Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
427 711 44
Connect ID #
427 711 44
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1999-09 Volvo vehicles

MFR # 70-9221

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1999-09 Volvo vehicles

MFR # 70-9221

57 reviews
View this product

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from New Bern, NC on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked perfectly and well worth the money

Pros: works perfectly

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 12/24/2020

2007 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy

Pros: Easy to understand and install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesnt work for HU-850

Tim from Sacramento on 9/17/2020

2006 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2006 S60R: Only half the Harness works, they should have recommended the other one that has the 6din connector. Have to buy the correct one online.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My Volvo Install

Stan from Charleston, SC on 9/2/2020

2002 Volvo V40

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made swapping out my stock Volvo head unit for a new Kenwood into a 15 - 20 minutes process. This is for my second car, which I use for work. Didn't want to go crazy with amps and such. I used wire nuts to mate the Kenwood harness to the Metra, plugged it in, and was good to go. Thanks, Crutchfield!!

Pros: Free and works great. Also, FREE!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hartford, CT on 7/8/2020

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Volvo S80 connector

Crutchfield customer from Montclair, NJ on 6/22/2020

2005 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a perfect fit for my 2005 S80. The colors for the speaker were a good match to the new radio. Very good design

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spot on adapter harness for 2004 Volvo v70

Crutchfield customer from Downingtown, PA on 4/5/2020

2004 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly for my 2004 Volvo v70 wagon, great step by step instruction on what wires to connect to my receiver. Very easy to install, used shrink sleeves with solder in them that melted with a heat gun as opposed to soldering iron - very easy and secure connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stock amplifier, no CD changer

Crutchfield customer from Federal Heights, CO on 9/12/2019

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Half the starts, because half of the kit worked for my car.

Pros: The green plug fit. I'm being reimbursed the difference of the harness I found and the grey one I did not use.

Cons: No wiring harness to connect the 6 din speaker plug in to the head unit, had power no sound. Needed to go on wild goose chase to find the correct harness.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Towanda, PA on 6/27/2019

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes putting a new system easy

Shelley from Tulsa, OK on 12/31/2018

2008 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Instructions were clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hawthorn Woods, IL on 8/21/2018

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding. Effortless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 6/23/2018

2005 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well Made - easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just matchup the wires and plug it in. Simple

Shepherd from Belmont, CA on 3/24/2018

2002 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play... just like its designed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 3/21/2018

2006 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave this a 4 star only because the wiring harness does not properly hook up the antenna amp on a Volvo. The blue wire when hooked up straight thru, gives you 12 volts to the antenna amp. Unfortunately Volvo has this amp running on 10 volts. So amp works when key is just turned on,(lower voltage approx 11.8 volts) but once car is started, the voltage goes up and the amp dies out. No AM reception. See Post on a Volvo Forum below for a fix. This has been reported to Crutchfield, so hopefully they will create a fix for this, that maybe is cleaner. I followed the fix in the Forum, and my amp now works. http://www.volvo-forums.com/t15342-st-20-S60-am-radio-reception.htm So if you value any AM reception, check into this fix.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Dan from Hghlnds Ranch, CO on 3/11/2018

2002 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugs fit perfectly and the pre-stripped ends were a delight to work with.

Pros: Pre-stripped ends

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from New Washington, IN on 11/28/2017

2003 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT INSTALL

GREG from Dingmans Ferry, PA on 11/10/2017

2001 Volvo S40

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT PRODUCT, EASY TO USE AND INSTALL, THE DIRECT FIT PLUG AND PLAY INTO FACTORY HARNESS WITH ABSOLUTELY NO ISSUES. THIS HARNESS MAKES FOR A NICE, CLEAN INSTALL.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fit Perfectly

Lee from FL on 9/4/2017

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugs right in. No issue

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Epping, NH on 8/27/2017

2006 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matched on factory side and receiver side perfectly. Colors on receiver side also matched

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

John A. from Fresno, CA on 4/21/2017

2009 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness fit the original factory harness perfectly. Even the colors matched the wire colors for the Pioneer unit I was installing. Absent someone coming to my house and installing the system for me it could not have been any easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 4/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome, just works

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fuquay Varina, NC on 4/2/2017

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it worked fine as far as it went, but Volvo steering wheel control wires in Volvo wiring were not identified (this harness was specific to 04 Volvo XC70) or harness wires provided.. My radio had key 1 and key 2 and no means to bring them through to car wiring. Not a big problem using radio controls but steering wheel buttons now are disabled.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

convenient to use, missing two connections

Meep from SE USA on 1/31/2017

2009 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash harness made installation into my 2009 volvo much easier. I've learned to just always buy these through Crutchfield. However, it does not include the 2 pins and wires needed by the steering wheel button interface, so you have to splice into the vehicle harness, at that same connector, anyway-- which is what we try to avoid when buying these adapters. 2 stars docked for not being complete.

Pros: makes installation easier

Cons: doesn't have the 2 leads needed by steering wheel controller interface; installer still has to splice into the same connector harness for HU installation.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Nic from Chico, CA on 1/29/2017

2007 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did its job great in and of itself, however it did not say that a factory amp interface cable in order to install into my vehicle. On Amazon they are sold together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Essential Time Saving Product for Installation!

Michael from Allentown, PA on 11/27/2016

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit made the electrical portion of the installation an absolute snap. Match the colors, that's it. I have a an 04 Volvo S60, so it was perfect for me, but if you have an S40, talk to support first, as you will need additional parts. Also, for any Volvo, an extra kit is required if you want the steering wheel volume buttons to work. Now, the physical mounting of your new stereo will have its own set of challenges, but that's another story. Common sense and research got me through those.

Pros: Easy color coding, pre-stripped ends.

Cons: No steering wheel button provision included.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 10/21/2016

2006 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

amg89536 from Jacksonville, FL on 10/13/2016

2001 Volvo S40

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connected to OEM wiring without any issues! Great quality and the connections were easy to make.

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spot on

Anthony from Everett, WA on 9/26/2016

2003 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed. Makes install a breeze!

Pros: Price, ease of use, no cutting of wires.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what you wanted

Chris G from Saratoga Springs, NY on 7/26/2016

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything that I wanted! Had no problem installing with this harness. Very clean and easy to setup/

Pros: -Neat

Cons: -None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221

Paul R from Paris Ky on 7/17/2016

2004 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros: Fit great, easy installation, makes the job much easier than splicing wires

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Brandt from Brooklyn, NY on 7/9/2016

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These wiring harnesses are a life saver. They perfectly fit the existing male harness, and conveniently, the wires are prepped at the end to quickly splice to the head unit wiring without the need for tools. The only thing better would be if it came with the splice connectors in place. Also, there was one extra (orange) wire that was supposed to go to attach to a wire for automatic dimming, but there was no mate. I had to contact Crutchfield to make sure I wasn't doing something wrong, but they promptly responded and advised to just cap it off, as there is no mate.

Pros: Snap fit. Pre-prepped wires.

Cons: None having to do with the harness, really.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Insufficient for Installation

Bruce from North Andover, MA on 6/30/2016

2003 Volvo S40

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These connectors is insufficient to complete the installation of your new radio into an older Volvo. These cars include an external amplifier that plugs into the back of the factory radio via a 6 or 9 pin DIN connector. I had to purchase this as an additional connector and ended up with extra parts that now need be disposed of.

Pros: Provide power to the radio and antenna, and provide sound to the speakers on the top of the dashboard.

Cons: Do not provide and connection to the front door speakers or the rear deck speakers. So, essentially, insufficient.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect harness

Buddy from santa rosa, CA on 2/14/2016

2006 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Recommend using soldering iron and heat shrink. everything works

Pros: easy to install. good instructions

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Easy!

Adam L. from Wisconsin on 1/11/2016

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Couldn't have asked for an easier product to attach to the factory harness. Makes head deck installation capable by anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must have

sdduck from New Jersey on 1/3/2016

2004 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made connecting a piece of cake and allows me to put original stereo back it. Can't imagine not using these.

Pros: Ease of use.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good quality and makes install simple

BryanC from Florida on 12/21/2015

2006 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these to install my JVC into Volvo S60. Connectors match up perfectly. Color coded wires matched up very well which made install quicker. The only issue with this is that they did not supply connections for the steering control (2 wires) which required me to splice into the OEM wires to finish the connection. They could have added these two wires to this harness as the corresponding pin slots were empty. Duh? Crutchfield tech support was invaluable to help me identify the wires needed for the final two wires that were missing from this harness.

Pros: Perfect connection to existing OEM harness

Cons: Missing connections for steering wheel connection wires.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

B from Michigan on 12/7/2015

2002 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super simple. Everything went together like it should.

Pros: Ease of use.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Dave from Wisconsin on 10/23/2015

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adapters make life sooooooo much easier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Leeda from Irvine, CA on 6/10/2015

2001 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect connection for my 2001 Volvo S60. Used crimp caps to make wire connection. Butt connectors don't hold the hires together well enough.

Pros: Colors matched up with original wires. Wire tips pre-stripped for easy pull off

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

the_mad_pumpkin from Hattiesburg, MS on 3/2/2015

2008 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for a Volvo S60!

Pros: Fits and works as intended. Comes with great instructions but could get away with no instructions- it's that easy.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from charleston south carolina on 9/2/2014

2004 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to plug in the stock radio harness

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from 08520 on 3/19/2014

2001 Volvo S40

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked fine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

HowieB from Niantic il on 1/17/2014

1999 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product don't try to instal a radio without it as this saves hours

Pros: Easy great instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did what it is supposed to do

RAW from Kure Beach on 10/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

couldn't have done it with out you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness this

M P from Chesterfield, NJ on 9/21/2013

2005 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This makes replacement of original radio wiring simple.

Pros: Color coded for easy install. Easy installation Quality comparable to original equipment

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lovely

Honda18252 from Tamaqua, pa on 9/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Piece wired right in and worked like a charm. Simple as that, just follow provided instructions.

Pros: Worked perfectly

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Volvo Receiver Wire Harness

BrianM from pompano beach, fl on 5/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i think the wire harness is perfect. had no issues with install and stereo sounds great.

Pros: easy plug in, easy hook up, no issues

Cons: none to be found

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Helpful for Installation

04S60R from Central Ohio on 5/4/2013

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugs fit and Wire Colors matched up

Pros: Enabled me to solder up this and the radio harness in the basement instead of trying to make good connections in the Car

Cons: The Green connector only includes 4 wires, Constant Power, Keyed Power, Ground, Antenna Power

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Volvo Receiver Wire Harness

Crutchfield customer from Oregon on 5/4/2013

2003 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness works great! I was able to soldier the converter harness to the aftermarket stereo harness and make a flawless easy to connect and disconnect plug to the stock Volvo stereo harness. Now if I need to remove my stereo for any reason, all I have to do is unplug it instead of having to cut the wires and destroy the stock harness.

Pros: Easy connections, Able to soldier wires,

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tight Fit.

John from Omaha, NE on 4/28/2013

2006 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too big to fit behind the radio....but I made it fit. Also, the remote wire didn't work to the subs, so I had to hook it up to the constant power....annoying but not to big a deal.

Pros: Good price

Cons: Way too big.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would not fit in my Volvo S60

FrankG from Blacksburg, VA on 4/16/2013

2007 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was not able to use this harness. My 2007 Volvo S60 had way too little room behind the radio compartment to fit the large connectors. I ended having to cut all the connectors out (both the OEM and the harness connectors) and solder all the connections. Even then it was a tight fit!

Pros: It (would have) made the installation easy.

Cons: Would not fit in the space Volvo allocated between the radio compartment and the bulkhead.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Volvo S40 requires additional harness

ChrisW from Midwest on 12/14/2012

2003 Volvo S40

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness is necessary for the HU power, ground, ect. but you will need an additional harness for the factory amp interface found in the 99-03 Volvo S40's. Without this additional harness, only the dash tweeters will work. The alternative is bypassing the factory amp and running new speaker wire in a (slightly over-engineered) Volvo. Huge pain. You could cut the interface plug open and test wires untill you have sound in all four doors. Huge pain.

Pros: It does fit and works fine. It is the power, ground, remote and dash tweeters.

Cons: I wish I had known I would have to scour the web for the wierd extra harness for the door speakers to work. The factory amp interface is a strange cd changer -esque looking thing that is very difficult to find any kind of wiring diagram for. If you have a whole day to kill, bypassing the factory amp and running new speaker wire to the HU would work. The extra harness is much faster and a cleaner install overall in my opinion.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Antenna adapter

Patrick from USA on 8/9/2012

2000 Volvo S80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked.

Pros: Easily adapts from Volvo antenna to JVC radio.

Cons: The plug that fits into the radio seemed a very little bit too small, so the fit wasn't as tight as I'd like. As I installed it I was wondering if would eventually vibrate loose. It was not bad, just not a perfect fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Ben from Danville,Ky on 6/28/2012

2001 Volvo S40

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not Work with S40's

Guest from Texas on 11/6/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first got the only two speakers in my car worked. Found out that s40's come with an Factory amp. I Bought an adaptor. All is well, but beware and save your self head aches, s40 until 03 i believe come standard with an amp. Fyi,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Thumbs up

Chris from Littleton, CO on 4/26/2009

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great in my '01 V70, no issues. I picked up an extra stereo frame from a junkyard, so I was able to install the stereo into the dash adapter and wire it on the bench, and did the stereo swap in about 5 minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9221 Receiver Wiring Harness

Derek from Dana Point, CA on 11/9/2008

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a beginner at wiring, so I took this challenge on, these really made it easy, all color coded. Just matched like colors, and plugged it in, very easy, Crutchfield makes install very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP