Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
443 197 43
Connect ID #
443 197 43
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1985-91 Porsche, Merkur, and Sterling vehicles

MFR # 70-1822C

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1985-91 Porsche, Merkur, and Sterling vehicles

MFR # 70-1822C

20 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 3/16/2020

1987 Porsche 924S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked perfect, great instructions. Keeps the original wiring harness in tact!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Jamesville, NY on 3/9/2020

1987 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. No issues.

Pros: Works as advertised.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kept the install simple!!

Crutchfield customer from Lees Summit, MO on 12/16/2019

1987 Porsche 944 Turbo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made the install so much easier! So much thought went into it that the wire colors match so there is no confusion. I soldiered the wires together and it was truly plug and play.

Pros: Great instructions! Even received details on the vehicle it was being installed in! Kudos to Crutchfirld

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Des Plaines, IL on 4/18/2019

1986 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring on the Adapter plug was not correct. The 12 volt power constant power tab was one port over from where it should have been. After confirming this with a wiring diagram and voltage meter I moved the port over. Would have been better if the assembly was wired correctly to make it plug and play as advertised.

Pros: Fit original harness but....

Cons: Not wired correctly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Wayne from Middleboro, MA on 6/23/2018

1987 Porsche 944S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installation easy. Fit perfectly, wiring colors matched factory. Maybe the best 14 dollars I've spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 3/19/2018

1986 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice concept. Nice execution. Even nicer that it was thrown in with my head unit. BUT pinout was incorrect for my vehicle. Listed 1986 Porsche 944 as compatible. It is sort of, after rearranging the pins.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't fit

Wolfe from Mountlake Ter, WA on 11/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nicely built, but did not fit my 1994 Porsche 968 as expected it would after reading about stereo installations in that particular car. Was not able to use.

Pros: nicely built, not expensive

Cons: did not fit 1994 Porsche 968

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, MI on 8/27/2017

1987 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It work great. No complaints!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Watertown, MA on 5/8/2017

1991 Porsche 911 Carrera 4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is what you need to avoid cutting any factory wires in a Porsche 964.

Pros:

Cons: The markup must be significant for these cheap connectors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Porsche 944 Turbo

Skylar from la conner, WA on 3/17/2016

1987 Porsche 944 Turbo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't end up using them because the previous owner deleted the need for them with the last stereo install. I did inspect them for quality and they are very well made. They came free with my stereo.

Pros: Appear well made. Free!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver wiring harness

Rich D from Southport, NC on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness made it very easy to connect the new Kenwood receiver to my 1986 Porsche 944's speakers. The wires are clearly marked and color-coded, and plugged right into the existing harness in the car.

Pros: Labeled and color-coded wires make it easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

cew from California on 10/3/2015

1989 Porsche 944S2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Integrated with Blaupunkt Toronto harness and installed in my Porsche 944s2.

Pros: Fits

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-1822 Receiver Wiring Harness

GeorgeS from Florida on 8/28/2015

1990 Porsche 944S2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fit,fast ship, and easy to install, instructions were clear and easy to follow; great product to utilize stock harness and keep things neat.

Pros: Makes the job so much easier and keeps things neat

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

soundstream Bluetooth radio

Crutchfield customer from oshkosh, wi on 3/22/2015

1987 Porsche 924S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo, good quality, low boot up time, I only wish it would display the song info over Bluetooth, it only says my phone's name

Pros: Good functionality, sd I'd a nice alternative to a CD player

Cons: Lcd panel is bright and the cops stare me down as I drive by.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just one issue

Stephen from Greensboro, NC on 3/14/2015

1986 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The connectors allow the car to remain stock. The single issue was pin location. One of the pins did not match the car. It was easily fixed by using a paper clip wire to release the pin from the connector body and relocating it to the correct location

Pros: No cutting or splicing of original car harness

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

perfect fit/great price

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City on 1/25/2015

1987 Porsche 944S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit in my 1987 Porsche. Great price. Quick delivery. All round a great buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wiring harness

Jake from Omaha, NE on 9/16/2014

1988 Porsche 924S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently had to replace the stereo head in my Porsche. It amazed me that Crutchfields would have a harness that had exactly the same connectors that were in the car! The entire process took about 45 minutes, mostly soldering the new adapter to the harness that came with the head, and the system worked perfectly. I am so pleased, the cost was minimal, and the instructions were excellent. I would never have thought they would have a harness for a 26 year old Porsche, but they did, and it's great!

Pros: Order help Perfect fit and adaptability Easy to follow instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Piece of Cake

DaveW from Akron, OH on 5/20/2014

1987 Porsche 944

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect match to existing 1987 Porsche 944 harness. I was amazed. No place to make a mistake, and no cutting of the old wiring. Snap it in, turn it on, hear music.

Pros: Obviously engineered to do what it is supposed to, and does it well.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly what's needed

Steve W from Maywood, NJ on 1/10/2014

1988 Porsche 944 Turbo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the perfect bridge between the old style and the new style Balupunkt units. Don't try to replace your radio without this.

Pros: Keeps all parts intact, so no cutting of wires is required.

Cons: Very few

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Merkur wiring harness adapter installation

Tiberius from Cleveland, Ohio on 10/3/2011

1987 Merkur XR4TI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Swapping out the factory installed headunit and amp was made simple with this kit. The only modification I needed to make was to file flat the areas where the speaker connectors back up to one another to allow a good fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP