Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
614 655 04
Connect ID #
614 655 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Excelon Series 7" component speaker system

MFR # KFC-XP184C

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Excelon Series 7" component speaker system

MFR # KFC-XP184C

26 reviews
View this product

Amazing sound quality

JOSEPH from MICKLETON, NJ on 1/30/2021

2003 Acura 3.2CL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quality of sound out of these speakers is second to none. They are super crisp and clear. powered up by excelon xr401 75 watts rms. These things put out amazing bass too. They thump. I turned bass down on them because I run a sub but before i did these things were almost to I dont need a sub. at full volume they are clear as can be. Ear bleeding with zero distortion. You dont realize how loud it is til you get out of car and cant hear anything.

Pros: just incredible speakers

Cons: zero!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not Focal or Alpine but still nice

Crutchfield customer from Gresham, OR on 11/30/2020

2018 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They were better than the factory Beats that came in the car.

Pros: 8 out of 10 for clarity

Cons: None, they are good

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality!

Crutchfield customer from Black Mountain, NC on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound from these components! Easy installation with mounting brackets included. A simple plug and play speaker system. These have deep bass, clear mids and highs. The highs are not ear piercing like others that I have heard. I replaced front and rear doors with these and can not recommend them highly enough

Pros: Easy install, great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. And great service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, CT on 6/23/2020

2012 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound awesome. I have given them a little power with alpine 445u amp and they kick!

Pros: Size, quality, and comes with plenty of extras in the box.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Prospect, CT on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome clarity and mids

Marc from Waxahachie, TX on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did a custom install into my 08 F250, 2 years ago, started off powering these and a pair of the excelon 6x8 by an mb quart amp 1000x4 then my mb quart sub amp went out so I switched to the Kenwood 5 channel to run the whole system. These matched with the excelon amp sound awesome. Clean amd crisp.

Pros: Killer sound, adapter plates, no crossover box to hide

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 4/14/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace the factory speakers in my 2014 Tacoma. The installation was pretty straight forward with the installation accessories supplied by Crutchfield. I did have to fabricate a bracket to mount the tweeters in the factory location. The sound was a drastic improvement over the stock system. The highs are crisp and clean without getting harsh at any volume level. These speakers love power, I added a Kenwood 45x4 amp to my system about a week after installing the speakers. They responded very well to the additional power. I highly recommend these speakers, you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Crisp and clean highs. Very smooth mids.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2007 Tundra W/jbl

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy DIY, replaced the front door 6x9's and tweeters on a 2007 Toyota Tundra w/JBL. The directions provided by Crutchfield worked perfect, the new speakers come with an adapter plate to change the 6x9's to the new 7" with no cutting or trimming. The tweeters just pop into the factory molding and connect to the new 7" speakers which provides a cross over. Super easy, no cutting, no soldering and I only needed a flat and a Phillips head screwdriver for the Tundra installation. The sound of the new Kenwood 7' speaker is amazing; huge upgrade from the factory 6x9's.

Pros: Easy installation, great sound, and comes with Crutchfield's product support.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect Replacement for Door 6x9s

Nuke from Dallas, TX on 2/9/2020

2012 Dodge Charger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a set of 6x9 2 ways in the doors of my Charger with the 7" drivers from this component set, and they sound great. I did not use the tweeters from this component set in my car since I didn't want to try to traverse the wiring plug in the door jam, and I already have Infinity 3.5" speakers in the dash handling my highs. I am pushing the door+dash parallel combo with 100w RMS from the front channels on my 4 channel amp and they handle it just fine. No complaints, love these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Cottage Grove, OR on 10/4/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound very good. I took a star off because there was no way to support the tweeter in the housing. Seems like it would be easy to make a mounting plate.

Pros: Sound good Easy to install (except tweeter)

Cons: No mounting bracket for tweeter

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Enormous Tweeters

Corey from Vancouver BC on 9/28/2019

2013 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't able to find any tweeter dimensions online even from Kenwood, but they are hidden on the inside flaps of the box which can be used for cutting templates. I uploaded a picture of those templates with this review. The tweeter was way larger and deeper than I expected, requiring a 45mm or 1 and 3/4" diameter hole to mount in my existing sail panel. The value in this kit is that everything needed is included in the box, plus the foam gaskets and front foam rings that you'd have to source separately with pretty much any other speaker set. I was pleasantly surprised with the inclusion of self tapping screws that fit my factory speaker holes after I drilled out the rivets, but those screw heads tended to strip rather easily. You will need extra materials to connect the included pigtails to the factory wiring. I chose to solder and heat shrink. My first reaction when playing music on these was that I could actually hear cymbals that I could not before with the OEM speakers. Those big tweeters play loud and proud.

