Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
197 765 75
Connect ID #
197 765 75
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

One pair of tools to remove the factory radio from select Audi, Volkswagen, and Mercedes vehicles

MFR # 86-9001

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

One pair of tools to remove the factory radio from select Audi, Volkswagen, and Mercedes vehicles

MFR # 86-9001

316 reviews
View this product

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Daniel from Evergreen, CO on 8/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I called, I was greeted by a professional, knowledgeable and helpful representative, Danny. He helped me locate the correct part I was seeking. I received the part on time and I'm pleased. BTW, Danny also helped me start the process of finding a replacement radio/stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Zachary from Breinigsville, PA on 7/12/2022

2001 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must have

Humberto from Potomac, MD on 5/15/2022

2018 Volkswagen Tiguan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although I don't know nor could find a valid reason, other than being a extra step yet slim extra step anti theft, why you need a special tool to remove a stereo, this one makes the removal a breeze.

Pros: A versatile tool to remove stereos.

Cons: Couldn't find any, but a graphic aid how to use them in different stereos, won't hurt anybody.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Tony from Hanna, IN on 5/12/2022

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good, does what it's designed to do

Pros:

Cons: You need 2 sets of these if you have a double din radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Mary from Lott, TX on 4/24/2022

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the job easier

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easeily

Lyle from Dodson, MT on 4/19/2022

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wry easy to use. This was my sons first time and he did it with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Value removal tool

Daniel from Sandia Park, NM on 4/17/2022

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the removal easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Michael from Clinton, MS on 4/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made old radio removal very easy

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Greg from Little Rock, AR on 4/10/2022

2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, excellent price and very fast shipping. Crutchfield never disappoints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Trenton from Millers Creek, NC on 2/23/2022

2006 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't think it was fault of the product but they wouldn't grab the clips like they were supposed to do for me to be able to pull the radio out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

worked

Crutchfield customer from Canon City, CO on 1/4/2022

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked to remove stock VW stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ease of use is worth the purchase!

Crutchfield customer from Eagan, MN on 10/27/2021

2013 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These tools made removing the factory radio a breeze.

Pros: Very easy to use

Cons: Metal is a little bit flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, MD on 10/12/2021

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simplifies the removal of the stock radio. Gets the upgrade process off on the right foot!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Here's the thing

Crutchfield customer from Allegany, NY on 10/2/2021

2001 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look, you don't have much choice other than to get this tool and it works so uhhhh you know it's good.

Pros: Functional

Cons: Not brushed stainless steel

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 9/14/2021

2006 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work okay, but I down rate them as they came in a kit and I could not not get them. I would have preferred a $5 discount. I already have a better set.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Need four to remove original radio

Crutchfield customer from New Paltz , NY on 8/14/2021

2009 Audi TTS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work well, but need two sets (4 total) to remove factory unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

01 Porsche Boxster

Crutchfield customer from Elyria, OH on 8/9/2021

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Porsche Boxster. Easy removal. Necessary tool.

Pros: Easy removal.

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 7/21/2021

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These didn't work at all to get the radio out. Luckily I was able to find my OEM ones in the kitchen junk drawer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 5/15/2021

1999 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Hillsborough, NJ on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After seeing a You tube video where the guy tried to make his own tools, I bought these and they worked great and saved me time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/26/2021

1996 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tool worked perfectly in removing my old radio. Without the tool and Crutchfields instructions probably would have spent a lot of hours researching how to remove the radio

Pros: Absolutely a life saver.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Chester, CA on 3/23/2021

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

essential to remove a vw radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Bonus!

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 2/3/2021

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Already had a pair, but for someone who doesn't its REALLY nice that they included these. You'd be stuck if you bought a receiver from another company and didn't have your own removal tools. I like the set up on the kit where you can have 3 different options on the same tool.

Pros: Shows how much Crutchfield cares by including them for free.

Cons: None at all!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 1/11/2021

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Taylorsville, UT on 12/22/2020

2005 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Van Nuys, CA on 11/15/2020

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't use the tool....had it professionally installed! Thought it was cool that it was included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Moscow Mills, MO on 11/9/2020

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Should of came with 4 instead of 2. Most stock stereos need all 4. I took some feeler gages I don't use anymore and my Dremel and cut 2 of them to match the type needed for my girlfriends audi and it all worked LOL

Pros:

Cons: Need 4

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needed!

Crutchfield customer from Festus, MO on 8/26/2020

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the removal so easy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 8/22/2020

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The keys worked just were very flimsy and one got stuck in the initial radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 7/27/2020

1998 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very useful, little tool. Used it to remove the OEM radio and the AC control unit on a '98 Mercedes SL500

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Donato from Bremerton, WA on 7/19/2020

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work ok to remove the stock stereo, the design is a little awkward.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trust Crutcfield

Crutchfield customer from Rhinebeck, NY on 6/22/2020

2007 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always, Crutchfield pulls through with just what is needed ! These tools were included as a bonus to my stereo purchase. I would have undoubtedly created a mess at best, or destroyed my dash trying to remove the factory radio without this.

Pros: job would have been difficult to impossible without them

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 6/13/2020

1995 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seamless removal, 30 seconds.

Pros: Free! Functionality perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, GA on 6/8/2020

1998 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I paid for installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, RI on 6/3/2020

1999 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and effective

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitely make life easier.

Crutchfield customer from Rock Island, IL on 5/31/2020

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent tool. Quick and easy.

Pros: They look like ninja stars.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 5/18/2020

2000 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as prescribed. No complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 5/14/2020

2002 Mercedes-Benz ML320

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked to take old radio out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Miller Place, NY on 5/6/2020

2001 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made removing my Mercedes radio super easy.

Pros: Work on many radios and was perfect for my 2001 Mercedes.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Andrews Afb, MD on 4/20/2020

2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the install quick and easy. When I did call in with a question they had the answers I need right away. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just okay

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 4/16/2020

2008 Volkswagen Touareg 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They got the job done but for my vehicle It seemed as though they weren't rigid enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 4/15/2020

2000 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes installation easy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Ft Walton Bch, FL on 4/9/2020

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a piece of metal that enables removal of specific radio head units. Worked fine for my project.

Pros: Less expensive than other brands

Cons: No specific instructions provided

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Brainerd, MN on 3/29/2020

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does the job it is designed for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Cortland, OH on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Yucca, AZ on 3/25/2020

1995 Mercedes-Benz E300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It did the job, no fuss, no muss...

Pros: It did what I got it for

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best German car stereo removal tools

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 3/15/2020

1999 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Must have tool removal keys

Pros: Heavy duty

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 2/23/2020

2002 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked perfectly, even better than the ones specifically for my car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/23/2020

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, MA on 1/19/2020

2004 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are better tools available. I had to use these with a slotted screw driver to ease the monsoon radio out of my Passat. The tool kept on slipping out of the radio.

Pros:

Cons: Hard on fingers when pulling

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Slatington, PA on 1/18/2020

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as intended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Glen Ellyn, IL on 1/15/2020

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great tools and 100% necessary to do the job

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/24/2019

2010 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tools worked great, could not have removed the factory radio without these tools.

Pros: Worked perfectly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 12/9/2019

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another nice addition when ordering a new radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Ryan from Madison on 11/22/2019

2009 Audi A3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were total garbage. They would click into place but any pressure applied would cause them to easily pop out. Lucky for me, the factory stereo I was removing was total junk as well, so I manhandled it to get it out. But it'd be nice to get the money back for these flimsy pieces of tin.

Pros: They're recyclable.

Cons: Everything.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Coopersville, MI on 11/21/2019

2003 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WORK LIKE THEY SHOULD

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, RI on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not work on my radio. I was forced to use jig saw blades to remove the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 10/14/2019

1999 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this make really ease to take the radio out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 8/24/2019

1997 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hardware was exactly what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 8/5/2019

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. Made removal of stock stereo simple, easy and quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Will get your radio out

Crutchfield customer from Eaton Rapids, MI on 5/19/2019

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as it should. Did bend a little easy but was still able to use it to remove my factory radio.

Pros: Worked as described. Universal fit.

Cons: Bends easily but still worked.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Aloha, OR on 4/29/2019

2005 Dodge Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice gadget to have when you don't have the original removal tools (when the stereo was installed by someone else, for instance).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Erie, CO on 4/25/2019

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked to perfection to remove stereo out of VW Golf 2005. No issues

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Camp Lejeune, NC on 3/27/2019

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't work at all had to pry the face of the stock unit via YouTube guidance

Pros: None waste of money

Cons: Didn't work at all

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A+

Bart from Hoffman Est, IL on 3/7/2019

1998 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the trick! Made removing my factory Mercedes unit a breeze

Pros: Simple tool

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Conyers, GA on 2/10/2019

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slick and easy to get the old unit out. If I ever have to take out the new one its another story.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolute must have for removing factory radio from Mercedes. Clear instructions with pictures made it a breeze

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 1/27/2019

2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly, no hitches. Just followed the directions and the OEM stereo came right out of the dash without complaint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great.

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 1/1/2019

2002 Mercedes-Benz ML55

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little flimsy but worked perfectly to remove the stock head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Brockton, MA on 12/27/2018

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Nashua, NH on 12/8/2018

2002 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tools work great - but come with no instruction. I needed to surf You Tube to understand which of the three ends is the correct end, and which orientation is the correct orientation, to remove the Monsoon unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Jeffrey J from Lauderhill, FL on 10/24/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked like a charm, make the removal easy.

Pros: worked on a 2004 Crossfire stock receiver

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Much neede tool

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 10/14/2018

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked great and would have been nearly impossible to remove the factory radio without!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from West Milton, OH on 10/14/2018

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Application - 2006 MK4 Golf GLS TDi

Matthew from Philadelphia, PA on 10/3/2018

2006 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked just as designed for my Monsoon stereo in my VW Golf, allowing me to quickly and easily remove my factory setup and install my aftermarket headunit. They remove from the old unit with ease, and I intend on keeping them around to help other people in the future.

Pros: Worked as intended, no modification needed.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Michael D. from Bryantown, MD on 9/30/2018

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked like it was designed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Kenneth from Hot Springs, AR on 8/20/2018

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tool worked fine but I had to go on YouTube to find out how to get the tool back out of the radio when I had the radio out.

Pros: It worked fine in getting the radio out.

Cons: The instructions didn't tell how to remove the tool from the radio. I found the answer on Youtube.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Nancy from West Warwick, RI on 8/2/2018

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked just like it should!

Pros: Can be done by yourself . Pull the right side out a little, then the left. Repeat until fully out. Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Riverside , CA on 7/3/2018

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't work besides broking plastic clip the original stereo was connected to...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

Paul from Bartow, FL on 6/21/2018

2012 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tool does what it's meant to do slide it in unlocks receiver pull out receiver

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must have

Rich from Wantagh, NY on 5/19/2018

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Must have this to remove some systems

Pros: works

Cons: little flimsy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Johnston, RI on 5/3/2018

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These tools were a waste of time, would not properly lock in to remove the radio. Ended up looking up a solution online and used a nail clipper file instead and that worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

David from Chase City, VA on 5/2/2018

2001 Mercedes-Benz ML320

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Spanish Fort, AL on 4/29/2018

2005 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect tools for job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Deland, FL on 4/26/2018

2004 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

came right out using these no problems

Pros: easy to get out stock head unit

Cons: hard to pull out once in

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Benton from Fallbrook, CA on 4/23/2018

2003 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A tool you will only ever really need once, unless you have a handful of cars from the same manufacturer. Definitely works to remove the factory stereo from my Audi.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Daniel from Idaho on 4/23/2018

2001 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matched description. Worth it's value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Tim from Bowling Green, KY on 4/18/2018

2003 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Piece of cake, worked like a charm. Not bad for a single use (in my case) item.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just What I needed

Hank from Ontario, NY on 4/15/2018

2012 Audi R8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed!

Pros: As advertized

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Tom from Hawkinsville, GA on 3/21/2018

1999 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once again Crutchfield thinks of everything you will need for a trouble free installation. Must have to get the old radio out.

Pros: Must have to remove old radio. May work on other installations as well.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor quality.

Rick from Clinton, MO on 2/25/2018

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These keys were too thin and would not grab the tabs to remove the factory unit. I had to pull the face of the factory unit to get he tabs and then use pliers.

Pros: None

Cons: See my review. I paid money for items that did not work. I even called into customer support and that was no use.

Crutchfield response on 2/27/2018
Rick, we're sorry you had problems with your DIN tools. Our Customer Support team has issued you a refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Gastonia, NC on 2/4/2018

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Came with bundle the replace radio. Everything needed was in bundle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It does what it's supposed to

Shawn from Brentwood, CA on 1/21/2018

2004 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it's supposed to do

Pros: Worked great came free with stereo purchase

Cons: It takes a little bit of work to figure out which one of the 3 is for your head unit and which direction it goes in but it was free with stereo purchase and it did work so can't complain.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, NJ on 1/10/2018

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product did the job right away. Had trouble with a similar product made for the same purpose.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 1/1/2018

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Perfect for the job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 12/31/2017

2002 Volkswagen Eurovan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely necessary for removing the stock stereo. Can't imagine how you could remove it without these tools.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Steven from Newtonville, NJ on 12/24/2017

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly, no issues

Pros: Worked perfectly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Sunnyvale, CA on 12/11/2017

1999 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tool was just a touch too narrow for the CDR-210 in a Boxster. Using a small nail file and the tool together released the catch on the left side. The right side released with just the tool.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Lewis Center, OH on 12/7/2017

1999 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These two things were pretty amazing. Took me about 12 seconds to get my old radio out. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Pros: Fast radio removal. Can use again if needed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Kenneth from Vaughn, WA on 11/30/2017

2003 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great. Stereo came right out. Will keep for future use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Orleans, IN on 11/10/2017

2006 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great after figuring out which direction to turn them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2001 Volkswagon Beetle Radio Removal

Brian from Ayer, MA on 10/4/2017

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These tools worked great. within seconds had radio out, just slipped them in the slots in radio and out it came. Very Happy, thank you

Pros: Very easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 9/18/2017

2002 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked but sharp

Skyler from ID on 8/8/2017

2006 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great but they do not sand the edges so beware you will cut yourself good on these if you slip while pulling.

Pros: Worked great to remove the stock stereo

Cons: Very sharp edges, sliced my finger open, use caution!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Christa from Fairfield, Va on 7/30/2017

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great ! Must haves !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Robert from La Verkin, UT on 7/23/2017

1997 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product

Pros: Awesome product have used other pieces of metal this makes life easier

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 7/20/2017

2003 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Successfully used to remove radio in 2003 Land Rover Discovery SE (Alpine factory stereo)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 7/19/2017

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as intended, no issues....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, NJ on 6/28/2017

2007 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Old radio stays in dash without these tools. Makes removal of stock radio extremely easy. Without these tools, I would just send the new radio back,or have to pay to have it installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from MN on 6/13/2017

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These work well and are ready to use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would Highly Recommend

Elisha from Tampa, FL on 4/26/2017

2012 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this, along with the other recommended products, to install the Sony XAV-AX100 stereo head unit in my MK4 GTI and it made the whole process 100% easier. Install took less than an hour and the stereo works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yup - It Works

Dennis from Ellensburg, WA on 4/2/2017

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As simple as it gets - works as needed

Pros: It just works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Freeport, ME on 3/30/2017

1997 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as they should. Great, since they were free!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Guest from Peterborough, NH on 3/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simple, works

Pros: Simple

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 3/27/2017

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well, easy to use, but had a tenancy to slip out. Took 4 or 5 tries to get the radio pop out but it did work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

made the job easy

byron from Oregon on 3/8/2017

2003 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked perfectly to remove my stock radio from 03 SLK

Pros: simple and easy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 OEM Radio Removal Tools

Carol from Knoxville, TN on 3/6/2017

2010 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The factory radio removal tools work Much better and Much more expensive! These are ok, but they only worked on 1 side of my radio. They are good to have in a jam. ...but I would rather work with the OEM tools.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Adam from Omaha, NE on 2/19/2017

