Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
098 806 04
Connect ID #
098 806 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Fits select 2012-up Toyota Tacoma models — double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # 95-8235B

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Fits select 2012-up Toyota Tacoma models — double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # 95-8235B

83 reviews
View this product

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lahaina, HI on 2/13/2021

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pass on this product, nothing good to say, I thought I was the only one having issues but after reading reviews seems a very common topic that this metro dash kit is junk. Mounting feet are little more rigid than Gumby's feet but not much. Good luck getting the head unit to sit perfectly to your liking or for that matter even close to your liking. Guarantee you need to dremel the opening to get face plate to fit. Trim piece just rattles around on the dash and could see it falling off by an unexpected speed table. Yes I have used the proper clips and it holds but wouldn't call it secure. Anyway, save your time, money doesn't became an issue with this until start stripping bolts because you have to take head unit out 10 plus times trying to achieve a fit that isn't possible with this dash kit. If you do decide to buy this kit make sure you have a tap and die set to fix overworked threads so when you give up on the junk metro dash kit after countless wasted hours and go with the scosche everything bolts up correctly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/17/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu , HI on 1/16/2021

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were a bit vague and I had to order another kit because I messed it up and broke the first one. After the other one arrived, there were still questions. The opening for the double DIN radio is a bit too big so I can see behind the panel

Pros: Looks original to the factory panel

Cons: Vague instructions and cut out is not perfect.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 1/9/2021

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This metra kit is lame, finally bought the scosche kit to replace it. Day and night difference in quality and fit. Don't waste your money like I did get the scosche

Pros:

Cons: Fit and finish=junk

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not up to standards i thought about Crutchfield?

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 12/7/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit looks nice but it's a horror to line up the stereo to the face plate. The plastic brackets are flimsy and do not allow for a solid mount. As a previous installer I'd recommend the Scosche dash kit and wish that Crutchfield would sell it.

Pros: Looks nice

Cons: Very hard to line up straight and square Flimsy brackets Head unit moves when you push on the touchscreen or buttons Waste of money

Crutchfield response on 12/15/2020
Our Customer Support has reached out to this customer for a follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Saint Johns, FL on 11/28/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit, clean look. Exactly what I needed and better fit than I expected for an aftermarket product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh

Crutchfield customer from Beaufort, SC on 11/21/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sadly the kit did not align with the head unit I purchased through the site very well. I had to trim it both on the bottom and the sides. Everything else fit perfectly, including the original hazard light and clock insert. Sadly it did not align with the bottom of the head unit at all and now there's a big gap at the top. Also unable to get the steering wheel controls to function with the interface provided with following instructions included. The brackets for the head unit did align with the mount. This was for my 2013 Toyota Tacoma.

Pros: Kit worked to make head unit function. Hazard light and clock fit.

Cons: Opening for head unit did not align well with acquired head unit, a lot of customization required. Wiring incapable of making steering wheel controls function.

Crutchfield response on 11/24/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, TN on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit well and the finish matched what was in the truck.

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK Fit

Graham from BALDWINSVILLE, NY on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2015 Toyota Tacoma and it accommodates the radio and looks nice. The only thing I don't like is it feels a little flimsy. It works, just wish it held the radio little more firmly.

Pros: Simple Install

Cons: Not as sturdy as I would like

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, CO on 10/6/2020

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits my 2015 Toyota Tacoma perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality issues but looks good

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 10/5/2020

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks like stock in my truck but has quality issues. The plastic brackets had to be used on my truck. One of the holes broke when I tightened the deck into my dash so my deck sits a bit angled. The surround looks good but doesn't fit perfectly in the dash, the upper corners don't stay in all the way so it rattles when I drive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/12/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Tacoma factory replacement

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield, TX on 9/29/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the factory stereo and it looks as good if not better that original.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Dash Kit fits the way it should

Crutchfield customer from Tuckerton, NJ on 8/24/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Get this dash kit; it makes the installation flawless.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good replacement

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 7/22/2020

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice and snapped in very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Need A Better Alternative

Scott from Suffolk, VA on 4/15/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No Very Good. Brackets are flexible plastic & dont hold radio in place as it should. This allows for small gaps around the unit

Pros: The look is good

Cons: Week Plastic Brackets

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not a good design

Brian from VERSAILLES, KY on 4/13/2020

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Horrible design, had to dremel the opening to get it to work. Only 2 of the mounting bolts (stock has 4) would line up.

Pros: trim piece looks ok

Cons: horrible fitment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits, but you have to work it.

Crutchfield customer from Odenton, MD on 3/25/2020

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just tightening the screws, the unit to low for the faceplate. The holes are oversized enough for you to hold the unit up then tighten them, then it fits fine. You'll be tempted to use the factory brackets because they're metal, but you don't get that play to move the unit up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garbage!

Crutchfield customer from Ft Walton Bch, FL on 3/23/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolute garbage. Just a worthless piece of plastic. The mounting clips at the top will not hold the faceplate in place, which is a known issue in the Tacoma forums. Had to go with the Scosche TA2111B to make it work right.

Pros: None that would make me want to purchase it.

Cons: Horrid design. You'll have to permanently mount the faceplate to make it work which defeats the purpose.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tamuning, GU on 2/10/2020

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits pretty easily! Great product!

Pros:

Cons: Plastic mounting for the radio, wish it's made of stainless steel for sturdy mounting.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointing

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 1/29/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The face plate was ok quality and easy to install. The one size fits all brackets were a pain to install. I would have thought Crutchfield had it figured out and all I had to do was install the screws into the holes on the brackets the instructions told me to. I was way wrong on that. I had to guess (instructions did not direct which holes to use) then install, check for fit and readjust. Once I finally got it right about where I thought it should be, I realized there was a small gap at the bottom (I adjusted the gap to bottom so it would not be as noticeable). The stereo I ordered did not fit flush with this face plate. Very disappointing. I purchased from Crutchfield in hopes of an easy install after all this is what they are known for but no this one really fell below the bar.

Pros: Nice matte finish

Cons: Difficult install Small gap at Bottom of stereo and Face plate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra dash kit is junk

Crutchfield customer from Indio, CA on 1/27/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit did not fit the Soundstream radio I bought as a package from Crutchfield. The plastic "one-size-fits-all" brackets that mount to the vehicle (2013 Toyota Tacoma, in this case) did not match up at all to the machined holes in the radio chassis. In addition, the screws that were provided were pan head screws that were 1) too short to fit through the bracket and into the radio and 2) pan head screws don't work with a flat bracket - the bracket needed countersunk holes or slots. I was forced to return the kit for credit and go outside and order a Scoshe dash kit from another supplier that had much better metal brackets and did, in fact, fit the radio I was installing.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Doesn't fit the radio chassis

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks fantastic, just like factory. But the brackets are cheap plastic and hard to get lined up properly, the flex too much resulting in the radio being slightly angled. I resorted to inserting plastic shims to get the radio aligned before putting the faceplate in place.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not worth the money!

Connor from Cortez, CO on 12/20/2019

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying I do not give 1 star reviews very often, especially on a relatively inexpensive item. I usually do a lot of research before buying something, but this was an exception because this dash kit came with the set of accessories recommended by Crutchfield when buying my Kenwood 706s for my 2013 Toyota Tacoma. The only good thing I can say about this kit is the color matches the interior well. The brackets are VERY cheap VERY flexible plastic. So flexible that the brand new Kenwood radio I bought moves in the dash when I touch it...its like its on a set of springs or something. The fit of the trim plate is NOT well matched to the radio or the truck either. There are visible gaps between the trim and the radio unit on the top and bottom. The trim piece also does not clip in to the dash. It pretty much just sits in there by friction alone...not exactly confidence inspiring. I got this kit as part of the suggested set of accessories for installing my new radio and considering the quality of everything else I received I am very disappointed that Crutchfield would include a product with such low quality.

Pros: The color looks good with my interior

Cons: Poor fit with Kenwood 706s Does not insert securely in to dash. Brackets are VERY flexible and cause radio to move when touched.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No a good bracket

Crutchfield customer from Miami Lakes, FL on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item should be sold as perfect fit. It does not fit at all

Pros: None

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/17/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team for help. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bernice, LA on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits just right. Looks factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not good fit for 2015 Tacoma

Crutchfield customer from Salida, CO on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this kit for a 2015 Toyota Tacoma. Bought to pair with the Alpine ilx-w650. The Kit has a very poor fit. It makes a beautiful radio look cheap. There is approx 3/16" gap on top/bottom of double din face. Looks terrible. I will be looking for a new kit or return everything to reinstall the factory deck. Black color matches interior well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/2/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Cris, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the kit to fit properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra kit for Tacoma

Crutchfield customer from Laporte, CO on 8/21/2019

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Interface fits as it should

Pros: Fits well...... finally

Cons: Poor instructions on how to attach brackets to get the face plane and depth of the radio to match the Metra. Took several tries. Helpful to mark edge of bracket on radio so you know how to move it for the next placement to fit it right.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Michael from Lexington, KY on 7/29/2019

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit is trash. The side panels do not have enough hole options and are floppy plastic. They do not attach to the face so the head unit does not align correctly. I returned this and purchased the Scosche kit. It is 1000% better for about $10 more.

Pros:

Cons: Cheap plastic. Poor fit and finish. Thoughtless design.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 7/26/2019

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slight gap on what I can only assume is a perfectly normal head unit. Doesn't really "snap" into place. Fits in the console space well though, and I like the look of the matte black in the truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't buy it!

Adam from Taunton, MA on 5/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2015 Tacoma. Absolute worst mounting kit I've ever seen. Flimsy, only comes with 3 of the 5 needed clips, and fits a double din radio terribly. I wish I had seen the reviews on here and online, Metra should be embarassed to release such garbage. The new radio sounds great and has all the features I wanted, but I can't enjoy it looking at this junk in my dashboard. Might have to return the radio and reinstall stock.

Pros: It might be recyclable.

Cons: Everything.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from King City, OR on 5/14/2019

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks nice, but didn't fit exactly for my build on my '12 Toyota tacoma trd sport w/ KVC KW-M750BT. Was able to take a hand file to it and take off about 1/4 inch on both sides and work it out. Final build looks great (just a couple of slight dings from the file on the finish, but it's a 7 year old truck, so nothing to write home about)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Its the only one made for the truck, so make it work.

Crutchfield customer from Lannon, WI on 5/2/2019

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2014 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport. The unit I was sent was a dull black, I had to return and replace with same unit that is properly glossy black like original. My Pioneer AVH-2550NEX did not fit through the opening. Awaiting my appointment with installer pro to make this work. It was not a perfect fit for the truck's dash. seemed a bit off on lower area.

Pros: Good looking if you get tthe glossy black one

Cons: Fitment isn't perfect but there are literally no other kits for this year's truck, everything else is for the older dash style.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice fit

Crutchfield customer from Honey Brook, PA on 4/19/2019

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect. Make sure to use the clips off the stock unit and make sure you don't use the face plate that comes with the radio, it won't fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Brandon from Stuart, OK on 4/8/2019

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice color and finish

Pros:

Cons: Needs metal brackets

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Phollip from Rocklin, CA on 1/16/2019

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Face plate fits great looks very close to factory install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh

Brandon from Chesapeake, VA on 1/8/2019

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio opening too big at least for my Sony xav5000 in a 2012 Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/9/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Brandon to help him get his receiver installed correctly. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bixby, OK on 12/27/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Face plate is nicely finished and fits very well. The plastic brackets that mount the aftermarket stereo into the dash are too flimsy. I will be taking my stereo out, remove the plastic brackets, then modify the factory steel brackets to fit the aftermarket stereo and install them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Brandon from Missouri City, TX on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pleasantly surprised by this piece. The matte finish is superior to the stock glossy finish in my truck. The plastic mounting wings are not as solid as I would have liked, but they did not cause a problem in installation and function fine in the dash. The support clips are only on the top, so the climate control panel ends up supporting the bottom. This wasn't a problem, but it is different than the stock design.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Kenith from Abilene, TX on 10/15/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything went together easy and everything I needed came in the box

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from North Royalton, OH on 9/17/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap. Keeps popping out of place.

Pros: Fits my make/model.

Cons: Cheap, doesn't stay inplace.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

It's o.k.

