Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
819 018 04
Connect ID #
819 018 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Fits select 1997-2003 Ford and Lincoln trucks and SUVs — double-DIN radios

MFR # 95-5818

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Fits select 1997-2003 Ford and Lincoln trucks and SUVs — double-DIN radios

MFR # 95-5818

90 reviews
View this product

Finishing touch you need

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Sta, NY on 2/21/2021

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great finish. Multiple included.

Pros: Finishes off install right Multiple options to suit your install

Cons: A little flimsy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Stuarts Draft, VA on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product that left the installation looking factory after the job was completed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits if you make it

Crutchfield customer from Springtown, TX on 2/4/2021

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For my application, the trim bezels were slightly too thick to allow the factory trim to seat properly. Slow trimming got me there, but I'd prefer a better finish. I don't think they can get much thinner on this plastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Delivered frustration

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 2/3/2021

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The flimsy pieces of molded plastic don't fit the KENWOOD radio they are advertised for. The pieces of plastic that screw to the side of the radio seem to work so far, time will tell. The so called face plates only delivered frustrations. The fact that they supplied two of them tells me the company doesn't know what fits this radio. I'm sending them back.

Pros: Side brackets work

Cons: Faceplate is an exercise in frustration. Doesn't fit my KENWOOD. Not as advertised

Crutchfield response on 2/8/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Misleading instructions

Jordon from Ft Morgan, CO on 12/27/2020

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used on a Soundstream Reserve VR-7HB in a 99 F150. Neither trim piece seemed to fit properly. Perhaps its because I do not have the stereo recessed clear back into the outer dash. I have it just about flush which is my preference. Also the cutaway instructions were very misleading. You don't just cut away the inner dash top panel --that angles down(shaded portion in instructions).. You must make the actual opening about 1/2in taller! I absolutely recommend doing so by cutting only the top portion out to make it larger, it won't have to be perfect or straight. Do NOT cut the --top and bottom- as some people have seemed to do then they had issues. I did not even need to bolt mine in. The metra side trim hooked into the factory locking tabs built into the opening on the left and right like it says it will. Overall way more work than expected, but I did not immediately realize my Ford f150 was not din standard. I should have remembered this as my ford ranger wasn't either. Instructions are just poor for what needs cut and best way to do it, thats all there is to it.

Pros: Snaps into factory locking tabs

Cons: Instructions for what needs cut away are not good.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 11/30/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! Very helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ramona, CA on 11/25/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works great, but instructions are almost worthless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Warrenton, MO on 9/26/2020

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit fit my f150 great, it made installation a breeze

Pros: Well designed

Cons: No issues

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for Double Din

Colin from WEIMAR, TX on 6/25/2020

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good fit for double din. Does not fit in a 1996 Ford F-150.

Pros:

Cons: Does not fit 1996 Ford F-150.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Pine City, MN on 6/25/2020

1997 Ford F-250 Light Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product ,perfect fit

Pros: Great products, awesome service, excellent tech support

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kit is trash

JASON from Waxhaw NC on 6/22/2020

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit is trash. Installer had to trim and grind it to get it to fit and there is still a gap. 2001 F-150 and JVC KW-V250BT. Instructions are virtually non-existent. Cut the metal sub-dash frame? This is not DIY.

Pros: None. It's the only kit offered by Crutchfield for this stereo.

Cons: Poor fit, bad instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 6/10/2020

1999 Ford F-250 Light Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

explanation of how this is supposed to work is horrible. some dashes could be lost in this process

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/15/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bella Vista, AR on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No negative issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Ponca City, OK on 5/10/2020

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product was very easy to install and the support guide gave some good advice. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 5/7/2020

2000 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My radio is working just find. I love it makes my dashboard look fabulous

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Jeffersonville, IN on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a small amount of adjustment but what I was looking for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Clearfield, UT on 4/26/2020

1999 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just like it says, it fits very nicely around the hole cut to make a full 4" din system fit my 99 ford expedition

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 4/20/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not fit

Crutchfield customer from Laurens, SC on 1/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely does not fit a 1999 Ford F150. Ended up with no trim ring at all on the radio, even after removing the entire top panel of the heater control module.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kit does not work 100%.

Crutchfield customer from Benicia, CA on 12/26/2019

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit lacks detail sufficient to be able to install the purchased Kenwood head. Will need to make my own brackets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Carnegie, PA on 12/17/2019

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits the unit perfectly. But the 2003 f150 needed trimmed.

Pros:

Cons: Modification could have been unavoided.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 12/2/2019

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit gave my installation a professional touch thanks again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Reeds Spring, MO on 12/2/2019

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

didn't need the dash kit. but if you need it great to get it for free.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

imperfect fit, poor instructions make sub dash cuts questionable

Crutchfield customer from Cedar City, UT on 11/19/2019

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didnt quite snap in place right in my 1997 F-150. Instructions were pretty worthless regarding the sub-dash modification. I ended up having to spend about an hour on youtube researching other 10th gen F-150/Expedition owners and how they went about cutting. The instructions included were not confidence inspiring, and I certainly didnt want to start making irreversible cuts without a sure confidence that I was doing it the right way. Now that everything is in place it looks fine, but installation was a pain. I had to actually remove the radio again after having everything in place and finished because the plates on the side needed to sit all the way forward to the front of the radio. So yeah, overall product quality was okay, but fitment wasnt quite perfect and the poor instructions (and lack of any kind of instructions in the mastersheet as well) made installation take much longer because i had to figure stuff out on my own.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's o.k.

Crutchfield customer from Albany, GA on 10/17/2019

2002 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The slots in the side pieces break easily. The front ring was too small to go around my deck.

Pros: It fits the vehicle screws.

Cons: Flimsy side pieces. Part of kit didn't fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Blanchard, OK on 10/1/2019

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Hollywood

Jacob from Hollywood on 9/16/2019

1999 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Side plates work out ok ish. The trim pieces that come with it are absolute trash. Giant headache.

Pros: None

Cons: My head is splitting

Crutchfield response on 9/17/2019
Jacob, we're sorry you're having issues with your kit. If you haven't completed your installation, and you need our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Kevin from Lenoir, NC on 6/30/2019

2002 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sucks but I've got no other option

Ethan from Newnan, GA on 6/22/2019

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the only product for my vehicle and I guess it works but... when it arrived one of my trim pieces had the mounting tab snapped off. Luckily it wasn't the one I needed. The kit comes with 2 side mounting brackets but absolutely no screws to put it in with!! So that's a huge pain! Luckily I know what I need to do to cut my dash to make the double din fit because the instructions that come with it SUCK!! But like I said it's all I've got so 2 stars.

Pros: Comes with 2 trim pieces for the radio itself, one for 6-6.8" radios and one for 7" and below.

Cons: One of my trim pieces for the radio arrived broken. Doesn't come with screws for the side mounts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 6/12/2019

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap and crappy. But it worked. Not many options when it comes to dash kit so your stuck with this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just ok. Mounted in a 2003 F150

Crutchfield customer from Mc Alpin, FL on 6/5/2019

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There needs to be a better way to design this. The trim ring causes my bezel to bulge because this mounts to the a/c controls and puts them out of alignment, it seems like this could just mount to the radio clips instead thereby leaving the a/c co trolls in there original orientation.

Pros: Inexpensive. Came with everything I needed to install.

Cons: Shifts the a/c controls on an F150 causing the bezel to bulge.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, WA on 6/3/2019

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The directions for cutting the dash were fine. You tube video helped much more.

Pros: Worked as professed

Cons: Neither face trim ring worked with dash trim. Had to modify radios trim ring to make look right

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 5/1/2019

1999 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good to have two sizes sent with radio

Pros:

Cons: did not snap tight on radio face ,also mounting tabs for screws were 1/2 hole to short on ether face plate also had to use plastic spacer washers 1/8" thick behind tabs so when tightning screws would not pull face plate off radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Waterloo, IA on 3/23/2019

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The install kit worked decent. The instructions were horrible. Needs to explain cutting the dash better. It took several times of cutting and test fitting to get the stereo to fit right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Cleothia from Olive Branch, MS on 3/17/2019

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thank you

Pros: Thank you

Cons: Thank you

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sahuarita, AZ on 1/23/2019

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a perfect fit but with some slight modification works out nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Professional Install

Glenn from Prairieville, LA on 9/30/2018

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The final fit looked very professional but I did need to clip the tips off.

Pros: Looks very professional.

Cons: Not exactly a perfect fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Onsted, MI on 9/2/2018

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked but did not use the front plates, i made my own trim.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not great

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 8/20/2018

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit is fair at best. The side plates fit fine, no real complaints about them. The front trim plates though are worthless. All head units are different, and this only fits certain ones, of a certain size and shape. The corners are rounded. The Jensen head unit I installed has pointy corners, so they didn't work. Even with grinding and changing the shape, fitment was mediocre. I understand that Metra cannot dictate what other manufacturers do, so maybe have different kits depending on the corner shape?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Millard from Mckenzie, TN on 8/18/2018

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was not an easy install for my Ford F150 but by taking my time and following the instructions the outcome was excellent. The Metra dash kit gave the install a very nice finishing touch.

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Greg from Russellville, AR on 6/12/2018

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've installed a lot of head units over the years. This one required the most modification to the vehicle to achieve a good fit. Provides a finished look when installed correctly.

Pros: Functions as advertised with extensive modifications to the dash structure. Provides good support and a proper finished appearance.

Cons: Despite coming with two different trim pieces, additional modification was required to get a good fit (on my application at least)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Veerayuth from Lowell, MA on 4/27/2018

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like how you get two different kits in one. You're guaranteed to get the right fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kaunakakai, HI on 4/19/2018

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MS on 4/9/2018

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

not a good fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 4/5/2018

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As published..some modification to dash required (medium skill with tools). Looks great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So-so

Rick from Pevely, MO on 3/26/2018

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not too happy with this item which is unusual for just about anything I have purchased from Crutchfield. Many years ago I worked as a manager and installer at a custom audio shop so I was in on the ground floor of the "let's see what works" movement. Many years later, I still enjoy a good challenge but little did I expect it to come from an F-150. This kit does little to provide support for the head unit and even less to finish the job cosmetically. I especially found the lack any kind of securement for the upper portion of the trim to be frustrating. But, it's in and it looks reasonable--I just prefer excellent! BTW-there should be a black box warning on this listing cautioning prospective DIY installers that some major dash mods are necessary. It's on the enclosed instructions but by then one is pretty much committed!

Pros: It almost works

Cons: Little structural support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Ben from Williston, ND on 2/26/2018

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It didn't fit well in my dash even after the modifications I followed on the directions. I would have liked it to fit flush to the dash but only one side of front part sits flush. I installed it in a 2001 F150

Pros: Supports stereo well

Cons: Does not sit flush on both parts of front plate section

Crutchfield response on 2/27/2018
Ben, whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not fit 1997 f150

Marcus from Louisiana on 1/23/2018

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit, used the original that came with the unit

Pros: None

Cons: Did not fit 1997 f150

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All the right parts

Crutchfield customer from Greeley, CO on 1/7/2018

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit contains everything needed to fit the truck and new Bluetooth and rear camera. All I had to do was give the year. make and model of the truck... a no-brainer! It even arrived in the same box as the radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Rye, CO on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It did not fit properly, but with some modifications, it will work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does NOT fit 2002 Ford F-150

Kurt from Waukesha, WI on 12/10/2017

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Trim plate does NOT fit 2002 Ford F-150. The truck's climate control unit that the trim plate bracket is supposed to attach to is much wider than the bracket. Frame broke trying to spread bracket apart far enough to make it fit.

Pros: Side mounting plate worked fine and provides a tight fit that won't come loose easily.

Cons: Doesn't fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Jeff from Lexington, KY on 12/2/2017

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers to replace original stock ones. They were a great price!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 11/14/2017

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gets the job done. I wish it was metal. Also the face plates were unless. Doesn't fit most units

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Thibodaux, LA on 10/31/2017

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what was required to install the new radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Chad from Crawfordsville, IN on 10/23/2017

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a good fit pretty easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

trim plate

charlie from Hawley, PA on 10/9/2017

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

PART AS ADVERTISED, THE RIGHT PART FOR THE RADIO AND TRUCK

Pros: easy fit, right part the first time

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 10/6/2017

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The side brackets were the biggest help in my case. The frame pieces that attach to the climate control bolts didn't fit my stereo that well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Owensboro, KY on 10/6/2017

2001 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield thinks of everything. Perfect fit, nice finished look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Port Washington, NY on 8/27/2017

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installation easier

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Thomasville, NC on 7/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not as solid as I had hoped but the fit and finish are good. Overall a good product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Vision from Elk City, OK on 4/18/2017

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had some problems with this ended up not using the surrounds. The double DIN receiver was a very tight fit in my F-150. Not sure how I would ever get it out if I needed to since the sides push into a notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Kevan from Fenton,Mo on 4/8/2017

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap worthless trim does not fit the Kenwood DPX592BT that I purchased. Instructions were vague at best. Both my Dad and I had trouble with it. Stereo still not installed after working on it all day yesterday. Need to purchase a better kit locally to finish my install.

Pros: None and it's free

Cons: Way too many to list but specifically vague instructions cheap trim that does not fit!!!! Wish I could give ZERO stars!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, PA on 3/19/2017

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not bad

Pros: Came with my new radio

Cons: Directions are horrible

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ocean Springs, MS on 3/6/2017

1998 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

There must be better alternatives out there

Crutchfield customer from Gresham, OR on 2/26/2017

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2 separate frames came with this kit but neither one of them would fit around my AVH-4200NEX. I had to cut the top and bottom out of the frame and just use the sides. What little instruction included was not any help at all. Had to figure out by trial and error the proper position for the side mounts.

Pros:

Cons: Frame would not fit my AVH-4200NEX without modification. Poor instructions.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 2/25/2017

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Without this kit I couldn't have installed the unit .its the only instructions that made any sense

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Dedham, MA on 1/2/2017

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't fit well in a 2003 ford f-150 super crew cab

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Of Questionable Value For My Vehicle

Phil from Quincy, WA on 12/13/2016

1999 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1999 Ford F-150 This is a non-DIN vehicle. The dash opening is exactly the height of the DIN spec & a bit wider. The inner dash must be modified (cut away) & the existing brackets drilled to secure the head unit. One of the surrounds can be used if the lower horizontal piece is cut away leaving a 3-sided frame. Also, cut away the tabs that otherwise would be secured under the 2 upper screws of the heater controls. That said, now it must be secured. I haven't decided what I will do. If it doesn't stay secured then I don't want to look at the scars that might be left behind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/14/2016
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Phil to issue an apology and help him further. We'll either help him get the kit installed correctly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Get out your grinder.

Luther from Green Bay, WI on 11/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks fine once installed but is not a true custom factory fit. I received the kit for a '99 F-150. It comes with two frames so you can choose which one is right for your head unit. The one I needed to fit my Pioneer AVH X4800BS did not fit the vehicle correctly. The screw tabs were too narrow to fit over around the climate control module beneath. I had to grind approximately 1/8" off each tab in order to open the space between wide enough to fit. It look great now, but do not count on it being perfect for your vehicle.

Pros: Looks nice once installed.

Cons: Did not install without physical modification.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good fit, bad instructions

Keith from Dallas, TX on 11/14/2016

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Obviously meant to fit a wide range of vehicles. The instructions could be a little clearer. For instance it just says pick the proper surround without telling you how to determine which is the proper one. A lot of trial and error on that. Then, there were no instructions on locating the side brackets. I didn't notice until I was finished with the install that I must have installed them a bit off since the screen is slightly further in on one side. If I have the time I can fix it and it could have been avoided with clearer instructions.

Pros: Fits well, looks good.

Cons: Instructions too generic

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from New jersey on 9/18/2016

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked As designed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

kee from philadelphia, PA on 9/13/2016

1999 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to use and matches up directly with the product. A definite must buy!!

Pros: Easy to use and install. Piece of cake

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good Kit.

Cyclops from Broken Arrow, OK on 9/6/2016

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Filled in the gap left in the factory opening in the dash. Two bezels to select which one fits your Head Unit. One a bit rounder on the inside corners and one a bit less that I used. Side plates worked and were easy to adjust by just pulling the unit half way back out and then push back in to see how the fit looked.

Pros: Easy to adjust and two covers to choose from

Cons: Side plates were a bit flimsy and can break if you screw down too hard, which you don't really need to do anyway if the Head Unit fits snug in the dash any way.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Seamless Installation

John from Maryville, TN on 7/16/2016

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. No problems at all. It was exactly what was needed to install my new radio in my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to Install Kit

Chris from Portland, OR on 7/5/2016

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This install kit made it so easy to install my new 2 din deck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit.

thebigr from Seneca, SC on 6/21/2016

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit just like they said it would. put it all together with no problem.

Pros: Easy to use and fit great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit.

Marianne L from Seneca, SC on 6/21/2016

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and everything was as expected. Easy to install and worked out well.

Pros: Easy to install and everything fit good.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra dash kit

Lawrence M from Danville Va on 5/29/2016

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. Provided two different face plates, and side mounting brackets to lock the stereo into the dash.

Pros: Ease of use, and it was provided for free

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

works nicely

Crutchfield customer from Lilburn, GA on 5/25/2016

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks nice once installed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Hillsboro, OR on 4/7/2016

2000 Lincoln Navigator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Could be a bit better

Doug from South Bay Ca on 4/4/2016

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One face plate fits stereo not screws other fits screws not stereo

Pros: Did get to work - sort of

Cons: See above

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Scared to cut

C18 from Haymarket, Virginia on 3/13/2016

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After figuring out what you have to do, the kit makes a nice install. Doesn't take away from the original look of the dash. Makes whatever unit you put in look nice.

Pros: Everything at the tip of your hand.

Cons: Advise what cutting tool would be easy if you have to cut the dash behind the install.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AAA-Plus

John M from raleigh, NC on 2/24/2016

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best products

Pros: Easy install for adding an aftermarket radio

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Bob S from mesa, AZ on 2/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brackets attached to radio easily, however the trim pieces would not fit around the head unit.

Pros: Brackets easy to install. Head unit and brackets fit in dash just tight enough to hold radio, not tight enough to bend anything.

Cons: Trim could not be used. Head unit has sharp 90 degree corners, trim pieces have radiuses in the corner (rounded) so trim would not fit over face of head unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Would not have worked without this!

Justin from Verona, VA on 2/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an absolute most for installing a Pioneer DVD in my 2001 Ford F150. I was prepared and knew that I had to modify the trucks dash chassis to make it fit but my only reason for 4 stars is because I had to cut and modify the kit as well. Not bad but I did have to cut out the entire upper crossbar for the dash bezel to go back in place. Over all I would buy it again and I LOVE Crutchfield! Livetime customer her.

Pros: Filled in the side gaps on the head unit perfect.

Cons: Tricky to get trimmed for correct fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap

Speedfan from morristown, TN on 2/8/2016

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very poorly built and designed. Free from Crutchfield or would have returned.

Pros: Free

Cons: Too many to list.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good deal

Mrhan from Indiana on 1/17/2016

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and easy to install.. self explanitory instructions.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Limited mounting options.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Necessary hardware

Radio head from South Carolina on 1/3/2016

1999 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Must have piece to install my radio in my 99 Expedition. It just snapped into place after connecting ears to radio. The trim pieces could not be used.

Pros: Quick and easy

Cons: Trim does not fit or help

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

successful

ryunker from Illinois on 12/26/2015

1997 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked wonderful, no issues worked great

Pros: Exact great fit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5818 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, fl on 10/25/2015

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheapy plastic cracked easily when tightening screws, but it got the job done and its holding it in there wiggle free. Never have to think about it again now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP