Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
531 758 82

Our hours

Connect ID #
531 758 82
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Our current email response time is
48-72 hours

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Fits select 1986-94 Chevy, GMC, and Oldsmobile models — single-DIN or shaft-style radios

MFR # 92-3042PC

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Fits select 1986-94 Chevy, GMC, and Oldsmobile models — single-DIN or shaft-style radios

MFR # 92-3042PC

52 reviews
View this product

Very pleased

Crutchfield customer from El Sobrante, CA on 7/28/2019

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the installation fit into a had to fit space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cochran, GA on 7/16/2019

1990 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I determined which of the included parts I needed for my specific application the installation went pretty smooth. The instructions are not very vehicle specific in my opinion but everything I needed was there and the fit was good. Definitely made the installation easier and more professional looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Assembly

Crutchfield customer from Gaffney, SC on 6/16/2019

1988 GMC S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

KIt was easy to assemble and has very good , clear simple instructions however I have not yet installed in my car as of this review request. More later

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Carthage, TN on 6/4/2019

1988 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect in my 88 S10

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to assemble-perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Yreka, CA on 5/9/2019

2005 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Dash Kit was easy to assemble and fit my 1987 GMC S-15 perfect. The head unit fit like a glove.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Llewellyn ll320 from Haynesville, VA on 2/1/2019

1988 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit makes install a dream thanks so much for all the help

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Shane from Palm Bay, FL on 1/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly install was easy great built product! Honestly couldn't make it any easier!

Pros: Easy install Great look

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Fit and Finish

Brody from Hampton, SC on 1/16/2019

1992 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit and finish, even features a support tray to carry the weight of the unit, although it was not necessary as I installed a shallow media receiver.

Pros: Great Fit and Finish, Only One I've Seen With A Rear Support Tray

Cons: Can Be Difficult To Piece Together.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, GA on 1/15/2019

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Elon, NC on 1/11/2019

1993 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dash kit fit well. Looks good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Coos Bay, OR on 1/2/2019

1992 GMC Jimmy S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to figure out which extra non shown bracket would finish the proper fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from spartanburg, SC on 10/22/2018

1993 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was very simple and easy to install and I'm glad it came with two mounting brackets because I broke the first one haha

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Flippin, AR on 6/25/2018

1994 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems like it would be a good fit. But it does seem a little weak as others suggested Mine did not come with nuts as the product indicated in assembly instructions. But I was trying something different anyways..

Pros: Some good solid parts. Low cost

Cons: Some flimsy plastic parts and in mine missing parts

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 6/4/2018

1993 GMC S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit just as it should. Not a single issue

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Martinsburg, WV on 4/26/2018

1988 GMC S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dash kit was easy to set up and fit nicely giving a clean stock appearance to the fit & trim. Definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chetek, WI on 3/4/2018

1991 GMC Jimmy S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great easy to follow instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent fit, typical plastics

Crutchfield customer from Stroudsburg, PA on 12/7/2017

1992 GMC Jimmy S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice item - had everything I needed to install the radio that their "finder" suggested. I actually tried getting a "cheaper" version elsewhere and it was garbage... nothing seemed to fit right. So glad I came back here and ordered from this site. Shipping and fit were perfect, but I took one star off because the plastic mount was a little cheesy. It could use stronger/thicker plastic. Once installed the radio does move around a bit when the plastic flexes. My 1992 GMC does NOT have much room for the wiring to tuck and no way to get behind to make it fit - this kit moved the radio OUT just enough to make it work with some real fiddling. One thing I can say - I trust these folks and their "tell me what fits" tool!

Pros: Easy to use, great fit

Cons: Thin plastic makes it a little unstable when installed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Indian Trail, NC on 9/10/2017

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very interesting idea/concept. Only annoying part was i had to break a piece off to make it fit right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Thomas from Harrison, TN on 6/30/2017

1993 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quickly able to get the receiver installed using this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

David from VA on 3/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly in my 1993 jimmy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3043P Dash Kit

Mike N from Tulsa OK on 5/2/2016

1987 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Product Not hard to use

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Wisconsin on 10/12/2015

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great! Easier than I thought it would be. Installed in a '91 S10 with a 1.5" DIN. Looks and works great when finished.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P

TF from Oregon on 7/5/2015

1992 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product allowed me to change from Chevy's factory 1.5 DIN stereo slot to a 1 DIN slot for use with my new Alpine stereo. I installed this kit flawlessly into a 92 S-10 Blazer.

Pros: Great value Effective solution Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Install

Ron from Georgia on 6/29/2015

1993 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and fit my truck perfectly. I would use the companies products again. Crutchfield's shipping was first rate and on time. They also answer any question in a friendly and knowledgeable manner.

Pros: Easy to use directions and easy to install. Holds my radio securely and looks good.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Douglas wy on 5/31/2015

1986 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install, came with everything needed to install. Only took an hour to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Bruno, ca on 5/10/2015

1990 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to out together and fit right in my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect fit

mm from cleveland, tn on 3/27/2015

1989 GMC Jimmy S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install and great quality.

Pros: Easy to read instructions. Intsalled perfectly.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

john from ks on 2/22/2015

1993 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit well

Pros: It fit fine and went together nice. I did use the original radio bracket but the ones with the kit would have worked also

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked well........

Mark B. from Hiwasse Ar. on 1/28/2015

1989 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well...........

Pros: Made the job easy.......

Cons: I did use my factory mounts though, they were better made...........

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

buyer

Crutchfield customer from Gallatin,MO on 10/29/2014

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra92-3042P dash kit

Kevin from Olive branch, Ms on 9/9/2014

1994 Oldsmobile Bravada

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Made installation easy, took all of 15 minutes to install. Easy to understand directions.

Pros: Very simple to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

Bubbie! from Walkersville, Md. on 7/31/2014

1986 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit is a perfect fit for my vehicle. It makes for a nice, factory installed look.

Pros: Great fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Charity from Augusta, GA on 7/24/2014

1992 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Directions on how to assemble were easy to follow.

Pros: Directions on how to assemble were easy to follow and quick to complete.

Cons: It protrudes further than the 1" advertised.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Nelson C. from Utuado PR on 5/4/2014

1992 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it looks like factory receiver .

Pros: Easy to use install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good kit to update a dinosaur.

Pappy from Point Pleasant, WV on 3/9/2014

1991 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality product to allow older vehicles to use updated head units. This is the only option for me to have a modern stereo 91 S10 Blazer. I needed blue tooth and wanted other features and the selection of din and a half head units these days is extremely limited. Good idea and well made.

Pros: Allows modern head unit to be used in older vehicle.

Cons: None. Its all good.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Springfield Ohio on 2/20/2014

1994 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

metra 92-3042p

kf from Spokane, WA on 8/21/2013

1993 GMC Jimmy S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quick and easy

Pros: installing for dummies

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042p

NickR from Asheville, NC on 8/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This mounting kit was sent and was supposed to fit an 1988 Chev. S-10 pickup. However, the assemply intructions were poor, incomplete and left questions for the do-it-yourselfer to figure out on his/her own. The configuration for my particular application was not good and left me with no way to secure the rear of the receiver unit to the base support plate of the kit. Again, there were no instructions for how to accomplish this. After over 2 hours of frustration, I finally had to go buy another mounting kit from a different manufacturer, which had much better intructions and fit perfectly into my S-10. Crutchfield sent 2 metal clips to secure the receiver ( separate from the mounting kit, but no intructions came with them).

Pros: Appeared sturdy.

Cons: Fits the 1988 Chevy S-10 dash opening, but may not secure properly to all major brand receiver bodies. Instructions are poor and incomplete.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Pa on 8/8/2013

1993 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product exceeded my expectations! It was made specifically to solve an insulation issue and did so very well. It is well made and very easy to install.

Pros: Easy to install, sturdy and well made. Solves the depth issue associated with installing a new stereo into a shallow dash.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect fit

Joe M from Avondale, Az on 7/9/2013

1993 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo kit is a perfect fit and work just great.

Pros: Great fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Jason from Junction city ka on 7/6/2013

1990 GMC S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a direct fit and the instructions are spot on. Do be carful if you need to take it back apart cause the plastic clips break pretty easy. I would recommend this to any one though cause its perfect.

Pros: Every thing

Cons: Clips are a little brittle if needing to take it back apart

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Kaz from Delano, CA on 1/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

no good, wrong part,

Pros:

Cons: Had a pro install radio. The part did not fit. Threw it away and purchased the correct in-dash kit. It was free, but what good was it?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Handy Kit

John V from Raleigh, NC on 12/16/2012

1987 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well thought out kit. Snaps together securely and then is secured again with screws. It fit my '87 S-10 well.

Pros: Durable and looks great. Anyone who has had a GM truck from that vintage knows the aftermarket radios stick out an inch or so. The kit does a good job of dressing it up.

Cons: Test fit before breaking off unneeded plastic ears.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Jerry from St. Charles, Il on 11/12/2012

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything fit great, they made it easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

dom from Elmwood Park, IL on 8/13/2012

1992 GMC Typhoon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best kit I used

Pros: Best kit I have used especially for free

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

S-10 Reciever kit

mrdeeno2 from Nebraska on 5/23/2012

1986 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks really good and works good once installed

Pros: easy to install and looks good

Cons: I hated those cheap plastic mounts..needs to be metal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sonoma Kit

Tim from Texas on 4/18/2012

1993 GMC Sonoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great as always

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good kit

Jake M. from Norristown, PA on 4/2/2012

1992 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit, fit into my '92 s10 dash real easily and holds my jvc stereo very well. Only problem was there were some molding issues with the plastic pieces (the entire kit is plastic) and i had to whittle/shape them to fit together with a modeling knife.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very easy

rob585 from Albuquerque New Mexico on 2/8/2009

1991 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit was very easy to install .Take your time. Read the instructions and anybody can do it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 92-3042P Dash Kit

Kevin from Massachusetts on 2/6/2009

1992 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installation go nice and easy! Wasn't a perfect fit, but you can make it work ;-) It had a few extra pieces in it that made a couple directions kind of confusing, but still very easy to read and do. hey, it ALWAYS beats paying someone to install it for you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great adapter

slamm from Reading Pa on 9/29/2008

1994 Chevrolet Blazer S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great adapter Kit. Made install a breeze !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wow.

Mr. Washington from Gadsden, SC on 1/30/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It Performed Just as Expected. If you are going to add an aftermarket stereo this is a must and it is great value for money. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

TOP