Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
642 310 44
Connect ID #
642 310 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Excelon Series 6"x9" component speaker system designed for select Chevrolet, Dodge, GMC, and Toyota vehicles

MFR # KFC-XP6902C

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Excelon Series 6"x9" component speaker system designed for select Chevrolet, Dodge, GMC, and Toyota vehicles

MFR # KFC-XP6902C

19 reviews
View this product

Great speakers for factory upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Bentonville, AR on 5/17/2021

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers work perfectly for replacing stock speakers in my Toyota Tundra. They handle a lot more power than the stock speakers, and I bought them to pair with my amp that puts out 75 watts per channel RMS. The shallow mount doesn't interfere with the window and nothing else is needed to use them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 5/17/2021

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! Install was easy! Perfect upgrade for my old Tundra!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good speakers

Crutchfield customer from Athol, MA on 4/14/2021

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, install was a little confusing but sounds great.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Hard to install: confusing installation instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Crutchfield customer from Metter, GA on 2/25/2021

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers and easy to install. The sound quality is amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitely recommend these speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lindstrom, MN on 10/31/2020

2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers. Great bass response and the highs are crisp and clean.

Pros: Easy to install, sounds great for a reasonable price.

Cons: Car specific instructions could've been a little more clear.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great replacement/upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Shavano Park, TX on 10/25/2020

2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sounds, git my FJ Cruiser like factory with the offsets.

Pros: sounds awesome, fit wekk..

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Upgrade for GMC Sierra1500

Jeremy from Southport, NC on 9/16/2020

2014 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these speakers to replace my factory front door speaker and corner dash speakers in my 2014 GMC Sierra SLE crew cab. I also purchased the 6 or 7 piece trim tools which made removing the front door panels a lot easier. The speakers screw holes matched up perfect with the factory holes. I only gave these speaker 4 stars because I haven't hooked them up to an amp yet. They're running off the factory radio now and I can tell a big improvement over the factory speakers. The mid bass from the 6x9's is better than expected and the clarity from the 2-3/4" is clean and clear. I can't wait to hook up an amp to them. I'll be purchasing a 6-1/2" component set to replace the rear door speakers and add some highs in the rear of the cab. I plan to purchase a pair of shallow mount 12" subs and a 5-channel amp to go under the rear seat as soon as I make my mind up on the models I want to purchase. Will update review once complete.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

The Right Speakers for my Toyota

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2007 Toyota Tacoma will have 400,000 miles on it at its next oil change so it was no surprise when I saw that the front door speakers were showing visible signs of age. Of course the sound quality was never very good and was slowly getting worse so I decided to upgrade and I'm happy that I did. The sound quality is very good and Crutchfield's assistance was invaluable in helping me select the right speakers. Even more valuable were their support people who helped me to understand Kenwood"s cryptic instructions.

Pros: Great sound Everything that I needed was in the box except wire connectors. Crutchfield's support people

Cons: Kenwood"s cryptic instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Crutchfield customer from Villa Rica, GA on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

expcetional speakers for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Mid range very loud at upper dash speakers

Thomas from SANTA ROSA, CA on 6/4/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these into my full size Toyota Tundra. Most of the sound was coming out of the dash speakers. The dash speakers are not tweeters, but are a mid range speaker. As a component system, this really fails. I couldn't hear the door speakers and thought they weren't working. My tech worked on the head unit adjustments thinking something wasn't adjusted right. Be sure to look extra close at the dash speakers in this set, and you will see they are not actual tweeters as in most component systems. Couldn't send them back soon enough. About sending them back... Crutchfield couldn't have done it better. They have the best service of an online outlet than I have ever worked with. Both in sales and after sale service and technical help. Customer for life.

Pros: Great Crutchfield return service

Cons: Way to upper stage forward. The full range of the speakers for the dash really overpower the door speakers. No tweeters, so very poor highs, if any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Installing Kenwood Tweeter/Woofer

Martin from Cary, NC on 6/1/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions from Crutchfield were very good on this older truck. I always have a fear of breaking those plastic mounting pins on older Toyota vehicles when removing door panels, but with the help of the instructions, I knew just where to apply the pressure to remove the door panels. Kenwood doesn't provide the best instructions; they are somewhat terse, so I resorted to test fitting first before doing any final mounting. I did have to do soldering of 4 wires on the tweeter harness to get the crossovers in, but that went fine too. Kenwood makes great equipment!

Pros: Great installation instructions from Crutchfield. Well packed equipment; no chance of damage to components. Kenwoods are not too costly. Crossover support available when I replace factory Toyota stereo deck next month. Great sound, even with factory stereo. Free harness kit made installing the woofers very easy.

