Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
577 385 43
Connect ID #
577 385 43
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1990-2006 BMW vehicles

MFR # 70-8590

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1990-2006 BMW vehicles

MFR # 70-8590

94 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Weirsdale, FL on 7/1/2020

2001 GMC Sierra 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well. Would have been nice if it included the wire for the car's data buss. Necessary for steering wheel control module. Would of been 100 percent plug and play then.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Oviedo, FL on 6/9/2020

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked like a charm, super easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pocono, PA on 5/6/2020

2006 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to put in worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must have

Crutchfield customer from Hermon, ME on 4/21/2020

2001 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit to oem harness. Good instructions. Worth it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Prefect for BMW

LAURENTIU from Huntersville, NC on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 1998 BMW Z3 1.9. Made my life way more easier.

Pros: Perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 4/13/2020

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What is not clear is that you must match the cut ends to the opposite wiring of your new stereo. I was not expecting any of the colors to match, but ironically they did 1:1. So, if your radio is new, they likely follow the same color coding standards. Anyway, this took about 5 minutes of splicing and soldering (the method I chose). After that... this harness plugged directly into my factory BMW M Roadster harness and everything worked perfectly. I was fully expecting the amp or sub not to work - but it's all there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Ceiba, PR on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderfull perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from West Milton, OH on 12/9/2019

2006 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not the right harness for my car (2006 BMW 330Ci convertible)! It might be right for some other cars, but I'm pretty frustrated that after at least 3 calls to Crutchfield and leaving a message for the rep who was helping me, they never called me back and I had to figure it out myself and purchase parts elsewhere. If you have this connector on your car, it will probably be fine, but there's a real problem with the applicability and they weren't able to help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/18/2019
We were sorry to hear about this customer's experience with Tech Support team. Once we saw this review, our Tech Support Training Coordinator, Cris, reached out to him to help him further. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from South Mills, NC on 10/6/2019

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Brian from Alexandria, VA on 8/22/2019

2002 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my Alpine iXL-W650 in my BMW M3.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Sharpsburg, GA on 8/14/2019

1996 BMW 318TI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness connector work fantastic with BMW 318 ti, perfect fit, very easy to match the wires

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Richburg, SC on 8/8/2019

1997 BMW 5 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Color code matched exactly

Crutchfield customer from Paw Paw, MI on 6/24/2019

2001 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use. The color code from the adapter and my stereo matched exactly making it very easy to use.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect match!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit for my car

Crutchfield customer from Mebane, NC on 5/28/2019

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pay the extra money to have Crutchfield work up a plug and play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Matched BMW harness perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 4/14/2019

1999 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This came with our Kenwood receiver order. After very little effort of wiring all's well!

Pros: Matched to BMW 2000 Z3 harness perfectly - Well documented instructions - Seamless hook-up - If familiar with crimping tools and connectors, this is very easy

Cons: Not really a "Con" more of advisement - Installer should be familiar with and have access too crimping tool and connectors.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits like a charm!

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 1/28/2019

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install when using their ready harness service.

Pros: It fits with no issue

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get this, don't butcher your harness

Bill from La Vergne, TN on 12/13/2018

2006 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2006 330cic. No issues, soldered and used heat shrink typing beforehand. Dropped one star due to not having Pin 7 equipped, used for steering wheel controls. Forced to splice into wire behind original plug. Not a huge issue, but would be much cleaner install with Pin 7.

Pros: Worked as advertised. Had every pin needed (except SWC) Colors matched new head unit. Connected everything on my workbench first, made install a snap.

Cons: Needed an additional pin for steering wheel controls. A bit more length on the wires would have helped with hiding.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, VA on 11/5/2018

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly to connect my 04 325xi to an aftermarket Kenwood.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Tim from Ypsilanti, MI on 8/2/2018

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install a sanp, no need to cut and slice into the cars factory harness

Pros: Easy in install

Cons: 2 purple wires, easy to sort..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

half-done.

Alexander from Plainsboro, NJ on 7/7/2018

2006 Lexus RX330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The pin for the Steering Wheel control wire is missing. Had to improvise.Defeats the purpose of harness if you have to go splicing anyway.

Pros: Most pins are present

Cons: SWC pin is missing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsburg, PA on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome easy to use color coordinated quality product. Made the installation a breeze...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

That was easy !

Tyler from Gordonsville, VA on 6/10/2018

1995 BMW 525I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product and saves you time and aggravation when replacing your radio. The harness matches the factory plug perfectly and all wires are labeled so there is no confusion. This is a must and you get it free with a purchase of a new radio from Crutchfield !

Pros: Easy install No cutting your factory wires Free with radio purchase

Cons: None.... really !

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 4/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second purchase of one of these units. I have always been an Alpine fan. Product knowledge was great. Raina was the best. Keep up the good work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

perfect again

Patrick from Windermere, FL on 4/10/2018

1996 BMW 318TI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love the harnesses that crutchfield sends with radios. makes it so quick and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 2/1/2018

1999 BMW 323IS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came with radio and works flawlessly....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

DAN from Morehead, KY on 1/22/2018

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install a snap!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wiring adapter; does the job.

Thomas from Cleveland, TN on 1/9/2018

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine, just a little hard to connect to the factory plug.

Pros: Works good.

Cons: A little hard to connect to the factory plug. I have used other brands which engage smoother.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Gordon from Leland, NC on 12/11/2017

1998 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to use this adapter to go from my 1998 M3 convertible radio harness to the Pioneer radio I was installing. It is well marked and was easy for me to solder the connections and heat wrap them all for a solidly connected radio. Would purchase again if ever needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Domingo from Milpitas, CA on 12/8/2017

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A connector which works

Joe from Rochester Hills, MI on 11/13/2017

1998 BMW 328I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hey, it is a connector which worked.

Pros: Functionality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Germantown, MD on 10/22/2017

2003 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had my friend do the wiring for me, I have stock radio in the 330ci I have so this wired perfectly to the old stereo head I had, a favorite one. This connector fit perfectly, it doesn't feel like it at first but the BMW connector "locks down" and holds the connection in place. My friend told me the wiring was cake, but then again he's not new to it. The color guide on the bag was a nice reference for him when connecting the old harness of to this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, IN on 7/31/2017

1999 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked for 1999 BMW Z3 - Called for help after no audio and was told to connect Blue white strip wire with blue wire on radio, was not obvious to do this in instructions. Other than that great harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Garnet from Central Jersey on 7/17/2017

2003 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great wire harness, works great on a BMW 325i perfectly!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Milford, NH on 7/9/2017

1996 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work perfectly and easy to connect with radio wires. A six year old kid could do it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fit perfectly!

Tim from Spreckels, CA on 7/9/2017

1992 BMW 525I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly. All wires matched up as they should. Wish I had these years ago when I was installing radios in my cars.

Pros: Saves time. Makes an install simple.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 5/14/2017

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 5/9/2017

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installation easy. Just match the colors and you are ready to install the HU.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 4/25/2017

1997 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You can always rely on Crutchfield to have a wiring harness to hook up any aftermarket headunit. No issues with this one on my E36 M3.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Thomas from Crisfield, MD on 4/9/2017

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised simple match the wires and plug into existing plug.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

free from Crutchfield!!

Mike from Littleton, CO on 4/2/2017

1994 BMW 325I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was included for free by Crutchfield and it worked perfectly with my Pioneer DEH-X7800BHS. Thank you Crutchfield! Installation was very easy and I would highly recommend the Posi-Products connectors unless you're an expert with a soldering iron.

Pros: can't beat the price, connected perfectly to the connector in my 23 year old BMW 325i and although the fit was tight (old BMW connector is very bulky) I was able to find space

Cons: none I can think of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

Dustin from Gig Harbor, WA on 3/26/2017

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear installation, wires are marked and color coded so its very easy to solder and connect to stereo harness.

Pros: Very clear instructions

Cons: Difficult to snap into the cars harness, didnt fit well. Had to force it to connect securely, thought it was going to break. Didnt come with steering wheel control wires, its ridiculous to purchase that as a separate option. Should be integrated.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Coppell, TX on 2/26/2017

1999 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately, the Metra adapter is too bulky to fit on my 1999 BMW 323i. I actually soldiered the Metra into my harness only to cut it out.

Pros: Wiring is correct !

Cons: Doesnt fit a 1999 BMW 323i, too bulky

Crutchfield response on 3/1/2017
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bonney lake, Wa on 1/31/2017

1998 BMW 328I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well and matched up with all the wires on my 98 328i

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hagerstown, MD on 1/30/2017

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Christopher from Columbus, IN on 1/22/2017

1998 BMW 328I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit, only took 15 minutes to wire up & play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Albert from Wilmington, NC on 12/21/2016

1997 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality, good instructions, worked fine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get these for install. Period

Brad from Groesbeck, Texas on 12/2/2016

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These adapter sets are the Only way someone should install a stereo. They are easy, cheap, and don't leave 100 dangling wires,or heaven forbid...skotchlocks!

Pros: Makes life easy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 11/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Joseph from Lavallette, NJ on 10/23/2016

2004 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits my BMW. All colors matched receiver exactly. No complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Newton, NC on 10/18/2016

2001 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Meridian, ID on 10/14/2016

2001 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my vehicle easy hookup and plug and play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Rob from North Carolina on 8/8/2016

1999 BMW 5 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it needs -- connects to vehicle harness

Pros: (Mostly*) eliminates need to cut factory wiring.

Cons: *Does not have wire for steering wheel control. To use a control-convertor requires cutting one factory wire. All wires on this part would benefit from being longer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easiest install so far!

R Wood from NC on 7/24/2016

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have installed quite a few sound systems over the years, and a few have come with adapters, but this was the easiest one to date. Thanks to Crutchfield's outstanding library of installation information, this adapter was automatically suggested (and included for free) when I bought my head unit. Before I took anything apart, I soldered and heat-shrinked the Pioneer harness to this adapter, and that was the only wiring I had to do. It literally took me longer to get the old radio out than it did to put this new one in. A must-have for any head unit replacement, and well worth the cost.

Pros: - Perfect fit - Package included a list of pin-outs, so it could easily be pre-wired to new radio's harness - Inexpensive (in my case, free)

Cons: - None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clara CA on 7/14/2016

1998 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fit and wires were pre-stripped. Colors matched exactly to headunit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow

Carlos from Orlando, FL. on 7/7/2016

2003 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Jeff from Pensacola, FL on 6/26/2016

2002 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

See less integration with factory harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

worked great

Samuel from Lacey, WA on 5/7/2016

2001 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect, wires come pre-stripped for easy install. instruction concise and clear

Pros: perfect fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor fit

Otis from Lansing, MI on 5/6/2016

2000 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well all the components of my sound system work so I can't complain about that but this harness is about the size of my house. I actually had to remove the vent covers above the stereo and store the harness up there because it is so bulky. I ran the plug back down from there into the DIN bay. Also, this didn't fit very well into the female part coming out of the car and I had to force it, snapping some pieces on both respective connectors. Still got a firm hold and like I said everything works so I can't complain. Just took a lot more work than I was really hoping to do. Of course, everyone reading this is the owner of a BMW, so you are all familiar with that scenario lol.

Pros: It works

Cons: It is HUGE it doesn't seem to agree with the oem receptor

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Seamless Installation

M Jamal from Newark, DE on 5/1/2016

1998 BMW 323I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the installation easy, plug and play and I was on my way. The personnel at Crutchfield makes it effortless.

Pros: Easy and a direct connection.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Z3 upgrade

PBE from Charlotte, NC on 4/29/2016

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a perfect fit and functions perfectly. The information provided was spot on! The personnel at Crutchfield were pleasant and extremely helpful.

Pros: Cant be done easily without this adapter.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well built

Jonathan D from Seattle, WA on 4/13/2016

2000 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unlike other, less expensive harnesses that appear similar, this one is well worth the extra money. Pins are sturdy and wires all matched across the board. There were no duplicate colors and everything worked for me first time. Very happy with this recommendation.

Pros: Strong pins that don't move, wires all colored correctly.

Cons: None that I ran into.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Pap-Sap from Irwin, PA on 4/10/2016

1996 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes wiring to car harness a snap. Color to color on head unit wiring and plug into cars existing plug. Only way to go installing a new unit.

Pros: Easy hookup Fast

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install

James from Charlotte, NC on 4/10/2016

1996 BMW 328I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product made the factory radio replacement a breeze.

Pros: Plug and wire by color made easy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great!

Jim D. from seattle, WA on 3/13/2016

1998 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a perfect fit to connect my new Kenwood deck to the wiring harness of my '98 Z3.

Pros: Perfect connection for all wires.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes for a simple install

DavidC from cordova, TN on 3/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, wire list was correct for my car.

Pros: Simple

Cons: Not the highest quality pins I've seen.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness Reviews

David from Shingle Springs, CA on 2/22/2016

1997 BMW 5 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness for BMW Z3

CBL from Portland, Oregon on 1/15/2016

2001 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect Fit for my BMW.

Pros: Great directions and instructions

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

BLPike from Asheville NC on 1/10/2016

1999 BMW 323I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Took all of 10 minutes and works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Alabama on 1/4/2016

2003 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

too big,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

Robtag from Massachusetts on 1/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This plug fits the BMW radio wiring harness properly.

Pros: It makes installing an aftermarket head unit easy without cutting the factory wiring harness.

Cons: The plug itself is bulky., The BMW harness plugs directly into the back of the factory radio. It can be difficult to fit the plug in the dash along with the aftermarket head unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Scott N from Massachusetts on 1/2/2016

1994 BMW 325I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness fits the factory harness which I had to pry of the back of my '94 325 convertible factory radio. It would have been helpful to know that the blue wire labeled "power antennae" needs to be connected to the blue wire that will power the amplifier. There is no sound with out this connection because the amplifier doesn't get turned on. Had to go to youtube to find that out. Otherwise connection was good and wires were easy to map.

Pros: Fits, wires are easy to identify

Cons: Need to get the blue antenna wire on the radio to the blue wire on this harness in order to power the remote amp. There are no directions for this.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works, a OK!

RL from California on 12/27/2015

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. Took a bit of time to strip the wires (wish it just comes connected with the other connector it needs to connect with), but otherwise it's good.

Pros: Works

Cons: Needs to strip wires.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!

Wyatt from Chicago, IL on 12/12/2015

1999 BMW 323I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came on time, worked like a charm with the Kenwood unit I bought. Great work per usual!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 wiring harness adapter

Metra 70-8590 wiring harness adapter from North Carolina on 12/8/2015

1999 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not yet installed this adapter, but was pleased to be able to find an adapter for the wiring harness of an older (2002) foreign (BMW) vehicle. From the instructions it appears that all I have to do is match the colors of the Metra to the new radio, not the confusing colors of the vehicles wiring harness.

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Harness

Ken from Missouri on 11/22/2015

2001 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness matched vehicle well. Of course makes installation a breese

Pros: Works as it should

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What else do you expect from Crutchfield

Teach from New England on 11/10/2015

2001 BMW M

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and easy install. The only thing that would have made it better would have been to have crimp connectors included.

Pros: made install a snap

Cons: had to buy crimp connectors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy but...

JimK from Hawaii on 10/17/2015

1994 BMW 325I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great but extra wire that had no mention in instructions. The radio would send sound to speakers! after an hour + I call support they said connect the wire..... All Was Perfect!

Pros: Easy

Cons: Instruction on one wire was missing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Illinois on 10/14/2015

1995 BMW M3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, allows the radio to connect through the car's amp ('95 BMW M3)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good Product

Shane from Ohio on 9/21/2015

1995 BMW 325I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. has been working fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Ronl from Florida on 8/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros: Install was easy using this component.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from New York on 8/1/2015

1999 BMW 323I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great worked as expected Thank You

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wire Harness

CJ from San Diego, Ca on 6/26/2015

1992 BMW 525I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simplified my install wires are color coordinated making connection less difficult.

Pros: Color Coordinated

Cons: Wires aren't soldered

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Fits '94 740i e32 OEM

tokuno from Silicon Valley, California on 6/20/2015

1994 BMW 700 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits well into the BMW connector. De-mystifies the wiring connections; match wire colors to the replacement radio and plug it into the car. Warning: does not enable the factory trunk-mounted CD player.

Pros: Clean fit to factory plug color-matched the replacement (JVC) unit, so connection to new unit was easy

Cons: physically big (necessarily so), so takes up a bit of space in the radio well. This could also be a "Pro" comment, because it's no bigger than it has to be to fit to the factory plug. does not tie-in the factory trunk-mounted CD player does not tie-in the factory cell phone microphone

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, tn on 6/12/2015

2000 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra wire harness adapter

Chris from Kensington, NH on 6/2/2015

1998 BMW 328I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast delivery. Fit my car perfectly and made installation easy eliminating the need to damage the factory wiring.

Pros: Easy to install, color coded wires

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to Connect

David from Pennsylvania on 5/6/2015

1999 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took me just a few minutes to connect with my new radio and connect to the car - great product

Pros: Easy, and very clearly marked

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

easy install

russ from Massachusetts on 4/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

not good at this stuff but went in easy

Pros: ease

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Splices

Crutchfield customer from Illinois on 4/9/2015

1994 BMW 325I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit and works perfectly

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

easy from Frankfort ky on 4/5/2015

2000 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made connection quick

Pros: Easy use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8590 Receiver Wire Harness

Sid from Toledo, Ohio on 3/30/2015

1995 BMW 325I

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product makes installation so easy even a caveman could do it.

Pros: Makes wiring quick and easy.

Cons: Needed to modify my factory connector to make it fit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

This is the way to do it`

jinrai from Tennessee on 1/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is so easy and economical - why would you want to do it any other way? Simple and straightforward for installing my JVC radio into my 04 BMW

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect match for BMW

whilbun from New Mexico on 12/24/2014

2002 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is what you need to make installation quick and simple. Just match each wire from the radio, color-to-color. The connector matched up perfectly to my wife's 1997 BMW 328ic. Took about 30 min, and I took my time.

Pros: easy to use. Wire colors matched perfectly to radio.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice fit but big and bulky.

Dr. H. from Georgetown, TX on 12/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect, and adapts perfect, however it is huge, which makes it difficult to insert the receiver. They need to make it less bulky. However tech support was very informative and very helpful.

Pros: Perfect fit, you don't need to cut any wires.

Cons: Expensive, very bulky.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP