Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
209 887 82

Our hours

Connect ID #
209 887 82
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-297-9469

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-297-9469

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Our current email response time is
48-72 hours

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-3500NEX

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-3500NEX

16 reviews
View this product

pioneer avh-3500nex

Crutchfield customer from Ontario, CA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

overall very satisfied. I wish the screen could tilt to different positions though. I installed this in a 1973 VW Bus. I had to do some slight modification to where the unit fits in. I have all the tools and knowledge to do it. It was no problem. They don't recommend or say it won't work with the type of ignition switch that is stock in this car. It requires a switch with a ACC position. The bus only has off, on and start. with some electrical knowledge was able to make it work..

Pros: love the features,

Cons: only set up to work with modern car ignition switches. Not recommended for cars that don't have a ACC position on the switch. Instructions could be a little more informative. Dummy it up. make it a little more in detailed and explicit. I haven't installed a stereo in a car since probably the late 70's. I'm very mechanical and was able to figure it out. Having access to the internet to view peoples install videos helped..

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Londonderry, NH on 5/25/2020

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Clean design. Works with or without screen deployed. Love the real volume knob. The factory harness adapter was key and well documented. Apple CarPlay only works when plugged directly into the usb which could have been more clearly defined in the online specs. Bluetooth only supports phone and music streaming, not the complete CarPlay features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1997 Ford Mustang GT

Guest from Little Ferry, NJ on 5/15/2020

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1997 Ford Mustang GT Radio looks great and sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Sussex, NJ on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent products and service

Pros: Easy to use instructions and great online service

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Jacksboro, TN on 5/3/2020

2012 Dodge Truck 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy interface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Seriously Top Flight

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 2/28/2020

1996 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not a car guy (a Psychologist) but I watched YouTube videos, and put in my new Pioneer AVH-3500NEX myself. I also hooked up a back up camera to it. I took my time after studying YouTube videos, and then step-by-step I went to work. I was a bit puzzled as to how and where to hook up the green wire to my emergency brake. However I called and talked to a tech at Crutchfield. He asked me to take pictures, so I did and sent them to him, and we figured out which wire to attach. My vehicle is a 96 Dodge 2500 4x4 Diesel 5-speed manual so I had to connect my backup camera to my backup light. I have to tell you, that the radio looks amazing, it works perfectly, the sound is fantastic, and it automatically syncs to my iPhone 11S Max with CarPlay.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great option for cars with single DIN

Scott from Palmyra, NJ on 1/30/2020

2014 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had this installed in my Fiat 500 Abarth and WOW, what an upgrade. The lack of features in the Abarth drove me absolutely insane. This unit really blew me away, though. With the limited dash space in the Abarth this was the only real option that would make me happy. Wiring was tough in the tight space, but once everything was put together I was ecstatic. Steering wheel controls worked great with the accessories sold through Crutchfield, the screen was really responsive and the default UI wasn't bad-- however I did mostly just use Apple CarPlay 99% of the time.

Pros: I actually liked being able to tuck the screen away during dark nights.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Hill, AR on 1/27/2020

2007 Freightliner M2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this unit in a little 2007 Peter bolt 335 truck it fit with no problems and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Flip up Android Auto Option, not the best Android Auto stereo

Jason from Dana Point on 10/29/2019

2009 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The segment of flip up android auto stereos is pretty slim. The device is pretty nice and integrated well with my 2009 Lexus ES 350. I love the fact that I can press the talk command on the steering wheel and have android auto listen. Perfect. Flip up mechanism works well and boot up times are pretty fast. I have two issues with this head unit. I do not really listen to music often- I listen to audiobooks via Audible. For whatever reason, I get small blips in the audio. I tried different cables and that didnt fix it. I use the same exact phone and tried the same cord in my 2018 Expedition and Audible is fine via Android Auto. Audible is fine on any other device such as a Bluetooth speaker connected to the phone or headphones. Not a deal breaker but annoying. Secondly, the screen is not great. It pales in comparison to the screen in my 2018 Expedition. Resolution is low, colors are off, and it is not sharp. It also can be somewhat non-responsive. Also, I feel it is a little expensive for what it is. In the end, I am happy with the purchase. I no longer want to trade my car in and this has given it a fresh experience for me to keep it around a bit longer.

Pros: Android Auto, flip up, good accessories and integration, fast boot times

Cons: mediocre screen, not super responsive at times, audible app issues, expensive for what it is

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Herbert from Patoka, IN on 8/29/2019

2005 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire very pleased with with the radio. I got the radio with the Sirius kit and pre-made wireing harness. It was very easy to install. I did have to call Technical assistance for a couple issue on installing the back-up camera but they were very polite and helpful they were very helpful from the beginning of the sales to the end of the installation. The radio is of good quality sound and you can use your IPhone to display GPS maps and music and other apps. I love the way the screen folds up and disappears great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Palmetto, FL on 8/20/2019

2003 Subaru Baja

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Maintains the original look but adds big screen and carplay. love it.

Pros: discrete. Original Look. inexpensive carplay

Cons: not all the bells the higher end radios have.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great upgrade for a 2003 Eurovan.

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 7/19/2019

2003 Volkswagen Eurovan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been waiting for this unit for a while and it did not disappoint me. I have a 2003 Eurovan with a single DIN slot but wanted to be able to take advantage of CarPlay and add a rear view camera. I had already upgraded to a Pioneer DEH-X6700BS and the installation of this unit was a breeze since the harness was identical. The unit is working very well. The flip out screen is solid and does not move when using the touch screen.

Pros: Easy installation. Great performance. CarPlay and a back up camera monitor for a single DIN slot

Cons: Shiny black plastic faceplate would be better in matte. Unit protrudes about 1 inch from the dash. Two center air vents are blocked by the display when extended. Having the option to drop down instead of just up would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Miamisburg, OH on 7/14/2019

2001 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing stereo, easy install

Pros: Android auto with Waze control on screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect fit in a TJ Wrangler.

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 6/2/2019

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's exactly what I ordered. I took a leap of faith trusting the description and function without ever hearing or seeing the Pioneer. I didn't want anything complicated especially in a Jeep. This radio is perfect especially since it fit the stock opening. The sound is incredible and offers a built in eq. I'm totally satisfied.

Pros: Exact fit. Easy installation. Offers a lot of sound options for a basic unit.

Cons: Doesn't play video from iPhone (that I've found so far), will block the two center vents when open.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Highland Park, IL on 5/10/2019

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprisingly good. I wanted to get apple play and this works really well. The Crutchfield harness was spot on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Roselle, IL on 4/29/2019

2014 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AVH-3500NEX replaced a double din in my 2014 Challenger (Uconnect) and so far it has been awesome. My preference is the flip out type and it was the right choice. Excellent features including CarPlay which works well. HD radio would have been a nice addition. When the unit is closed it is unassuming and serves as a theft deterrent. Would recommend this unit to anyone who prefer the flip out type.

Pros: Flip out type Bluetooth CarPlay Clean Interface and Navigation Powerful output

Cons: No HD Radio stations

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

TOP