Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
956 775 04
Connect ID #
956 775 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PAC SNI-1

RCA Ground Loop Noise Isolator

MFR # SNI-1/50

PAC SNI-1

PAC SNI-1

RCA Ground Loop Noise Isolator

MFR # SNI-1/50

143 reviews
View this product

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Norwood, LA on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks again Crutchfield! This solved my engine noise problem. As always Crutchfield provides products and solutions for my car stereo needs.!

Pros: Definitely works as advertised.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Engine whine

Crutchfield customer from Carson City, NV on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you hear the engine electrical whine through your system then this is the item to eliminate ground loop noise. I bought 2 and they were very easy to install. Totally eliminated the engine whine.

Pros: Very easy to install.

Cons: It would be nice if they were sold in a set. I had to buy 2 of them. 1 for front and 1 for rear speakers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Sterling from Lavon, TX on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Job wouldn't be done without it

Pros: Slim and concealable, does the job. Always a plus

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Absolutly awesome

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely AWESOME!!! I tried moving my grounds to multiple places with a multi meter over a month. Multi meter read good ground .03 on all places and still engine noise. I ordered these and plugged them up and kaboom no engine noise what so ever. I would definitely recommend these to anyone with this problem!!! Before anyone can say anything ALL power wires are on side of my truck and ALL SPEAKER WIRES are on the opposite side of my truck. Thank you Crutchfield!!!

Pros: It will fix your engine noise.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Hancock, NY on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helps but doesn't eliminate completely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Brian from Bakersfield, CA on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been struggling with engine noise and pink noise in my 2017 Mustang for 6 months. I have tried every trick in the book and nothing worked until these. I installed one on each head unit RCA leading to my highs. Highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Northampton, PA on 10/31/2020

2000 Audi A6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the best thing since sliced bread if your not gonna bypass your factory amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Dwight from MOUNTAIN CITY, GA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not ideal to have to use these, but it works great and helps like its supposed to

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Marshfield, WI on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product will help with any grounding issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Peace of mind

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to connect - used to be sure to avoid interference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Youngstown, OH on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The PAC SNI-1 did not fix the issue in my Honda Ridgeline. Had to really search the web to find out what was causing the subs to make so much noise from the amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

If you have engine noise through your amped speakers look no further!

Michael Todd from STANFORD, KY on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you have a horrible engine noise coming through your amplified speakers, look no further!!! I had the most horrific sound coming through my tower speakers, only when our boat motor was on and running. Turn the blower on and it was even worse!! We honestly had to pull the fuse from the amp until we parked in the cove and shut the engine off. Installed this on the amp side of the rca's and it solved the problem!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Magic device to eliminate ground loops

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy to install and makes all the difference in reducing feedback and ground loops.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AMAZING!

keanu from kalaheo on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a issue with noise coming from speakers in car after amping my speakers. I believe this was because the power was to close to the RCA. I bought 2 of these and put them on the amp side of the RCA after the power and rcas had made contact and this got rid of all noise !

Pros: Gets rid of A/c and all engine noises

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Does the job

Leon from Pearl City, HI on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does the job of reducing noise, but it had to be grounded. It's pretty bulky as well, adding to clutter behind my head unit.

Pros: Engine accelerator whine is gone

Cons: Having to ground, bulk

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Meadow Bridge, WV on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Eliminated my problem. Works flawlessly. Thanks!

Pros: Affordable and easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Beverly, NJ on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solved a bad alternator noise on my boat. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No more hmmmmmm

Crutchfield customer from Miamisburg, OH on 1/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install. Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-01

Crutchfield customer from Hallettsville, TX on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Waste of money. Doesn't work as it says - Highly disappointed

Pros:

Cons: False description

Crutchfield response on 1/7/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 4 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Coopersville, MI on 11/21/2019

2003 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still have a hiss of static in the speakers that do work even after installing this product.

Pros:

Cons: Does not work.

Crutchfield response on 11/25/2019
We're sorry you're having issues with your noise isolator. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Homer Glen, IL on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fixed the popping and engine noise in my new stereo system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

LeeRoy from Winfield on 4/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly,got rid of the annoying alternator whining. Will this work for you,maybe but for the price it's definitely worth a try. Crutchfield staff is always there to help. Best customer service of anyone I have had experience with. Special thanks to Jason for his help and sending at no charge.If your on the fence about ordering from Crutchfield don't be, you'll be glad you did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Rogersville, AL on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and relatively easy to install

Pros:

Cons: No instructions came with it but relatively easy to figure out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fixed speaker pop, happy consumer

Donovan from Albuquerque, NM on 2/6/2019

2001 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bose amplifiers had speaker pop when isnition was turned on and off. I added two of these and they did their jobs as advertised! Good call

Pros: Worked like a charm

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, IL on 1/14/2019

2000 Audi S4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not expect to need this putting a Kenwood into my Audi. When I booted up the radio it was fine. Good, clean reception, no noise. But, when I got the car on the road, I heard every noise the electrical system made in my radio. (A Kenwood, btw...interfacing a Bose amplification/speaker system.) Dropped these transformers in. End of problem. Insertion losses are minor, and ignorable in operation. Solves problems. Cost effective.

Pros: Solves multiple problems intefacing a head unit with a Bose system. Easy to deploy.

Cons: Takes up a bit of space in the installation pocket, so things have to be crammed in, to get the head unit to fit correctly.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Huge power hum thru my after market Xm radio receiver.

Crutchfield customer from Sebastopol, CA on 12/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solved a huge power hum coming thru my after market XM receiver in my Nissan Frontier.

Pros: Solved my power hum noise perfectly!

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

lincoln from Frederick, MD on 11/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great to help with my ground loo issue. Cant say enough how fast and helpful the install was. Thanks to my Crutchfeild advisor it solved my issues. Thanks again!

Pros: Speed of install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Harrisonburg, VA on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't solve my feedback issue in my car audio system, but I didn't expect it to- likely a bigger issue with routing/ cable size. Still got the product fast and I'm sure it would work properly for its intended use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pop Free

Kevin from Germantown, TN on 8/4/2018

2002 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally took the annoying pop out of my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Michael from Cortlandt Manor, NY on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing this did not eliminate the noise. Grounding the filter only made the noise louder. Not the solution to the whine in my Audi A4

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Eric from Roanoke, VA on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. After trying multiple grounding positions (trunk, under seats, etc.) it was not possible to eliminate ground loop noise. This did the trick. One hint though: It says only to connect the brown wires if there is no sound. I found most of the bass and midbass missing and connecting the brown wires to the radio chassis fixed it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really well and removed the feedback sound from my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 5/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took the majority of the background static out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Jeff from Richmond Hill on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought this was going to eliminate the alternator whine but I hooked them up and there was no difference. I've checked my grounds over and over but to no avail. Really wish this would have done the job. Not a dig at Crutchfield but this product did not do what it was supposed to do.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Did not eliminate alternator buzz

Crutchfield response on 5/15/2018
Jeff, we forwarded your review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Ventura, CA on 2/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, all alternator whine was eliminated...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Randy from Lake Waccamaw, NC on 1/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly! Removed all alternator whine.

Pros: Plug and play.

Cons: Left and right not identified. Have to move rca's around to get the correct front / rear / left / right balance.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 1/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great problem solver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, CA on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Removed the high pitch whine on 4 channel amp used 2 of them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It didnt make MUCH a difference. As I accelerate, you can still clearly hear engine noise. Not as loud as before, but still noticable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Kenneth from Vaughn, WA on 11/30/2017

2003 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install. No noise on the circuit. Would use again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 10/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had some engine noise / background noise on my new harley stereo saw this component on crutchfield site and it fixed the problem

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Eric from Massachusetts on 9/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works perfect

Pros: It works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 9/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well and is easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Can't get any easier.

Cadillac Mike from Saddle Brook NJ on 8/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

my audio whine ,static did get clearer but not totally gone . My next step is a power feed wire filter suppressor .

Pros: Easy to install , made a difference.

Cons: Noises are not all gone

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No More Whining!!!

Mitch from Culpeper, VA on 5/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Engine whine coming through speakers in my Pontiac G8 GT was COMPLETELY ELIMINATED! Thank you!!!

Pros: Eliminated engine whine coming through door speakers!!

Cons: None! Buy it!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Vern from Lexington, MA on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cuts out all of the bass like a high pass filter. It might have been defective. I returned the Kenwood KDC-X701 that was popping and got a Pioneer DEH-x8800bhs. That fixed the noise and did not degrade the sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Loud popping sound resolved

Patrick from Leesburg, VA on 5/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Resolved my popping issue caused that may have been caused by a grounding loop to my factory amp.

Pros: Plug and play.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Abbeville, LA on 4/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Wayne, NJ on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, got rid of the engine noise and the "pops" from the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 2/26/2017

2001 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work's great, easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Filter

Logan from Salt Lake City, UT on 1/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This filter worked perfectly to remove the annoying whining sound coming out of my front left speaker. It was very simple to install and has helped me to enjoy long commutes in my car again.

Pros: Simple to install, works easily.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked Great

Cliff from Roy, UT on 12/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My newly installed radio was making a hissing noise. This device cleaned it right up.

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Non functioning

Dave from Ocean View, DE on 12/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed after having to pull head unit. NO Signal to amp with or without ground. Very fustrating!!

Pros: none

Cons: Non functioning

Crutchfield response on 12/14/2016
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Dave to issue an apology and help him further. We'll either help him get this working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

5 of 9 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

David from West Richland , WA on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is awesome i had some engine noise going through my amp and the local shop said i needed a more expensive amp and crutchfield recommend this product it fixed it

Pros: Easy to hook up

Cons: Sould have only bought 1

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No more whine

Brian from Selinsgrove,Pa on 10/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These work, but I didn't like the change in sound. It took forever to adjust everything back.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Sound degregation

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Buzz Off

Tommy from Marion, AR on 9/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great accessory!! And, for those in a panic about pulling their head unit...relax. These can be used at the amp. Simple plug and play.

Pros: Easy install. Gets the BUZZ out. Can be installed at the head unit or at the amp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

pete from buddlake, NJ on 7/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

plug & play

Pros: works great,,noise is gone,,thnx again crutchfield team for great customer service,,,great prices on everything i had bought so far

Cons: no cons,,all prossss

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Jim from Beacon Falls, CT on 6/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was the best money I ever spent, worked perfectly. Im so glad a Tech told me to try it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Filters That Work

Kent from Loveland, CO on 5/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had tried running a 00 cable from the amp to the battery, shielded RCA cables, Power on drivers side, RCA cables on the passenger side and nothing got rid of the alternator whine and the popping when turning off the car/stereo. These filters got rid of the noise! I'm thrilled!

Pros: They work. Small. Easy to install. Cheap, especially considering the time I had already spent. 1.3dB of gain.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fixed those popping speakers

Tim from Howard, PA on 5/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a new JVC stereo from Crutchfield that converted the factory speaker wires to RCA connections. Ended up with loud popping from all speakers. Installed 2 of these, 1 for the front connection and 1 for the rear connection, and problem fixed!

Pros: Works perfectly and very easy installation.

Cons: Nothing other than the size they are for tucking away behind the stereo.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good item, easy to install.

Brett from Tulsa, OK on 4/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took the whine out of the input. Seems to be working well so far.

Pros: Easy to install, small size easy to hide.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

gets rid of that annoying hiss and any other sound

Rene from El Paso Texas on 3/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

after installing 2 amps the sound was horrible when the music was low and when I pressed on the gas it got worse. I picked up one of these baby's and checked which amp it was coming from. completely plug and play. once I installed it the noise was gone

Pros: inexpensive way to fix your noise problem

Cons: shops will probably charge you an arm and a leg If they install it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Another quality product

Flyguy from warrenton, MO on 3/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was another great quality product that helped in my installation. This is a company that is a pleasure to deal with and the best help possible.

Pros: Just what was needed.

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect solution

Brian from cabot, AR on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect solution to the background noise we were experiencing.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Need two of these for Allroad with Bose system

BigChiefS4 from Minnesota on 9/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield tech told me I only needed one of these to get rid of the loud pops when starting the car and turning it off. I have the Bose system in my 2001 Allroad. Turns out that the kit uses both front and rear RCA speaker connections, so I needed two of these. Other than that, it works 100% and I haven't noticed any degradation of my music. My Premier car stereo sounds 100x better than the Bose system even when using the factory speakers and amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Jim from North Carolina on 8/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Service from Crutchfield was terrific, as usual. But the product only reduced the alternator whine. Major reduction in sound quality. Had to remove from system completely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

thank you

Dependable Auto Service from Pennsylvania on 6/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

products where fine, they are supposed to work. The real value was there tech support and shipping. i found this to be an ex elect company to deal with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Alternator Whine

John P from Pennsylvania on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The alternator whine was totally eliminated. The "pain" is over. Can now enjoy my music at any level of volume.

Pros: No more noise.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

They work amazingly well, BUT you will notice a decline in your sound

Slick from Denver, CO on 5/29/2015

2001 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2001 Audi TT with a Bose sound system. I installed a pioneer head unit DEH 80prs in place of the old factory unit. I got loud popping noises with every button I pressed or station I changed or source I selected the popping noise was unbearable. Techs told me it was the old style Bose amp that had trouble with the new head unit. Well the filters eliminated the popping completely, but I noticed a loss of clarity with these enabled. The alternative is to spend $1000 on a new amplifier parts and installation.

Pros: Eliminates popping noises completely.

Cons: Somewhat diminishes sound quality.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Gotta have it !

Lucbob32 from Concord, CA on 5/8/2015

2000 Audi A6 Avant

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect ! Part of making it all come together !

Pros: Super easy to install, it just works !

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1 RCA Ground Loop Noise Isolator

Gino from 30045 on 4/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good. Does the job.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great product!

m321p from Florida on 4/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got a new Pioneer radio from my 99 MB SL500 w/ Bose system. There was a pop w/ turning it on, changing settings, etc. I called Crutchfield tech support and they told me to get 2 of these. I installed them and the pop is gone.

Pros: Good product.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pac sni-1

Jeremy from Port Hadlock wa on 4/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, receive quickly, easy install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

easy fix

Anthony S from Illinois on 3/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy connection. Eliminated a slight alternator whine as well as a high-pitced tone from my Kenwood DDX 371 receiver. Could not eliminate the noises despite multiple different grounding points to chassis, as well as grounding RCA pre-outs. Receiver connected by RCA pre-outs to OEM bose amp on a 2001 ML320. Sound is crystal clear now with no distortion even at max volume.

Pros: Easy installation. Just plug it in.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

isolators

David from Bristol Va on 2/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These babies got rid of the hum in speakers and the pop when tuning off ignition

Pros: does what they are suppose to do

Cons: wire is bulky and hard to fit behind radio as a result

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty much worked

Mike M from South Carolina on 2/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these ( I had a four channel head unit) into the line level circuits right after the head unit. I had to ground them to the head unit chassis to pass the signal properly. They eliminated the alternator whine but not all of the ignition click hence the 4 stars. I had to cut the gain on the amp to suppress that to tolerable levels. I'd say they were worth the price and a simple solution.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Popping Problem

Ed B. from New Jersey on 2/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a pop through the speakers after installing a Kenwood Deck from Crutchfield. After trying different ground points with no success, tried one of these and solved the problem. Mine popped when changing from Fm to Am. Easy fix.

Pros: Easy install and worked as advertised

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

"NO MORE POP "

charles from Ohio on 1/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After new head unit install of a new alpine deck only had 1 issue and that was the loud pop sound when I changed radio stations or turned of deck ,after 5 min install , hooked system back up turned on turned station no more pop , RELIEF !! at LAST ! great product.

Pros: took care of issue in minimal time .

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fixed Subwoofer Rumble

Ron W. from Summerville SC on 1/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had been experiencing loud rumble coming thru my powered sub for about a year. Particularly noticeable when idling engine but also while playing music at low volumes travelling at any speed. Became so severe that I could not enjoy listening to music anymore. Installed this GLI and it eliminated the problem.

Pros: Extremely easy to install. Works well.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Brendan from Bristol, CT on 1/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product works a little but does not solve the problem 100%. I think it is just covering up the problem you have rather then completely solving it. I am not 100% satisfied.

Pros: Cut some of the noise out of the speakers.

Cons: Did not take care of all the noise which is still annoying.

Crutchfield response on 1/5/2015
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Filter

Dave from Belleville,Il on 11/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After I installed my new Sony car stereo from Crutchfield I had a loud pop in speakers any time I turned it on or changed settings. Called tech dept who recommended this filter. Gave it to me free & no shipping! Worked great. Very good company to deal with.

Pros: Worked like it was supposed to. No more popping.

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

should have ordered sooner

D.E.Lee from United States on 8/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After lots of troubleshooting I Installed 2 of these on front and rear outputs on my Kenwood DPX-300U receiver hooked into a JB Quart 800 watt 4-channel amp in my 2008 GMC Sierra,the very noticeable alternator whine was all gone with no loss of volume that I can tell ,well worth the money ,thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: removed all alternator whine and static with no power loss

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Worth the money, but costs you a little sound quality.

Cinman37 from Washington, PA on 8/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a very good product for the price. I had an alternator whine in my 800 watt 4 channel amp that I use to drive the high and midrange speakers in my 97 Jeep Wrangler. I did not want to drill my tub for a good chassis ground location so I figured I would try this filter even though I was a bit skeptical. To my surprise it totally eliminated my alternator whine . I admit I am picky about the clarity of my sound system, I noticed after a couple of weeks that I lost a bit of clarity in my highs. I guess I had to Rob peter to pay Paul. This product will make my system bearable again until I can find the time to track down the true culprit behind my whine. In my opinion it is well worth the cost.

Pros: cheap easy fix for aleatory whine

Cons: Removed a little clarity though

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Billy from Melbourne, Fl on 8/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was very easy to install and solved my problem.

Pros: Works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great product

Toms from Indianapolis in on 8/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product did exactly what it was suppose to do

Pros: Easy to you

Cons: Poor directions

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

stop the noise

jimmy from Lagrange ky on 7/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed a amp and 4 speakers.it started whining after the new amp was installed I added the ground loop isolator and the noise went completely away

Pros: They work well easy to install

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

What a difference

tc from Fredericksbur, VA on 7/8/2014

2000 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a difference this made. The sound quality increased by leaps and bounds.

Pros: Sound quiality...no noise whatsoever.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does what it should

Fat Chris from Houston, TX on 6/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These GLI's do exactly what they are supposed to. I installed a JVC headunit in my Audi S4 with Bose system and by using these between my headunit and harness connections, I have eliminated popping and engine whine that is ofter prominent after installing an aftermarket headunit while still utilizing the factory amplification system. Perfect and easy solution to an annoying problem.

Pros: Easy to install, does what it is supposed to, not expensive at all.

Cons: Kind of bulky, make sure you tuck these way back behind the unit, especially if you are using two.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

right on

jim from ct on 6/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good tech service makes it worth the extra cost of crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works Great No more engine noise coming through speakers

DavidF. from Grottoes, Va. on 6/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great filter for static and background noise from grounding issues.

Pros: Affordable and works

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

very good filter

Cedric from Clinton, Ms on 6/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good and easy to put in thanks crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Item!

JJTM from Claremont, NH on 4/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item works great, noise is completely gone!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

hclaeson from High Point NC on 3/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has performed to promised expectations. Would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great problem solver

snotbottom from Milton-Freewater, OR on 3/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a problem when the head unit would mute the output when switching sources, this would cause the factory amp to turn off momentarily and pop when it turnrd on again. A quick call to Crutchfield support and they immediately identified the problem and got a pair of these on the way. I put them in between the head unit and amp and viola! No more pops.

Pros: Fixed popping when changing sources

Cons: A bit bulky, so I had to be careful when tucking back into the console.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solved grounding "pop" on power off and input source change

Mikey-O from NY, NY on 2/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was getting a "pop" from my speakers whenever I changed input sources or powered down my new head unit (also purchased here). Just to clarify, it was not alternator whine or traditional ground loop noise, but a "pop" or "crack" from the speakers that was always at the same volume, no matter what the head unit was set to. The SNI-1 completely solved the problem, and did not affect the sound quality at all. I heard various explanations about why I was getting this noise, from the higher voltage of my new head unit's RCA outputs, to amplifier capacitors, to grounding issues, and had tried everything to fix it. One call to Crutchfield - solved, for free! Amazing customer service, found a product that solved my problem and was an incredibly simple fix.

Pros: Eliminated problem noise, did not affect sound quality at all

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Loud pop on power down

iwikzn from Saint Cloud, FL on 1/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers would crackle on power up of the amp and would give a painfully loud pop on power down. This product completely solved the issue and was extremely easy to install. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

best 15$

bori360 from Guayanilla P.R on 12/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best product a ever got

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not bad, but not a miracle

Peter from Bethesda, MD on 8/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very elusive whine (not alternator whine) was cut about in half by this little box. It's much harder to detect, but not impossible. As usual in life, if your expectations are reasonable, you'll probably be happy with this. If your expectations are for miracles, you may be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Cheap Fix

Pat from Sandwich, Ma on 8/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works to reduce the noise completely

Pros: Reduces noise

Cons: Takes up valuable space

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Source pop

Jmilz from Richmond, VA on 7/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had pop in speakers when changing sources or almost anything and these immediately stopped the problem. Highly recommend if installing your head unit with an amp.

Pros: Solved problem

Cons: Little big

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Addition

TonyB from Tampa, Florida on 6/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A product that does exactly as described, popping noises gone

Pros: easy install, quick connections

Cons: could be smaller box with todays technology this product should be as small as a USB wireless adaptor

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Totall awesome!

Mike from Tustin, CA on 5/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The whirl from my alternator is now totally suppressed in my 2007 RAV4 using the AUX port. Sound quality is as good as ever. Highly recommended!

Pros: Maintains high sound quality, eliminates alternator whirl without a trace

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Didn't work

Ben S from Searcy, AR on 3/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sorry to say that this didn't work in my application. I can't completely blame this unit as I later found out it was a problem in my headunit but I can't give it a better rating because I don't know how well it would've worked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 13 found this helpful

Works

johnny_n from Kansas City, Mo. on 1/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a source pop problem after installing a new receiver and these did the trick.

Pros: Works, easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solved my problem

Dan from Missouri on 1/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Crutchfield advisor suggested adding these to my newly installed system as I was experiencing a loud popping sound over my speakers when I changed tracks on the ipod or CD's. The new installation had upgraded the head unit and speakers but still utilized the factory installed Bose Amp. These solved my problem.

Pros: Performed as advertised

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Gets the job done!

Crutchfield customer from New York on 12/31/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are having alternator noise chances are this will work for you. I had this very annoying squeal that would adjust as I stepped on the gas. As soon as I installed this the noise was gone. But the thing is I didn't connect the ground that you was supposed to. The ground made it worse for some reason but no the less it still worked without grounding the RCA.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

If you have a Corvette, Order these with the HU

Gotts have these for a Vette from Norcross, GA on 10/22/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield sent me a pair of these to solve my thump problem in my 92 Corvette convertible. Apparently ground loops are to be expected with a Vette installation. Would have been nice to have been told that when I ordered. I would have paid for them and saved a few days of frustration.

Pros: Work. Simple to install.

Cons: Crutchfield should change their install guides to suggest these with a Vette install.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Worked

Flycast47 from Aledo, TX on 7/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much to it they effectively eliminated the ground loop POP.

Pros: Worked

Cons: Slightly bulky

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic!!!!!

Mike from Panama City on 4/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little device is amazing!!!! I was having alternator noise in my car after installing an eq and xover. I tried grounding the rca's and changing the head unit and eq's ground, but none worked. Immediately after receiving my Crutchfield order, I installed this device between the head unit and eq's signal path and..........Wallah!!!!!!!! All the alternator noise was GONE! Magic.

Pros: Works great!

Cons: Can slightly reduces gain, but you can compensate by readjusting your amp.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Just worked

Brandon from Sterling, VA on 4/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield support is genius. They sent me two of these to solve my issue with my new head unit where I was hearing alternator whine (a high pitched noise that tracks engine rpm) through the speakers. These killed the noise.

Pros: Great product. Works as advertised. Also, Crutchfield tech support is second to none.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

no real difference

Bake from Lexington, KY on 4/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably not the product's fault, but this must not have been what my system needed because there is no discernible difference. So, just because your system has a high frequency whine that changes with engine speed, this may not be the answer. I coupled it with the S25A unit - and it apparently is not what my system needs (i.e., inexpensive Pioneer receiver, clarion 7-band equalizer, Boss 4-channel amplifier, four 2-way 6.5" pioneer speakers in an old Corvette). I have it installed between the receiver and the equalizer - so maybe if I get an additional unit and try them between the equalizer and the amp, I would get better results?

Pros: Easy to hook-up

Cons: doesn't seem to make any difference for my system

Crutchfield response on 4/3/2012
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wish I had this in the begining

JoeA from Orange County, CA on 3/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got my unit all installed, kept getting a pop when switching audio sources or shutting off, everyone online keep saying inline filter. I kind of wondered if so many people had this issue why was this not included in my order?

Pros: It just works, no more pop!

Cons: Should have been included in my order, then I would not have to pull it all apart again.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

RCA Gound Loop Isolator

Nicky C from Llano, TX on 2/12/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a problem with new receiver making a popping sound when changing tracks on the CD Player. These took all the noise out, and they were easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Ah, just what I was looking for

DanielC from Sausalito, CA on 1/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What started as a simple plan to improve my car's sound system began to unravel as a stressful, time-consuming tasks with more than I can ask for. Recently, I installed a Kenwood KDC X395 headunit along with a new subwoofer and amp. After the installation was complete, to my disdain, there was very noticable humming and alternator noise coming through the speakers. The car audio shop pretty much told me I would have to bear with the noise in a polite way. So I did, for two weeks until I could not bear it any longer. That's when I called in to Crutchfield to help me resolve my specific problem. The customer service rep layed out my options for me, with me ultimately deiciding to take the ground loop isolator route. Based on the previous reviews, I was uncertain about the efficency of this product. Preparing myself for the worst, I set a low expectation that this product to work only partially or not at all. To my surprise, it completely took out all unwanted noises. All I did was disassemble my center console, connected to head unit, reattached my center console taking me less than 20 minutes. Now my audio system is officially complete, accompianied by zero interference, and I am able to fully appreciate the clean sound I have been delayed for so long.

Pros: Resolved my alternator whine, hum, and miscellaneous noise. Quick and easy install.

Cons: I have nothing to complain about.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Sub pops? This eliminates it, but.........

Brice from Phoenix, Az on 11/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This units says that it adds 1.3 dB of gain. Honestly, I hate to say it is a lie, but it actually cut my gain by what seemed to be half. My sub went from "awesome thumping" to " gentle bass" as soon as I installed it. As a sanity check, I un-installed and reinstalled it 4 times and compared the sound output each time, same song, same settings. Yup, definitely a decrease in the sound. Needless to say, I will not be installing it. My sub came with a remote gain control and I found out that you can just turn it all the way down before each circumstance above, to avoid the popping. I might even send in my sub to the MFG to have them adjust it for FREE.

Pros: I had an annoying pop from my powered sub every time that I would turn off my stereo, turn on my stereo, switch input sources (CD, USB, Radio, etc.), volume from 1 to 0, and volume from 0 to 1. It was pretty disturbing. I installed this unit and BAM the popping was never heard of again.

Cons: It cut my signal gain, regardless of what it says (adds 1.3dB).

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Works as described

Ivan T. from SLC, UT on 11/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just a band-aid for the problem but it does work and it works GREAT! I needed 2 of them for my car and as soon as I installed them the sound got as crisp as it could be. I have a 96 Nissan Maxima with the stock BOSE system in it. Upgraded the HU to Kenwood Excelon x595. The HU is awesome and it works great. however, I got some noise from the alternator when the car is started. The PAC SNI-1 units took care of that in an easy and lazy way. My problem was probably with the actual ground connections but to make them better it required a lot of work. The SNI-1 did it for me and I am happy of the results.

Pros: Works great and I got a good price for it

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

FINALLY GOT RID OF THAT ANNOYING ALTERNATOR WHINE!

Ray from New York, New York on 11/3/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this PAC SNI-1 RCA Ground Loop Noise Isolator in my wife's near-classic 1990 Toyota Celica GT-S as soon as I received this product in the mail. After following the Crutchfield flowchart for isolating the source of the alternator whine, I narrowed my focus down to the patch cables connecting the subwoofers to the amp. This little device completely eliminated that annoying alternator whine! I did notice that the subwoofers lost some of their "thump" and bass quality after installation, but I simply went to the amp and adjusted the subwoofer gain controls upward slightly. And - VOILA! Our music is rich, clear, and enjoyable again!

Pros: Easy plug and play installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

eliminates noise, but also devastrates output!

DMB2STEP from Wells, MN on 9/16/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product came in nice packaging, and felt pretty solid. I was going to use it with the intention of killing a nasty hum &bumping noise I was getting out of my subwoofers everytime i changed sources on the HU or skipped through CD tracks. Well this thing killed the noise alright, but it also lowered my subwoofers output about 75%!!! Called product manufacturer and they claim this product is not intended to be used on a subwoofer line, so be aware before you purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

10 minutes to perfection

Gabrial from Winnipeg, MB on 8/5/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the title says, 10 minutes to perfection. I purchased a used car with a very badly installed sound system. After correcting the mistakes of the previous installer, there was still a bad alternator whine whenever the engine was on. 5 minutes to remove my center console, shift knob and dash console, 2 minutes to hook the rca's into the isolators (one set each for rears and front, will order another when it comes to adding sub), and hook the isolator into the head unit, and 3 minutes to double check all of my connections and put my consoles back together and no more alternator whine. Best money I've ever spent in my life.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from cincinnati,oh on 6/29/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great & easy to install had my doubt's but it removed all my noise from speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Crutchfield customer from Centerton, AR on 6/1/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to install and it removed ALL the noise from both my speakers and my subs. Works perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good product

Mack from New Orleans on 6/1/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an annoying pop coming through my woofer every time I changed sources on my head unit, radio, CD, DVD etc. When I installed the PAC SNI-1 it silenced that pop completely. Very easy to install thanks to Crutchfield support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Noise gone

Jerry P from Clarksville, Tn on 5/10/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used ground loop isolators before, before, but these are the best. If you have whining noise get some. They are wonderful and easy to install. Crutchfield support is the greatest. Pure silence and they make your system sound great. I am very happy with the way it took care of the whining noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best $15 spent.

Bob from Midwest on 3/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best $15 I've ever spent on a car stereo system. I bought a used car with cheap subs and cheap amp installed. The prior owner had disconnected the sub system due to the LOUD engine noise and on/off pops. I put in a $39 Bazooka sub I had laying around (I left one of the cheap subs in the dual sub box but disconnected as a passive radiator) and this $15 noise isolator and the bass is EXCELLENT. I now also have "BLESSED QUIET!!" When I installed the PAC, I noticed that the prior owner had different brand noise isolator already installed and worried the PAC wouldn't change anything...fortunately, I was wrong! If I had been the prior owner and tried one noise suppressor/isolator and it didn't work, I would have also assumed the problem couldn't be fixed this easily. Thankfully, I got this one! I did have to attach the ground wires to the head unit chasis for it to work, as noted in the instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

POP GONE!!!!

Aaron from Alabama on 1/6/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a terrible POP in my 05 Titan (with the RF package) after installing the VX400. Everytime I switched sources or the phone had some activity the unit would POP loud. Installed these in line on the RCA's and silent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

HUMMING...Gone!!

EtoileD from Brooklyn, NY on 9/2/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Normally, you see reviews written in "Geek Talk" about electronics and you can't decide if you really need an item, since you don't see many "day-to-day",NON-Technical consumer reviews on most websites... Well, speaking as someone who just wanted the "awful" LOUD Humming noise gone from External speakers plugged into my Mac Mini and powered by an Audio Receiver in my living room, from wanting too have sounds (audio) from my Mac Mini desktop going into "studio-quality" monitor speakers I recently bought (too drown out the loud noises from tenants in my NYC building)... So I took a chance and bought this PAC SNI-1 Ground Loop Isolator from the guys at Crutchfield, plugged it into the back of the "Aux" port on the Receiver, then plugged in the RCA jacks from the speakers into the BACK of the PAC SNI-1 and then attached a "RCA Extension to 3.5mm Connector" into the speaker port on the back of the Mac Mini...and the Humming disappeared!!! ..and that was my brief "non-technical" review on the PAC SNI-1 isolator, bought from the Crutchfield website...Thanks Guys~! :-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Jim from Northern WI. on 7/3/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product removed most of the noise out of my system and i would recommend it overall.I would rather give the Crutchfield team (and Joe at tech) a five star rating for helping me with the install and noise problem.With the service i received and reasonable sale prices It would be plain foolish to buy electronics anywhere else! Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works GREAT!!!

Crutchfield customer from Moreno Valley, CA on 5/1/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently had the Kenwood DNX 9960 Head Unit installed in my 2006 Highlander. I noticed when driving a high pitched whine around 2200 RPM coming from the deck - it affected all modes of operation. I knew it was the alternator, an questioned the installing audio store on how to get rid of it. They said that it was just something that happens when a non-stock radio is put in (I'm para-phrasing a little here). Essentially they said it was something I would have to accept. Well, after spending a lot of money for a GREAT head unit, I wasn't about to accept that whine. So, I purchased 2 of these isolators, and wired them in - BLESSED QUIET!!! I now have NO alternator noise whatsoever, and no apparent degradation of signal quality to my amp. If anything, the sound seems "purer" than it did before. I HIGHLY recommend this product!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

James from Fairfax, VA on 10/16/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I always had a slight ground loop after installing an aftermarket headunit on my factory Bose system. I installed a pair of these behind the headunit and the alternator whine was significantly reduced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Doug from Lancaster, PA on 8/13/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is outstanding! I've had problems with ground fault ever since i upgraded the head unit in my van. Just recently I decided to bite the bullet on these bad boys and bought 2 of them. AMAZINGLY they got rid of 99% of the noise the only time you can hear any noise is if you turn the radio on to an imput that you don't use, say the AUX for example, and then turn the volume up to unseen levels, about 2-3 times the loudest you listen to it. Other then that there is no noise what so ever. I reccomend this to anyone who has noise problems/ground fault.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product

Timothy from Arkansas on 6/28/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently had a car audio system installed into my vehicle. Within a matter of a week or two, I had a noticeable whine....which increased as I pushed on the accelerator. I did some research on Crutchfield and followed their troubleshooting tree.....which ended up being a ground loop problem. Therefore, I went ahead and ordered this product for my four channel amp and instantly the problem went away. I have had this product now for about two weeks and couldn't be any happier. Thanks for such a great product. BTW....there isn't any noticeable loss in sound quality....just clean and crisp sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

No more POP!

Jorge from Phoenix, AZ on 5/27/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently installed a Kenwood head unit into my 1998 Audi A8. The system would make an incredibly loud POP whenever I changed audio sources, or when I changed songs in my iPod. Crutchfield support recommended I try these. Now my stereo is perfect! Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

WoW

ronny973 from Atlanta, Ga on 4/29/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WoW! I ordered this product after reading the other reviews. I have an Accord with bostic acoustic sl 60s in the front, rockford p400-4 amp and some pioneer 6x9s. I figured the whining sound was coming from the pioneer so i only ordered one of these. I detached the rear speaker rca from the amp and put in this isolator and then plugged the rca s into the back of it and wow.........whining gone!!! Great Product!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Knocked down engine noise

William from Rogers, AR on 4/28/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently upgraded my sound system in my 20' Mariah. Once the amp was installed, the engine noise was terrible. Pretty typical in a boat because of grounding problems. Well, I installed 2 of these at the pre-amp outs and 90 percent of the engine noise was gone. I highly reccomend these noise isolators, especially for marine applications.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Matt from Wakefield, MA on 4/6/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed a new JVC receiver with my old Kenwood speakers and Profile 4-channel power amp in my 2007 Nissan Frontier (extended cab). After all the work was done, the system had a nasty whine. I read the Crutchfield info on car noise and realized I had a ground loop problem. Then I installed this unit and the problem was eliminated - No noise at all! This was very simple to hook up and there was NO loss in audio quality. Note that this unit is directional - the male connectors are the input and the female connectors are the output.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

Christof from Spartanburg, SC on 3/26/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this product when I bought my new AVIC-F700BT headunit. I have a 99 Lexus ES300 and they are notorious for having a lot of noise when replacing the headunit and continuing to use the stock amp. I picked up two of these, one for each set of RCA's. I have absolutely no added noise coming from my speakers. Great product, and I recommend you buy this product if you have a Lexus and you plan on using the stock amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Finally something that works!!!

Robert from Garner, NC on 1/21/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo on my daughters 1991 Honda Accord had a whine that would not go away. I tried everything. I put a noise suppressor on the head unit, rerouted wiring from one side of the vehicle to the other, changed terminals, etc. No matter what I tried the whine would not go away. Then I saw these puppies and decided---why not give it a try. OUTSTANDING!!!! WOW!!! I plugged these babies in and the whine was gone immediately and has not returned since. Over 30 days later--and she's still jamming. I think these are supposed to go between the head unit and the RCA cables. I didnt' want to go back under the dash, so I unplugged the RCA's from the amplifier, plugged them into these, and then plugged these into the amplifier---30 seconds at the most to do the install. It doesn't get any easier than this. I'd buy these again in a heartbeat. Strick

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

worked great

Another-User from MI on 9/10/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i picked up 2 of these as a last ditch effort to take a whine out of my speakers. plugged them in, fired the car up, and the speakers were dead silent now. cranked the stereo up and everything sounded great. its very nice being rid of that whine that ive been chasing for several weeks now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Removed popping sound from amplifier

Bubba from Houston on 8/7/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product worked as advertised to remove a harsh popping sound from my amplifier. Each time I turned the JVC headunit on or off, my stock BOSE amplifier would pop. Installing this filter on my pre-amp outputs solved the problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Don't bother

lwick from Napoleon, OH on 5/5/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bought this hoping to remove the hiss sound I get with my Ipod connected to my Pioneer head unit. Didn't happen. Crutchfield graciously replaced it with the PAC's SNI-1/3.5 cable. It had great reviews, but no luck there either. I am guessing it is in my setup or the Ipod itself (google Ipod Hiss and you'll find tons of articles about it). Either way....this did not work for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 25 found this helpful

Works Great

Ryan from Las Vegas, NV on 4/27/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a Sirius S50 radio that had a horrible buzzing/whistling noise whenever I accelerated or was driving over about 20mph. This completely got rid of the annoying sound and the radio sounds perfect now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

23 of 23 found this helpful

PAC SNI-1

deftflux from South St. Paul, MN on 11/6/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After trying everything to get rid of my alternator whine, this little thing finally did the trick! It did not eliminate the noise, but it is now hardly noticable. I did not notice any significant loss of audio quality except a little distortion which only happens when my subs are on, so it is probably unrelated or because I did not hook up the filter close to the head unit like you're supposed to, but in the trunk by the subs. So unlike me, follow the instructions. :) I'd recommend you check out Crutchfield's articles on engine noise to diagnose your noise problem; they were quite helpful. If your noise is coming from your patch cables, this item will do nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

73 of 87 found this helpful

TOP