Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
689 413 72

Our hours

Connect ID #
689 413 72
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Kenwood Excelon XR600-6DSP

6-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing and factory radio inputs — 75 watts RMS x 6

MFR # XR600-6DSP

Kenwood Excelon XR600-6DSP

Kenwood Excelon XR600-6DSP

6-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing and factory radio inputs — 75 watts RMS x 6

MFR # XR600-6DSP

15 reviews
View this product

Nice Amp

John from League City, TX on 3/6/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, you have to fine tune the amp for best sound!

Pros: So many options!

Cons: Little trickery for non premium sound install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Entry-level Build-in DSP with issues

Crutchfield customer from Parrish, FL on 11/10/2019

2018 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is ok but read the other reviews! The tiny Allen-head terminals strip out WAY too easily and they're buried so no fixing it when it's stripped. Looks nice but feels cheap and it gets very hot from only a short session. Better have good fans and circulation. The built-in DSP is ok. Not nearly as advanced as others; Decent but basic. My biggest worry is that it's app driven so what happens when they stop support for that app? ????? ?

Pros: Flexible. Straight-forward setup.

Cons: Runs hot. Terminals strip easily. App-only DSP control with questionable longevity

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR600-6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Marshall, NC on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The added power and the ability to set true barriers to each section of my system is exactly what I was looking for. Added another amp and two 12" subs, took out the stock sub and now I have both power and clarity!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Seamless functionality in my 2014 Toyota Highlander.

WAYNE from Saint Louis on 6/8/2019

2015 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sytem has been in my 2014 Toyota Highlander for about 2 months. So far, it's been flawless. All of my factory functions work seamlessly. The sound is far and away better with just average speaker replacements. Install is a bit tough due to Toyotas' location of the factory amp in the Highlander. Wiring up newer cars in general is becoming increasingly difficult, systems like this will probably be how everyone will be upgrading down the road. The hidden hex screws have a nice finished look, but like others have said, take a soft touch. Much of the reason is the wrench and hex screws have a lot of play between them. Using a better wrench solves some of the stripping issue. The DSP option on your phone is a great addition for those who really want to tune their system to the vehicle. This opens up so many more options, and can really add to the enjoyment of being able to tune it yourself. All in all, I think it's a great system.

Pros: Maintained all of my factory controls and safety warnings Better than I expected for sound quality and volume.

Cons: Toyota buries the factory amp in the console, which you need to access.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

5 out of 5

Jay-Michael from Charlotte, NC on 5/25/2019

2016 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this installed in my Focus ST for a couple of months now and couldn't be more pleased. With the iDatalink Maestro AR, everything sounds the way it should have from the factory.

Pros: All the sounds

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR600-6DSP

Crutchfield customer from Niceville, FL on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cons: Very first thing to do after getting this amp is to throw away the mounting screws and Allen wrench that comes in the box, they are very poor quality, and will easily strip out. Next problem is the Allen screws that hold all the wiring connections in are extremely tiny. Not sure why a very expensive amp has smaller gauge and lower quality connectors than a $50 amp. Also, I'm not a big fan of having mounting holes on the inside of the amp, kenwood should have included an adapter to allow mounting the amp by the edges. I have the amp running 2alpine R 6.5, two 6x9 and 4 JBL tweeters in series, 6 channels total 4 ohms 75 Watts, channel 7,8 to kicker amp on two punch 12's. The amp is mounted in the trunk with no obstructions, but I feel it does run hotter than it should. I don't recommend trying to run a sub with this amp, especially when you can get 10x the power using a cheap subwoofer amp. Amp works great running my current setup with plenty of power, no need to go to 2 ohms 100 Watts, but that option is available. Unfortunately this is the only option for a completely plug and play setup for a 2017 Camry using the Idatalink Maestro AR and aTO2 harness at this time. The install was pretty easy, minus Kenwoods design flaw on the microscopic speaker connectors. Things to keep in mind when buying a DSP amp, the speakers cut off for a second when changing settings on the head unit. I would give the amp 4 stars if it had better quality wiring connections and mounting

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Amazing sound TOTALLY COMPATIBLE WITH PREMIUM SONY FORD 8"

Hector from Hollywood, FL on 8/15/2018

2015 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome product! works flawlessly with my SYNC 8" din and factory premium components. added 2 12" kickers and it powers them no problem. totally recommend along with the MAESTRO AR. Thanks!

