Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
443 197 43
Connect ID #
443 197 43
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Fits select 2013-up Toyota RAV4 models — double-DIN radios

MFR # 95-8242G

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Fits select 2013-up Toyota RAV4 models — double-DIN radios

MFR # 95-8242G

33 reviews
View this product

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lynn Haven, FL on 9/1/2020

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit but this is not factory color of the RAV4. If this was black it would fit better with the factory interior. Having vents on either side that are black this piece stands out.

Pros: Good fit

Cons: Color does not match rest of factory interior

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 8/3/2020

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product was very easy to use and installed for my first time doing the installation on my own:

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very professional installation kit. Looks amazing!

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, NC on 6/7/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit looks incredible in our 2014 Rav4. The trim matches perfectly. The installation looks professional, and you would think it came from the factory.

Pros: Keeps your car looking new. Trim matches the factory trim perfectly! Very professional.

Cons: The brackets are plastic. They flex a little when you replace the main bolts from the factory, but if you hold them in place while you tighten you won't have any problems. We are very pleased with the way this installation turned out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tomahawk, WI on 5/29/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit the way it was suppose to fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Advance, NC on 5/14/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not built very sturdy. I ended up purchasing a different dash kit. Color didn't match very well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kaukauna, WI on 4/10/2020

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit and look is awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I was disappointed

Andrew from Salt Lake City, UT on 2/2/2020

2013 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This works, but all the mounting brackets are plastic and require that you you the clip from the factory radio. In addition, the color match is not on with the dash and it feels pretty cheap overall. After installing this and not liking it I ordered the Scosche mount and it was much nicer. Color match was spot on and the brackets are metal. I will not be returning this because it is open and I am not even sure I can find every part it came with, but I won't order Metra again. Sorry I spent and wasted the money on it.

Pros:

Cons: Color match not very accurate. All plastic.

Crutchfield response on 2/5/2020
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Susan, reached out to Andrew to refund him for this kit. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Definitely will try to find a better aftermarket frame

Karanvir from HESPERIA, CA on 1/26/2020

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The color of the frame didn't really match with the charcoal or black plastics my 2018 Rav4. The plastic bent really easily when I tried to screw in the unit. Had to push on the ends of the plastic to prevent it from moving.

Pros: Works with my Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Cons: Color doesn't match Cheap plastic

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fit is excellent, color is great. Mounting brackets are a little soft

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/20/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dash bezel is a good match for the OEM dash color, but the mounting brackets that attach to the radio are soft plastic that "give" when the screws are tightened, even moderately. I would have preferred spending a few dollars more for the mounting brackets to be a stiffer polymer, or even metal. It wasn't a big deal, since the Sony radio I installed weighs a few ounces, compared to the pounds that the OEM radio weighed.

Pros: Good fit, good color match to OEM dash.

Cons: Flimsy brackets to mount radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Southwick, MA on 12/28/2019

2015 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Color match and fit was good. Instructions were not clear as to mounting screws to use and hole locations. In fact could only use 2 screws per side to obtain proper fit

Pros: Color match and fit was good

Cons: Instructions were unclear and or incomplete

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chittenango, NY on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid and was a great fit for my Toyota 2013 Rav 4. I didn't use the brackets but rather just put the ones from the factory radio onto the receiver I bought and it worked fine.

Pros: Perfect fit - looks great in my Toyota Rav 4! Easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Delton, MI on 12/24/2019

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My advice....call Joe with any questions as your wiring the Kit together. Joe is the best!

Pros: Easy to wire together and install with Joe's help.

Cons: It wont pick up AM stations unless your in the city that's broadcasting .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Danbury, CT on 12/8/2019

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did what it's supposed to do, I didn't like assembling it though. Small screws to attach 4 legs. Also when tightening in car I found its best to hold legs in place as you tighten the bolts. None of this is a deal breaker though. Unit looks factory and works well with radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

David M from Hiram, GA on 11/25/2019

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not quite factory colors but the fit was better than the competitor's model. I bought both and this one was nicer and fit better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Raeford, NC on 11/10/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks Like It Came From The Factory

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 8/29/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Looks like it came from the factory. The price is very reasonable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just OK

Crutchfield customer from Lansing, MI on 8/25/2019

2015 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected, but the bracket was pretty flimsy. The color was really close to my dash but not quite exactly the same. I'm probably the only one who'll notice that.

Pros: Works

Cons: All plastic, flimsy, color not perfect

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does it's job...

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NY on 8/19/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I feel like the plastic could break easily. Wish I could have used the original bracket system since it was made out of metal. Also the color to the face plate doesn't match the trim...

Pros: It worked

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Poor Alignment in RAV4

Crutchfield customer from Tamarac, FL on 8/2/2019

2015 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Straight forward instructions. Solid. But the finished product does not seem well lined up. The unit is both off angle and recessed. I tried to adjust it to fix, but could not. It's enough to bug me every time I drive but not enough for me to bother fixing it.

Pros: Easy install. Solid build.

Cons: Poor alignment.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Redwood City, CA on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit is excellent, but the color is just a shade lighter than the dashboard. Not a show stopper, however.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Glassboro, NJ on 5/2/2019

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not match the 2018 Hybrid Rav4. It is light gray where the rest of the dash is off black. In addition it is flimsy and the headunit's motorized screen would get stuck on it. Bought a new one online with much better results.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

cut IT for from Bothell, WA on 3/19/2019

2014 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect look and line up in a 2014 Rav4. Looks like factory which makes the wife happy which makes me happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great in my dash!

Lou from Flagstaff, AZ on 12/11/2018

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This fits perfectly in my 2018 Toyota RAV4. The color of the unit seems to look good along side the darker plastic of my dash. I had a little difficulty mounting my stereo because I didn't get one of the brackets that mounts to the side of the stereo aligned properly, so I had to loosen the screws and readjust it after the harness wires were all connected. Once I got the side piece on properly it fit perfectly. This kit requires that you pull part of the clips from your factory radio off and install on this kit. It would have been nice if those were also included.

Pros: It fits perfectly and looks great. The instructions were easy to follow.

Cons: Some care needed to align the mounting brackets to the side of the stereo. Need to pull clips from factory radio to use with this kit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Prescott Valley, AZ on 11/22/2018

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks like it has alway been there. Perfect fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2017 RAV4

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 5/16/2018

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits my vehicle perfectly. Looks amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 3/19/2018

2013 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit up and color match were great! Just would have preferred metal brackets rather than plastic for the stereo mounting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit!

Darryl from Millville, NJ on 2/18/2018

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit, great instructions and easy installation. Couldn't be happier! 2016 Toyota RAV4

Pros: Everything!

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8242G Kit

Crutchfield customer from Alfred, ME on 1/12/2018

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great product.... perfect fit!

Pros: Quality product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sleek and nice!

Amber from Scottsboro, AL on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and looks great in my vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good!

Anthony from Honolulu, HI on 4/2/2017

2013 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good and convenient item! Only complaint is that its made out of plastic. Very scary when screwing the product into the car, of course you don't screw it on too tight but when you do it starts bending the kit and I was thinking if it was going to be able to hold the weight of the stereo. Overall cheap and good.

Pros: Cheap Convenient

Cons: Made out of plastic

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra

Jon from Florence, KY on 10/3/2016

2013 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well fits perfectly. Looks Factory. Only minor issue is the color is slightly different than the rest of trim pieces, however, it is hardly noticeable and doesn't bother me, and I can be quite picky.

Pros: Fits perfectly. Looks factory OEM

Cons: Not exact color match. Which is why only 4 stars not 5. Not a big deal though. Still looks good.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH 4200 NEX in 2016 Toyota Rav4

t.mehoves from Sulphur, LA on 5/22/2016

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and matches Interior. It looks like it belongs there.

Pros: Matches

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2015 Rav4 & Kenwood DNX572bh

KYMavsFan from Lexington, KY on 9/7/2015

2015 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks like it has always been there, in my opinion. Matches to my layman eye.

Pros: Works Great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP