Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
642 310 44
Connect ID #
642 310 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Reference Series 5-channel car amplifier — 60 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 600 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # XR901-5

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Reference Series 5-channel car amplifier — 60 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 600 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # XR901-5

13 reviews
View this product

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Newalla, OK on 4/8/2021

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice affordable power. This cleanly powers my Hertz components, Focal coaxials and JL Audio sub with room to spare. An easy install under the passenger seat (with one quick call to Crutchfield).

Pros: Plenty of power. Easy install. Low profile.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Modesto, CA on 1/19/2021

2006 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have installed this amp in my 2006 honda odyssey and i love the power it has. And the bass is really fablise I love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR 901-5 Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 1/17/2021

2013 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amplifier to replace the previous model. It drives a set of Ke wood Excelon separates, a pair of Kenwood Excelon 2 ways and a JL Audio 10 inch sub. It sounds amazing! It also comes with a wired subwoofer control knob and is super clean. For the price, I don't think you will find a better sounding amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Prattville, AL on 12/1/2020

2011 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful little workhorse of an amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

I love it.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 11/27/2020

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the punch it packs with 5 channels and still being small enough to hide away it's impressive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 10/7/2020

2008 Lexus GX470

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amplifier. Installation was easy and the setup intuitive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Richard from Beaumont, TX on 8/14/2020

2016 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp. I was very surprised at the power and clarity of this thing!

Pros: Clarity and plenty of power. Slim design easily fits under passenger front seat.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 7/23/2020

2016 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great unit compact size

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, NY on 7/11/2020

2018 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money, it's clean and runs cool

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kenwood Excelon XR901-5

Crutchfield customer from Green Lane, PA on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp!! Plenty of power to my 2 6.5 and 2 6x9. Enough to push 2 10's. This little amp was worth it!

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Superb 5 channel amp!!

JB from California on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp that produces enough power to my Kenwood XR 1700P fronts, Kenwood coaxials in the rear doors and rear hatch, and Kenwood 12 inch sealed sub enclosure. Fits with plenty of room under my front passenger seat in my 2018 Toyota 4Runner.

Pros: -Small form factor -More than enough power -Clean sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 10 found this helpful

Amazing 5 Channel

Louis from Puerto Rico on 10/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The XR901-5 is one amazing amplifier! It has everything you need in one small chassis and fits comfortably under the passenger seat. I upgraded from the excelon 700.5 in my 2009 Honda Accord because I wanted the speakers (Phoenix Gold R series components front and RX coaxials in the rear) to get even louder , this amp delivers! On the subwoofer side it has plenty of power to get very loud without being obnoxious. I'm running a Massive Audio Hippo 84 in a custom ported enclosure since the Hifonics XXV 12" with custom enclosure was just "too loud" for the setup. If you are on the fence about purchasing a high quality 5 channel amplifier I highly recommend you get this amplifier. .

Pros: Small chassis, clean power, great sound quality, aesthetically pleasing.

Cons: None, price maybe.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Awesome amp!

Bruce from Corpus Christi, TX on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put one of these in my 2011 Subaru Outback, to replace the factory Harman Kardon amp under the passenger side seat. It fit perfectly in the factory location and has a ton more power. I am using it to drive the Infinity replacement speakers. Works wonderfully! Great choice for your car!

Pros: Loud, clear, adjustable, and quality! Everything you would expect from Kenwood!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

19 of 20 found this helpful

TOP