Greg from Middletown, MD on 9/3/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Just can't get everything to line up neatly, squarely in the opening , the plastic brackets tend to twist when you tighten them to the dash makes the head unit appear crooked. Also they ship with flat head flush mount screws to attach the brackets to the head unit, the screws tend to act as a wedge in the plastic, spreads the opening (if that makes sense) making the bracket to stereo connection loosen with heat when the plastic softens. I fixed this by switching to a pan head screw.

Pros: Matches the interior trim.

Cons: See review

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit and match

Crutchfield customer from Phoenixville, PA on 8/28/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and match to my existing tacoma

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

dash kit for toyota tacoma 2014

Crutchfield customer from Newburyport, MA on 8/24/2018

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to Install. Takes time to adjust the head deck to make it aligned in the middle. I couldn't Install the shroud around the head deck as the gap wasn't big enough for it to fit. I am Still investigating to see if I can get the head deck shroud to fit some how.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall a good product and recommended

Jim from Mahopac, NY on 8/20/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

On the service it's 5 stars on the product the overall quality was very good. The finish looks great. I had some minor issues with the fit and had to shim the radio bracket so the dials extend enough. All in all a good product

Pros: Fit and finish

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesn't fit a double din stereo

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 8/14/2018

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks good, but this dash kit is the wrong size for double din stereos. Check the other reviews here and elsewhere and you'll find the same story. Never even attempted to install because I couldn't get the standard double din stereo to fit inside. Had to order another one online. Unfortunately, one of the reasons I buy from Crutchfield is to avoid this type of thing... but wasn't so fortunate this time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Martinez, CA on 7/15/2018

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great no issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Tealdo from Tempe, AZ on 6/27/2018

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crazy easy to install and actually looks better than stock!

Pros: No pro needed. Any lump headed dope can install this!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Cephas from Colorado Spgs, CO on 6/17/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fits and doesn't look ugly. Sometimes the top pops out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Our friend installed our car stereo with no problem and it looks wonderful on our - with this - kit! Crutchfield is extremely helpful with questions!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor Quality, Very Poor....

mark from Pelham, NH on 2/17/2018

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not happy with the fit in my 2015 Tacoma with Sony XAV-AX100. Specifically the radio mounts are plastic and the Sony doesn't fit the trim panel leaving about a 1/4" gap top to bottom. The radio mounts are plastic and don't attach directly to the to the trim panel leaving the radio and trim panel to be installed as separate pieces. The cheap plastic radio mounts twist while tightening the mounting bolts which in turn, moves the alignment of the stereo making it next to impossible to align the stereo with the trim panel. I had to install and re-installed about 5 times to get the best fit with an even gap top to bottom. I've seen other kits online where the radio brackets attach to the trim panel just like factory, but for some strange reason this kit doesn't do that. Also, the kit supplies 3 panel clips and the panel requires 5 clips, I had to take 2 clips off the factory panel. Just not happy with the quality and fit.

Pros: None

Cons: Cheap plastic radio mounts. Radio mounts not attached to trim panel

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Jeff from Dallas, TX on 2/14/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesnt come with all the plastic clips to mount and it didn't seat properly on the bottom part of face plate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Horrible fit

James from San Diego, CA on 1/20/2018

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2012 tacoma. -5 Stars for the waste of time. Completely bad fit with kenwood ddx6903s. Should have read the other taco reviews.

Pros: Color

Cons: Non-flush fit with double din. Gaps around the face of the stereo.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield Park, AZ on 1/1/2018

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks clean after install, had some difficulties with it; needed the retaining clips off of the original head unit to complete the job.

Pros: nice look

Cons: a little flimsy, needed retaining clips from original head unit to complete the install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Toyota Tacoma Kit

Adam from Charleston, SC on 12/30/2017

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolute horrible cheap plastic mounts. Be prepared to install, remove and repeat about 30 times to set the correct angle and depth. Then to top it off make new holes as there are none where you need them. Do yourself a favour and buy the scosche kit, well worth the extra.

Pros: It was free with radio

Cons: Doesn't fit well

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 12/7/2017

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The dash plate itself looks great and matches the rest of the interior but the brackets that mount to the head unit take a lot of tweaking and readjust to fit right in the vehicle. Yah dash plate also does not completely fit the head unit I got and does leave a small gap on the sides. Overall it's ok but would rather have one with a better fit that wasn't so frustrating to line up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Joe from Newark, DE on 11/10/2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plastic feels a bit cheap, but it's nice that they make it in a matte black.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks like OEM

Frank from Brownwood, TX on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed to be slightly modified with a file but looks great in a 2015 Tacoma

Pros: Looks stock

Cons: Required some modifications to fit the radio in the opening.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Skip this dash kit

Tony from Sugar Hill, GA on 11/1/2017

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bezel for this unit looks very nice and matches the truck very well. You have to move some of the clips over from your factory bezel because enough are not included from Metra. The real problem with this dash kit and what forced me to buy another one (Scosche brand) was the very flimsy plastic mounting brackets that don't hold the radio securely. This is a large double DIN radio kit and with a large amount of wiring hanging off the back you need a secure metal mounting bracket like the factory. With the Metra kit my screen rubbed against the bezel and prevented the screen from properly opening and closing to load a disc on my Pioneer AVH-2330NEX. After switching to the Scosche kit I had no issues. Crutchfield should really take a closer look at these kits and carry the best kit for the application. My install was in a 2014 Toyota Tacoma.

Pros: Good match to interior

Cons: Very flimsy plastic mounting brackets that cause radio to sit off center Not enough panel clips included

Crutchfield response on 11/1/2017
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support team reached out to Tony to issue a refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Eric from Newport, OR on 9/4/2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio mounts made of plastic and have variable size holes, so where do the screws really go? The face plate itself is larger by 1/4" total so the radio sits in the middle with gaps on the top and bottom. So much for looking good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/5/2017
Eric, we're sorry you're having issues with your kit. Please just reach back out to our tech support team if you don't get the problem resolved. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Skip this hassle!!

Wayne from Corpus Christi, TX on 8/5/2017

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheaply made with very poor instructions. Did not fit my pioneer deck in my 2014 Tacoma. I got fed up and had to modify the opening to accommodate the radio. Looks good, but not worth the frustration.

Pros: Looks like the factory dash

Cons: Doesn't fit my Pioneer 5200Nex Worst radio setup and instruction Had to modify their dash kit to fit my radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Skip this Kit

Scott from Irvine, CA on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible kit. Very cheaply made. The radio brackets are cheap plastic and it is IMPOSSIBLE to get your radio aligned correctly. The poor reviews are completely accurate. I spent a few hours over 2 days trying everything I could to get my radio lined up with this kit. I couldn't even get all four factory bolts back in because the brackets were so bad. I finally purchased a Scosche kit elsewhere online and my radio went in perfectly the first time. I recommend skipping this kit and purchasing the Scosche kit. It's more expensive, but more than worth the price!

Pros: The plastic cover looks nice

Cons: -Brackets are cheap plastic. -Impossible to get radio aligned properly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ive head the good and bad

Miguel from Fountain Valley, CA on 5/2/2017

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i think it looks good. way better than flat black. Could not get the stereo to line up correctly. fit my kenwood no problem but would not fit my pioneer 4200nex

Pros: looks good

Cons: plastic mounting legs. wont line up correctly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than the flat black

Keola from Kekaha, HI on 4/9/2017

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice high gloss black just like the factory stereo.

Pros: Looks way better than the flat black

Cons: Had to trim a little to fit my double din head unit. No big deal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Toyota Dash Kit. Matte Black

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Please never sell one of these again. This is the cheapest, mount I have ever purchased. The plastic legs do not hold the weight of the radio. I have spent hours trying to get it to line up properly. I agree with other reviews, find one that has metal legs not the plastic. Avoid this product at all costs. Pay the extra money and get a better kit. I should have listened to the reviews. I will be returning this if I don't break it into little pieces first.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 3/19/2017

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Matched stock dash perfectly and was shipped with no scratches. Doesn't come the yellow clips to pop into dash. Make sure you save from the stock frame piece and be careful taking out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Stephen J from North Pole, AK on 2/14/2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't fit with Clarion CX 505 in my 2012 Tacoma. Very disappointing.

Pros:

Cons: doesn't fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, TX on 11/21/2016

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good enough, not particularly strong, but adequite

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

sleek look

ryan from Gardendale, AL on 10/16/2016

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean look with an easy install. I've had other dash kits that just looked cheap, this one looks very sleek and clean

Pros: Sleek matte color looks great with the new double din touch screen, feels more sturdy than previous kits that I've used.

Cons: Would have preferred more adjustment with the angle and depth of the head unit, but I can see where that would be difficult to produce

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Radio does not fit

Bill w from Jacksonville, FL on 8/8/2016

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pioneer 5200 nex does not fit. Opening is 1/8 in to high and 1/8 in to narrow. Time comsming modification required and will never look as good as it should. Disappointed

Pros: Modified dash perfectly.

Cons: Pioneer radios don't know about others.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not up to par

Angel from Altadena, CA on 6/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The finish has some cosmetic imperfections but otherwise does come close to original gloss. The brackets are plastic and like many others have stated easily bends and hard to install with all the wires that go behind it. I had to trim the interior of the trim as it was hitting my appradio 4 and didn't sit flush. Honestly for a product specifically designed for the tacoma it leaves much to be desired. The install was a nightmare and took me a full day to figure out what needed to be trimmed. Overall it does the job but at much effort. It didn't omen out perfect but close enough or at least satisfied enough to where I don't want to pull the radio out ever again.

Pros: Good match for the original gloss finish.

Cons: Extremely difficult to install and still does not look perfect compared to other after market dash kits.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

Jeff from Wisconsin on 12/30/2015

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glossy charcoal is more of a glossy black which matched my factory look perfectly. Item was slightly warped, but still worked for me. I did have to file approximately 1/8" off of each side left and right to fit my stereo and have a gap of ~1/8" on the top and bottom of the stereo. It's not really noticeable but I was worried before I installed it. It has plastic mounting brackets instead of metal. Overall I'm satisfied with it, but took some work to make it fit with a Pioneer AVH-X4800BS.

Pros: Finish matches the original factory finish of a 2015 Toyota Tacoma

Cons: Mine was slightly warped, plastic mounting brackets, took a lot of filing to fit my radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't Buy - Garbage

Caleb from Missouri on 12/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The black gloss matches, but that is about it. The brackets that hold the stereo are plastic. Just a little bit of force causes them to bend, which makes it incredibly difficult to place correctly in the dash. I can't believe Crutchfield would even offer something this cheaply made, but I guess that's why its free with the purchase of a head unit. Do yourself a favor and plan on buying the Sosche dash kit that comes with metal brackets. I'm sick that such a poor quality item was provided by Crutchfield.

Pros: Its glossy black and was free with the purchase of a headunit.

Cons: Its plastic! If you plan to use this dash kit, be prepared to set aside many hours for install because the plastic brackets make it nearly impossible to get seated correctly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So so fit in my2013 Tacoma double cab

Kevin K from Nebraska on 11/18/2015

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not as good a fit as I had hoped - probably a 1/8th inch gap all around. Works, but nothing like factory Fit and finish.

Pros: Works (fills the hole)

Cons: Not a great fit

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Metra dash kit

Randy from Winchester va on 11/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit looks good the only thing that I had to do was it would not fit at first I had to grind down the back lip to get it to snap in all the way.

Pros: Looks good and fits around the head unit well.

Cons: Had to grind it down

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bad fit for Pioneers

chief from Texas on 9/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really poor fit for my head unit (Pioneer AVH-X4700BS). Adjusted the bracket numerous times to try to make it work and after failing to do so called Crutchfield and the tech suggested that I file it down (not a knock on Crutchfield) . Spent ~1.5 hours shaving the dash kit on 3 sides. When I was finally able to get the dash kit to snap in, there was a huge gap on top between the head unit and the dash kit (did not shave the top). Does not look factory at all. Very frustrating when you think you're about to be done with your install and you're dealt with a dash kit that doesn't fit!

Pros: Snaps in securely after shaving the heck out of it for it to fit my head unit. Paint matches factory.

Cons: Horrible fit with my head unit and possibly all pioneers. Required shaving on 3 sides and still has a huge gap on top. Going to have to spend extra money to try a Scosche kit to see if it's any better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Waste of time sending it

Kyle from Missouri on 7/20/2015

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Waste of a piece of plastic. Double din won't fit in it unless you shave off some of it. Looks cheap too. Just buy a scosche one and save yourself the headache.

Pros: Free

Cons: Everything about it

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Funky fit

chris from Arizona on 7/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is a pain to install, IF you have a detatchable/moving faceplate (i.e., Pioneer AVH 4100NEX). The reason is that the fit of the mounting bracket isn't perfect, so the edges of your headunit will be TIGHT inside the dash kit - if it rubs the faceplate, the pioneer HU freaks out! It took me about 4 hours to get the thing right because it takes about 20 minutes to remove the headunit, adjust the bracket, and shove it back in with all the wires... I did that about 10 times. Other metra dash kits I have experience with didn't take this much wiggling to fit. On top of that, part of the finish was marred right out of the package. I'm giving this thing 3 stars because it's not very easy for a moron like me to install :)

Pros: The color matches perfectly!

Cons: Don't expect to install this in 20 minutes.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Radio bezel

Henry A from Fairfax, VA on 2/11/2015

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not bad

Pros: Good product

Cons: Its not a perfect fit for the radio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Fit!

Dale from Pennsylvania on 2/3/2015

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product finished off my project well and looks very professional!

Pros: Fits like a glove.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8235 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 9/8/2014

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The metra in dash kit looks excellent compared to stock dash and blends in very well. The kit meshes well with the new stereo and the stock clock/ emergency piece. The kit fits right over the stereo and the brackets work well in the stock bolt holes. Very good design

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Andy b from Dallas tx on 8/13/2014

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits well in my 13 tacoma- looks like it belongs (color is a little off- more matte finish than the stock) but the stereo is mounted using the four screws per side that come with the head unit, the thick plastic brackets make this a challenge- screws barely engage--- it would be nice if it mounted with the slide- in DIN cage like some others--- you need to be really sure you've got everything working and hooked up before snapping the top dash piece in............The head unit mounts to the brackets, screw that into the vehicle, then the front piece snaps in place. Looks good but the plastic clips don't hold quite as well as the factory mount-- rattles a little and don't lose the stupid plastic clips that hold the Toyota dash together... The finished product is worth the effort. Also without using the DIN cage mounting method, it is difficult to know where to mount the side pieces because it's hard to gauge the depth --- where it will be in the dash when mounted - to far in or to far out? Took a few tries to find the right set of holes to use with the mounting plate to have the head unit be flush when done. One bit of advice --- look at the instructions that come with this kit - removing the hazard / airbag light from the stock part is difficult - without breaking it, this part has to be taken off and put into the new mounting--- the hardest part next to getting the new double din unit into the limited dash space...... All in all a good fit but could be a little better.

Pros: Looks like it belongs there

Cons: A little off from factory color and the Plastic on side brackets is pretty thick - stock is metal, not a huge deal BUT some head units need you to use the use the screws that come with it to mount it --- they are very short (would work with metal) so with the thicker plastic, they just barely hold on

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits and looks perfect

Burke from Atlanta on 2/2/2014

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was surprised to see how well this fit. It is the same exact color as the factory dash, and it fits flawlessly.

Pros: great fit, great look

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not so good!

RichardF from Casper, WY on 11/24/2013

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit and finish is just not there! The replacement dash piece is glossy and the original equipment was dull, so it does not match the remainder of the vehicle. The dash piece does not snap in as tight as the original and so leaves a gap on the bottom and top. The kit did not contain enough body clips for the reinstall and so I had to remove some from the original piece.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice product but have issue

Chris from Clearwater, Fl on 9/16/2013

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although this is a very nice looking/working product I have an issue on two fronts. I was told by Crutchfield that this would fit the Pioneer FH-X700BT unit I purchased. It does cover the unit but isn't wide enough to allow the unit to have its face come through. So the unit actually sits behind this product almost giving it a "unfinished" or "unprofessional" look.

Pros: - nice looking/working unit

Cons: - may not fit the aftermarket stereo as stated

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

TOP