Cons: Need to be careful with those plastic pins on older Toyota vehicles. Need to use a plastic tool set designed to work with these vehicles to remove older stereo and door panels Crutchfield instructions need to specify to "never" use metal tools such as screwdrivers to remove older equipment as they will damage the plastic and vinyl in the dash and break mounting pins in door panels.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Robert from Placerville, CA on 4/9/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these in a 2007 Tundra Double cab. They fit perfectly! The Toyota speaker wire harness runs through the dash speaker so I cut the pigtail off the dash speaker and wired it with the Kenwood crossover. I'm pushing them with an Alpine PDR-F50 85W x 4 Car Amplifier. They handle the power no problem and sound great. I have never had a Kenwood Excelon speaker but was impressed with these. I have been running them for 7-8 months, and they still sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Silverado double cab

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 4/5/2020

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing. Mid bass is very strong. Highs and soundstage is great. The door adapters and foam fit perfectly. I have them running a full 100watts rms with no problems. The inline crossover greatly simplified installation in my Silverado.

Pros: Adapters and foam included Power handling Fit is perfect Inline crossover

Cons: None so far. Made no compromise with these.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound and value.

Crutchfield customer from Leawood, KS on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are a great replacement for the factory speakers in my 2016 Toyota 4Runner with Entune Plus . The sound stage remains the same . It is higher in the vehicle due to the 2.75" mid/high range dash speaker. I tried the tweeter route which made the sound stage lower near the front door drivers. There is also a noticiable increase in bass from the 6X9 Door speakers. The metra bracket 82-8146 6X9 and metra harness 72-8104 made installation very easy. Kenwood also includes braket gasket tape and foam tape for the front of the speaker where it meets the door panel. I also purchased the Kenwood Excelon KFC-X174 for the rear doors and hatch. Besure to request the Metra 82-8148 bracket. This bracket is required to make these 6.5" speakers fit properly in a 5th generation 4Runner.

Pros: Installation is easy with Crutchfield provided gear. Sound is overall better and more enjoyable using the factory head unit. I can hear parts of songs that I couldn't with the factor speakers. This is especially true when listening to Live recordings.

Cons: These add weight to the doors and hatch which is noticable while opening and closing. It is a matter of getting used to it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good speakers especially for toyotas

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 2/14/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the speakers -- had them professionally installed in my 2019 Toyota 4runner and the shop said they were the easiest and perfect fit they've had in a long time! very good sound --- would highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 1/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good upgrade for my 4Runner Thanks Crutchfield

Pros: Excellent sound Ease of installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Dutch from Houston, TX on 12/30/2019

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! Replaced my stock speakers (supposedly alpine) in 2012 ram. IMO having kept with the almost 3 inch speakers in dash rather than satellite tweeters gives a fuller sound spectrum. Stock HU sounded way too high pitched with the Kenwood speakers so I replaced HU with Kenwood 9706s which I love. Also using one JL 300/2 slash series to power both front and rear (jl 6x9s). Amazing high end articulation while retaining solid mids with these speakers. I put a JL c7 350 in center speaker position powered from stock amp to retain center speaker spectrum, pricy but worth it I think. Center speaker position in this ram has more watts than the other 2 dash speaker channels and was able to bring gain on JL amp up to its volume perfectly. Sub is JL W3 in custom box powered by JL 500/1. In last truck I had dynaudio 6inch speakers that cost about 11hundred for pair. Dyns were smoother but there are articulation qualities I enjoy more, especially distorted guitar, from these and for 220 what a bargain! Extremely happy with over all sound of system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2018 4Runner

KEITH from Waipahu, HI on 11/29/2019

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in my partner's 2018 4Runner. I had limited prior experience with Kenwood speakers but I liked that these fit both doors and dash locations like OEM. I put some sound deafening speaker kits in the doors, too - 1 sheet where the speaker mounts, and one sheet to the inside of the door skin. Initial impression is very favorable. Sound is much clearer than factory speakers, with greater detail and balanced sound. Installation was straightforward, except you will need to either cut and re-splice the dash speaker harnesses, or you may be able to buy some adapters. I found a wiring diagram on an online forum but Crutchfield tech support could also help you out, I'm sure. Overall went in as expected and sounds great, but I expect will sound much, much better once I get them amped up with a sub, hopefully tomorrow!

Pros: Good installation options, includes foam seals for speakers and mounting brackets. Sounds much clearer than OEM speakers.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6902C

Crutchfield customer from Millington, TN on 7/23/2019

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Removed factory speakers and installed these in front door and dash on 2017 Chevrolet Silverado Crew Cab and connected to a Soundstream Stealth 4 channel amp. Clarity beyond belief. Sound quality with added power. Rear door speakers installed were Kenwood KFC-X174. Did not replace factory HD Stereo which is reason for the amp. This allowed HD Stereo to maintain functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP