channels Clear sound Great wattage for a moderate system. Price is a bargain for this amp.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gold medal for value

Crutchfield customer from Elkhorn, NE on 4/14/2021

1997 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Of all the 5-channel amps I've used for a 4 speaker/1-2 sub setup, this is no question the best bang for the buck and it's not remotely close. Fantastic quality and checks every box, for 100-500 less than others in the same range of features.

Pros: Well made, easy to set up and perfect to handle a larger system.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp So Far

Tim from Wake Forest, NC on 3/26/2021

2002 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to buy this amp to replace one that I had "professionally" installed and have problems with for the last year. So far, I am really impressed. It doesn't advertise the amount of power of my previous amp, but it I can assure you that is sounds better and more crisp. I like that the amp is smaller and fits under the passenger seat, and I have found that this amp is highly adjustable. If you want great, crisp sound, and a nice hitting, clean bass, this Kenwood is all you need for your sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood 5 Channel Amp

Crutchfield customer from Canton, OH on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently completed my install. First time tuning an amp so it's a bit sketchy. From what I hear so far this amp is very impressive. Running Polks in front and rear and Pioneer shallow mount sub all @ 4 ohms.

Pros: Plenty of gain

Cons: Not much direction for tuning

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2015 Honda Accord EX

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This has been my pet project for a year and has paid off. The Kenwood is a great upgrade. The sound of the factory radio was killing me. Now the factory head unit powered by my iPhone delivers a very crisp, powerful sound. Acoustical music sounds fascinating. Music with bass is mesmerizing. My jazz, classical, and rock sound amazing now. R&B and rap sounds unleash the bass, and what sounds the most amazing is country. Not big on country, but high, mids, and lows mesh perfectly. System: Kilmat and SoundSkins (sound deadening) Kept the factory head unit (not a navigaton screen) Audio Control LC7i (under drivers seat) Rockford Fosgate RFK4X (amp power kit) Kenwood Excelon X802-5 (under drivers seat) Focal Performance 165AS Component Speakers (front doors) Focal RCX-165 (rear deck) JL Audio Sub CP110-W0v3 (trunk) Best Practices. The Focals had to break in. After several days, they did deliver an improved sound. Also, I had the sub pointed toward the cabin and right up against the back seat; disappointing. Then, I kept the sub in the same spot against the back seat, but turned it to face the rear of the car. It unleashed. Get good sound files. Mp3 files leave a lot to be desired at this level. I started to seek out FLAC (lossless music files) and ALAC (Apple's version of lossless files). When I download a file from Apple Music to my iPhone, the quality typically comes in as ALAC. It's fun to drive the

Pros: Great sound

Cons: My commute time increased by 15 minutes! ;)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Component System Solution

Crutchfield customer from Huron, CA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is very compact for what it does. Subwoofer output is very powerful even at 4OHMs. Speaker outputs are clear and precise with no distortion. Amplifier gets warm but does not get hot like other amps (maybe because it is at 4ohms, not 2) Works great for adding a subwoofer and 4 powerful speakers to any vehicle

Pros: Very Compact for what it does Subwoofer Output is Powerful 

Cons: Hi-lo crossovers are not the best A little tricky to adjust at first Screw holes for mounting are very deep, you will need an extended Philips head bit

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Moline, IL on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power and easy install. What more can you ask for. Also got an assist from Crutchfield for setting all the levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Hixson, TN on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Only been in the car for a few days, but so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp, small size.

Crutchfield customer from Esko, MN on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible small size for what it does. Running 2 sets of 6-1/2 coax and 1 - 8" sub in a full size pickup and it rocks. Easy setup, easy to hide.

Pros: Small, powerful, good price, bass knob works well.

Cons: Wish the subwoofer knob was included.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A game chager

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IL on 9/14/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always loved my music but I've not always had the best system to really listen to the artist and to appreciate their work. I upgraded my RAV4's speakers months ago and thought I was doing pretty good until I and recently added the Excelon X802-5 amplifier. The result is amazing. My music sounds so much better, it's transcendent. I'm hearing moments in my music that I never heard or fully appreciated before. If you're on the edge about taking the leap and upgrading your amp as well all I can say is it's well worth it. I'll never go back to stock audio ever again.

Pros: Hear what you've been missing

Cons: None. Absolutely none.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 9/7/2020

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good power from a small footprint. Good clean signal to bring everything to life. If you're looking for a do everything 5 channel amp that won't cost an arm and a leg this may be for you.

Pros: Good price for an amp that will power everything in a sma package.

Cons: Good power for what it is, dont expect to push four 15" subs and blow the windshield out, not what this amp is designed for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 9/1/2020

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really improved the sound of my stock system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, MO on 8/24/2020

2003 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install with small footprint and good power for full range sound with sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerhouse

Crutchfield customer from Ewa Beach, HI on 8/20/2020

2004 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powers my whole system. Saves space, no need for a dedicated sub amp. Gives my speakers the juice it needs to sound awesome. Setup: Front and rear: Alpine Type S S65 - 50W RMS at 4 ohms Sub: Rockford Fosgate P3D4-10" - 500W RMS at 2 ohms

Pros: Powers front and rear speakers, and sub Saves space

Cons: None at the moment

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Top Down Sound Great

Violeta from MIDLAND PARK, NJ on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing power. Top down on 93 Wrangler can hear and feel every beat of the sub, front and rear speakers.

Pros: small, fits almost anywhere Easy to tune Easy access to connections Great looking Amp

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good but sub is lacking

Landon from Nc on 7/11/2020

1999 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a decent amp, powered A & B channel very well. The sub channel not so much. I've used this amp with 3 different sub/box combinations and all of them sounded very underpowered. Most people would be happy with the performance but I really like bass and this just isn't supplying.

Pros: Not too big Looks nice

Cons: Sub channel isn't cutting it

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Great little powerful amp

Crutchfield customer from Abita Springs, LA on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp. It's compact but full of power. With all the plugs on one side, it makes for a near install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Shrewsbury, MA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Impressive so far

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 7/2/2020

2007 Nissan Armada

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used this 5ch amp for a week and have found no flaws with it at the moment. This amp is a very powerful little giant.

Pros: Powerful, easy to install, and offers flexibility with its compact size

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Small and Mighty!!

Russell from Portage, MI on 6/29/2020

2013 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I always wanted to try a five channel amp. This replaces a two amp setup and works just as good if not better. I was surprised and skeptical at the size of this unit. I would highly recommend! I have it running 2 10' JBL Club subs and 4 Kenwood 6.5's. Hits really hard and the clarity is superb!

Pros: Size Simplicity Many tuning options

Cons: The power terminals are undersized for larger gauge wire.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Jay from Illinois on 6/28/2020

2019 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Provides a ton of power to my speakers and subwoofer. Easy installation with the LC6i. The compact design fits behind the rear seats of my F-150 without taking up valuable space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great compact amp

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/20/2020

2007 Pontiac Solstice

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Amp is a great addition to my Kenwood receiver. I replaced the entire Monsoon system in my Pontiac Solstice and this amp fit well with the rest of my system. A definite good by for anyone who lives music in their vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A small amp with big power that's affordable !

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield, MA on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent 5 channel amp ! I have it under the passenger seat of my F250 powering JBL components up front and 2 way JBL's in the back with 2 Rockford fosgate 10 " P1 subs under my rear seat . The base is deep and clean that hits harder the more I turn it up as well as the mids and highs now sound so much clearer . Simply great boom for the buck .

Pros: Easy to fit under a seat , very powerful for its size , And a great price !

Cons: It does get a little warm when cranking it up so just make sure it gets good airflow to keep it as cool as possible .

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Kitty Hawk, NC on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price

Pros: Looks great! User friendly! Lots of tuning options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for clean sound. Easy install over 2 amp system

Crutchfield customer from Valley Stream, NY on 6/6/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install in my 2015 ram 1500. Fits perfectly under passenger seat on drivers side. Paired with 6 Kenwood Excelon speaker and JL Audio W0 10 inch subwoofer. Replaced factory head unit with Pioneer 2660Nex. Ran RCA's from head unit to amp and 9 wire for speakers. Purchased all on Crutchfield except for enclosure And amp kit. Running amp a few weeks now. Set gain at 3/4 for both front and rear. Set Xover at 100 Hz for both high and low levels. 4 gauge power and ground. May install remote knob at some point. Controlling from head unit for now. Saved a few bucks on open box. Very clean sound. Much improved over factory without being overwhelmed. Some may prefer more watts if you want it block party loud. I'm past that stage. Just need my system to go from 20 to 20K without distortion since I play all kinds of music, hip hop, jazz, pop, classical all sound great. Good value amp. Saved time and labor over two amp system, although that is a future option. Highly recommended.

Pros: Easy install. Good power to sub. Variable crossover for all channels. Compact size. Clean sound

Cons: Moderate power. Will not make your ears bleed if that's what you're looking for.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Dickson City, PA on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and very clean looking amp. Pairs nicely with two Rockford fosgate punch p1 10's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Crutchfield customer from Dale, TX on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome amp for the 'normal' sound system

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is AWESOME. Easy adjustability. Paired this with a Kenwood head unit and speakers from Crutchfield. Does not have the ear splitting power of some bigger amps, but is WAY more than enough for anyone wanting a sound quality upgrade

Pros: easy install and connections

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Can't beat

Crutchfield customer from Wind Gap, PA on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dodge Dakota fit great under seat perfect power for extended cab sounds great don,t know how I Could do better ??????????

Pros: Small size , power, upgraded all connections on one side made for cleaner installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice Choice for an All-In-One.

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp. It has a really small footprint and plenty of power. It is not a beast but it is capable and sounds great. I love the layout for under seat installations, (wires on one side and controls on the other.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great amp great quality

Guest from Newark, DE on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this with a kenwood head unit and kicker speakers in my 2007 wrangler and ran a JL audio sub in the back with a kicker mid powered sub underneath the passenger seat The sound is fantastic it's clean crisp and loud with the top down at 65mph The amp is small and efficient and puts out amazing sound. Would recommend for anyone Not sure if there are higher end products that put out the same quality for the price but I couldn't imagine needing anything more for the everyday audiophile who likes to drive and listen to music

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon X802-5

Guest from Santa Cruz, CA on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kenwoods Excelon is good quality,this amp would be perfect for a truck cab. Kenwood makes subwoofer that are real compact and fit under the seat. The whole Excelon line,components and speakers are kenwoods top of the line. They sound better than more experience line low end. Spend the money on a good amp install kit. Then if want Moore base later you can still add another amp and sub later and still use the 4 channels from this amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

TOP