Pros: everything

Cons: nothing.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR600-6DSP

Javier from Santa Rosa, CA on 5/18/2018

2009 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you have a 2009 Toyota Tundra without Navi with Jbl sound system this amp and the Idatalink Maestro AR and idatalink TO3 does not work after spending thousands of Dollars in a sound system Idatalink it was not able to figure it out they said they would have their Engineer to find out how and why it did not work and they would get back to me with the result whitch Idatalink NEVER call back or anything So I had to return everything I had purchase with Crutchfield New head unit with the Idatalink Maestro RR module whitch also wouldn't have work with my Amp upgrade Idatlink Module after all the days I spend trying to figure out and try to make it work I had return everything and loose on the delivery whitch I rush it in. Thanks Idatalink I would NOT recommend any of your products. And thank you Crutchfield Team you guys did awesome job trying to help me out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 21 found this helpful

Go SUPER LIGHT when tightening power/speaker screws!

Michael from Geneseo, IL on 3/18/2018

2014 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buyer beware: The build quality on this thing is garbage. The use of a hex wrench to attach the power and speaker wires has to be the most asinine thing I've ever seen and looking at Kenwood's amp line-up, this is the only one they do it on. BE WARNED: The metal the hex wrench and the screws are made out of is extremely soft. It takes next to NO effort at all to round the head of the screws. One tiny turn past snug, and it's rounded and there's not a thing you can do from that point to fix the problem because they're so far down inside the wrench guide holes. You can't grasp it with pliers to try to back it out, nothing. If you have a wire connected, you can't get it out. If you need to put a wire there, you can't either back the screw out, nor can you tighten it down. I haven't even had this amplifier for a MONTH yet, and it's already useless due to 2 rounded hex screws. And of course, since I was stupid and bought it here instead of locally, I can't just go exchange it, I have to rip it out of my car, box it up, wait a week or 2 for it to ship back, another week or 2 for them process it and ship it back (probably charging me return shipping as well) and re-install it. All for 2 screws made out of WAY to soft of a metal.

Pros:

Cons: Power/Speaker terminals take zero effort to round out - made out of way too soft a metal, and once rounded, the amp is useless.

Crutchfield response on 3/20/2018
Michael contacted our Customer Support team and we sent out a replacement right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

10 of 13 found this helpful

Perfect amp awful instructions.

Chad from West Chester, OH on 3/16/2018

2016 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can not say enough good things about this amp. I purchased this for my 2016 chrysler 200s. I could not find a lot of information on how this amp would work in my car. There is a video online that is very helpful. This amp looks and works flawlessly in my car with the idatalink maestro combo. My only issue with this amp is because you need 2 products from 2 companies to make it work there is some confusion on how to install it and make it work correctly. I had some issues with the instructions. Idatalink has extremely good customer service I spoke with them several times. Kenwood never returned my call. Part of the confusion comes from the kenwood extension included with this amp and how the wire colors change. All in all i am 100% happy with it i wish Kenwood and idatalink would make some imformative videos on this product. Kenwood does have one where they installed it in a ford edge but they picked the easiest vehicle to do this in to make their video. They did not even use the extension harness.

Pros: bluetooth from cell phone to adjust all settings. 10 channel output 6 are powered. which 6 channels cover most vehicles.

Cons: The instructions are almost useless.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

2016 RAM Love the Power and Clarity

David from UT on 10/2/2017

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, everything works and funny thing is I bridged channels 5 & 6 to go to the factory 8 inch sub. It handles it but still sounds like crap. I do have the factory Alpine Premium sound system but sucks. Per Crutchfield recommendation I bought 2 sets of Polk DB+ 6.5 component sets. Then also bought 2 - 12 RF Punch P2s running with 1,000 watt RMS CT Sounds amp. Sounds fantastic.

Pros: Power, clarity, tons of features, so easy to change things using the Bluetooth app on your phone. You can change gains, frequencies, listening positioning, subwoofer volume, change what speaker is connected, can change the volumes of parking sensors.

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

AVOID THIS

Blake from Piedmont, SC on 8/31/2017

2010 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After many hours spent and 2400 dollars on the perfect sound system for my truck, Crutchfield didn't do their job by making sure this was compatible with my truck. If you own a 2010 Dodge Ram 2500 with alpine sound system, this will NOT work. Thanks for all the added work and for tying up my money Crutchfield. So now I have to wait for them to issue my refund before I can go somewhere else to get a system that is compatible. I've been a customer for 18 years or more but I will never shop with you again Crutchfield!! So everyone I beg you. Save yourself some money and shop local. The only reason I paid the high prices of Crutchfield was because I never had to worry about compatibility issues. Well since that isn't the case anymore, I will just shop local and make sure I have people that have done the research. I now wish I hadn't spent 10s of thousands of dollars with Crutchfield.

Pros: NONE cause it wasn't compatible

Cons: EVERYTHING

Crutchfield response on 9/18/2017
Blake, we goofed on this one, and we apologize. Our Advisor, Hogan, worked with our management and tech support teams to get the right gear lined up immediately, waive any price difference due to our mistake, and expedite the gear to Blake. That way, he could complete the installation over a holiday weekend when he had the time to do it. We have confirmed with iDatalink that all the vehicles we've listed for this Kenwood are now correct, so you can buy this amp with confidence.

12 of 18 found this helpful

Awesome, just Awesome

Brian from Chandler, AZ on 8/19/2017

2015 Chrysler 300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this installed in my 2015 Chrysler 300c with the factory Alpine 6 speaker system for about 2 months and I have to say I love it! I did the install myself, and it was a bit tricky, but I took my time and it was worth it. Now I am not stuck listening to the horrible factory system. I replaced the factory 6x9 (paper) Alpine speakers with JL audio C2 690tx's. Even though Crutchfield says they do not fit, they do. I put Infinity 3 inch speakers in the dash and a Pioneer 10 inch sub with amplifier in the back. I am so happy with the sound now! I just wish someone made a head unit I could buy to replace the horrible factory one, but still be able to control all the things it needs to control. Thank you Kenwood for making this amp!!

Pros: Replaces/bypass's factory amp. All the connections you need to run 2 seperate amps besides the Kenwood.

Cons: Bit tricky to install, needs better documentation. Also need a how to video on how to configure the DSP settings. Took me hours and hours to get the sound to my liking.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not working with my system.

Jammie from Carrollton, GA on 7/9/2017

2012 Ford F-150 FX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The F-150 without navigation is the only way it works. Why can't we have the system with navigation and all the features such as SYNC. It's a bummer. I'm stuck with what I've got (a crappy Sony.)

Pros: Great concept!

Cons: Not great with my system.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 22 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR600-6DSP

Derek from Antioch Tn on 5/28/2017

2016 Chrysler 300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure how its gonna work. So far the aCH2 harness that I need for this to work is not compatible with 2016 Chrysler 300. I may have to send it back as I do not see any other harnesses that will fit.

Pros: nice size , and looks good.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/6/2017
Thanks to Derek's review, our Vehicle Integration Buyer, Darren, dug further into the compatibility of this Kenwood system. He discovered that the Maestro AR and CH2 harness only work with 2015-16 Chrysler 300 models that came with the factory Beats or Alpine audio systems. It's not compatible with the factory Harman Kardon audio system in those models. We're revising our information to reflect this information. Sorry about that, Derek. We have confirmed with iDatalink that all the vehicles we've listed for this Kenwood are now correct, so you can buy this amp with confidence.

19 of 23 found this helpful

TOP