Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
289 697 04
Connect ID #
289 697 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Fits select 2015-up Ford Transit vehicles with 4.2" screen — single- or double-DIN radios (Gray)

MFR # 99-5835G

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Fits select 2015-up Ford Transit vehicles with 4.2" screen — single- or double-DIN radios (Gray)

MFR # 99-5835G

24 reviews
View this product

Poor clips

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 2/17/2021

2015 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The clips intended to connect to the original dash panel do not snap in correctly and/or fall off dropping into the dash cavity. This leaves the main stereo section proud and the top panel loose. If you plan on getting this product, think about maybe glueing or tacking it in place with some CA glue.

Pros: Generally seems like it is intended to fit

Cons: Does not snap in correctly enough to look good.

Crutchfield response on 2/18/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works with modifications

Larry from MIDLAND, MI on 1/17/2021

2016 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a clever conversion to get the double din to fit. Just be aware you will be cutting away a small support in your dash. No going back, but it works and looks nice. The worst part of the entire kit is the clips. The clips that come with the kit do not function like OEM and cause issues. Also, the passenger airbag light doesn't function with this kit. Just leave it unplugged.

Pros: I really like having the double din screen closer to me especially for the factory backup camera. Looks good.

Cons: Clips are bad. Airbag light doesn't work. Double Din opening slightly tall, leaving an 1/8" gap under stereo face.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Paul from CONCORD, CA on 9/7/2020

2016 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit makes me so dang mad. First, Crutchfield folks did their best. 10 points to Gryffindor. Metra, on the other hand, shouldn't hire rude knuckleheads to work customer service and have made a substandard product. Let's talk about fit. The dash kit includes a bunch of clips which ought to be useful, but the front piece has two out of four clips that pop back out of the OEM female clips in the dash. So I just removed the two Metra clips and accepted the wobble. Fit between replacement panels is wonky at best. Just not great. Next is the passenger airbag indicator light. I plugged the OEM harness into the back and immediately got an airbag fault light in the dash. I reset using my OBDII reader, fault came back. I plugged in the old stereo control to the harness and the fault light went away and stayed away. Metra told me "just unplug it hurr durr durr." Screw that. For this price to get OEM function, I want OEM function. After some arguing (wth I was arguing with a customer service rep?) the Metra guy finally gave in and said to get a replacement unit. Crutchfield sent a new unit and hey whaddaya know IT'S STILL NOT WORKING. Metra's the only game in town, so you're going to have to deal with it. For now, I've had to follow the mouth-breather's advice and "just keep it unplugged hurr durr durr."

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great fit and finish!

Daniel from CLEARWATER, FL on 9/2/2020

2019 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit, with enough room to stuff installation modules behind.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Freeborn from ROSWELL, NM on 8/26/2020

2015 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not perfect fit. Airbag light turned on even with replacement unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/31/2020
Freeborn contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sebring, OH on 5/10/2020

2019 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not recommended

Crutchfield customer from Elkridge , MD on 4/9/2020

2016 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor fit. Finish was peeling off right out of the packaging. Lack of detailed instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Airbag Light now on

Crutchfield customer from Schertz, TX on 3/4/2020

2017 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only gets two stars because it fit well and looks nice. The first thing I noticed was the rough edges on the plastic, the finished, viewable parts. Secondly and most importantly this system has caused my airbag light to come on. Sending a error code of B00D5 for my Ford, restraint system passenger disabled indicator. After several calls with tech support and a trip to my local Ford dealership I finally spoke to a tech who called Metra who gave him the answer of "just unplug it"?! I felt like I was in crazy town hearing that, what kind of company would say just unplug a connector that has something to do with your airbag system? So Crutchfield is sending me a new kit. We'll see if this fixes the airbag light.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MS on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and was very easy! I would highly recommend!

Pros: Easy and looks great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Functions but only with modifications

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver Wa on 11/8/2019

2016 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product will not function as designed without modifications. Overall build is ok and serves the purpose but is not a perfect fit and has revealing gaps in multiple areas when installed. There are two front plastic clips that are essentially worthless and will not allow the the dash kit to be installed flush with the dash. In reading others feedback this is a common problem and the only solution is to leave the clips off or the dash kit will pop out and not lock in properly. If there was another option currently available I would return this product. In addition the instructions supplied with the unit are very lacking when it comes to installing the kit itself and associated brackets. I finally got mine installed but only after reading forums and trying removing some hardware that came with the kit.

Pros: It functions

Cons: Bad design. Bad fit. Installation hardware prohibits installation as directed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

david from Norco, CA on 6/1/2019

2018 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything went right together and looks like a factory dash

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit, with detailed instructions but the provided plastic clips are garbage and leaves a visible space between the sides

Pros:

Cons: Bad fit

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Greg from Lambertville, NJ on 2/26/2019

2017 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It needed lots of love to fit properly.

Pros:

Cons: It didn't fit tight at all. I had to belt sander it to get it to sit properly in it's place. Not the end of the world,but I don't remember having to customize in the past.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great with quality materials....

Chris from Colorado Spgs, CO on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great with quality materials and covers the Pioneer AVH-2440NEX perfectly. The clips for the larger tray part didn't work that well and the tray wouldn't lay down flat on the dash at one end. I took the lower clips out and it lays don't flat with no gaps. I think it will be fine like this and won't mess with it unless a problem arises. They could do a better job on the clips, which are plastic and don't work well with the metal female OEM part the clips snap into. The OEM male parts were metal.

Pros: Looks great and matches up well with the receiver bezel.

Cons: Plastic clips don't work well.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 11/30/2018

2016 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The parts for this kit are clumsy, the trim does not go in flush and the clips are useless. I have to use the original clips just to hold the front panels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 11/6/2018

2016 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So glad they asked to review. Here's the positive: You have a option to mount an aftermarket radio. Here's the negative: Too expensive for the quality. What is the quality? The stock clips don't hold at all, you'll have to remove the OEM ones. The kit doesn't sit flush under the vents, you'll constantly try to push it down without success. The tray above the radio that's included has gaps (bowed appearance). There's a almost one inch gap in the DIN cutout face at the bottom or the top of the radio, there's no way to remove it. Any the most important thing to realize when you buy this (I did not, no one tells you including Crutchfield), you have to cut the factory radio support out of your dash!!! This is not just a piece of a mounting bracket, it is literally, your dash. If you wanted to go back OEM, you'd have to buy a whole new dash for your Transit. No exaggeration. I wouldn't have considered this if I would have known that.

Pros: 1

Cons: Many

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Kevin from Los Angeles, CA on 11/1/2018

2018 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My kit was missing the bag of clips but I emailed Metra and they sent them to me. One thing not mentioned in the instructions that you need to do is remove the factory metal inserts in the dash for the Metra plastic clips to work right. Everything doesn't clip in quite as good as factory but everything looks good and nothing is popping off or anything. I also don't have any kind of gap whatsoever around my radio. Maybe some radios are a little small or maybe people aren't properly aligning there radios with the mounting brackets??? I'm happy with the end product and I'm pretty picky.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, IN on 7/1/2018

2016 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The clips are not good quality. I used the clips from the factory dash and it seemed to hold better. For now

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gap Under Stereo, Terrible Clips

David from Floyd, VA on 6/27/2018

2018 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was not happy with this dash kit for my 2018 Ford Transit Cargo Van. The 2-din space is oversized, leaving about an 1/8" gap at the bottom through which wiring is visible (see attached picture). I had to trim a piece of ebony to fill the gap, which looks fine, but I don't feel like I should have to modify a kit that is supposedly specifically designed for my model year family. Online forums for Transit owners are full of other folks complaining about this gap. Additionally, the clips that hold the kit into the dash are awful. The worst offenders are the two clips at the very bottom of the front panel (that has the oversized rectangle cutout for the head unit). The cheap plastic clips provided are sized so poorly that they actually hold the kit away from the dash and prevent it from clipping in (see attached picture). It is, no joke, dramatically more functional if you remove those two clips entirely and just have no actual physical connection at the bottom of this piece. It then sits fairly flush against the factory dash. I wouldn't even have considered this except that, once again, Transit owner forums are packed with people recommending removing the clips entirely for this part of the kit. The top tray piece also fits poorly and bumps out slightly in the middle. It's clearly further poor design having largely to do with inadequate/incompatible clips (which seems pretty silly/lazy on Metra's part). All that said, this is your only option, so an extra s

Pros: Only option for providing factory-look for aftermarket kit

Cons: Gap under stereo, clips are not compatible with factory slots, top tray doesn't sit fully flush

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great kit by Metra

Jason from Alexandria, VA on 4/23/2018

2016 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way exceeded my expectations. This kit was so easy to install, instructions were spot on with good illustrations, and the finished product looked perfectly "stock". Metra has certainly done their homework on this kit.

Pros: Easy install, great looks

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks OK, securing to dash was an issue.

Avery from Covington, GA on 4/9/2018

2015 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been buying and installing products from Crutchfield since 1978. I'm always impressed with their trim kits. This one "looks" OK, but it doesn't secure to the dash very well. The clips provided did not grip the inserts properly. had to apply some southern engineering to secure some parts. There is also a gap under the head unit that should not be present. It has to have a small gap because of the way the head face opens to gain access to the cd and media slots, but there is at least 1/4" to 1/2" too much gap beyond what was needed. I can almost stick my finger in the exposed gap. I may have to later apply more southern engineering to remedy that issue.

Pros: General appearance is OK.

Cons: Does not stay secured to dash with the provided clips. Had to improvise to get a tighter fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap clips.

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 8/21/2017

2017 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All the plastic trim parts fit perfectly and look good. Front panel will not seat properly. My beef is with the cheap clips that don't hold.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, WA on 5/3/2017

2016 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked beautifully and looked totally factory.

Pros: All good

Cons: no cons

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

Dan from Lynchburg, VA on 12/21/2016

2017 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mostly fits well but the front panel will not seat properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP