Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
863 966 43
Connect ID #
863 966 43
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Allows you to connect the factory USB port on select 2010-up Subaru and Scion vehicles to a new car stereo

MFR # AX-SUBUSB

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Allows you to connect the factory USB port on select 2010-up Subaru and Scion vehicles to a new car stereo

MFR # AX-SUBUSB

26 reviews
View this product

Will not work on a 2013 wrx

Crutchfield customer from New Whiteland, IN on 4/2/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit a 2013 wrx, I am not sure what will work. The problem I think is Toyota a and Subaru share wiring. So the one star is that it's wrong for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and was issued a refund. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from Berlin Heights, OH on 3/3/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, the cable itself was fine. My issue was that in my Subaru WRX (MY2014) this cable did not work. The factory NAV system that was installed (Fujitsu Ten FW602US) uses the Toyota style connectors for both USB and the HD radio antenna. Be sure to check your HU before you order as it is not uncommon to find Toyota style connectors in Subarus. Unfortunately the tech I spoke to on the phone wanted to sell me a different USB solution rather than swap for the correct cable so I ended up getting the correct Toyota cable through another retailer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Rapids, IA on 2/17/2020

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Return

Danny from HAYMARKET, VA on 10/28/2019

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not work on 2018 WRX. The pins fit but no signal is found. Used with Sony radio. Will be returning to Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Idiot proof cable

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Lake, IL on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Idiot proof cable offered a plug and play solution

Pros: Idiot proof cable

Cons: It's kinda long for my application, but this may be needed for other installation....so basically no "cons"

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

retains console USB, works with Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 1/12/2019

2012 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great for my 2012 Subaru Legacy to retain the factory console USB connection. It is used mostly for Apple CarPlay, no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from Menlo Park, CA on 1/1/2019

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected. Allowed my car's USB port to connect to my stereo, with no issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plug and play

Crutchfield customer from Peru, NY on 10/1/2018

2013 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great. You plug in both ends and it works. Perfect for a cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from Grafton, WI on 5/11/2018

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

plug and play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Bryan from Katy, TX on 4/27/2018

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Part of the kit but not required - should be an optional accessory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Eric from Richmond, VA on 2/2/2018

2013 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised with a Alpine ilx 107 head unit in a 2014 Impreza.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 12/26/2017

2013 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I believe this adapter is OK. But the rubbish USB cable inside 2013 Subaru Forester generates tons of jitters, and makes Android Auto impossible to work. So I had to connect to the back USB port directly and this cable is useless now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from Hinesburg, VT on 12/21/2017

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits and works properly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from New Canaan, CT on 12/4/2017

2013 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and function. Exactly what was needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didnt work with android auto

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 10/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works but android auto would not run through it. had to drop a usb connection elsewhere

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Zack murray from Houston tx on 9/15/2017

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from Portland on 8/8/2017

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly on 2014 wrx and Sony xav-ax100

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Problems

Ian P from Newport Beach, CA on 7/26/2016

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing exciting worth noting here. Works as advertised and was plug-and-play with the factory cable in the Subaru. Running Android Auto through it with no issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Michael from Greenville, SC on 6/19/2016

2014 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No worky with my 2014 Subaru Impreza Premium Hatchback. It's a square peg for a round hole.

Pros: None, for me

Cons: Does not connect. Totally wrong shape.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worth it

tom from Denver, CO on 5/8/2016

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want a clean install, spend the extra couple bucks and get this.

Pros: Keeps the clean factory look

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB USB Adapter for Subaru

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 3/28/2016

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what it is designed to do. Just plug it in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to Use

Reid from springfield, PA on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use and does its intended purpose. I would recommend this product for individuals that need to retain factory usb functionality in his or her car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 Subaru Forester XT

kahres05 from Robesonia, Pa on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly with factory harness!!

Pros: Plug and Play

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked as Designed

jrkeane1 from Charlotte, NC on 1/11/2016

2011 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really was as simple as you'd think. Unplug the connection to the stock unit, plug the adapter into that end, and the USB style connector to the new head unit. It worked as it should.

Pros: Simple design

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelente!!

Luis from Puerto Rico on 1/2/2016

2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Es fácil de instalar, está instalado en un subaru impreza sti 2012 It's easy to install, it was installed in a subaru impreza sti 2012

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/5/2016
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Useless on 2014 Forester

Crutchfield customer from North Carolina on 11/13/2015

2014 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It doesn't match my forester's built in USB cable

Pros:

Cons: It doesn't work with the factory USB cable on my 2014 forester. I called Crutchfield tech support and their reply was if it doesn't work, we don't have anything different that would work on a Subaru.

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2015
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team provided the customer another viable adapter to complete the installation and corrected our vehicle information. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP