Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
131 958 04
Connect ID #
131 958 04
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

W3v3 Series 8" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92148

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

W3v3 Series 8" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # 92148

44 reviews
View this product

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Denny from San Diego, CA on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL Audio subs is my childhood go-to sub. Fits the Tesla Model Y stock sub box. Very happy with the quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

An 8" sub that acts like a 10"

Crutchfield customer from Dawson, PA on 1/30/2021

2015 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been out of the car audio game for over 10 years now and wasn't up to speed on what's the best out there. But I did know JL was the speaker to have back then and decided to stick with what I know. Glad I did. I put this in a 2015 F-350 Platinum with the factory Sony system. Just wanted to round out the sound a little better. I was not looking to make the license plate rattle. I installed this sub in the factory sub box after a little modification and a 3/4" spacer ring, it JUST fits. I used a Kenwood KAC-5207 bridged for 170w RMS that should be easy on the sub and let it live a long happy life. Be sure to use the front door speaker for signal in these trucks! It's the only channel that doesn't trim the bass at higher volume levels! I'm very pleased with how it sounds now, goes lower than I ever thought an 8" sub could and hits harder and cleaner than I thought would be possible. I'm starting to find the other speakers in the truck a little lacking and may end up putting JL's all around! If I had to do it again I might have went with an amp in the 200w to 250w range because I think I'm a little short on air space in the factory box but would definitely get the 8w3v3 again. It's impressive for its size and is clear as a bell.

Pros: Clean and clear sound. Hits like a small sub should.

Cons: Pricey compared to other subs supposedly in its class.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly recommend

Crutchfield customer from Bullard, TX on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love them and it is a huge step up from my kickers

Pros: Rapid fire subwoofers that react like an 8 inch but sound like a 10 inch

Cons: Not anything to complain about

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love these 8s!

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have bought these for all my cars. Love the way they sound. These 8s get pretty deep and give out great bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small but Packs a Big Punch

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NH on 12/13/2020

2021 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has an incredible, clean sound. Am so happy with the purchase.

Pros: Love everything.

Cons: It is fairly deep.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice.

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent subwoofer. Very good and loud sound. I made the simplest and tiniest sealed enclosure myself. And sounds superbly crisp and clean.

Pros: Sounds good for the size.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from East Brunswick, NJ on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean tight bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Summerland Key, FL on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I added to a sprinter van Inappropriate box space but sounds great for an 8 doesn't replace a 12 if you like to feel your music. I put an SVS in for that

Pros: Space saver

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big bass, small package

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 8/28/2020

2019 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never owned a subwoofer less than a 12" and was taken a gamble for a stealth install I was doing and I must say, this changed my prospective on subwoofer sizes. Before, I owned a JL 13tw5 and I wouldn't say it's a one to one comparison, I personally think it's close enough, especially since I was able to install it in the factory location. Adding sound deadening and poly fill to the factory box helps too and highly recommended.

Pros: Small and compact for certain installs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Emmett from BLOOMSBURY, NJ on 3/3/2020

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer for small enclosure! Exceeded expectations!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Impact!

william from LAS VEGAS, NV on 2/27/2020

2012 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So much output from such a small package! I have 5 in box and it is incredible how versatile they are. No matter what I play to them they take care of the work load like they have been trained to do so. Powered by an AudioControl LC 1.1500 and the match is perfect. Nobody believes the bass can be produced by such a small box, let alone by 8 inch drivers. If you are pressed for space, but want high output, these are the drivers!

Pros: Tiny box needed. Very high output. Very versatile.

Cons: None, it a JL product.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great compact sub!

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, TN on 1/21/2020

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted to keep my system discreet- was able to tuck this small sub behind the rear seats- this thing is super powerful for its size. Lots of punch and sound range coverage for its size. Build quality is impressive. Works great in a small enclosure. Running mine at 4 ohms power supplied by JL audio rd900 5 channel amp for the whole car.

Pros: Great sound, deep responsive bass

Cons: None. Clean sound, zero distortion after adjusting gain to remove clipping.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gr8 sub

Crutchfield customer from Thornton, CO on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding sub... perfect size for my 1971 Corvette storage aera, The size Box could not have been more tailored to fit in this car. Id love to add pictures for the c3 or Corvette guys, (the page isn't allowing me to).

Pros: Great sound from an 8" sub.

Cons: A bit pricey , grill extra also.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Kyle from New Castle, CO on 2/16/2019

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a great upgrade from the 3v1-4 much bolder sound I would highly recommend it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice bass

Kelly from Oak Park on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Puts out decent bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, VA on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this sub to a 2013 JK and what a difference. Jeeps are already hard enough to engineer god clear and thick sound, but with a little modification this sub fit into the factory sub box and really added the lows needed. Highly recommend using this sub if you have the factory upgraded system.

Pros: Awesome sound for a little 8" woofer.

Cons: Have to modify the factory sub enclousure.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Joe from Highland, IN on 5/30/2018

2003 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want to play with the big boys then you gotta roll with JL ! Nothing compares ! Nothing !

Pros: It bumps ! Run the JL Audio JX500/1D to it and it will sound like you have two 8's in your trunk !

Cons: Nothing !

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

JL 8W3v3-4

Mario from Sahuarita, AZ on 8/24/2017

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Coming from 2 12s in a hatch back Z, one 8 feels underwhelming in a F-150. I don't know what i was expecting but i think i need to add another 8 to reach a compromise. I know one 8 won't sound like 2 12s but i think i did expect this to sound a little better than a stock 10 inch sub.

Pros: small enclosure recommended

Cons: I feel like 250 isn't enough power with such a small .3 cu ft enclosure.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 18 found this helpful

Nice sub. Response is quick and clean.

Kip from Cartersville, GA on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We were going with the 10" compact version, but decided to try this instead. My son loves JL Adio subs, so I had to try them. Built a custom box to go under the back seats in my Silverado king cab. You can look the specs up on JL Audio, never have done this before. It came out perfect. The speaker faces down, it response so very well to quick, sharp bass. It sounds just like my home theater. I'm 56 years old and love to crank the old rock. It's hooked to an alpine 250 watt mono amp. Very nice clean kicks. My son sat in the truck on the back seat and got a massage, so he says. Doggone good sub for the money.

Pros: Good Bass speaker

Cons: Wish they gave the height of the protruding speaker. Would make it easier to build the box without taking it back apart.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 7/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Appears to be a good quality product. Speaker connectors accept 14 AWG wire OK. Would have been nice if black mounting screws had been included. It seems to require a lot of power to wake it up; I'm bridging two 75 watt channels and the input gain on the amp is at 75-80%. Bass is fine for classic rock. I'm using a 0.5 cubic foot sealed enclosure that is larger than recommended.

Pros:

Cons: Black mounting screws not included.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Richard from Killeen, TX on 6/30/2017

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this installed in 2014 Jeep JK 2 Door in the factory sub location and it sounds great. In order to get this to fit you have to use a 3/4 MDF spacer ring to fit. Make sure you add damping material inside of the housing. With the ring make sure to get a good seal with RVT or silicon. Sounds great in the jeep even with top off.

Pros: Great Bass, Good Fit.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

daniel from Cumming, GA on 6/13/2017

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

absolutely amazing!!! The JL Audio 8 inch sub in a 2010 Jeep Wrangler using the stock sub enclosure sounds amazing great bass from such a small unit. Highly recommend

Pros: Powerful with deep bass in a small enclosure. Great sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

daril from Jacksonville on 12/6/2016

2016 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is not 250RMS it is 125watts RMS. Peak power is 500 watts, you devide that by 4 and you get the true RMS. JL is misleading customers by saying is 250watts RMS continuos when 250 is actually Program watts which is half the peak power, which means is the safest a subwoofer or speaker will play for several hours before they blow. So please ppl do some research before feeding to much power to a sub. Look at JL famous power handling line and you will see that dark green stops at 125, the progressively mix with yellow till 250 and over that is red. For those who understand watts they would know what I'm saying here, but those who don't a simple RMS next to a number will get you equipment burned. JL should put 125watts RMS not 250. I'm powering two of this with a sundown audio rated 800 @ 2 ohms which is the load have in parallel. They are working great in a 0.70 cubic feet ported enclosure single chamber tuned to 35hz. I just keep the gain in the amp @ 1/4 . I have way less bass than what I had with my SSA audio XCON single 12 but I am fine with it since I want space in my corolla and save over 50 pounds in weight.

Pros: Well built, good sound quality Saves me a lot of space and cargo weight

Cons: To expensive for what you get True RMS is 125 which I knew before buying anyways, but. It everyone knows this.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 56 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

kim from Upper Marlboro, MD on 6/15/2016

2005 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, ease to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Depth

Ty from Nevada on 8/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little boomy but amazing depth in frequency response out of a tiny enclosure. I replaced an MM840DVC that I had blown with this. While I might say that the Polk was more accurate the JL achieves much better low end which is a fair trade for me.

Pros: Good power handling. Incredible performance from tiny enclosures. Astonishing bass response for an 8".

Cons: Boomy. Could be more accurate with more acoustically oriented music.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Nice for an 8

Mikey from Fosterville, TN on 6/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the 8w3v3 I have it in a nissan d21 pickup, and it hits extremely well. I've had people ask if I have two 12s in my truck. It's really nice to suprise people when my old truck bumps. Definitely will stick to JL in the future

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome!

Jerel from Meridian, id on 6/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love anything JL has to offer! Could not go wrong getting this subwoofer!

Pros: Everything!

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Quality

DiggerSteve from Alabama on 5/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Give it some power, build it a great box, and prepare to have your mind blown by a tiny little 8" sub. Great product for bass in a tight space.

Pros: Great sound. Handles a lot of power. Looks good and sounds good.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best 8 inch Sub EVER!

Chase from San Antonio, TX on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound for an 8" sub. Also fits in a very small box. I replaced my 2002 factory sub in the back with this and it made all of the difference. I've also tried it in a 4 door truck, again great like a good 10" sub. Also in 2 Cameron's and it never disappointed me. Great value, don't be fooled by the size.

Pros: -Small air space -Packs a punch -Has great extended bass and lows (similar to a 12") -Great classy look

Cons: Mounting depth (but not a big deal for the sound you get).

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

MikefromMass from MA on 9/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice moderate power sub. Great choice for small spaces or simple installs. I've had this sub in a few cars in 6 years. I've had it powered by an MTX Thunder sub pushing 200W RMS x 1 @ 4ohms while running component speaker sets off Kenwood Excelon head units in all applications. Mazda 6 hatchback, Ford Edge, Ford F150 regular cab and crew cab trucks, and currently an 01 Mustang GT convertible. Perhaps best in the 6 and Edge (small hatchbacks) but still plenty in the crew cab (under rear seat). Too much for the regular cab being right behind the bench seat and a small passenger compartment (to the point of being painful...super-tight punch with a quality enclosure). But now in the Mustang, its not quite enough. This is my first trunk sub install and the difference between pushing an 8" sub from a hatch vs a trunk really comes to light here. Even more so in a convertible with the top down. But honestly, that's not the sub's fault. It works well enough for rock music even at highway speeds but dance and rap fans will be let down in my car because it simply won't hit that low and hard in it's Sound Ordnance sealed enclosure from back there. Oh well. I don't listen to dance or rap anyway!

Pros: Great for tight spaces and/or vehicles where the sub is installed within the passenger compartment. You can totally embarrass factory "premium" systems using this sub as your centerpiece. 4-way power from a higher-end head unit and a couple hundred watts to this JL sub and it's not even a contest.

Cons: Probably not enough for bass heads in trunk installs. A 10" will probably be more to your liking.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Perfect for metal

Guest from Tucson,az on 8/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is amazing. Replaced a 8" JBL GTO series sub. It's powered by a small Sound ordinance 2100 2 ch amp bridged. Amp is 200w RMS while this sub can do 250w RMS Giving me a little bit of safety room. Even in a full size sedan it hits surprisingly hard/fast especially to Lamb of God. The eq on the head unit isn't even maxed nor is the gain on the amp.

Pros: Crisp, fast beats with fast death metal. Doesn't lag in any way when tuned properly.

Cons: A little more expensive than most 8" subs but I've tried a cheaper one and that didn't last long.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

The perfect amount of bass for small cars

Kb from Carlsbad, CA on 9/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JL Audio makes a quality product. The sub itself looks refined, and sounds amazing. Paired with the correct wattage, you will truly enjoy this sub.

Pros: The overall quality of design, and sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

great sound but low power handling

Crutchfield customer from hi 5-0 on 8/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What else can you say, JL has a pretty good reputation for solid materials and excellent characteristics for good sound. Its brand pretty much sells itself which is great for them but not too great for the consumer. Don't get me wrong its great workmanship but the value isn't all there. The price factor is why I don't have a whole system of JL products. Simply too expensive. This 8w3 can really hit them low's in a ported or sealed setup. Keeps well composed and is quick for all sorts of music. However, when pushed to it's 250 watts RMS rating things get ugly quick. Xmax is a decent 10mm but doesn't really seem like it. But more importantly it's thermal capabilities are questionable as well. Voice coils get cooked quickly when pushed to this level, you can really smell them coils! I think the RMS rating of 250 watts is a bit over played because when you get in that zone the sub's going to fail rather quickly. A solid product for under 200 watts at best. There are quite a bit more alternatives out there that can be had at this price and lower! Just look at Alpine's type-R 8. Thats a fantastic sub for what you pay.

Pros: can be ported in a small box at .35 cubic feet, pretty darn good!

Cons: way too expensive for what it can handle.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 29 found this helpful

8 inch wonder!

Matt from The Great State of Arizona on 3/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two of these in a double cab Tacoma and they sound great. Never thought 8's could sound so powerful. Installed in. 38 cubic foot enclosures round ported to ±34 hertz.

Pros: Its a JL Audio

Cons: Its a JL Audio. $$$

Crutchfield response on

8 of 13 found this helpful

Love them!!

B. Griggs from Sierra Vista, AZ on 7/31/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got a pair of these under the backseat in my 2008 Sierra Crew Cab and WOW!!!! I have both of them running in a 2ohm parallel config and my Alpine 500W mono is doing a fine job pushing them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Very dissapointed

madsen251 from Madison, WI on 3/31/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW!!! Went thru 2 of these little guys and I have to say that I was quite dissapointed all the way around. I drew a custon box in autocad so I know that the airspace was perfect within a few hundredths of a foot. I am running 5 1/4" JL components in the front from a Rockford Fosgate P400.4 with 242 watts rms going to this little wanna be sub in the back, so I know under-power or over-powering was not the issue. This sub was mounted in a custom enclosure inside the cab of my car. I will definitely be looking for a different sub and NOW I am not sure if i even want to stick with JL. Thus far, I am not that impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 90 found this helpful

Perfect

Ray from Denver, CO on 2/23/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I say perfect i mean PERFECT!!! . I had got an after market head unit and speakers sounded great all it was missing was that thump. I wanted somethin that had some crisp bass.I looked around at kenwood,kicker,and pioneer but nothin stood out then i heard this lil guy. I was like that is what i have been lookin for. Everyone was like don't get a 8" get a 10 or a 12. That one 8 won't give you any bass. I didn't want much anyway because i have a three month old daughter. Boy were they all wrong this thing sounds crisp and hits. Everyone that listens to it is like I can't belive that is one lil 8" sub.it sounds like a 10". JL audio made a winner with this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 18 found this helpful

In a word, WOW!

Jon W from Mt. Pulaski, Il on 1/21/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a pair of these in custom enclosures in the trunk of my '05 Honda Accord and they are amazing! I listen to everything from classical to metal and have not found anything these don't do incredibly well. They perfectly reproduce the bass guitar in Vanessa Williams Best for last as well as the nail driving double bass in Slayer Angel of Death. I have all JL equipment in my car and can't imagine anything sounding any better. Gets loud enough to hurt you but is so clean it doesn't sound loud and is completely balanced, I love my JL system! Factory head unit, C5-653 front (4" in q-forms, 6" in door, tweeter in dash) C5-525x in rear deck, Clean Sweep, 500/5 amp, 1 farad Street Wires cap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

Money well spent

Scott from Modesto, CA on 7/21/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This gem fits perfectly into the factory hole in my 2011 Hyundai Sonata's rear deck. It does not hit the trunks' "torsion spring", but gets very close. The sound is really good. More than I expected... Currently I'm running it open-air, no box. It obviously would sound better in a box, but that's a future project. I'm running a JL-600/6 with channels 5 and 6 bridged, providing 200+ watts into this 4 ohm sub. Even my ultra picky 20 year-old daughter thinks it sounds really good. I tried the cheaper one series version of this sub, and thought it sounded good, but the amp pushed it too hard and it got quite warm to the touch. Upgraded to this one, and it made me smile right from the start. This version sounds much better, very realistic and accurate. I also use the remote wired base control on the amp, making sub volume very easy to quickly adjust to any music. Buy this, be happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

JL Audio 8W3v3-4

Trax from Centereach, NY on 5/31/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Possibly the best 8" subwoofer I've ever had the pleasure of listening to. The 8W3 is tight and has an extraordinarily quick response, but unlike other 8" drivers, it also has the distinct ability to explore low range frequencies, giving it attractive versatility. I've paired four of these little guys in a sealed, polly-filled and glassed 3/4" MDF enclosure in my 350Z, using one JL Audio G1700 per each set of two subs. With each set wired at 2 ohms, each amp delivers 700 watts, making for an astonishingly impressive bass experience - surpassing many hard-hitting 10" and 12" subwoofer setups not only in clarity and response, but also low range as well!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

The Great 8!

Douglas from Colorado Springs, CO on 9/22/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JL Audio 8W3v3 is a fantastic sub. Fast and articulate with excellent thump and slam. Needed extra room in my SUV, so this replaced my old Infinty Basslink T with zero regrets. Exceeded my expectations of what I thought an 8" sub could do. Great sub for rock!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

THE LITTLE SUB THAT COULD!....

JIMMY from MIDLAND,TX on 8/25/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I RECENTLY PURCHASED THIS SUB AND HAD IT INSTALLED IN A VENTED PROBOX, ALONG WITH A TOTAL MOBILE MONOBLOCK 250.1 AMP..THIS SET UP WAS INSTALLED IN MY SUBURBAN....THE RESULTS.....THIS ONE 8 INCH SUB SOUNDS LIKE A SET OF HARD HITTING 10 INCH SUBS OR EVEN SOME 12 INCH SUBS, KINDA FUNNY JUST COMING FROM ONE 8 INCH SUB! EVERYONE THAT HAS SEEN AND HEARD THE BASS FROM THIS SUB HAVE ALL BEEN SHOCKED. THE SOUND IS NOT ANYTHING NEAR WHAT I EXPECTED! THE BASS IS GREAT FOR MY STYLE OF MUSIC (BOOMY)! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS SUB TO ANYONE WANTING TO DRASTICALLY IMPROVE THE LOW END ON THEIR SYSTEM SET-UP!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

Fantastic 8"

Anton from North East, NJ on 3/25/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this sub for more than a year now in my Jeep Wrangler. It is driven by an Alpine MRP F250 (I know, I know, I should have gotten the M450 instead!)... anyway, I built a custom false floor enclosure and performs wonderfully! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because of the premium price but then again, you get what you pay for. I love this sub and would do it all over again! One thing is for sure, I am sick of proving that "I only have one 8" sub" to people!! Tight, accurate mirror shattering (if you like that kind of thing) bass can easily be mistaken for much larger cones. Turn down the bass and you get the perfect low end fill to any type of music (I listen to everything!).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

24 of 25 found this helpful

Still kick'in

Johnny from Enterprise, AL on 12/10/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say about JLs, they never fail!!! I am so amazed what a one 8" woofer can do, WOW!! What punch!!! I am using a Profile AP400 amp with a sealed factory box in my Nissan Sentra SPEC-V. Way to go JL!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

44 of 53 found this helpful

TOP