Pros: Speaker brackets, foam gaskets and rings included

Cons: Large tweeters may not fit in all applications. Crossover is just a heat shrinked package, and nothing fancy looking.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Washington, VA on 9/24/2019

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers sound very good . Used them as a replacement for stock speaker in my 13 Silverado. Still have plans to add an amp but they sound so good i dont know if i will

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Santa Maria, CA on 9/22/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stock replacements. Went in with no problems and sound much better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2008 Tundra w/JBL system

Crutchfield customer from Pearland,TX on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my worn out 2008 Tundra JBL speakers. Was a little concerned going to a 4ohm. No need to worry the sound is awesome. I knew I was missing out on sound due to the condition of my old speakers but WOW what a difference. The tweeters fill in the sound and the mids have some thump. They sound even better when I connect to my AUX port. I would recommend these for anyone looking for and easy replacement for worn out Tundra w/JBL 6x9 (Everything you need is in the box) and tweeters fit in stock bracket (pop the old one out and replace with new one).

Pros: everything included in the box, sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP184C

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 6/23/2019

2017 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound even on my factory head unit in my 2017 F150

Pros: Great sound quality

Cons: Supplied speaker ring adapters are a little thin and flimsy ended up making my own out of wood.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Roberto from San Antonio, TX on 4/22/2018

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, the mid bass off of the woofers is incredible. Brought a new degree sound to my crew cab truck!

Pros: Great mid bass

Cons: None right now

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound

Albert from Greensboro, NC on 3/1/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. The detailed installation instructions were very helpful. Installed them in less than half a day. Kenwood quality is second to none.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: Tweeter needed some extra time during the install.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Superb Sound Quality

Thomas from Tampa, Florida on 1/21/2018

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbeatable clarity and able to take the load without any distortion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Exellent 6x9 replacement.

Mac from Covington, GA on 7/14/2017

2006 Hyundai Tiburon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound amazing even with only 14watts coming from my receiver for now. Properly adjusted crossover has my rear sounding like I have a sub installed and no distortion. The fit is nearly perfect to be a 6x9 replacement. Installation was obviously more involved but not difficult by any means. I only wish the same set in 6-3/4s fit my front location. If you are like me and dislike both 6x9s and coaxial, definitely get these.

Pros: Sound!!!! Overall ease of installation as a custom fit speaker, box comes with just about everything to get the job done.

Cons: Installation requires a bit of thought, but that is the nature of these speakers.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Nice do-all dpeaker

Guest from Dearborn, MI on 6/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. Running 75 watts through the speakers. Good bass nice highs. Fits in 2008 audi doors, tweeter fit in dash location. Paired with the 7" coaxials. Nice match.

Pros: 7" fits my 6.5" location. Sounds great.

Cons: Tweeter wires are not color coded. Make sure you have a meter to ensure the tweeters are in phase.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Brent Mercer

WBM from Elkton, VA on 4/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great, and fit great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

EXCELLENT UPGRADE FROM FACTORY SPEAKERS 09 tacoma

tootled from brighton, MA on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

only running these things from my Pioneer AVH-X5800BHS with Kenwood KFC-1795PS in the back door and a Sound Ordnance B-8PTD.. nice and clean sound when tuned.. mostly listen to rock though... but dance music and rap sounds great also

Pros: great upgrade from factory speakers

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works on my 2015 Toyota Corolla

Sione from San Jose, CA on 2/18/2015

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers for my 2015 Toyota Corolla, even though the site says this will not fit, but it fits just fine. I only had to drill the rivets out for the stock speakers and tap in to the wire going to the tweeter. The provided bracket works good and you can pop the tweeter out of the housing so you can fit it in to your cars OEM housing.

Pros: Sounds good, fits perfect. No hacking and cutting in to your door frame to make this fit, both tweeter and sub fits with out any hacking.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

just bought this system for my 1998 chevy 1500

nolan from missouri city tx on 11/5/2014

1998 Chevrolet Cheyenne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

crisp and clean sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

My wife likes!

KL from Austin, TX on 4/26/2013

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kenwood Excelon's installed easily in my wife's 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan doors. I used the factory 6X9 location to house the 7" speakers with Kenwood's bracket. The materials and hardware shipped with the kit were first class. Kenwood had directions specific to Dodge, Toyota, GM, and a few others. The included wire and speaker leads made wiring a breeze. I mounted the component tweeters next to the door speaker on the door panel (plastic drilling required with a 1.75" drill attachment costing $6 at a hardware store). The crossover was imbedded in the woofer and the wiring, making the installation much easier. Mounting a crossover was more than I wanted to tackle; I had visions of the crossover issues and an unhappy wife. The speaker quality was great. The installation went great. The sound is excellent. Good deep bass and clear highs. The component tweeters swivel a bit and can be positioned for ideal directionality. The highs are a tad bright, but some equalization on the stereo easily corrected that. Overall I am very happy with the speaker sound. My wife said today she came home and listened to old music for 30 minutes in our driveway. She loves the new sound. She said it is much more clear and crisp. Wife's happy = me happy. I paid full price (no sale unfortunately) and I would purchase these again. Note also, I installed with Dynamat door kit. The speakers are running from the factory (non-Infinity) head unit; no external amplifier.

Pros: Great component level quality without the separate crossover to mount. Impressive materials all around.

Cons: Would have been nice to catch them on sale.

Crutchfield response on

25 of 27 found this helpful

TOP