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Check your factory radio before ordering because you may need two sets of these (the package includes two tools, and some radios require four).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Seattle on 2/19/2017

2004 Volkswagen R32

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as good as the factory tools.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Freddy from Baltimore, MD on 2/5/2017

2002 Volkswagen Cabrio

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It made the whole setup much more simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Satellite Beach, FL on 1/26/2017

2005 Dodge Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 1/26/2017

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tools work great!!!!!!! VW dealer get a lot more for the pair. Thanks again Ron

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Mahir from Tustin on 1/24/2017

2006 Audi S4 Avant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can pull out head unit, as well as glove box mounted CD changer. 2 Sets will be needed to remove RNS-E

Pros: Works, Cheap

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, MN on 1/12/2017

2002 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool tool buy these you will not be disappointed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Hackettstown nj on 1/5/2017

2000 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, Texas on 12/29/2016

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 OEM Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg, VA on 12/28/2016

2004 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tools worked fine but the instructions was wrong for a 2004 vw passat. I finally figured it out with the help of an online video.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 12/26/2016

2000 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 12/24/2016

2001 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Boulder, CO on 12/21/2016

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived in 3 days a day before it was scheduled. Worked as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Polkville, NC on 12/13/2016

1998 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly to remove oem radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/8/2016

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

mike from Marlborough, MA on 11/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great

Pros: worked as should

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Bob from Shady Side, MD on 11/23/2016

1999 Mercedes-Benz ML320

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tools worked perfectly for installation job. Thanks!

Pros: Free with new Kenwood receiver perfect tool for job

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Tool!

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 11/22/2016

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tool worked perfectly! No problem removing the factor radio from our 2003 Beetle!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Schenectady, NY on 11/20/2016

2001 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to remove the factory radio to get to the back of the radio and I purchase 2 set which was 4 total keys. It is very durable and East to use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 11/4/2016

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works awesome in removing the factory radio. Very happy it was shipped with the radio.

Pros: Very easy to use.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Parker, CO on 10/27/2016

2004 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They fit perfect and are so much better than the orginals make taking the stock stereo head unit out really easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 10/13/2016

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Removed the radio in seconds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice freebie

Kenneth from Yukon, OK on 9/1/2016

2004 Dodge Sprinter

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well for Daimler-Benz (Becker) radio

Pros: Free with new deck

Cons: Light weight - not bad, just thin

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Jamel from Damascus-md on 8/24/2016

2001 Mercedes-Benz ML320

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple device that works!

Crutchfield customer from Hatboro, PA on 8/22/2016

2004 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The removal tool worked perfectly to remove the radio in my 2004 Chrysler Crossfire. I simply inserted the tool and it immediately unlocked the hinges which held the radio in place. Following this, the radio slipped out easily.Simple device that works

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, TN on 8/21/2016

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

steve & suellen from Santa Rosa, CA on 8/14/2016

1997 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great removing the factory head unit from my wife's 1997 Mercedes SL320. Like butter...:o) !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Cody buchanan from Virginia on 8/9/2016

1997 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to shop, on time delivery

Pros: On time delivery

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I was unable to get these to work

Paul from Hutchinson, MN on 8/2/2016

2004 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very flimsy metal and didn't work. I don't know if the problem was the flimsy material or a problem with the clips on my factory radio. I had to break the factory radio to get it out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/2/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's great

Stephen from Louisville, KY on 7/24/2016

2001 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes it simple to remove the radio

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Handy Tool

Michael from Kingsport, TN on 6/14/2016

2003 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Handy tool for the job. Other things can be used, but it is nice to have this ready to go. Although it isn't universal, it does cover many applications.

Pros: Handy

Cons: Not universal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Adequate

John from New Haven, CT on 6/6/2016

2004 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My head unit was really wedged in. The thin metal pressed uncomfortably into my hand like a dull knife when I put any pulling force. These might be useful if you have multiple types of clips, but I would have rather gotten my specific clip type with plastic rings on the end. Also, check your system because you might need to release four clips and require two sets of two.

Pros: Fits multiple clip types.

Cons: Cuts into hands with any pulling pressure. Easy to bend.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fascinating tool

George T. from North Miami Beach, FL on 6/6/2016

1999 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took exactly 10 seconds to get my factory radio off with this fascinating tool.

Pros: Can use it again in case I need to put back my OEM radio temporally for any reason.

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not so useful to me

Carlos from Cumming, GA on 5/2/2016

2010 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried all 3 sides & the one that was supposed to work didn't. Now I'm not sure if the release pins were damaged but once the tool was inserted it didn't release the radio from the dash. Ended pulling the key out with pliers thus rendering the pins useless & then the tool couldn't do the job.

Pros: Works when things are right but not for me.

Cons: Read review comments

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools Reviews

Wade M from Denver, CO on 4/6/2016

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a pretty simple and effective tool that does what it's designed to do--remove the in-dash radio. It would be nice if the handles had a soft curved surface, but then we are only talking about a $6 tool! In fact, the shipping was more than the cost of the part, which seemed excessive, as it can be fit into a business size envelope...

Pros: easy to use, durable

Cons: Shipping costs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great removal keys for Becker stereo

Ricardo from santa cruz, CA on 3/27/2016

1994 Mercedes-Benz E500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect tool for the job for removal of Becker radios. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Dustin from Harrisburg, PA on 3/13/2016

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Johanovich from Fraser, MI on 3/6/2016

2006 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did what they were supposed to do. 5 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

eh.

Brady from Ogden, UT on 2/29/2016

2001 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is true i would not have been able to remove my stereo without these, but they came with a lack of clarity on how they should be used and what to expect so i ended up ripping the face off of the stock stereo trying to get it out. luckily, i had no intent on keeping it, but i wish they had clearer instructions on how to use them.

Pros: Very necessary

Cons: little confusing.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Ernie L from torrance, CA on 2/5/2016

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to call the Crutchfield Technical line for help because the existing radio just won't move with the tool inserted as instructed per the Master Sheet. Daniel S sent me a link to the Youtube and then it is obvious the factory radio's retaining clip works completely different than all the after market sleeve retainer. The Boxster factory radio has no sleeve. The tool after insertion collapses the clips in the radio and allows the radio to slide outward. The Youtube video saves the day.

Pros: Technical help, Daniel S, came to the rescue with the Youtube video that shows how the factory radio clips work.

Cons: Master Sheet should state that the 2002 Boxster S factory unit has no sleeve and furthermore the right side of the opening needs to be enlarge about 1/8" to fit the CZ305 sleeve.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wish it was cheaper to just not order these

Tom from Fairfax, VA on 2/3/2016

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked as designed, but I didn't exactly need them. I got them as part of a "kit" when ordering my new radio. The kit comes with 4 components: - wiring harness - antenna adapter - dash pocket - radio removal tools Sadly, it is cheaper to buy all four of these together than it would be to just buy the first two. I didn't need these tools as I already owned some, nor did I need the dash pocket. One more thing to either get lost in the toolbox or end up in the trash.

Pros: Appears to be useful for radios from multiple manufacturers

Cons: Other, manufacturer specific tools are more ergonomic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio Removal tools

Frank from Centennial, CO on 2/1/2016

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield included two pair of these removal tools which enabled me to remove the double din factory radio. Quick and easy once I figured out which way to insert them.

Pros: Worked as stated

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio removal tool

Bon from Arlington Heights IL on 1/28/2016

2004 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I used it for my 2004 vw Passat to remove my double din stereo. You actually only need two not four, just do one side at a time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from South Berwick, ME on 1/26/2016

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These tools were the only way to remove the radio from the 2002 Jetta, and thank you to Crutchfield for including them free. Worked awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works but marginal

Rich from Nevada City, CA on 1/20/2016

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tool works but you have to be very careful because the metal is really soft and the catch notches tend to round off causing it to slip. Almost didn't work because it kept slipping and getting worse. Note that if you have a double DIN radio you might need two sets (2 tools each for a total of 4 tools) to remove it.

Pros: Works with some very careful fidgeting.

Cons: Soft metal which causes the catch notches to round off and slip. Very marginal for tight fitting factory radios such as a 2008 Audi A4.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They do the job

The Retired Viking from Nevada on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These did exactly what they are supposed to do. The only mystery is: why did Crutchfield send two sets?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio removal tool

Rick67 from California on 1/3/2016

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product,

Pros: Worked perfectly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Removal Tool

Greg from Maryville, TN on 12/27/2015

2002 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Little too thin and flexible, could be stiffer

Pros: Unit can work on several factory radios

Cons: Metal thin, could be stiffer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from New York on 12/7/2015

1994 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great

Pros: easy use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well, needs instructions

Crutchfield customer from Georgia on 11/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Removal Tools work well after you figure out by trial and error how to use them. It would be helpful to have written instructions or suggestions on how the use them.

Pros: Works well

Cons: Requires trial and error

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works on 2007 beetle w/ monsoon

P in NH from New Hampshire on 10/31/2015

2007 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works on 2007 beetle with monsoon

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The Right Tools

Nicolas from Maryland on 10/23/2015

2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works well! The tri-star shape takes up more space at the cost of the added utility of having more key shapes.

Pros: Works!

Cons: Maybe a larger size and shape than other radio removal options out there.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

useless

meeswee from Ohio on 10/18/2015

2003 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

cheap, stamped pot metal keys that didn't work. in fact, inserting these keys "sprung" the clips holding the radio in, rendering them useless!..could no longer remove the radio using this method. had to destroy the factory radio to remove it. but, to be fair to the manufacturer of these sharp edged throwing stars, Crutchfield needs to share the blame for this one. they never sent me the removal instructions. ZERO stars for both.

Pros: none

Cons: didn't work, period.

Crutchfield response on 10/19/2015
We're sorry to hear that you had difficulty with the factory radio removal. We send out the vehicle-specific installation instructions ahead of the order (as an attachment to your shipping confirmation email) so that you can familiarize yourself with the installation requirements before receiving your order. We also make instructions for most of our products, including these removal tools, available as a downloadable PDF in the "Details" tab on our web presentation. And of course, our Tech Support team stands by, seven days a week, to help with any installation problems.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sharp, Not great

Crutchfield customer from California on 10/8/2015

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Use work gloves when using these! as i cut myself trying to pull/use these(not too bad), they worked OK on a couple of the 4 key-ways to unClick radio. I ended up just ripping apart the old radio face and tearing out the old bezel in a fit of rage!! with large pair of pliers and flat head screwdriver.

Pros:

Cons: Sharp, weak(bends easy), Other then what end to use Instructions are useless.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works, but ignore the instructions

WCDennis from North Carolina on 9/27/2015

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like other things I bought with the Metra name, the quality is fine, but the instructions are awful. Ignore the little sheet that comes with this tool, instead look at the PDF on this site. If you use it correctly, the tool goes in with a satisfying click and makes extraction of the stock unit a breeze.

Pros: Absolutely necessary tool at a decent price.

Cons: Worthless instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

quick n easy

mrfizzix from western, ma on 9/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quick n easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

worked fine

juan from New Jersey on 9/17/2015

2003 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these radio removers worked perfect when used correct.

Pros: very easy to use-worked perfectly-

Cons: the instructions they came with was wrong. turned it around and it worked as it should. internet is always a helping hand

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 8/31/2015

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not work in removing my factory original receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's Free with your radio purchase!

TCas from Santa Barbara, CA on 7/9/2015

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never fails

Pros: Just wish I had the Mercedes or Porsche to be able to use the other tips!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 86-9001 Factory Radio Removal Tools

Cmptpad from Delaware on 7/7/2015

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for my 1996 MB E-320

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works as directed

skrten30 from Massachusetts on 6/24/2015

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works as directed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Porsche Removal Tool

Gatorman from Texas on 6/11/2015

1999 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well - and it was thrown in for what I bought.

Pros: Fits the Porsche Radio

Cons: Thin and can bend easily

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works great

TN Mnts from Tennessee on 6/1/2015

2001 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked exactly as it's supposed to. I inserted the tool into the factory stereo in my '01 Passat, and it popped right out. No issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Keys

J from Ca on 5/11/2015

2000 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poped my stock deck right out would recommend to all diyers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful